DETAILED ACTION
This non-final office action is in response to the preliminary amendment filed 30 December 2022.
Claims 1-7 are pending. Claims 1, 5, and 7 are independent claims. Claims 8-10 are cancelled.
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted on 30 December 2022 is in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statement is being considered by the examiner.
Drawings
The examiner accepts the drawings filed 30 December 2022.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 101
Claims 1-7 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 101 because the claimed invention is directed to abstract idea without significantly more.
When considering subject matter eligibility under 35 USC 101, it must be determined whether the claim is directed to one of the four statutory categories of invention, i.e., process, machine, manufacture, or composition of matter (Step 1; MPEP 2106.03). If the claim falls within one of the statutory categories, the second step in the analysis is to determine whether the claim is directed toward a judicial exception (Step 2A; MPEP 2106.04). This step is broken into two prongs.
The first prong (Step 2A, Prong 1) determines whether or not the claims recite a judicial exception (e.g., mathematical concepts, mental processes, certain methods of organizing human activity). If it is determined at Step 2A, Prong 1 that the claims recite a judicial exception, the analysis proceeds to the second prong (Step 2A, Prong 2; MPEP 2106.04). The second prong (Step 2A, Prong 2) determines whether the claims integrate the judicial exception into a practical application. If the claims do not integrate the judicial exception into a practical application, the analysis proceeds to determine whether the claim is a patent-eligible exception (Step 2B; MPEP 2106.05).
If an abstract idea is present int the claim, in order to recite statutory subject matter, any element or combination of elements in the claim must be sufficient to ensure that the claim integrates the judicial exception into a practical application or amounts to significantly more than the abstract idea itself (see: 2019 PEG).
Step 1:
According to Step 1 of the two Step analysis, claims 1-4 are directed toward a device (machine). Claims 5-6 are directed toward a method (process). Claim 7 is directed toward a calculator (machine). Therefore, each of these claims falls within one of the four statutory categories.
Claim 1:
Step 2A, Prong 1:
Following the determination that the claims fall within one of the statutory categories (Step 1), it must be determined if the claims recite a judicial exception (Step 2A, Prong 1). In this instance, the claims are determined to recite a judicial exception (abstract idea; mental process).
With respect to claim 1, the claims recite:
calculate a plurality of feature vectors representing features of an input sample from the input sample which is multidimensional data (mental process; As drafted and under its broadest reasonable interpretation, this limitation covers performance of the limitation in the mind (including an observation, evaluation, judgment, opinion) or with the aid of pencil and paper but for the recitation of generic computer components. For example, this limitation an evaluation of data to calculate a plurality of feature vectors representing features)
calculate similarity between an average value of the plurality of feature vectors and a representative vector corresponding to a class to which the input sample belongs among a plurality of representative vectors to corresponding to a plurality of classes respectively, the representative vector having same dimensionality as each of the plurality of feature vectors (mental process; As drafted and under its broadest reasonable interpretation, this limitation covers performance of the limitation in the mind (including an observation, evaluation, judgment, opinion) or with the aid of pencil and paper but for the recitation of generic computer components. For example, this limitation an evaluation of data to determine the similarity between an average value of the plurality of feature vectors and a representative vector of a class to which the input sample belongs)
Step 2A, Prong 2:
Accordingly, after determining that a claim recites a judicial exception in Step 2A Prong One, examiners should evaluate whether the claim as a whole integrates the recited judicial exception into a practical application of the exception in Step 2A Prong Two. A claim that integrates a judicial exception into a practical application will apply, rely on, or use the judicial exception in a manner that imposes a meaningful limit on the judicial exception, such that the claim is more than a drafting effort designed to monopolize the judicial exception (MPEP 2106.04(d)).
The claim discloses the following additional elements:
at least one memory configured to store instructions
at least one processor configured to execute the instructions
These claim features are recited at a high-level of generality such that it amounts to no more than mere instructions to apply the exception using a generic computer component (See MPEP 2106.05(f)).
Further, the claim discloses the additional elements:
a plurality of feature calculation models
learn parameters of the plurality of feature calculation models based on an evaluation function in which a value is larger as the similarity between the average value of the plurality of feature vectors and the representative vector corresponding to the class to which the input sample belong is smaller
These elements are training elements recited at a high-level of generality with no detail of the training process and amounts to no more than adding the words “apply it” (or an equivalent) with the judicial exception, or mere instructions to implement an abstract idea on a computer, or merely uses a computer as a tool to perform an abstract idea. Accordingly, this additional element does not integrate the abstract idea into a practical application because it does not impose any meaningful limits on practicing the abstract idea (See MPEP 2106.05(f))
Accordingly, at Step 2A, prong two, the additional elements individually or in combination do no integrate the judicial exception into a practical application.
Step 2B:
Based on the determination in Step 2A of the analysis that the claims are directed toward a judicial exception, in must be determined if any claims contain any element or combination of elements sufficient to ensure that the claims amount to significantly more than the judicial exception (Step 2B).
The claim discloses the following additional elements:
at least one memory configured to store instructions
at least one processor configured to execute the instructions
These claim features are recited at a high-level of generality such that it amounts to no more than mere instructions to apply the exception using a generic computer component (See MPEP 2106.05(f)).
Further, the claim discloses the additional elements:
a plurality of feature calculation models
learn parameters of the plurality of feature calculation models based on an evaluation function in which a value is larger as the similarity between the average value of the plurality of feature vectors and the representative vector corresponding to the class to which the input sample belong is smaller
These elements are training elements recited at a high-level of generality with no detail of the training process and amounts to no more than adding the words “apply it” (or an equivalent) with the judicial exception, or mere instructions to implement an abstract idea on a computer, or merely uses a computer as a tool to perform an abstract idea. Accordingly, this additional element does not integrate the abstract idea into a practical application because it does not impose any meaningful limits on practicing the abstract idea (See MPEP 2106.05(f))
In this instance, after considering all claim elements individually and as an ordered combination, it is determined that the claims do not include any additional elements that are sufficient to amount to significantly more than the judicial exception.
Claim 2:
With respect to dependent claim 2, the claim depends upon independent claim 1. The analysis of claim 1 is incorporated herein by reference.
Step 2A, Prong 1:
Claim 2 recites the elements:
calculate average similarity between each of the plurality of representative vectors and the plurality of feature vectors (mental process; As drafted and under its broadest reasonable interpretation, this limitation covers performance of the limitation in the mind (including an observation, evaluation, judgment, opinion) or with the aid of pencil and paper but for the recitation of generic computer components. For example, this limitation is an evaluation of data to calculate the average similarity between the representative vectors and the feature vectors)
wherein, in the evaluation function, the value is larger as an error between a similarity vector that has the average similarity for each class as an element and a one-hot vector indicating a class to which the input sample belongs (mental process; As drafted and under its broadest reasonable interpretation, this limitation covers performance of the limitation in the mind (including an observation, evaluation, judgment, opinion) or with the aid of pencil and paper but for the recitation of generic computer components. For example, this limitation is a judgement of the evaluation function such that a value is larger as an error between a similarity vector that has the average similarity for each class and a one-hot vector indicating a class to which the sample belongs)
Claim 3:
With respect to dependent claim 3, the claim depends upon independent claim 1. The analysis of claim 1 is incorporated herein by reference.
Step 2A, Prong 1:
Claim 3 recites the elements:
calculate a diversity index value relates to a height of diversity of the plurality of feature vectors (mental process; As drafted and under its broadest reasonable interpretation, this limitation covers performance of the limitation in the mind (including an observation, evaluation, judgment, opinion) or with the aid of pencil and paper but for the recitation of generic computer components. For example, this limitation is an evaluation of data to calculate a diversity index relating the diversity of the feature vectors)
wherein, in the evaluation function, the value is larger as the similarity between an average value of the plurality of feature vectors and the representative vector correspond to the class to which the input sample belongs is smaller, and the value is larger as the diversity index value is smaller (mental process; As drafted and under its broadest reasonable interpretation, this limitation covers performance of the limitation in the mind (including an observation, evaluation, judgment, opinion) or with the aid of pencil and paper but for the recitation of generic computer components. For example, this limitation is a judgement of the evaluation function such that a value is larger as a similarity between an average value of the plurality feature vectors and the representative vector correspond to the class to which the sample belongs is smaller, and the value is larger as the diversity index is larger)
Claim 4:
With respect to dependent claim 4, the claim depends upon dependent claim 3. The analysis of claim 3 is incorporated herein by reference.
Step 2A, Prong 1:
Claim 4 recites the elements:
wherein the diversity index value is calculated by calculating a determinant of a product of a matrix in which a plurality of feature vectors are arranged and a transposed matrix of the matrix (mental process; As drafted and under its broadest reasonable interpretation, this limitation covers performance of the limitation in the mind (including an observation, evaluation, judgment, opinion) or with the aid of pencil and paper but for the recitation of generic computer components. For example, this limitation is an evaluation of data to calculate a diversity index relating the diversity of the feature vectors)
Claim 5:
With respect to independent claim 5, the claim recites the elements substantially similar to those in independent claim 1. Claim 5 is rejected under similar rationale.
Claim 6:
With respect to dependent claim 6, the claim recites the elements substantially similar to those in dependent claim 3. Claim 6 is rejected under similar rationale.
Claim 7:
With respect to independent claim 7, the claim recites the elements substantially similar to those in independent claim 1. Claim 7 is rejected under similar rationale.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim 1, 5, and 7 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Huang et al. (Mixture of deep CNN-based ensemble model for image retrieval, 2016) and further in view of Xia et al. (US 2020/0074275, published 5 March 2020, hereafter Xia).
As per independent claim 1, Huang discloses a learning device comprising:
calculate a plurality of feature vectors representing features of an input sample from the input sample which is multidimensional data by using a plurality of feature calculation models (Section III, subsection C: Here, multidimensional data in the form of an image is provided as input. A plurality of feature vectors of each image are extracted using a plurality of convolutional neural networks (CNNs) (Section II))
calculate a similarity between an average value of the plurality of feature vectors and a representative vector corresponding to a class to which the input sample belongs among a plurality of representative vectors to corresponding to a plurality of classes respectively (Section II, subsection B: Here, a similarity is calculated between an image and the ensemble models by averaging the results from each CNN)
learn parameters of the plurality of feature calculation models based on an evaluation function in which a value is larger as the similarity between the average value of the plurality of feature vectors and the representative vector corresponding to the class to which the input sample belongs is smaller (Section III, subsection B: Here, an ensemble model is trained to average predictions across multiple CNNs. The values are provided such that the higher the accuracy (larger the similarity) of the average value of the models the smaller the value because items are sorted in descending order)
Huang fails to specifically disclose:
at least one memory configured to store instructions
at least one processor configured to execute the instructions
the representative vector having same dimensionality as each of the plurality of feature vectors
However, Xia, which is analogous to the claimed invention because it is directed toward a machine learning system, discloses:
at least one memory configured to store instructions (Figure 8, item 804)
at least one processor configured to execute the instructions (Figure 8, item 802)
the representative vector having same dimensionality as each of the plurality of feature vectors (claim 7: Here, a sign function is applied to each value in a vector of feature values to generate a hash vector that has a same dimensionality as the feature vector)
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the applicant’s effective filing date to have combined Xia with Huang, with a reasonable expectation of success, as it would have allowed for ensuring a one to one correspondence between feature vectors and representative vectors to maintain corresponding comparisons between the vectors of the ensemble learning system.
With respect to claims 5 and 7, the claims recite the limitations substantially similar to those in claim 1. Claims 5 and 7 are rejected under similar rationale.
Claim 2 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Huang and Xia and further in view of Deng et al. (ArcFace for Disguised Face Recognition, 2019, hereafter Deng).
As per dependent claim 2, Huang and Xia disclose the limitations similar to those in claim 1, and the same rejection is incorporated herein. Huang discloses instructions to calculate average similarity between each of the plurality of representative vectors and the plurality of feature vectors (Section II, subsection B: Here, a similarity is calculated between an image and the ensemble models by averaging the results from each CNN).
Huang fails to specifically disclose, wherein, in the evaluation function, the value is larger as an error between a similarity vector that has the average similarity for each class as an element and a one-hot vector indicating a class to which the input sample belongs.
However, Deng, which is analogous to the claimed invention because it is directed toward evaluating similarity between vectors, discloses in the evaluation function, the value is larger as an error between a similarity vector that has the average similarity for each class as an element and a one-hot vector indicating a class to which the input sample belongs (Section 4.2: Here, the value (weight) is larger for models associated with classes to which the element belongs, while those classes representing possible errors (low correlation) are assigned lower weights).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the applicant’s effective filing date to have combined Dent with Huang-Xia, with a reasonable expectation of success, as it would have allowed for applying weights based upon the similarity of classification, thereby improving the classification of the ensemble model (Deng: Section 4.2).
Claims 3 and 6 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Huang and Xia and further in view of Sandler et al. (US 11000135, filed 18 August 2017, hereafter Sandler)
As per dependent claim 3, Huang and Xia disclose the limitations similar to those in claim 1, and the same rejection is incorporated herein. Huang fails to specifically disclose:
calculate a diversity index value related to a height of the diversity of the plurality of feature vectors
wherein, in the evaluation function, the value is larger as the similarity between the average value of the plurality of feature vectors and the representative vector corresponding to the class to which the input sample belongs is smaller, and the value is large as the diversity index value is smaller
However, Sandler discloses:
calculate a diversity index value related to a height of the diversity of the plurality of feature vectors (claim 1: Here, a machine learning system includes a diversity model configured to store a running index of items in a candidate pool and vector representations of the items. The size of the set is increased until a diversity measure is calculated based upon the diversity of the set)
wherein, in the evaluation function, the value is larger as the similarity between the average value of the plurality of feature vectors and the representative vector corresponding to the class to which the input sample belongs is smaller, and the value is large as the diversity index value is smaller (Abstract: Here, a classification is based upon relevance of the feature vectors to the representative vectors and a diversity of the sets of recommendations. The likelihood of the sample being properly classified increases as both the relevance and diversity increase).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the applicant’s effective filing date to have combine Sandler with Huang-Xia, with a reasonable expectation of success, as it would have allowed for defining another ensemble model, diversity, for determining classification. This would have improved the robustness and confidence in classifying image data (Sandler: column 2, lines 39-50).
With respect to claim 6, the claim recites the limitation substantially similar to those in claim 3. Claim 6 is rejected under similar rationale.
Claim 4 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Huang, Xia, and Sandler and further in view of Peran et al. (US 2020/0034776, published 30 January 2020, hereafter Peran).
As per dependent claim 4, Huang, Xia, and Sandler disclose the limitations similar to those in claim 3, and the same rejection is incorporated herein. Sandler discloses calculating a diversity index value (Abstract). However, Huang fails to specifically disclose wherein the value is calculated by calculating a determinant of a product of a matrix in which a plurality of vectors are arranged and transposed matrix to matrix.
However, Peran discloses a value is calculated by calculating a determinant of a product of a matrix in which a plurality of feature vectors are arranged and transposed matrix to matrix (paragraph 0094: Here, the similarity between two sets is determined by calculating a product of a matrix in which a plurality of vectors are arranged and transposed matrix to matrix). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the applicant’s effective filing date to have combined Peran with Huang-Xia-Sandler, with a reasonable expectation of success, as it would have allowed for determining the similarity between items for classifying based on clustering of adjacent items (Peran: paragraph 0003).
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure:
Vasseur et al. (US 2021/0329029): Discloses embedding feature vectors in lower dimensionality of a given representation (paragraph 0115)
Naik et al. (US 2021/0280311): Discloses aggregate feature vector on the same dimensionality of each feature vector (paragraph 0026)
Oki et al. (US 2020/0302324): Discloses the determinant is a transposed vector of the inverse matrix (paragraph 0004)
Levner et al. (US 11003959): Discloses a neural network to cluster a plurality of images to obtain a vector representation of a plurality of images for training (Abstract)
/KYLE R STORK/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2128