Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statements (IDS) submitted on January 17, 2024, July 21, 2025, and September 23, 2025 has been considered by the examiner. The foreign patent document KR 10 1437073 B1 from the IDS submitted on January 17, 2024 has not been filed and therefore has not been considered by the examiner.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-8 and 10-12 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over U.S. Pre-Grant Publication 2022/0278368, hereinafter Morinaka and further in view of U.S. Pre-Grant Publication 2018/0248226, hereinafter Kono.
Regarding claim 1, Morinaka teaches a nonaqueous electrolyte solution that comprises of a first and second additive, a nonaqueous organic solvent, and a solute (Abstract). The first additive contains a cyclic sulfonyl group (represented in formula [1]) and the second additive may be a silyl group that contains an unsaturated hydrocarbon group (represented in formulas [5-1] to [5-20]). These formulas encapsulate the claimed functional groups of the instant claim 1. The purpose of the additives in this electrolyte solution is to ‘improve high-temperature storage characteristics and low-temperature characteristics’ [0057].
However, Morinaka fails to teach the cyclic sulfonyl and silyl groups linked to each other.
Kono teaches a linked additive for non-aqueous electrolyte solutions that also contains a cyclic sulfonyl group. This compound was synthesized using a halide and a reactant such as 3-hydroxysulfolane [0059] in order to link the cyclic sulfonyl group and silyl group with an oxygen (L group of claims 2-6). Similar to Morinaka, Kono teaches that the purpose of this additive is for ‘high storage stability and improving cycle characteristics and suppressing gas generation for a power storage device’ [0027].
Therefore, it would have been obvious to the ordinarily skilled artist before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to link the cyclic sulfonyl and silyl groups of Morinaka using the method of Kono in order to improve high temperature characteristics as taught by Morinaka (Abstract) and Kono ([0026-0027]). One of ordinary skill in the art would have found it obvious at the time of filing to reduce the total number of additives in a battery by linking two to form one additive because one would appreciate that doing so would decrease the number of components, simplifying the process and ensuring a more homogeneous mixture of additives due to linkage. Moreover, as Morinaka and Kono teach the unlinked and linked additives for the same purpose it would be obvious to one of ordinary skill to try the linked additives with an expectation of similar results MPEP 2143 and 2144.06.
Regarding claims 2-6, Morinaka and Kono teach the compound of claim 1. Additionally, Morinaka teaches a first additive with a cyclic sulfonyl group that has four carbons in the cyclic portion (represented by Formula [1]). Attached to this cyclic group is one ether group and hydrogens wherein the silyl group can contain two methyl groups and two unsaturated alkenes (represented by Formula [5-1]).
Regarding claim 7, Morinaka and Kono teach the compound of claim 1. Additionally, Morinaka teaches that this additive is in a nonaqueous electrolyte solution used in a nonaqueous electrolyte secondary battery (Abstract).
Regarding claim 8, Morinaka and Kono teach the compound of claim 1. Additionally, Morinaka teaches that the nonaqueous electrolyte solutions consists of the first and second additives, a nonaqueous organic solvent, and a solute (Abstract). The solute used in this nonaqueous electrolyte solution are lithium salts, sodium salts, or a combination thereof [0176].
Regarding claim 10, Morinaka and Kono teach the compound of claim 8. Additionally, Morinaka teaches that the solute in the nonaqueous electrolyte that overlap with the instant claim 10 can be LiPF6, LiBF4, LiSbF6, LiAsF6, LiClO4, LiCF3SO3, LiC4F9SO3, LiAlO2, LiCl, LiI, or LiAlCl4, preferably LiPF6 [0176].
Regarding claim 11, Morinaka and Kono teach the compound of claim 1. Additionally, Morinaka teaches a nonaqueous electrolyte solution secondary battery that comprises of the nonaqueous electrolyte solution, a positive electrode that consists of a positive electrode active material, a negative electrode that consists of a negative electrode active material, and a separator ([0192], [0193], and [0221]).
Regarding claim 12, Morinaka and Kono teach the compound of claim 11. Additionally, Morinaka teaches that the nonaqueous electrolyte solution consists of the first and second additives that make up the compound of instant claim 1.
Claim 9 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Morinaka and Kono as applied to claim 8 above, and further in view of U.S. Pre-Grant Publication 2004/0214091, hereinafter Lim.
Regarding claim 9, Morinaka and Kono teach a nonaqueous electrolyte solution that comprises of a first and second additive, a nonaqueous organic solvent, and a solute (Morinaka, Abstract). The first additive contains a cyclic sulfonyl group (Morinaka, represented in formula [1]) and a silyl group that contains an unsaturated hydrocarbon group (Morinaka, represented in formulas [5-1] to [5-20]). These additives are linked using the method of Kono [0059].
However, Morinaka and Kono fail to explicitly teach the compound having a weight percent of 0.001 wt% to about 20 wt%, with respect to the total weight of the electrolyte.
Lim teaches an electrolyte of a lithium battery that includes a non-aqueous organic solvent, a lithium salt, and a compound additive such as a sulfone-based compound, a carbonate-based compound, and a sulfoxide compound that substantially include aromatic hydrocarbon groups (Lim, abstract). The compound additive is added in an amount of 0.1 to 50 wt % based on the total amount of electrolyte. This addition effect is not realized sufficiently when the compound is used in an amount of less than 0.1 wt%, and the cycle life characteristics of the battery are decreased when the compound is used in an amount exceeding 50 wt % (Lim, [0038]). Therefore, the amount of additive is an art recognized result effective variable.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to someone of the ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have optimized the amount of Morinaka and Kono’s additive in order to improve the cycle life characteristics as taught by Lim. In optimizing the additive amount, one would arrive at the claimed relationship, barring evidence to criticality or unexpected results. Moreover, in the case where the claimed ranges "overlap or lie inside ranges disclosed by the prior art" a prima facie case of obviousness exists. MPEP 2144.05
Conclusion
/M.K.H./Examiner, Art Unit 1724
/MIRIAM STAGG/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 1724