DETAILED ACTION
It is noted that the claims filed August 24, 2025, were not properly marked to show changes. However, in view of compact prosecution, the claims are examined herein.
Specification
The substitute specification filed 8/24/2025 has not been entered because it does not conform to 37 CFR 1.125(b) and (c) because:
The specification is not properly marked to show changes. Per 37 CFR 1.21 requires that the text of any added subject matter must be shown by underlining the added text. The text of any deleted matter must be shown by strike-through except that double brackets placed before and after the deleted characters may be used to show deletion of five or fewer consecutive characters. A review of the specification shows that deleted information has not been marked correctly. For example paragraph [0002] does not correctly reflect that the term “liqid” has been deleted although the term - - - lipid - - has been inserted. A review and correction of the entire specification to correctly show deleted information is required.
It is also noted that while the changes to claim 6 are proper, the same amendments are not required at page 3 of the specification. This subject matter does not have to be deleted from the specification (i.e., although genus and species names are typically italicized).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1 and 6 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by JP 2016-117694 (FUKUMI) (see IDS of 12/29/2022).
Claim 1
FUKUMI teaches a method of feeding fish ([0009] [10]) a dried composition comprising charcoal powder (i.e., an amorphous charcoal) and wood vinegar ([0009] [1]). The composition can be fed to the fish [0030]. The administration of the compound to fish would inherently reduce geosmin and 2-methylisoborneal. This includes within muscles, lipids, or skin of the fish.
Claim 6
The fish can be carp – Order Cypriniformes [0034].
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 2 and 5 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over FUKUMI.
FUKUMI is cited for the reason above.
Claims 2
FUKUMI teaches in [0037] that the product is administered/dispersed in an amount of 0.1 to 1 g per 100 g body weight. This falls within and touches on that claimed. [0051] teaches that the composition is dispersed in water.
Claim 5
FUKUMI does not teach the claimed ratio of charcoal to wood vinegar. In [0007], it is taught that the wood vinegar is mixed with charcoal to limit the strong odor of vinegar. In [0008], it is taught that combination is effective in disease control . In [0020], it is taught that a preferred ratio can be 0.0012 to 12 parts by mass acetic acid to 100 parts by mass charcoal powder. The wood vinegar can also be diluted as taught in [0015]. Thus, it would have obvious to one skilled in the art that the final ratio would depend on the dilution but that there would be more charcoal than wood vinegar, as claimed. It would have been obvious to one skilled in the art to vary the ratio of wood vinegar to charcoal based on the desired odor and ratio needed to control a targeted disease.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 8/24/2025 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
Any rejections from the previous Official Action not repeated above are withdrawn.
The applicant argues that the prior art does not teach reducing the content of one of both geosmin and 2-mehtylisoborneol within the muscles, lipids or skin of fish and crustaceans.
However, as noted above, FUKUMI teaches a method of feeding fish ([0009] [10]) a dried composition comprising charcoal powder (i.e., and amorphous charcoal) and wood vinegar ([0009] [1]). The composition can be fed to the fish [0030]. The administration of the compound to fish would inherently reduce geosmin and 2-methylisoborneal. This includes within muscles, lipids, or skin of the fish. Indeed, the body of the claim remains unchanged in terms of the amount and how the composition is administered.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/PHILIP A DUBOIS/Examiner, Art Unit 1791
/Nikki H. Dees/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 1791