DETAILED ACTION
Response to Amendment
This office action is in response to the amendment filed August 6, 2025 wherein claims 1, 3, 5, 7, 10 and 13-8 were amended and new claims 19-22 added. Claims 2, 4, 6 and 8-9 have been canceled. Claims 11-18 are pending but remain withdrawn pursuant to the restriction requirement. Claims 1, 3, 5, 7, 10 and 19-22 are pending and considered below.
Claim Objections
Claim 1 remains objected to because it includes reference characters which are not enclosed within parentheses. At line 2, "TP" should be enclosed with a parentheses. At line 3, "B" should be enclosed with a parentheses, at line 12, "TP3" should be enclosed with a parentheses and at line 13 "E" should be enclosed with a parentheses. Appropriate correction is required.
Claim 22 lacks a period at the end. Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 7, 21 and 22 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Regarding claim 7, the claim currently recites dependency from claim 6 that has been canceled, rendering the claim unclear. In order to advance prosecution on the merits, claim 7 is considered below on the merits as if reciting dependency from claim 1.
Regarding claim 21 that depends from claim 1, the recitation at line 2 of "at least one propylene-ethylene random copolymer (TP1)" renders antecedent basis unclear in view of the claim 1 amendment that recites "at least one propylene-ethylene random copolymer (TP1)." The claim will be considered on the merits as if amended to recite "the at least one propylene-ethylene random copolymer (TP1)"
Regarding claim 22 that depends from claim 19, the recitation at line 2 of "at least one propylene copolymer (TP1)" renders antecedent basis unclear in view of the claim 19 recitation of "at least one propylene copolymer (TP1)." The claim will be considered on the merits as if amended to recite "the at least one propylene copolymer (TP1)."
In order to advance prosecution, the examiner notes that withdrawn claim 13, that was amended, also includes antecedent basis issues, and should claim 1 eventually be found allowable, and claim 13 rejoined, this claim presents the following Section 112 issues: At line 5, the recitation of "at least one elastomer (E)" renders antecedent basis unclear. Is another elastomer (E) intended? If not, the claim should be amended to recite "the at least one elastomer (E). Likewise at line 6, the recitation of "at least one propylene copolymer (TP1)" renders antecedent basis unclear and should be amended to recite "the at least one propylene copolymer (TP1)." Likewise at line 7, the recitation of "at least one ethylene copolymer (TP2)" renders antecedent basis unclear and should be amended to recite "the at least one ethylene copolymer (TP2)."
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1, 3, 5, 7, 10 and 21 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Yu, US 6,207,754 (hereafter Yu) in view of Kahlen et al., US 2020/0385555 (hereafter Kahlen).
Regarding claim 1, Yu teaches a thermoplastic composition of low modulus, suitable for automotive applications, such as skins and liners (Title; Abstract; col. 1, lines 12-18 ) that according to the Abstract of Yu may include:
a) a thermoplastic polymer component (TP) in the form of a thermoplastic olefin composition (TPO) comprising an intimately blended impact modified polypropylene resin and a plastomer resin, and
b) at least one elastomer (E) described in the Abstract as an olefin copolymer elastomer; the elastomer (E) of Wu may, for example, be ethylene-propylene-diene rubber (EPDM) or a butyl rubber (col. 10, line 65 to col. 11, line 30).
Regarding the claim 1 requirement that the thermoplastic polymer component (TP) comprises at least one propylene-ethylene random copolymer (TP1) having a propylene content of at least 60 wt.-%, and an ethylene content of 5 – 20 wt.-%, based on the weight of the propylene-ethylene random copolymer and at least one ethylene-octene random copolymer (TP2) having an ethylene content of at least 50 wt.-%, and an octene content of 5 – 45 wt. -%, based on the weight of the based on the weight of the ethylene-octene copolymer, the composition of Yu is described as including at least three components: a propylene polymer, (i.e., "TP1”), a plastomer, (i.e., “TP2”) and a discrete olefin copolymer elastomer (OCE) resin (i.e., “E”) described at col. 6, lines 5-31.
The propylene polymer (i.e., TP1) of Yu is further described as an impact modified polypropylene thermoplastic component that is a blend of propylene polymer and an elastomer that may be a random copolymer of propylene having a propylene content of at least 95 wt.% (col. 7, lines 15-30). When the polymer is a random copolymer of propylene and ethylene, the comonomer content (i.e., ethylene content) does not exceed about 7 wt.% (col. 7, lines 15-30). Thus, Yu discloses respective values for propylene content and ethylene content which are within the recited ranges of at least 60 wt.% and 5-20 wt.%.
The plastomer (i.e., TP2) of Yu is described as an “ethylene based copolymer," that is understood to teach that the copolymer must have an ethylene content of 50 wt.% or more (col. 8, lines 12-29). Yu discloses that its plastomer is a copolymer of ethylene and an alpha-olefin comonomer wherein ethylene comprises from about 87 mole% to about 97.5 mol% of the plastomer copolymer (col. 9, lines 28-40). Yu further discloses that preferred ethylene-based copolymers according to Yu are those sold under the trademark EXACTTM available from Exxon Chemical Company (col. 9, lines 54-57), also identified in the specification of the current application as particularly suitable for the component TP2 of the invention (specification as filed page 10, line 28 to page 11, line 8) and understood to be a random ethylene/octene copolymer produced by a metallocene catalyst technology that results in a random distribution of alpha-olefin comonomers (col. 9, line 54 to col. 10, line 25).
Thus, Yu teaches values for ethylene content which are understood to be within the range of at least 50 wt.% recited in claim 1, but is silent as to octene content.
Yu is also silent as to a thermoplastic polyolefin elastomer (TP3), that is different from the copolymer (TP1) and the copolymer (TP2) that further comprises a heterophasic propylene copolymer.
As to the final recitation that the at least one elastomer (E) comprises at least one butyl rubber (E1) and/or at least one ethylene propylene diene monomer rubber (E2), Yu teaches that an elastomer of Yu may be ethylene propylene diene rubber (col. 10, line 65 to col. 11, line 10). Yu also teaches the partial replacement of plastomer with a temperature resistant rubber for the advantage of producing a low modulus compound, one suitable rubber being brominated isobutylene-paramethylstyrene rubber (col. 11, line 60 to col. 12, line 13), i.e., a butyl rubber.
Kahlen teaches a thermoplastic composition (Abstract) that includes a thermoplastic polymer component (A), described as a blend of at least two different polyolefins (paras [0043]-[0052]), further described as comprising polypropylene and polyethylene, thus understood as a thermoplastic polymer component. The thermoplastic polymer component of Kahlen includes at least one propylene copolymer at para [0055] described as a random copolymer of propylene with ethylene wherein the comonomer content (i.e., ethylene) ranges from 0.05 to 20 wt.-% (and therefore propylene content of over 60 wt.-%), and an ethylene copolymer described at paras [0059]-[0060] described as a polyethylene of the blend being preferably HDPE, LLDPE or LDPE with comonomer content being below 50 wt.-%, thus teaching ethylene content of at least 50 wt.-%.
Kahlen teaches a component (C) described at paras [0130]-[0141] that is a copolymer of ethylene and one or more C4 to C19 alpha olefin; a commercially available component C) being Queo® 2M138 described as an ethylene/octene plastomer (paras [0214]-[0216]). Kahlen further teaches that an ethylene-1-octene-polymer is most preferred (para [0133]) and that the ethylene content is preferably 75 to 95 wt.% (para [0137]), thus teaching octene content of 5-25 wt.%, falling within the range recited in claim 1.
Kahlen further teaches a component (B), thermoplastic polyolefin elastomer of its composition is a heterophasic propylene copolymer (paras [0074]-[0129]) that is a heterophasic polypropylene, preferably comprising 14-35 wt.-% based on the total weight of the composition (paras [0074]-[0077]), such range overlapping and thus rendering obvious the range recited in claim 1 of 0.5 - 25 wt.-%, of the total weight of the thermoplastic composition. Kahlen teaches the polypropylene of its blend (A) preferably does not comprise a heterophasic copolymer (para [0058]), thus teaching the component (B) of Kahlen is preferably different than the thermoplastic polymers of component (A) of Kahlen.
Like Yu, Kahlen is directed to compositions for use in automotive applications, specifically automotive articles (Abstract), and further to the use of recycled PP/PE blends that normally lack compatibility between the main polymer phases, resulting in limited stiffness, impact strength and heat deflection resistance (paras [0003]-[0006]). Kahlen states that its polyolefin composition that includes its special combination of a heterophasic polypropylene, a copolymer of ethylene and one or more C4 to C19 alpha olefin, plus a mineral filler, results in a good balance of stiffness as well as impact strength and heat deflection temperature at reasonable melt flow rate for a blend of at least two different polyolefins, especially recycled PP/Pe-blends (para [0008]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of effective filing of the claims of the invention to modify the composition of Yu to include the specific ethylene-octene copolymer and heterophasic propylene copolymers according to Kahlen in the composition of Yu for the advantages taught in Kahlen, including a balance of stiffness and impact strength and further for the advantage of using recycled PP/PE blends in the composition.
Regarding claim 3, the propylene copolymer (TP1) of Yu comprises from about 60 to about 40 wt.% of the composition of Yu (col. 10, lines 48-62), a range that falls within the recited range of 25 - 75 wt.-%. Each example described in Table 1, (columns 11-12) includes "Escorene PD 8191" (i.e., TP1, further described at Table 7 (bottom of columns 19-20)) in the amount of 40 wt.%, a value that anticipates the recited range. See MPEP 2131.03.
Regarding claim 5, the ethylene copolymer (TP2) of Yu comprises from about 40 to about 60 wt.% of the composition of Yu (col. 10, lines 48-62), a range that overlaps the recited range of 5 - 45 wt.-%. Example A described in Table 1, (columns 11-12) includes "EXACT 4033" understood to be an ethylene-octene random copolymer (i.e., TP2, further described at Table 7 (bottom of columns 19-20)) in the amount of 40 wt.%, a value that anticipates the recited range. See MPEP 2131.03.
Regarding claim 7, Kahlen teaches its heterophasic polypropylene has a melting temperature of at least 160°C (para [0081]), overlapping and thus rendering obvious the recited range of at least 100°C.
Regarding claim 10, Example A described in Table 1, (columns 11-12) includes "EXXPRO 89-1" (i.e., elastomer E, further described at Table 7 (bottom of columns 19 and 20)) in the amount of 20 wt.%, a value that is within the recited range of 0.5-35 wt.%. See MPEP 2131.03.
Regarding claim 21, as discussed in the rejection of claim 1 above, Yu teaches a propylene content falling within the recited "at least 60 wt.-%." However, the Yu teaching of 7 wt.-% ethylene content falls outside the recited range of "9 – 18 wt.-%." Kahlen teaches its composition may include a random copolymer of propylene with ethylene wherein the comonomer content (i.e., ethylene) may range from 0.05 to 20 wt.% (para [0055]). Both Yu and Kahlen teach a preference for the propylene polymer to be isotactic (Yu and col. 7, lines 30-35 and Kahlen at para [0055]), generally understood to provide the properties of enhance strength and impact resistance. In view of the similarities between the compositions of Yu and Kahlen, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of effective filing of the claims of the invention to further modify the composition of Yu/Kahlen that includes the particular heterophasic polypropylene of Kahlen as well as the ethylene-octene polymer of Kahlen, to further utilize the propylene-ethylene random copolymer as taught in Kahlen, having an ethylene content of greater than 7 wt.%, as suitable and predictable, and providing a reasonable expectation of success, in particular when the composition includes recycled materials as taught by Kahlen.
Claims 19 and 22 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over the teachings of Kahlen.
Regarding claim 19, Kahlen teaches a thermoplastic composition (Abstract) comprising:
a) a thermoplastic polymer component (TP) (component A), described as a blend of at least two different polyolefins (paras [0043]-[0052]), further described as comprising polypropylene and polyethylene, thus understood as a thermoplastic polymer component); and
b) at least one elastomer (E) (component C) described at paras [0130]-[0141]) as a copolymer of ethylene and one or more C4 to C19 alpha olefin; a commercially available component C) being Queo® 2M138 described as an ethylene/octene plastomer(paras [0214]-[0216]), also understood as a thermoplastic elastomer),
wherein the thermoplastic polymer component (TP) comprises
at least one propylene copolymer (TP1) having a propylene content of at least 60 wt.-%, and an ethylene content of 5 - 20 wt.-%, based on the weight of the propylene copolymer (para [0055] describing the polypropylene of the blend may be a random copolymer of propylene with ethylene wherein the comonomer content (i.e., ethylene) ranges from 0.05 to 20 wt.-% (and therefore propylene content of over 60 wt.-%), such ranges overlapping and thus rendering obvious the recited ranges) and
at least one ethylene copolymer (TP2) having an ethylene content of at least 50 wt.-%, based on the weight of the ethylene copolymer (para [0059]-[0060] describing a polyethylene of the blend being preferably HDPE, LLDPE or LDPE with comonomer content being below 50 wt.-%, thus teaching ethylene content of at least 50 wt.-%).
Regarding the claim limitation of at least one thermoplastic polyolefin elastomer (TP3) different from the at least one propylene copolymer (TP1) and from the at least one ethylene copolymer (TP2), and comprising a heterophasic propylene copolymer, Kahlen teaches component B) at paras [0074]-[0129] that is a heterophasic polypropylene, preferably comprising 14-35 wt.-% based on the total weight of the composition (paras [0074]-[0077]), such range overlapping and thus rendering obvious the range recited in the claim of 0.5 - 25 wt.-%, of the total weight of the thermoplastic composition. Kahlen teaches the polypropylene of its blend A) preferably does not comprise a heterophasic copolymer (para [0058]), thus teaching the component (B of Kahlen is preferably different than the thermoplastic polymers of component (A of Kahlen.
Regarding the claim 22 recitation of the propylene copolymer (TP1) having a propylene content of at least 60 wt.-%, and an ethylene content of 9 - 18 wt.-%, based on the weight of the propylene copolymer, please see the discussion in the rejection of claim 19 above and the Kahlen teachings that overlap and thus render obvious the recited ranges.
Claim 20 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over the teachings of Kahlen as applied to claim 19 and further in view of Yu.
As discussed in the rejection of claim 19 above, Kahlen includes a component C) in its composition that may be a plastomer, also understood as a thermoplastic elastomer (para [0216] ). A focus of Kahlen is to provide a composition that balances stiffness and impact strength (para [0007]). Kahlen is silent as to its elastomer being "at least one butyl rubber (E1) and/or at least one ethylene propylene diene monomer rubber (E2)" recited in claim 20.
Yu teaches a thermoplastic composition (Abstract) that includes a thermoplastic polymer component and at least one elastomer and further includes propylene and ethylene copolymers (please see the rejection of claim 1 above). An elastomer of Yu may be ethylene propylene diene rubber (col. 10, line 65 to col. 11, line 10). Yu also teaches the partial replacement of plastomer with a temperature resistant rubber for the advantage of producing a low modulus compound, one suitable rubber being brominated isobutylene-paramethylstyrene rubber (col. 11, line 60 to col. 12, line 13).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of effective filing of the claims of the invention to modify the composition of Kahlen to replace at least part of the plastomer of Kahlen with the rubbers taught in Yu as advantageous when a low modulus is desired, such teaching corresponding to the Kahlen desire to balance stiffness with impact resistance that necessarily requires some flexibility.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claim 1 have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
Conclusion
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/CYNTHIA L SCHALLER/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1746