DETAILED ACTION
Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114
Claims 5, 90, 93, 98, 100-101, 103 and 105-117 are currently pending.
Applicant’s election without traverse of the following species:
which reads on a compound of formula (I) in claim 1, wherein: R3 is H, n is 0, R6 is substituted C6 hydrocarbon, Z is a C1 hydrocarbon, Q is -C(=O)-, X is O, R1 is -, Y is – and R2 is an unsubstituted heterocycle in the reply filed on 8/25/2025 has been acknowledged. The species had been searched and was found to be free of the prior art. Consistent with election of species practice for Markush claims, the examination of the Markush group will be extended. As set forth below, prior art has been found that anticipate or render obvious the Markush claim with respect to non-elected species.
Claims 5, 90, 93, 98, 101, 103, 110 and 114-115, read on the elected species and extended search, and are under consideration.
Claims 100, 105-109, 111-113 and 116-117 are withdrawn from consideration as being not included in the extended search.
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement filed on 7/29/2026 is acknowledged and has been considered except where lined through.
Rejections Withdrawn:
The rejection of Claim(s) 5, 93 and 98 under 35 U.S.C. 102a(1) as being anticipated by The Reagents of the University of California (WO2019/006359A1, 2019-01-03, IDS) referred to herein as California is withdrawn in view of Applicants amendment.
The provisional rejection of Claims 5, 93 and 98 on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-17, 20, 23-24 of copending Application No. 18/725,732 (reference application) is withdrawn in view of Applicants amendments.
.
Rejections Maintained, but amended in view of Applicants amendments:
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 5, 90, 93, 98, 101, 103 and 114-115 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over The Reagents of the University of California (WO2019/006359A1, 2019-01-03, IDS) referred to herein as California.
California discloses compounds that are capable of inhibiting the mitochondrial pyruvate carrier and promoting hair growth, as well as, methods of promoting hair growth or treating conditions or disorders affecting hair growth, such as baldness or alopecia (abstract). With regards to the compounds, the WO document teaches that the compounds can have the general formula
or
, wherein 1 is an alkyl (see clims 41 and 42 of the WO document). Specifically, the WO document teaches exemplary compounds having the structures including, but not limited to, , ,
,
,
,
,
and
(see claim 53). Moreover, the WO document teaches that the compounds are preferably administered as pharmaceutical compositions comprising a compound and a pharmaceutically acceptable carrier (page 25).
The WO document differs from the instant claims by either shortening or elongation of the Et (ethyl) or substitution of the fused benzene ring for a fused pyridine ring.
It would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, prior to the effective filing date of the instantly claimed invention, to modify the compounds taught by California by either shortening or elongating the Et or substituting the fused benzene ring for a fused pyridine ring. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to make such a modification, with a reasonable expectation of success, because:
-California teaches that both the fused benzene ring and fused pyridine ring are useful compounds for promoting hair growth.
-Moreover, compounds which are position isomers (compounds having the same radicals in physically different positions on the same nucleus) or homologs (compounds differing regularly by the successive addition of the same chemical group, e.g., by -CH2- groups) are generally of sufficiently close structural similarity that there is a presumed expectation that such compounds possess similar properties. In re Wilder, 563 F.2d 457, 195 USPQ 426 (CCPA 1977). See MPEP 2144.09.
In response to this rejection and the Examiners previous allegation that Applicant’s previously submitted evidence of secondary considerations is unpersuasive, Applicants contend that the concentration difference between the compound in Figure 1 is due to differences in recover efficiency from the skin homogenates, not the concentration of API or prodrug doses in the homogenates. Nevertheless, it is the ratio of prodrug (i.e., unhydrolyzed compound) to API (i./e., hydrolyzed compound) that is indicative of hydrolysis kinetics and concentration has no bearing on this ratio.
In response to Applicants remarks, the Examiner appreciates Applicants for clarifying the results of Figure 1, specifically regarding the concentration.
Moreover, Applicants contend that the scope of the claims has been amended to recite compounds wherein the position corresponding to R2 is optionally substituted heterocycle, ester-or carbonate-substituted C1 alkyl, ester-substituted C2 alkyl or branched 3-12 alkly which is a reasonable generalization of the compounda in figure 1(e.g. ester-carbonate-substituted C1 alkyl corresponds to PP20, PP24 and PP29, optionally substituted heterocycle corresponds to PP21, ester-substituted C2 alkyl corresponds to PP30 and branched alkyl corresponds to PP12).
These arguments have been carefully considered, but are not found persuasive.
In response to these arguments, the Examiner would like to point out that the majority of Applicants arguments appear to be regarding unexamined species. As noted in the previous office action, the instant rejection is based on an obviousness analysis to modify the compounds taught by California by shortening or elongating the Et or substituting the fused benzene ring for a fused pyridine ring. It is noted that the following compounds from the specification appear to correspond to the modifications addressed in the obviousness rejection: PP5 (CH3), PP9 (propyl), PP11 (butyl), and PP15(octyl). All other specific compounds taught in the specification are not within the scope of the obviousness rejection other than
which would be a substitution of the fused benzene for a fused pyridine and would read on wherein R2 is a branched alkyl, e.g. t-butyl, but is not an example within the specification. Thus, while the examiner acknowledges Applicants alleged unexpected results for these structurally different compounds, it does not appear that Applicants have provided any explanation of how these results would also extend to elongation or shortening of the alkyl chain of California or substitution of the fused benyl ring for a fused pyridine ring (in the case of the R2 is a branched alkyl). Regarding the branched alkyl, Applicants have not provided any evidence that a fused benzene would act any differently than a fused pyridine as claimed. Moreover, Applicants are reminded that position isomers (compounds having the same radicals in physically different positions on the same nucleus) or homologs (compounds differing regularly by the successive addition of the same chemical group, e.g., by -CH2- groups) are generally of sufficiently close structural similarity that there is a presumed expectation that such compounds possess similar properties. In re Wilder, 563 F.2d 457, 195 USPQ 426 (CCPA 1977). See MPEP 2144.09.
Double Patenting
Claims 5, 90, 93, 98, 101, 103 and 114-115 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claim 1 of U.S. Patent No. 11,213,513 to Lowry et al. (2022-01-04) in view of The Reagents of the University of California (WO2019/006359A1, 2019-01-03, IDS).
US Patent No 11,213,513 claim a method of accelerating, promoting, or restoring hair growth, comprising administering to a subject in need thereof an effective amount of a compound of formula (I):
or a pharmaceutically acceptable salt thereof.
The US Patent differs from the instant application is that the fused benzene is substituted with a fused pyridine.
California discloses compounds that are capable of inhibiting the mitochondrial pyruvate carrier and promoting hair growth, as well as, methods of promoting hair growth or treating conditions or disorders affecting hair growth, such as baldness or alopecia (abstract). With regards to the compounds, the WO document teaches that the compounds can have the general formula
or
, wherein 1 is an alkyl (see clims 41 and 42 of the WO document). Specifically, the WO document teaches exemplary compounds having the structures including, but not limited to, , ,
,
,
,
,
and
(see claim 53). Moreover, the WO document teaches that the compounds are preferably administered as pharmaceutical compositions comprising a compound and a pharmaceutically acceptable carrier (page 25).
It would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, prior to the effective filing date of the instantly claimed invention, to modify the compound claimed by the US Patent by either shortening or elongation of the Et (ethyl) or substituting the fused benzene ring for a fused pyridine ring in view of the teachings of California. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to make such a modification, with a reasonable expectation of success, because:
-California teaches that both the fused benzene ring and fused pyridine ring are useful compounds for promoting hair growth.
-Moreover, compounds which are position isomers (compounds having the same radicals in physically different positions on the same nucleus) or homologs (compounds differing regularly by the successive addition of the same chemical group, e.g., by -CH2- groups) are generally of sufficiently close structural similarity that there is a presumed expectation that such compounds possess similar properties. In re Wilder, 563 F.2d 457, 195 USPQ 426 (CCPA 1977). See MPEP 2144.09.
In response to this rejection, Applications reiterate that one of ordinary skill in the art would not have predicted the unexpected results associated with the compounds recited in the instant claims in view of the teachings of California.
These arguments have been carefully and not found persuasive for the reasons set forth above and incorporated herein.
Claims 5, 90, 93, 98, 101, 103 and 114-115 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claim 1 of U.S. Patent No. US11,472,804B2 to Lowry et al. (2022-10-18) in view of The Reagents of the University of California (WO2019/006359A1, 2019-01-03, IDS).
The US Patent claims
. Moreover, as taught in the US Patent, teaches a method of promoting hair growth or treating conditions or disorders affecting hair growth with the compounds (abstract).
California discloses compounds that are capable of inhibiting the mitochondrial pyruvate carrier and promoting hair growth, as well as, methods of promoting hair growth or treating conditions or disorders affecting hair growth, such as baldness or alopecia (abstract). With regards to the compounds, the WO document teaches that the compounds can have the general formula
or
, wherein 1 is an alkyl (see clims 41 and 42 of the WO document). Specifically, the WO document teaches exemplary compounds having the structures including, but not limited to, , ,
,
,
,
,
and
(see claim 53). Moreover, the WO document teaches that the compounds are preferably administered as pharmaceutical compositions comprising a compound and a pharmaceutically acceptable carrier (page 25).
The WO document differs from the instant claims by either shortening or elongation of the Et (ethyl) or substitution of the fused benzene ring for a fused pyridine ring.
It would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, prior to the effective filing date of the instantly claimed invention, to modify the compounds claimed by US Patent by either shortening or elongating the Et or substituting the fused benzene ring for a fused pyridine ring. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to make such a modification, with a reasonable expectation of success, because:
-California teaches that both the fused benzene ring and fused pyridine ring are useful compounds for promoting hair growth.
-Moreover, compounds which are position isomers (compounds having the same radicals in physically different positions on the same nucleus) or homologs (compounds differing regularly by the successive addition of the same chemical group, e.g., by -CH2- groups) are generally of sufficiently close structural similarity that there is a presumed expectation that such compounds possess similar properties. In re Wilder, 563 F.2d 457, 195 USPQ 426 (CCPA 1977). See MPEP 2144.09.
In response to this rejection, Applicants contend that the ‘804 patent does not teach or suggest ester prodrugs, let alone ester prodrugs recited in the instant claims.
These arguments have been carefully considered, but are not found persuasive for the reasons set forth above and incorporated herein.
New Rejections:
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claim 5 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(a) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), first paragraph, as failing to comply with the written description requirement. The claim(s) contains subject matter which was not described in the specification in such a way as to reasonably convey to one skilled in the relevant art that the inventor or a joint inventor, or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the inventor(s), at the time the application was filed, had possession of the claimed invention. THIS IS A NEW MATTER REJECTION.
Note: While claims 100 and 117 have been withdrawn from consideration, with compact prosecution in mind, the rejection could be applied to these claims as well.
In the instant case, claim 5 has been amended to include the limitation ester-or carbonate-substituted C1 alkyl or ester-substituted C2 alkyl when defining R2. A careful review of the specification, as originally filed, does not appear to lend support for such claim limitations and Applicants have specifically pointed to any section of the specification where support can be found. Applicants, in their response, assert that the genera recited in the now-amended claims are a reasonable generalization of the compounds tested in Figure 1 (see page 15 of response, 1st paragraph). However, it is unclear how this generic teaching is supported to is full scope by a few species of compounds tested in Figure 1. The written description requirement for a claimed genus may be satisfied through sufficient description of a representative number of species. A "representative number of species" means that the species which are adequately described are representative of the entire genus. Thus, when there is substantial variation within the genus, one must describe a sufficient variety of species to reflect the variation within the genus. See AbbVie Deutschland GmbH & Co., KG v. Janssen Biotech, Inc., 759 F.3d 1285, 1300, 111 USPQ2d 1780, 1790 (Fed. Cir. 2014). Se also, in Tronzo v. Biomet, 156 F.3d 1154, 1159, 47 USPQ2d 1829, 1833 (Fed. Cir. 1998), the disclosure of a species in the parent application did not suffice to provide written description support for the genus in the child application where the specification taught against other species. Accordingly, this is a NEW MATTER REJECTION.
Conclusion
Claim 110 is objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
/BRANDON J FETTEROLF/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1626