DETAILED ACTION
Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114
Response to Amendment
In response to the amendment received on 01/05/2026:
Claims 1-10 are pending in the current application. Claim 1 has been amended.
The previous prior art-based rejection have been overcome in light of the amendments to the claims, however, new objections and rejections (rejection under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) and 103) have been set forth below.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments, see Remarks Page 9, filed 01/05/2026, with respect to the rejection of the claims have been fully considered. The rejections are moot in light of the amendments to the claims.
Claim Interpretation
Claim 1 states “an anode center uncoated part in which an anode tab is attached to the center of the anode current collector” and “a cathode center uncoated part in which a cathode tab is attached to the center of the cathode current collector”.
Applicant’s specification states “As described above, a form in which the electrode tabs 116 and 126 are attached to the center of the current collectors 111 and 121 may be referred to as a middle tab structure. When the electrode assembly 100 is formed by winding the current collectors 111 and 121 having a middle-tab structure, the electrode tabs 116 and 126 protrude from the middle portion between the winding center and the outermost part of the electrode assembly 100” (P35).
Therefore, the center of the anode/cathode current collectors is being interpreted as an area between the winding center and outermost part of an electrode assembly.
Claim Objections
Claims 1-2 are objected to because of the following informalities:
Claim 1 recites “an insulation coating layer formed on a portion, on the cathode current collector, facing the anode tab, a portion facing the anode tab and the anode center uncoated part, or a portion facing the anode tab, the anode center uncoated part, and an insulating member attached to the anode tab”.
The recitation of “..,on the cathode current collector,…” can be read as only relating to the first portion that faces the anode tab, rather than the insulating coating layer being on the current collector facing any of the portions.
The claim should instead state something similar to “an insulation coating layer formed on a portion of the cathode current collector, wherein the portion is facing the anode tab, facing the anode tab and the anode center uncoated part, or facing the anode tab, the anode center uncoated part, and an insulating member attached to the anode tab”.
Claim 2 states “opposite to the first surface” when it should state “opposite to the first surface of the cathode current collector”.
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claim 1 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(a) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), first paragraph, as failing to comply with the written description requirement. The claim(s) contains subject matter which was not described in the specification in such a way as to reasonably convey to one skilled in the relevant art that the inventor or a joint inventor, or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the inventor(s), at the time the application was filed, had possession of the claimed invention.
Regarding claim 1, the claim recites “wherein the insulation coating layer is disposed directly on an exposed surface of the cathode current collector between and spaced apart from separate portions of the cathode active material that are spaced apart from each other on a same side of the cathode current collector”.
The claim as written describes that the insulation coating layer is disposed directly on the current collector between and spaced apart from separate portions of the cathode active material spaced apart from each other on the same side of the cathode current collector.
However, in Applicant’s Figs. 2 and 3, the insulation coating layer (in two parts: first insulation coating layer 141 and second insulation coating layer 142) does not appear spaced apart from the separate portions of the cathode active material. In Figs. 2 and 3, the first insulation coating layer and second insulation coating layer appear to touch the cathode active material on two sides (the left and right side when looking straight at the figures).
Therefore, the insulation coating layer does not appear to be spaced apart from separate portions of the cathode active material that are spaced apart from each other on a same side of the cathode current collector.
Due to claims 2-10 depending from claim 1, they are rejected as well. The best effort has been made to reject the claims as seen below.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-4 and 10 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Shiozaki et al (US 20200020921 A1) in view of Kim et al (US 20040161662 A1).
Regarding claim 1, Shiozaki discloses a secondary battery (battery 1 in Fig. 1; see entire disclosure and especially P18) comprising:
an anode plate (negative electrode 3 in Figs. 1-2) comprising an anode current collector (negative electrode current collector 31 in Fig. 2), an anode active material layer formed by coating an anode active material on the anode current collector (negative electrode active material layer 32 in Fig. 2), and an anode center uncoated part in which an anode tab is attached to the center of the anode current collector (negative electrode tab bonding part 38 where negative electrode tab 30 is bonded in Fig. 2; see entire disclosure and especially P21);
a cathode plate (positive electrode 2 in Figs. 2 and 3A-3B) comprising a cathode current collector (positive electrode current collector 21 in Figs. 2 and 3A-3B), a cathode active material layer formed by coating a cathode active material on the cathode current collector (positive electrode active material layer 22 in Figs. 2 and 3A-3B), and a cathode center uncoated part in which a cathode tab is attached to the center of the cathode current collector (positive electrode bonding part 28 where positive electrode tab 27 is bonded in Figs. 2 and 3A-3B; see entire disclosure and especially P20, 23); and
a separator interposed between the anode plate and the cathode plate (separator 4 in Fig. 1; see entire disclosure and especially P18).
However, Shiozaki does not disclose an insulation coating layer formed on a portion, on the cathode current collector, facing the anode tab, a portion facing the anode tab and the anode center uncoated part, or a portion facing the anode tab, the anode center uncoated part, and an insulating member attached to the anode tab, wherein the insulating member does not contact the anode active material, and wherein the insulation coating layer is disposed directly on an exposed surface of the cathode current collector between and spaced apart from separate portions of the cathode active material that are spaced apart from each other on a same side of the cathode current collector.
In a similar field of endeavor, Kim teaches, in order to insulate a positive electrode from a negative electrode or to prevent a separator from being torn by a positive electrode tab, positive electrode insulating tapes (481 and 482 in Fig. 4) can be attached to the outer surface of the a positive electrode uncoated area (41a in Fig. 4) where a positive electrode tab (43 in Fig. 4) sits (P50). Kim teaches the positive electrode insulating tapes generally cover a boundary between the upper end of a positive electrode current collector and a positive electrode tab (P50).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have utilized the teaching of Kim and provided the insulating tapes to the cathode center uncoated part and cathode tab of Shiozaki, given Kim teaches this can insulate the positive electrode from the negative electrode and prevent a separator from being torn by the positive electrode tab.
As seen in Fig. 2 of Shiozaki, one side of region A faces in the direction of the anode tab and the anode center uncoated part. In Shiozaki, region A is where the cathode tab sits, therefore, given the insulation coating layer of Shiozaki is drawn to the insulating tapes of Kim, there would be an insulating tape on each side of the cathode current collector relative to the cathode tab in region A. Since these tapes are in region A, one of these tapes would face toward the anode tab and the anode center uncoated part, therefore, allowing modified Shiozaki to meet the limitation “an insulation coating layer formed on a portion, on the cathode current collector, facing the anode tab” or “an insulation coating layer formed on a portion facing the anode tab and the anode center uncoated part”.
The insulating tapes of Kim not only cover the positive electrode tab but also sit directly on the uncoated portion of the positive electrode current collector (see Kim Fig. 4). Further, as seen in Figs. 3A-3B of Shiozaki, the cathode tab sits between two separate portions of the cathode active material that are spaced apart from each other on a same side of the cathode current collector. Therefore, given the insulation coating layer’s tapes are on each side of the current collector relative to the cathode tab in region A, they would also be disposed directly on an exposed surface of the cathode current collector between and spaced apart from separate portions of the cathode active material that are spaced apart from each other on a same side of the cathode current collector.
Regarding claim 2, modified Shiozaki meets the limitation wherein the insulation coating layer includes a first insulation coating layer formed on a first surface of the cathode current collector and a second insulation coating layer formed on a second surface of the cathode current collector opposite to the first surface (given the insulation coating layer of modified Shiozaki are the two insulating tapes 481, 482 of Kim; see the rejection of claim 1 above; there can be two interpretations: A and B; Interpretation A: the first surface of the cathode current collector can be drawn to the surface of the cathode current collector that the cathode tab is not sitting on in Figs. 2 and 3B of Shiozaki and the insulating tape sitting on the first surface is the first insulation coating layer; the second surface of the cathode current collector can be drawn to the surface of the cathode current collector that the cathode tab sits on in Figs. 2 and 3B of Shiozaki and the insulating tape sitting on the second surface is the second insulation coating layer; Interpretation B: the first surface of the cathode current collector can be drawn to the surface of the cathode current collector that the cathode tab sits on in Figs. 2 and 3B of Shiozaki and the insulating tape sitting on the first surface is the first insulation coating layer; the second surface of the cathode current collector can be drawn to the surface of the cathode current collector that the cathode tab is not sitting on in Figs. 2 and 3B of Shiozaki and the insulating tape sitting on the second surface is the second insulation coating layer).
Regarding claim 3, modified Shiozaki meets the limitation wherein the first insulation coating layer faces an anode center uncoated part located on a second surface of the anode current collector (using Interpretation A, the first insulation coating layer sits on the surface of the current collector that the cathode tab is not sitting on, therefore, as seen in Shiozaki Fig. 2, the first insulation coating layer would face the anode center uncoated part located on a second surface of the anode current collector; the Examiner notes that either surface of the anode current collector can be the second surface as it is not defined).
Regarding claim 4, modified Shiozaki meets the limitation wherein the second insulation coating layer faces an anode center uncoated part located on a first surface of the anode current collector (using Interpretation B, the second insulation coating layer sits on the surface of the current collector that the cathode tab is not sitting on, therefore, as seen in Shiozaki Fig. 2, the second insulation coating layer would face the anode center uncoated part located on a first surface of the anode current collector; the Examiner notes that either surface of the anode current collector can be the first surface as it is not defined).
Regarding claim 10, in Fig. 5 of Kim, it can be seen that the thickness of the insulating tapes (481, 482) appear to be the same thickness as the positive electrode active material layer (42). Therefore, when modifying Shiozaki by Kim, since Kim already teaches keeping the insulating tapes the same thickness as the positive electrode active material layer, it would be obvious to keep a thickness of the insulation coating layer to be the same as that of the cathode active material layer.
Claims 7-8 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Shiozaki et al (US 20200020921 A1) in view of Kim et al (US 20040161662 A1) as applied to claim 1, further in view of Kawabe (US 20170244087 A1).
Regarding claims 7-8, Kim is silent to the material of the insulation coating layer (insulating tapes).
In a similar field of endeavor, Kawabe teaches an insulating tape to be used within a secondary battery (Abstract). Kawabe teaches the tape is capable of maintain its insulating property even under a severe environment, e.g., even when being heated, and being capable of improving the safety of the nonaqueous secondary battery (Abstract).
Kawabe teaches the tape includes a base material with an insulating layer in which the insulating layer contains an insulating inorganic filler (P9). Kawabe teaches the insulating inorganic filler can be at least one selected from magnesium hydroxide, magnesium oxide, alumina, and titanium oxide (P11).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention and substituted the insulating tapes of modified Shiozaki with the insulating tapes of Kawabe to provide wherein the insulation coating layer of modified Shiozaki may include a ceramic material formed of any one of Al2O3, TiO2, MgO, and Mg(OH)2, given Kawabe teaches their tape is capable of maintaining its insulating property even under a severe environment and improving the safety of a nonaqueous secondary battery, and the simple substitution of one known element for another is likely to be obvious when predictable results are achieved. See KSR Int'l Co. v. Teleflex Inc., 550 U.S. 398, 415-421, 82 USPQ2d 1385, 1395-97 (2007) (see MPEP § 2143, B.).
Claims 1-2 and 9-10 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kim et al (US 20040161662 A1) in view of Ko (US 20230163366 A1).
Regarding claim 1, Kim discloses a secondary battery (30 in Fig. 3, see entire disclosure and especially P36) comprising:
an anode plate (negative electrode plate 36 in Fig. 5, see entire disclosure and especially P51) comprising an anode current collector (negative electrode current collector 410 in Fig. 5, see entire disclosure and especially P51), an anode active material layer formed by coating an anode active material on the anode current collector (negative electrode active material layer 420 in Fig. 5, see entire disclosure and especially P51), and an anode uncoated part (negative electrode uncoated area 411 in Fig. 5, see entire disclosure and especially see entire disclosure and especially P51) in which an anode tab (negative electrode tab 430 in Fig. 5, P51) is attached to the anode current collector (see entire disclosure and especially P51);
a cathode plate (positive electrode plate 35 in Fig. 5, see entire disclosure and especially P48) comprising a cathode current collector (positive electrode current collector 41 in Fig. 5, see entire disclosure and especially P48), a cathode active material layer formed by coating a cathode active material on the cathode current collector (positive electrode active material layer 42 in Fig. 5, see entire disclosure and especially P48), and a cathode uncoated part (positive electrode uncoated area 41a in Fig. 5, see entire disclosure and especially P49) in which a cathode tab (positive electrode tab 43 in Fig. 5, see entire disclosure and especially P49) is attached to the cathode current collector (see entire disclosure and especially P49);
a separator interposed between the anode plate and the cathode plate (separator 37 in Fig. 5, see entire disclosure and especially P47); and
an insulation coating layer formed on a portion, on the cathode current collector, facing the anode tab, a portion facing the anode tab and the anode center uncoated part, or a portion facing the anode tab, the anode center uncoated part, and an insulating member attached to the anode tab that does not contact the anode active material (insulating tapes 481 and 482 in Fig. 5, see entire disclosure and especially P50; “an insulation coating layer formed on … a portion facing the anode tab, the anode center uncoated part, and insulating member attached to the anode tab” [Wingdings font/0xE0] both tapes are on a portion of the positive electrode current collector 41 and face towards the anode tab, anode centered uncoated part and insulating tapes 491/492 that do not contact negative electrode active material layer 420).
However, Kim does not disclose the uncoated part at which the anode tab is attached to the anode current collector is located in the center of the anode current collector or wherein the uncoated part at which the cathode tab is attached to the cathode current collector is located in the center of the cathode current collector.
In a similar field of endeavor, Ko teaches in a conventional jelly roll assembly where the tabs are at the end of the current collector, the distance for the electrons to travel through the positive electrode current collector or the negative electrode current collector increases, and electron transfer resistance increases (P67). Ko teaches, however, when an electrode tab is positioned at the center of the current collector, the electrons have to move half the length of the current collector (P67).
From the teaching of Ko, one of ordinary skill in the art would understand that by moving the electrode tabs from the end of a current collector to the middle of a current collector, electron transfer resistance would decrease. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have utilized the teaching of Ko and modified Kim such that the uncoated part at which the anode tab is attached to the anode current collector is located in the center of the anode current collector and wherein the uncoated part at which the cathode tab is attached to the cathode current collector is located in the center of the cathode current collector, given this would decrease electrode transfer resistance.
The insulating tapes of Kim not only cover the positive electrode tab but also sit directly on the uncoated portion of the positive electrode current collector (see Kim Fig. 4). Given the uncoated part of the where the cathode tab sits on the current collector is now in the center of the cathode current collector, there would be active material at both sides, and they would also be disposed directly on an exposed surface of the cathode current collector between and spaced apart from separate portions of the cathode active material that are spaced apart from each other on a same side of the cathode current collector.
Regarding claim 2, Kim discloses wherein the insulation coating layer includes a first insulation coating layer formed on a first surface of the cathode current collector and a second insulation coating layer formed on a second surface of the cathode current collector opposite to the first surface (insulating tapes 481 and 482 in Fig. 5).
Regarding claim 9, while modified Kim does not meet the limitation wherein a width of the insulation coating layer may be equal to or greater than a width of the anode center uncoated part, this is merely a change in the form/shape of the insulation coating layer (insulating tapes 481, 482) of Kim to increase the size of the insulation coating layer. It would have been obvious to change the width of the insulation coating layer to be equal to the width of the anode center uncoated part in order to, for example, provide an even greater area of the positive electrode that is insulated from the negative electrode, given the change in form or shape, without any new or unexpected results, is an obvious engineering design. See In re Dailey, 149 USPQ 47 (CCPA 1976) (see MPEP § 2144.04).
Regarding claim 10, Kim discloses wherein a thickness of the insulation coating layer may be the same as that of the cathode active material layer (see Fig. 5, insulating tapes 481 and 482 appears to be the same thickness as positive electrode active material layer 42).
Allowable Subject Matter
Depending upon the response to the rejections under 35 U.S.C. 112(a) above (for example, dependent upon any amendments to the subject matter of claim 1):
Claims 5-6 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Regarding claim 5, the claim recites “wherein the second insulation coating layer is positioned to be spaced apart from the first insulation coating layer by a one-turn moving distance in a winding direction of the electrode assembly”.
In modified Shiozaki described in the rejections above, the first insulation coating layer and the second insulation coating layer are directly opposite to each other on opposing surfaces of the uncoated portion of the cathode current collector. Therefore, in modified Shiozaki described in the rejections above, the two insulation coating layers would not be spaced apart by a one-turn moving distance in a winding direction of the electrode assembly.
Kim has a similar structure to modified Shiozaki wherein the first insulation coating layer and the second insulation coating layer are directly opposite to each other on opposing surfaces of the uncoated portion of the cathode current collector. Therefore, in Kim, the two insulation coating layers would not be spaced apart by a one-turn moving distance in a winding direction of the electrode assembly.
Regarding claim 6, the claim recites “wherein the first insulation coating layer and the second insulation coating layer are formed at one side of the cathode center uncoated part”.
In modified Shiozaki described in the rejections above, the first insulation coating layer and the second insulation coating layer are directly opposite to each other on opposing surfaces of the uncoated portion of the cathode current collector. Therefore, in modified Shiozaki described in the rejections above, the two insulation coating layers would not be formed at one side of the cathode centered uncoated part (instead, they are formed on two opposite side surfaces of the cathode centered uncoated part).
Kim has a similar structure to modified Shiozaki wherein the first insulation coating layer and the second insulation coating layer are directly opposite to each other on opposing surfaces of the uncoated portion of the cathode current collector. Therefore, in Kim, the two insulation coating layers would not be formed at one side of the cathode centered uncoated part (instead, they are formed on two opposite side surfaces of the cathode centered uncoated part).
Conclusion
/MARY GRACE BYRAM/Examiner, Art Unit 1729