DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
3. Claims 10 and 11 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor, or for pre-AIA the applicant regards as the invention.
Regarding claim 10, the claim limitation “…the plurality of adjustment winding lines…” is being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor, or for pre-AIA the applicant regards as the invention because there is insufficient antecedent basis for the claim limitation “the plurality of adjustment winding lines”.
Dependent claim 11 is also rejected at least the same reason as rejected claim 10 as stated above because the dependent claim 11 is depending on the rejected claim 10.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
5. Claims 1, 8 and 12-15 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by Masahito (JP 2020-092225, cited by Applicant in the IDS submitted on Dec. 28, 2022).
The applied reference has a common applicant with the instant application. Based upon the earlier effectively filed date of the reference, it constitutes prior art under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2). This rejection under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) might be overcome by: (1) a showing under 37 CFR 1.130(a) that the subject matter disclosed in the reference was obtained directly or indirectly from the inventor or a joint inventor of this application and is thus not prior art in accordance with 35 U.S.C. 102(b)(2)(A); (2) a showing under 37 CFR 1.130(b) of a prior public disclosure under 35 U.S.C. 102(b)(2)(B) if the same invention is not being claimed; or (3) a statement pursuant to 35 U.S.C. 102(b)(2)(C) establishing that, not later than the effective filing date of the claimed invention, the subject matter disclosed in the reference and the claimed invention were either owned by the same person or subject to an obligation of assignment to the same person or subject to a joint research agreement.
Regarding claim 1, Masahito discloses a coil for non-contact power transmission (Figs.1, 3, 5, 7 and 8, please refer to the whole reference for detailed), the coil comprising: a first winding line (for example – CL2 in Fig.5) formed by winding a thin film conductor (please refer to at least abstract), the first winding line including a plurality of first linear portions each having a linear shape (linear portions of CL2 in Fig.5), and a plurality of first curved portions (curved portions of CL2 in Fig.5) connecting the first linear portions to each other and each having a curved shape (Fig.5); and a second winding line (for example – CL1 in Fig.3) formed by winding a thin film conductor, the second winding line including a plurality of second linear portions each having a linear shape (linear portions of CL1 in Fig.3) and a plurality of second curved portions (curved portions of CL1 in Fig.3) connecting the second linear portions to each other and each having a curved shape (Fig.3), the second winding line (CL1 in Figs.7 and 8) being laminated on the first winding line (CL2 in Figs.7 and 8) with an insulating layer (BF2 in Fig.8) interposed therebetween, wherein each of overall shapes in a plan view of the first winding line and the second winding line is a mutually identical polygon shape (Fig.3 and 5), and a position of at least a part of each of the first linear portions as viewed from a center of the coil coincides with a position of at least a part of each of the second linear portions corresponding to at least a part of each of the first linear portions as viewed from the center in plan view (please refer to Fig.7 and 8, where CL1 in Fig.3 and CL2 in Fig.5 are stacked).
Regarding claim 8, Masahito discloses a width of each of the first winding line (CL2 in Fig.5) and the second winding line (CL1 in Fig.3) is wider as the winding is closer to the center (Figs.3 and 5).
Regarding claim 12, Masahito discloses a power transmission device (T in Fig.1) included in a power transmission system (Fig.1) including the power transmission device (T) and a power reception device (R in Fig.1) separated from the power transmission device (T), the power transmission system being configured to transmit power from the power transmission device (T) to the power reception device (R) in a non-contact manner (Fig1), the power transmission device comprising: a power transmission coil (a part of TC in Fig.1) that is the coil according to claim 1 (please refer to claim 1; and at least Abstract), the power transmission coil being disposed to face the power reception device (R in Fig.1); and an output part (power transmitting unit TR in Fig.1) configured to output power to be transmitted to the power transmission coil.
Regarding claim 13, Masahito discloses a power reception device (R in Fig.1) included in a power transmission system (Fig.1) including a power transmission device (T in Fig.1) and the power reception device (R) separated from the power transmission device (T), the power transmission system being configured to transmit power from the power transmission device to the power reception device in a non-contact manner (Fig.1), the power reception device (R) comprising: a power reception coil (a part of RC in Fig.1) that is the coil according to claim 1 (please refer to claim 1 above; and at least Abstract), the power reception coil being disposed to face the power transmission device (Fig.1); and an input part (RV) connected to the power reception coil.
Regarding claim 14, Masahito discloses a non-contact power transmission system (Fig.1) comprising: the power transmission device (T) according to claim 12; and a power reception device (R) separated from the power transmission device and disposed to face the power transmission coil (Fig.1), the power reception device being configured to receive power transmitted from the power transmission device (Fig.1).
Regarding claim 15, Masahito discloses a non-contact power transmission system (Fig.1) comprising: a power transmission device(T); and the power reception device (R) according to claim 13 separated from the power transmission device, the power reception coil being disposed to face the power transmission device (Fig.1), the power reception device being configured to receive power transmitted from the power transmission device (Fig.1).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
8. Claims 2 and 3 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Masahito (JP 2020-092225, cited by Applicant in the IDS submitted on Dec. 28, 2022) in view of Rixin et al. (JP 2015-126228) (“Rixin”).
Regarding claim 2, Masahito is used to reject claim 1 above.
Masahito discloses the first winding line and the second winding line as explained in claim 1 above.
Masahito doesn’t disclose in the winding of the first winding line, winding transition of one winding is performed only in one of the first curved portions included in one winding, and in the winding of the second winding line, winding transition of one winding is performed only in one of the second curved portions included in one winding.
Rixin disclose an example of in a winding line of a first winding line (first winding line (3) on the first layer in Fig.2), winding transition of one winding is performed only in one of the first curved portions (one of first curved portions is used for winding transition is shown in Fig.2) included in one winding, and in the winding of the second winding line (second winding line (3) on the second layer in Fig.2), winding transition of one winding is performed only in one of the second curved portions (one of second curved portions is used for winding transition is shown in Fig.2) included in one winding.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Masahito with the teaching of Rixin to provide in the winding of the first winding line, winding transition of one winding is performed only in one of the first curved portions included in one winding, and in the winding of the second winding line, winding transition of one winding is performed only in one of the second curved portions included in one winding. The suggestion/motivation would have been to reduce the size in term of width and length by using multilayer coil formation as supported by Rixin.
Regarding claim 3, Masahito in view of Rixin is used to reject claims 1 and 2 above.
Masahito discloses the first winding line and the second winding line as explained in claim 1 above.
Masahito doesn’t disclose a position of the first curved portion in which the winding transition is performed in the first winding line and a position of the second curved portion in which the winding transition is performed in the second winding line are within a same region of the coil as viewed from the center.
Rixin disclose a position of the first curved portion in which the winding transition (one of first curved portions is used for winding transition is shown in Fig.2) is performed in the first winding line (first winding line (3) on the first layer in Fig.2) and a position of the second curved portion in which the winding transition (one of second curved portions is used for winding transition is shown in Fig.2) is performed in the second winding line (second winding line (3) on the second layer in Fig.2) are within a same region of the coil as viewed from the center (Fig.2).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Masahito with the teaching of Rixin to provide a position of the first curved portion in which the winding transition is performed in the first winding line and a position of the second curved portion in which the winding transition is performed in the second winding line are within a same region of the coil as viewed from the center. The suggestion/motivation would have been to reduce the size in term of width and length by using multilayer coil formation as supported by Rixin.
9. Claims 4-6, 9 and 10 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Masahito (JP 2020-092225, cited by Applicant in the IDS submitted on Dec. 28, 2022) in view of Long et al. (WO 2018/222669) (“Long”).
Regarding claim 4, Masahito is used to reject claim 1 above.
Masahito discloses the first winding line and the second winding line as explained in claim 1 above.
Masahito doesn’t disclose in the winding of the first winding line, winding transition of one winding is performed only in one of the first linear portions included in one winding, and in the winding of the second winding line, winding transition of one winding is performed only in one of the second linear portions included in one winding.
Long discloses in the winding of the first winding line (first winding line shown in Fig.2A, which is a part of Fig.2C), winding transition of one winding is performed only in one of the first linear portions (linear portion at the place of 103 in Fig.2A) included in one winding, and in the winding of the second winding line (second winding line shown in Fig.2B, which is a part of Fig.2C), winding transition of one winding is performed only in one of the second linear portions (linear portion at the place of 103 in Fig.2B) included in one winding.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Masahito with the teaching of Long to provide in the winding of the first winding line, winding transition of one winding is performed only in one of the first linear portions included in one winding, and in the winding of the second winding line, winding transition of one winding is performed only in one of the second linear portions included in one winding. The suggestion/motivation would have been to reduce the size in term of width and length by using multilayer coil formation as supported by Long.
Regarding claim 5, Masahito in view of Long is used to reject claims 1 and 4 above.
Masahito doesn’t disclose a position of each of the first curved portions as viewed from the center of the coil coincides with a position of each of the second curved portions corresponding to each of the first curved portions as viewed from the center in plan view.
Long also discloses a position of each of the first curved portions (first curved portions shown in Fig.2A) as viewed from the center of the coil coincides with a position of each of the second curved portions (second curved portions shown in Fig.2B) corresponding to each of the first curved portions as viewed from the center in plan view (please refer to Fig.2A-2C).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Masahito with the teaching of Long to provide a position of each of the first curved portions as viewed from the center of the coil coincides with a position of each of the second curved portions corresponding to each of the first curved portions as viewed from the center in plan view. The suggestion/motivation would have been to reduce the size in term of width and length by using multilayer coil formation as supported by Long.
Regarding claim 6, Masahito is used to reject claim 1 above.
Masahito discloses the first winding line and the second winding line as explained in claim 1 above.
Masahito doesn’t disclose the first winding line is constituted of two first parallel winding lines arranged in parallel, and the second winding line is constituted of two second parallel winding lines arranged in parallel.
Long discloses an example of the first winding line (for example the winding line shown in Fig.2A) is constituted of two first parallel winding lines (two of four first parallel winding lines in Fig.2A) arranged in parallel, and the second winding line (for example the winding line shown in Fig.2B) is constituted of two second parallel winding lines (two of four second parallel winding lines in Fig.2B) arranged in parallel.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Masahito with the teaching of Long to provide the first winding line is constituted of two first parallel winding lines arranged in parallel, and the second winding line is constituted of two second parallel winding lines arranged in parallel. The suggestion/motivation would have been to increase winding ampacity or inductance as taught by Long’s ¶ 22.
Regarding claim 9, Masahito is used to reject claim 1 above.
Masahito doesn’t disclose an innermost circumference portion of the first winding line and an innermost circumference portion of the second winding line are connected to each other, power to be transmitted is supplied to an outermost circumference end portion of each of the first winding line and the second winding line at time of power transmission, and power received from each of the outermost circumference end portions is output at time of power reception, an adjustment winding line for adjusting a current flowing through the first winding line and the second winding line is further provided, the adjustment winding line being laminated at a same position as the first winding line and the second winding line, the adjustment winding line includes a plurality of adjustment linear portions each having a linear shape, and a plurality of adjustment curved portions connecting the adjustment linear portions and each having a curved shape, an overall shape in a plan view of the adjustment winding line is the polygon shape identical with the overall shape in a plan view of the first winding line or the second winding line, and a position of each of the first linear portions as viewed from the center of the coil coincides with a position of each of the adjustment linear portions corresponding to each of the first linear portions as viewed from the center in plan view.
Long discloses an innermost circumference portion (portion where 103 is placed in Fig.2A (or) 3A) of the first winding line (first winding line shown in Fig.2A (or) 3A) and an innermost circumference portion (portion where 103 is placed in Fig.2B (or) 3B) of the second winding line (second winding line shown in Fig.3B) are connected to each other (in Fig.2C (or) 3I), power to be transmitted is supplied to an outermost circumference end portion of each of the first winding line and the second winding line (where 104 is placed in Fig.2C (or) 3I) at time of power transmission (please refer to at least ¶ 56, 59 and 66), and power received from each of the outermost circumference end portions (where 104 is placed in Fig.2C (or) 3I) is output at time of power reception, an adjustment winding line (for example additional winding line shown in Fig.3A compare to Fig.2A-2C) for adjusting a current flowing through the first winding line and the second winding line is further provided, the adjustment winding line being laminated at a same position as the first winding line and the second winding line (Fig.3I), the adjustment winding line includes a plurality of adjustment linear portions (adjustment linear portions of the winding shown in Fig.3A) each having a linear shape, and a plurality of adjustment curved portions (adjustment curved portions of the winding shown in Fig.3A) connecting the adjustment linear portions and each having a curved shape, an overall shape in a plan view of the adjustment winding line is the polygon shape identical with the overall shape in a plan view of the first winding line or the second winding line (Fig.3I), and a position of each of the first linear portions as viewed from the center of the coil coincides with a position of each of the adjustment linear portions corresponding to each of the first linear portions as viewed from the center in plan view (Fig.3I).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Masahito with the teaching of Long to provide an innermost circumference portion of the first winding line and an innermost circumference portion of the second winding line are connected to each other, power to be transmitted is supplied to an outermost circumference end portion of each of the first winding line and the second winding line at time of power transmission, and power received from each of the outermost circumference end portions is output at time of power reception, an adjustment winding line for adjusting a current flowing through the first winding line and the second winding line is further provided, the adjustment winding line being laminated at a same position as the first winding line and the second winding line, the adjustment winding line includes a plurality of adjustment linear portions each having a linear shape, and a plurality of adjustment curved portions connecting the adjustment linear portions and each having a curved shape, an overall shape in a plan view of the adjustment winding line is the polygon shape identical with the overall shape in a plan view of the first winding line or the second winding line, and a position of each of the first linear portions as viewed from the center of the coil coincides with a position of each of the adjustment linear portions corresponding to each of the first linear portions as viewed from the center in plan view. The suggestion/motivation would have been to adjust the current and frequency of the coil.
Regarding claim 10, Masahito in view of Long is used to reject claim 1 above.
Masahito doesn’t disclose the plurality of adjustment winding lines are laminated at the same position as the first winding line and the second winding line.
Long discloses the plurality of adjustment winding lines (for example - any two or more of winding lines shown in Fig.3A, 3D, 3E, 3F, 3G and 3H) are laminated at the same position as the first winding line (3B) and the second winding line (3C; please refer to Fig.3I and ¶ 68).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Masahito with the teaching of Long to provide the plurality of adjustment winding lines are laminated at the same position as the first winding line and the second winding line. The suggestion/motivation would have been to adjust the current and frequency of the coil.
10. Claims 1, 4-6, 9 and 10 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Long et al. (WO 2018/222669) (“Long”) in view of Luzinski et al. (2018/0343042) (hereinafter “Luzinski”).
Regarding claim 1, Long discloses a coil for non-contact power transmission (Fig.2A-2C and 3A-3I, and abstract; please refer to the whole reference for detailed), the coil comprising: a first winding line (for example - Fig.2A) formed by winding a thin film conductor (200), the first winding line including a plurality of first linear portions (a plurality of first linear portions of 200 in Fig.2A) each having a linear shape, and a plurality of first curved portions (a plurality of first curved portions of 200 in Fig.2A) connecting the first linear portions to each other and each having a curved shape; and a second winding line (for example - Fig.2B) formed by winding a thin film conductor (201), the second winding line including a plurality of second linear portions (a plurality of second linear portions of 201 in Fig.2B) each having a linear shape and a plurality of second curved portions (a plurality of second curved portions of 201 in Fig.2B) connecting the second linear portions to each other and each having a curved shape, the second winding line being laminated on the first winding line (Fig.2C) with an insulating layer (402 in Fig.4A, Note: dielectric is known as an insulator, please refer to Luzinski as explained below) interposed therebetween (Fig.4A), wherein each of overall shapes in a plan view of the first winding line and the second winding line is a mutually identical polygon shape (Fig.2C), and a position of at least a part of each of the first linear portions as viewed from a center of the coil coincides with a position of at least a part of each of the second linear portions corresponding to at least a part of each of the first linear portions as viewed from the center in plan view (Fig.2C).
As explained above, Long doesn’t explicitly disclose the dielectric layer (402 in Fig.4A) is an insulating layer.
Luzinski discloses dielectric is an insulator (please refer to ¶ 56).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to recognize Long with the teaching that the dielectric layer taught by Long is an insulating layer. The suggestion/motivation would have been to that the dielectric layer taught by Long is an insulating layer.
Regarding claim 4, Long in view of Luzinski is used to reject claim 1 above.
Long discloses in the winding of the first winding line (first winding line shown in Fig.2A, which is a part of Fig.2C), winding transition of one winding is performed only in one of the first linear portions (linear portion at the place of 103 in Fig.2A) included in one winding, and in the winding of the second winding line (second winding line shown in Fig.2B, which is a part of Fig.2C), winding transition of one winding is performed only in one of the second linear portions (linear portion at the place of 103 in Fig.2B) included in one winding.
Regarding claim 5, Long in view of Luzinski is used to reject claims 1 and 4 above.
Long also discloses a position of each of the first curved portions (first curved portions shown in Fig.2A) as viewed from the center of the coil coincides with a position of each of the second curved portions (second curved portions shown in Fig.2B) corresponding to each of the first curved portions as viewed from the center in plan view (please refer to Fig.2A-2C).
Regarding claim 6, Long in view of Luzinski is used to reject claim 1 above.
Long discloses an example of the first winding line (for example the winding line shown in Fig.2A) is constituted of two first parallel winding lines (two of four first parallel winding lines in Fig.2A) arranged in parallel, and the second winding line (for example the winding line shown in Fig.2B) is constituted of two second parallel winding lines (two of four second parallel winding lines in Fig.2B) arranged in parallel.
Regarding claim 9, Long in view of Luzinski is used to reject claim 1 above.
Long discloses an innermost circumference portion (portion where 103 is placed in Fig.2A (or) 3A) of the first winding line (first winding line shown in Fig.2A (or) 3A) and an innermost circumference portion (portion where 103 is placed in Fig.2B (or) 3B) of the second winding line (second winding line shown in Fig.3B) are connected to each other (in Fig.2C (or) 3I), power to be transmitted is supplied to an outermost circumference end portion of each of the first winding line and the second winding line (where 104 is placed in Fig.2C (or) 3I) at time of power transmission (please refer to at least ¶ 56, 59 and 66), and power received from each of the outermost circumference end portions (where 104 is placed in Fig.2C (or) 3I) is output at time of power reception, an adjustment winding line (for example additional winding line shown in Fig.3A compare to Fig.2A-2C) for adjusting a current flowing through the first winding line and the second winding line is further provided, the adjustment winding line being laminated at a same position as the first winding line and the second winding line (Fig.3I), the adjustment winding line includes a plurality of adjustment linear portions (adjustment linear portions of the winding shown in Fig.3A) each having a linear shape, and a plurality of adjustment curved portions (adjustment curved portions of the winding shown in Fig.3A) connecting the adjustment linear portions and each having a curved shape, an overall shape in a plan view of the adjustment winding line is the polygon shape identical with the overall shape in a plan view of the first winding line or the second winding line (Fig.3I), and a position of each of the first linear portions as viewed from the center of the coil coincides with a position of each of the adjustment linear portions corresponding to each of the first linear portions as viewed from the center in plan view (Fig.3I).
Regarding claim 10, Long in view of Luzinski is used to reject claims 1 and 10 above.
Long discloses the plurality of adjustment winding lines (for example - any two or more of winding lines shown in Fig.3A, 3D, 3E, 3F, 3G and 3H) are laminated at the same position as the first winding line (3B) and the second winding line (3C; please refer to Fig.3I and ¶ 68).
11. Claims 2 and 3 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Long et al. (WO 2018/222669) (“Long”) in view of Luzinski et al. (2018/0343042) (hereinafter “Luzinski”) and Rixin et al. (JP 2015-126228) (“Rixin”).
Regarding claim 2, Long in view of Luzinski is used to reject claim 1 above.
Long discloses the first winding line and the second winding line as explained in claim 1 above.
Long doesn’t disclose in the winding of the first winding line, winding transition of one winding is performed only in one of the first curved portions included in one winding, and in the winding of the second winding line, winding transition of one winding is performed only in one of the second curved portions included in one winding.
Rixin disclose an example of in a winding line of a first winding line (first winding line (3) on the first layer in Fig.2), winding transition of one winding is performed only in one of the first curved portions (one of first curved portions is used for winding transition is shown in Fig.2) included in one winding, and in the winding of the second winding line (second winding line (3) on the second layer in Fig.2), winding transition of one winding is performed only in one of the second curved portions (one of second curved portions is used for winding transition is shown in Fig.2) included in one winding.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Long in view of Luzinski with the teaching of Rixin to provide in the winding of the first winding line, winding transition of one winding is performed only in one of the first curved portions included in one winding, and in the winding of the second winding line, winding transition of one winding is performed only in one of the second curved portions included in one winding. The suggestion/motivation would have been to reduce the size in term of width and length by using multilayer coil formation as supported by Rixin.
Regarding claim 3, Long in view of Luzinski and Rixin is used to reject claims 1 and 2 above.
Long discloses the first winding line and the second winding line as explained in claim 1 above.
Long doesn’t disclose a position of the first curved portion in which the winding transition is performed in the first winding line and a position of the second curved portion in which the winding transition is performed in the second winding line are within a same region of the coil as viewed from the center.
Rixin disclose a position of the first curved portion in which the winding transition (one of first curved portions is used for winding transition is shown in Fig.2) is performed in the first winding line (first winding line (3) on the first layer in Fig.2) and a position of the second curved portion in which the winding transition (one of second curved portions is used for winding transition is shown in Fig.2) is performed in the second winding line (second winding line (3) on the second layer in Fig.2) are within a same region of the coil as viewed from the center (Fig.2).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Long in view of Luzinski with the teaching of Rixin to provide a position of the first curved portion in which the winding transition is performed in the first winding line and a position of the second curved portion in which the winding transition is performed in the second winding line are within a same region of the coil as viewed from the center. The suggestion/motivation would have been to reduce the size in term of width and length by using multilayer coil formation as supported by Rixin.
12. Claims 12-15 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Long et al. (WO 2018/222669) (“Long”) in view of Luzinski et al. (2018/0343042) (hereinafter “Luzinski”) and Matsumoto et al. (2016/0121732) (“Matsumoto”).
Regarding claim 12, Long in view of Luzinski is used to reject claim 1 above.
Long discloses the power transmission coil (¶ 2; Fig.2A-2C) as explained in claim 1 above.
Long doesn’t explicitly disclose a power transmission device included in a power transmission system including the power transmission device and a power reception device separated from the power transmission device, the power transmission system being configured to transmit power from the power transmission device to the power reception device in a non-contact manner, the power transmission device comprising: a power transmission coil that is the coil according to claim 1, the power transmission coil being disposed to face the power reception device; and an output part configured to output power to be transmitted to the power transmission coil.
Matsumoto discloses an example of a power transmission device (100 and 300 in Fig.1 and 7) included in a power transmission system (a power transmission system shown in Fig.1 and 7) including the power transmission device and a power reception device (200) separated from the power transmission device, the power transmission system being configured to transmit power from the power transmission device to the power reception device in a non-contact manner (Fig.1 and 7), the power transmission device comprising: a power transmission coil (112), the power transmission coil being disposed to face the power reception device (Fig.1); and an output part (output from 140) configured to output power to be transmitted to the power transmission coil (112).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Long in view of Luzinski with the teaching of Matsumoto to provide a power transmission device included in a power transmission system including the power transmission device and a power reception device separated from the power transmission device, the power transmission system being configured to transmit power from the power transmission device to the power reception device in a non-contact manner, the power transmission device comprising: a power transmission coil that is the coil according to claim 1, the power transmission coil being disposed to face the power reception device; and an output part configured to output power to be transmitted to the power transmission coil. The suggestion/motivation would have been to support the wireless power transmission system.
Regarding claim 13, Long in view of Luzinski is used to reject claim 1 above.
Long discloses the power reception coil (¶ 2; Fig.2A-2C) as explained in claim 1 above.
Long doesn’t explicitly disclose a power reception device included in a power transmission system including a power transmission device and the power reception device separated from the power transmission device, the power transmission system being configured to transmit power from the power transmission device to the power reception device in a non-contact manner, the power reception device comprising: a power reception coil that is the coil according to claim 1, the power reception coil being disposed to face the power transmission device; and an input part connected to the power reception coil.
Matsumoto discloses an example of a power reception device (200 in Fig.1 and 7) included in a power transmission system (a power transmission system shown in Fig.1 and 7) including a power transmission device (100 and 300) and the power reception device (200) separated from the power transmission device, the power transmission system being configured to transmit power from the power transmission device to the power reception device in a non-contact manner (Fig.1 and 7), the power reception device comprising: a power reception coil (212), the power reception coil being disposed to face the power transmission device (Fig.1 and 7); and an input part (220 and 230) connected to the power reception coil.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Long in view of Luzinski with the teaching of Matsumoto to provide a power reception device included in a power transmission system including a power transmission device and the power reception device separated from the power transmission device, the power transmission system being configured to transmit power from the power transmission device to the power reception device in a non-contact manner, the power reception device comprising: a power reception coil that is the coil according to claim 1, the power reception coil being disposed to face the power transmission device; and an input part connected to the power reception coil. The suggestion/motivation would have been to support the wireless power transmission system.
Regarding claim 14, Long in view of Luzinski and Matsumoto is used to reject claims 1 and 12 above.
Long doesn’t explicitly disclose the power transmission device according to claim 12; and a power reception device separated from the power transmission device and disposed to face the power transmission coil, the power reception device being configured to receive power transmitted from the power transmission device.
Matsumoto discloses an example of the power transmission device (100 and 300) according to claim 12; and a power reception device (200) separated from the power transmission device and disposed to face the power transmission coil (Fig.1), the power reception device being configured to receive power transmitted from the power transmission device (Fig.1 and 7).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Long in view of Luzinski with the teaching of Matsumoto to provide the power transmission device according to claim 12; and a power reception device separated from the power transmission device and disposed to face the power transmission coil, the power reception device being configured to receive power transmitted from the power transmission device. The suggestion/motivation would have been to support the wireless power transmission system.
Regarding claim 15, Long in view of Luzinski and Matsumoto is used to reject claims 1 and 13 above.
Long doesn’t explicitly disclose a power transmission device; and the power reception device according to claim 13 separated from the power transmission device, the power reception coil being disposed to face the power transmission device, the power reception device being configured to receive power transmitted from the power transmission device.
Matsumoto discloses an example of a power transmission device (100 and 300 in Fig.7); and the power reception device (200) according to claim 13 separated from the power transmission device (Fig.1 and 7), the power reception coil (212) being disposed to face the power transmission device (Fig.1 and 7), the power reception device being configured to receive power transmitted from the power transmission device (Fig.1 and 7).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Long in view of Luzinski with the teaching of Matsumoto to provide a power transmission device; and the power reception device according to claim 13 separated from the power transmission device, the power reception coil being disposed to face the power transmission device, the power reception device being configured to receive power transmitted from the power transmission device. The suggestion/motivation would have been to support the wireless power transmission system.
Allowable Subject Matter
13. Claim 7 is objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
14. Claim 11 would be allowable if rewritten or amended to overcome the rejection(s) under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), 2nd paragraph, set forth in this Office action and to include all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Conclusion
/Richard Tan/Primary Examiner 2849