DETAILED ACTION
Election/Restrictions
Claims 6-12, 18 are withdrawn from further consideration pursuant to 37 CFR 1.142(b) as being drawn to a nonelected species groups, there being no allowable generic or linking claim. Election was made without traverse in the reply filed on 6/17/2026. Claims 1-5, 12-17, 19-20 are pending.
Claim Interpretation
Instant claim preamble is drawn to a product claim to “a cell”. Claims include limitations pertaining to intermediate products such as slides, chutes, and connecting portions. These intermediate products are separable during the formation process and joined during formation process to create an integral element whereby features such as the chute are no longer a chute since they are filled with slide elements. The final product of this example of chute and slide is a joined feature. Since the claims are not drawn to the intermediate products, such as “elements to form a cell”, but to the final resulting cell, the final product is being investigated; a filled chute with a slide does not further limit the scope from a solid plate at the joint between two regions such as a wall. Additionally, MPEP 2144.04 making integral/separable support this interpretation. “How” the pieces are joined is not patentably distinguishable for product claims from features which exist in the same location and provide the same function as the final product produced.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-5, 13-17, 19 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) and 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by Kimura (JP 2020-166955).
Claim 1: Kimura teaches a cell having an internal fixed structure (41) of the cell comprising a lower insulating plastic and holder [Fig 6] wherein the lower insulating plastic is provided with and abutting surface that is abut a pole core (22). A hosing (13) has the pole core (12) disposed therein and abuts an outer wall of the pole core [Fig 1]. A tab (25, 26) is connected to the pole core [Fig 1]. A top cover (14) is provided with a terminal (19) and is connected to an end of the housing and the insulating plastic of the internal fixed structure [Fig 1]. Modified Figure 9 is further utilized to map the instant claim language to the prior art.
Claim 2: Kimura teaches a holder to have a first side and second side [Fig 1, 6, 8-9]. The prior art teaches the element to be engaged [0035-0058] such that the lower insulating plate provided with the holder is mounted on the cell. The final product of Kimura as well as the engagement features are sufficient to read on the instant claim scope presented pertaining to the first and second push connection portions [Fig 1, 6, 8-9]. Alternatively, the specifics of the mechanism for ‘push engagement’ is not materially limiting as it pertains to an intermediate product. The push and latching mechanism is not like a backpack where it is unlocked and reengaged whereby a structural feature based on the use of the device, but a feature for setting a final product once and sealing it. The final cell is not materially different based upon the intermediate product or by a product by process limitation of assembly.
Claim 3: Kimura teaches a holder to have slide elements and engagement features [Fig 1, 6, 8-9, 0035-0058] that meet the chute limitation of the instant claim. Alternatively, the specifics of the mechanism for ‘push engagement’ is not materially limiting as it pertains to an intermediate product. The push and latching mechanism is not like a backpack where it is unlocked and reengaged whereby a structural feature based on the use of the device, but a feature for setting a final product once and sealing it. The final cell is not materially different based upon the intermediate product or by a product by process limitation of assembly.
Claim 4: Kimura teaches a corner missing structure that allows for the other object of the cover to fit therein such that a slider feature and engagement feature via a push force acted upon it engages the structure [Fig 1, 6, 8-9, 0035-0058]. Alternatively, the specifics of the mechanism for ‘push engagement’ is not materially limiting as it pertains to an intermediate product. The push and latching mechanism is not like a backpack where it is unlocked and reengaged whereby a structural feature based on the use of the device, but a feature for setting a final product once and sealing it. The final cell is not materially different based upon the intermediate product or by a product by process limitation of assembly. Limitations to “sliding” are product by process limitations, only the final structure of the cell are patentably distinguishable limitations and the prior art teaches all positively recited structural features.
Claim 5: A snap assembly is an intermediate product as the cell comprises a joined feature, Kimura teaches a joined feature [Fig 1, 6, 8-9, 0035-0058]. Alternatively, the specifics of the mechanism for ‘push engagement’ is not materially limiting as it pertains to an intermediate product. The push and latching mechanism is not like a backpack where it is unlocked and reengaged whereby a structural feature based on the use of the device, but a feature for setting a final product once and sealing it. The final cell is not materially different based upon the intermediate product or by a product by process limitation of assembly. Making a snap sound during the engagement is not structurally limiting to the elements.
Claim 13, 15, 17: Kimura teaches a tab that comprises a first portion, bend (27b), and second connecting portion such the first connecting portion is connected to the pole core, the bend connects the first connecting portion to the second connecting portion, and the second connecting portion is connected to the terminal , and the hold is located between the first connecting portion and upper portion of the bend when assembled [Fig 5, 8-9]. Instant claim recites “connected to” but does not recited “directly connected to”; an element A is connected to an element C even if an element B exists therebetween; since no qualifier of electrically connected is utilized, insulating and conductive materials can exist in connection with each other.
Claim 14, 16: Kimura teaches a bend that has a void region [Fig 9]. An empty region exists between the tab and case that is interpreted to be applicants ‘weak overcurrent region’ [Fig 1]. The holder comprises a protrusion (42) that is interpreted to meet the capable of being inserted into an empty slot [Fig 1].
Claim 19: The instant claim is interpreted that the “two internal fixed structures of the cell are provided” are any features which have already been identified in the instant claim 2, else, arguments to these features being new and different features would be a 112 antecedent basis rejection. The features of the cell as described in claim 1 and 2 that have been rejected by Kimura are capable of being disposed on opposite sides of the cell wherein the pole core is deposed between the two fixed structures of the cells and a first end of the pole core abuts against the abutting surface of the lower insulting plastic of one of the two internal fixed structures and a second end of the pole core abuts against the abutting surface of the lower insulating plastic of another on of the two internal fixed structures [Fig 1].
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) and 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by, or alternatively under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kimura (JP 2020-166955).
Claim 20: Kimura teaches a cell to have a tab and space therein wherein the tab has a width and a number of layers with a length of the cell [Fig 1]. The ratio of the pole core to the length of the cell being 0.93 to 0.99 is not explicitly stated by the prior art but obvious to optimize and maximize the volume of pole core material whereby energy density is higher; having a ratio of 0.50 would mean there is a lot of wasted space and weight of cell that one having ordinary skill in the art would understand would be undesirable. As it pertains to the equation of S=W x N: cells are known to be made in various sizes in order to accommodate energy demands, creating dimensioned tabs that operate to effectively transfer charge from the battery to the external terminal is routine to one having ordinary skill in the art. The instant claim pertains to nothing more than discovery of workable ranges to produce functioning batteries that are optimized for energy density demands.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
WO 2019/179232 teaches a snap fit engagement [Fig 5] – the specifics of a snap fit are not specific to the final product cell as it pertains to an intermediate product and method of joining.
/STEPHEN J YANCHUK/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1752