DETAILED ACTION
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claim(s) 1-3, 5, 7-16, 18, 19 and 24 have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-3, 5, 7-16, 18, 19 and 24 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Shiga et al. (Shiga), U.S. Patent Pub. No. 2018/0049088 in view of Xu et al. (Xu), U.S. Patent Pub. No. 2017/0230935.
Regarding claim 1, Shiga discloses a method for setting up an interface (X2 interface; see figure 18), performed by a first base station (V2X enb, 0099), the method comprising: sending first support information (V2X capability information) of the first base station for multi-modality communication and/or service (The V2X Capability information may include a more detailed service type, a provider and other attribute information, 0100) to a second base station (existing V2X enb, 0099) in response to a request (X2 Setup Request Message, 0099) by the first base station for setting up an interface with the second base station (First, the V2X eNB 61 transmits an X2 Setup Request message to the existing V2X eNB (S11). The V2X eNB 61 sets to the X2 Setup Request message a parameter indicating that the V2X eNB 61 is a vehicle base station which communicates with the vehicle terminal 40. The parameter indicating that the V2X eNB 61 is a vehicle base station which communicates with the vehicle terminal 40 may be V2X Capability information.) (0099); receiving information of interface setup failure (Connection Rejection is indicated in the cause value sent; 0101) sent by the second base station in response to the second base station declining to set up the interface with the first base station (Further, when deciding in step S12 that the V2X Capability information is not set to the received X2 Setup Request message or it is not possible to meet a request notified by the V2X Capability information, the existing V2X eNB may transmit to the V2X eNB 61 a message to which a Cause value indicating rejection of connection has been set.) (0101).
Shiga, however, fails to disclose receiving a reason for interface setup failure wherein the reason is that multi-modality communication and/or service supported by the second base station is different from multi-modality communication and/or service supported by the first base station, resulting in that the first base station and the second base station cannot communicate for the same type of multi-modality communication and/or service.
In a similar field of endeavor, Xu discloses methods for supporting access and paging of low complexity user equipment. Xu further discloses receiving a reason for interface setup failure wherein the reason is that multi-modality communication and/or service supported by the second base station is different from multi-modality communication and/or service supported by the first base station (in the case that the target base station does not support low complexity UE, the target base station returns a handover failure message to the source base station directly or via the MME, and indicates that the failure reason is the target base station does not support low complexity UE.) (0241).
Therefore, before the effective filing date, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art to modify Shiga with the teachings of Xu for the purpose of allowing the system to know why connection failed in order to improve system performance.
Regarding claim 2, Shiga as modified discloses the method according to claim 1, further comprising: receiving second support information of the second base station for multi-modality communication and/or service sent by the second base station in response to the second base station agreeing (Connection Agreement is indicated in the cause value sent; 0101) to set up the interface with the first base station (Next, the existing V2X eNB transmits to the V2X eNB 61 the X2 Setup Response message to which the V2X Capability information indicating that the existing V2X eNB is the vehicle base station has been set (S13). Next, the V2X eNB 61 holds the V2X Capability information set to the received X2 Setup Response message.) (0100).
Regarding claim 3, Shiga as modified discloses the method according to claim 2, wherein the second support information is carried in an interface setup response signaling sent to the first base station from the second base station Next, the existing V2X eNB transmits to the V2X eNB 61 the X2 Setup Response message to which the V2X Capability information indicating that the existing V2X eNB is the vehicle base station has been set (S13). Next, the V2X eNB 61 holds the V2X Capability information set to the received X2 Setup Response message.) (0100).
Regarding claim 5, Shiga as modified discloses the method according to claim 1, where the reason information is carried in an interface setup failure signaling sent to the first base station from the second base station (in the case that the target base station does not support low complexity UE, the target base station returns a handover failure message to the source base station directly or via the MME, and indicates that the failure reason is the target base station does not support low complexity UE.) (Xu, 0241).
Regarding claim 7, Shiga as modified discloses the method according to claim 1, wherein the reason information comprises the multi-modality communication and/or service supported by the second base station being partially or all different from the multi-modality communication and/or service supported by the first base station (in the case that the target base station does not support low complexity UE, the target base station returns a handover failure message to the source base station directly or via the MME, and indicates that the failure reason is the target base station does not support low complexity UE.) (Xu, 0241).
Regarding claim 8, Shiga as modified discloses the method according to claim 1, wherein the reason comprises the second base station supporting target multi-modality communication and/or service, and the first base station not supporting the target multi-modality communication and/or service (in the case that the target base station does not support low complexity UE, the target base station returns a handover failure message to the source base station directly or via the MME, and indicates that the failure reason is the target base station does not support low complexity UE.) (Xu, 0241).
Regarding claim 9, Shiga as modified discloses the method according to claim 1, where the first support information is carried in an interface setup request signaling sent to the second base station from the first base station (First, the V2X eNB 61 transmits an X2 Setup Request message to the existing V2X eNB (S11). The V2X eNB 61 sets to the X2 Setup Request message a parameter indicating that the V2X eNB 61 is a vehicle base station which communicates with the vehicle terminal 40. The parameter indicating that the V2X eNB 61 is a vehicle base station which communicates with the vehicle terminal 40 may be V2X Capability information.) (0099).
Regarding claim 10, Shiga as modified discloses the method according to claim 1, wherein the interface comprises at least one of an XN interface and an X2 interface (First, the V2X eNB 61 transmits an X2 Setup Request message to the existing V2X eNB (S11).) (0099).
Regarding claim 11, Shiga discloses a method for setting up an interface, performed by a second base station, the method comprising: receiving first support information of a first base station for multi-modality communication and/or service sent by the first base station; and determining whether to set up an interface with the first base station (as indicated in the Cause Value sent by the second base station to the first base station) according to the first support information (Next, the existing V2X eNB holds the V2X Capability information set to the received X2 Setup Request message (S12). Next, the existing V2X eNB transmits to the V2X eNB 61 the X2 Setup Response message to which the V2X Capability information indicating that the existing V2X eNB is the vehicle base station has been set (S13). Next, the V2X eNB 61 holds the V2X Capability information set to the received X2 Setup Response message. The V2X Capability information may include a more detailed service type, a provider and other attribute information. The V2X Capability information set to a message different from the X2 Setup Request message may also include a more detailed service type, a provider and other attribute information likewise. Further, when deciding in step S12 that the V2X Capability information is not set to the received X2 Setup Request message or it is not possible to meet a request notified by the V2X Capability information, the existing V2X eNB may transmit to the V2X eNB 61 a message to which a Cause value indicating rejection of connection has been set.) (0100 and 0101).
Shiga, however, fails to disclose sending a reason for interface setup failure to the first base station in a case where the second base station declining to set up the interface with the first base station wherein the reason is that multi-modality communication and/or service supported by the second base station is different from multi-modality communication and/or service supported by the first base station, resulting in that the first base station and the second base station cannot communicate for the same type of multi-modality communication and/or service.
Xu discloses receiving a reason for interface setup failure wherein the reason is that multi-modality communication and/or service supported by the second base station is different from multi-modality communication and/or service supported by the first base station (in the case that the target base station does not support low complexity UE, the target base station returns a handover failure message to the source base station directly or via the MME, and indicates that the failure reason is the target base station does not support low complexity UE.) (0241).
Therefore, before the effective filing date, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art to modify Shiga with the teachings of Xu for the purpose of allowing the system to know why connection failed in order to improve system performance.
Regarding claim 12, Shiga as modified discloses the method according to claim 11, where determining whether to set up the interface with the first base station according to the first support information comprises: determining to set up the interface with the first base station in response to multi-modality communication and/or service supported by the second base station being the same as multi-modality communication and/or service supported by the first base station (Next, the existing V2X eNB holds the V2X Capability information set to the received X2 Setup Request message (S12). Next, the existing V2X eNB transmits to the V2X eNB 61 the X2 Setup Response message to which the V2X Capability information indicating that the existing V2X eNB is the vehicle base station has been set (S13). Next, the V2X eNB 61 holds the V2X Capability information set to the received X2 Setup Response message. The V2X Capability information may include a more detailed service type, a provider and other attribute information. The V2X Capability information set to a message different from the X2 Setup Request message may also include a more detailed service type, a provider and other attribute information likewise. Further, when deciding in step S12 that the V2X Capability information is not set to the received X2 Setup Request message or it is not possible to meet a request notified by the V2X Capability information, the existing V2X eNB may transmit to the V2X eNB 61 a message to which a Cause value indicating rejection of connection has been set.) (0100 and 0101).
Regarding claim 13, Shiga as modified discloses the method according to claim 12, wherein determining to set up the interface with the first base station in response to the multi-modality communication and/or service supported by the second base station being the same as the multi-modality communication and/or service supported by the first base station comprises: determining to set up the interface with the first base station in response to the multi-modality communication and/or service supported by the second base station being partially or all the same as the multi-modality communication and/or service supported by the first base station (Next, the existing V2X eNB holds the V2X Capability information set to the received X2 Setup Request message (S12). Next, the existing V2X eNB transmits to the V2X eNB 61 the X2 Setup Response message to which the V2X Capability information indicating that the existing V2X eNB is the vehicle base station has been set (S13). Next, the V2X eNB 61 holds the V2X Capability information set to the received X2 Setup Response message. The V2X Capability information may include a more detailed service type, a provider and other attribute information. The V2X Capability information set to a message different from the X2 Setup Request message may also include a more detailed service type, a provider and other attribute information likewise. Further, when deciding in step S12 that the V2X Capability information is not set to the received X2 Setup Request message or it is not possible to meet a request notified by the V2X Capability information, the existing V2X eNB may transmit to the V2X eNB 61 a message to which a Cause value indicating rejection of connection has been set.) (0100 and 0101).
Regarding claim 14, Shiga as modified discloses he method according to claim 12, wherein determining to set up the interface with the first base station in response to the multi-modality communication and/or service supported by the second base station being the same as the multi-modality communication and/or service supported by the first base station comprises: determining to set up the interface with the first base station in response to the second base station supporting target multi-modality communication and/or service and the first base station supporting the target multi-modality communication and/or service (Next, the existing V2X eNB holds the V2X Capability information set to the received X2 Setup Request message (S12). Next, the existing V2X eNB transmits to the V2X eNB 61 the X2 Setup Response message to which the V2X Capability information indicating that the existing V2X eNB is the vehicle base station has been set (S13). Next, the V2X eNB 61 holds the V2X Capability information set to the received X2 Setup Response message. The V2X Capability information may include a more detailed service type, a provider and other attribute information. The V2X Capability information set to a message different from the X2 Setup Request message may also include a more detailed service type, a provider and other attribute information likewise. Further, when deciding in step S12 that the V2X Capability information is not set to the received X2 Setup Request message or it is not possible to meet a request notified by the V2X Capability information, the existing V2X eNB may transmit to the V2X eNB 61 a message to which a Cause value indicating rejection of connection has been set.) (0100 and 0101).
Regarding claim 15, Shiga as modified discloses the method according to claim 11, further comprising: sending second support information of the second base station for multi-modality communication and/or service to the first base station in response to agreeing to set up the interface with the first base station (Further, when deciding in step S12 that the V2X Capability information is not set to the received X2 Setup Request message or it is not possible to meet a request notified by the V2X Capability information, the existing V2X eNB may transmit to the V2X eNB 61 a message to which a Cause value indicating rejection of connection has been set.) (0101).
Regarding claim 16, Shiga as modified discloses the method according to claim 15, wherein the second support information is carried in an interface setup response signaling sent to the first base station from the second base station (Next, the existing V2X eNB transmits to the V2X eNB 61 the X2 Setup Response message to which the V2X Capability information indicating that the existing V2X eNB is the vehicle base station has been set (S13). Next, the V2X eNB 61 holds the V2X Capability information set to the received X2 Setup Response message. The V2X Capability information may include a more detailed service type, a provider and other attribute information. The V2X Capability information set to a message different from the X2 Setup Request message may also include a more detailed service type, a provider and other attribute information likewise.) (0100).
Regarding claim 18, Shiga as modified discloses the method according to claim 17, wherein the reason is carried in an interface setup failure signaling sent to the first base station from the second base station (Further, when deciding in step S12 that the V2X Capability information is not set to the received X2 Setup Request message or it is not possible to meet a request notified by the V2X Capability information, the existing V2X eNB may transmit to the V2X eNB 61 a message to which a Cause value indicating rejection of connection has been set.) (0101).
Regarding claim 19, Shiga as modified discloses the method according to claim 11, the reason comprises the multi-modality communication and/or service supported by the second base station being partially or all different from the multi-modality communication and/or service supported by the first base station; or the reason comprises the second base station supporting target multi-modality communication and/or service, and the first base station not supporting the target multi-modality communication and/or service (in the case that the target base station does not support low complexity UE, the target base station returns a handover failure message to the source base station directly or via the MME, and indicates that the failure reason is the target base station does not support low complexity UE.) (0241).
Regarding claim 24, Shiga discloses an apparatus for setting up an interface, applicable for a first base station, the apparatus comprising: a processor; a memory, configured to store instructions executable by the processor (The V2X eNB 61 may be a computer apparatus which operates when the processor executes the program stored in the memory. Further, each component which configures the V2X eNB 61 may be software or a module which executes processing when the processor executes the program stored in the memory. Furthermore, each component which configures the V2X eNB 61 may be configured by a circuit.) (0062); wherein the processor is configured to implement; sending first support information of the first base station for multi-modality communication and/or service to a second base station in response to a request by the first base station for setting up an interface with the second base station (First, the V2X eNB 61 transmits an X2 Setup Request message to the existing V2X eNB (S11). The V2X eNB 61 sets to the X2 Setup Request message a parameter indicating that the V2X eNB 61 is a vehicle base station which communicates with the vehicle terminal 40. The parameter indicating that the V2X eNB 61 is a vehicle base station which communicates with the vehicle terminal 40 may be V2X Capability information.) (0099).
Shiga, however, fails to disclose receiving a reason for interface setup failure to the first base station in a case where the second base station declining to set up the interface with the first base station wherein the reason is that multi-modality communication and/or service supported by the second base station is different from multi-modality communication and/or service supported by the first base station, resulting in that the first base station and the second base station cannot communicate for the same type of multi-modality communication and/or service.
Xu discloses methods for supporting access and paging of low complexity user equipment. Xu further discloses receiving a reason for interface setup failure wherein the reason is that multi-modality communication and/or service supported by the second base station is different from multi-modality communication and/or service supported by the first base station (in the case that the target base station does not support low complexity UE, the target base station returns a handover failure message to the source base station directly or via the MME, and indicates that the failure reason is the target base station does not support low complexity UE.) (0241).
Therefore, before the effective filing date, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art to modify Shiga with the teachings of Xu for the purpose of allowing the system to know why connection failed in order to improve system performance.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Shi et al. U.S. Patent Pub. No. 2012/0270552 discloses a method for processing handover capability and a base station.
Stauffer et al. U.S. Patent Pub. No. 2020/0045612 discloses managing mobility between a cellular network and a WLAN.
/TEMICA M BEAMER/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2646