DETAILED ACTION
Response to Amendment
Claims 1, 3-12, and 14-20 are currently pending. Claims 1 and 17 have been amended.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 1 and 17 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(a) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), first paragraph, as failing to comply with the written description requirement. The claim(s) contains subject matter which was not described in the specification in such a way as to reasonably convey to one skilled in the relevant art that the inventor or a joint inventor, or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the inventor(s), at the time the application was filed, had possession of the claimed invention. Claims 3-12, 14-16, and 18-20 are further rejected due to their dependency to claim 1 or 17.
Claims 1 and 17 recite that the SCL is identified as a precursor for the acute stress event. However, [0006] and [0032] of the PGPUB recite that the cEDA is used as a precursor for certain biological events, such as the body’s response to acute stress events. It is noted that [0006] and [0032] recite that the SCL can be beneficial in determining a user’s cEDA, not that the SCL is a precursor.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1, 3-8, 10, 14-17, 19, and 20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Ouwerkerk et al. ‘157 (US Pub No. 2021/0290157 – previously cited) in view of Tognetti et al. ‘229 (US Pub No. 2014/0316229 – previously cited) further in view of Tartz et al. ‘318 (US Pub No. 2013/0317318 – previously cited) further in view of Ouwerkerk et al. ‘231 (International Pub No. WO 2015/082231).
Regarding claim 1, Ouwerkerk et al. ‘157 teaches a wearable computing device (Fig. 2 wearable device 30 and [0072]), comprising:
a housing comprising a dorsal wrist-side face configured to sit against a dorsal wrist of a user of the wearable computing device when being worn by the user ([0075]; “The skin conductance measurement electrodes 31, 32 can be arranged for acquiring the skin conductance signal trace at a dorsal side of a wrist of the user…”);
an electronic display arranged within the housing (Fig. 1 output unit 40 and [0069]);
a plurality of biometric sensor electrodes positioned on the dorsal wrist-side face of the housing (Fig. 2 sensor 20, skin conductance measurement electrodes 31, 32 and [0075]), the plurality of biometric sensor electrodes measuring, at least, one or more parameters indicative of electrical impedance of the user at a location of the skin contact ([0077]; One of ordinary skill would understand that conductance and impedance are mathematically related.), the plurality of biometric sensor electrodes comprising a plurality of continuous electrodermal activity (cEDA) sensor electrodes (Figs. 3, 5 and [0080]-[0081]) being spaced apart from an edge of the dorsal wrist-side face of the housing by an edge gap (Fig. 2 shows gaps between the edge of the dorsal wrist-side face of the housing and the electrodes 31, 32.) to maintain the plurality of cEDA sensor electrodes towards a center of the wrist-side face to assist in maintaining the skin contact between the cEDA sensor electrodes and the user when being worn on the dorsal wrist of the user (Fig. 2 sensor 20, skin conductance measurement electrodes 31, 32 and [0075]), the plurality of cEDA sensor electrodes measuring, at least, an electrodermal activity signal of the user at a location of the skin contact ([0077]; One of ordinary skill would understand that conductance and impedance are mathematically related.);
at least one driver communicatively coupled to the plurality of biometric sensor electrodes ([0077]; “…skin conductance measuring sensor may comprise a voltage generator for applying a voltage between the at least two skin conductance electrodes…”); and
at least one controller communicatively coupled to the at least one driver (Fig. 1 processing unit 12 and [0067]), the at least one controller configured to determine a skin conductance level, SCL, of the user over a certain time period based on the electrical impedance of the user and calculate a stress state of the user (Fig. 11 steps S202-S204 and [0100]-[0101]).
Ouwerkerk et al. ‘157 teaches all of the elements of the current invention as mentioned above except for the plurality of cEDA sensor electrodes continuously measure, at least, an electrodermal activity signal of the user at a location of the skin contact; and
at least one controller configured to determine tonic and phasic components of the electrodermal activity signal of the user over a certain time period, the tonic and phasic components corresponding to a skin conductance level (SCL) and skin conductance responses (SCRs), respectively, and calculate a stress state of the user.
Tognetti et al. ‘229 teaches measuring electrodermal activity including the tonic level and the phasic level (Fig. 9 and [0077]) on a wrist worn device that measures electrodermal activity of the stratum corneum of a skin on the wrist of the user ([0056]). This method enables continuous monitoring and control of the output voltage VOUT such that the conductance of the stratum corneum can be measured over a wide range ([0078]). The tonic level is also referred to as “tonic level conductance” and the phasic level is also referred to “phasic level conductance” that occurs in the presence of discrete environmental stimuli ([0005]-[0006]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the plurality of cEDA sensor electrodes of Ouwerkerk et al. ‘157 to continuously measure an electrodermal activity signal of the user at a location of the skin contact and the controller of Ouwerkerk et al. ‘157 to determine tonic and phasic components of the electrodermal activity signal of the user over a certain time period, the tonic and phasic components corresponding to a skin conductance level (SCL) and skin conductance responses (SCRs), respectively, and calculate a stress state of the user as Tognetti et al. ‘229 teaches that the conductance of the stratum corneum can be measured over a wide range ([0078]), to measure heart rate variability (HRV), which is related to emotional arousal ([0007]).
Ouwerkerk et al. ‘157 in view of Tognetti et al. ‘229 teaches all of the elements of the current invention as mentioned above except for the at least one controller configured to determine a response of the user to an acute stress event based, at least in part, on the precursor and the SCRs; and calculate a stress state of the user based on the response of the user to an acute stress event.
Tartz et al. ‘318 teaches an electrode array that measure and collect the skin conductance level (SCL) or skin conductance response (SCR) by acquiring electrodermal activity (Abstract). One of ordinary skill would understand that the electrodermal activity is the response of the user based on the SCL or SCR. Electrodermal activity reflects sympathetic nervous system activation and is related to a major component of human emotion known as arousal. High emotional arousal may be experienced in various emotional states, such as anxiety, stress, fear, or anger (which are negative states) or more positive states such as excitement ([0057]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the at least one controller of Ouwerkerk et al. ‘157 in view of Tognetti et al. ‘229 to include determining a response of the user to an acute stress event based, at least in part, on the SCL and the SCRs; and calculating a stress state of the user based on the response of the user to an acute stress event as Tartz et al. ‘318 teaches that electrodermal activity reflects sympathetic nervous system activation and is related to human emotional such as anxiety, stress, fear, anger, or excitement.
Ouwerkerk et al. ‘157 in view of Tognetti et al. ‘229 further in view of Tartz et al. ‘318 teaches all of the elements of the current invention as mentioned above except for determining the response of the user to the acute stress event by identifying the SCL as a precursor for the acute stress event.
Ouwerkerk et al. ‘231 teaches if acute changes of stress behavior of the living being need to be analyzed, the absolute value of the skin conductance peak data signal can be used; when an average stress behavior of the living being over a certain period of time is to be found, analyzing the average of the skin conductance peak data signal may be preferable (page 10, 2nd paragraph).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the determining of the response of the user to the acute stress event of Ouwerkerk et al. ‘157 in view of Tognetti et al. ‘229 further in view of Tartz et al. ‘318 to include identifying the SCL as a precursor for the acute stress event as Ouwerkerk et al. ‘231 teaches that the skin conductance peak data signal is preferable in analyzing acute changes of stress behavior.
Regarding claim 3, Ouwerkerk et al. ‘157 teaches an optics package (Fig. 2 sensor 20 and [0077]) arranged within the housing and at least partially exposed through the dorsal wrist-side face of the housing (Fig. 2 electrode surrounding inlay 36 and [0076]), the plurality of biometric sensor electrodes being positioned around, adjacent to, interspersed with, surrounded by, or on top of the optics package on the dorsal wrist-side face of the housing ([0074]; “The skin conductance sensor 20 may comprise a first and a second skin conductance electrode 31, 32 in combination with a skin conductance measuring unit…”).
Regarding claim 4, Ouwerkerk et al. ‘157 teaches wherein the plurality of biometric sensor electrodes comprises, at least, a first biometric sensor electrode and a second biometric sensor electrode, the first and second biometric sensor electrodes being spaced apart by at least one gap (Fig. 2 skin conductance measurement electrodes 31, 32 and [0075]).
Regarding claim 5, Ouwerkerk et al. ‘157 teaches wherein the at least one gap comprises a first gap and a second gap arranged on opposing sides of the optics package (see annotated Fig. 2 below).
Regarding claim 6, Ouwerkerk et al. ‘157 teaches wherein the first and second biometric sensor electrodes are arranged in a concentric configuration, wherein the at least one gap is an annular gap (see annotated Fig. 2 below).
Regarding claim 7, Ouwerkerk et al. ‘157 teaches wherein the plurality of biometric sensor electrodes comprises more than two biometric sensor electrodes arranged around, adjacent to, interspersed with, surrounded by, or on top of the optics package ([0077]; “at least two skin conductance electrodes”).
Regarding claim 8, Ouwerkerk et al. ‘157 teaches wherein the more than two biometric sensor electrodes are arranged in an annular configuration around the optics package (see annotated Fig. 2).
Regarding claim 10, Ouwerkerk et al. ‘157 teaches wherein at least two of the plurality of biometric sensor electrodes are arranged in pairs, each of the pairs being parallel to each other and spaced apart by a gap (Fig. 2 shows that the electrodes 31, 32 are in pairs.).
Regarding claim 14, Ouwerkerk et al. ‘157 teaches wherein one or more of the plurality of biometric sensor electrodes is elevated with respect to an area adjacent to the plurality of biometric sensor electrodes on a surface of the dorsal wrist-side face of the housing ([0076] states that the microclimate inlay 36 is shaped such that it is level with the skin conductance levels. This indicates that the electrodes 31, 32 are raised with respect to the dorsal facing side of the wearable device 30.).
Regarding claim 15, Ouwerkerk et al. ‘157 teaches at least one additional biometric sensor electrode, the at least one additional biometric sensor electrode comprising at least one of one or more temperature sensors ([0049]), a humidity sensor, a light sensor, a pressure sensor, a microphone, or a photoplethysmogram (PPG) sensor.
Regarding claim 16, Ouwerkerk et al. ‘157 teaches wherein one or more of the plurality of biometric sensor electrodes comprises at least one of the following characteristics: transparency, flushness with the dorsal wrist-side face (Fig. 2 micro climate inlay 36 and [0076]), a surface finish, or curved edges (Fig. 2 shows that electrodes 31, 32 have curved edges.).
Regarding claim 17, Ouwerkerk et al. ‘157, as modified by Tognetti et al. ‘229 and Tartz et al. ‘318, teaches a computer-implemented method of monitoring a stress state of a user using a wearable computing device, as claimed, as the method of claim 17 is analogous to the device of claim 1.
Regarding claim 19, Ouwerkerk et al. ‘157 teaches filtering the electrodermal activity signal of the user based on one or more additional parameters collected by the wearable computing device ([0082]-[0083]).
Regarding claim 20, Ouwerkerk et al. ‘157 teaches wherein the plurality of biometric sensor electrodes are arranged around, adjacent to, interspersed with, surrounded by, or on top of an optics package on the dorsal wrist-side face of the housing (Fig. 2 sensor 20 and [0077], [0074]; “The skin conductance sensor 20 may comprise a first and a second skin conductance electrode 31, 32 in combination with a skin conductance measuring unit…”).
Claims 9 and 12 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Ouwerkerk et al. ‘157 in view of Tognetti et al. ‘229 further in view of Tartz et al. ‘318 further in view of Ouwerkerk et al. ‘231 further in view of Pandya et al. ‘912 (US Pub No. 2019/0072912 – previously cited).
Regarding claim 9, Ouwerkerk et al. ‘157 in view of Tognetti et al. ‘229 further in view of Tartz et al. ‘318 further in view of Ouwerkerk et al. ‘231 teaches all of the elements of the current invention as mentioned above except for wherein the more than two biometric sensor electrodes are arranged in a quadrilateral configuration around, adjacent to, interspersed with, surrounded by, or on top of the optics package.
Pandya et al. ‘912 teaches one or more electrodes 304, 306 and windows 308, 310, 312, 314 (Fig. 3). The windows pass at least one wavelength of light ([0075]-[0076]). Fig. 3 shows that the electrodes and windows are in a diamond, or quadrilateral, configuration ([0080]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the more than two biometric sensor electrodes of Ouwerkerk et al. ‘157 in view of Tognetti et al. ‘229 further in view of Tartz et al. ‘318 further in view of Ouwerkerk et al. ‘231 to include being arranged in a quadrilateral configuration around, adjacent to, interspersed with, surrounded by, or on top of the optics package as Pandya et al. ‘912 teaches that this will aid in the electrodes and windows being bifurcated ([0079]).
Regarding claim 12, Ouwerkerk et al. ‘157 in view of Tognetti et al. ‘229 further in view of Tartz et al. ‘318 further in view of Ouwerkerk et al. ‘231 teaches all of the elements of the current invention as mentioned above except for wherein two or more of the plurality of biometric sensor electrodes have different shapes.
Pandya et al. ‘912 teaches electrodes 304, 306 that are circular shape and windows 308, 310, 312, 314 that are semicircular (Fig. 3 and [0076]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the two or more of the plurality of biometric sensor electrodes of Ourwerkerk et al. ‘157 in view of Tognetti et al. ‘229 further in view of Tartz et al. ‘318 further in view of Ouwerkerk et al. ‘231 to include having different shapes are Pandya et al. ‘912 teaches that this will aid in the electrodes and windows being bifurcated ([0079]).
Claims 11 and 18 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Ouwerkerk et al. ‘157 in view of Tognetti et al. ‘229 further in view of Tartz et al. ‘318 further in view of Ouwerkerk et al. ‘231 further in view of Shenhav et al. ‘174 (US Pub No. 2019/0038174 – previously cited).
Regarding claim 11, Ouwerkerk et al. ‘157 in view of Tognetti et al. ‘229 further in view of Tartz et al. ‘318 further in view of Ouwerkerk et al. ‘231 teaches all of the elements of the current invention as mentioned above except for wherein the at least one controller is configured to select one of the pairs of the plurality of biometric sensor electrodes for determining the SCL and the SCRs of the user over the certain time period based upon data collected from the pairs of the plurality of biometric sensor electrodes.
Shenhav et al. ‘174 teaches impedance samples are collected by pairing, per each time sample collected, two different electrodes selected out of the total number of electrodes. A potential advantage of collecting data in the above described manner (i.e. pairing up different electrodes per each time sample) may include that the effective tissue area covered by the electrodes is substantially increased in size, allowing to average-out the noise, while the actual number of electrodes used is smaller than the number of electrodes that would have been required if impedance was calculated only between fixed electrode pairs, and not between combinations thereof. Another potential advantage of a method as described hereinabove in which impedance is measured and calculated between combinations of electrode pairs and not between fixed (or constant) electrode pairs may include identifying exceptional and/or false values more easily, (occurring for example as a result of an electrode being misplaced, for example being positioned over the septum). Another potential advantage may include detecting electrode misalignment and/or loss of contact with the tissue ([0150]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the at least one controller of Ouwerkerk et al. ‘157 in view of Tognetti et al. ‘229 further in view of Tartz et al. ‘318 further in view of Ouwerkerk et al. ‘231 to include being configured to select one of the pairs of the plurality of biometric sensor electrodes for determining the SCL and the SCRs of the user over the certain time period based upon data collected from the pairs of the plurality of biometric sensor electrodes as Shenhav et al. ‘174 teaches that this will aid in averaging out noise, identifying exceptional and/or false values more easily, and detecting electrode misalignment and/or loss of contact with the tissue.
Regarding claim 18, Ouwerkerk et al. ‘157 in view of Tognetti et al. ‘229 further in view of Tartz et al. ‘318 further in view of Ouwerkerk et al. ‘231 teaches all of the elements of the current invention as mentioned above except for selecting a pair of biometric sensor electrodes for measurement.
Shenhav et al. ‘174 teaches impedance samples are collected by pairing, per each time sample collected, two different electrodes selected out of the total number of electrodes. A potential advantage of collecting data in the above described manner (i.e. pairing up different electrodes per each time sample) may include that the effective tissue area covered by the electrodes is substantially increased in size, allowing to average-out the noise, while the actual number of electrodes used is smaller than the number of electrodes that would have been required if impedance was calculated only between fixed electrode pairs, and not between combinations thereof. Another potential advantage of a method as described hereinabove in which impedance is measured and calculated between combinations of electrode pairs and not between fixed (or constant) electrode pairs may include identifying exceptional and/or false values more easily, (occurring for example as a result of an electrode being misplaced, for example being positioned over the septum). Another potential advantage may include detecting electrode misalignment and/or loss of contact with the tissue ([0150]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the method of Ouwerkerk et al. ‘157 in view of Tognetti et al. ‘229 further in view of Tartz et al. ‘318 further in view of Ouwerkerk et al. ‘231 to include selecting a pair of biometric sensor electrodes for measurement as Shenhav et al. ‘174 teaches that this will aid in averaging out noise, identifying exceptional and/or false values more easily, and detecting electrode misalignment and/or loss of contact with the tissue.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to the 35 U.S.C. 103 rejections have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/AURELIE H TU/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3791