DETAILED ACTION
Response to Amendment
Upon consideration of Applicant’s statement regarding reference JP S52-71367 A on the IDS filed 12/29/2022, this reference has now been considered and an updated 1449 form has been included.
Upon consideration of the amended abstract, the previous objection thereto is hereby withdrawn.
Upon consideration of the amended claims, all of the previous objections to the claims are hereby withdrawn, except for those indicated below. Further, all previous rejections to the claims under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) are hereby withdrawn; however, a new 112(b) rejection has been introduced due to the amended claim language of Claim 3, which is discussed below.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 01/22/2026 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
Applicant argues on pages 14-15 that the combination of Aoyama and Peng does not teach the limitation “advancing at least one of the upper or lower roller mill into an operating position in an incremental manner, wherein one step of the advancing is performed with or after the front end passing at least one of the lower straightening rollers and/or one of the upper straightening rollers.” Examiner respectfully disagrees.
Firstly, as noted by the Applicant, Peng teaches a straightening machine that adjusts its straightening gap when straightening strips of varying thicknesses. The upper working rollers 5 are dynamically adjusted to accommodate thick area 10, transition area 11, and thin area 12; therefore, as the straightening machine progresses from a starting position (i.e. prior to the strip entering the machine) to a position in which thick area 10 is being straightened (see Figure 8) and then to a position in which thin area 12 is being straightened (see Figure 9), the upper working rollers 5 are advanced in an incremental manner, where each adjustment is considered to be an incremental movement. Claim 1 as currently set forth only requires the advancing to be performed “in an incremental manner” and does not provide any further-limiting details of the increments or any other limitations which would preclude the dynamic adjustments taught by Peng being interpreted as the claimed incremental manner, so this limitation is met by Peng.
Secondly, with respect to Applicant’s argument that Peng does not teach “wherein one step of the advancing is performed with or after the front end passing at least one of the lower straightening rollers and/or one of the upper straightening rollers”, Examiner notes that Peng is not relied upon for this teaching, as it is found in the disclosure of Aoyama.
As Claim 14 was amended in a similar manner to Claim 1, the same arguments above apply to Claim 14 as well. Claims 1 and 14 remain rejected.
Claim Objections
Claims 1 and 17 are objected to because of the following informalities:
Claim 1: in line 23, “an operating position” should read “the operating position”, as this limitation is already recited in lines 7-8
Claim 17: in line 3, “in front of [ the” should read “in front of the”
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 3-7 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Regarding Claim 3, the limitation “method step B” in line 7 no longer has antecedent basis in the amended claim. Based on the prior version of the claims, for examination purposes this limitation will be interpreted as referring to the advancing step recited in Claim 1. Claims 6 and 7 also recite the limitation “method step B” and will likewise be interpreted as the advancing step.
Claims 4-5 are rejected by virtue of their dependence upon Claim 3.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-6, 8-9, 12-17, and 19-21 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Aoyama (CN 103071702), and further in view of Peng et al., hereinafter Peng (CN 104550326). For text citations of both references, refer to the machine translations provided as Non-Patent Literature with the Office action mailed 10/23/2025.
Regarding Claim 1, Aoyama discloses (Figures 1-2 and 5-6) a method for straightening a material strip or a flat material part (metal plate P) composed of a material which is plasticizable using a straightening machine (roller leveler 100) with a number of upper straightening rollers (upper leveling rollers 6) in an upper roller mill and a number of lower straightening rollers (lower leveling rollers 8) in a lower roller mill, which form a straightening gap between an inlet and an outlet (left and right side, respectively, of leveler roller 100 as shown in Figure 1) of the straightening machine in an operating region between the upper and the lower roller mill (clearly seen in figures), the upper and the lower straightening rollers in an operating position of the upper and lower roller mill act at least temporarily on the material strip or material part to be straightened (operating position shown in Figure 1; upper/lower leveling rollers 6/8 are clearly seen acting on the upper and lower surfaces of metal plate P) and guide the material strip or part in an operating direction (direction A) from the inlet to the outlet of the operating region through the straightening machine, at least a part of axes of the upper straightening rollers form an upper roller mill plane and at least a part of axes of the lower straightening rollers forms a lower roller mill plane, which in the operating position are parallel or at a predetermined operating angle to one another (planes formed by the axes of the upper and lower leveling rollers appear to be substantially parallel to each other in the operating position shown in Figure 1), the method comprising: in order to change the straightening gap, at least one of adjusting the upper roller mill relative to the lower roller mill or adjusting the lower roller mill relative to the upper roller mill (shown in Figures 5-6; [0064] lns 3-6); prior to or at a start of a straightening process, placing at least one of the upper or lower roller mill into a starting position at least until a front end of the material strip or material part has run into the inlet of the operating region of the straightening machine by widening the straightening gap to a greater extent at the inlet than at the outlet (shown in Figure 5; [0052] ln 1 - [0053] ln 4: “engagement correction mode” is interpreted as the starting position, and since only the entry-side pressing cylinder 4a is adjusted, the straightening gap will be widened more at the inlet than at the outlet); and advancing at least one of the upper or lower roller mill into an operating position (shown in Figure 6; [0053] lns 7-10), wherein one step of the advancing is performed with or after the front end passing at least one of the lower straightening rollers and/or one of the upper straightening rollers ([0046] lns 10-13: the advancing is performed after the metal sheet P reaches distance Lb, which is shown in Figure 6 to be in the region of leveling rollers #8 and #9, i.e. after passing leveling rollers #1-#7 of the upper/lower leveling rollers 6/8).
Aoyama does not disclose that the advancing of the upper roller mill into the operating position is performed in an incremental manner; in Aoyama the advancing is performed all in one step at a constant speed. In the same field of endeavor, Peng teaches (Figures 1, 3, and 7-9) a method for straightening a material strip or flat material part (shown in Figure 3) using a straightening machine with a number of upper straightening rollers (upper working rollers 5) in an upper roller mill and a number of lower straightening rollers (lower working rollers 4) in a lower roller mill, the method comprising advancing at least one of the upper or lower roller mill into an operating position (shown in Figure 9), wherein the advancing of at least one of the upper or lower roller mill into the operating position is performed in an incremental manner ([0035] lns 21-27, [0037] lns 12-20, and para. [0042]-[0044]: the dynamic adjustments of the upper working rollers 5 to accommodate thick area 10, transition area 11, and thin area 12 are interpreted as incremental movements). This incremental advancing is beneficial in cases where the metal strip to be straightened has variable thickness, as it allows all parts of the strip to be equally straightened ([0019] lns 6-10, [0021] lns 2-3). Accordingly, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the method for straightening a material strip disclosed by Aoyama such that the advancing of at least one of the upper or lower roller mill into the operating position is performed in an incremental manner, as taught by Peng, for use cases where the material strip has a varying thickness, in order to ensure equal straightening on the entire length of the strip.
Examiner note: regarding the limitation “or widening the straightening gap to a greater extent at the outlet than at the inlet”, due to the word “or” this limitation is not necessary in order to meet the requirements of the claim.
Regarding Claim 2, Aoyama discloses (Figures 1 and 5) the straightening gap during placing into the starting position is widened to a greater extent at the inlet than at the outlet if the operating angle opens toward the outlet or the upper roller mill plane is parallel to the lower roller mill plane ([0053] lns 1-4: since only the entry-side pressing cylinder 4a is adjusted, the straightening gap will be widened more at the inlet than at the outlet; Figure 1 shows the planes formed by the axes of the upper and lower leveling rollers 6/8 appear to be substantially parallel to each other in the operating position).
Examiner note: regarding the limitation “or the straightening gap during placing into the starting position is widened to a greater extent at the outlet than at the inlet if the operating angle opens toward the inlet”, due to the word “or” this limitation is not necessary in order to meet the requirements of the claim.
Regarding Claim 3, Aoyama discloses (Figure 6) the advancing step is performed when or after the front end of the material strip or material part (metal plate P) has reached a predetermined position (distance Lb) in the operating region ([0053] lns 1-10: the upper/lower leveling rollers 6/8 are held in the starting position until the metal plate reaches distance Lb, then the entry-side pressing cylinder 4a is activated to advance the upper leveling rollers 6 into the operating position).
Regarding Claim 4, Aoyama discloses (Figures 5-6) a region of the inlet, or a location of one of the lower or upper straightening rollers is used as the predetermined position (Figures 5 and 6 show distance Lb as corresponding with the location of leveling roller #9).
Regarding Claim 5, Aoyama discloses (Figures 5-6) the front end of the material strip or material part (metal plate P) is detected by a sensor ([0046] lns 14-16).
Regarding Claim 6, Aoyama discloses (Figures 5-6) the sensor is arranged at the predetermined position (distance Lb; [0046] lns 14-16: the plurality of optical sensors are arranged along the passing line in the straightening machine, implying that there is a sensor located at distance Lb) and the advancing step is performed immediately after detection of the front end of the material strip or material part (metal plate P) by the sensor ([0046] lns 10-13).
Regarding Claim 8, Aoyama discloses (Figures 1 and 5-6) at least one of a) the placing of at least one of the upper or lower roller mill (upper/lower leveling rollers 6/8) into the starting position is performed such that the straightening gap in a region of the inlet corresponds at least to a thickness of the material strip or material part ([0054] lns 1-4]: the engagement limit engagement amount directly correlates to the straightening gap in the inlet of the roller leveler) or b) the advancing of at least one of the upper or lower roller mill into the operating position is performed such that the straightening gap in a region of the outlet corresponds substantially to the thickness of the material strip or material part ([0045] lns 1-3: the pressing amount of exit-side pressing cylinder 4b directly correlates to the straightening gap at the outlet of the roller leveler, and since only entry-side pressing cylinder 4a is adjusted when advancing upper rollers 6 into the operating position, the pressing amount of cylinder 4b is set according to the thickness of metal plate P both in the starting position and the operating position).
Regarding Claim 9, Aoyama discloses (Figures 1 and 5-6) at least one of a) the placing of at least one of the upper or lower roller mill (upper/lower leveling rollers 6/8) into the starting position is performed such that the straightening gap in a region of the outlet corresponds at least to a thickness of the material strip or material part ([0045] lns 1-3: the pressing amount of exit-side pressing cylinder 4b directly correlates to the straightening gap at the outlet of the roller leveler, and since only entry-side pressing cylinder 4a is adjusted when advancing upper leveling rollers 6 into the operating position, the pressing amount of cylinder 4b is set according to the thickness of metal plate P both in the starting position and the operating position) or b) the advancing of at least one of the upper or lower roller mill into the operating position is performed such that the straightening gap in a region of the inlet corresponds substantially to the thickness of the material strip or material part ([0045] lns 1-3: the pressing amount required for straightening is interpreted as the pressing amount of the pressing cylinders in the operating position, which directly correlates to the straightening gap in the operating position, therefore the pressing amount of entry-side pressing cylinder 4a directly correlated to the straightening gap at the inlet of the roller leveler).
Regarding Claim 12, Aoyama discloses (Figure 6) the advancing is performed such that a spacing of the upper and lower straightening rollers (upper/lower leveling rollers 6/8) at a downstream location of one of the at least one of the lower straightening rollers and/or one of the upper straightening rollers corresponds substantially to a thickness of the material strip or material part ([0045] lns 1-3: the pressing amount of exit-side pressing cylinder 4b directly correlates to the straightening gap at the outlet of the roller leveler, i.e. at a location downstream of leveling rollers #1-#7, and since only entry-side pressing cylinder 4a is adjusted when advancing upper rollers 6 into the operating position, the pressing amount of cylinder 4b is set according to the thickness of metal plate P both in the starting position and the operating position).
Regarding Claim 13, Aoyama discloses (Figures 5-6) at least one of the upper roller mill or the lower roller mill (upper/lower leveling rollers 6/8) is moved at least partially via a pivoting movement into at least one of the starting position or the operating position ([0053] lns 1-4, 7-10: since only the entry-side pressing cylinder 4a is adjusted to arrive at both the starting position and the operating position, the upper rolling mill will naturally move at least partially via a pivoting movement).
Regarding Claim 14, Aoyama discloses (Figures 1-3 and 5-6) straightening machine (roller leveler 100) for straightening a material strip or a flat material (metal plate P) composed of a material which can be plasticized, the straightening machine comprising: a number of upper straightening rollers (upper leveling rollers 6) in an upper roller mill; a number of lower straightening rollers (lower leveling rollers 8) in a lower roller mill; a straightening gap formed between an inlet and an outlet of the straightening machine (left and right side, respectively, of roller leveler 100 as shown in Figure 1) in an operating region between the upper and the lower roller mills (clearly seen in figures), the upper straightening rollers and the lower straightening rollers in the straightening gap, in an operating position of the upper and lower roller mills being configured to act at least temporarily on the material strip or material part to be straightened (operating position shown in Figure 1; upper/lower leveling rollers 6/8 are clearly seen acting on the upper and lower surfaces of metal plate P) and guide the material strip or material part in an operating direction (direction A) from the inlet to the outlet of the operating region through the straightening machine; at least a part of axes of the upper straightening rollers form an upper roller mill plane and at least a part of axes of the lower straightening rollers form a lower roller mill plane which in the operating position are parallel or at a predetermined operating angle to one another (planes formed by the axes of the upper and lower leveling rollers appear to be substantially parallel to each other in the operating position shown in Figure 1); in order to change the straightening gap, the upper roller mill and the lower roller mill are adjustable relative to one another (shown in Figures 5-6; [0064] lns 3-6), and are placeable at least into a starting position with a widened straightening gap and are advanceable into the starting position (shown in Figure 5; [0052] ln 1 - [0053] ln 4: “engagement correction mode” is interpreted as the starting position); a controller (control device 30) configured to adjust the upper and lower roller mills with respect to one another ([0049] lns 1-3: the control device 30 adjusts the upper and lower roller mills with respect to each other by adjusting the pressing amounts of the pressing cylinders 4a/b); a sensor for detection of a front end of the material strip or material part to be straightened ([0046] lns 14-16), the sensor configured to output a sensor signal to the controller ([0046] lns 7-13: once the front end of metal plate P is detected at distance Lb, the control device 30 receives a signal to advance the upper leveling rollers 6 into the operating position); the controller being further configured to adjust at least one of the upper or lower roller mill from the starting position into the operating position immediately after or with a time delay to the sensor signal ([0046] lns 10-13: the control device 30 adjusts the upper leveling rollers 6 into the operating position “after”, i.e. immediately after or after a time delay, receiving the signal that the front end of the metal plate P has reached distance Lb); and the upper roller mill and the lower roller mill are adjustable relative to one another such that the straightening gap during placing into the starting position is widened to a greater extent at the inlet than at the outlet ([0053] lns 1-4: since only the entry-side pressing cylinder 4a is adjusted, the straightening gap will be widened more at the inlet than at the outlet), wherein one step of the advancing is performed with or after passing at least one of the lower straightening rollers and/or at least one of the upper straightening rollers by the front end of the material strip or the material part to be straightened ([0046] lns 10-13: the advancing is performed after the metal sheet P reaches distance Lb, which is shown in Figure 6 to be in the region of leveling rollers #8 and #9, i.e. after passing leveling rollers #1-#7 of the upper/lower leveling rollers 6/8).
Aoyama does not disclose that the controller is further configured to incrementally advance the upper roller mill into the operating position is performed in an incremental manner; in Aoyama the advancing is performed all in one step at a constant speed. In the same field of endeavor, Peng teaches (Figures 1, 3, 5, and 7-9) a straightening machine for straightening a material strip or flat material part (shown in Figure 3) comprising a number of upper straightening rollers (upper working rollers 5) in an upper roller mill and a number of lower straightening rollers (lower working rollers 4) in a lower roller mill, a straightening gap formed between an inlet and an outlet of the straightening machine in an operating region between the upper and the lower roller mills (clearly seen in figures), and a controller (PLC, see Figure 5) configured to adjust the upper and lower rollers mill with respect to one another ([0020] lns 46, [0037] lns 4-10, [0042] lns 5-8, [0043] lns 1-4: the thickness measuring roller 1 detects the thick area 10, transition area 11, and thin area 12 and sends signals to the computer control system, after which the straightening gap is adjusted as needed), wherein the controller is further configured to incrementally advance at least one of the upper roller mill or the lower roller mill into an operating position ([0035] lns 21-27, [0037] lns 12-20, and para. [0042]-[0044]: the dynamic adjustments of the upper working rollers 5 to accommodate thick area 10, transition area 11, and thin area 12 are interpreted as incremental movements). This incremental advancing is beneficial in cases where the metal strip to be straightened has variable thickness, as it allows all parts of the strip to be equally straightened ([0019] lns 6-10, [0021] lns 2-3). Accordingly, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the controller in the straightening machine disclosed by Aoyama such that it is further configured to incrementally advance at least one of the upper roller mill or the lower roller mill into the operating position, as taught by Peng, for use cases where the material strip has a varying thickness, in order to ensure equal straightening on the entire length of the strip.
Examiner note: regarding the limitation “or is widened to a greater extent at the outlet than at the inlet”, due to the word “or” this limitation is not necessary in order to meet the requirements of the claim.
Regarding Claim 15, Aoyama discloses (Figures 1 and 5) the controller (control device 30) is configured to widen the straightening gap during placing into the starting position at the inlet to a greater extent than at the outlet if the operating angle opens toward the outlet or the upper roller mill plane is parallel to the lower roller mill plane ([0052] ln 1 - [0053] ln 4: control device 30 is configured to adjust the upper leveling rollers 6 into the starting position, and since only the entry-side pressing cylinder 4a is adjusted, the straightening gap will be widened more at the inlet than at the outlet; Figure 1 shows the planes formed by the axes of the upper and lower leveling rollers 6/8 appear to be substantially parallel to each other in the operating position).
Examiner note: regarding the limitation “or to widen the straightening gap during placing into the starting position at the outlet to a greater extent than at the inlet if the operating angle opens toward the inlet”, due to the word “or” this limitation is not necessary in order to meet the requirements of the claim.
Regarding Claim 16, Aoyama discloses (Figures 1 and 5) the upper roller mill plane (plane formed by axes of upper leveling rollers 6) encloses a starting angle to the lower roller mill plane (plane formed by axes of lower leveling rollers 8) in the starting position (shown in Figure 5), and said starting angle is not equal to the operating angle (Figure 1 shows the planes formed by upper/lower leveling rollers 6/8 are substantially parallel to each other in the operating position, which is a different angle than the starting angle shown in Figure 5).
Regarding Claim 17, Aoyama discloses (Figures 5-6) the sensor is arranged at a height of a predetermined position (distance Lb; [0046] lns 14-16: the plurality of optical sensors are arranged along the passing line in the straightening machine, therefore they are arranged at the same height as the material strip as it passes the predetermined position), wherein the predetermined position corresponds to a location of one of the lower or upper straightening rollers (per Figures 5-6, distance Lb corresponds with the locations of leveling rollers #8 and #9).
Examiner note: regarding the limitations “or upstream in the operating direction at a spacing in front of the predetermined position” and “the predetermined position lies in a region of the inlet”, due to the word “or” these limitations are not necessary in order to meet the requirements of the claim.
Regarding Claim 19, Aoyama discloses the sensor is a physical sensor ([0046] lns 14-16: optical sensors are considered to be physical sensors).
Regarding Claim 20, Aoyama discloses (Figures 1 and 5-6) at least one of a) the upper roller mill (upper leveling rollers 6) is pivotable with respect to the lower roller mill (lower leveling rollers 8; [0053] lns 1-4, 7-10: since only the entry-side pressing cylinder 4a is adjusted to arrive at both the starting position and the operating position, the upper rolling mill must be pivotable) or b) the lower roller mill is pivotable with respect to the upper roller mill about a pivot axis ([0064] lns 4-6), and the pivot axis lies outside the operating region of the straightening machine (based on Figure 1, if entry-side pressing cylinder 4a is adjusted and exit-side pressing cylinder 4b is not, the pivot axis will be in the vicinity of the junction between the bottom of exit-side pressing cylinder 4b and upper frame 2, which is outside the region between the upper and lower leveling rollers 6/8, i.e. the operating region).
Regarding Claim 21, Aoyama discloses (Figure 1) the upper roller mill (upper leveling rollers 6) is retained in guides (upper frame 2 and upper roller frame 5) of the straightening machine (roller leveler 100) and is movable up and down on the guides relative to the lower roller mill ([0064] lns 3-4: the upper leveling rollers 6 are pressed down and are thus movable up and down on upper frame 2 and upper roller frame 5 relative to the lower leveling rollers 8), and the guides are formed such that the upper roller mill is at least one of adjustable or pivotable asymmetrically on the guides ([0053] lns 1-4, 7-10: only the entry-side pressing cylinder 4a is adjusted to arrive at both the starting position and the operating position, therefore the upper leveling rollers 6 are adjustable asymmetrically on the upper frame 2 and upper roller frame 5).
Claims 7 and 18 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Aoyama in view of Peng as applied to Claims 1 and 14, respectively, above, and further in view of Hellriegel et al., hereinafter Hellriegel (DE 102015102271, provided by Applicant). For text citations of Hellriegel, refer to the machine translation provided as Non-Patent Literature with the Office action mailed 10/23/2025.
Regarding Claim 7, Aoyama does not disclose that the sensor is arranged upstream of the predetermined position, or determining a time delay between when the front end of the material strip or material part is detected by the sensor and when it reaches the predetermined position. In the same field of endeavor, Hellriegel teaches (Figures 4-7) a method for straightening a material strip or a flat material part (part 7) using a straightening machine (roller straightening machine 1) with a number of upper straightening rollers (upper straightening rollers 3) in an upper roller mill and a number of lower straightening rollers (lower straightening rollers 5) in a lower straightening mill, the method comprising advancing at least one of the upper or lower roller mill into an operating position after a front end (initial section 9) of the material strip or material part has reached a predetermined position in the operating region ([0010] lns 16-18: the location of the initial section 9 of part 7 at the end of the specified time interval is interpreted as the predetermined position), wherein the front end is detected by a sensor (sensor device 11), wherein the sensor is arranged at a spacing upstream of the predetermined position in the operating direction ([0015] lns 1-3), and the method further comprises determining a time delay until the predetermined position of the front end of the material strip or material part is reached from a conveying speed of the material strip or material part and the spacing between the sensor and the predetermined position ([0017] lns 1-4: “the conveying period from one straightening roller to the next” will inherently depend on the conveying speed and the distance traveled), and the advancing step is performed with or after the end of the time delay after detection of the front end of the material strip or material part by the sensor ([0022] lns 8-12: the advancing is performed after the time delay after the sensor device 11 detects the initial section 9 of part 7). This arrangement of the sensor upstream of the predetermined position and subsequent determining of time delay after which the advancing step is performed is advantageous because it allows for easier detection of the front end of the material strip and thereby makes it easier to automate a feed system for the strips to be straightened ([0015] lns 2-5). Accordingly, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the method for straightening a material strip disclosed by Aoyama and modified by Peng such that the sensor is arranged at a spacing upstream of the predetermined position in the operating direction, and such that the method further comprises determining a time delay until the predetermined position of the front end of the material strip or material part is reached from a conveying speed of the material strip or material part and the spacing between the sensor and the predetermined position, and the advancing step is performed with or after the end of the time delay after detection of the front end of the material strip or material part by the sensor, as taught by Hellriegel, in order to ensure easier detection of the front end of the strip and to help automate a feed system for the straightener.
Regarding Claim 18, Aoyama is silent to a time delay between when the front end of the material strip or material part is detected by the sensor and when it reaches the predetermined position. In the same field of endeavor, Hellriegel teaches (Figures 4-7) a straightening machine (roller straightening machine 1) for straightening a material strip (part 7), the straightening machine comprising a number of upper straightening rollers (upper straightening rollers 3) in an upper roller mill; a number of lower straightening rollers (lower straightening rollers 5) in a lower straightening mill; a straightening gap formed between an inlet and an outlet of the straightening machine in an operating region between the upper and the lower roller mills (clearly seen in Figures 4-6); a controller configured to adjust the upper and lower roller mills with respect to each other ([0022] lns 10-12); and a sensor (sensor device 11) for detection of a front end (initial section 9) of the material strip, the sensor configured to output a sensor signal to the controller ([0022] lns 8-10); the controller being further configured to adjust at least one of the upper or lower roller mill from a starting position ([0010- lns 12-14) into an operating position ([0010] lns 16-17: the preset final value of the straightening gap is interpreted as the operating position) with a time delay to the sensor signal ([0022] lns 8-12); wherein the controller is configured such that the time delay for the adjustment of at least one of the upper or lower roller mill into the operating position is determined from a conveying speed of the material strip or material part and the spacing between the sensor and the predetermined position ([0017] lns 1-4: “the conveying period from one straightening roller to the next” will inherently depend on the conveying speed and the distance traveled). Using a time delay allows for sensor placement upstream of the straightening machine, which is advantageous in that the sensor can more easily detect the front end of the material strip and thereby make it easier to automate a feed system for the strips to be straightened ([0015] lns 1-5). Accordingly, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the controller in the straightening machine disclosed by Aoyama and modified by Peng such that it is configured to adjust at least one of the upper or lower roller mill from the starting position into the operating position with a time delay to the sensor signal, and such that the time delay for the adjustment of at least one of the upper or lower roller mill into the operating position is determined from a conveying speed of the material strip or material part and the spacing between the sensor and the predetermined position, as taught by Hellriegel, in order to allow a sensor configuration that can more easily detect the front end of the strip and thereby allow for easier automation of a feed system for the strips.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure:
Coleman (US 4,826,138) discloses a method and apparatus comprising leveling rolls having an upper roller mill which is progressively advanced, i.e. advanced in an incremental manner, and which is pivotable with respect to the lower roller mill.
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/TERESA A GUTHRIE/Examiner, Art Unit 3725
/Christopher L Templeton/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 3725