DETAILED ACTION
Election/Restrictions
Claims 44-49 are withdrawn from further consideration pursuant to 37 CFR 1.142(b) as being drawn to a nonelected species, there being no allowable generic or linking claim. Election was made without traverse in the reply filed on March 6, 2026.
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted is in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statement is being considered by the examiner.
Claim Interpretation
Such claim limitations are:
“means for compressing the reservoir to displace a portion of the volume of liquid through the tube and out of the anal probe” in claim 43. The examiner notes that this limitation is interpreted to mean lid displacement means, lateral side wall displacement means, a movable roller, a movable pressure plate, a hinged lid and means for tilting the lid, or a lung and means for inflating the lung, as shown in the figures, and functional equivalents thereof.
“means for inflating the lung to a larger size adapted to squeeze the container of the reservoir” in claim 51. The examiner notes that this limitation is interpreted to mean an air pump, as discussed in paragraph 64 (of the published application), and functional equivalents thereof.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 43, 50, 51, and 54-56 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Nguyen (US 10398811) in view of Chandrasekar (US 20110306941).
Regarding claim 43, Nguyen discloses an anal irrigation system (fig. 4 shows a system capable of irrigating an anus/anal cavity) comprising:
a reservoir having a first wall sealed to a second wall to form a container adapted to hold a volume of liquid (irrigation solution bag 410 in fig. 4 has at least a first and second walls operably sealed to each other to hold irrigation solution 411), a tube connected to the reservoir (irrigation solution line 408 in fig. 4 is fluidically connected to bag 410), and an anal probe connected to the tube (tip 406 in fig. 4 is fluidically connected to tube 408 and is capable of acting as an anal irrigation probe);
a box (housing 414 in fig. 4) comprising a floor (see below), opposing end walls each attached to the floor (see below) and to the opposing lateral side walls, a tube opening formed in one of the opposing end walls (see below), and;
means for compressing the reservoir to displace a portion of the volume of liquid through the tube and out of the anal probe (this limitation is interpreted to mean a lung and means for inflating the lung, as discussed above; bladder 416 and pump 422 in fig. 4 are disclosed in 8:61-65 to inflate and compress the bag 410).
However, Nguyen does not explicitly teach or disclose the box comprises a lid that moves to expose a first cavity inside of the box that is sized to receive the reservoir and opposing lateral side wall attached to the floor and the opposing end walls.
Chandrasekar teaches a similar irrigation system (portable lavage apparatus 100 in fig. 1) comprising a box comprising a floor, opposing lateral side walls attached to the floor, opposing end walls each attached to the floor and to the opposing lateral side walls (case 110 comprises a floor on which reservoir 310 rests, two lateral side walls, opposing end walls in figs. 1-3), a lid that moves to expose a first cavity inside of the box that is sized to receive the reservoir (half 130 in fig. 3 is hingedly connected to bottom half 125).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the box of Nguyen be the box of Chandrasekar so that the box further comprises opposing lateral side walls and a hinged lid. This modification would protect the bladder and reservoir during use as they would be fully enclosed and would render the box portable, as taught by Chandrasekar (paragraph 33).
Regarding claim 50, in the modified system of Nguyen, Chandrasekar discloses the lid is hinged relative to the box (paragraph 29 discloses halves 125 and 130 are coupled via a hinge).
Regarding claim 51, in the modified system of Nguyen, Nguyen discloses a lung (bladder 416 in fig. 4) disclosed inside the box (housing 414 in fig. 4); wherein the means for compressing the reservoir comprise means for inflating the lung to a larger size adapted to squeeze the container of the reservoir (this limitation is interpreted to mean an air pump, as discussed above; pneumatic hand pump 422 in fig. 4).
Regarding claim 54, in the modified system of Nguyen, Nguyen discloses the box further comprises a fill spout (fitting 412 protruding from housing 410 in fig. 4), and the fill spout is adapted to couple with the container to allow additional liquid to be added to the container (8:35-39).
Regarding claim 55, in the modified system of Nguyen, Nguyen discloses the reservoir further comprises an end wall sealed between the first wall and the second wall (see below), and the tube is sealed to the end wall (the tube is fluidically sealed to the end wall below).
Regarding claim 56, in the modified system of Nguyen, Nguyen discloses the box is a rectangular box (fig. 4 shows housing 414 with a rectangular cross-section) forming a rectangular first cavity (fig. 4 shows the cross-section of the cavity being rectangular) and the reservoir is a rectangular reservoir that is sized to fit in the rectangular first cavity (fig. 4 shows bag 410 has a rectangular cross-section and situated within the cavity).
Claim(s) 52 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Nguyen in view of Chandrasekar, as applied to claim 43 above, and further in view of Leiboff (US 20060025728).
Regarding claim 52, modified Nguyen teaches all of the claimed limitations set forth in claim 43, as discussed above. With regards to claim 43, using a different interpretation of the claimed “tube connected to the reservoir”, Nguyen teaches a tube connected to the reservoir (see below; the tube designated below is fluidically connected to the reservoir 410 in fig. 4). While it appears that Nguyen teaches that the anal probe (tip 406 in fig. 4) is integral, and therefore permanently fixed to the tube, modified Nguyen does not explicitly teach or disclose this limitation.
Leiboff teaches a tube (tube 32 in fig. 3) and a irrigating tip (“rounded tip” in paragraph 43 and fig. 4) which is “molded from and integral with the irrigating tube” (paragraph 43), so that the tip is permanently fixed to the tube. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the anal probe of Nguyen, which is the tip of the tube, to be permanently fixed to the tube by making the probe integral with the tube, as taught by Leiboff, as this modification would simplify manufacturing and would reduce the chance of leaking during use.
Claim(s) 53 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Nguyen in view of Chandrasekar, as applied to claim 43 above, and further in view of Marak (US 8157782).
Regarding claim 53, modified Nguyen teaches all of the claimed limitations set forth in claim 43, as discussed above, but does not teach or disclose an attachment strap connected to the box, where the attachment strap is configured to secure the box to a leg of a user.
Marak teaches a similar system comprising a case (bag member 14 in fig. 2) which is adapted to contain a reservoir (bag 34 in fig. 4) and an inflatable lung which can compress the reservoir as its inflated (cuff 36 in fig. 4; 6:20-27). Marak further teaches an attachment strap connected to the case (strap 12 in fig. 2), where the attachment strap is configured to secure the case to a leg of a user (figs. 2 and 3 shows the strap as being adjustable so that the strap would be able to secure the case to a leg). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the box of modified Nguyen to further comprise the adjustable strap of Marak, as Marak teaches this modification would allow for the box to be carried and used without encumbering hands (5:31-37).
Claim(s) 57, 59, and 60 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Nguyen in view of Chandrasekar, as applied to claim 43 above, and further in view of Sanchez (US 20170274143).
Regarding claim 57, modified Nguyen teaches all of the claimed limitations set forth in claim 43, as discussed above. Nguyen further discloses an inflatable lung located within the cavity of the box (bladder 416 in fig. 4), wherein the means for compressing the reservoir comprises a pump adapted to pump air into the inflatable lung which inflates the inflatable lung and applies pressure to the reservoir to displace the portion of the volume of liquid through the tube and out of the anal probe (pump 422 in fig. 4).
However, modified Nguyen does not teach or disclose the inflatable lung comprising a plurality of chambers each of which is inflatable to pressurize to increase a size of the inflatable lung.
Sanchez teaches a similar system (fig. 3A) comprising a box (receptacle 302 in fig. 3A) adapted to hold a reservoir (bag 202 in fig. 3A) and an inflatable lung (bladder 204 in fig. 3A) which is adapted to inflate to compress the reservoir (fig. 3B). Sanchez further teaches a plurality of chambers each of which is inflatable to pressurize to increase a size of the inflatable lung (chambers 208-1, 2, 3, and 4 in fig. 3A/B). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the inflatable lung of modified Nguyen to comprise a plurality of chambers each of which is inflatable to pressurize to increase a size of the inflatable lung, as taught by Sanchez, as Sanchez teaches that this arrangement would allow the bag to be squeezes in a manner which would force fluid toward the outlet of the bag and would ensure the bag is not pinched in the middle (paragraph 24).
Regarding claim 59, in the modified system of Nguyen, Sanchez discloses the plurality of chambers provides feedback to a user indicating an amount of inflation of the inflatable lung and correlated to the portion of the volume of liquid displaced from the reservoir (the chambers of Sanchez are capable of providing this function since a user would be able to visually inspect the degree of inflation of chambers).
Regarding claim 60, in the modified system of Nguyen, Nguyen discloses the pump comprises air inlets allowing the pump to draw air into the pump for inflating the inflatable lung (8:50-56 discloses a filter 426 in fig. 4 which would intake air and would keep contaminants from the interior of the pump; the filter 426 would provide a plurality of air inlets through which air can flow).
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 58 and 61 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
The following is a statement of reasons for the indication of allowable subject matter:
Regarding claim 58, the closest prior art is Nguyen in view of Chandrasekar which does not teach or disclose the second cavity is configured to hold the pump. Chandrasekar teaches that the lid comprises a second cavity (fig. 1 shows the lid forming half of the box so that the lid would comprise a cavity). However, there is no teaching in the prior art which suggests that the second cavity is configured to hold the pump (pump 422 in fig. 4) of Nguyen.
Regarding claim 61, the closest prior art is Nguyen in view of Chandrasekar which does not teach or disclose the lid comprises air inlets allowing the pump to draw air into the box and the pump for inflating the inflatable lung.
Conclusion
/COURTNEY B FREDRICKSON/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3783