DETAILED ACTION
Examiner’s Comments
Column and line (or Paragraph Number) citations have been provided as a convenience for Applicants, but the entirety of each reference should be duly considered. Any recitation of a Figure element, e.g. “Figure 1, element T should be construed as inherently also reciting “and relevant disclosure thereto”.
Drawings
The drawings are objected to under 37 CFR 1.83(a). The drawings must show every feature of the invention specified in the claims. Therefore, the recessed fastening element of claims 11-21; the “certain portions” (but not other portions) in which the recessed fastening element is held of claim 13; the latching element for “mechanically latching” the recessed fastening element of claim 15; the recessed fastening element comprising a “head portion” of claim 16; the fastening apparatus comprising a central receptacle for the head portion of the “recessed” fastening element of claim 17; and the stop element in conjunction with the recessed fastening element of claims 18-20 must be shown or the feature(s) canceled from the claim(s). No new matter should be entered.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 11-21 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor, or for pre-AIA the applicant regards as the invention.
For claims 11-21, it is entirely unclear how the invention of claims 11-21 with a “recessed” fastening element operates or functions to secure the door trim to the door module. That is, it is unclear how a “recessed” fastening element (as amended) functions with the recited fastening apparatus. No further explanation is provided by either the drawings or the specification. It is unclear if applicant intended for the “recessed” fastening element to include the central receptacle into which a head portion of the fastening apparatus is provided such that the elements of the connection remain the same but in a state/configuration where the parts are reversed, or some other arrangement.
The following features of the claims (claims 11-21) are unclear and indefinite: the “certain portions” (but not other portions) in which the recessed fastening element is held of claim 13; the latching element for “mechanically latching” the recessed fastening element of claim 15; the recited “recessed” fastening element comprising a “head portion” of claim 16 (it is unclear how a recessed element can also comprise a head portion); the fastening apparatus comprising a central receptacle for the head portion of the “recessed” fastening element of claim 17; the stop element in conjunction with the recessed fastening element of claims 18-20. Further explanation is requested. For the purposes of examination on the merits as set forth below, the claims will be examined as best understood.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 11-13 and 21, as best understood, are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over DE 298.
For claim 11, DE 202005013298 (DE 298) discloses a door assembly (FIGS.1-5) for a vehicle door, comprising:
a frame (8),
a door module (1) fastened to said frame (8), and
a door trim (10) fastened to said door module (1);
said door trim (10) including at least one fastening element (20); and
said door module (1) having a carrier plate formed, at least in certain portions, from a plastics material, and having, in a region of said plastics material, a fastening apparatus (16) formed for destruction-free attachment of said fastening element.
DE 298 lacks the carrier plate with fastening apparatus (16) being integral (formed in one piece) in the area of the plastic material as recited.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention and with a reasonable expectation of success to have provided the fastening apparatus of DE 298 integral with the carrier plate as an obvious matter of engineering choice based on each of manufacturing, materials criteria, and time. The courts have held "that the use of a one piece construction instead of the structure disclosed in” a prior art reference “would be merely a matter of obvious engineering choice". In re Larson, 340 F.2d 965, 968, 144 USPQ 347, 349 (CCPA 1965).
For claim 12, said door trim (10) is fastened only to said fastening apparatus (16) of said door module.
For claim 13, said fastening element (20) is held in said fastening apparatus (16), at least in certain portions, in at least one of a form-fit or a force-fit.
For claim 21, DE 298 discloses a vehicle door of a motor vehicle, comprising a door assembly according to claim 11.
For claims 11-13 and 21, DE 298, as modified, lacks a configuration where the parts of the invention providing the connection of door trim to door module are reversed. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention and with a reasonable expectation of success to have provided the fastening element as a recessed element with the fastening apparatus including a projection because the mere reversal of parts has been held by the court to be an obvious modification. In re Gazda, 219 F.2d 449, 104 USPQ 400 (CCPA 1955).
Furthermore, reversing the configuration is an obvious design expedient since applicant has not disclosed that having a recessed fastening element (instead of a projecting fastening element) solves any stated problem or is for any particular purpose. The original disclosure mentions a recessed fastening element only once (at page 2, lines 19-20) and in the context of being an alternative to a projecting fastening element. The choice to modify is deemed to have been an obvious design choice as it would not change the use of the device or produce an unexpected result.
Claims 14-20, as best understood, are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over DE 298 in view of EP 961.
For claim 14, EP 2628961 (EP 961) discloses a clip and a fastening device with a clip and discloses (FIGS. 1-4), the fastening device (apparatus) (10) has at least one stop element (30) for mechanically delimiting the axial insertion depth of the fastening element (36).
For claim 15, EP 961 discloses the fastening device (10) has at least one spring-elastic (resiliently elastic) latching element (18) for mechanically latching the fastening element (36).
For claim 16, EP 961 discloses the fastening element (36) has a head section (40) which rests on the stop element (30) and/or is axially positively snapped by the latching element (18) from the rear.
For claim 17, EP 961 discloses the fastening device (10) has a housing (receptacle) for the center of the head section (4), wherein several stopper elements (30) and/or latching elements (18) project radially into the housing (receptacle).
For claims 18-19, EP 961 discloses the stop element (30) being a plurality of stop elements each integrally formed at an edge (rim) of the receptacle.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention and with a reasonable expectation of success to have provided the fastening apparatus of DE 298 formed as shown in EP 961 with a receptacle, several stop elements integrally formed at an edge thereof, several spring-elastic latching elements and a head section as taught by EP 961 in order to confine, retain, and lock the fastening element.
For claim 20, EP 961 discloses the latching element (18) is formed between two adjacent stop elements (30).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention and with a reasonable expectation of success to have provided a freestanding connection bridge between two adjacent stop elements (30, EP 961) of the latching element of DE 298, as modified, as an obvious design expedient absent persuasive evidence that the particular configuration was significant, as the courts have held. In re Dailey, 357 F.2d 669, 149 USPQ 47 (CCPA 1966). Applicant has not disclosed that having the bridge solves any stated problem (in the original disclosure) or is for any particular purpose and providing a bridge in this manner would not change the use of the device or produce an unexpected result.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claim(s) as amended have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/HILARY L GUTMAN/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3614a