DETAILED ACTION
This Office Action is in response to the Request for Continued Examination correspondence filed on 01/29/2026.
Claims 1-30 are pending and rejected.
Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments, see REMARKS/Request for Continued Examination, filed 01/29/2026, with respect to the rejection(s) of claim(s) 1-30 under 35 USC 103 have been fully considered and are persuasive. Therefore, the rejection has been withdrawn. However, upon further consideration, a new ground(s) of rejection is made in view of claim amendments warranting further search and inquiry.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-2, 10-11, 18-19, 21, 24, 26-27, 29-30 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Gordaychik (US20190363843) in view of Lunttila et al (EP3512146A1) in further view of Talarico et al (US20200396767A1).
Regarding claim 1 (and method claim 10), Gordaychik teaches an apparatus for wireless communication at a user equipment (UE) ([0238] user equipment), comprising:
determine, based on the channel variations in the current packet cycle, a feedback occasion of multiple feedback occasions in a subsequent packet cycle for transmission of SPS physical uplink control channel (PUCCH) feedback to a base station for at least one SPS configuration of the multiple SPS configurations ([0038]-[0042], [0180], describe HARQ ACK feedback over PUCCH, use of bitmap encoding, cross-slot PUCCH feedback, delayed HARQ ACK, and feedback based on DCI-triggered scheduling; discusses cross-slot PUCCH use and delayed HARQ ACK feedback, which may implicitly align with subsequent cycles; mentions feedback occurring at gap intervals from transmissions, indicates that PUCCH resources may be explicitly indicated via DCI and can vary with codebook, numerology, or other UE capabilities; further discloses PUCCH feedback in the context of SPS, by noting multiple SPS configurations and DCI-triggered signaling of SPS allocation or release),
But Gordaychik fails to teach a memory; and
at least one processor coupled to the memory, the memory and wherein the at least one processor is configured to:
receive signaling indicative of multiple semi-persistent scheduling (SPS) configurations;
determine channel variations corresponding downlink interference for downlink communications in a current packet cycle associated with the multiple SPS configurations;
wherein the current packet cycle and the subsequent packet cycle are included in a plurality of packet cycles associated with the multiple SPS configurations;
transmit, during a packet cycle, an indication of the feedback occasion in the subsequent packet cycle to the base station.
However, Lunttila teaches a memory ([0106]-[0107], memory, processor coupled); and
at least one processor coupled to the memory, the memory and wherein the at least one processor is configured to ([0106]-[0107], memory, processor coupled):
receive signaling indicative of multiple semi-persistent scheduling (SPS) configurations ([0030], [0045], teaches reception of signaling defining multiple semi-persistent (SPS) configurations—the RRC signaling includes configuration parameters, periodicity, slot offset, and PUCCH resources. This directly corresponds to receiving signaling indicative of multiple SPS configurations);
determine channel variations corresponding downlink interference for downlink communications in a current packet cycle associated with the multiple SPS configurations ([0028], [0032], [0034]-[0035], The UE determines CSI reports (e.g CQI PMI, RI, RSRP) for each SPS configuration, these parameters reflect channel variations and are based on measurements of downlink channel conditions).
wherein the current packet cycle and the subsequent packet cycle are included in a plurality of packet cycles associated with the multiple SPS configurations ([0030]-[0031], [0045]-[0047], [0048]-[0050], each SPS configuration carries periodicity and slot offset or a bitmap that identifies which slots/cycles contain the feedback occasion; and
transmit, during a packet cycle, an indication of the feedback occasion in the subsequent packet cycle to the base station ([0033]-[0039], [0048]-[0049], [0052], PUCCH resources are the feedback occasions used for CSI transmission; description of determining valid PUCCH resources for each SPS/CSI configuration and transmitting CSI feedback on those resources, which equates to transmitting an indication of the feedback occasion to the base station).
A POSITA would have been motivated to combine the teachings of Gordaychik and Lunttila to improve scheduling and feedback coordination between downlink control signaling and uplink reporting operations in 5G NR systems. Gordaychik teaches using multiple DCI formats and capability-based signaling to flexibly control UE monitoring and resource usage, including temporarily suspending PDCCH monitoring to reduce unnecessary control overhead. Lunttila complements this by teaching management of multiple semi-persistent (SPS) or periodic CSI configurations, determining overlapping uplink feedback occasions (PUCCH resources), and efficiently transmitting feedback (CSI) reports based on received configurations. It would have been obvious to integrate Gordaychik’s capability-aware DCI signaling framework with Lunttila’s multi-SPS CSI reporting procedure so that DCI formats could activate, suspend, or modify SPS reporting enhance network efficiency and UE power savings by synchronizing DCI-based control with SPS feedback cycles a known design goal in NR systems seeking to optimize control overhead and feedback reliability.
However, Lunttila fails to teach but Talarico teaches transmit, during the feedback occasion in the subsequent packet cycle, the SPS PUCCH feedback to the base station ([0242], teaches signaling and transmitting HARQ feedback across frame periods; discloses that DCI transmitted during a current frame period enables the UE to derive a PUCCH resource (U2) in the next FFP, and the UE then transmits HARQ-ACK feedback on that PUCCH resource, thereby teaching transmitting feedback during a feedback occasion in a subsequent packet cycle).
A person of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to combine before the effective filing date of the claimed invention the teachings of Gordaychik, Lunttila, and Talarico to improve scheduling and feedback coordination between downlink control signaling and uplink reporting operations in 5G NR systems. Gordaychik teaches using multiple DCI formats and capability-based signaling to flexibly control UE monitoring and resource usage, including temporarily suspending PDCCH monitoring to reduce unnecessary control overhead. Lunttila complements this by teaching management of multiple semi-persistent (SPS) or periodic CSI configurations, determining overlapping uplink feedback occasions (PUCCH resources), and efficiently transmitting feedback (CSI) reports based on received configurations. Furthermore, Talarico teaches transmitting during a current frame period enables the UE to derive a PUCCH resource (U2) in the FFP, and the UE then transmits HARQ-ACK feedback on the PUCCH resource, thereby teaching transmitting feedback during a feedback occasion in a subsequent packet cycle. It would have been obvious to integrate Gordaychik’s capability-aware DCI signaling framework with Lunttila’s multi-SPS CSI reporting procedure so that DCI formats could activate, suspend, or modify SPS reporting enhance network efficiency and UE power savings by synchronizing DCI-based control with SPS feedback cycles a known design goal in NR systems seeking to optimize control overhead and feedback reliability.
Regarding claim 2 (and method claim 11), Gordaychik teaches the apparatus wherein, to determine the channel variations, the at least one processor is configured to: detect a downlink interference pattern associated with the downlink communications; and select the feedback occasion for providing transmission of the SPS PUCCH feedback based on the downlink interference pattern ([0145]-[0146], [0180], [0183], discloses determine channel/traffic conditions in relation to SPS signaling and discloses interference or load adaptation, reacting to channel conditions such as downlink interference and SPS feedback).
Regarding claim 18 (and method claim 26), Gordaychik teaches an apparatus for wireless communication, comprising:
a memory; and
at least one processor coupled to the memory, the memory and wherein the at least one processor is configured to:
configure multiple semi-persistent scheduling (SPS) configurations for a user equipment (UE) ([0146], [0180], this paragraph discloses multiple SPS configurations associated with priority or traffic type, and the possibility that multiple configurations may be active within a single BWP; it also discusses SPS allocation changes and how they may be signaled via DXI or MAC signaling, the discussion of buffer status reporting (BSR) in semi-persistent fashion and allocation changed in response to traffic quality discloses that monitoring or responsiveness is involved; further describes synchronizing an SPS configuration with a TSN (time-sensitive network) schedule, indicating time-aware monitoring and adjustments to align the SPS periodicity with external requirements which discloses monitoring related to SPS timing behavior); and
receive, from the UE in a current packet cycle associated with the multiple SPS configurations, an indication of a feedback occasion of multiple feedback occasions in a subsequent packet cycle for transmission of SPS physical uplink control channel (PUCCH) feedback for at least one SPS configuration of the multiple SPS configurations by the UE, wherein the current packet cycle and the subsequent packet cycle are included in a plurality of packet cycles associated with the multiple SPS configurations ([0038]-[0042], [0180], describe HARQ ACK feedback over PUCCH, use of bitmap encoding, cross-slot PUCCH feedback, delayed HARQ ACK, and feedback based on DCI-triggered scheduling; discusses cross-slot PUCCH use and delayed HARQ ACK feedback, which may implicitly align with subsequent cycles; mentions feedback occurring at gap intervals from transmissions, indicates that PUCCH resources may be explicitly indicated via DCI and can vary with codebook, numerology, or other UE capabilities; further discloses PUCCH feedback in the context of SPS, by noting multiple SPS configurations and DCI-triggered signaling of SPS allocation or release).
But Gordaychik fails to teach a memory; and
at least one processor coupled to the memory, the memory and wherein the at least one processor is configured to.
However, Lunttila teaches a memory ([0106]-[0107], memory, processor coupled); and
at least one processor coupled to the memory, the memory and wherein the at least one processor is configured to ([0106]-[0107], memory, processor coupled).
A POSITA would have been motivated to combine the teachings of Gordaychik and Lunttila to improve scheduling and feedback coordination between downlink control signaling and uplink reporting operations in 5G NR systems. Gordaychik teaches using multiple DCI formats and capability-based signaling to flexibly control UE monitoring and resource usage, including temporarily suspending PDCCH monitoring to reduce unnecessary control overhead. Lunttila complements this by teaching management of multiple semi-persistent (SPS) or periodic CSI configurations, determining overlapping uplink feedback occasions (PUCCH resources), and efficiently transmitting feedback (CSI) reports based on received configurations. It would have been obvious to integrate Gordaychik’s capability-aware DCI signaling framework with Lunttila’s multi-SPS CSI reporting procedure so that DCI formats could activate, suspend, or modify SPS reporting enhance network efficiency and UE power savings by synchronizing DCI-based control with SPS feedback cycles a known design goal in NR systems seeking to optimize control overhead and feedback reliability.
However, Lunttila fails to teach but Talarico teaches receive, from the UE during the feedback occasion in the subsequent packet cycle, the SPS PUCCH feedback ([0242], teaches signaling and transmitting HARQ feedback across frame periods; discloses that DCI transmitted during a current frame period enables the UE to derive a PUCCH resource (U2) in the next FFP, and the UE then transmits HARQ-ACK feedback on that PUCCH resource, thereby teaching transmitting feedback during a feedback occasion in a subsequent packet cycle).
A person of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to combine before the effective filing date of the claimed invention the teachings of Gordaychik, Lunttila, and Talarico to improve scheduling and feedback coordination between downlink control signaling and uplink reporting operations in 5G NR systems. Gordaychik teaches using multiple DCI formats and capability-based signaling to flexibly control UE monitoring and resource usage, including temporarily suspending PDCCH monitoring to reduce unnecessary control overhead. Lunttila complements this by teaching management of multiple semi-persistent (SPS) or periodic CSI configurations, determining overlapping uplink feedback occasions (PUCCH resources), and efficiently transmitting feedback (CSI) reports based on received configurations. Furthermore, Talarico teaches transmitting during a current frame period enables the UE to derive a PUCCH resource (U2) in the FFP, and the UE then transmits HARQ-ACK feedback on the PUCCH resource, thereby teaching transmitting feedback during a feedback occasion in a subsequent packet cycle. It would have been obvious to integrate Gordaychik’s capability-aware DCI signaling framework with Lunttila’s multi-SPS CSI reporting procedure so that DCI formats could activate, suspend, or modify SPS reporting enhance network efficiency and UE power savings by synchronizing DCI-based control with SPS feedback cycles a known design goal in NR systems seeking to optimize control overhead and feedback reliability.
Regarding claim 19 (and method claim 27), Gordaychik teaches the apparatus wherein the at least one processor is further configured to: schedule reception of the SPS PUCCH feedback based on the indication ([0145]-[0146], [0180], [0183], discloses monitoring channel/traffic conditions in relation to SPS signaling and discloses interference or load adaptation, reacting to channel conditions such as downlink interference and SPS feedback).
Regarding claim 21 (and method claim 29), Gordaychik teaches the apparatus wherein the at least one processor is configured to receive the indication of the feedback occasion with PUCCH hybrid automatic repeat request (HARQ) feedback during a current packet cycle and wherein the current packet cycle is before the subsequent packet cycle ([0054], discusses HARQ feedback on PUCCH, including co-scheduling HARQ feedback across multiple TRPs, indicating feedback occasion handling for HARQ on PUCCH).
Regarding claim 24 (and method claim 30), Gordaychik teaches the apparatus wherein the memory and the at least one processor is further configured to:
receive the SPS PUCCH feedback from the UE for the at least one SPS configuration at the feedback occasion ([0054], describes that HARQ feedback may be transmitted via PUCCH or PUSCH, including multiplexing across TRPs, which directly aligns with this limitation), or
receive hybrid automatic repeat request (HARQ) feedback from the UE via a physical uplink shared channel (PUSCH) ([0054], describes that HARQ feedback may be transmitted via PUCCH or PUSCH, including multiplexing across TRPs, which directly aligns with this limitation).
Claims 3-5, 8, 12-14, & 17 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Gordaychik in view of Lunttila in further view of Talarico in further view of Chen et al (US20190319686).
Regarding claim 3 (and method claim 12), Gordaychik fails the apparatus wherein the at least one processor is configured to detect the downlink interference pattern based on at least one of received channel state information reference signals (CSI-RS) or received physical downlink shared channel (PDSCH) during the current packet cycle, and wherein the current packet cycle is before the subsequent packet cycle.
However, Chen teaches the apparatus wherein the memory and the at least one processor is configured to detect the downlink interference pattern based on at least one of received channel state information reference signals (CSI-RS) or received physical downlink shared channel (PDSCH) during the current packet cycle, and wherein the current packet cycle is before the subsequent packet cycle ([0202]-[0203], [0434]-[0435], describes how CSI-RS feedback is used by Layer 1 (L1) for TRP selection and beam direction, indicates that CSI-RS feedback is UE generated and used to assess channel quality; further describes beam-level mobility management based on CSI-RS feedback and layer 1 decisions; discusses system information (SI) for cell selection—mentions that such SI may be signaled via PDSCH, though more in the context of initial access and broadcast signaling than user-specific SPS feedback; details PDSCH use for SI delivery, including soft combining of channel bits—pertains to broadcast/system-level signaling and that PDSCH is received and processed by the UE).
A person of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to combine before the effective filing date of the claimed invention the teachings of Gordaychik, Lunttila, Talarico, and Chen to improve scheduling and feedback coordination between downlink control signaling and uplink reporting operations in 5G NR systems. Gordaychik teaches using multiple DCI formats and capability-based signaling to flexibly control UE monitoring and resource usage, including temporarily suspending PDCCH monitoring to reduce unnecessary control overhead. Lunttila complements this by teaching management of multiple semi-persistent (SPS) or periodic CSI configurations, determining overlapping uplink feedback occasions (PUCCH resources), and efficiently transmitting feedback (CSI) reports based on received configurations. Furthermore, Talarico teaches transmitting during a current frame period enables the UE to derive a PUCCH resource (U2) in the FFP, and the UE then transmits HARQ-ACK feedback on the PUCCH resource, thereby teaching transmitting feedback during a feedback occasion in a subsequent packet cycle. Lastly, Chen teaches mobility for radio devices using beamforming and selection. It would have been obvious to integrate Gordaychik’s capability-aware DCI signaling framework with Lunttila’s multi-SPS CSI reporting procedure so that DCI formats could activate, suspend, or modify SPS reporting enhance network efficiency and UE power savings by synchronizing DCI-based control with SPS feedback cycles a known design goal in NR systems seeking to optimize control overhead and feedback reliability.
Regarding claim 4 (and method claim 13), Gordaychik fails to teach the apparatus wherein, to determine the channel variations, the memory and the at least one processor is configured
monitor the channel variations by detect a non-regular traffic pattern associated with the downlink communications; and select the feedback occasion for providing transmission of the SPS PUCCH feedback based on the non-regular traffic pattern ([0131], [0145], [0180] discusses traffic type awareness (URLLC vs eMBB) and may imply non-regular traffic behavior; supports dynamically adjusting feedback occasions based on observed variations, partially supported by analogy; feedback adaptation based on traffic variability, SPS).
Regarding claim 5 (and method claim 14), Gordaychik teaches wherein, to transmit the indication of the feedback occasion, the memory and the at least one processor is configured to provide transmit the indication of the feedback occasion with PUCCH hybrid automatic repeat request (HARQ) feedback during the current packet cycle, and wherein the current packet cycle is before the subsequent packet cycle ([0054], discusses HARQ feedback on PUCCH, including co-scheduling HARQ feedback across multiple TRPs, indicating feedback occasion handling for HARQ on PUCCH).
Regarding claim 8 (and method claim 17), Gordaychik teaches the apparatus wherein the memory and the at least one processor is further configured to:
transmit the SPS PUCCH feedback to the base station at the feedback occasion ([0054], describes that HARQ feedback may be transmitted via PUCCH or PUSCH, including multiplexing across TRPs, which directly aligns with this limitation), or
transmit SPS hybrid automatic repeat request (HARQ) feedback to the base station via a physical uplink shared channel (PUSCH) ([0054], describes that HARQ feedback may be transmitted via PUCCH or PUSCH, including multiplexing across TRPs, which directly aligns with this limitation).
Claims 6-7, 9, 15-16, 20, 22-23, 25, & 28 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Gordaychik in view of Lunttila in further view of Talarico in further view of Chen, in further view of Zhao et al (WO2017157128).
Regarding claim 6 (and method claim 15), Gordaychik and Lunttila fails to teach the apparatus wherein the indication of the feedback occasion is indicative of a portion of a respective packet cycle of the plurality of packet cycles, and wherein the respective packet cycle corresponds to the at least one SPS configuration.
However, Chen teaches wherein the indication of the feedback occasion ([0202], discusses UE mobility management, at the beam/TRP level, describes how Layer 1 (physical layer) uses UE feedback (measured from CSI-RS) to determine which TRP or beam to use; Notes that RRC is involves in configuring CSI-RS and feedback settings).
A person of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to combine before the effective filing date of the claimed invention the teachings of Gordaychik, Lunttila, Talarico, and Chen to improve scheduling and feedback coordination between downlink control signaling and uplink reporting operations in 5G NR systems. Gordaychik teaches using multiple DCI formats and capability-based signaling to flexibly control UE monitoring and resource usage, including temporarily suspending PDCCH monitoring to reduce unnecessary control overhead. Lunttila complements this by teaching management of multiple semi-persistent (SPS) or periodic CSI configurations, determining overlapping uplink feedback occasions (PUCCH resources), and efficiently transmitting feedback (CSI) reports based on received configurations. Furthermore, Talarico teaches transmitting during a current frame period enables the UE to derive a PUCCH resource (U2) in the FFP, and the UE then transmits HARQ-ACK feedback on the PUCCH resource, thereby teaching transmitting feedback during a feedback occasion in a subsequent packet cycle. Lastly, Chen teaches mobility for radio devices using beamforming and selection. It would have been obvious to integrate Gordaychik’s capability-aware DCI signaling framework with Lunttila’s multi-SPS CSI reporting procedure so that DCI formats could activate, suspend, or modify SPS reporting enhance network efficiency and UE power savings by synchronizing DCI-based control with SPS feedback cycles a known design goal in NR systems seeking to optimize control overhead and feedback reliability.
But Chen fails to teach is indicative of a portion of a respective packet cycle of the plurality of packet cycles, and wherein the respective packet cycle corresponds to the at least one SPS configuration.
However, Zhao teaches is indicative of a portion of a respective packet cycle of the plurality of packet cycles, and wherein the respective packet cycle corresponds to the at least one SPS configuration. (Abstract and Description: multiple SPS configurations each with distinct SPS periods and activation times, offset values within a cycle structure, a cycle structure involving one large and four small packets per cycle, each spaced 100 ms apart).
A person of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to combine before the effective filing date of the claimed invention the teachings of Gordaychik, Lunttila, Talarico, Chen, and Zhao to improve scheduling and feedback coordination between downlink control signaling and uplink reporting operations in 5G NR systems. Gordaychik teaches using multiple DCI formats and capability-based signaling to flexibly control UE monitoring and resource usage, including temporarily suspending PDCCH monitoring to reduce unnecessary control overhead. Lunttila complements this by teaching management of multiple semi-persistent (SPS) or periodic CSI configurations, determining overlapping uplink feedback occasions (PUCCH resources), and efficiently transmitting feedback (CSI) reports based on received configurations. Furthermore, Talarico teaches transmitting during a current frame period enables the UE to derive a PUCCH resource (U2) in the FFP, and the UE then transmits HARQ-ACK feedback on the PUCCH resource, thereby teaching transmitting feedback during a feedback occasion in a subsequent packet cycle. Chen teaches mobility for radio devices using beamforming and selection. Lastly, Zhao teaches a method and device for configuration and determination of semi-persistent scheduling. It would have been obvious to integrate Gordaychik’s capability-aware DCI signaling framework with Lunttila’s multi-SPS CSI reporting procedure so that DCI formats could activate, suspend, or modify SPS reporting enhance network efficiency and UE power savings by synchronizing DCI-based control with SPS feedback cycles a known design goal in NR systems seeking to optimize control overhead and feedback reliability.
Regarding claim 7 (and method claim 16), Gordaychik, Lunttila, Talarico, and Chen fail to teach the apparatus wherein each SPS configuration of the multiple SPS configurations is offset from a preceding SPS configuration by a respective duration.
However, Zhao teaches the apparatus wherein each SPS configuration of the multiple SPS configurations is offset from a preceding SPS configuration by a respective duration (Abstract & Description: multiple SPS configurations, each configuration is offset in time from the previous one, the offset is by a respective duration (defines temporal separation); multiple SPS configurations—a network side device notifies a terminal of multiple SPS C-RNTI’s, as well as an SPS period of an SPS configuration corresponding to each SPS C-RNTI; this confirms the presence of multiple SPS configurations (each tied to a different SPS C-RNTI; further disclosure of the respective offset durations—one SPS configuration has offset k and the next has offset k + 100 which satisfies the requirement that each configuration is offset from the preceding one by a respective duration).
A person of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to combine before the effective filing date of the claimed invention the teachings of Gordaychik, Lunttila, Talarico, Chen, and Zhao to improve scheduling and feedback coordination between downlink control signaling and uplink reporting operations in 5G NR systems. Gordaychik teaches using multiple DCI formats and capability-based signaling to flexibly control UE monitoring and resource usage, including temporarily suspending PDCCH monitoring to reduce unnecessary control overhead. Lunttila complements this by teaching management of multiple semi-persistent (SPS) or periodic CSI configurations, determining overlapping uplink feedback occasions (PUCCH resources), and efficiently transmitting feedback (CSI) reports based on received configurations. Furthermore, Talarico teaches transmitting during a current frame period enables the UE to derive a PUCCH resource (U2) in the FFP, and the UE then transmits HARQ-ACK feedback on the PUCCH resource, thereby teaching transmitting feedback during a feedback occasion in a subsequent packet cycle. Chen teaches mobility for radio devices using beamforming and selection. Lastly, Zhao teaches a method and device for configuration and determination of semi-persistent scheduling. It would have been obvious to integrate Gordaychik’s capability-aware DCI signaling framework with Lunttila’s multi-SPS CSI reporting procedure so that DCI formats could activate, suspend, or modify SPS reporting enhance network efficiency and UE power savings by synchronizing DCI-based control with SPS feedback cycles a known design goal in NR systems seeking to optimize control overhead and feedback reliability.
Regarding claim 9, Gordaychik, Lunttila, Talarico, and Chen fails to teach the apparatus further comprising: at least one antenna; and a transceiver coupled to the at least one antenna and the at least one processor.
However, Zhao teaches the apparatus further comprising: at least one antenna; and a transceiver coupled to the at least one antenna and the at least one processor (Description, Fig 5, discloses antenna, data processed by processor and transceiver working together in uniform in a communication system—coupled with transceiver and processor); and a transceiver coupled to the at least one antenna and the at least one processor (Description, Fig 5, discloses antenna, data processed by processor and transceiver working together in uniform in a communication system—coupled with transceiver and processor).
A person of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to combine before the effective filing date of the claimed invention the teachings of Gordaychik, Lunttila, Talarico, Chen, and Zhao to improve scheduling and feedback coordination between downlink control signaling and uplink reporting operations in 5G NR systems. Gordaychik teaches using multiple DCI formats and capability-based signaling to flexibly control UE monitoring and resource usage, including temporarily suspending PDCCH monitoring to reduce unnecessary control overhead. Lunttila complements this by teaching management of multiple semi-persistent (SPS) or periodic CSI configurations, determining overlapping uplink feedback occasions (PUCCH resources), and efficiently transmitting feedback (CSI) reports based on received configurations. Furthermore, Talarico teaches transmitting during a current frame period enables the UE to derive a PUCCH resource (U2) in the FFP, and the UE then transmits HARQ-ACK feedback on the PUCCH resource, thereby teaching transmitting feedback during a feedback occasion in a subsequent packet cycle. Chen teaches mobility for radio devices using beamforming and selection. Lastly, Zhao teaches a method and device for configuration and determination of semi-persistent scheduling. It would have been obvious to integrate Gordaychik’s capability-aware DCI signaling framework with Lunttila’s multi-SPS CSI reporting procedure so that DCI formats could activate, suspend, or modify SPS reporting enhance network efficiency and UE power savings by synchronizing DCI-based control with SPS feedback cycles a known design goal in NR systems seeking to optimize control overhead and feedback reliability.
Regarding claim 20, Gordaychik and Chen fail to teach the apparatus wherein the memory and the at least one processor is configured to adjust the at least one SPS configuration based on the indication.
However, Zhao teaches teach the apparatus wherein the memory and the at least one processor is configured to adjust the at least one SPS configuration based on the indication (Abstract, Description: SPS adjustment—the disclosure discusses that the network side device or terminal may select among multiple SPS configurations, and may determine which SPS configuration to use based on selection conditions—largest or smallest SPS frequency domain resource block, data to be transmitted; shows that adjustment or selection of an SPS configuration is occurring; indication-based adjustment –while the disclosure does reference service characteristics (e.g. according to the service feature of the service corresponding to the SPS configuration) and selection is conditional and tied to predefined rules (selection condition)).
A POSITA would have been motivated to combine the teachings of Gordaychik, Lunttila and Chen to improve scheduling and feedback coordination between downlink control signaling and uplink reporting operations in 5G NR systems. Gordaychik teaches using multiple DCI formats and capability-based signaling to flexibly control UE monitoring and resource usage, including temporarily suspending PDCCH monitoring to reduce unnecessary control overhead. Lunttila complements this by teaching management of multiple semi-persistent (SPS) or periodic CSI configurations, determining overlapping uplink feedback occasions (PUCCH resources), and efficiently transmitting feedback (CSI) reports based on received configurations. Furthermore, Chen teaches mobility for radio devices using beamforming and selection. Lastly, Zhao teaches a method and device for configuration and determination of semi-persistent scheduling. It would have been obvious to integrate Gordaychik’s capability-aware DCI signaling framework with Lunttila’s multi-SPS CSI reporting procedure so that DCI formats could activate, suspend, or modify SPS reporting enhance network efficiency and UE power savings by synchronizing DCI-based control with SPS feedback cycles a known design goal in NR systems seeking to optimize control overhead and feedback reliability.
Regarding claim 22, Gordaychik and Chen fail to teach the apparatus wherein the indication indicates a portion of a respective packet cycle of the plurality of packet cycles, and wherein the respective packet cycle corresponds to the at least one SPS configuration.
However, Zhao teaches the apparatus wherein the indication indicates a portion of a respective packet cycle of the plurality of packet cycles, and wherein the respective packet cycle corresponds to the at least one SPS configuration ((Abstract and Description: multiple SPS configurations each with distinct SPS periods and activation times, offset values within a cycle structure, a cycle structure involving one large and four small packets per cycle, each spaced 100 ms apart).
A POSITA would have been motivated to combine the teachings of Gordaychik, Lunttila and Chen to improve scheduling and feedback coordination between downlink control signaling and uplink reporting operations in 5G NR systems. Gordaychik teaches using multiple DCI formats and capability-based signaling to flexibly control UE monitoring and resource usage, including temporarily suspending PDCCH monitoring to reduce unnecessary control overhead. Lunttila complements this by teaching management of multiple semi-persistent (SPS) or periodic CSI configurations, determining overlapping uplink feedback occasions (PUCCH resources), and efficiently transmitting feedback (CSI) reports based on received configurations. Furthermore, Chen teaches mobility for radio devices using beamforming and selection. Lastly, Zhao teaches a method and device for configuration and determination of semi-persistent scheduling. It would have been obvious to integrate Gordaychik’s capability-aware DCI signaling framework with Lunttila’s multi-SPS CSI reporting procedure so that DCI formats could activate, suspend, or modify SPS reporting enhance network efficiency and UE power savings by synchronizing DCI-based control with SPS feedback cycles a known design goal in NR systems seeking to optimize control overhead and feedback reliability.
Regarding claim 23, Gordaychik and Chen fail to teach the apparatus wherein the at least one processor is configured to offset each SPS configuration of the multiple SPS configurations from a preceding SPS configuration of the multiple SPS configurations by a respective duration.
However, Zhao teaches teach the apparatus wherein the at least one processor is configured to offset each SPS configuration of the multiple SPS configurations from a preceding SPS configuration of the multiple SPS configurations by a respective duration (Abstract & Description: multiple SPS configurations, each configuration is offset in time from the previous one, the offset is by a respective duration (defines temporal separation); multiple SPS configurations—a network side device notifies a terminal of multiple SPS C-RNTI’s, as well as an SPS period of an SPS configuration corresponding to each SPS C-RNTI; this confirms the presence of multiple SPS configurations (each tied to a different SPS C-RNTI; further disclosure of the respective offset durations—one SPS configuration has offset k and the next has offset k + 100 which satisfies the requirement that each configuration is offset from the preceding one by a respective duration).
A POSITA would have been motivated to combine the teachings of Gordaychik, Lunttila and Chen to improve scheduling and feedback coordination between downlink control signaling and uplink reporting operations in 5G NR systems. Gordaychik teaches using multiple DCI formats and capability-based signaling to flexibly control UE monitoring and resource usage, including temporarily suspending PDCCH monitoring to reduce unnecessary control overhead. Lunttila complements this by teaching management of multiple semi-persistent (SPS) or periodic CSI configurations, determining overlapping uplink feedback occasions (PUCCH resources), and efficiently transmitting feedback (CSI) reports based on received configurations. Furthermore, Chen teaches mobility for radio devices using beamforming and selection. Lastly, Zhao teaches a method and device for configuration and determination of semi-persistent scheduling. It would have been obvious to integrate Gordaychik’s capability-aware DCI signaling framework with Lunttila’s multi-SPS CSI reporting procedure so that DCI formats could activate, suspend, or modify SPS reporting enhance network efficiency and UE power savings by synchronizing DCI-based control with SPS feedback cycles a known design goal in NR systems seeking to optimize control overhead and feedback reliability.
Regarding claim 25, Gordaychik and Chen fail to teach the apparatus further comprising: at least one antenna; and a transceiver coupled to the at least one antenna and the at least one processor.
However, Zhao teaches the apparatus further comprising: at least one antenna; and a transceiver coupled to the at least one antenna and the at least one processor (Description, Fig 5, discloses antenna, data processed by processor and transceiver working together in uniform in a communication system—coupled with transceiver and processor); and a transceiver coupled to the at least one antenna and the at least one processor (Description, Fig 5, discloses antenna, data processed by processor and transceiver working together in uniform in a communication system—coupled with transceiver and processor).
A POSITA would have been motivated to combine the teachings of Gordaychik, Lunttila and Chen to improve scheduling and feedback coordination between downlink control signaling and uplink reporting operations in 5G NR systems. Gordaychik teaches using multiple DCI formats and capability-based signaling to flexibly control UE monitoring and resource usage, including temporarily suspending PDCCH monitoring to reduce unnecessary control overhead. Lunttila complements this by teaching management of multiple semi-persistent (SPS) or periodic CSI configurations, determining overlapping uplink feedback occasions (PUCCH resources), and efficiently transmitting feedback (CSI) reports based on received configurations. Furthermore, Chen teaches mobility for radio devices using beamforming and selection. Lastly, Zhao teaches a method and device for configuration and determination of semi-persistent scheduling. It would have been obvious to integrate Gordaychik’s capability-aware DCI signaling framework with Lunttila’s multi-SPS CSI reporting procedure so that DCI formats could activate, suspend, or modify SPS reporting enhance network efficiency and UE power savings by synchronizing DCI-based control with SPS feedback cycles a known design goal in NR systems seeking to optimize control overhead and feedback reliability.
Regarding claim 28, Gordaychik and Chen fail to teach the method further comprising adjusting the at least one SPS configuration based on the indication.
However, Zhao teaches the method further comprising adjusting the at least one SPS configuration based on the indication (Abstract, Description: SPS adjustment—the disclosure discusses that the network side device or terminal may select among multiple SPS configurations, and may determine which SPS configuration to use based on selection conditions—largest or smallest SPS frequency domain resource block, data to be transmitted; shows that adjustment or selection of an SPS configuration is occurring; indication-based adjustment –while the disclosure does reference service characteristics (e.g. according to the service feature of the service corresponding to the SPS configuration) and selection is conditional and tied to predefined rules (selection condition)).
A POSITA would have been motivated to combine the teachings of Gordaychik, Lunttila and Chen to improve scheduling and feedback coordination between downlink control signaling and uplink reporting operations in 5G NR systems. Gordaychik teaches using multiple DCI formats and capability-based signaling to flexibly control UE monitoring and resource usage, including temporarily suspending PDCCH monitoring to reduce unnecessary control overhead. Lunttila complements this by teaching management of multiple semi-persistent (SPS) or periodic CSI configurations, determining overlapping uplink feedback occasions (PUCCH resources), and efficiently transmitting feedback (CSI) reports based on received configurations. Furthermore, Chen teaches mobility for radio devices using beamforming and selection. Lastly, Zhao teaches a method and device for configuration and determination of semi-persistent scheduling. It would have been obvious to integrate Gordaychik’s capability-aware DCI signaling framework with Lunttila’s multi-SPS CSI reporting procedure so that DCI formats could activate, suspend, or modify SPS reporting enhance network efficiency and UE power savings by synchronizing DCI-based control with SPS feedback cycles a known design goal in NR systems seeking to optimize control overhead and feedback reliability.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Moon et al (US20200280971A1) discloses a method and apparatus for transmitting and receiving control information in communication system supporting unlicensed band.
/MICHAEL WILLIAM ABBATINE JR./Examiner, Art Unit 2419
/Nishant Divecha/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2419