DETAILED ACTION
Specification
The disclosure is objected to because of the following informalities:
The specification contains a recurring grammatical error in which the phrase “are same” is used instead of “are the same”. Error appears in the following paragraphs (in the specification as filed): [11], [12], [41], [43]-[44], [64]-[65], [69], [71]-[72], [84], [86], [88]-[89]. In some instances, this error appears multiple times within the same paragraph. Applicant is advice to review and revise the specification in its entirety to ensure that all occurrences are corrected.
Paragraph [15] (in the specification as filed) ends with “other).” And the parenthesis seems to be a typographical error and sentence should end as “other.”.
Paragraphs [9], [39], [50]-[53], [63], [70], [78], [91], [95]-[100], [115]-[120], [174], [179], [184], [189], [194], [199], [204], [209], [214], [219], [224], [229], [234], [239], [244], [249], [254], [259], [264], [269], [274], [279], [284], [289], [294], [299], [304], [309], [314], [319], [324], [329], [334], [339], [344], [349], [354], [359], [364], [369], [374], [379], [384], [389], [394], [399], [404], [409], [414], [419], [424], [429], [434], [439], [444], [449], [454], [459], [464], [469], [474], [479], [484], [489], [494], [499], [504], [509], [514], [519], [524], [529], [534], [539], [544], [549], [554], [559], [568], and [574]: The compounds and formulas are small and low resolution. It is difficult to discern the variables and atoms in the structures.
Appropriate correction is required.
Drawings
The drawings are objected to as failing to comply with 37 CFR 1.84(p)(5) because they include the following reference character not mentioned in the description: Figure 4, . Corrected drawing sheets in compliance with 37 CFR 1.121(d), or amendment to the specification to add the reference character(s) in the description in compliance with 37 CFR 1.121(b) are required in reply to the Office action to avoid abandonment of the application. Any amended replacement drawing sheet should include all of the figures appearing on the immediate prior version of the sheet, even if only one figure is being amended. Each drawing sheet submitted after the filing date of an application must be labeled in the top margin as either “Replacement Sheet” or “New Sheet” pursuant to 37 CFR 1.121(d). If the changes are not accepted by the examiner, the applicant will be notified and informed of any required corrective action in the next Office action. The objection to the drawings will not be held in abeyance.
Claim Objections
Claim 1-26 are objected to because of the following informalities:
Claims 1,3, 5-6, 8, 10, 12, 14-15, 19-20, 24, and 25 contain a recurring grammatical error in which the phrase “are same” is used instead of “are the same”. In some instances, this error appears multiple times within the same claim. Applicant is advice to review and revise the claims in their entirety to ensure that all occurrences are corrected.
Claims 1, 4, 6, 8, 9, 10, 12, 14, 15, 18, 20, 23, and 25 contain compounds and formulas that are low resolution. It is difficult to discern the variables and atoms in the structures.
Claim 9 recites that L1 is any of the linkers L1 to L4, and is confusing since numbering of the different linkers is similar to the character element of L1 as the linker in the Chemical Formula 1, with the difference that the Chemical Formula 1 linker has the number as a subscript.
Claim 25 is objected to under 37 CFR 1.75 as being a substantial duplicate of claim 20. When two claims in an application are duplicates or else are so close in content that they both cover the same thing, despite a slight difference in wording, it is proper after allowing one claim to object to the other as being a substantial duplicate of the allowed claim. See MPEP § 608.01(m).
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 11, 21, and 26 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Regarding claims 11, 21, and 26, recite that the compound represented by Chemical Formula 1 is selected from the group consisting of the following Compounds A-1 to A- 28, B-1 to B-24, C-1 to C-24, D-1 to D-24, E-1 to E-24, and F-1 to F-24. However, while the structures corresponding to compounds B-1 to B-24, C-1 to C-24, D-1 to D-24, E-1 to E-24, and F-1 to F-24 are set forth in the claim, the claim does not include structures corresponding to compounds A-1 to A-28. It is unclear what subject matter is encompassed by compounds A-1 to A-28 as recited in the claim, rendering the scope of the claim indefinite. For purpose of examination, the claim is interpreted as not including compounds A-1 to A-28.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
A person shall be entitled to a patent unless –(a)(2) the claimed invention was described in a patent issued under section 151, or in an application for patent published or deemed published under section 122(b), in which the patent or application, as the case may be, names another inventor and was effectively filed before the effective filing date of the claimed invention.
Claims 1-5, 7-9, 12-19, and 22-24 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by Kim et al. (US 2021/0320274 A1). Kim et al. (US 2021/0273192 A1) from now on referred to as Kim '192, is used as evidentiary reference for claim 13.
Regarding claim 1, Kim teaches,
An organic compound represented by the following Chemical Formula 1:
Compound N1 of Kim reads on Chemical Formula 1 of instant application wherein
R1 and R2 are the same and are an alkyl group of C1
L1 is an arylene group of C6
Ar1 is an heteroaryl group of 6 nuclear atoms and is substituted twice by an aryl group of C6.
Regarding claim 2, Kim further teaches wherein R1 and R2 are an alkyl group of C1 (Compound N1 depicted in paragraph 14 for claim 1).
Regarding claim 3, Kim further teaches wherein R1 and R2 are the same and are an alkyl group of C1.
Regarding claim 4, Kim further teaches wherein the compound represented by Chemical Formula 1 is represented by Chemical Formula 2:
Compound N1 of Kim reads on Chemical Formula 2 of instant application wherein
L1 is an arylene group of C6
Ar1 is an heteroaryl group of 6 nuclear atoms and is substituted twice by an aryl group of C6.
R2 is an alkyl group of C1
Regarding claim 5, Kim further teaches wherein R1 and R2 are the same and are an alkyl group of C1 (Compound N1 depicted in paragraph 14 for claim 1).
Regarding claim 7, Kim further teaches wherein L1 is an arylene group of C6 (Compound N1 depicted in paragraph 14 for claim 1).
Regarding claim 8, Kim further teaches wherein L1 is a linker represented by the following Chemical Formula L:
wherein
n is 1
a is 0
R3 is not present because a is 0
Regarding claim 9, Kim further teaches wherein L1 is linker L2 (Compound N1 depicted in paragraph 14 for claim 1).
Regarding claim 12, Kim further teaches an organic electroluminescent device (Example 1, Table 1), comprising: an anode (Example 1, para. [0445]); a cathode (Example 1, para. [0450]), and organic layers disposed between the anode and the cathode (hole injection layer, first hole transport layer, second hole transport layer, emission layer, first electron transport layer, second electron transport layer, n-type charge generating layer, p-type generating layer, p-type hole injection layer, para. [0445] – [0446]), wherein the n-type charge generating layer contains the organic compound (Compound N1 depicted in paragraph 14 for claim 1) represented by Chemical Formula 1.
Regarding claim 13, Kim further teaches wherein the organic layer containing the organic compound is an electron transport layer. Compound N1 (depicted in paragraph 14 for claim 1) is in the n-type charge generating layer. The N-type charge generating layer is interpreted as the claimed electron transport layer, as the layer transports electrons towards the emission layer. Furthermore, Kim 2 et al. teaches that phenanthroline compounds have electron transporting abilities (Kim 192', para. [0189]). Therefore, the compound of Kim used in a n-type charge generation layer transports electrons as claimed.
Regarding claim 14, Kim further teaches an organic electroluminescent device (Example 1, Table 1), comprising: an anode (Example 1, para. [0445]) and a cathode (Example 1, para. [0450]), spaced apart from each other; a plurality of light-emitting units (Example 1, first emission unit, para. [0446], and second emission unit, para. [0447]) interposed between the anode and the cathode; and an N- and a P-type charge generation layer (n-type generating layer and p-type charge generating layer, para. [0446] and [0448]) disposed between adjacent light-emitting units, wherein each of the light-emitting units comprises a hole transport layer (Example 1, first hole transport layer and second hole transport, para. [0445] and [0449]), a light-emitting layer (Example 1, emission layer, para. [0445], [0447], and [0449]), and an electron transport layer (Example 1, first electron transport layer and second electron transport layer, para. [0445], [0447], and [0449]) and the N-type charge generation layer contains the compound represented by Chemical Formula 1 (Compound N1 depicted in paragraph 14 for claim 1, para. [0446] and [0448]).
Regarding claim 15, Kim further teaches wherein the N- type charge generation layer contains one host having an electron transport property, and the host is the compound represented by Chemical Formula 1 (Compound N1 depicted in paragraph 14 for claim 1, para. [0446] and [0448]).
Regarding claim 16, Kim further teaches wherein the N-type charge generation layer further contains an N-type dopant (Li, para. [0446] and [0448]).
Regarding claim 17, Kim further teaches wherein R1 and R2 are an alkyl group of C1 (Compound N1 depicted in paragraph 14 for claim 1).
Regarding claim 18, Kim further teaches wherein the compound represented by Chemical Formula 1 is represented by Chemical Formula 2:
Compound N1 of Kim reads on Chemical Formula 2 of instant application wherein
L1 is an arylene group of C6
Ar1 is an heteroaryl group of 6 nuclear atoms and is substituted twice by an aryl group of C6.
R2 is an alkyl group of C1
Regarding claim 19, Kim further teaches wherein R1 and R2 are the same and are an alkyl group of C1 (Compound N1 depicted in paragraph 14 for claim 1).
Regarding claim 22, Kim further teaches wherein R1 and R2 are an alkyl group of C1 (Compound N1 depicted in paragraph 14 for claim 1).
Regarding claim 23, Kim further teaches wherein the compound represented by Chemical Formula 1 is represented by Chemical Formula 2:
Compound N1 of Kim reads on Chemical Formula 2 of instant application wherein
L1 is an arylene group of C6
Ar1 is an heteroaryl group of 6 nuclear atoms and is substituted twice by an aryl group of C6.
R2 is an alkyl group of C1
Regarding claim 24, Kim further teaches wherein R1 and R2 are the same and are an alkyl group of C1 (Compound N1 depicted in paragraph 14 for claim 1).
Claim(s) 1-5, 7-9, 12-19, and 22-24 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by Kim et al. (US 2021/0273192 A1), referred to as Kim '192.
Regarding claim 1, Kim ‘192 teaches an organic compound represented by the following Chemical Formula 1:
Compound 1 (Example 1, para. [0487] and [0489]) of Kim ‘192 reads on Chemical Formula 1 of instant application wherein
R1 and R2 are the same and are an alkyl group of C1
L1 is an arylene group of C6
Ar1 is an heteroaryl group of 6 nuclear atoms and is substituted twice by an aryl group of C6.
Regarding claim 2, Kim ‘192 further teaches wherein R1 and R2 are the same and are an alkyl group of C1 (Compound 1 depicted in paragraph 33 for claim 1).
Regarding claim 3, Kim ‘192 further teaches wherein R1 and R2 are the same and are an alkyl group of C1 (Compound 1 depicted in paragraph 33 for claim 1).
Regarding claim 4, Kim ‘192 further teaches wherein the compound represented by Chemical Formula 1 is represented by Chemical Formula 2:
Compound 1 (depicted in paragraph 33 for claim 1) of Kim ‘192 reads on Chemical Formula 2 of instant application wherein
L1 is an arylene group of C6
Ar1 is an heteroaryl group of 6 nuclear atoms and is substituted twice by an aryl group of C6.
R2 is an alkyl group of C1
Regarding claim 5, Kim ‘192 further teaches wherein R1 and R2 are the same and are an alkyl group of C1 (Compound 1 depicted in paragraph 33 for claim 1).
Regarding claim 7, Kim ‘192 further teaches wherein L1 is an arylene group of C6 (Compound 1 depicted in paragraph 33 for claim 1).
Regarding claim 8, Kim ‘192 further teaches wherein L1 is a linker represented by the following Chemical Formula L:
wherein
n is 1
a is 0
R3 is not present because a is 0
Regarding claim 9, Kim ‘192 further teaches wherein L1 is linker L2 (Compound 1 depicted in paragraph 33 for claim 1).
Regarding claim 12, Kim further teaches an organic electroluminescent device (Example 1, Table 1, para. [0485] – [0491]), comprising: an anode (Example 1, para. [0486]); a cathode (Example 1, para. [0491]), and organic layers disposed between the anode and the cathode (hole injection layers, hole transport layers, electron blocking layers, emission layers, hole blocking layers, electron transport layers, n-type charge generation layers, p-type generation layers, para. [0486] – [0491]), wherein the n-type charge generating layer contains the organic compound (Compound 1 depicted in paragraph 33 for claim 1) represented by Chemical Formula 1.
Regarding claim 13, Kim ‘192 further teaches wherein the organic layer containing the organic compound is an electron transport layer. Compound 1 (depicted in paragraph 33 for claim 1) is in the n-type charge generating layer. The N-type charge generating layer is interpreted as the claimed electron transport layer, as the layer transports electrons towards the emission layer. Furthermore, Kim ‘192 teaches that phenanthroline compounds have electron transporting abilities (para. [0189]). Therefore, the compound of Kim ‘192 used in a n-type charge generation layer transports electrons as claimed.
Regarding claim 14, Kim ‘192 further teaches an organic electroluminescent device (Example 1, Table 1, para. [0485] – [0491]), comprising: an anode (Example 1, para. [0486]) and a cathode (Example 1, para. [0491]), spaced apart from each other; a plurality of light-emitting units (Example 1, first emission unit, para. [0486], second emission unit, para. [0488], and third emission unit, para. [0490]) interposed between the anode and the cathode; and an N- and a P-type charge generation layer (n-type generating layers and p-type charge generating layers, para. [0486], [0488], and [0490]), disposed between adjacent light-emitting units, wherein each of the light-emitting units comprises a hole transport layer (Example 1, hole transport layers, para. [0486], [0488], and [0490]), a light-emitting layer (Example 1, emission layers, para. [0486], [0488], and [0490]), and an electron transport layer (Example 1, electron transport layers para. [0486], [0488], and [0490]), and the N-type charge generation layer contains the compound represented by Chemical Formula 1 (Compound 1 depicted in paragraph 33 for claim 1, para. [0486], [0488], and [0490]).
Regarding claim 15, Kim ‘192 further teaches wherein the N- type charge generation layer contains one host having an electron transport property, and the host is the compound represented by Chemical Formula 1 (Compound 1 depicted in paragraph 33 for claim 1, para. [0487] and [0489]).
Regarding claim 16, Kim ‘192 further teaches wherein the N-type charge generation layer further contains an N-type dopant (Li, para. [0487] and [0489]).
Regarding claim 17, Kim ‘192 further teaches wherein R1 and R2 are an alkyl group of C1 (Compound 1 depicted in paragraph 33 for claim 1).
Regarding claim 18, Kim ‘192 further teaches wherein the compound represented by Chemical Formula 1 is represented by Chemical Formula 2:
Compound 1 (depicted in paragraph 33 for claim 1) of Kim ‘192 reads on Chemical Formula 2 of instant application wherein
L1 is an arylene group of C6
Ar1 is an heteroaryl group of 6 nuclear atoms and is substituted twice by an aryl group of C6.
R2 is an alkyl group of C1
Regarding claim 19, Kim ‘192 further teaches wherein R1 and R2 are the same and are an alkyl group of C1 (Compound 1 depicted in paragraph 33 for claim 1).
Regarding claim 22, Kim ‘192 further teaches wherein R1 and R2 are an alkyl group of C1 (Compound 1 depicted in paragraph 33 for claim 1).
Regarding claim 23, Kim ‘192 further teaches wherein the compound represented by Chemical Formula 1 is represented by Chemical Formula 2:
Compound 1 (depicted in paragraph 33 for claim 1) of Kim ‘192 reads on Chemical Formula 2 of instant application wherein
L1 is an arylene group of C6
Ar1 is an heteroaryl group of 6 nuclear atoms and is substituted twice by an aryl group of C6.
R2 is an alkyl group of C1
Regarding claim 24, Kim ‘192 further teaches wherein R1 and R2 are the same and are an alkyl group of C1 (Compound 1 depicted in paragraph 33 for claim 1).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 6, 10, 20, and 25 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kim ‘192 (US2021/0273192A1) as applied to claims 1 – 5, 7 – 9, 12 – 19, and 22 – 24 above.
Regarding claim 6, Kim '192 teaches the organic compound (Compound 1) according to claim 1 as described above in Paragraph 33.
Kim ‘192 does not specifically teach wherein Ar1 is a substituent represented by any one selected from the group consisting of the Chemical Formulas S1 to S8.
Compound 1 is a specific compound within Formula 1 with an Ar1 represented by Formula 2. Compound 1 differs from the claimed compound because Ar1 in Compound 1 is a pyridine ring with the Nitrogen atom in position X1 (W1 of instant application for Chemical Formula S6), and the claimed compound requires a pyrimidine ring.
However, Formula 2 of Kim ‘192 allows for a Nitrogen atom in X2 (para. [0013], X2 corresponds to W3 of instant application).
Therefore, it would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to substitute the Carbon atom in the X2 position of Compound 1 of Kim ‘192, with a Nitrogen atom as allowed by the definition of Formula 2 (para. [0013]).
When modified in this way, modified Compound 1 reads on the claimed compound wherein Ar1 is a substituent represented by Chemical Formula S6 wherein
W1 and W3 are the same and are N, and W2 is C(Ar12)
Ar12 is an aryl group of C6
x is 0
Regarding claim 10, modified Kim ‘192 further teaches wherein the organic compound represented by Chemical Formula 1 (Compound 1 as modified for claim 6 in Paragraph 57 above) is an organic Compound represented by Chemical Formula 11
wherein
R1 and R2 are the same and are an alkyl group of C1
m is 0
W1 and W3 are the same and are N, and W2 is C(Ar12)
Ar12 is an aryl group of C6
x is 0
Regarding claim 20 and 25, Kim ‘192 teaches the organic electroluminescent device as applied to claim 12 in Paragraph 41. Kim ‘192 teaches wherein the organic compound represented by Chemical Formula 1 is an organic compound represented by Chemical Formula 1 as shown by the modified compound of Kim in Paragraph 58.
Double Patenting
Claim 1-4, 6-7, 9, 12-18, 19, and 23 are provisionally rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claim 1-4, 5-6, 8, 11-17, 20, 21 (respectively) of copending Application No. 18/014,001 (reference application). Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because,
Regarding claim 1, copending Application No. 18/014,001 teaches
An organic compound represented by Chemical Formula 1 (claim 1):
wherein R1, R2, L1, and Ar1 definitions overlap.
Regarding claim 2, copending Application No. 18/014,001 further teaches wherein at least one of R1 and R2 is an alkyl group of C1-C60 (claim 2).
Regarding claim 3, copending Application No. 18/014,001 further teaches wherein R1 and R2 are same or different and are each independently an alkyl group of C1-C20 (claim 3).
Regarding claim 4, copending Application No. 18/014,001 further teaches wherein the compound represented by Chemical Formula 1 is a compound represented by any one of the following Chemical Formulas 2 to 5 (claim 4):
wherein
L1 and Ar1 are as defined in claim 1, and
R2 is an alkyl group of C1-C6.
Regarding claim 6, copending Application No. 18/014,001 further teaches wherein Ar1 is a substituent represented by any one selected from the group consisting of the following Chemical Formulas S7 to S8 (claim 5):
wherein Ar2 to Ar6 definitions overlap.
Regarding claim 7, copending Application No. 18/014,001 further teaches wherein L1 is an arylene group of C6-C60 (claim 6).
Regarding claim 8, copending Application No. 18/014,001 further teaches wherein L1 is a linker represented by the following Formula L (claim 7):
wherein R3, a, and n definitions overlap
X may be C.
Regarding claim 9, copending Application No. 18/014,001 further teaches wherein L1 is any one of linkers L1 to L4 (claim 8):
Regarding claim 12, copending Application No. 18/014,001 further teaches an organic electroluminescent device, comprising: an anode; a cathode, and organic layers disposed between the anode and the cathode, wherein at least one organic layer contains the organic compound represented by Chemical Formula 1 according to claim 1 (claim 11).
Regarding claim 13 copending Application No. 18/014,001 further teaches wherein the organic layer containing the organic compound is an electron transport layer (claim 12).
Regarding claim 14, copending Application No. 18/014,001 further teaches an organic electroluminescent device, comprising: an anode and a cathode, spaced apart from each other; a plurality of light-emitting units interposed between the anode and the cathode; and an N- and a P-type charge generation layer disposed between adjacent light-emitting units, wherein each of the light-emitting units comprises a hole transport layer, a light-emitting layer, and an electron transport layer and the N-type charge generation layer contains the compound represented by Chemical Formula 1 according to claim 1 (claim 13).
Regarding claim 15, copending Application No. 18/014,001 further teaches wherein the N- type charge generation layer contains one host having an electron transport property, and the host is the compound represented by Chemical Formula 1 according to claim 1 (claim 14).
Regarding claim 16, copending Application No. 18/014,001 further teaches wherein the N-type charge generation layer further contains an N-type dopant (claim 15).
Regarding claim 17, copending Application No. 18/014,001 further teaches wherein at least one of R1 and R2 is an alkyl group of C1-C60 (claim 16).
Regarding claim 18, copending Application No. 18/014,001 further teaches wherein the compound represented by Chemical Formula 1 is a compound represented by any one of the following Chemical Formulas 2 to 5 (claim 17):
wherein
L1 and Ar1 are as defined in claim 1, and
R2 is an alkyl group of C1-C6.
Regarding claim 19, copending Application No. 18/014,001 further teaches wherein R1 and R2 are same and each an alkyl group of C1-C6 (claim 20).
Regarding claim 23, copending Application No. 18/014,001 further teaches wherein the compound represented by Chemical Formula 1 is a compound represented by any one of the following Chemical Formulas 2 to 5 (claim 21):
wherein
L1 and Ar1 are as defined in claim 1, and
R2 is an alkyl group of C1-C6.
This is a provisional nonstatutory double patenting rejection because the patentably indistinct claims have not in fact been patented.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 11, 21, and 26 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims. The following is a statement of reasons for the indication of allowable subject matter: Kim et al. (US 2021/0320274 A1) .
Conclusion
/APCV/Examiner, Art Unit 1789
/JENNA N CHANDHOK/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1789