DETAILED ACTION
The instant first office action is in response to communication filed on 09/09/2025.
Claims 1-14 are pending of which claims 1 and 14 are the base independent claims.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claim(s) 1-14 have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
Further, the amended limitations are in fact taught by the previously cited prior art. For a detailed explanation on how the prior art reads on the claims as amended, please see the rejection below.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claim(s) 11 is/are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-3, 10 and 13-14 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Bergstrom et al (US 2022/0408518) claiming benefit to and fully supported by provisionally filed Application No. 62/930,261, filed on Nov. 4, 2019.
Regarding claim 1 and 14, Bergstrom’518 discloses a method comprising:
performing, by a multi-universal subscriber identity module (MUSIM) user equipment (UE)(see fig.8 & see para.0108, which shows UE 800 includes processor 802 coupled to transceiver 806 and memory 804, see para.0108, which discusses software that is, e.g., stored in the memory 804 and executed by the processor(s) 802) a registration first procedure(see para.0003, which discusses Multiple Subscriber Identity Module (SIM), or “Multi-SIM,” devices are devices which enable use of multiple subscriptions in one device by means of more than one Universal Mobile Telecommunications System (UMTS) SIM (USIM). Multi-SIM UE's can support concurrent registration to more than one network simultaneously, see fig.2, which shows WCD as UE registers with PLMN1 202 and registers with PLMN2 204, thus performing registration procedure ), wherein the MUSIM UE is a UE maintaining separate registration states with a first network and a second network and a second network(see fig.2, (see fig.2, which shows WCD as wireless communication device maintaining registration state 202 with PLMN1 as first network and registration state 204 with PLMN2 as second network, thus maintaining separate registration states) and wherein the first network and the second network(see fig.2, which shows PLMN1 as first network and PLMN2 as second network) are related to respective USIMs(see para.0077, which discusses One use case for multiple SIMs is that the different SIMs are associated with different PLMNs, see para.0079, see para.0114, which discusses registering (202) with a first network associated with a first SIM; registering (204) with a second network associated with a second SIM, thus respective USIMS);
transmitting, by the MUSIM UE in a radio resource control (RRC) connected state in the first network(see fig.4, which shows WCD is…connected in PLMN1 and idle in PLMN2, see para.0100, which discusses the UE 112 is in Connected mode (RRC_CONNECTED) with regards to a PLMN A as fist network, see para.0078, which discusses the UE 112 may be in RRC_CONNECTED as connected stated with both networks), information for MUSIM operation to the first network(see fig.4, WCD provides/transmits NEW (Eg. reduced) capabilities information 406 to PLMN1 as first network, see para.0100, which discusses the UE 112 may indicate/transmits less capabilities towards PLMN A, , see also para.0101 and para.0094, see para.0011) based on a change of a connection status in the second network(see fig.4, which shows based on a changed of a connection status from IDLE in PLMN2 to connected mode in PLMN2 400),
wherein the information for MUSIM operation comprises information related to one or(due to or alternative language, only one of them is being considered) more bands supported in UE capability for MUSIM operation(see para.011, which discusses the capability information comprises information that indicates: (a) a number of carriers as band(s) supported by the wireless communication device, (b) one or more carrier combinations supported by the wireless communication device…, see para.0081, which discusses…if the UE 112 is operating using two SIMs, the UE 112 may indicate to a first PLMN that it supports only three carriers as bands, while indicating to a second PLMN that it supports only three carriers).
Regarding claim 2, Bergstrom’518 discloses wherein the MUSIM UE equipped with a first USIM and a second USIM(see para.0009, which discusses wireless communication device having multiple Subscriber Identity Modules (SIMs) with two or more networks. In one embodiment, a method performed by a wireless communication device having multiple SIMs comprises registering with a first network associated with a first SIM and registering with a second network associated with a second SIM), and wherein the performing of the registration procedure comprises: registering to the first network based on subscription information in the first USIM(see fig.2 & see para.0009, which discusses wireless communication device having multiple SIMs comprises registering with a first network associated with a first SIM, see para.0003, which discusses Multiple Subscriber Identity Module (SIM), or “Multi-SIM,” devices are devices which enable use of multiple subscriptions in one device by means of more than one Universal Mobile Telecommunications System (UMTS) SIM (USIM)); and registering to the second network based on subscription information in the second USIM (see fig.2 & see para.0009, which discusses wireless communication device having multiple SIMs comprises registering with a first network associated with a first SIM and registering with a second network associated with a second SIM such that the wireless communication device is simultaneously registered with both the first network and the second network, see para.0003, which discusses Multiple Subscriber Identity Module (SIM), or “Multi-SIM,” devices are devices which enable use of multiple subscriptions in one device by means of more than one Universal Mobile Telecommunications System (UMTS) SIM (USIM)).
Regarding claim 3, Bergstrom’518 discloses wherein the transmitting of the information for MUSIM operation comprises transmitting the information for MUSIM operation (see fig.4, which shows WCD provides new(i.e. reduced) capability information to network (PLMN1) as first network, see para.0081, see para.0088, see para.0010-0010) upon a change of one or more contents in the information for MUSIM operation(see para.0100, see para.0101, which discusses the wireless communication device 112 … in association therewith indicates less capabilities towards PLMN1, as discussed above (step 406). In other words, the wireless communication device 112 indicates capabilities that take into consideration (e.g., reserve) resources needed for PLMN2. The wireless communication device 112 connects to PLMN2 and, in association therewith, indicates capabilities that take into consideration resources needed for PLMN1 (step 408), see para.011, thus upon a change of reduced capabilities/resources in the capability information).
Regarding claim 10, Bergstrom’518 discloses wherein the information comprises information for the UE capability available for the first network(see fig.4, 406, see para.0081, which discusses…if the UE 112 is operating using two SIMs, the UE 112 may indicate to a first PLMN that it supports only three carriers, while indicating to a second PLMN that it supports only three carriers, see para.0088, which discusses UE 112 reports its capabilities, see para.0079, see para.0010).
Regarding claim 13, Bergstrom’518 discloses wherein MUSIM UE is in communication with at least one(due to one, only one of them is being considered) of a user equipment, a network, and/or autonomous vehicles o (see fig.4, which shows UE is in communication with network node PLMN1 and PLMN2).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 4 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Bergstrom et al (US 2022/0408518) claiming benefit to and fully supported by provisionally filed Application No. 62/930,261, filed on Nov. 4, 2019 and further in view of Kanamarlapudi et al (US 2016/0301790).
Regarding claim 4, Bergstrom’518 discloses performing a radio resource control (RRC) connection establishment procedure to transit from an idle state to a connected state in the first network(see fig.4, which shows to transit from release connection/idle with PLMN1 404 to reconnect as connected state in the PLMN1 406, see para.0101, which discusses the wireless communication device 112 is in connected mode with PLMN1), wherein the performing of the RRC connection establishment procedure(see para.0101-0102, which discusses the wireless communication device 112 then re-connects to PLMN1 (e.g. via a RRC Resume procedure).
As discussed above, although the system of Bergstrom’518 the performing of the RRC connection establishment procedure(see para.0101-0102, which discusses the wireless communication device 112 then re-connects to PLMN1 (e.g. via a RRC Resume procedure), the system of Bergstrom’518 does not explicitly show the use of “transmitting an RRC setup request message to the first network; receiving an RRC setup message from the first network; and transmitting an RRC setup complete message to the first network, and wherein the RRC setup complete message comprises the information for MUSIM operation” as required by present claimed invention. However, including “transmitting an RRC setup request message to the first network; receiving an RRC setup message from the first network; and transmitting an RRC setup complete message to the first network, and wherein the RRC setup complete message comprises the information for MUSIM operation” would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art as evidenced by Kanamarlapudi’790.
In particular, in the same field of endeavor, Kanamarlapudi’790 teaches (second/first is just a label) the use of transmitting an RRC setup request message to the first network(see fig.2, which shows UE transmitting an RRC setup request message to the network 208); receiving an RRC setup message from the first network(see fig.2, which shows receiving an RRC setup message from the second network 210); and transmitting an RRC setup complete message to the first network(see fig.2, which shows transmitting an RRC setup complete message to the second network 212), and wherein the RRC setup complete message comprises information related to the report information (see fig.2, which shows transmitting an RRC setup complete message to the second network 212 with capability report with less than full set of UE capability info (reduced report), see fig.1, which shows MUSIM associated with 1st SIM 19 and 2nd SIM operation).
In view of the above, having the system of Bergstrom’518 and then given the well-established teaching of Kanamarlapudi’790, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to modify the system of Bergstrom’518 to include “transmitting an RRC setup request message to the first network; receiving an RRC setup message from the first network; and transmitting an RRC setup complete message to the first network, and wherein the RRC setup complete message comprises the information for MUSIM operation” as taught by Kanamarlapudi’790, since Kanamarlapudi’790 stated in para.0008+ that such a modification would provide improvements in the UE capability reporting during a tune away mode are desired.
Claim(s) 5 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Bergstrom et al (US 2022/0408518) claiming benefit to and fully supported by provisionally filed Application No. 62/930,261, filed on Nov. 4, 2019 and further in view of Yang et al (US 2022/0225272).
Regarding claim 5, Bergstrom’518 discloses performing a radio resource control (RRC) connection resume procedure to transit from an inactive state to a connected state in the first network(see fig.4, which shows to transit from release connection/idle with PLMN1 404 to reconnect as connected state in the PLMN1 406, see para.0101, which discusses the wireless communication device 112 is in connected mode with PLMN1)), wherein the performing of the RRC connection resume procedure(see para.0101, which discusses the wireless communication device 112 then re-connects to PLMN1 (e.g. via a RRC Resume procedure)).
As discussed above, although the system of Bergstrom’518 discloses transmitting the report information to the second network(Bergstrom’518, see fig.2, which shows WCD 112 report second capability information 210 to the network PLMN2, see para.0081, which discusses…if the UE 112 is operating using two SIMs, the UE 112 may indicate to a first PLMN that it supports only three carriers, while indicating to a second PLMN that it supports only three carriers, see para.0088, which discusses UE 112 reports its capabilities, see para.0010-0010), the system of Bergstrom’518 does not explicitly show the use of “transmitting an RRC resume request message to the first network; receiving an RRC resume message from the first network; and transmitting an RRC resume complete message to the first network, and wherein the RRC resume complete message comprises the information for MUSIM operation” as required by present claimed invention. However, including “transmitting an RRC resume request message to the first network; receiving an RRC resume message from the first network; and transmitting an RRC resume complete message to the first network, and wherein the RRC resume complete message comprises the information for MUSIM operation” would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art as evidenced by Yang’272.
In particular, in the same field of endeavor, Yang’272 (it is noted that first/second is a just label) teaches the use of transmitting an RRC resume request message to the first network(see fig.9a, which shows transmitting an RRC resume request message to the second network 805-2); receiving an RRC resume message from the first network(see fig.9a, which shows receiving an RRC resume message from the second network ; and transmitting an RRC resume complete message to the second network 807-2), and transmitting an RRC resume complete message to the first network(see fig.9b, which shows transmitting an RRC resume complete message to the second network 805-3), and wherein the RRC resume complete message comprises the information for MUSIM operation (see para.0191, which discusses UE in an RRC-idle state reports, by using a message such as an RRC setup complete message, see para.0003, which discusses for plurality of SIMS, see para.0423-0426, for first and second SIM as MUSIM operation).
In view of the above, having the system of Bergstrom’518 and then given the well-established teaching of Yang’272, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to modify the system of Bergstrom’518 to include “transmitting an RRC resume request message to the first network; receiving an RRC resume message from the first network; and transmitting an RRC resume complete message to the first network, and wherein the RRC resume complete message comprises the information for MUSIM operation” as taught by Yang’272, since Yang’272 stated in para.0004 & 0008+ that such a modification would provide an improved system where overheads of paging the UE are reduced, and efficiency of paging the UE is improved.
Claim(s) 6 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Bergstrom et al (US 2022/0408518) claiming benefit to and fully supported by provisionally filed Application No. 62/930,261, filed on Nov. 4, 2019 and in view of Nigam et al (US 10,244,509).
Regarding claim 6, Bergstrom’518 discloses wherein the configuration of resources is determined(see para.0094, which discusses if the network associated with the first SIM responds by configuring fewer carriers as resources for the UE 112, the UE 112 can use the spare carriers or resources for communication with the second SIM, thus configuration of resources is determined, see fig.2) based on the information for MUSIM operation(see fig.4, WCD provides/transmits NEW (Eg. reduced) capabilities information 406 to PLMN1 as first network, see para.0100, which discusses the UE 112 may indicate/transmits less capabilities towards PLMN A, , see also para.0101 and para.0094, see para.0011, para.0094).
Regarding claim 6, as discussed above, although Bergstrom’518 discloses the configuration of resources is determined based on the information for MUSIM operation(see para.0094, which discusses if the network associated with the first SIM responds by configuring fewer carriers as resources for the UE 112, the UE 112 can use the spare carriers or resources for communication with the second SIM, thus configuration of resources is determined based on the information for MUSIM operation), Bergstrom’518 does not explicitly show the use of “receiving, from the first network, a configuration of resources so that resources used in the second network does not collide with those used in the first network” as required by present claimed invention. However, including “r receiving, from the first network, a configuration of resources so that resources used in the second network does not collide with those used in the first network” would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art as evidenced by Nigan’509.
In particular, in the same field of endeavor, Nigan’509 teaches the use of r receiving, from the first network, a configuration of resources (see fig.4, which shows UE receives a configuration of resources 470-480, see fig.9) so that resources used in the second network does not collide with those used in the first network (see fig.4, which shows UE has non-overlapping subframes/resources allocation 470, thus non-overlapping as not collide, see fig.9, 970).
In view of the above, having the system of Bergstrom’518 and then given the well-established teaching of Nigan’509, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to modify the system of Bergstrom’518 to include “receiving, from the first network, a configuration of resources so that resources used in the second network does not collide with those used in the first network” as taught by Nigan’509, since Nigan’509 stated in col.2, lines 4+ that such a modification would prevent a dual connectivity-enabled UE from performing simultaneous transmission to the two connected eNBs for the purpose of power control.
Claim(s) 7 and 9 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Bergstrom et al (US 2022/0408518) claiming benefit to and fully supported by provisionally filed Application No. 62/930,261, filed on Nov. 4, 2019 and further in view of Kuroda et al (US 8,542,655).
Regarding claim 7, as discussed above, although the system of Bergstrom’518 discloses if the UE 112 is operating using two SIMs, the UE 112 may indicate to a first PLMN that it supports only three carriers as bands, while indicating to a second PLMN that it supports only three carriers(see para.0081), the system of Bergstrom’518 does not explicitly show the use of “the information for the at least one serving frequency of the second network” as required by present claimed invention. However, including “the information for the at least one serving frequency of the second network” would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art as evidenced by Kuroda’655.
In particular, in the same field of endeavor, Kuroda’655 (i.e. it noted first/second is just a label) teaches the use of the information for the at least one serving frequency of the second network (see claim 17, which discusses first mobile station receives, from a first base station, information concerning a frequency block as serving frequency used for packet transmission destined to the first mobile station itself; a step in which the first mobile station reports, to a second base station, the information concerning the frequency block used for packet transmission).
In view of the above, having the system of Bergstrom’518 and then given the well-established teaching of Kuroda’655, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to modify the system of Bergstrom’518 to include “the information for the at least one serving frequency of the second network” as taught by Kuroda’655, since Kuroda’655 stated in col.3, lines 60 + that such a modification would increase a throughput of the mobile station at the portion near the cell boundary, leading to an increase of a throughput of the entire system. Especially, it is possible to reduce interference from its adjacent cells with respect to a mobile station providing a service of high QoS or high priority, whereby desired service quality is achieved.
Regarding claim 9, as discussed above, although the system of Bergstrom’518 discloses if the UE 112 is operating using two SIMs, the UE 112 may indicate to a first PLMN that it supports only three carriers as bands, while indicating to a second PLMN that it supports only three carriers(see para.0081), the system of Bergstrom’518 does not explicitly show the use of “receiving, from the first network, a configuration for a list of frequencies, wherein the transmitting of the information for MUSIM operation comprises transmitting information for MUSIM operation to the first network based on the at least one serving frequency of the second network is being not included in the list of frequencies” as required by present claimed invention. However, including “receiving, from the first network, a configuration for a list of frequencies, wherein the transmitting of the information for MUSIM operation comprises transmitting information for MUSIM operation to the first network based on the at least one serving frequency of the second network is being not included in the list of frequencies” would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art as evidenced by Kuroda’655.
In particular, in the same field of endeavor, Kuroda’655 (it is noted that first/second is just a label) teaches the use of receiving, from the first network, a configuration for a list of frequencies(see fig.28 & see col.14, which discusses the base station 402 as second base station reduces the number of allocated FBs for the mobile station to which excessive number of FBs has been allocated, thus allocate frequency blocks (FBs) as list of frequencies), wherein the transmitting of the information for MUSIM comprises transmitting the information for MUSIM to the first network(claim 16, which discusses reporting the channel quality information of the frequency blocks selected to the second base station) based on the at least one serving frequency of the second network is being not included in the list of frequencies(see claim 16, which discusses receiving information concerning a reserved frequency block as serving frequency from a first base station… selecting a predetermined number of frequency blocks except the reserved frequency block based on the channel quality information generated; and reporting the channel quality information of the frequency blocks selected to the second base station, thus based on that the at least one serving frequency of the first network is not included in the list of frequencies since predetermined number of frequency blocks except/exclude the reserved frequency block).
In view of the above, having t the combined system of Bergstrom’518 and Nigam’509 and then given the well-established teaching of Kuroda’655, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to modify the combined system of Bergstrom’518 and Nigam’509 to include “receiving, from the first network, a configuration for a list of frequencies, wherein the transmitting of the information for MUSIM operation comprises transmitting information for MUSIM operation to the first network based on the at least one serving frequency of the second network is being not included in the list of frequencies” as taught by Kuroda’655, since Kuroda’655 stated in col.3, lines 60 + that such a modification would increase a throughput of the mobile station at the portion near the cell boundary, leading to an increase of a throughput of the entire system. Especially, it is possible to reduce interference from its adjacent cells with respect to a mobile station providing a service of high QoS or high priority, whereby desired service quality is achieved.
Claim(s) 8 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Bergstrom et al (US 2022/0408518) claiming benefit to and fully supported by provisionally filed Application No. 62/930,261, filed on Nov. 4, 2019 in view of Kuroda et al (US 8,542,655) and further in view of Kim et al (US 2013/0114405).
Regarding claim 8, Bergstrom’518 discloses wherein the configuration of resources comprises a configuration(see para.0094, which discusses if the network associated with the first SIM responds by configuring fewer carriers as resources for the UE 112, the UE 112 can use the spare carriers or resources for communication with the second SIM, thus configuration of resources is determined, see fig.2).
As discussed above, although the combined system of Bergstrom’518 and Kuroda’655 discloses the configuration of resources comprises a configuration(see para.0094, which discusses if the network associated with the first SIM responds by configuring fewer carriers as resources for the UE 112, the UE 112 can use the spare carriers or resources for communication with the second SIM, thus configuration of resources is determined, see fig.2), the combined system of Bergstrom’518 and Kuroda’655 does not explicitly show the use of “a band combination including the at least one serving frequency of the second network” as required by present claimed invention. However, including “a band combination including the at least one serving frequency of the second network” would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art as evidenced by kim’405.
In particular, in the same field of endeavor, kim’405(it is noted first/second is just a label) teaches the use of a configuration for a band combination including the at least one serving frequency of the second network(see para.0146, which discusses current serving frequency and a non-serving frequency providing an MBMS are included in the frequency band combination supported by the UE, see para.0145, which discusses A UE which supports a carrier aggregation scheme considers a frequency band combination supported by the UE in configuration of the cell reselection frequency priority associated with frequency reselection, thus band combination includes a serving frequency).
In view of the above, having the combined system of Bergstrom’518 and Kuroda’655 and then given the well-established teaching of kim’405, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to modify the combined system of Bergstrom’518 and Kuroda’655 to include “a band combination including the at least one serving frequency of the second network” as taught by kim’405, since kim’405 stated in 0021 + that such a modification would p efficiently provide a multimedia broadcast multicast service (MBMS) to a user equipment (UE).
Claim(s) 12 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Bergstrom et al (US 2022/0408518) claiming benefit to and fully supported by provisionally filed Application No. 62/930,261, filed on Nov. 4, 2019 and further in view of Kubota et al (US 2018/0084539).
Regarding claim 12, Bergstrom’518 discloses wherein the transmitting of the information for MUSIM comprises transmitting the information for MUSIM to the first network(see fig.3, which shows WCD 112 transmits first and second capability profiles 302A-302B3) based on receiving an indication from the first network(see fig.3, which shows based on receiving indication of whether WCD is allowed to send multiple capability information sets 300)
Although the system of Bergstrom’518 discloses wherein the transmitting of the information for MUSIM comprises transmitting the information for MUSIM to the first network(see fig.3, which shows WCD 112 transmits first and second capability profiles 302A-302B3), the system of Bergstrom’518 does not explicitly show the use of “wherein the indication comprises an indication that a resource coordination between the first network and the second network is supported” as required by present claimed invention. However, including “wherein the indication comprises an indication that a resource coordination between the first network and the second network is supported” would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art as evidenced by Kubota’539.
In particular, in the same field of endeavor, Kubota’539 teaches the use of wherein the transmitting of the information for MUSIM comprises transmitting the information for MUSIM to the first network(see fig.7, which shows UE transmit/report capability response(updated RAT2 capability) and/or Capability response 730 to RAT1 )based on receiving an indication from the second network(see fig.7, which shows on receiving UE Capability query indication after determining reconfiguration connection 740 and /or receiving UE capability query 715), wherein the indication comprises an indication that a resource coordination between the first network and the second network is supported(see para.0079, which discusses the first base station 105-e and the second base station 105-f may coordinate with each other using coordination with explicit capability/configuration dependencies. In such cases, the first base station 105-e and the second base station 105-f may exchange information on UE 115-a configurations, and coordinate any reconfiguration of UE 115-a resources. Such reconfigurations may provide a semi-static capability split UE resources based on network coordination, and may provide flexibility to split the UE 115-a capabilities across the RATs).
In view of the above, having the system of Bergstrom’518 and then given the well-established teaching of Kubota’539, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to modify the system of Bergstrom’518 to include “wherein the indication comprises an indication that a resource coordination between the first network and the second network is supported” as taught by Kubota’539, since Kubota’539 stated in para.0004+ that such a modification would provide Efficient coordination among nodes of various different RATs may help to increase network efficiency and enhance user experience.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. Following prior arts are related to the present claimed invention:
Jung et al (US 20170048647) teaches, see para.0385, the terminal may transmit information about a frequency band or band combination supporting D2D operation to the network each time the RRC state is changed. For example, each time the RRC state is changed from the RRC idle state to the RRC connected state, the terminal can transmit the information about a frequency band or band combination supporting the D2D operation to the network. Also, in case handover occurs due to the movement of the terminal, too, the terminal can transmit information about a frequency band or band combination supporting the D2D operation to the network.
Applicant is encouraged to submit a written authorization for Internet communications (PTO/SB/439, http://www.uspto.gov/sites/default/files/documents/sb0439.pdf) in the instant patent application to authorize the examiner to communicate with the applicant via email. The authorization will allow the examiner to better practice compact prosecution. The written authorization can be submitted via one of the following methods only: (1) Central Fax which can be found in the Conclusion section of this Office action; (2) regular postal mail; (3) EFS WEB; or (4) the service window on the Alexandria campus. EFS web is the recommended way to submit the form since this allows the form to be entered into the file wrapper within the same day (system dependent). Written authorization submitted via other methods, such as direct fax to the examiner or email, will not be accepted. See MPEP § 502.03.
/VINNCELAS LOUIS/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2474