DETAILED ACTION
Claim Interpretation
This application includes one or more claim limitations that uses “means,” and are being interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, because the claim limitation(s) uses a generic placeholder that is coupled with functional language without reciting sufficient structure to perform the recited function and the generic placeholder is not preceded by a structural modifier. Such claim limitation(s) is/are: “fastening means” in claims 2, 6-7, “first transportation means” in claim 3, “second transportation means” in claim 5, and “third transportation means” in claim 6.
Because this/these claim limitation(s) is/are being interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, it/they is/are being interpreted to cover the corresponding structure described in the specification as performing the claimed function, and equivalents thereof. Applicant defines the fastening means as bolts and the transportation means. Applicant does not however identify specifically what the transportation means are as discussed below in reference to the 112 rejection.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 2-14 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Re. Cl. 2, the limitation “the unmanned robot comprises: a pad installation robot… a floor installation robot…a bolting robot” in the combination of claim 2 renders the claim indefinite in the Examiner’s position. Applicant appears to claim a singular unmanned robot in claim 1 but then claim 2 appears to establish that the singular unmanned robot from claim 1 is three separate unmanned robots. It is therefore unclear if the Applicant intends to claim three separate robots or a singular robot which performs three different functions. Appropriate clarification is requested.
Claim limitation ““first transportation means” in claim 3, “second transportation means” in claim 5, and “third transportation means” in claim 6 invoke 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph. However, the written description fails to disclose the corresponding structure, material, or acts for performing the entire claimed function and to clearly link the structure, material, or acts to the function. Applicant’s specification does not explicitly state what the transportation means are. Therefore, the claim is indefinite and is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, second paragraph.
Applicant may:
(a) Amend the claim so that the claim limitation will no longer be interpreted as a limitation under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph;
(b) Amend the written description of the specification such that it expressly recites what structure, material, or acts perform the entire claimed function, without introducing any new matter (35 U.S.C. 132(a)); or
(c) Amend the written description of the specification such that it clearly links the structure, material, or acts disclosed therein to the function recited in the claim, without introducing any new matter (35 U.S.C. 132(a)).
If applicant is of the opinion that the written description of the specification already implicitly or inherently discloses the corresponding structure, material, or acts and clearly links them to the function so that one of ordinary skill in the art would recognize what structure, material, or acts perform the claimed function, applicant should clarify the record by either:
(a) Amending the written description of the specification such that it expressly recites the corresponding structure, material, or acts for performing the claimed function and clearly links or associates the structure, material, or acts to the claimed function, without introducing any new matter (35 U.S.C. 132(a)); or
(b) Stating on the record what the corresponding structure, material, or acts, which are implicitly or inherently set forth in the written description of the specification, perform the claimed function. For more information, see 37 CFR 1.75(d) and MPEP §§ 608.01(o) and 2181.
Double Patenting
Claims 1-2 and 15 are provisionally rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 13-15 of copending Application No. 18/010890 (reference application). Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because the method steps in claims 1-2 are all included in the method in claims 13-15 of Application 18/010890. Specifically Re. Cls. 1-2, the first through third steps are all anticipated by claims xx, the pad installation robot, floor installation robot, bolting robot, pad attaching step, floor mounting stem and employment of the pad and floor fastening step are specifically anticipated by claims 13-14 (which also incorporate claims 1-12 respectively) in US 18/010890. Lastly, specifically Re. Cl. 15, the access floor claimed in claim 15 is anticipated by claim 1 of US 18/010890. Therefore, all of the limitations in claims 1-2 and 15 are anticipated by claims 13-15 of US 18/010890 and are provisionally rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting.
This is a provisional nonstatutory double patenting rejection because the patentably indistinct claims have not in fact been patented.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1 and 15 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Kitana JP 6-26205 (hereinafter Kitana).
Re. Cl. 1, Kitana discloses: A method for constructing an access floor by using an unmanned robot (Fig. 1), comprising: a first step of constructing an installation frame (see 5s, Fig. 1) and a peripheral slab (see Fig. 1-2, where robot 1 occupies in Fig. 1-2) formed on a periphery of the installation frame (see Fig. 1-2); a second step (S200) of positioning the unmanned robot on the peripheral slab (shown in Fig. 1,); and a third step (S300) of coupling a floor to the installation frame by the unmanned robot while moving along the peripheral slab (see Fig. 1-2, by being located on the peripheral slab as annotated, the robot moves to put flooring members 3 onto 5).
Re. Cl. 15, Kitana discloses: An access floor constructed by the method for constructing the access floor according to claim1 (see Fig. 1-2).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 2 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kitana in view of Kim KR 10-1454705 (hereinafter Kim) in view of Kaneyashi JP 2018-123645 (hereinafter Kaneyashi).
Re. Cl. 2, Kitana discloses a pad and floor installation robot configured to mount the floor (1, Fig. 1), a floor mounting step of mounting the floor by using the floor installation robot (see 1, Fig. 1-2) but does not disclose attaching a pad to the installation frame, the floor installation robot to mount the floor onto the pad; and a bolting robot configured to fasten the pad and the floor by using a fastening means; wherein the third step comprises a pad attaching step of attaching the pad to the installation frame by using the pad installation robot, and a pad and floor fastening step of fastening the pad and the floor by using the fastening means of the bolting robot. Kim discloses a method of installing a floor (see Fig. 1-9) which includes attaching a pad (see 200, Fig. 9) to an installation frame (see 300, Fig. 9) and then attaching the floor onto the pad via bolts (see 100 attached to 200 in Fig. 11 via 311).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the Kitana device to have the pad as disclosed by Kim with reasonable expectation of success to provide proper alignment of the floor panels such that the floor is not installed incorrectly or unevenly.
Re. Cl. 2, the combination of Kitana in view of Kim does not disclose a bolting robot configured to fasten the pad and the floor by using a fastening means; and a pad and floor fastening step of fastening the pad and the floor by using the fastening means of the bolting robot. Kaneyashi discloses a method of constructing a ceiling which includes a bolting robot (12, Fig. 1) that fastens a panel to an installation frame (see Fig. 1) using fastening means (see 41-42, Fig. 1).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the combined Kitana in view of Kim device to use the bolting robot of Kaneyashi with reasonable expectation of success to eliminate the need for a human to install or secure the floor.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 3-14 would be allowable if rewritten to overcome the rejection(s) under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), 2nd paragraph, set forth in this Office action and to include all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. Crooks US 2173622, Furrer US 202/0024853, Bourelle US 2013/0000246 disclose other known floor laying methods presented to the Applicant for their consideration.
/CHRISTOPHER GARFT/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3632