Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 6, 13, 17, 21, 23 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Takeda US 20210378006 in view of Jung US 20180132264.
Regarding claims 6, 13, 17, 21, Takeda teaches user equipment (UE), comprising:
at least one memory; and
at least one processor coupled with the at least one memory and configured to cause the UE to:
receive downlink control information comprising a format that indicates a set of parameters for at least one transmissions across a plurality of slots;
wherein a time-domain resource assignment for the at least one transmission is indicated by a time-domain resource assignment field in the received downlink control information, and
wherein the time-domain resource assignment field indicates an index corresponding to a time-domain resource assignment table configured by higher layer signaling ([0105, 0106]).
Takeda is silent on wherein an indication of a quantity of slots for a multiple-slot single transport block (TB) transmission enables transmission of a single TB across multiple slots.
Jung teaches wherein an indication of a quantity of slots for a multiple-slot single transport block (TB) transmission enables transmission of a single TB across multiple slots ([0156] FIG. 8 depicts multi-slot scheduling between a gNB and a UE, such as the UE 205 and gNB 210. When the UE 205 receives a DL data resource assignment (e.g. a PDSCH resource assignment), the resource assignment may be applicable to a single slot or multiple slots. As depicted, the UE 205 may receive downlink control signal (e.g., DCI) with a resource assignment applicable to slot 0, slot 1, slot 2, and slot 3. When the resource assignment is applicable to multiple slots, data sent over the multiple slots may be sent as one transport block (“TB”) or media access control layer protocol data unit (“MAC PDU”) or can be sent as multiple TBs or MAC PDUs).
Therefore it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to modify the system of Takeda by wherein an indication of a quantity of slots for a multiple-slot single transport block (TB) transmission enables transmission of a single TB across multiple slots, as shown by Jung. This modification would benefit the system by informing the UE of the number of slots available for transmitting a single TB multiple
times.
Regarding claim 23, the format schedules at least one new transport block (TB) (Takeda: [0105, 0106]: Examiner assumes format indicates a new TB), a retransmission of at least one old TB, or a repetition of the at least one new transport block for a first transmission, or a second transmission, or both.
Claim(s) 6, 7, 9, 13, 14, 17, 21, 22 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Zhou EP 3200542 in view of Takeda, and Jung.
Regarding claims 6, 13, 17, 21, Zhou teaches a user equipment (UE), comprising:
at least one memory; and
at least one processor coupled with the at least one memory and configured to cause the UE to:
receive downlink control information comprising a format that indicates a set of parameters for at least one transmissions across a plurality of slots (fig. 7 DCI: DL&UL, downlink and uplink scheduling information of UE, time-frequency resource used when base station 10 sends DLPN and time frequency resource used when UE sends ULPN, [0128]).
Zhou is silent on wherein a time-domain resource assignment for the at least one transmission is indicated by a time-domain resource assignment field in the received downlink control information, and
wherein the time-domain resource assignment field indicates an index corresponding to a time-domain resource assignment table configured by higher layer signaling.
Takeda teaches wherein a time-domain resource assignment for the at least one transmission is indicated by a time-domain resource assignment field in the received downlink control information, and
wherein the time-domain resource assignment field indicates an index corresponding to a time-domain resource assignment table configured by higher layer signaling ([0105, 0106]).
Therefore it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to modify the system of Zhou by wherein a time-domain resource assignment for the at least one transmission is indicated by a time-domain resource assignment field in the received downlink control information, and wherein the time-domain resource assignment field indicates an index corresponding to a time-domain resource assignment table configured by higher layer signaling, as shown by Takeda. This modification would benefit the system by providing a proven, reliable method for the UE to receive transmission parameters.
The combination is silent on wherein an indication of a quantity of slots for a multiple-slot single transport block (TB) transmission enables transmission of a single TB across multiple slots.
Jung teaches wherein an indication of a quantity of slots for a multiple-slot single transport block (TB) transmission enables transmission of a single TB across multiple slots ([0156] FIG. 8 depicts multi-slot scheduling between a gNB and a UE, such as the UE 205 and gNB 210. When the UE 205 receives a DL data resource assignment (e.g. a PDSCH resource assignment), the resource assignment may be applicable to a single slot or multiple slots. As depicted, the UE 205 may receive downlink control signal (e.g., DCI) with a resource assignment applicable to slot 0, slot 1, slot 2, and slot 3. When the resource assignment is applicable to multiple slots, data sent over the multiple slots may be sent as one transport block (“TB”) or media access control layer protocol data unit (“MAC PDU”) or can be sent as multiple TBs or MAC PDUs).
Therefore it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to modify the system of Takeda by wherein an indication of a quantity of slots for a multiple-slot single transport block (TB) transmission enables transmission of a single TB across multiple slots, as shown by Jung. This modification would benefit the system by informing the UE of the number of slots available for transmitting a single TB multiple
times.
Regarding claim 7, 14, 22, the control information format schedules a first at least one transport block for downlink transmission across a first at least one transmission time interval (Zhou: DL, downlink information of UE, time-frequency, [0128]) and a second at least one transport block for uplink transmission across a second at least one transmission time interval (Zhou: UL, uplink scheduling information of UE, time-frequency, [0128]).
Regarding claim 9, the control information format schedules at least one new transport block (Zhou: fig. 7 DCI: DL&UL, downlink and uplink scheduling information of UE, time-frequency resource used when base station 10 sends DLPN and time frequency resource used when UE sends ULPN, [0128]), a retransmission of at least one old transport block, or a repetition of the at least one new transport block for the first transmission, the second transmission, or a combination thereof.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to the amended independent claim(s) have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment ,10/10/25, necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/RONALD B ABELSON/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2476