DETAILED ACTION
This action is in response to papers filed 3/12/2026.
Applicant's election with traverse of the species of water soluble Mn and E. coli in the reply filed on 12/27/2025 is acknowledged. It is noted that the species requirement is withdrawn and the next species is searched.
The following rejections are newly applied as necessitated by amendment.
Claims 1-5 are pending.
This action is final.
Withdrawn Objections and Rejections
The claim objections made in the previous office action is withdrawn based upon amendments to the claims.
The 35 USC 112b rejection made in the previous office action is withdrawn based upon amendments to the claims.
The 35 USC 102 and 35 USC 103 rejection made in the previous office action is withdrawn based upon the affidavit under Rule 130(a) and the submission of the translation of the foreign priority document filed 3/12/2026.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Liu et al. (Sensors 2018 Vol 18 p. 4166) in view of Yan et al. (ACS Sustainable Chem Eng 2018 Vol 6 p. 4504-4509).
With regard to claim 1, Liu et al. teaches a nucleic acid functionalized metal nanoprobe (abstract). Liu et al. teaches that the nucleic acid molecules and metal cations from a conjugate by electrostatic adsorption (2. Synthesis of gold nanoparticles 2nd paragraph). Liu et al. teaches that it is incubated with an DNA ( 5.2 Deprotection method), but does not specifically teach pathogenic microorganism. Liu et al teaches self-assembly in situ fluorescent (4. Optical properties ). Liu et al. teaches that the nanoprobe has a particle size of 0.8-8 nm (2. Synthesis of gold nanoparticles 3rd paragraph). Liu et al. teaches the use of chloroauric acid (2. Synthesis of gold nanoparticles 2nd paragraph), Liu et al. does not teach a pathogenic microorganism that is E.coli or S. aureus.
The use of metal nanoprobe for E. coli detection is well known in the prior art.
With regard to claim 1, Yan et al. teaches that metal nanoprobes can be co-incubated in E. coli to self-assemble (p. 4504-4505 1st paragraph).
Therefore it would be prima facie obvious to one of ordinary sill in the art at the time of the effective filing date to modify the nanoprobe of Liu et al. to co-incubate with known targets including E. coli, as taught by Yan et al. The ordinary artisan would have a reasonable expectation of success as Yan et al. teaches that metal nanoprobes be used with nucleic acids of E. coli to self-assemble.
Claim(s) 2-5 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Liu et al. (Sensors 2018 Vol 18 p. 4166) and Yan et al. (ACS Sustainable Chem Eng 2018 Vol 6 p. 4504-4509) as applied to claim 1 and in view of Mirkin et al. (US Patent Application 2020/0384104 effective date 12/15/2017) and Kilment et al. (US Patent Application Publication 2020/0230213 July 23, 2020 cited on previous IDS).
Liu et al. teaches a nucleic acid functionalized metal nanoprobe (abstract). Liu et al. teaches that the nucleic acid molecules and metal cations from a conjugate by electrostatic adsorption (2. Synthesis of gold nanoparticles 2nd paragraph). Liu et al. teaches that it is incubated with an DNA ( 5.2 Deprotection method), but does not specifically teach pathogenic microorganism. Liu et al teaches self-assembly in situ fluorescent (4. Optical properties ). Liu et al. teaches that the nanoprobe has a particle size of 0.8-8 nm (2. Synthesis of gold nanoparticles 3rd paragraph). Liu et al. teaches the use of chloroauric acid (2. Synthesis of gold nanoparticles 2nd paragraph), Yan et al. teaches that metal nanoprobes can be co-incubated in E. coli to self-assemble (p. 4504-4505 1st paragraph).
With regard to claim 2, Liu et al. teaches designing the nucleic acid functionalized metal nanoprobe by mixing a metal soluble salt solution to obtain cations, but does not teach use of SYBR or confocal microscopy (2 and 3).
With regard to claim 3, Liu et al. teaches use of DNA (3. Third paragraph).
With regard to claim 4, Liu et al. teaches chloroauric acid that can be within the salt range (5.2).
Liu et al. and Yan et al. do not teach use of a SYBR, magnetic device.
With regard to claim 2, Mirken et al. teaches preparation methods that use both SYBR green and confocal microscopy with nanoprobes (para 27-29, 49, 103-107). Yan et al. teaches that metal nanoprobes can be co-incubated in E. coli to self-assemble (p. 4504-4505 1st paragraph).
With regard to claim 2, Kilment et al. teaches that DNA for a nanoprobe (para 128) can be isolated using SYBR green (30 minutes in PCR machine, which is dark).
Therefore it would be prima facie obvious to the ordinary artisan at the time of the effective filing date to modify the method of Claim 2 that is used for the production of the nanopore of Liu and Yan to the method steps of Mirken and Kilment to obtain DNA used for the nanoprobe of Liu and Yan. The ordinary artisan would be motivated as Kliment and Mirken teaches a method to isolate DNA that is used for nanoprobe preparation (para 128).
Conclusion
No claims are allowed.
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/KATHERINE D SALMON/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1682