DETAILED ACTION
Election/Restrictions
Applicant's election with traverse of Group I, Claims 13-24 in the reply filed on January 13, 2026 is acknowledged. The traversal is on the ground(s) that the Patent Office alleges a posteriori lack of unity of invention on the basis of the teachings of Sakashita (WO 2013/125711). Sakashita discloses a holding jig for a ceramic honeycomb structure which has a cylindrical jig substrate and a cylindrical expandable member attached to its inner surface (see claim 1 and Fig. 1). Sakashita explains that when the honeycomb structure held by the holding jig is mounted into a pressure loss measuring device, the honeycomb structure is mounted via a chuck or flange attached to the holding jig (see paragraphs [0068] and [0069]). Sakashita does not describe or suggest applying airtight or liquid-tight pressure to a contact portion between the honeycomb substrate and a flange thereof. In contrast to Sakashita, the substrate holder of the present claims requires that the tubular inner peripheral wall be able to be pressed against a contact portion between the honeycomb substrate and a flange (amended claim 1). This is not found persuasive because Sakashita et al also discloses claw member (156) for preventing the structure from falling out (Page 4, paragraph [0002]). Hirakawa et al. (US 2010/0244345 A1) reference discloses a holding jig, and a measurement device and a holding device using the jig which can hold even a brittle holding target without damaging the target, and a measurement device which can measure the through channel characteristics of a fluid in a through channel of the holding target held by using the holding jig, while acquiring the air tightness of the holding target having therein the through channel for the fluid (Paragraph [0002]) wherein Figure 8 shows a measurement device includes fluid passing means which is driven so that a fluid passes through the through channel of a holding target, and through channel characteristic measurement means (an ultrasonic flow rate meter 5) for measuring the through channel characteristics of the fluid passing through the holding target (a honeycomb structure 2 and the measurement device measures the through channel characteristics of the fluid generated during the passing of the fluid by the through channel characteristic measurement means while air-tightly holding the holding surface of the holding target 26 over the whole periphery of the side surface thereof on the side of an inflow end face 33a by a first holding jig 103a (see FIG. 8) and while air-tightly holding the holding surface of the holding target over the whole periphery of the side surface thereof on the side of an outflow end face 33b by a second holding jig 103b (FIG. 8, numerals 27 – flange, 26 – honeycomb). Therefore, the requirement is still deemed proper and is therefore made FINAL.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 13-24 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Sakashita et al. (WO2013/125711 A1) in view of Hirakawa et al. (US 2010/0244345 A1).
Regarding Claim 13, Sakashita et al. reference discloses a honeycomb substrate holder for retaining a honeycomb substrate used as a reactor, wherein
the honeycomb substrate holder comprises at least an elastically deformable tubular inner peripheral wall (Figure 2A and 2B, numeral 52 – elastically deformable tubular inner peripheral wall);
a tubular outer peripheral wall arranged outside the tubular inner peripheral wall via a tubular gap with the tubular inner peripheral wall (Figure 2A and 2B, numerals 60 – outer peripheral wall and 54 – tubular gap); and
two end faces sealing the tubular gap with the tubular inner peripheral wall and the tubular outer peripheral wall (Figure 2A and 2B),
the honeycomb substrate holder being configured such that the honeycomb substrate can be inserted into an axis side of the tubular inner peripheral wall (Figure 3C, numeral 2 – honeycomb),
a fluid can be circulated or retained inside the tubular gap (Figures 2A and 2B, numeral 51 – inlet for providing the fluid/air into the tubular gap), and
by pressurizing the fluid inside the tubular gap, the tubular inner peripheral wall can be elastically deformed and the tubular inner peripheral wall can be pressed against
(a) an outer peripheral surface of the honeycomb substrate (Abstract and Figures 3A and 3B); and Sakashita et al also discloses claw member (156) for preventing the structure from falling out (Page 4, paragraph [0002]).
However, Sakashita et al. does not disclose (b) a contact portion between the honeycomb substrate and at least one of a flange comprising a reactant introduction port and a flange comprising a product discharge port of the honeycomb substrate. Hirakawa et al. reference discloses a holding jig, and a measurement device and a holding device using the jig which can hold even a brittle holding target without damaging the target, and a measurement device which can measure the through channel characteristics of a fluid in a through channel of the holding target held by using the holding jig, while acquiring the air tightness of the holding target having therein the through channel for the fluid (Paragraph [0002]) wherein Figure 8 shows a measurement device includes fluid passing means which is driven so that a fluid passes through the through channel of a holding target, and through channel characteristic measurement means (an ultrasonic flow rate meter 5) for measuring the through channel characteristics of the fluid passing through the holding target (a honeycomb structure 2 and the measurement device measures the through channel characteristics of the fluid generated during the passing of the fluid by the through channel characteristic measurement means while air-tightly holding the holding surface of the holding target 26 over the whole periphery of the side surface thereof on the side of an inflow end face 33a by a first holding jig 103a (FIG. 8) and while air-tightly holding the holding surface of the holding target over the whole periphery of the side surface thereof on the side of an outflow end face 33b by a second holding jig 103b (FIG. 8, numerals 27 – flange, 26 – honeycomb). It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the flange of Sakashita et al. so that the flange pressed against the honeycomb to keep it in place as taught by Hirakawa et al., since Hirakawa et al. states at Paragraph [0008] that such a modification would provide a holding jig which can hold even a brittle product, and a measurement device using the jig.
Regarding Claim 14, Sakashita et al. and Hirakawa et al. references discloses the honeycomb substrate holder according to claim 13, comprising one or more fluid introduction ports for introducing the fluid into the tubular gap and one or more fluid discharge ports for discharging the fluid from the tubular gap at any positions on the tubular outer peripheral wall and the end faces (Sakashita et al. – Figures 2A, 2B, 3A, and 3B, numerals 51 and 151).
Regarding Claim 15, Sakashita et al. and Hirakawa et al. references discloses the honeycomb substrate holder according to claim 13, wherein the fluid is a heat medium or a coolant (intended use and does not add additional structure to the honeycomb substrate holder).
Regarding Claim 16, Sakashita et al. and Hirakawa et al. references discloses the honeycomb substrate holder according to claim 13 including the measurement means for measuring physical amounts (e.g. a temperature, an atmospheric atmosphere etc) (Hirakawa et al. – Paragraph [0064]). However, neither Sakashita et al. nor Hirakawa et al. disclose that the temperature regulator inside the tubular gap. It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to use the temperature regulator inside the tubular gap, since it has been held that rearranging parts of an invention involves only routine skill in the art. In re Japikse, 86 USPQ 70.
Regarding Claim 17, Sakashita et al. and Hirakawa et al. references discloses the honeycomb substrate holder according to claim 13 including the measurement means for measuring physical amounts (e.g. a temperature, an atmospheric atmosphere etc) (Hirakawa et al. – Paragraph [0064]). However, neither Sakashita et al. nor Hirakawa et al. disclose that the temperature regulator outside the tubular gap. It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to use the temperature regulator outside the tubular gap, since it has been held that rearranging parts of an invention involves only routine skill in the art. In re Japikse, 86 USPQ 70.
Regarding Claim 18, Sakashita et al. and Hirakawa et al. references discloses the honeycomb substrate holder according to claim 13, wherein the tubular inner peripheral wall, the tubular outer peripheral wall, and the two end faces are integrally formed and elastically deformable (Sakashita et al. – Figures 2A, 2B, 3A, and 3B).
Regarding Claim 19, Sakashita et al. and Hirakawa et al. references discloses the honeycomb substrate holder according to claim 14, wherein the tubular inner peripheral wall, the tubular outer peripheral wall, and the two end faces are integrally formed and elastically deformable (Sakashita et al. – Figures 2A, 2B, 3A, and 3B).
Regarding Claim 20, Sakashita et al. and Hirakawa et al. references discloses the honeycomb substrate holder according to claim 13, comprising a tubular support wall outside the tubular outer peripheral wall.
Regarding Claim 21, Sakashita et al. and Hirakawa et al. references discloses the honeycomb substrate holder according to claim 14, comprising a tubular support wall outside the tubular outer peripheral wall (Hirakawa et al. – Figure 1A, numeral 58- tubular support wall).
Regarding Claim 22, Sakashita et al. and Hirakawa et al. references discloses the honeycomb substrate holder according to claim 18, comprising a tubular support wall outside the tubular outer peripheral wall (Hirakawa et al. – Figure 1A, numeral 58- tubular support wall).
Regarding Claim 23, Sakashita et al. and Hirakawa et al. references discloses the honeycomb substrate holder according to claim 19, comprising a tubular support wall outside the tubular outer peripheral wall (Hirakawa et al. – Figure 1A, numeral 58- tubular support wall).
Regarding Claim 24, Sakashita et al. and Hirakawa et al. references discloses the honeycomb substrate holder according to claim 13, wherein the tubular inner peripheral wall has a cylindrical shape or a polygonal tubular shape (Sakashita et al. – Figure 1, numeral 2).
Conclusion
/HUY TRAM NGUYEN/ Examiner, Art Unit 1774