DETAILED ACTION
This is a non-final Office Action on the merits in response to election filed by Applicant on June 07, 2025. Claims 1-6 and 12 are elected without traverse and examined below. Claims 7-11, 13-20 are withdrawn.
Priority
Receipt is acknowledged of papers submitted under 35 U.S.C. 119(a)-(d), which papers have been placed of record in the file.
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement(s) (IDS) submitted on is/are being considered by the examiner.
Claim Interpretation
This application includes one or more claim limitations that do not use the word “means,” but are nonetheless being interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, because the claim limitation(s) uses a generic placeholder that is coupled with functional language without reciting sufficient structure to perform the recited function and the generic placeholder is not preceded by a structural modifier.
Such claim limitation(s) is/are:
arm tooling means for movement of mold pieces;
end of arm tooling means for cutting and/or welding mold pieces in claim 1.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claim 3 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor, or for pre-AIA the applicant regards as the invention.
Claim 3 recites the limitation "the force/torque sensor". There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-6 and 12 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over in view of Mertins US2002/0174968 (“Mertins”) in view of Zhang et al. US2006/0048364 (“Zhang”).
Regarding claim(s) 1, 12. Mertins discloses a system for automated wax mold assembly (para. 1-para. 7, the invention is to provide an investment casting having features adapted to be engaged by a manipulator.) comprising:
an assembly cell frame (fig. 1); a base plate (plate T); one or more robots moveable with respect to the assembly cell frame, wherein the one or more robots comprise a robotic arm (fig. 1, robot arm);
wherein the one or more robots are in communication with a robot controller (control unit 100);
additionally comprising at least one of:
a laser measurement and/or displacement system (para. 48, The gripper device 60 includes a commercially available laser distance sensor 80 that directs a laser beam B downwardly in a direction that passes through the intersection of axis A1 and axis A2, FIG. 3B. The sensor 80 is used to determined the orientation of the particular surface area 41 of runner bar surface 40a where each pattern is to be attached as described below. A suitable laser sensor is available from Omron Electronics, One E Commerce Drive, Schaumburg, Ill. 60173.), end of arm tooling means for movement of mold pieces (FIGS. 3A and 3B are front and rear perspective views of the gripper devicehaving a radiant heating device and distance sensor.); and
wherein the system additionally comprises an automation system configured to direct the placement, fitting, cutting, and/or welding of mold pieces into a completed mold (para. 60-63, FIG. 10. The cast metallic articles 200 are each removed from solidified metal or alloy of the runner (that replicates runner bar 40) by a cut-off operation that cuts each gating region 16 off of the runner. Each cast article 200 also will include a plurality of datum locators illustrated as embossments 220a, 220b, 220c disposed in an array on gating region 216 to provide a datum reference system on each cast article by which each cast article can be held and positioned by a manipulator, such as for example a robotic gripper device similar to gripper device 60 employed to move the patterns 10.)
Mertins does not explicitly disclose end of arm tooling means for cutting and/or welding mold pieces.
Zhang teaches another robot manipulator that end of arm tooling means for cutting and/or welding mold pieces (abstract, para. 5-para. 7, FIG. 8 shows the results of the milling test where the upper graph shows the cutting force with only position control and the lower graph shows the cutting force with force control. ).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skills in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the system and method of Mertins by incorporating the applied teaching of Zhang to improve the robot manipulator control for specific tasks since one of ordinary skill in the art would have recognized that the results of the combination would have been predictable with a reasonable expectation of success.
Regarding claim(s) 2. Mertins in view of Zhang further teaches wherein the robots are inverted 6-axis robots (Mertins and Zhang: FIG. 1 shows a robot system with a 6-DOF industrial robot manipulator and a controller for the robot.).
Regarding claim(s) 3. Mertins in view of Zhang further teaches wherein the force/torque sensor is provided on one or more of the robots (Zhang: abstract, A force sensor provides the signal for deformation compensation. For CMRR the signal may be obtained from either a force sensor or the current flowing in the motor of the robot's spindle. The force sensor can be mounted either on the robot or together with either the tool or work piece adjacent to the robot.).
Regarding claim(s) 4. (Mertins in view of Zhang further teaches wherein the force-torque sensor is configured to detect a force or torque applied to a distal end of the robotic arm(Zhang: abstract, A force sensor provides the signal for deformation compensation. For CMRR the signal may be obtained from either a force sensor or the current flowing in the motor of the robot's spindle. The force sensor can be mounted either on the robot or together with either the tool or work piece adjacent to the robot.).
Regarding claim(s) 5. Mertins in view of Zhang further teaches wherein the force-torque sensor is in communication with the robot controller (Zhang: abstract, A force sensor provides the signal for deformation compensation. For CMRR the signal may be obtained from either a force sensor or the current flowing in the motor of the robot's spindle. The force sensor can be mounted either on the robot or together with either the tool or work piece adjacent to the robot.).
Regarding claim(s) 6. Mertins in view of Zhang further teaches wherein the robot controller is in communication with a programmable logic controller (PLC) (Mertins: computer controlled robotic device 30, FIG. 1, for assembly with another component of the pattern assembly. Zhang: Robot controller 150).
Inquiry
/TRUC M DO/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3658