Detailed Office Action
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
3. Claims 1-15 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Firstly, with respect to claim 1, it is unclear if the definition of C1 mandates that the diamine contain at least one sterically hindered secondary amine group; as drafted, the language can be reasonably interpreted to apply only to the amino alcohol. Furthermore, with respect to the definition of C1, the language, “each of the diamine” cannot be clearly understood; the language appears to be incomplete.
Secondly, with respect to claim 6, since formula (II) pertains to the diamine and since the diamine is bonded through reaction with isocyanate groups, it is not seen how the specified linkage can be a urethane group. Furthermore, with respect to the definition of R2, it is unclear what constitutes “bulky” in terms of the structural requirements of the residues.
Thirdly, with respect to claim 10, since claim 9 requires at least one of the C2 residues to comprise an ester linkage, the claiming of the non-ester-containing compound, butanediol, within claim 10, dependent from claim 9, is unclear.
Lastly, the method of claims 12-15, as drafted, renders the claims indefinite, because the method of claim 12 does not contain a definitive process step; “using” does not constitute a definitive operation step. Accordingly, claims 12-15 have not been further examined on the merits.
Double Patenting
5. Claims 1-11 are provisionally rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 16-23 of copending Application No. 18/274,707 (reference application). Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because the instant claim set drawn to the thermoplastic poly(urethane-urea) polyadduct would have been obvious in view of the copending method of using the equivalent (same) thermoplastic poly(urethane-urea) polyadduct. One is possession of the method would have been in possession of the polyadduct.
This is a provisional nonstatutory double patenting rejection because the patentably indistinct claims have not in fact been patented.
Prior Art Rejections
6. Claims 1-8 and 11 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over CA 2,040,910.
CA 2,040,910 discloses thermoplastic poly(urethane-urea) comprising the reaction product of diisocyanatodicyclohexylmethane, yielding applicants’ claimed I residue; a macrodiol having a molecular weight greater than 400, which corresponds to applicants’ claimed diol, yielding applicants’ M residue; a low molecular weight diol, yielding applicants’ claimed C2 residue; and a cyclic secondary diamine, yielding applicants’ claimed C1 residue. See page 3, line 21 through page 6, line 21. Though the reference fails to disclose structures that are precisely represented by applicants’ claimed formulas (I) and (IV), the disclosed thermoplastic polymers encompass such formulas and would have been obvious depending on the desired block structure and the desired hard and soft segment content. Since the functions of the respective reactants and their resulting residues ware known at the time of invention, tailoring the structure of the polymer would have been obvious. Furthermore, regarding claims 6-8, though these claims exclude the secondary diamine from having a piperazine, 2-methylpiperazine, or 2,5-dimethylpiperazine structure, it is noted that the reference allows for the use of other secondary amines, and the position is taken that it would have been obvious to use disclosed diamines having higher alkyl groups to tailor such properties as the steric hindrance or another chemical or physical property of the diamine.
7. Claims 1-11 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over CA 2,040,910 in view of WO 2005/089778 A1.
CA 2,040,910 discloses thermoplastic poly(urethane-urea) comprising the reaction product of diisocyanatodicyclohexylmethane, yielding applicants’ claimed I residue; a macrodiol having a molecular weight greater than 400, which corresponds to applicants’ claimed diol, yielding applicants’ M residue; a low molecular weight diol, yielding applicants’ claimed C2 residue; and a cyclic secondary diamine, yielding applicants’ claimed C1 residue. See page 3, line 21 through page 6, line 21. Though the reference fails to disclose structures that are precisely represented by applicants’ claimed formulas (I) and (IV), the disclosed thermoplastic polymers encompass such formulas and would have been obvious depending on the desired block structure and the desired hard and soft segment content. Since the functions of the respective reactants and their resulting residues ware known at the time of invention, tailoring the structure of the polymer would have been obvious. Furthermore, regarding claims 6-8, though these claims exclude the secondary diamine from having a piperazine, 2-methylpiperazine, or 2,5-dimethylpiperazine structure, it is noted that the reference allows for the use of other secondary amines, and the position is taken that it would have been obvious to use disclosed diamines having higher alkyl groups to tailor such properties as the steric hindrance or another chemical or physical property of the diamine.
8. The primary reference fails to disclose the use of ester-containing diisocyanates and chain extenders; however, the use of these reactants within biocompatible and degradable thermoplastic polyurethanes was known at the time of invention as evidenced by the disclosure within pages 11-14 of WO 2005/089778 A1. Accordingly, one seeking to improve the degradability of the polymers of the primary reference would have been motivated to incorporate the disclosed ester-containing reactants of the secondary reference into the polymers of the primary reference. It has been held that it is prima facie obvious to use a known compound for its known function.
Conclusion
/RABON A SERGENT/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1765