DETAILED ACTION
This Action is in response to the communication filed on 06/30/2026.
Status of the Claims
Upon entry of the amendment, claims 1-3. 6-11, 13, 15 are pending and are under consideration.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-3. 6-11, 13, 15 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by WO 2021/195307 (hereinafter “Akinc”).
Regarding claims 1, Akinc teaches a double stranded oligonucleotide comprising a sense strand having the sequence of SEQ ID NO: 14 and a complementary antisense strand having the sequence of SEQ D NO: 75. For instance, see Duplex AD-1184011 on page 157, wherein the sense strand comprises a sequence 100% identical to SEQ ID NO: 14, and antisense strand comprises a sequence 100% identical to SEQ ID NO: 75 (see sequence alignment information below). Akinc teaches that the double stranded oligonucleotide is an RNAi-inducing agent (e.g., see abstract, page 25 lines 35-38).
Regarding claim 2, Akinc teaches that the double-stranded oligonucleotide is an siRNA molecule (e.g., see Figures 3-5 and description thereof on pages 19-20).
Regarding claim 3, Akinc teaches that the strands independently consist of 19 to 31 nucleotides (e.g., Duplex AD-1184011 on page 157, has sense strand SEQ ID NO: 93, and antisense strand SEQ ID NO: 448, both which are 21 nucleotides in length).
Regarding claims 6-7, Akinc teaches that at least one of the strands has one or more chemical modifications, wherein the chemical modification can be a substitution of -OH with OCH3 (methoxy) (e.g., see page 4 lines 15-17 and 20-21; it is noted “methoxy” is also known a O-methyl).
Regarding claims 8-9, Akinc teaches that the double-stranded oligonucleotide comprises a ligand that is polyethylene glycol (PEG) and the ligand can be bound to at least one end of sense or antisense strand (e.g., see page 83 line 30 through page 84 line7 and line 20; page 60 lines 21-22, etc.).
Regarding claim 10, Akinc teaches that the double-stranded oligonucleotide can be used to treat SARS-CoV or SARS-CoV-2 (e.g., see page 2 lines 17-25)
Regarding claims 11, 13 and 15, Akinc teaches a composition including a pharmaceutical composition comprising the double stranded oligonucleotide which would be useful for treating coronavirus disease including COVID-19 (e.g., see page 2 lines 17-25; claim 83; page 9 lines 13-15).
Therefore, Akinc anticipates the instant claims.
SEQUENCE ALIGNMENTS:
DE SARS-CoV-2 DNA targeted siRNA sense strand, SEQ ID 93.
XX
KW coronavirus infection; gene silencing; respiratory-gen.;
KW rna interference; short interfering RNA; siRNA; ss; therapeutic;
KW virucide; virus inactivation.
XX
OS Severe acute respiratory syndrome coronavirus 2.
XX
CC PN WO2021195307-A1.
XX
CC PD 30-SEP-2021.
XX
CC PF 25-MAR-2021; 2021WO-US024038.
XX
PR 26-MAR-2020; 2020US-0994907P.
PR 30-MAR-2020; 2020US-0001580P.
PR 04-MAY-2020; 2020US-0019481P.
PR 14-DEC-2020; 2020US-0124910P.
XX
CC PA (ALNY ) ALNYLAM PHARM INC.
CC PA (VIRB-) VIR BIOTECHNOLOGY INC.
XX
CC PI Akinc A, Mcininch JD, Anglero-Rodriguez Y, Schlegel MK, Hebner CM;
CC PI Lempp FA;
XX
DR WPI; 2021-B26007/086.
XX
CC PT Double stranded ribonucleic acid agent for inhibiting expression of
CC PT coronavirus genome in cell, comprises sense strand and antisense strand
CC PT forming double stranded region, where sense strand comprises nucleotide
CC PT sequence.
XX
CC PS Claim 5; SEQ ID NO 93; 264pp; English.
XX
CC The present invention relates to a double stranded ribonucleic acid
CC (dsRNA) agent for inhibiting expression of coronavirus genome in a cell.
CC The dsRNA comprises a sense strand and an antisense strand forming double
CC stranded region. The invention also includes: (1) a double stranded RNA
CC interference (RNAi) agent for inhibiting expression of a coronavirus
CC genome in a cell; (2) a cell comprising the dsRNA agent; (3) a
CC pharmaceutical composition for inhibiting expression of a coronavirus
CC genome, comprising the dsRNA agent; (4) a pharmaceutical composition
CC comprising the dsRNA agent and a lipid formulation; (5) a composition
CC comprising two or more double stranded RNAi agents for inhibiting
CC expression of coronavirus genome in a cell; (6) a cell comprising the
CC composition; (7) a method for inhibiting expression of a coronavirus
CC genome in a cell; (8) a method for inhibiting replication of a
CC coronavirus in a cell; and (9) a method for treating a subject having a
CC coronavirus infection.
XX
SQ Sequence 21 BP; 4 A; 3 C; 6 G; 0 T; 8 U; 0 Other;
Query Match 100.0%; Score 19; Length 21;
Qy 1 GGAGUAUGCUGAUGUCUUU 19 (Instant SEQ ID NO: 14)
|||||||||||||||||||
Db 2 GGAGUAUGCUGAUGUCUUU 20 (Duplex AD-1184011, SS SEQ ID NO: 93 on page 157)
Query Match 100.0%; Score 19; Length 21;
Qy 1 AAAGACAUCAGCAUACUCC 19 (Instant SEQ ID NO: 75)
|||||||:|||||:||:||
Db 2 AAAGACATCAGCATACTCC 20 (Duplex AD-1184011, AS SEQ ID NO: 448 page 157)
Response to Arguments
Regarding the improper Markush group rejection, Applicant’s arguments, have been fully considered and in view of the amendment to the claims, are persuasive. The rejection has been withdrawn.
Regarding the rejection of claims under 35 USC 102, Applicant's arguments filed have been fully considered but they are not persuasive. Applicant argues that there are multiple potential combinations of sense and antisense strand duplexes possible in Akinc, specifically 126,025 possible combinations, and asserts that there is no example of the selection of SEQ ID NO: 93 and SEQ ID NO: 448 in combination disclosed. Applicant further asserts that the Examiner’s assertion that the claimed RNAi-inducing double-stranded oligonucleotide of the present invention is identical to that disclosed in Akinc is clearly erroneous, contending that the the antisense strand is not complementary to the sense strand.
This is not persuasive as Akinc clearly teaches Duplex AD-1184011 on page 157 which comprises the sense strand sequence GGAGUAUGCUGAUGUCUUU (identified as SEQ ID NO: 93 in Akinc) which is identical to instant SEQ ID NO: 14, paired with the complementary antisense strand comprising the sequence AAAGACAUCAGCAUACUCC (identified as SEQ ID NO: 448 in Akinc) which is identical to instant SEQ ID NO: 75, as indicated above. To be clear, the sense strand (Akinc’s SEQ ID NO: 93) and antisense strand (Akinc’s SEQ ID NO: 448 are complementary as indicated below:
(SEQ ID NO: 75) 5’- AAAGACAUCAGCAUACUCC -3’ (Akinc SEQ ID NO: 448 AS)
| | | | | | | | | | | | | | | | | | |
(SEQ ID NO: 14) 3’- UUUCUGUAGUCGUAUGAGG -5’ (Akinc SEQ ID NO: 93 SS)
Furthermore, Akinc explicitly teaches the sense strand SEQ ID NO: 93 (which comprises instant SEQ ID NO: 14) paired with the complementary antisense strand SEQ ID NO: 448 (which comprises instant SEQ ID NO: 75) on page 157 identified as duplex AD-1184011 (See Table 2 on page 157). Since duplex AD-1184011 teaches a double stranded oligonucleotide that meets the structural limitations of the claims, it would necessarily have the same function, including being a coronavirus-specific RNAi-inducing double-stranded oligonucleotide, which is also taught by Akinc, the title of which is “Coronavirus iRNA Composition and Methods of Use Thereof” (also see abstract, page 2 beginning at line 17, etc.).
Therefore, Applicant’s arguments are not persuasive.
Conclusion
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
J. E. Angell
Primary Examiner
Art Unit 1637
/J. E. ANGELL/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1637