DETAILED ACTION
Summary
Claims 1-20 are pending. Claims 1-5, 8-10, and 14-16 are rejected herein. Claims 6, 7, 11-13, and 17-20 are withdrawn due to a Restriction Requirement.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112(b)
Claim(s) 1-5, 8-10, and 14-16 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Regarding claim 1: The phrase “including a plurality of cliff detection sensors” is indefinite because it is unclear whether this phrase refers back to “robot cleaner” or to “main body.” It has been interpreted as the referring to “robot cleaner.” The Examiner recommends using language such as “wherein the robot cleaner includes a plurality of cliff detection sensors” or something similar.
Regarding claim 8: The phrases “is provided in two” and “is provided in three” are indefinite. It is unclear which pads are being referred to. The Examiner recommends using language such as “at least one first pad” and “at least one second pad” when the structures are introduced. Then the numbers can be specified in dependent claims using language such as “wherein two first pads are formed on the upper surface” or something similar.
Regarding claim 9: It appears that this claim should recite “has a smaller width than the first pads,” since claim 8 recites that there are two first pads, and similarly for “the first pad” at the end of the claim.
Regarding claims 9 and 10: Claims 9 and 10 appear to have an identical scope with both of them claiming that the each of the three second pads has a smaller width than the two first pads.
Regarding claims 14-16: These claims only appears to limit the structure of the cliff detection sensors which are not within the scope of the claim. The claim is only for “a robot cleaner charging device.” Therefore it is unclear what structural limitations, if any, specifying the position of the cliff detection sensors would have on the charging device.
Regarding claims 2-5, 8-10, and 14-16: These claims are rejected as indefinite for depending from an indefinite claim.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112(d)
Claim(s) 14-16 rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(d) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, 4th paragraph, as being of improper dependent form for failing to further limit the subject matter of the claim upon which it depends, or for failing to include all the limitations of the claim upon which it depends. Applicant may cancel the claim(s), amend the claim(s) to place the claim(s) in proper dependent form, rewrite the claim(s) in independent form, or present a sufficient showing that the dependent claim(s) complies with the statutory requirements.
Regarding claims 14-16: Claims 14-16 only limit the structure of the robot cleaner, which is not within the scope of the claim. Therefore since they do not limit the charging device, they provide no further limitation to the structure of claim 5, and are therefore in improper dependent form.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-5, 8-10, and 14 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over SHUDO (US 2016/0352112) in view of FONG et al. (US 2017/0105592).
Regarding claim 1: As best understood, SHUDO discloses: A robot cleaner charging device (FIG. 13) comprising: a main body (40) defining an outer appearance and provided to charge a robot cleaner (abstract; FIG. 4) including a plurality of cliff detection sensors (13c and 13d in FIG. 4); and an array plate (102 in FIG. 8) defining a lower part of the main body (FIG. 8) and having an upper surface, wherein a plurality of pads (115d, 115c, and the surfaces in between) provided to allow the robot cleaner to receive different signals through the plurality of cliff detection sensors are formed on the upper surface of the array plate (para. 102-104).
The terminals of SHUDO are not on the upper surface of the array plate. They are 41a and 41b in FIG. 8 and are therefore on a side of the upper part of the main body.
FONG however does teach their charging contacts (662A and 622B in FIG. 4D) on the upper surface of a lower part of the main body of a charging station (FIG. 4D).
One skilled in the art at the time the application was effectively filed would be motivated to place the charging contacts on an upward facing surface so that the force of gravity assists in establishing the electrical contact necessary for charging. Furthermore, because the purpose of the invention is to accurately guide the robot cleaner along a specific path, the specific location of the charging contacts (which is only the end of that path) is not germane to the invention and the inventions of SHUDO, FONG and the present application will function the same whether the contacts are located on an upward facing surface of the lower part of the main body (as taught by FONG and the present application) or if they are on a side of the main body (as taught by SHUDO). Therefore a difference in the location of the contacts is merely an Obvious Rearrangement of Parts (see MPEP 2144.04 (VI) (C) ).
Regarding claim 2: As best understood, SHUDO discloses: the plurality of pads include a first pad (115c and 115d in FIG. 13) and a second pad (white parts above, below, and in between 115c and 115d), and the first pad and the second pad are alternately and repeatedly disposed (FIG. 13).
Regarding claim 3: As best understood, SHUDO discloses: the first pad and the second pad have upper surfaces with the same height (no height differential is specified) and have different colors (FIG. 13).
Regarding claim 4: As best understood, SHUDO discloses: the first pad has black color (graphite in para. 78) and the second pad has white color (FIG. 13).
Regarding claim 5: As best understood, SHUDO discloses: wherein light generated from the plurality of cliff detection sensors toward the first pad is absorbed by the first pad, and light generated from the plurality of cliff detection sensors toward the second pad is reflected by the second pad (para. 26-27, 102-104.
Regarding claim 8: As best understood, SHUDO discloses: the first pad is provided in two (115c and 115d), the second pad is provided in three (above, below, and in between 115c and 115d in FIG. 13), and the two first pads have the same width (FIG. 13).
Regarding claims 9 and 10: As best understood, SHUDO discloses: the second pads at both edges of the array plate (above 115d and below 115c in FIG. 13) among the three second pads each have a smaller width than the first pad (FIG. 13).
The center area between 115c and 115d is shown in FIG. 13 to be wider than the first pads 115c and 115d. SHUDO specifies that the distance should equal the distance between the cliff sensors (para. 93). Therefore one skilled in the art will size the first and second pads based on the placement of cliff sensors which are not within the scope of the instant claims. Therefore any placement or size of pads will be obvious to the skilled artisan such that it allows the robot cleaner to be guided to the charging contacts as illustrated in FIG. 14 of SHUDO. FIG. 14a shows a correct orientation with both cliff sensors over the first pads and FIG. 14b shows an incorrect orientation where one sensor is over a first pad and the other is not. Therefore based on the number and arrangement of the cliff sensors, one skilled in the art can choose an appropriate positioning and size of the first and second pads. Therefore the difference in size between one of the second pads of claims 9 and 10 and the invention of SHUDO amounts to an Obvious Change in Shape (see MPEP 2144.04 (IV) (B) ).
Regarding claim 14: As best understood, SHUDO discloses: the plurality of cliff detection sensors include a plurality of first cliff detection sensors for detecting an obstacle in front, and in a state in which center lines of center lines of the robot cleaner and the main body are aligned, the plurality of first cliff detection sensors are arranged only on one type of pad among the first pad and the second pad (This is the configuration shown in FIG. 14a).
Conclusion
/NATHANIEL J KOLB/Examiner, Art Unit 2896