DETAILED ACTION
Drawings
The drawings are objected to as failing to comply with 37 CFR 1.84(p)(5) because they do not include the following reference sign(s) mentioned in the description: 206- bracket sets, 32- mounting groove, 26-engaging portion. Corrected drawing sheets in compliance with 37 CFR 1.121(d) are required in reply to the Office action to avoid abandonment of the application. Any amended replacement drawing sheet should include all of the figures appearing on the immediate prior version of the sheet, even if only one figure is being amended. Each drawing sheet submitted after the filing date of an application must be labeled in the top margin as either “Replacement Sheet” or “New Sheet” pursuant to 37 CFR 1.121(d). If the changes are not accepted by the examiner, the applicant will be notified and informed of any required corrective action in the next Office action. The objection to the drawings will not be held in abeyance.
Specification
The title of the invention is not descriptive. A new title is required that is clearly indicative of the invention to which the claims are directed.
The following title is suggested: CELL MODULE COMPRISING A CELL FIXING BRACKET AND BATTERY SYSTEM.
Claim Objections
Claim 4 is objected to because of the following informalities: the second paragraph of the claim recites “center line” multiple times but should recite “centerline” in order to have correct antecedent basis.
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 14 and 19 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 14 recites the limitation "cell fixing racks" in L2 and 3. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim.
For purpose of examination, the Examiner will interpret the claim to recite “cell fixing brackets” as set forth in Claim 1.
Claim 19 recites “a cell fixing bracket” in L3 of the claim. However, Claim 19 is dependent on Claim 1, which sets forth a cell fixing bracket and therefore it is unclear if “a cell fixing bracket” in Claim 19 is an additional cell fixing bracket or if it is the cell fixing bracket set forth in Claim 1.
For purpose of examination, the Examiner will interpret the claim as reciting “the cell fixing bracket” in light of Claims 1 and 15.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-5, 13-15, and 20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Huo et al. (US PGPub 2023/0216103 A1) and further in view of Mastrandrea et al. (US PGPub 2018/0069280 A1).
Regarding Claims 1 and 20, Huo discloses in Fig. 1 battery cell system, comprising a cell module (100) ([0041]), comprising:
a cell fixing bracket (14) ([0053]);
a plurality of rows of cell groups, each row of cell group of the plurality of rows of cell groups comprises a plurality of cells (16), each row of cell group other than a first row of cell group and a last row of cell group has a first spacing H from an adjacent row of cell group, and has a second spacing h from another adjacent cell group, and the first spacing H is greater than the second spacing h ([0042],e.g. see annotated Fig. 1 provided below); and
a liquid cooling plate (22) disposed between two rows of the plurality of rows of cell groups spaced apart by the second spacing h, and configured to regulate temperature of a plurality of cells (16) near the liquid cooling plate (22) (Fig. 2, [0046], [0049]).
Consequently, Huo does not disclose wherein the liquid cooling plate is disposed between two rows of the plurality of rows spaced apart by the first spacing H.
Though, Huo discloses wherein the arrangement of the plurality of rows of cell groups and the liquid cooling plate (22) is not particularly limited and may be spliced as required in order to achieve a battery cell system having a low cost, a simple assembling process, and a high assembling efficiency ([0048]).
Mastandrea teaches in Fig. 3 a cell module (300) comprising a plurality of rows of cell groups, each row cell group of the plurality rows of cell groups comprises a plurality of cells (310), each row of cell group other than a first row of cell group and a last row of cell group has a first spacing H from an adjacent row of cell group, and has a second spacing h from another adjacent cell group, and the first spacing H is greater than the second spacing h ([0040], see annotated Fig. 3 provided below); and a fluid cooling assembly (320) disposed between two rows of the plurality of rows of cell groups spaced apart by the first spacing H, and configured to regulate temperature of a plurality of cells (310) near the fluid cooling assembly (320) ([0041]-[0042]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to modify the cell module of Huo such that the liquid cooling plate of Huo is disposed between two rows of the plurality of rows of cell groups of Huo spaced apart by the first spacing H, as taught by Mastandrea, as the arrangement of the plurality of rows of cell groups and the liquid cooling plate is not particularly limited and such is a known configuration in the art and therefore the skilled artisan would have reasonable expectation of successfully doing so in order to achieve a battery cell system having a low cost, a simple assembling process, and a high assembling efficiency, as desired by Huo.
Regarding Claim 2, modified Huo discloses all of the limitations as set forth above and further discloses wherein the cell fixing bracket (14 of Huo) comprises a plurality of bracket sets (e.g. 20 of Huo) arranged in a second direction Y, each of the plurality of bracket sets (e.g. 20 of Huo) comprises two adjacent bracket bodies arranged in the second direction Y, the two adjacent bracket bodies arranged in the second direction Y are detachably connected (Fig. 6, [0055] of Huo), each bracket body of two adjacent bracket bodies is provided with a plurality of mounting portions arranged in a first direction X, each of the plurality of mounting portions is configured to mount one cell (16 of Huo), and the second direction Y and the first direction X are set at an included angle (Figs. 1, 5-6 and [0053] of Huo, e.g. see mounting portions formed in the cell fixing bracket 14 in Figs. 13-14).
Regarding Claim 3, modified Huo discloses all of the limitations as set forth above and further discloses wherein a centerline of the plurality of mounting portions parallel to the first direction X is a first centerline b, and a centerline of each bracket body parallel to the first direction X is a second centerline a;
the first centerline b and the second centerline a are set at an internal; and
two first centerlines b of the mounting portions respectively disposed on the two adjacent bracket bodies of each bracket set (20 of Huo) are located on two sides of the two second centerlines a of the two adjacent bracket bodies (20 of Huo), respectively (e.g. see annotated Fig. 3 of Mastandrea provided below).
Regarding Claim 4, modified Huo discloses all of the limitations as set forth above and further discloses wherein a centerline of the plurality of mounting portions parallel to the first direction X is a first centerline b, and a centerline of each bracket body parallel to the first direction X is a second centerline a;
in the two adjacent bracket bodies of each bracket set (20 of Huo), a first centerline b of mounting portions disposed on a first bracket body (20 of Huo) and a second centerline a of the first bracket body (20 of Huo) are set at an interval, and a first centerline b of mounting portions disposed on a second bracket body (20 of Huo) (e.g. see annotated Fig. 3 of Masandrea provided above).
However, modified Huo does not disclose wherein a first centerline b of mounting portions disposed on a second bracket body coincides with a second centerline a of the second bracket body.
The Examiner notes that the instant specification discloses wherein the relationship of centerlines b and a corresponding to the spacing between cells in the cell module (Fig. 5, P9 bottom paragraph-P10, first paragraph).
For example, the Examiner notes that the instant specification discloses a cell module comprising a plurality of rows of cell groups, wherein each row of cell group other than a first row of cell group and a last row of cell group has a first spacing H from an adjacent row of cell group, and has a second spacing h from another adjacent cell group, and the first spacing H is greater than the second spacing h; and a liquid cooling plate disposed between two rows of the plurality of rows of cell groups spaced apart by the first spacing H (Fig. 5).
Modified Huo discloses wherein the arrangement of the plurality of rows of cell groups and the liquid cooling plate (22 of Huo) is not particularly limited and may be spliced as required in order to achieve a battery cell system having a low cost, a simple assembling process, and a high assembling efficiency ([0048] of Huo, [0066] of Mastandrea) and therefore the relationship of centerlines b and a of modified Huo is a design choice based on the desired splicing of the cell module.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to form the cell module of modified Huo such that a first centerline b of mounting portions disposed on a second bracket body of modified Huo coincides with a second centerline a of the second bracket body, as the relationship of centerlines b and a of modified Huo is a design choice based on the desired splicing of the cell module, wherein such is not particularly limited and therefore the skilled artisan would have reasonable expectation that such would successfully form a cell module wherein the liquid cooling plate is disposed between two rows of the plurality of rows of cell groups spaced apart by the first spacing H, as desired by modified Huo.
Regarding Claim 5, modified Huo discloses all of the limitations as set forth above and further discloses wherein each of the plurality of mounting portions is a mounting groove, and an end portion of each of the plurality of cells (16 of Huo) is fixed in the mounting groove (Figs. 1, 5-6 and [0053] of Huo, e.g. see mounting grooves formed in the cell fixing bracket 14 in Figs. 13-14).
Regarding Claim 13, modified Huo discloses all of the limitations as set forth above and further discloses wherein the liquid cooling plate (22 of Huo) is in communication with a connecting tube (28 of Huo) (Figs. 2-4, [0049] of Huo).
Regarding Claim 14, modified Huo discloses all of the limitations as set forth above and further discloses wherein a number of the cell fixing brackets (14 of Huo) is two (58, 60 of Huo), and two end portions of each of the plurality of cells (16 of Huo) are connected in a one-to-one correspondence to two cell fixing brackets (14 of Huo) (Fig. 5, [0063]-[0065] of Huo).
Regarding Claim 15, modified Huo discloses all of the limitations as set forth above and further discloses wherein two end portions of each cell (16 of Huo) of the plurality of cells (16 of Huo) comprises a top end portion and a bottom end portion, the cell fixing bracket (14 of Huo), to which the top end portion of each cell (16 of Huo) is connected, is provided with, corresponding to each cell (16 of Huo), a first through hole (84 of Huo), and an electrode terminal (90 of Huo) of the top end portion of each cell (16 of Huo) protrudes out from the first through hole (84 of Huo) to be connected to a busbar (Fig. 1, 5 and [0073]-[0074] of Huo).
Claims 6-8 and 11-12 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Huo et al. (US PGPub 2023/0216103 A1) in view of Mastrandrea et al. (US PGPub 2018/0069280 A1), as applied to Claim 2 above, and further in view of Zheng et al. (CN 206332064 U, cited on the IDS dated April 17, 2025, see also the EPO machine generated English translation provided with this Office Action).
Regarding Claim 6, modified Huo discloses all of the limitations as set forth above. However, modified Huo does not disclose wherein each bracket body comprises a plurality of splicing seats arranged in the first direction X, each two adjacent splicing seats are detachably connected, and each of the plurality of splicing seats is provided with one mounting portion.
Zheng teaches a cell fixing bracket that has good fastness, easy disassembly and installation, and can guarantee security when used in a cell module (P1, L17-19).
Specifically, Zheng teaches in Figs. 1-6 a cell fixing bracket (2) comprising a plurality of bracket bodies (3, 3), wherein each bracket body (3, 3) comprises a plurality of splicing seats (3) arranged in the first direction X, each two adjacent splicing seats (3) are detachably connected, and each of the plurality of splicing seats (3) is provided with one mounting portion (7) (P1, last paragraph-P2, paragraph 4).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to form each bracket body of modified Huo to comprise a plurality of splicing seats arranged in the first direction X, wherein each two adjacent splicing seats are detachably connected and each of the plurality of splicing seats is provided with one mounting portion, as taught by Zheng, in order to form a cell fixing bracket that has good fastness, easy disassembly and installation, and can guarantee security when used in the cell module of modified Huo.
Regarding Claim 7, modified Huo discloses all of the limitations as set forth above and further discloses wherein each splicing seat of the plurality of splicing seat (3 of Zheng) is provided with an engaging portion (8, 9 of Zheng), and the two adjacent splicing seats (3 of Zheng) are engaged into each other through the engaging portions (8, 9 of Zheng) (Figs. 1-6 and P3, paragraph 5 of Zheng).
Regarding Claim 8, modified Huo discloses all of the limitations as set forth above and further discloses wherein each splicing seat (3 of Zheng) is of a regular prismatic structure, a sidewall on each side of each splicing seat (3 of Zheng) is provided with an engaging portion (8, 9 of Zheng), and two adjacent bracket bodies (3, 3 of Zheng) are engaged into each other through the engaging portions (8, 9 of Zheng) (Figs. 1-6 and P3, paragraph 5 of Zheng).
Regarding Claim 11, modified Huo discloses all of the limitations as set forth above and further discloses wherein each splicing seat (6 of Zheng) comprises:
a baseplate (4 of Zheng), wherein the baseplate (4 of Zheng) is a regular polygonal plate (Fig. 1, P1-2 bridging paragraph of Zheng); and
a plurality of side plates (6 of Zheng), wherein each side edge of the baseplate (4 of Zheng) is connected to a side plate (6 of Zheng) of the plurality of side plates (6 of Zheng), the baseplate (4 of Zheng) and the plurality of side plates (6 of Zheng) enclose to define the mounting groove (7 of Zheng), an end portion of each of the plurality of battery cells (16 of Huo, corresponding to 1 of Zheng) is disposed in the mounting groove (7 of Zheng), and each of the side plates (6 of Zheng) is provided with the engaging portion (8, 9 of Zheng) (Figs. 1-6 and P1, last paragraph-P2, paragraph 4 of Zheng).
Regarding Claim 12, modified Huo discloses all of the limitations as set forth above and further discloses wherein a number of the plurality of side plates (6 of Zheng) provided on each splicing seat (3 of Zheng) is an even number (Fig. 2 of Zheng, e.g. 4), and in oppositely disposed two side plates (6 of Zheng), the engaging portion (8, 9 of Zheng) is of a first side plate (6 of Zheng) is an engaging block (9 of Zheng), and the engaging portion (8, 9 of Zheng) of a second side plate (6 of Zheng) is an engaging groove (8 of Zheng) (Figs. 1-6 and P1, last paragraph-P2, paragraph 4 of Zheng).
Claim 9-10 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Huo et al. (US PGPub 2023/0216103 A1) in view of Mastrandrea et al. (US PGPub 2018/0069280 A1) and Zheng et al. (CN 206332064 U, cited on the IDS dated April 15, 2025, see also the EPO machine generated English translation provided with this Office Action), as applied to Claim 8, and further in view of Dai (CN 105226213 A, see also the EPO machine generated English translation provided with this Office Action).
Regarding Claim 9, modified Huo discloses all of the limitations as set forth above and further discloses wherein the cell fixing bracket that has good fastness, easy disassembly and installation, and can guarantee security when used in the cell module (P1, L17-19 of Zheng).
Specifically, modified Huo discloses wherein each splicing set (3 of Zheng) is a regular rectangular prismatic structure (Figs. 1-6 of Zheng) and consequently does not disclose wherein each splicing set is a rectangular hexagonal prismatic structure.
Dai teaches in Figs. 1-7 a cell fixing bracket comprising a plurality of splicing seats (10), wherein each splicing seat (10) is of a regular prismatic structure (P1, L15-7 and P2, L25-34).
Specifically, Dai teaches wherein a shape of the splicing seat (10) is not particularly limited so long as it is convenient to assemble, such as a square or a regular hexagon (P2, L35-37).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to form each splicing seat of modified Huo to have a regular hexagonal prismatic structure, as taught by Dai, as such is a known configuration in the art that is convenient to assemble and therefore the skilled artisan would have reasonable expectation that such would successfully form a cell fixing bracket that has good fastness, easy disassembly and installation, and can guarantee security when used in the cell module of modified Huo, as desired by modified Huo
Regarding Claim 10, modified Huo discloses all of the limitations as set forth above and further discloses wherein the liquid cooling plate (22 of Huo) is a corrugated plate to allow the liquid cooling plate (22 of Huo) to cool each of the plurality of cells (16 of Huo) on two sides of the liquid cooling plate (22 of Huo) (Fig. 2, [0049]-[0050] of Huo).
Claims 16 and 19 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Huo et al. (US PGPub 2023/0216103 A1) in view of Mastrandrea et al. (US PGPub 2018/0069280 A1), as applied to Claims 1 and 15 above, and further in view of Koutari et al. (US PGPub 2020/0136110 A1).
Regarding Claim 16, modified Huo discloses all of the limitations as set forth above. However, modified Huo remains silent regarding the material of the cell fixing bracket and consequently does not disclose wherein such is made of an insulating material.
Koutari teaches in Fig. 1 a cell module (100) comprising a cell fixing bracket (2), wherein the cell fixing bracket (2) is made of a resin, such as thermoplastic resin which is an insulating material ([0032], [0037]).
Specifically, Koutari teaches wherein the cell fixing bracket (2) is preferably made of a resin excellent in flame-resistance and heat-resistance, such as polycarbonate, polypropylene, nylon, and the like ([0030]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to form the cell fixing bracket of modified Huo of polycarbonate, polypropylene, or nylon, as taught by Koutari, wherein such are insulating materials, in order to achieve a cell fixing bracket that is excellent in flame-resistance and heat-resistance.
The Examiner notes wherein the cell fixing bracket (14 of Hou) functions as a support ([0053] of Huo) and wherein the busbar is disposed on the cell fixing bracket (14 of Huo) (e.g. see annotated Fig. 1 of Hui provided below) and therefore modified Huo discloses wherein the cell fixing bracket (14 of Huo) supports the busbar.
Regarding Claim 19, modified Huo discloses all of the limitations as set forth above and further discloses wherein two end portions of each cell (16 of Huo) of the plurality of cells (16 of Huo) comprise a top end portion and a bottom end portion (Fig. 1, 5 and [0073]-[0074] of Huo).
However, modified Huo does not disclose wherein, the cell fixing bracket, to which the bottom end portion of each cell is connected, is provided with, corresponding to the bottom end portion of each cell, a pressure relief chamber in communication with a mounting groove, and the cell fixing bracket to which the bottom end portion of each cell is connected, is further provided with a pressure relief hole in communication with the pressure relief chamber.
Koutari teaches in Fig. 1 a cell module (100) comprising a plurality of cells (1), wherein two end portions of each cell (1) of the plurality of cells (1) comprises a top end portion and a bottom end portion, wherein a cell fixing bracket (2), to which the bottom end portion of each cell (1) is connected, is provided with, corresponding to the bottom end portion of each cell (1), a pressure relief chamber (7) in communication with a mounting groove (e.g. see bottom portion of 2B), and the cell fixing bracket (2) to which the bottom end portion of each cell (1) is connected, is further provided with a pressure relief hole (6) in communication with the pressure relief chamber (7) in order to exhaust high-temperature and high-pressure discharge gas discharged from one of the plurality battery cells (1) when an internal pressure of one of the plurality of battery cells (1) becomes higher than a set pressure ([0035], [0042]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to form the cell fixing bracket of modified Huo to be provided with, corresponding to the bottom end portion of each cell of modified Huo, a pressure relief chamber in communication with the mounting groove of modified Huo, wherein the cell fixing bracket is further provided with a pressure relief hole in communication with the pressure relief chamber, as taught by Koutari, in order to exhaust high-temperature and high-pressure discharge gas discharged from the plurality battery cells of modified Huo when an internal pressure of one of the plurality of battery cells becomes higher than a set pressure.
Claims 17-18 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Huo et al. (US PGPub 2023/0216103 A1) in view of Mastrandrea et al. (US PGPub 2018/0069280 A1) and Koutari et al. (US PGPub 2020/0136110 A1), as applied to Claim 16 above, and further in view of Kwag et al. (US PGPub 2021/0075077 A1).
Regarding Claim 17, modified Huo discloses all of the limitations as set forth above. However, modified Huo does not disclose wherein the cell fixing bracket, to which the top end portion of each cell is connected, is provided with a flange around the first through hole, and the flange is configured to support the busbar.
Kwag teaches I Figs. 1-3 a cell module comprising a cell fixing bracket (110, 120) and a plurality of cells (10), wherein two end portions of each cell (10) of the plurality of cells (10) comprises a top end portion (11) and a bottom end portion (12), the cell fixing bracket (110, 120), to which the top end portion (11) of each cell (1) is connected, is provided with, corresponding to each cell (10), a first through hole (115), and an electrode terminal (11) of the top end portion (11) of each cell (1) protrudes out from the first through hole (115) to be connected to a busbar (B) ([0055]-[0057], [0059], [0065]).
Specifically, Kwag teaches wherein the cell fixing bracket (110, 120), to which the top end portion (11) of each cell (10) is connected, is provided with a flange (S) around the first through hole (115), and the flange (S) is configured to support the busbar (B) ([0089]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to form the cell fixing bracket of modified Huo, to which the top end portion of each cell of modified Huo is connected, to be provided with a flange around the first through hole of modified Huo, as taught by Kwag, in order to support the busbar of modified Huo.
Regarding Claim 18, modified Huo discloses all of the limitations as set forth above and further discloses wherein the flange (S of Kwag) is provided with a positioning column (Sb of Kwag)), and the positioning column (Sb of Kwag) is configured to fix the busbar ([0091] of Kwag).
Conclusion
/KIMBERLY WYLUDA/Examiner, Art Unit 1725