DETAILED ACTION
Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114
Status of the Claims
The office action is in response to the claim amendments and remarks filed on October 28, 2025 for the application filed December 30, 2022. Claim 129 has been amended. Claims 129-160 are currently pending.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 129-160 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(a) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), first paragraph, as failing to comply with the written description requirement. The claims contain subject matter which was not described in the specification in such a way as to reasonably convey to one skilled in the relevant art that the inventor or a joint inventor, or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the inventor(s), at the time the application was filed, had possession of the claimed invention. Claim 129 (lines 7-8) recites: “based on first radio frequency (RF) maximum transmission power capabilities of a first power amplifier (PA) of the UE”, and claim 129 (lines 10-11) recites: “based on second RF maximum transmission power capabilities of a second PA of the UE”. However, the disclosure does not describe “based on first radio frequency (RF) maximum transmission power capabilities of a first power amplifier (PA) of the UE”, and “based on second RF maximum transmission power capabilities of a second PA of the UE”. Paragraph [0078] of the specification describes a transmission mode that may help achieve full (or higher) power transmission and higher diversity using a multi-part PUSCH. Each PUSCH part may be transmitted using same time domain resources, but different frequency domain resources using a particular PA. The disclosure does not describe maximum transmission power of a first power amplifier of the UE, or maximum transmission power of a second power amplifier of the UE.
Therefore, the limitations directed to “based on first radio frequency (RF) maximum transmission power capabilities of a first power amplifier (PA) of the UE”, and “based on second RF maximum transmission power capabilities of a second PA of the UE”, must be cancelled from the claims.
Dependent claims 130-160 are rejected based on their dependencies on independent claim 129.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 129-135, 139-140, 145-146 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Sebastian Faxér et al. (US20230217429A1) hereinafter Sebastian, in view of Yang et al. (US20180368083A1), and Matsumura et al. (US20220295472A1).
Regarding claim 129, Sebastian teaches a user equipment (UE), comprising: a receiver configured to receive signaling of an indicated frequency domain resource allocation (FDRA) for a physical uplink shared channel (PUSCH) (Paragraph [0031]: In some embodiments, a method of operation of a wireless communication device for transmitting a physical uplink channel in a wireless communication system comprises transmitting an SRS on a first set of frequency-domain resources and receiving an uplink scheduling assignment for an uplink physical channel. The uplink scheduling assignment comprises a resource allocation of a second set of frequency-domain resources. The second set of frequency-domain resources comprises: (a) one or more frequency-domain resources that are also included in the first set of frequency-domain resources and (b) one or more frequency-domain resources that are not included in the first set of frequency-domain resources. Paragraph [0036]: In some embodiments, a wireless communication device for transmitting a physical uplink channel in a wireless communication system comprises one or more transmitters, one or more receivers, and processing circuitry configured to cause the wireless communication device to transmit an SRS on a first set of frequency-domain resources and receive an uplink scheduling assignment for an uplink physical channel. The uplink scheduling assignment comprises a resource allocation of a second set of frequency-domain resources. Paragraph [0103]: The wireless device 212 receives, from a radio access node 202 or 206, an uplink scheduling assignment for an uplink physical channel (e.g., PUSCH) (step 502). The uplink scheduling assignment comprises a resource allocation of a second set of frequency-domain resources, wherein the second set of frequency-domain resources comprises: (a) one or more frequency-domain resources that are also included in the first set of frequency-domain resources and (b) one or more frequency-domain resources that are not included in the first set of frequency-domain resources.)
a processing system configured to determine at least a first part FDRA and a second part FDRA from the indicated FDRA; wherein the first part FDRA includes a first amount of frequency resources determined from a plurality of frequency resources of the indicated FDRA; and wherein the second part FDRA includes a second amount of frequency resources determined from the plurality of frequency resources; and a transmitter configured to: transmit a first part of a physical uplink shared channel (PUSCH) on the first part FDRA with a first precoder; and transmit a second part of the PUSCH on the second part FDRA with a second precoder (Paragraph [0031]: The uplink scheduling assignment comprises a resource allocation of a second set of frequency-domain resources. The second set of frequency-domain resources comprises: (a) one or more frequency-domain resources that are also included in the first set of frequency-domain resources and (b) one or more frequency-domain resources that are not included in the first set of frequency-domain resources. The method further comprises, in order to form a precoded uplink channel, for each frequency-domain resource of one or more frequency-domain resources comprised in both the first set of frequency-domain resources and the second set of frequency-domain resources, applying a same precoding to the uplink physical channel on the frequency-domain resource as applied to the SRS on the frequency-domain resource. The method further comprises, in order to form a precoded uplink channel, for each frequency-domain resource of the one or more frequency-domain resources comprised in the second set of frequency-domain resources but not included in the first set of frequency-domain resources, applying a same precoding to the uplink physical channel on the frequency-domain resource as applied to the SRS on a different frequency-domain resource. The method further comprises transmitting the precoded uplink channel. Paragraph [0041]: The method further comprises transmitting a physical uplink channel that occupies at least part of the first resource group and at least part of the second resource group such that a network node of the wireless communication system can assume that the first precoder and the second precoder are used to transmit the physical uplink channel on the first resource group and the second resource group, respectively. Paragraph [0042]: In some embodiments, transmitting the physical uplink channel comprises transmitting the physical uplink channel such that the first precoder is applied to a portion of the physical uplink channel comprised in the at least part of the first resource group and the second precoder is applied to a portion of the physical uplink channel comprised in the at least part of the second resource group.)
Sebastian does not explicitly teach based on first radio frequency (RF) maximum transmission power capabilities of a first power amplifier (PA) of the UE, based on second RF maximum transmission power capabilities of a second PA of the UE; transmit a first part of a physical uplink shared channel (PUSCH) using the first PA; and transmit a second part of the PUSCH using the second PA.
However, Yang teaches based on first radio frequency (RF) capabilities of a first power amplifier (PA) of the UE, based on second RF capabilities of a second PA of the UE; transmit a first part of a physical uplink shared channel (PUSCH) using the first PA; and transmit a second part of the PUSCH using the second PA (Paragraph [0006]: In one aspect, a method of wireless communication may involve a processor of a user equipment (UE) having a plurality of antenna ports controlling a plurality of amplifiers each of which corresponding to a respective antenna port of the plurality of antenna ports that correspond to a plurality of antennas. The method may also involve the processor transmitting a reference signal to a network node via the plurality of antenna ports. The method may further involve the processor transmitting data through a physical uplink shared channel (PUSCH) to the network node via the plurality of antenna ports. In controlling, the method may involve the processor controlling output powers of the plurality of power amplifiers. Paragraph [0008]: The transceiver may include a plurality of power amplifiers and a plurality of antenna ports each corresponding to a respective one of the power amplifiers that correspond to a plurality of antennas. The transceiver may be capable of wirelessly communicating with a network node via the plurality of antenna ports. The processor may be capable of the following: receiving, via the transceiver, downlink signaling having a plurality of fields from the network node; determining a transmission rank of a plurality of transmission ranks, a sub-band of a plurality of sub-bands based on information indicated in the downlink signaling, and transmit precoding matrix for each sub-band according to TPMI signaling within the downlink signaling from the network node at the determined transmission rank and in the determined sub-band a size of which is based on the determined transmission rank; transmitting, via the transceiver, a reference signal to the network node via the plurality of antenna ports; and transmitting, via the transceiver, data through a physical uplink shared channel (PUSCH) to the network node via the plurality of antenna ports. The processor may also be capable of controlling output powers of the plurality of power amplifiers such that, for at least a first antenna of the plurality of antennas, an amount of power used by the first antenna in transmitting the data and another amount of power used by the first antenna in transmitting the reference signal are equal. Paragraph [0048]: In some implementations, in controlling the plurality of amplifiers 332(1)˜332(N), processor 310 may control an output power of each power amplifier of the plurality of power amplifiers 332(1)˜332(N). Paragraph [0049]: Moreover, in transmitting of the data through the PUSCH, processor 310 may perform the following: (1) selecting a transmission rank used for transmitting the data; (2) determining one or more power scaling factors corresponding to the transmission rank in transmitting the data; and (3) applying a precoding matrix, which is equal to the precoding matrix for the beamformed SRS multiplied by a power-scaled beam-selection matrix, to transmit data on PUSCH. Paragraph [0051]: In some implementations, processor 310 may be capable of applying k power scaling factors to adjust an amount of power used by each antenna of the plurality of antennas in transmitting the PUSCH. Paragraph [0061]: At 430, process 400 may involve processor 310 transmitting, via transceiver 330, data through a physical uplink shared channel (PUSCH) to network node 340 via the plurality of antenna ports 334(1)˜334(N). Paragraph [0062]: In some implementations, in controlling the plurality of amplifiers 332(1)˜332(N), process 400 may involve processor 310 controlling output powers of the plurality of power amplifiers 332(1)˜332(N) such that, for at least a first antenna of the plurality of antennas 336(1)˜336(N), an amount of power used by the first antenna in transmitting the data and another amount of power used by the first antenna in transmitting the reference signal are equal. Paragraph [0065]: In some implementations, in performing the beamformed SRS transmission, process 400 may involve processor 310 applying a precoding matrix to form the beamformed SRS. Moreover, in transmitting the data through the PUSCH, process 400 may involve processor 310 performing the following: (1) selecting a transmission rank k used for transmitting the data by k layers; (2) applying k power scaling factors corresponding to the transmission rank k in transmitting the data; and (3) applying another precoding matrix for the PUSCH transmission based on a selection from vectors composing the precoding matrix used to form the beamformed SRS and the power scaling factors.)
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to provide based on first radio frequency (RF) capabilities of a first power amplifier (PA) of the UE, based on second RF capabilities of a second PA of the UE; transmit a first part of a physical uplink shared channel (PUSCH) using the first PA; and transmit a second part of the PUSCH using the second PA, as taught by Yang in the system of Sebastian, so that the processor can control the amount of power used for transmitting each part of the PUSCH (Yang: Paragraph [0006], [0008]).
The combination of Sebastian and Yang does not explicitly teach includes a first amount of frequency resources based on first radio frequency (RF) maximum transmission power capabilities of a first power amplifier (PA) of the UE; includes a second amount of frequency resources based on second RF maximum transmission power capabilities of a second PA of the UE.
However, Matsumura teaches to include a first amount of frequency resources based on first radio frequency (RF) maximum transmission power capabilities of a first power amplifier (PA) of the UE; includes a second amount of frequency resources based on second RF maximum transmission power capabilities of a second PA of the UE (Paragraph [0044]: UE capability 1: a PA (full rated PA) that can output maximum rated power is supported. Paragraph [0054]: in order to allow the UE to perform full power transmission in UE capability 2, simultaneous transmission with a plurality of antenna ports using frequency division multiplex (FDM) is under study. Paragraph [0058]: FIG. 3 is a diagram to show an example in which the UE having UE capability 2 performs full power transmission by using FDM. In the present example, with respect to single layer PUSCH transmission, four PRBs (PRBs # 0 to #3) are allocated to the UE. The UE uses only antenna port # 0 for PUSCH transmission using a first RB set (PRBs # 0 and #1), and uses only antenna port # 1 for PUSCH transmission using a second RB set (PRBs # 2 and #3). Paragraph [0059]: It may be assumed that a first precoding matrix (e.g., [1, 0]) is applied to the first RB set and a second precoding matrix (e.g., [0, 1]) is applied to the second RB set. Paragraph [0060]: When the UE can perform PUSCH transmission using antenna port # 0 and PUSCH transmission using antenna port # 1, each with at maximum 23 dBm, for example, the UE can perform transmission with at maximum 26 dBm corresponding to the power class 2 UE by performing such transmissions simultaneously. Paragraph [0102]: In a case of performing PUSCH full power transmission based on the RE set, as shown in the right side of FIG. 7, the UE may allocate part (e.g., {X0, X2, X4, X6, X8, X10}) of the above-described sequence having the sequence length 12 to RE set #0 (antenna port #0), and may allocate the rest (e.g., {X1, X3, X5, X7, X9, X11}) of the above-described sequence having the sequence length 12 to RE set #1 (antenna port #1).)
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to include a first amount of frequency resources based on first radio frequency (RF) maximum transmission power capabilities of a first power amplifier (PA) of the UE; includes a second amount of frequency resources based on second RF maximum transmission power capabilities of a second PA of the UE, as taught by Matsumura in the combined system of Sebastian and Yang, so that full power transmission can overcome issues such as coverage reduction and suppression of increase in communication throughput (Matsumura: Paragraphs [0054], [0058]-[0060], [0064], [0102]).
Regarding claim 130, the combination of Sebastian, Yang, and Matsumura teaches the UE of claim 129 (see rejection for claim 129);
Sebastian further teaches wherein: the first precoder and second precoder do not have a common transmit antenna or PUSCH port (Paragraph [0093]: It is also assumed that the UE 212 receives an indication of one or more SRS resources (in the form of one or more SRI(s)) in the uplink grant, where the indicated SRS resources identify on which logical antenna ports {p0, ...,pp-1} the PUSCH shall be transmitted on. Paragraph [0095]: For non-codebook based transmission, the antenna ports {p0, ...,pp-1} are defined by how the SRSs have been transmitted; that is, what precoding W1, W2, W3, ... has been applied on the SRSs on each PRB. That is, if the PUSCH is mapped to set of logical SRS ports {p0, ..., pp-1}, the block of complexvalued vectors zp0i⋮z0−1ii=0,1,…,Msymbap−1 shall be precoded in the same fashion as the precoding of the indicated SRSs before being mapped to physical antennas. Paragraph [0097]: The proposed disclosure comprises a rule for mapping the complex-valued vectors onto the SRS antenna ports, and thus achieving frequency-selective PUSCH precoding.)
Regarding claim 131, the combination of Sebastian, Yang, and Matsumura teaches the UE of claim 129 (see rejection for claim 129);
Sebastian further teaches wherein time domain resource allocation (TDRA) used for transmission of the first part of the PUSCH and second part of the PUSCH are overlapped, partially overlapped or non-overlapped (Paragraph [0041]: In some other embodiments, a method of operation of a wireless communication device for transmitting a physical uplink channel in a wireless communication system comprises transmitting an SRS in a first time instant using a first precoder on a first set of subcarriers, where the first set of subcarriers is comprised within a first resource group of subcarriers over which precoders are presumed to remain constant. The method further comprises transmitting the SRS in a second time instant after the first time instant using a second precoder on a second set of subcarriers. The second set of subcarriers is comprised within a second resource group of subcarriers over which precoders are presumed to remain constant. The method further comprises transmitting a physical uplink channel that occupies at least part of the first resource group and at least part of the second resource group such that a network node of the wireless communication system can assume that the first precoder and the second precoder are used to transmit the physical uplink channel on the first resource group and the second resource group, respectively. Paragraph [0108]: In this regard, FIG. 6 is a flow chart that illustrates the operation of a wireless device 212 to transmit a physical uplink channel where the wireless device 212 transmits a frequency hopping SRS in accordance with some embodiments of the present disclosure. This process is one example of the embodiment described in the previous paragraph. As illustrated, the wireless device 212 transmits an SRS in a first time instant using a first precoder on a first set of subcarriers, the first set of subcarriers being comprised within a first resource group of subcarriers over which precoders are presumed to remain constant (step 600). The wireless device 212 transmits the SRS in a second time instant after the first time instant using a second precoder on a second set of subcarriers, the second set of subcarriers being comprised within a second resource group of subcarriers over which precoders are presumed to remain constant (step 602). The wireless device 212 transmits a physical uplink channel that occupies at least part of the first resource group and at least part of the second resource group such that a network node of the wireless communication system can assume that the first precoder and the second precoder are used to transmit the physical uplink channel on the first resource group and the second resource group, respectively (step 604). For example, the wireless device 212 may transmit the physical uplink channel such that the first precoder is applied to the portion in the first resource group and the second precoder is applied to the portion in the second resource group.)
Regarding claim 132, the combination of Sebastian, Yang, and Matsumura teaches the UE of claim 129 (see rejection for claim 132);
Sebastian further teaches wherein: the PUSCH is scheduled via a dynamic grant and the first and second precoders are configured via a pair of TPMIs in a downlink control information (DCI) (Paragraph [0006]: The precoder matrix is typically selected from a codebook of possible precoder matrices, and is typically indicated by means of a Transmit Precoder Matrix Indicator (TPMI), which specifies a unique precoder matrix in the codebook for a given number of symbol streams. The r symbols in s each correspond to a layer and r is referred to as the transmission rank. In this way, spatial multiplexing is achieved since multiple symbols can be transmitted simultaneously over the same Time/Frequency Resource Element (TFRE). Paragraph [0014]: Other information than TPMI is generally used to determine the uplink MIMO transmission state, such as SRS Resource Indicators (SRIs) as well as Transmission Rank Indicators (TRIs). These parameters, as well as the Modulation and Coding State (MCS), and the uplink resources where Physical Uplink Shared Channel (PUSCH) is to be transmitted, are also determined by channel measurements derived from SRS transmissions from the UE. Paragraph [0021]: The gNB correspondingly determines one or more preferred SRS resources and instructs the UE to use the precoder(s) applied for precoding the one or more preferred SRS resources also for the PUSCH transmission. This instruction may be signaled in the form of one or more SRI(s) comprised in the Downlink Control Information (DCI) carrying the uplink grant. Paragraph [0079]: In some embodiments, when indicated with an SRS Resource Indicator (SRI) in Downlink Control Information (DCI) (also referred to herein as a DCI message) scheduling a PUSCH transmission and where the PUSCH resource allocation comprises resource blocks where the indicated SRS resource has not been transmitted, the UE applies the precoding applied to the SRS on the closest resource block where the SRS was transmitted.)
Regarding claim 133, the combination of Sebastian, Yang, and Matsumura teaches The UE of claim 132 (see rejection for claim 132);
Sebastian further teaches wherein the pair of TPMIs have a same rank (Paragraph [0006]: The precoder matrix is typically selected from a codebook of possible precoder matrices, and is typically indicated by means of a Transmit Precoder Matrix Indicator (TPMI), which specifies a unique precoder matrix in the codebook for a given number of symbol streams. The r symbols in s each correspond to a layer and r is referred to as the transmission rank. In this way, spatial multiplexing is achieved since multiple symbols can be transmitted simultaneously over the same Time/Frequency Resource Element (TFRE). Paragraph [0014]: Other information than TPMI is generally used to determine the uplink MIMO transmission state, such as SRS Resource Indicators (SRIs) as well as Transmission Rank Indicators (TRIs). These parameters, as well as the Modulation and Coding State (MCS), and the uplink resources where Physical Uplink Shared Channel (PUSCH) is to be transmitted, are also determined by channel measurements derived from SRS transmissions from the UE. The transmission rank, and thus the number of spatially multiplexed layers, is reflected in the number of columns of the precoder W. For efficient performance, it is important that a transmission rank that matches the channel properties is selected.)
Regarding claim 134, the combination of Sebastian, Yang, and Matsumura teaches the UE of claim 129 (see rejection for claim 129);
Sebastian further teaches wherein: the PUSCH is scheduled via a configured grant and the first and second precoders are configured via radio resource control (RRC) signaling (Paragraph [0022]: The bandwidth of an SRS resource is Radio Resource Control (RRC) configured and the SRS can span either the full bandwidth the UE is configured to operate with, or a smaller sub-band, where the sub-band can be defined with a granularity of four Physical Resource Blocks (PRBs). Paragraph [0025]: Typically, the gNB would configure the UE, implicitly or explicitly, with which CSI-RS resource it can use to aid precoder candidate determination. In some proposals for NR, this may be done by indicating that a certain CSI-RS resource is reciprocally spatially quasi co-located with the SRS resource(s) the UE is scheduled to use for uplink sounding, for instance as a part of RRC configuration. Paragraph [0026]: How the SRS transmission should be done, for example which SRS resource to use, the number of ports per SRS resource, etc., needs to be signaled to the UE from the TRP. One way to solve this (in a low overhead way) is to predefine a set of “SRS transmission settings” using higher layer signaling (e.g., RRC) and then indicate in DCI which “SRS transmission setting” that the UE should apply. An “SRS transmission setting” can for example contain information regarding which SRS resources and SRS ports that the UE should use in the coming SRS transmission. Paragraph [0030]: Thus, the RRC configuration of “SRS transmission settings” are done with the IE SRS-Config, which contains a list of SRS-Resources (the list constitutes a “pool” of resources) wherein each SRS resource contains information of the physical mapping of the reference signal on the time-frequency grid, time-domain information, sequence Identifiers (IDs), etc. The SRS-Config also contains a list of SRS resource sets, which contains a list of SRS resources and an associated DCI trigger state. Thus, when a certain DCI state is triggered, it indicates that the SRS resources in the associated set shall be transmitted by the UE.)
Regarding claim 135, the combination of Sebastian, Yang, and Matsumura teaches the UE of claim 129 (see rejection for claim 129);
Sebastian further teaches wherein: resources of the at least first part FDRA and second part FDRA are localized (Paragraph [0092]: When the UE 212 is scheduled with a PUSCH transmission, the resource allocation indicates the PRBs on which the PUSCH is to be transmitted. Two types of resource allocations are available in NR, Type 0 and Type 1. With Type 0 resource allocation, a bitmap is signaled where each bit in the bitmap corresponds to a Resource Block Group (RBG) which comprises a number (2, 4, 8, or 16 depending on configuration) of contiguous PRBs. With Type 1 resource allocation, a contiguous number of PRBs are scheduled, which is indicated with a start PRB index and the allocation size in the number of PRBs. Regardless of how the scheduling resource allocation is conveyed, the UE 212 is informed which PRBs in the active Bandwidth (BW) Part (BWP) the PUSCH is to be transmitted on.)
Regarding claim 139, the combination of Sebastian, Yang, and Matsumura teaches the UE of claim 129 (see rejection for claim 129);
Sebastian further teaches wherein the indicated FDRA has a localized pattern; and wherein the processing system is further configured to determine a first half of the indicated FDRA is the first part FDRA; and determine a second half of the indicated FDRA is the second part FDRA (Paragraph [0031]: In some embodiments, a method of operation of a wireless communication device for transmitting a physical uplink channel in a wireless communication system comprises transmitting an SRS on a first set of frequency-domain resources and receiving an uplink scheduling assignment for an uplink physical channel. The uplink scheduling assignment comprises a resource allocation of a second set of frequency-domain resources. The second set of frequency-domain resources comprises: (a) one or more frequency-domain resources that are also included in the first set of frequency-domain resources and (b) one or more frequency-domain resources that are not included in the first set of frequency-domain resources. The method further comprises, in order to form a precoded uplink channel, for each frequency-domain resource of one or more frequency-domain resources comprised in both the first set of frequency-domain resources and the second set of frequency-domain resources, applying a same precoding to the uplink physical channel on the frequency-domain resource as applied to the SRS on the frequency-domain resource. The method further comprises, in order to form a precoded uplink channel, for each frequency-domain resource of the one or more frequency-domain resources comprised in the second set of frequency-domain resources but not included in the first set of frequency-domain resources, applying a same precoding to the uplink physical channel on the frequency-domain resource as applied to the SRS on a different frequency-domain resource. Paragraph [0036]: In some embodiments, a wireless communication device for transmitting a physical uplink channel in a wireless communication system comprises one or more transmitters, one or more receivers, and processing circuitry configured to cause the wireless communication device to transmit an SRS on a first set of frequency-domain resources and receive an uplink scheduling assignment for an uplink physical channel. The uplink scheduling assignment comprises a resource allocation of a second set of frequency-domain resources. Paragraph [0092]: When the UE 212 is scheduled with a PUSCH transmission, the resource allocation indicates the PRBs on which the PUSCH is to be transmitted. Two types of resource allocations are available in NR, Type 0 and Type 1. With Type 0 resource allocation, a bitmap is signaled where each bit in the bitmap corresponds to a Resource Block Group (RBG) which comprises a number (2, 4, 8, or 16 depending on configuration) of contiguous PRBs. With Type 1 resource allocation, a contiguous number of PRBs are scheduled, which is indicated with a start PRB index and the allocation size in the number of PRBs. Regardless of how the scheduling resource allocation is conveyed, the UE 212 is informed which PRBs in the active Bandwidth (BW) Part (BWP) the PUSCH is to be transmitted on.)
Regarding claim 140, the combination of Sebastian, Yang, and Matsumura teaches the UE of claim 129, (see rejection for claim 129);
Sebastian further teaches wherein the processing system is further configured to: determine the first part FDRA based on the indicated FDRA and; and determine the second part FDRA based on the indicated FDRA (Paragraph [0031]: In some embodiments, a method of operation of a wireless communication device for transmitting a physical uplink channel in a wireless communication system comprises transmitting an SRS on a first set of frequency-domain resources and receiving an uplink scheduling assignment for an uplink physical channel. The uplink scheduling assignment comprises a resource allocation of a second set of frequency-domain resources. The second set of frequency-domain resources comprises: (a) one or more frequency-domain resources that are also included in the first set of frequency-domain resources and (b) one or more frequency-domain resources that are not included in the first set of frequency-domain resources. The method further comprises, in order to form a precoded uplink channel, for each frequency-domain resource of one or more frequency-domain resources comprised in both the first set of frequency-domain resources and the second set of frequency-domain resources, applying a same precoding to the uplink physical channel on the frequency-domain resource as applied to the SRS on the frequency-domain resource. The method further comprises, in order to form a precoded uplink channel, for each frequency-domain resource of the one or more frequency-domain resources comprised in the second set of frequency-domain resources but not included in the first set of frequency-domain resources, applying a same precoding to the uplink physical channel on the frequency-domain resource as applied to the SRS on a different frequency-domain resource. Paragraph [0036]: In some embodiments, a wireless communication device for transmitting a physical uplink channel in a wireless communication system comprises one or more transmitters, one or more receivers, and processing circuitry configured to cause the wireless communication device to transmit an SRS on a first set of frequency-domain resources and receive an uplink scheduling assignment for an uplink physical channel. The uplink scheduling assignment comprises a resource allocation of a second set of frequency-domain resources.)
Sebastian does not explicitly teach the characteristics of the first power amplifier (PA) used to transmit the first part of the PUSCH, and characteristics of the second PA used to transmit the second part of the PUSCH.
However, Yang teaches the characteristics of the first power amplifier (PA) used to transmit the first part of the PUSCH, and characteristics of the second PA used to transmit the second part of the PUSCH (Paragraph [0008]: The transceiver may include a plurality of power amplifiers and a plurality of antenna ports each corresponding to a respective one of the power amplifiers that correspond to a plurality of antennas. The transceiver may be capable of wirelessly communicating with a network node via the plurality of antenna ports. The processor may be capable of the following: receiving, via the transceiver, downlink signaling having a plurality of fields from the network node; determining a transmission rank of a plurality of transmission ranks, a sub-band of a plurality of sub-bands based on information indicated in the downlink signaling, and transmit precoding matrix for each sub-band according to TPMI signaling within the downlink signaling from the network node at the determined transmission rank and in the determined sub-band a size of which is based on the determined transmission rank; transmitting, via the transceiver, a reference signal to the network node via the plurality of antenna ports; and transmitting, via the transceiver, data through a physical uplink shared channel (PUSCH) to the network node via the plurality of antenna ports. The processor may also be capable of controlling output powers of the plurality of power amplifiers such that, for at least a first antenna of the plurality of antennas, an amount of power used by the first antenna in transmitting the data and another amount of power used by the first antenna in transmitting the reference signal are equal.)
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to provide the characteristics of the first power amplifier (PA) used to transmit the first part of the PUSCH, and characteristics of the second PA used to transmit the second part of the PUSCH, as taught by Yang in the system of Sebastian, so that the processor can control the amount of power used for transmitting each part of the PUSCH (Yang: Paragraph [0006], [0008]).
Regarding claim 145, the combination of Sebastian, Yang, and Matsumura teaches the UE of claim 129 (see rejection for claim 129);
Sebastian further teaches wherein the receiver is configured to receive separate FDRA configuration information for the first and second part FDRAs (Paragraph [0021]: The gNB correspondingly determines one or more preferred SRS resources and instructs the UE to use the precoder(s) applied for precoding the one or more preferred SRS resources also for the PUSCH transmission. This instruction may be signaled in the form of one or more SRI(s) comprised in the Downlink Control Information (DCI) carrying the uplink grant, but may alternatively or additionally include TRI signaling. Paragraph [0031]: The uplink scheduling assignment comprises a resource allocation of a second set of frequency-domain resources. The second set of frequency-domain resources comprises: (a) one or more frequency-domain resources that are also included in the first set of frequency-domain resources and (b) one or more frequency-domain resources that are not included in the first set of frequency-domain resources. The method further comprises, in order to form a precoded uplink channel, for each frequency-domain resource of one or more frequency-domain resources comprised in both the first set of frequency-domain resources and the second set of frequency-domain resources, applying a same precoding to the uplink physical channel on the frequency-domain resource as applied to the SRS on the frequency-domain resource. The method further comprises, in order to form a precoded uplink channel, for each frequency-domain resource of the one or more frequency-domain resources comprised in the second set of frequency-domain resources but not included in the first set of frequency-domain resources, applying a same precoding to the uplink physical channel on the frequency-domain resource as applied to the SRS on a different frequency-domain resource. The method further comprises transmitting the precoded uplink channel. Paragraph [0041]: The method further comprises transmitting a physical uplink channel that occupies at least part of the first resource group and at least part of the second resource group such that a network node of the wireless communication system can assume that the first precoder and the second precoder are used to transmit the physical uplink channel on the first resource group and the second resource group, respectively. Paragraph [0042]: In some embodiments, transmitting the physical uplink channel comprises transmitting the physical uplink channel such that the first precoder is applied to a portion of the physical uplink channel comprised in the at least part of the first resource group and the second precoder is applied to a portion of the physical uplink channel comprised in the at least part of the second resource group.)
Regarding claim 146, the combination of Sebastian, Yang, and Matsumura teaches the UE of claim 129 (see rejection for claim 129);
Sebastian further teaches wherein the receiver is configured to receive an FDRA configuration for the first part FDRA, and wherein the processing system is further configured to: determine the second part FDRA based on the FDRA configuration for the first part FDRA and a frequency offset (Paragraph [0031]: The uplink scheduling assignment comprises a resource allocation of a second set of frequency-domain resources. The second set of frequency-domain resources comprises: (a) one or more frequency-domain resources that are also included in the first set of frequency-domain resources and (b) one or more frequency-domain resources that are not included in the first set of frequency-domain resources. The method further comprises, in order to form a precoded uplink channel, for each frequency-domain resource of one or more frequency-domain resources comprised in both the first set of frequency-domain resources and the second set of frequency-domain resources, applying a same precoding to the uplink physical channel on the frequency-domain resource as applied to the SRS on the frequency-domain resource. The method further comprises, in order to form a precoded uplink channel, for each frequency-domain resource of the one or more frequency-domain resources comprised in the second set of frequency-domain resources but not included in the first set of frequency-domain resources, applying a same precoding to the uplink physical channel on the frequency-domain resource as applied to the SRS on a different frequency-domain resource. The method further comprises transmitting the precoded uplink channel. Paragraph [0041]: The method further comprises transmitting a physical uplink channel that occupies at least part of the first resource group and at least part of the second resource group such that a network node of the wireless communication system can assume that the first precoder and the second precoder are used to transmit the physical uplink channel on the first resource group and the second resource group, respectively. Paragraph [0042]: In some embodiments, transmitting the physical uplink channel comprises transmitting the physical uplink channel such that the first precoder is applied to a portion of the physical uplink channel comprised in the at least part of the first resource group and the second precoder is applied to a portion of the physical uplink channel comprised in the at least part of the second resource group. Paragraph [0108]: In this regard, FIG. 6 is a flow chart that illustrates the operation of a wireless device 212 to transmit a physical uplink channel where the wireless device 212 transmits a frequency hopping SRS in accordance with some embodiments of the present disclosure. This process is one example of the embodiment described in the previous paragraph. As illustrated, the wireless device 212 transmits an SRS in a first time instant using a first precoder on a first set of subcarriers, the first set of subcarriers being comprised within a first resource group of subcarriers over which precoders are presumed to remain constant (step 600). The wireless device 212 transmits the SRS in a second time instant after the first time instant using a second precoder on a second set of subcarriers, the second set of subcarriers being comprised within a second resource group of subcarriers over which precoders are presumed to remain constant (step 602). The wireless device 212 transmits a physical uplink channel that occupies at least part of the first resource group and at least part of the second resource group such that a network node of the wireless communication system can assume that the first precoder and the second precoder are used to transmit the physical uplink channel on the first resource group and the second resource group, respectively (step 604). For example, the wireless device 212 may transmit the physical uplink channel such that the first precoder is applied to the portion in the first resource group and the second precoder is applied to the portion in the second resource group.)
Claim 136 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Sebastian in view of Yang, and Matsumura, and further in view of Kim et al. (US20140185560A1).
Regarding claim 136, the combination of Sebastian, Yang, and Matsumura teaches the UE of claim 135 (see rejection for claim 135);
The combination of Sebastian, Yang, and Matsumura does not explicitly teach wherein the first and second precoders share a common demodulation reference (DMRS) port.
However, Kim teaches wherein the first and second precoders share a common demodulation reference (DMRS) port (Paragraph [0097]: When a UE is allocated with multiple REGs which are distributed in multiple RBs, the same REG and DMRS port mapping can be applied to each RB. Alternatively, the precoder can have a further cycling on an RB index or a subframe index. For example, REG i is transmitted using DMRS port 7+[(i+F)mod M], where F=F(nRB,nsubframe) is a predefined function depending on the RB index nRB where the REG is located, and/or the subframe index nsubframe where the REG is located. Paragraph [0101]: In an exemplary embodiment of the present invention, the system may only configure one DMRS port for an RB, e.g., all the REs use port 7 for demodulation assuming rank-1 transmission. The eNB may change precoder from VRB to VRB, which is transparent to the UE. In this case, as only one-port DMRS is transmitted, the DMRS power for port 7 can be boosted with 3 dB as no port-8 DMRS is transmitted. The configuration is similar to that in FIG. 6, except that only DMRS port 7 is configured/transmitted in the allocated REs. Paragraph [0108]: Each subset of REs in an RB is mapped to a predefined DMRS port. Paragraph [0109]: The precoder applied for each DMRS port may or may not change from RB to RB. Paragraph [0111]: A UE utilizes the reference signal inside the RB for channel estimation of each DMRS port, and demodulates each data symbol with the predefined DMRS port channel.)
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to provide wherein the first and second precoders share a common demodulation reference (DMRS) port, as taught by Kim in the combined system of Sebastian, Yang, and Matsumura, so that the UE can use the reference signal for channel estimation of the DMRS port, and demodulate with the predefined DMRS port (Kim: Paragraphs [0097], [0101], [0108], [0109], [0111]).
Claims 137, 144 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Sebastian in view of Yang, and Matsumura, and further in view of Liu et al. (US20200119783A1).
Regarding claim 137, the combination of Sebastian, Yang, and Matsumura teaches the UE of claim 129 (see rejection for claim 129);
The combination of Sebastian, Yang, and Matsumura does not explicitly teach wherein: resources of the at least first part FDRA and second part FDRA are interleaved.
However, Liu teaches wherein: resources of the at least first part FDRA and second part FDRA are interleaved (Paragraph [0112]: In one embodiment, the positions of the K first frequency bands in the PUSCH scheduling frequency band may further include K odd-numbered frequency bands in the PUSCH scheduling frequency band, and K even-numbered frequency bands in the PUSCH scheduling frequency band. The position indication information of the K first frequency bands is used to indicate either of the foregoing cases. In this way, overheads for notifying a precoding matrix in a frequency band by using signaling can be furthest reduced while a precoding matrix is better selected.)
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to provide wherein: resources of the at least first part FDRA and second part FDRA are interleaved, as taught by Liu in the combined system of Sebastian, Yang, and Matsumura, so that signaling overheads can be reduced (Liu: Paragraphs [0007], [0112]).
Regarding claim 144, the combination of Sebastian, Yang, and Matsumura teaches the UE of claim 129 (see rejection for claim 129);
The combination of Sebastian and Yang does not explicitly teach wherein the indicated FDRA has an interleaved pattern, and wherein the processing system is further configured to: determine even resource elements (REs) of the indicated FDRA are for the first part FDRA; and determine odd REs of the indicated FDRA are for the second part FDRA.
However, Matsumura teaches wherein the processing system is further configured to: determine even resource elements (REs) of the indicated FDRA are for the first part FDRA; and determine odd REs of the indicated FDRA are for the second part FDRA (Paragraph [0058]: FIG. 3 is a diagram to show an example in which the UE having UE capability 2 performs full power transmission by using FDM. In the present example, with respect to single layer PUSCH transmission, four PRBs (PRBs # 0 to #3) are allocated to the UE. The UE uses only antenna port # 0 for PUSCH transmission using a first RB set (PRBs # 0 and #1), and uses only antenna port # 1 for PUSCH transmission using a second RB set (PRBs # 2 and #3). Paragraph [0059]: It may be assumed that a first precoding matrix (e.g., [1, 0]) is applied to the first RB set and a second precoding matrix (e.g., [0, 1]) is applied to the second RB set. Paragraph [0102]: In a case of performing PUSCH full power transmission based on the RE set, as shown in the right side of FIG. 7, the UE may allocate part (e.g., {X0, X2, X4, X6, X8, X10}) of the above-described sequence having the sequence length 12 to RE set #0 (antenna port #0), and may allocate the rest (e.g., {X1, X3, X5, X7, X9, X11}) of the above-described sequence having the sequence length 12 to RE set #1 (antenna port #1). Paragraph [0103]: In a way of allocation shown in the right side of FIG. 7, each PRB of illustrated 2 PRBs is allocated to a different RE set (antenna port). According to such an RE pattern, a frequency range of the RE set is narrow, and thus reduction of signal interference between RE sets can be expected (a possibility of occurrence of interference due to REs shifted by Doppler shift can be suppressed). Paragraph [0107]: In a case of performing PUSCH full power transmission based on the RE set, as shown in the right side of FIG. 9, the UE may allocate part (e.g., {X1, X3, X5, X7, X9, X11}) of the above-described sequence having the sequence length 12 to RE set #0 (antenna port #0), and may allocate the rest (e.g., {X0, X2, X4, X6, X8, X10}) of the above-described sequence having the sequence length 12 to RE set #1 (antenna port #1). Paragraph [0108]: In a way of allocation shown in the right side of FIG. 9, each PRB of illustrated 2 PRBs includes both RE sets (antenna ports). According to such an RE pattern, a frequency range of the RE set is broad, and thus a frequency diversity effect between RE sets can be obtained preferably.)
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to provide wherein the processing system is further configured to: determine even resource elements (REs) of the indicated FDRA are for the first part FDRA; and determine odd REs of the indicated FDRA are for the second part FDRA, as taught by Matsumura in the combined system of Sebastian and Yang, so that signal interference can be suppressed and frequency diversity can be obtained (Matsumura: Paragraphs [0102], [0103], [0107], [0108]).
The combination of Sebastian, Yang, and Matsumura does not explicitly teach wherein the indicated FDRA has an interleaved pattern.
However, Liu teaches wherein the indicated FDRA has an interleaved pattern (Paragraph [0112]: In one embodiment, the positions of the K first frequency bands in the PUSCH scheduling frequency band may further include K odd-numbered frequency bands in the PUSCH scheduling frequency band, and K even-numbered frequency bands in the PUSCH scheduling frequency band. The position indication information of the K first frequency bands is used to indicate either of the foregoing cases. In this way, overheads for notifying a precoding matrix in a frequency band by using signaling can be furthest reduced while a precoding matrix is better selected.)
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to provide wherein the indicated FDRA has an interleaved pattern, as taught by Liu in the combined system of Sebastian, Yang, and Matsumura, so that signaling overheads can be reduced (Liu: Paragraphs [0007], [0112]).
Claim 138 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Sebastian in view of Yang, Matsumura, and Liu, and further in view of Kim.
Regarding claim 138, the combination of Sebastian, Yang, Matsumura, and Liu teaches the UE of claim 137 (see rejection for claim 137);
The combination of Sebastian, Yang, Matsumura, and Liu does not explicitly teach wherein: a first demodulation reference (DMRS) port is associated with the first precoder; and a second DMRS port is associated with the second precoder.
However, Kim teaches wherein: a first demodulation reference (DMRS) port is associated with the first precoder; and a second DMRS port is associated with the second precoder (Paragraph [0098]: Intra-REG cycling is also possible for this DMRS port based precoding cycling. An example is illustrated in FIG. 9, where the UE assumes DMRS ports 7-10 for decoding of one of the four REs in an REG. The intra mapping rule can be defined as the RE i″ in REG i′ is transmitted using DMRS port 7+[(i″+F)mod M], where F=F(i′,nRB,nsubframe). FIG. 9 illustrates an example for the case where M=4 and F=i′. Paragraph [0100]: Referring to FIG. 9, precoder cycling is done using four precoders W0, W1, W2, W3 with DMRS port 7, port 8, port 9, and port 10. The eNB may also change the precoder used for each DMRS port from RB to RB, e.g., port 7/8 uses W1/W2 in VRB 1, and uses W3/W4 in VRB 2, and so on. This operation is transparent to the UE, as the UE only utilizes the DMRS inside each RB for demodulation. Paragraph [0116]: The UE performs channel estimation for each configured DMRS port, and uses the estimated DMRS channel for corresponding REG/RE demodulation at step 1250.)
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to provide wherein: a first demodulation reference (DMRS) port is associated with the first precoder; and a second DMRS port is associated with the second precoder, as taught by Kim in the combined system of Sebastian, Yang, Matsumura, and Liu, so that the UE can perform channel estimation for each configured DMRS port, and use the estimated DMRS channel for corresponding REG/RE demodulation (Kim: Paragraphs [0098], [0100], [0116]).
Claims 141, 142, 143 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Sebastian, in view of Yang, and Matsumura, and further in view of Jiang et al. (US20210160913A1).
Regarding claim 141, the combination of Sebastian, Yang, and Matsumura teaches the UE of claim 129 (see rejection for claim 129);
The combination of Sebastian, Yang, and Matsumura does not explicitly teach wherein the first and second FDRAs are determined by dividing a total FDRA based on a rule, such that: an amount of frequency resources of the first FDRA is a multiple of a power of a first integer, a power of a second integer, and a power of a third integer; and an amount of frequency resources of the second FDRA is also a multiple of a power of the first integer, a power of the second integer, and a power of the third integer.
However, Jiang teaches wherein the first and second FDRAs are determined by dividing a total FDRA based on a rule, such that: an amount of frequency resources of the first FDRA is a multiple of a power of a first integer, a power of a second integer, and a power of a third integer; and an amount of frequency resources of the second FDRA is also a multiple of a power of the first integer, a power of the second integer, and a power of the third integer (Paragraph [0048]: In step S302, N scheduling subbands in the PUSCH are divided into K1 first scheduling subband groups and K2 second scheduling subband groups according to the total number N of the scheduling subbands in the PUSCH and the total number K of precoding indications in the DCI, where each first scheduling subband group includes A1 scheduling subbands, and each second scheduling subband group includes A2 scheduling subbands. Paragraph [0049]: In one embodiment, K1=mod(N, K), where mod( ) is a mathematical operation of taking the remainder; K 2 =K−K 1. Paragraph [0050]: It can be seen that in this embodiment, the scheduling subbands in the PUSCH are divided into scheduling subband groups, the quantity of which is the same as the total number of precoding indications in the DCI, and each scheduling subband in the PUSCH cannot exist in multiple scheduling subband groups simultaneously. In addition, two types of scheduling subband groups are included in this embodiment: the first scheduling subband group includes A1 scheduling subbands, and the second scheduling subband group includes A2 scheduling subbands. When the value of N is an integer multiple of the value of K, the value of A1 is equal to the value of A2; when the value of N is not an integer multiple of the value of K, A1=A2+1. Paragraph [0051]: In one embodiment, in order to make K precoding indications correspond to equally separated frequency domain scheduling resources as much as possible, N scheduling subbands in the PUSCH are divided into the K1 first scheduling subband groups and the K2 second scheduling subband groups specifically in one of four division manners described below. Paragraph [0052]: The first division manner is to divide first (K1*A1) scheduling subbands in the PUSCH into the K1 first scheduling subband groups, and divide last (K2*A2) scheduling subbands in the PUSCH into the K2 second scheduling subband groups. Paragraph [0054]: The second division manner is to divide first (K2*A2) scheduling subbands in the PUSCH into the K2 second scheduling subband groups, and divide last (K1*A1) scheduling subbands in the PUSCH into the K1 first scheduling subband groups. Paragraph [0055]: The third division manner is to alternately and sequentially divide N scheduling subbands in the PUSCH into a first scheduling subband group and a second scheduling subband group. That is, first A1 continuous scheduling subbands in the PUSCH are divided into a first scheduling subband group, next A2 continuous scheduling subbands are divided into a second scheduling subband group, then next A1 continuous scheduling subbands are divided into a first scheduling subband group, and rest scheduling subbands are divided in the same way until K1 or K1 precoding indications are completely allocated. Paragraph [0057]: The fourth division manner is to alternately divide N scheduling subbands in the PUSCH into a first scheduling subband group and a second scheduling subband group reversely. For example, first A1 continuous scheduling subbands in the PUSCH are divided into a first scheduling subband group, next A2 continuous scheduling subbands are divided into a second scheduling subband group, then next A2 continuous scheduling subbands are divided into a second scheduling subband group, and then next A1 continuous scheduling subbands are divided into a first scheduling subband group until K1 or K2 precoding indications are completely allocated.)
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to provide wherein the first and second FDRAs are determined by dividing a total FDRA based on a rule, such that: an amount of frequency resources of the first FDRA is a multiple of a power of a first integer, a power of a second integer, and a power of a third integer; and an amount of frequency resources of the second FDRA is also a multiple of a power of the first integer, a power of the second integer, and a power of the third integer, as taught by Jiang in the combined system of Sebastian, Yang, and Matsumura, so that the frequency resources correspond to equally separated frequency domain scheduling resources (Jiang: Paragraphs [0048]-[0057]).
Regarding claim 142, the combination of Sebastian, Yang, Matsumura, and Jiang teaches the UE of claim 141 (see rejection for claim 141);
The combination of Sebastian, Yang, and Matsumura does not explicitly teach wherein the rule involves a sequential decomposition, starting with a first multiplier which can yield equal decomposition.
However, Jiang teaches wherein the rule involves a sequential decomposition, starting with a first multiplier which can yield equal decomposition (Paragraph [0050]: It can be seen that in this embodiment, the scheduling subbands in the PUSCH are divided into scheduling subband groups, the quantity of which is the same as the total number of precoding indications in the DCI, and each scheduling subband in the PUSCH cannot exist in multiple scheduling subband groups simultaneously. In addition, two types of scheduling subband groups are included in this embodiment: the first scheduling subband group includes A1 scheduling subbands, and the second scheduling subband group includes A2 scheduling subbands. When the value of N is an integer multiple of the value of K, the value of A1 is equal to the value of A2; when the value of N is not an integer multiple of the value of K, A1=A2+1. Paragraph [0051]: In one embodiment, in order to make K precoding indications correspond to equally separated frequency domain scheduling resources as much as possible, N scheduling subbands in the PUSCH are divided into the K1 first scheduling subband groups and the K2 second scheduling subband groups specifically in one of four division manners described below.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to provide wherein the rule involves a sequential decomposition, starting with a first multiplier which can yield equal decomposition, as taught by Jiang in the combined system of Sebastian, Yang, and Matsumura, so that the frequency resources correspond to equally separated frequency domain scheduling resources (Jiang: Paragraphs [0048] - [0057]).
Regarding claim 143, the combination of Sebastian, Yang, Matsumura, and Jiang teaches the UE of claim 142 (see rejection for claim 142);
The combination of Sebastian, Yang, and Matsumura does not explicitly teach wherein the sequential decomposition continues with multipliers with more unbalanced decomposition and ends at a multiplier with a most unbalanced decomposition.
However, Jiang teaches wherein the sequential decomposition continues with multipliers with more unbalanced decomposition and ends at a multiplier with a most unbalanced decomposition (Paragraph [0049]: In one embodiment, K1=mod(N, K), where mod( ) is a mathematical operation of taking the remainder; K 2 =K−K 1. Paragraph [0050]: It can be seen that in this embodiment, the scheduling subbands in the PUSCH are divided into scheduling subband groups, the quantity of which is the same as the total number of precoding indications in the DCI, and each scheduling subband in the PUSCH cannot exist in multiple scheduling subband groups simultaneously. In addition, two types of scheduling subband groups are included in this embodiment: the first scheduling subband group includes A1 scheduling subbands, and the second scheduling subband group includes A2 scheduling subbands. When the value of N is an integer multiple of the value of K, the value of A1 is equal to the value of A2; when the value of N is not an integer multiple of the value of K, A1=A2+1. Paragraph [0051]: In one embodiment, in order to make K precoding indications correspond to equally separated frequency domain scheduling resources as much as possible, N scheduling subbands in the PUSCH are divided into the K1 first scheduling subband groups and the K2 second scheduling subband groups specifically in one of four division manners described below. Paragraph [0052]: The first division manner is to divide first (K1*A1) scheduling subbands in the PUSCH into the K1 first scheduling subband groups, and divide last (K2*A2) scheduling subbands in the PUSCH into the K2 second scheduling subband groups. Paragraph [0054]: The second division manner is to divide first (K2*A2) scheduling subbands in the PUSCH into the K2 second scheduling subband groups, and divide last (K1*A1) scheduling subbands in the PUSCH into the K1 first scheduling subband groups. Paragraph [0055]: The third division manner is to alternately and sequentially divide N scheduling subbands in the PUSCH into a first scheduling subband group and a second scheduling subband group. That is, first A1 continuous scheduling subbands in the PUSCH are divided into a first scheduling subband group, next A2 continuous scheduling subbands are divided into a second scheduling subband group, then next A1 continuous scheduling subbands are divided into a first scheduling subband group, and rest scheduling subbands are divided in the same way until K1 or K1 precoding indications are completely allocated. Paragraph [0057]: The fourth division manner is to alternately divide N scheduling subbands in the PUSCH into a first scheduling subband group and a second scheduling subband group reversely. For example, first A1 continuous scheduling subbands in the PUSCH are divided into a first scheduling subband group, next A2 continuous scheduling subbands are divided into a second scheduling subband group, then next A2 continuous scheduling subbands are divided into a second scheduling subband group, and then next A1 continuous scheduling subbands are divided into a first scheduling subband group until K1 or K2 precoding indications are completely allocated.)
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to provide wherein the sequential decomposition continues with multipliers with more unbalanced decomposition and ends at a multiplier with a most unbalanced decomposition, as taught by Jiang in the combined system of Sebastian, Yang, and Matsumura, so that the frequency resources can be allocated based on frequency domain scheduling resources (Jiang: Paragraphs [0048] - [0057]).
Claims 147-157 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Sebastian in view of Yang, and Matsumura, and further in view of Yoshimura et al. (US20230093299A1).
Regarding claim 147, the combination of Sebastian, Yang, and Matsumura teaches the UE of claim 129 (see rejection for claim 129);
The combination of Sebastian, Yang, and Matsumura does not explicitly teach wherein the processing system is further configured to determine a transport block size (TBS) for the first part PUSCH and the second part PUSCH based on resource elements (REs) available in both the first and second part FDRAs.
However, Yoshimura teaches wherein the processing system is further configured to determine a transport block size (TBS) for the first part PUSCH and the second part PUSCH based on resource elements (REs) available in both the first and second part FDRAs (Paragraph [0021]: the present invention is a terminal apparatus including: a receiver configured to receive a control signal indicating information for identifying a first precoder subset of a first precoder set, and receive a DCI format including a field indicating a first precoder out of precoders included in the first precoder subset; and a transmitter configured to transmit a PUSCH scheduled by the DCI format, wherein the first precoder subset at least includes a second precoder, the second precoder is determined based on the first precoder, and the transmitter applies the first precoder to the PUSCH of a first slot subset of the slot set, and applies the second precoder to the PUSCH of a second slot subset of the slot set. Paragraph [0297]: The format of the PUSCH may be given based at least on a part or all of a mapping period of the transport block, a mapping period of a sequence of modulation symbols, a mapping period of the DMRS for the PUSCH, and a coherence period of the PUSCH. In a case that the terminal apparatus 1 transmits the PUSCH, the terminal apparatus 1 may determine the format of the PUSCH, based at least on a part or all of the mapping period of the transport block, the mapping period of the sequence of the modulation symbols, the mapping period of the DMRS for the PUSCH, and the coherence period of the PUSCH. In a case that the base station apparatus 3 receives the PUSCH transmitted from the terminal apparatus 1, the base station apparatus 3 may determine the format of the PUSCH, based at least on a part or all of the mapping period of the transport block, the mapping period of the sequence of the modulation symbols, the mapping period of the DMRS for the PUSCH, and the coherence period of the PUSCH. Paragraph [0305]: The mapping period of the transport block may correspond to the number of slots including a certain transport block. For example, the certain transport block may be mapped over a length X0 corresponding to one period of the mapping period of the transport block. Paragraph [0310]: For example, the configuration of the PUSCH in the time domain may be the number of slots to which the PUSCH is mapped. Paragraph [0314]: For example, the sequence of modulation symbols generated from one transport block may be mapped to the resource elements included in a length X1 corresponding to one period of the mapping period of the modulation symbols, based on the frequency-first time-second manner. For example, X1 may be indicated by an RRC parameter. For example, X1 may be determined based at least on an RRC parameter. For example, X1 may be determined based at least on higher layer signaling. For example, X1 may be indicated by an uplink grant used for scheduling of a transmitted PUSCH including the transport block. For example, X1 may be determined based at least on an uplink grant used for scheduling of a PUSCH to be transmitted including the transport block. For example, X1 may be indicated by one DCI format. For example, X1 may be determined based at least on one DCI format. Paragraph [0460]: The terminal apparatus 1 may determine the transport block, based at least on a part or all of the following procedure 1 to procedure 3. Procedure 1) Determine the number NRE of resource elements in a time length X4 Procedure 2) Determine an intermediate value of information bits (Intermediate number of information bits) Ninfo=NRE·R·Qm·ν Procedure 3) Determine the size of the transport block. Paragraph [0514]: The effective coding rate may be calculated by dividing the size of the transport block by a product of the number of resource elements of the PUSCH included in a period in which the transport block is mapped and the order of the modulation scheme of the PUSCH. Paragraph [0550]: For example, the first operator may be used in procedure 1a related to determination of the size of the transport block. For example, in procedure 1a, Na RE may be controlled based at least on the first operator. For example, in procedure 1a, NRB sc·Nsh symb may be multiplied by a value given as the first operator. Here, the value given as the first operator may be a value exceeding 1. For example, in procedure 1a, the value given as the first operator may be NPRB oh. For example, in procedure 1a, Na RE may be given by Na RE=NRB sc·Nsh symb−NPRS DMRS−NPRS oh+X, and X may be the value given as the first operator.)
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to provide wherein the processing system is further configured to determine a transport block size (TBS) for the first part PUSCH and the second part PUSCH based on resource elements (REs) available in both the first and second part FDRAs, as taught by Yoshimura in the combined system of Sebastian, Yang, and Matsumura, so that the UE can determine the format of the PUSCH based on the transport block size which can improve transmission performance (Yoshimura: Paragraphs [0297], [0298], [0305], [0310], [0314]).
Regarding claim 148, the combination of Sebastian, Yang, Matsumura, and Yoshimura teaches the UE of claim 147 (see rejection for claim 147);
The combination of Sebastian, Yang, and Matsumura does not explicitly teach wherein the processing system is further configured to map bits of the PUSCH to REs per FDRA part: first across frequency and time of the first part FDRA; and second across frequency and time of the second part FDRA.
However, Yoshimura teaches wherein the processing system is further configured to map bits of the PUSCH to REs per FDRA part: first across frequency and time of the first part FDRA; and second across frequency and time of the second part FDRA (Paragraph [0021]: the present invention is a terminal apparatus including: a receiver configured to receive a control signal indicating information for identifying a first precoder subset of a first precoder set, and receive a DCI format including a field indicating a first precoder out of precoders included in the first precoder subset; and a transmitter configured to transmit a PUSCH scheduled by the DCI format, wherein the first precoder subset at least includes a second precoder, the second precoder is determined based on the first precoder, and the transmitter applies the first precoder to the PUSCH of a first slot subset of the slot set, and applies the second precoder to the PUSCH of a second slot subset of the slot set. Paragraph [0305]: The mapping period of the transport block may correspond to the number of slots including a certain transport block. For example, the certain transport block may be mapped over a length X0 corresponding to one period of the mapping period of the transport block. Paragraph [0310]: For example, the configuration of the PUSCH in the time domain may be the number of slots to which the PUSCH is mapped. Paragraph [0312]: The sequence of modulation symbols generated from one transport block may be mapped to resource elements included in xl slots, based on a Frequency-first Time-second manner. The frequency-first time-second manner may be a manner of mapping the modulation symbols to multiple resource elements arranged in the time frequency domain, based on the following procedures. Procedure 1) Identify a set of initial resource elements in the time domain, and proceed to procedure 2 Procedure 2) Map the modulation symbols in order from the initial resource element in the frequency domain in the identified set of resource elements Procedure 3) Compare with the identified set of resource elements, identify a subsequent set of resource elements in the time domain, and proceed to procedure 2). Paragraph [0313]: For example, procedure 1 in FIG. 10 may be identifying a set of resource elements at least including a resource element A1, a resource element A2, and a resource element A3. Procedure 2 in FIG. 10 may be mapping the modulation symbols in order from the resource element A1 to the resource element A3 via the resource element A2. Procedure 3 in FIG. 10 may be identifying a set of resource elements at least including a resource element A4, a resource element A5, and a resource element A6. Procedure 2 after procedure 3 in FIG. 10 may be mapping the modulation symbols in order from the resource element A4 to the resource element A6 via the resource element A5. Paragraph [0314]: For example, the sequence of modulation symbols generated from one transport block may be mapped to the resource elements included in a length X1 corresponding to one period of the mapping period of the modulation symbols, based on the frequency-first time-second manner.)
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to provide wherein the processing system is further configured to map bits of the PUSCH to REs per FDRA part: first across frequency and time of the first part FDRA; and second across frequency and time of the second part FDRA, as taught by Yoshimura in the combined system of Sebastian, Yang, and Matsumura, so that the transport block can be mapped to multiple resource elements arranged in the time frequency domain which can facilitate frequency selective precoding(Yoshimura: Paragraphs [0021], [0312], [0313], [0314]).
Regarding claim 149, the combination of Sebastian, Yang, Matsumura, and Yoshimura teaches the UE of claim 147 (see rejection for claim 147);
The combination of Sebastian, Yang, and Matsumura does not explicitly teach wherein the processing system is further configured to map bits of the PUSCH to REs per FDRA part: first across frequency of the at least first part FDRA and second part FDRA; and second across time of the at least first part FDRA and second part FDRA.
However, Yoshimura teaches wherein the processing system is further configured to map bits of the PUSCH to REs per FDRA part: first across frequency of the at least first part FDRA and second part FDRA; and second across time of the at least first part FDRA and second part FDRA (Abstract: transmit a PUSCH in a slot set by applying multiple transmission filters respectively based on multiple pieces of spatial relation information included in a spatial relation information subset of the spatial relation information set. The spatial relation information subset at least includes first spatial relation information and second spatial relation information different from the first spatial relation information. The transmitter applies a transmission filter of the multiple transmission filters based on the first spatial relation information to the PUSCH of a first slot subset of the slot set. The transmitter applies a transmission filter of the multiple transmission filters based on the second spatial relation information to the PUSCH of a second slot subset of the slot set. Paragraph [0297]: The format of the PUSCH may be given based at least on a part or all of a mapping period of the transport block, a mapping period of a sequence of modulation symbols, a mapping period of the DMRS for the PUSCH, and a coherence period of the PUSCH. In a case that the terminal apparatus 1 transmits the PUSCH, the terminal apparatus 1 may determine the format of the PUSCH, based at least on a part or all of the mapping period of the transport block, the mapping period of the sequence of the modulation symbols, the mapping period of the DMRS for the PUSCH, and the coherence period of the PUSCH. In a case that the base station apparatus 3 receives the PUSCH transmitted from the terminal apparatus 1, the base station apparatus 3 may determine the format of the PUSCH, based at least on a part or all of the mapping period of the transport block, the mapping period of the sequence of the modulation symbols, the mapping period of the DMRS for the PUSCH, and the coherence period of the PUSCH. [0312]: The sequence of modulation symbols generated from one transport block may be mapped to resource elements included in xl slots, based on a Frequency-first Time-second manner. The frequency-first time-second manner may be a manner of mapping the modulation symbols to multiple resource elements arranged in the time frequency domain, based on the following procedures. Procedure 1) Identify a set of initial resource elements in the time domain, and proceed to procedure 2 Procedure 2) Map the modulation symbols in order from the initial resource element in the frequency domain in the identified set of resource elements Procedure 3) Compare with the identified set of resource elements, identify a subsequent set of resource elements in the time domain, and proceed to procedure 2). Paragraph [0313]: For example, procedure 1 in FIG. 10 may be identifying a set of resource elements at least including a resource element A1, a resource element A2, and a resource element A3. Procedure 2 in FIG. 10 may be mapping the modulation symbols in order from the resource element A1 to the resource element A3 via the resource element A2. Procedure 3 in FIG. 10 may be identifying a set of resource elements at least including a resource element A4, a resource element A5, and a resource element A6. Procedure 2 after procedure 3 in FIG. 10 may be mapping the modulation symbols in order from the resource element A4 to the resource element A6 via the resource element A5. Paragraph [0374]: For example, in one period of the coherence period, the terminal apparatus 1 may apply the same precoding. For example, in one period of the coherence period, the terminal apparatus 1 may apply the same spatial filter.)
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to provide wherein the processing system is further configured to map bits of the PUSCH to REs per FDRA part: first across frequency of the at least first part FDRA and second part FDRA; and second across time of the at least first part FDRA and second part FDRA, as taught by Yoshimura in the combined system of Sebastian, Yang, and Matsumura, so that transport block can be mapped to multiple resource elements arranged in the time frequency domain such that the transmission can be based on multiple spatial relations to the time slots (Yoshimura: Abstract, Paragraphs [0297], [0312]).
Regarding claim 150, the combination of Sebastian, Yang, and Matsumura teaches the UE of claim 129 (see rejection for claim 129);
The combination of Sebastian, Yang, and Matsumura does not explicitly teach wherein the processing system is further configured to determine a transport block size (TBS) for the first and second part PUSCHs based on resource elements (REs) available in a single FDRA and a modulation and a configured coding scheme (MCS).
However, Yoshimura teaches wherein the processing system is further configured to determine a transport block size (TBS) for the first and second part PUSCHs based on resource elements (REs) available in a single FDRA and a modulation and a configured coding scheme (MCS) (Paragraph [0021]: the present invention is a terminal apparatus including: a receiver configured to receive a control signal indicating information for identifying a first precoder subset of a first precoder set, and receive a DCI format including a field indicating a first precoder out of precoders included in the first precoder subset; and a transmitter configured to transmit a PUSCH scheduled by the DCI format, wherein the first precoder subset at least includes a second precoder, the second precoder is determined based on the first precoder, and the transmitter applies the first precoder to the PUSCH of a first slot subset of the slot set, and applies the second precoder to the PUSCH of a second slot subset of the slot set. Paragraph [0175]: The MCS field included in DCI format 0_0 may be at least used for indicating a part or all of a modulation scheme for the PUSCH and/or a target coding rate. The target coding rate may be a target coding rate for the transport block of the PUSCH. The size of the transport block (Transport Block Size (TBS)) of the PUSCH may be given based at least on a part or all of the target coding rate and the modulation scheme for the PUSCH. Paragraph [0297]: The format of the PUSCH may be given based at least on a part or all of a mapping period of the transport block, a mapping period of a sequence of modulation symbols, a mapping period of the DMRS for the PUSCH, and a coherence period of the PUSCH. In a case that the terminal apparatus 1 transmits the PUSCH, the terminal apparatus 1 may determine the format of the PUSCH, based at least on a part or all of the mapping period of the transport block, the mapping period of the sequence of the modulation symbols, the mapping period of the DMRS for the PUSCH, and the coherence period of the PUSCH. In a case that the base station apparatus 3 receives the PUSCH transmitted from the terminal apparatus 1, the base station apparatus 3 may determine the format of the PUSCH, based at least on a part or all of the mapping period of the transport block, the mapping period of the sequence of the modulation symbols, the mapping period of the DMRS for the PUSCH, and the coherence period of the PUSCH. Paragraph [0514]: The effective coding rate may be calculated by dividing the size of the transport block by a product of the number of resource elements of the PUSCH included in a period in which the transport block is mapped and the order of the modulation scheme of the PUSCH. Paragraph [0515]: The MCS field included in the uplink grant used for scheduling of the PUSCH may indicate one index. Here, in a first case, the target coding rate may be given based on a first MCS table and the one index. In a second case, the target coding rate may be given based on a second MCS table and the one index. Here, all of the target coding rates included in the first MCS table may be equal to or less than the prescribed value.)
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to provide wherein the processing system is further configured to determine a transport block size (TBS) for the first and second part PUSCHs based on resource elements (REs) available in a single FDRA and a modulation and a configured coding scheme (MCS), as taught by Yoshimura in the combined system of Sebastian, Yang, and Matsumura, so that a target coding rate can be determined for the transport block for the PUSCH (Yoshimura: Paragraphs [0021], [0175], [0297], [0515])).
Regarding claim 151, the combination of Sebastian, Yang, Matsumura, and Yoshimura teaches the UE of claim 150 (see rejection for claim 150);
Sebastian further teaches wherein the single FDRA comprises the first FDRA part or the second FDRA part (Paragraph [0014]: Other information than TPMI is generally used to determine the uplink MIMO transmission state, such as SRS Resource Indicators (SRIs) as well as Transmission Rank Indicators (TRIs). These parameters, as well as the Modulation and Coding State (MCS), and the uplink resources where Physical Uplink Shared Channel (PUSCH) is to be transmitted, are also determined by channel measurements derived from SRS transmissions from the UE. The transmission rank, and thus the number of spatially multiplexed layers, is reflected in the number of columns of the precoder W. For efficient performance, it is important that a transmission rank that matches the channel properties is selected. Paragraph [0031]: The uplink scheduling assignment comprises a resource allocation of a second set of frequency-domain resources. The second set of frequency-domain resources comprises: (a) one or more frequency-domain resources that are also included in the first set of frequency-domain resources and (b) one or more frequency-domain resources that are not included in the first set of frequency-domain resources. The method further comprises, in order to form a precoded uplink channel, for each frequency-domain resource of one or more frequency-domain resources comprised in both the first set of frequency-domain resources and the second set of frequency-domain resources, applying a same precoding to the uplink physical channel on the frequency-domain resource as applied to the SRS on the frequency-domain resource. The method further comprises, in order to form a precoded uplink channel, for each frequency-domain resource of the one or more frequency-domain resources comprised in the second set of frequency-domain resources but not included in the first set of frequency-domain resources, applying a same precoding to the uplink physical channel on the frequency-domain resource as applied to the SRS on a different frequency-domain resource. The method further comprises transmitting the precoded uplink channel. Paragraph [0041]: The method further comprises transmitting a physical uplink channel that occupies at least part of the first resource group and at least part of the second resource group such that a network node of the wireless communication system can assume that the first precoder and the second precoder are used to transmit the physical uplink channel on the first resource group and the second resource group, respectively. Paragraph [0042]: In some embodiments, transmitting the physical uplink channel comprises transmitting the physical uplink channel such that the first precoder is applied to a portion of the physical uplink channel comprised in the at least part of the first resource group and the second precoder is applied to a portion of the physical uplink channel comprised in the at least part of the second resource group.)
Regarding claim 152, the combination of Sebastian, Yang, Matsumura, and Yoshimura teaches the UE of claim 151 (see rejection for claim 151);
Sebastian further teaches wherein the single FDRA comprises whichever of the first or second FDRA part has a larger resource allocation (Paragraph [0041]: The method further comprises transmitting a physical uplink channel that occupies at least part of the first resource group and at least part of the second resource group such that a network node of the wireless communication system can assume that the first precoder and the second precoder are used to transmit the physical uplink channel on the first resource group and the second resource group, respectively. Paragraph [0042]: In some embodiments, transmitting the physical uplink channel comprises transmitting the physical uplink channel such that the first precoder is applied to a portion of the physical uplink channel comprised in the at least part of the first resource group and the second precoder is applied to a portion of the physical uplink channel comprised in the at least part of the second resource group. Paragraph [0101]: The frequency band for the PUSCH transmission is larger than the frequency band of the SRS transmission, which means that the UE 212 does not know how to precode the PUSCH for these extra frequency bands. However, as can be seen in FIG. 3 , the UE 212 applies the same precoder as was used for the PRB, PRG, or sub-band closest to the extra frequency band for the PUSCH transmission. Paragraph [0108]: In this regard, FIG. 6 is a flow chart that illustrates the operation of a wireless device 212 to transmit a physical uplink channel where the wireless device 212 transmits a frequency hopping SRS in accordance with some embodiments of the present disclosure. This process is one example of the embodiment described in the previous paragraph. As illustrated, the wireless device 212 transmits an SRS in a first time instant using a first precoder on a first set of subcarriers, the first set of subcarriers being comprised within a first resource group of subcarriers over which precoders are presumed to remain constant (step 600). The wireless device 212 transmits the SRS in a second time instant after the first time instant using a second precoder on a second set of subcarriers, the second set of subcarriers being comprised within a second resource group of subcarriers over which precoders are presumed to remain constant (step 602). The wireless device 212 transmits a physical uplink channel that occupies at least part of the first resource group and at least part of the second resource group such that a network node of the wireless communication system can assume that the first precoder and the second precoder are used to transmit the physical uplink channel on the first resource group and the second resource group, respectively (step 604). For example, the wireless device 212 may transmit the physical uplink channel such that the first precoder is applied to the portion in the first resource group and the second precoder is applied to the portion in the second resource group.)
Regarding claim 153, the combination of Sebastian, Yang, Matsumura, and Yoshimura teaches the UE of claim 150 (see rejection for claim 150);
The combination of Sebastian, Yang, and Matsumura does not explicitly teach wherein a single redundancy version (RV) is used for the first and second PUSCH parts.
However, Yoshimura teaches wherein a single redundancy version (RV) is used for the first and second PUSCH parts (Paragraph [0329]: For example, the position of the coded bit included in the initial modulation symbol of the sequence of modulation symbols may be given by a Redandancy Version (RV). The RV is information indicating the position of the initial coded bit of the sequence of coded bits used in generation of the sequence of modulation symbols. For example, information indicating the RV may be included in at least any one of an RRC parameter, higher layer signaling, an uplink grant used for scheduling information of a transmitted PUSCH including the transport block, or one DCI format. Paragraph [0332]: For example, one RV may be indicated for the initial one period among one or multiple mapping periods of the sequence of the modulation symbols included in the time domain of the PUSCH in the PUSCH scheduled by one uplink grant. Here, information indicating the one RV may be included in at least any one of an RRC parameter, higher layer signaling, an uplink grant used for scheduling information of a transmitted PUSCH including the transport block, or one DCI format.)
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to provide wherein a single redundancy version (RV) is used for the first and second PUSCH parts, as taught by Yoshimura in the combined system of Sebastian, Yang, and Matsumura, so that the RV information can be used to generate the sequence of modulation symbols (Yoshimura: Paragraphs [0329], [0332]).
Regarding claim 154, the combination of Sebastian, Yang, Matsumura, and Yoshimura teaches the UE of claim 150 (see rejection for claim 150);
The combination of Sebastian, Yang, and Matsumura does not explicitly teach wherein the processing system is further configured to map bits of the PUSCH to REs per FDRA part: first across frequency and time of the first part FDRA; and second across frequency and time of the second part FDRA.
However, Yoshimura teaches wherein the processing system is further configured to map bits of the PUSCH to REs per FDRA part: first across frequency and time of the first part FDRA; and second across frequency and time of the second part FDRA (Paragraph [0021]: the present invention is a terminal apparatus including: a receiver configured to receive a control signal indicating information for identifying a first precoder subset of a first precoder set, and receive a DCI format including a field indicating a first precoder out of precoders included in the first precoder subset; and a transmitter configured to transmit a PUSCH scheduled by the DCI format, wherein the first precoder subset at least includes a second precoder, the second precoder is determined based on the first precoder, and the transmitter applies the first precoder to the PUSCH of a first slot subset of the slot set, and applies the second precoder to the PUSCH of a second slot subset of the slot set. Paragraph [0175]: The MCS field included in DCI format 0_0 may be at least used for indicating a part or all of a modulation scheme for the PUSCH and/or a target coding rate. The target coding rate may be a target coding rate for the transport block of the PUSCH. The size of the transport block (Transport Block Size (TBS)) of the PUSCH may be given based at least on a part or all of the target coding rate and the modulation scheme for the PUSCH. Paragraph [0297]: The format of the PUSCH may be given based at least on a part or all of a mapping period of the transport block, a mapping period of a sequence of modulation symbols, a mapping period of the DMRS for the PUSCH, and a coherence period of the PUSCH. In a case that the terminal apparatus 1 transmits the PUSCH, the terminal apparatus 1 may determine the format of the PUSCH, based at least on a part or all of the mapping period of the transport block, the mapping period of the sequence of the modulation symbols, the mapping period of the DMRS for the PUSCH, and the coherence period of the PUSCH. In a case that the base station apparatus 3 receives the PUSCH transmitted from the terminal apparatus 1, the base station apparatus 3 may determine the format of the PUSCH, based at least on a part or all of the mapping period of the transport block, the mapping period of the sequence of the modulation symbols, the mapping period of the DMRS for the PUSCH, and the coherence period of the PUSCH. Paragraph [0305]: The mapping period of the transport block may correspond to the number of slots including a certain transport block. For example, the certain transport block may be mapped over a length X0 corresponding to one period of the mapping period of the transport block. Paragraph [0310]: For example, the configuration of the PUSCH in the time domain may be the number of slots to which the PUSCH is mapped. Paragraph [0312]: The sequence of modulation symbols generated from one transport block may be mapped to resource elements included in xl slots, based on a Frequency-first Time-second manner. The frequency-first time-second manner may be a manner of mapping the modulation symbols to multiple resource elements arranged in the time frequency domain, based on the following procedures. Procedure 1) Identify a set of initial resource elements in the time domain, and proceed to procedure 2 Procedure 2) Map the modulation symbols in order from the initial resource element in the frequency domain in the identified set of resource elements Procedure 3) Compare with the identified set of resource elements, identify a subsequent set of resource elements in the time domain, and proceed to procedure 2). Paragraph [0313]: For example, procedure 1 in FIG. 10 may be identifying a set of resource elements at least including a resource element A1, a resource element A2, and a resource element A3. Procedure 2 in FIG. 10 may be mapping the modulation symbols in order from the resource element A1 to the resource element A3 via the resource element A2. Procedure 3 in FIG. 10 may be identifying a set of resource elements at least including a resource element A4, a resource element A5, and a resource element A6. Procedure 2 after procedure 3 in FIG. 10 may be mapping the modulation symbols in order from the resource element A4 to the resource element A6 via the resource element A5. Paragraph [0314]: For example, the sequence of modulation symbols generated from one transport block may be mapped to the resource elements included in a length X1 corresponding to one period of the mapping period of the modulation symbols, based on the frequency-first time-second manner. Paragraph [0514]: The effective coding rate may be calculated by dividing the size of the transport block by a product of the number of resource elements of the PUSCH included in a period in which the transport block is mapped and the order of the modulation scheme of the PUSCH. Paragraph [0515]: The MCS field included in the uplink grant used for scheduling of the PUSCH may indicate one index. Here, in a first case, the target coding rate may be given based on a first MCS table and the one index. In a second case, the target coding rate may be given based on a second MCS table and the one index. Here, all of the target coding rates included in the first MCS table may be equal to or less than the prescribed value.)
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to provide wherein the processing system is further configured to map bits of the PUSCH to REs per FDRA part: first across frequency and time of the first part FDRA; and second across frequency and time of the second part FDRA, as taught by Yoshimura in the combined system of Sebastian, Yang, and Matsumura, in order to map multiple resource elements arranged in the time frequency domain which can facilitate frequency selective precoding, as well as to determine a target coding rate for the transport block for the PUSCH (Yoshimura: Paragraphs [0021], [0175], [0297], [0312], [0313], [0314], [0515]).
Regarding claim 155, the combination of Sebastian, Yang, Matsumura, and Yoshimura teaches the UE of claim 150 (see rejection for claim 150);
The combination of Sebastian, Yang, and Matsumura does not explicitly teach wherein the processing system is further configured to map bits of the PUSCH to REs per FDRA part: first across frequency of the at least first part FDRA and second part FDRA; and second across time of the at least first part FDRA and second part FDRA.
However, Yoshimura teaches wherein the processing system is further configured to map bits of the PUSCH to REs per FDRA part: first across frequency of the at least first part FDRA and second part FDRA; and second across time of the at least first part FDRA and second part FDRA (Abstract: transmit a PUSCH in a slot set by applying multiple transmission filters respectively based on multiple pieces of spatial relation information included in a spatial relation information subset of the spatial relation information set. The spatial relation information subset at least includes first spatial relation information and second spatial relation information different from the first spatial relation information. The transmitter applies a transmission filter of the multiple transmission filters based on the first spatial relation information to the PUSCH of a first slot subset of the slot set. The transmitter applies a transmission filter of the multiple transmission filters based on the second spatial relation information to the PUSCH of a second slot subset of the slot set. Paragraph [0175]: The MCS field included in DCI format 0_0 may be at least used for indicating a part or all of a modulation scheme for the PUSCH and/or a target coding rate. The target coding rate may be a target coding rate for the transport block of the PUSCH. The size of the transport block (Transport Block Size (TBS)) of the PUSCH may be given based at least on a part or all of the target coding rate and the modulation scheme for the PUSCH. Paragraph [0297]: The format of the PUSCH may be given based at least on a part or all of a mapping period of the transport block, a mapping period of a sequence of modulation symbols, a mapping period of the DMRS for the PUSCH, and a coherence period of the PUSCH. In a case that the terminal apparatus 1 transmits the PUSCH, the terminal apparatus 1 may determine the format of the PUSCH, based at least on a part or all of the mapping period of the transport block, the mapping period of the sequence of the modulation symbols, the mapping period of the DMRS for the PUSCH, and the coherence period of the PUSCH. In a case that the base station apparatus 3 receives the PUSCH transmitted from the terminal apparatus 1, the base station apparatus 3 may determine the format of the PUSCH, based at least on a part or all of the mapping period of the transport block, the mapping period of the sequence of the modulation symbols, the mapping period of the DMRS for the PUSCH, and the coherence period of the PUSCH. [0312]: The sequence of modulation symbols generated from one transport block may be mapped to resource elements included in xl slots, based on a Frequency-first Time-second manner. The frequency-first time-second manner may be a manner of mapping the modulation symbols to multiple resource elements arranged in the time frequency domain, based on the following procedures. Procedure 1) Identify a set of initial resource elements in the time domain, and proceed to procedure 2 Procedure 2) Map the modulation symbols in order from the initial resource element in the frequency domain in the identified set of resource elements Procedure 3) Compare with the identified set of resource elements, identify a subsequent set of resource elements in the time domain, and proceed to procedure 2). Paragraph [0313]: For example, procedure 1 in FIG. 10 may be identifying a set of resource elements at least including a resource element A1, a resource element A2, and a resource element A3. Procedure 2 in FIG. 10 may be mapping the modulation symbols in order from the resource element A1 to the resource element A3 via the resource element A2. Procedure 3 in FIG. 10 may be identifying a set of resource elements at least including a resource element A4, a resource element A5, and a resource element A6. Procedure 2 after procedure 3 in FIG. 10 may be mapping the modulation symbols in order from the resource element A4 to the resource element A6 via the resource element A5. Paragraph [0374]: For example, in one period of the coherence period, the terminal apparatus 1 may apply the same precoding. For example, in one period of the coherence period, the terminal apparatus 1 may apply the same spatial filter. Paragraph [0514]: The effective coding rate may be calculated by dividing the size of the transport block by a product of the number of resource elements of the PUSCH included in a period in which the transport block is mapped and the order of the modulation scheme of the PUSCH. Paragraph [0515]: The MCS field included in the uplink grant used for scheduling of the PUSCH may indicate one index. Here, in a first case, the target coding rate may be given based on a first MCS table and the one index. In a second case, the target coding rate may be given based on a second MCS table and the one index. Here, all of the target coding rates included in the first MCS table may be equal to or less than the prescribed value.)
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to provide wherein the processing system is further configured to map bits of the PUSCH to REs per FDRA part: first across frequency of the at least first part FDRA and second part FDRA; and second across time of the at least first part FDRA and second part FDRA, as taught by Yoshimura in the combined system of Sebastian, Yang, and Matsumura, so that the transport block can be mapped to multiple resource elements arranged in the time frequency domain such that the transmission can be based on multiple spatial relations to the time slots, and a target coding rate can be determined for the transport block for the PUSCH (Yoshimura: Abstract, Paragraphs [0175], [0297], [0312], [0515]).
Regarding claim 156, the combination of Sebastian, Yang, Matsumura, and Yoshimura teaches the UE of claim 150 (see rejection for claim 150);
The combination of Sebastian, Yang, and Matsumura does not explicitly teach wherein: multiple redundancy versions (RVs) are used for the first and second PUSCH parts; and the processing system is further configured to map bits of the PUSCH to REs per FDRA part.
However, Yoshimura teaches wherein: multiple redundancy versions (RVs) are used for the first and second PUSCH parts (Paragraph [0330]: For example, one RV may be given for each single period of the mapping period of the sequence of the modulation symbols. For example, the coded bit included in the initial modulation symbol of the sequence of modulation symbols may be given for each single period of the mapping period of the sequence of the modulation symbols. For example, information indicating one RV for each single period of the mapping period of the sequence of the modulation symbols may be included in at least any one of an RRC parameter, higher layer signaling, an uplink grant used for scheduling information of a transmitted PUSCH including the transport block, or one DCI format. For example, one RV for each single period of the mapping period of the sequence of the modulation symbols may be determined based at least on any one of an RRC parameter, higher layer signaling, an uplink grant used for scheduling information of a transmitted PUSCH including the transport block, or one DCI format. Paragraph [0331]: In an example illustrated in FIG. 9 , one RV may be indicated for one period including slot #0 to slot #3, and one RV may be indicated for one period including slot #4 to slot #7. Paragraph [0332]: Here, the RV for each of one or multiple mapping periods of the sequence of the modulation symbols included in the time domain of the PUSCH except for the initial one period may be given based at least on the one RV.)
and the processing system is further configured to map bits of the PUSCH to REs per FDRA part (Paragraph [0310]: For example, the configuration of the PUSCH in the time domain may be the number of slots to which the PUSCH is mapped. Paragraph [0312]: The sequence of modulation symbols generated from one transport block may be mapped to resource elements included in xl slots, based on a Frequency-first Time-second manner. The frequency-first time-second manner may be a manner of mapping the modulation symbols to multiple resource elements arranged in the time frequency domain, based on the following procedures. Procedure 1) Identify a set of initial resource elements in the time domain, and proceed to procedure 2 Procedure 2) Map the modulation symbols in order from the initial resource element in the frequency domain in the identified set of resource elements Procedure 3) Compare with the identified set of resource elements, identify a subsequent set of resource elements in the time domain, and proceed to procedure 2). Paragraph [0313]: For example, procedure 1 in FIG. 10 may be identifying a set of resource elements at least including a resource element A1, a resource element A2, and a resource element A3. Procedure 2 in FIG. 10 may be mapping the modulation symbols in order from the resource element A1 to the resource element A3 via the resource element A2. Procedure 3 in FIG. 10 may be identifying a set of resource elements at least including a resource element A4, a resource element A5, and a resource element A6. Procedure 2 after procedure 3 in FIG. 10 may be mapping the modulation symbols in order from the resource element A4 to the resource element A6 via the resource element A5. Paragraph [0314]: For example, the sequence of modulation symbols generated from one transport block may be mapped to the resource elements included in a length X1 corresponding to one period of the mapping period of the modulation symbols, based on the frequency-first time-second manner. Paragraph [0374]: For example, in one period of the coherence period, the terminal apparatus 1 may apply the same precoding. For example, in one period of the coherence period, the terminal apparatus 1 may apply the same spatial filter.)
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to provide wherein: multiple redundancy versions (RVs) are used for the first and second PUSCH parts; and the processing system is further configured to map bits of the PUSCH to REs per FDRA part, as taught by Yoshimura in the combined system of Sebastian, Yang, and Matsumura, so that the RV information can be used to generate the sequence of modulation symbols, and the transport block can be mapped to multiple resource elements arranged in the time frequency domain (Yoshimura: Paragraphs [0312], [0313], [0314], [0330], [0331], [0332]).
Regarding claim 157, the combination of Sebastian, Yang, and Matsumura teaches the UE of claim 129 (see rejection for claim 129);
The combination of Sebastian, Yang, and Matsumura does not explicitly teach wherein: a single demodulation reference signal (DMRS) is associated with both the first and second precoders; and separate phase tracking reference signals (PTRS) are associated with the first and second precoders.
However, Yoshimura teaches wherein: a single demodulation reference signal (DMRS) is associated with both the first and second precoders (Abstract: transmit a PUSCH in a slot set by applying multiple transmission filters respectively based on multiple pieces of spatial relation information included in a spatial relation information subset of the spatial relation information set. The spatial relation information subset at least includes first spatial relation information and second spatial relation information different from the first spatial relation information. The transmitter applies a transmission filter of the multiple transmission filters based on the first spatial relation information to the PUSCH of a first slot subset of the slot set. The transmitter applies a transmission filter of the multiple transmission filters based on the second spatial relation information to the PUSCH of a second slot subset of the slot set. Paragraph [0021]: the present invention is a terminal apparatus including: a receiver configured to receive a control signal indicating information for identifying a first precoder subset of a first precoder set, and receive a DCI format including a field indicating a first precoder out of precoders included in the first precoder subset; and a transmitter configured to transmit a PUSCH scheduled by the DCI format, wherein the first precoder subset at least includes a second precoder, the second precoder is determined based on the first precoder, and the transmitter applies the first precoder to the PUSCH of a first slot subset of the slot set, and applies the second precoder to the PUSCH of a second slot subset of the slot set. Paragraph [0142]: A set of antenna ports of the DMRS for the PUSCH (DMRS related to the PUSCH, DMRS included in the PUSCH, DMRS corresponding to the PUSCH) may be given based on a set of antenna ports for the PUSCH. In other words, the set of antenna ports of the DMRS for the PUSCH may be the same as a set of antenna ports of the PUSCH. Paragraph [0143]: Transmission of the PUSCH and transmission of the DMRS for the PUSCH may be indicated by one DCI format (or may be scheduled). The PUSCH and the DMRS for the PUSCH may be collectively referred to as a PUSCH. Transmission of the PUSCH may mean transmission of the PUSCH and the DMRS for the PUSCH. Paragraph [0304]: The mapping period (modulation symbol mapping period) of the sequence of the modulation symbols of the PUSCH may be 4 slots. The mapping period (DMRS mapping period) of the DMRS for the PUSCH may be 2. The coherence period (Channel coference) of the DMRS for the PUSCH may be 2.)
and separate phase tracking reference signals (PTRS) are associated with the first and second precoders (Paragraph [0009]: transmit a PUSCH in a slot set by applying multiple transmission filters respectively based on multiple pieces of spatial relation information included in a spatial relation information subset of the spatial relation information set, wherein the spatial relation information subset at least includes first spatial relation information and second spatial relation information different from the first spatial relation information, the transmitter applies a transmission filter of the multiple transmission filters based on the first spatial relation information to the PUSCH of a first slot subset of the slot set, and applies a transmission filter of the multiple transmission filters based on the second spatial relation information to the PUSCH of a second slot subset of the slot set. Paragraph [0137]: The uplink physical signal may correspond to a set of resource elements. The uplink physical signal need not carry information generated in a higher layer. The uplink physical signal may be a physical signal used in the uplink component carrier. The terminal apparatus 1 may transmit the uplink physical signal. The base station apparatus 3 may receive the uplink physical signal. In the radio communication system according to an aspect of the present embodiment, at least a part or all of the following uplink physical signals may be used. Paragraph [0140]: UpLink Phase Tracking Reference Signal (UL PTRS). Paragraph [0385]: The first codebook group may be utilized for switching the antenna ports used for transmission of the PUSCH. The codebooks included in the first codebook group may be at least used in a case that there is no coherence among multiple antenna ports included in the terminal apparatus 1. The fact that there is no coherence among multiple antenna ports may mean that it cannot be ensured that, among characteristics of a signal transmitted from each of the multiple antenna ports, a part or all of transmission timing, transmission power, expected received power, and initial phase of the signal are the same.)
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to provide wherein: a single demodulation reference signal (DMRS) is associated with both the first and second precoders; and separate phase tracking reference signals (PTRS) are associated with the first and second precoders, as taught by Yoshimura in the combined system of Sebastian, Yang, and Matsumura, so that for a single DMRS associated with both precoders transmission of the PUSCH and transmission of the DMRS for the PUSCH may be indicated and scheduled by one DCI format. Having separate PTRS associated with each of the precoders may be necessary when initial phase of the signals transmitted from the antenna ports are not the same (Yoshimura: Paragraphs [0009], [0142], [0143], [0385])
Claims 158-160 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Sebastian in view of Yang, and Matsumura, and further in view of Rastegardoost et al. (US20230379923A1).
Regarding claim 158, the combination of Sebastian, Yang, and Matsumura teaches the UE of claim 129 (see rejection for claim 129);
The combination of Sebastian, Yang, and Matsumura does not explicitly teach wherein the processing system is further configured to multiplex uplink control information (UCI) with at least one of the first part PUSCH or second part PUSCH.
However, Rastegardoost teaches wherein the processing system is further configured to multiplex uplink control information (UCI) with at least one of the first part PUSCH or second part PUSCH (Abstract: A wireless device receives configuration parameters of resources of a configured uplink grant, comprising a physical uplink shared channel (PUSCH) transmission occasion. The wireless device multiplexes a first configured grant uplink control information (CG-UCI) in one or more first resource elements of a first sub-band of the PUSCH transmission occasion and a second CG-UCI in one or more second resource elements of a second sub-band of the PUSCH transmission occasion, wherein the second CG-UCI is based on a repetition of the first CG-UCI. The wireless device transmits, via the PUSCH transmission occasion, at least one of the first CG-UCI and the second CG-UCI. Paragraph [0304]: In an example, UCI multiplexed with data and transmitted via PUSCH may carry HARQ process ID, NDI, RVID and other information related to the transmitted data. UCI multiplexed with data and carrying information related to data may need to be encoded and decoded separately before the data to enable the soft combining of the packet at the base station. Paragraph [0309]: In an example, a wireless device may update its configured-grant transmission parameters such as MCS, RI and PMI, and indicate the changes to the base station within the uplink burst. In an example, a pre-configured pool of pilot signals may indicate the change, e.g., DMRS and cyclic shifts. In an example, UCI multiplexed with PUSCH may indicate the UE updated transmission parameters. Paragraph [0385]: In an example, configured grant-based and/or dynamically scheduled wideband transmission may span multiple subbands. The subset of LBT subbands used for CG PUSCH and/or scheduled PUSCH transmission may be contiguous. Paragraph [0428]: In an example, the UE may map/multiplex the CG-UCI in a CG PUSCH that spans over two or more subbands. The UE may multiplex/map the CG-UCI in/onto at least one of the two or more subbands. For example, the UE may map the CG-UCI for one or more times on the REs/PRBs across the two or more subbands, e.g. by interlacing. This may increase a robustness of the CG-UCI transmission by utilizing channel diversity across subbands.)
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to provide wherein the processing system is further configured to multiplex uplink control information (UCI) with at least one of the first part PUSCH or second part PUSCH, as taught by Rastegardoost in the combined system of Sebastian, Yang, and Matsumura, in order to increase the robustness of the CG-UCI transmission by utilizing channel diversity across subbands (Rastegardoost: Paragraphs: [0304], [0385], [0428]).
Regarding claim 159, the combination of Sebastian, Yang, Matsumura, and Rastegardoost teaches the UE of claim 158 (see rejection for claim 158);
The combination of Sebastian, Yang, and Matsumura does not explicitly teach wherein the UCI is multiplexed in just one of the first part PUSCH, the second part PUSCH, or based on a size of the corresponding part FDRA.
However, Rastegardoost teaches wherein the UCI is multiplexed in just one of the first part PUSCH, the second part PUSCH, or based on a size of the corresponding part FDRA (Paragraph [0422]: FIG. 22 shows an example where the UE maps a CG-UCI to a CG-UCI region comprising one or more REs/PRBs in a first subband of two or more subbands within the CG PUSCH bandwidth. The UE may multiplex the CG-UCI in the PUSCH within the first subband. For example, the UE may perform rate-matching for multiplexing the CG-UCI. For example, the UE may puncture/empty one or more first REs of the CG PUSCH resource on the first subband allocated to CG-UCI, and adjust a data rate/encoding rate on one or more second REs of the CG PUSCH resource, and encode the CG-UCI on the one or more first REs. For example, the UE may perform puncturing for multiplexing the CG-UCI. For example, the UE may puncture/empty one or more REs of the CG PUSCH resource on the first subband allocated to CG-UCI, and encode the CG-UCI on the one or more REs. Paragraph [0423]: The first subband may be a subband with a smallest index than other subbands in the CG PUSCH bandwidth/BWP. The first subband may be indicated by the BS. For example, the BS may send a DCI indicating a COT sharing with the UE on one or more of the subbands comprising the first subband. For example, the BS may indicate the first subband via semi-static configuration. The UE may select the first subband e.g., randomly. The UE may select the first subband based on at least one of the following: a congestion level of the first subband being less than other subbands; and/or a RSRP in the first subband being greater than other subbands; and/or a LBT failure counter of the first subband being less than other subbands; and/or a LBT failure timer of the first subband being shorter or longer than other subbands; and/or a channel occupancy ratio of the first subband being smaller than other subbands; and/or a guardband size of the first subband being smaller than other subbands. Paragraph [0427]: By mapping/multiplexing the CG-UCI to REs in one subband, the UE may have more available bits for encoding PUSCH data and/or other UCIs comprising HARQ-ACK and/or CSI, compared to the case that UE maps/multiplexes the CG-UCI in REs across multiple subbands. However, due to puncturing, a reliability of the CG PUSCH transmission may be alleviated.)
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to provide wherein the UCI is multiplexed in just one of the first part PUSCH, the second part PUSCH, or based on a size of the corresponding part FDRA, as taught by Rastegardoost in the combined system of Sebastian, Yang, and Matsumura, so that the UE may have more available bits for encoding PUSCH data and/or other UCIs (Rastegardoost: Paragraphs [0422], [0423], [0427]).
Regarding claim 160, the combination of Sebastian, Yang, Matsumura, and Rastegardoost teaches the UE of claim 158 (see rejection for claim 158);
The combination of Sebastian, Yang, and Matsumura does not explicitly teach wherein the UCI is multiplexed in both the first part PUSCH and the second part PUSCH.
However, Rastegardoost teaches wherein the UCI is multiplexed in both the first part PUSCH and the second part PUSCH (Paragraph [0424]: The bandwidth of the CG resource may comprise two or more subbands. The UE may map the PUSCH data on REs (after the CG-UCI REs) of the two or more subbands. For example, the UE may perform rate-matching of the PUSCH to map/multiplex the CG-UCI in the PUSCH. The UE may multiplex the CG-UCI in the CG PUSCH. The UE may perform one or more LBTs on the two or more subbands of the CG PUSCH bandwidth. Paragraph [0428]: In an example, the UE may map/multiplex the CG-UCI in a CG PUSCH that spans over two or more subbands. The UE may multiplex/map the CG-UCI in/onto the two or more subbands. The UE may map same encoded bits of CG-UCI, e.g. repeatedly, on each of the two or more subbands. For example, the UE may map the CG-UCI on one or more REs/PRBs in each of the two or more subbands. For example, a number of REs/PRBs for CG-UCI mapping in each of the tow or more subbands may be the same or different. For example, a frequency/PRB offset to the one or more REs/PRBs in each of the two or more subbands may be the same or different. For example, the BS may indicate the size, e.g. a number of REs/PRBs for CG-UCI mapping, and/or the frequency/PRB offset to the one or more REs/PRBs in each of the two or more subbands. For example, the REs/PRBs in the two or more subbands may be contiguous and/or non-contiguous. For example, the UE may map the CG-UCI for one or more times on the REs/PRBs across the two or more subbands, e.g. by interlacing. This may increase a robustness of the CG-UCI transmission by utilizing channel diversity across subbands.)
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to provide wherein the UCI is multiplexed in both the first part PUSCH and the second part PUSCH, as taught by Rastegardoost in the combined system of Sebastian, Yang, and Matsumura, in order to increase the robustness of the CG-UCI transmission by utilizing channel diversity across subbands (Rastegardoost: Paragraphs: [0424], [0428]).
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed October 28, 2025 with respect to claims being rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103, have been fully considered.
Applicant submits that the combination of Sebastian and Yang does not disclose or suggest the limitations of amended independent claim 129 which recites in part “a processing system configured to determine at least a first part FDRA and a second part FDRA from the indicated FDRA, wherein the first part FDRA includes a first amount of frequency resources determined from a plurality of frequency resources of the indicated FDRA based on first radio frequency (RF) maximum transmission power capabilities of a first power amplifier (PA) of the UE, and wherein the second part FDRA includes a second amount of frequency resources determined from the plurality of frequency resources based on second RF maximum transmission power capabilities of a second PA of the UE;” Sebastian et al. (US20230217429A1) teaches that the uplink scheduling assignment comprises a resource allocation of frequency resources, applying precoding to the uplink channel for the first set of frequency domain resources and the second set of frequency domain resources, and transmitting the precoded uplink channel.
Yang et al. (US20180368083A1) teaches that the processor receives downlink signaling, determines transmission ranks and subbands of a plurality of transmission ranks and subbands, and transmits precoding matrix for each subband, through a physical uplink shared channel (PUSCH) to the network node via a plurality of antenna ports. The plurality of antenna ports corresponds to the plurality of power amplifiers, and the processor controls the output powers of the power amplifiers. Moreover, in transmitting the data through the PUSCH, the power scaling corresponds to the transmission rank, and the precoding matrix is a power-scaled matrix. In transmitting the data through the PUSCH, the processor applies the precoding matrix for the PUSCH transmission based on a selection of vectors using the power-scaling factors. Thus, Yang teaches that the processor transmits a precoding matrix for each subband through the PUSCH, such that the precoding matrix is based on the power-scaling factors corresponding to the plurality of power amplifiers associated with each of the plurality of antenna ports for the transmission.
Matsumura et al. (US20220295472A1) teaches “to include a first amount of frequency resources based on first radio frequency (RF) maximum transmission power capabilities of a first power amplifier (PA) of the UE; includes a second amount of frequency resources based on second RF maximum transmission power capabilities of a second PA of the UE.” Matsumura teaches determining frequency resources for UE capability to perform at full power transmission by using FDM. The combination of Sebastian, Yang, and Matsumura teaches amended claim 129.
Dependent claims 130-160 are also taught by the combinations of the cited references.
Conclusion
/L.C./Examiner, Art Unit 2461
/KIBROM T HAILU/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2461