DETAILED ACTION
Claim Objections
Claim 16 is objected to because of the following informalities: “Vector (‘)” in line 3 should be replaced with “Vector”. Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 14, 18 and 22 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Lv et al. (US Pub. 2017/0055290) in view of Cherian et al. (US Pub. 2016/0330757) and further in view of Cheong et al. (US Pub. 2012/0099664).
Regarding claims 14, 18 and 22, Lv teaches a station (STA) apparatus configured to communicate with an access point (AP) apparatus, the STA apparatus comprising: receiving circuitry configured to receive a trigger frame (see 301 RTS in Figure 3); and transmitting circuitry configured to transmit, based on information that indicates a time interval contained in the trigger frame (see “Duration” in 701 in Figure 7) , a Clear-to-Send (CTS) frame in response to the trigger frame (see 302 CTS in Figure 3, see also “MU-RTS frame to trigger the MU-CTS responses” in [0081]), wherein the trigger frame includes a field that carries information to enable the STA apparatus to use a wireless link (see “STA info” in 701 in Figure 7). Lv, however, does not teach the transmitting circuitry is further configured to transmit a data frame subsequent to the CTS frame. Cherian teaches the transmitting circuitry is further configured to transmit a data frame subsequent to the CTS frame (“transmit uplink MU PPDU 315 immediately following CTS frames 310” in [0056]). It would have been obvious to one skilled in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Lv to have the transmitting circuitry is further configured to transmit a data frame subsequent to the CTS frame as taught by Cherian in order to generate multi-user ACK frame based on the received MU PPDU and CTS frames [0056]. Lv in view of Cherian, however, does not teach a bandwidth used to transmit the data frame is inside of a bandwidth that is used to transmit the CTS frame. Cheong teaches a bandwidth used to transmit the data frame is inside of a bandwidth that is used to transmit the CTS frame (see “transmits a data frame over the bandwidth of 60 MHz over which the CTS frame is received” in [0044] and “The data frame is transmitted over a bandwidth equal to or less than a bandwidth of the CTS frame” in [0047]). It would have been obvious to one skilled in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Lv in view of Cherian to have a bandwidth used to transmit the data frame is inside of a bandwidth that is used to transmit the CTS frame as taught by Cheong in order to adjust bandwidth dynamically [0023].
Claims 16, 17, 20, 23 and 24 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Lv et al. in view of Cherian et al. and Cheong et al. and further in view of Ahn et al. (US Pub. 2018/0192421).
Regarding claim 16, Lv in view of Cherian and Cheong teaches the limitations in claim 14 as shown above. Lv in view of Cherian and Cheong, however, does not teach the STA apparatus is further configured to determine, based on a specified condition, whether to update Network Allocation Vector when using the information carried in the trigger frame. Ahn teaches the STA apparatus is further configured to determine, based on a specified condition, whether to update Network Allocation Vector when using the information carried in the trigger frame (“transmits a trigger frame and then transmits a CF-END frame to reset a NAV set in a neighboring wireless communication terminal” in [0131]). It would have been obvious to one skilled in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Lv in view of Cherian and Cheong to have the STA apparatus is further configured to determine, based on a specified condition, whether to update Network Allocation Vector when using the information carried in the trigger frame as taught by Ahn in order to reset NAV through CF-END transmission [0114], [0127].
Regarding claim 17, Ahn teaches the specified condition is that a NAV timer has expired (“If the timer expires, the station around the access point resets the NAV setting” in [0110]).
Regarding claim 20, Lv in view of Cherian and Cheong teaches the limitations in claim 18 as shown above. Lv in view of Cherian and Cheong, however, does not teach the AP apparatus is further configured to transmit a Contention-Free End (CF- End) that carries information indicating a condition for the STA apparatus to update Network Allocation Vector (NAV), when using the information carried in the trigger frame. Ahn teaches the AP apparatus is further configured to transmit a Contention-Free End (CF- End)that carries information indicating a condition for the STA apparatus to update Network Allocation Vector (NAV), when using the information carried in the trigger frame (“transmits a trigger frame and then transmits a CF-END frame to reset a NAV set in a neighboring wireless communication terminal” in [0131]). It would have been obvious to one skilled in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Lv in view of Cherian and Cheong to have the AP apparatus is further configured to transmit a Contention-Free End (CF- End)that carries information indicating a condition for the STA apparatus to update Network Allocation Vector (NAV), when using the information carried in the trigger frame as taught by Ahn in order to reset NAV through CF-END transmission [0114], [0127].
Regarding claims 23 and 24, Ahn teaches the receiving circuitry is further configured to receive a Contention-Free End (CF-End) frame (“transmits a trigger frame and then transmits a CF-END frame to reset a NAV set in a neighboring wireless communication terminal” in [0131]).
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/CLEMENCE S HAN/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2414