Claims 1, 3-14, 16 and 21-27 are pending.
Claims 2, 15, 17-20 are cancelled.
Note, rejections and objections not reiterated from previous office actions are hereby withdrawn. The following rejections or objections are either reiterated or newly applied. They constitute the complete set presently being applied to the instant application.
Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114
Double Patenting
Claims 1, 3-14, 16, 21-27 rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claim 1 of U.S. Patent No. 12419844B2 in view of COUCH (Use of triamcinolone during vitrectomy surgery to visualize membranes and vitreous. Clinical Ophthalmology. 2008).
The patent teaches a method for the treatment of myodesopsia, wherein said treatment is a laser ablation treatment, and wherein said treatment comprises a composition arranged to be injected into the vitreous of an eye of a human or animal subject, the composition comprising particles for the treatment of myodesopsia as a light sensitizing agent, by attachment of the particles to collagen aggregates and treatment by irradiation inducing formation and collapse of nanobubbles, for removal of said aggregates (claim 1).
The patent does not teach administering a dye to a vitreous body of an affected eye of the subject.
COUCH teaches that dyes, such as triamcinolone acetonide, indocyanine green and trypan blue (Page 892, paragraph 2), are used to aid in visualization for ophthalmic procedures involving the posterior cortical vitreous, which is located in the vitreous body (abstract). When the vitreous boundaries are highlighted, the procedure is more efficient and effective (Page 892, paragraph 4).
It would have been obvious to the person of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was made to incorporate administering a dye to the vitreous body. The person of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to make those modifications, because visualization of the vitreous boundaries makes procedures more efficient and effective, and reasonably would have expected success because both references are in the same field of endeavor, such as ophthalmic procedures regarding the vitreous body.
Claims 1, 3-14, 16, 21-27 provisionally rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claim 1 of copending Application No. 18/014,222 in view of SAUVAGE (Photoablation of Human Vitreous Opacities by Light-Induced Vapor Nanobubbles. ACS Nano. 07/09/2019.).
The copending application recites a method that comprises: administering a dye to a vitreous chamber of the eye of the subject; and irradiating at least part of the ILM of the eye of the subject, thereby photoporating at least part of the ILM in the subject.
Note, the virtuous body, that is recited in the instant claims, is the gel like substance that fills the virtuous chamber recited in the copending application.
The copending application does not teach using this method on virtuous opacities.
SAUVAGE teaches a ophthalmic procedure using pulsed-laser illumination/photoablation, which reads on irradiation and photodestruction, on virtuous opacities, located in the vitreous body, to induce destruction of the virtuous opacities (abstract).
It would have been obvious to the person of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was made to incorporate using the method on virtuous opacities. The person of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to make those modifications, because it would allow the method to be used for another condition, and reasonably would have expected success because the references are in the same field of endeavor, such as ophthalmic procedures that comprises irradiation to destroy part of the eye.
This is a provisional nonstatutory double patenting rejection.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1, 3-4, 6-14, 16, 21-24, and 26-27 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over SAUVAGE (Photoablation of Human Vitreous Opacities by Light-Induced Vapor Nanobubbles. ACS Nano. 07/09/2019.) in view of COUCH (Use of triamcinolone during vitrectomy surgery to visualize membranes and vitreous. Clinical Ophthalmology. 2008).
Regarding claim 1 and 14, SAUVAGE teaches a ophthalmic procedure using pulsed-laser illumination/photoablation, which reads on irradiation and photodestruction, on virtuous opacities, located in the vitreous body, to induce destruction of the virtuous opacities (abstract).
Regarding claims 11-12, SAUVAGE teaches the method uses a pulsed-laser (abstract), which reads on electromagnetic radiation. The laser preforms nanosecond laser pulses (abstract), which read on the number of pulses of the laser may be at least 1 laser pulse.
Regarding claim 13, SAUVAGE teaches the method treats myodesopsia (abstract).
Regarding claim 24, SAUVAGE teaches using gold nanoparticles for the procedure (abstract).
Regarding claims 26, SAUVAGE teaches the method uses a pulsed-laser (abstract), which reads on electromagnetic radiation. The laser preforms nanosecond laser pulses (abstract), which read on the number of pulses of the laser may be at least 1 laser pulse.
SAUVAGE does not teach administering a dye to a vitreous body of an affected eye of the subject.
Regarding claim 1, COUCH teaches that dyes are used to aid in visualization for ophthalmic procedures involving the posterior cortical vitreous, which is located in the vitreous body (abstract). Localization of vitreous is difficult because of the invisible nature of vitreous (Page 892, paragraph 3). Removal of minute amounts of vitreous requires patience and careful observation, but when the vitreous boundaries are highlighted, the process is more efficient and effective (Page 892, paragraph 4).
Regarding claim 3-4, 16, COUCH teaches dyes commonly used for ophthalmic procedures include triamcinolone acetonide, indocyanine green and trypan blue (Page 892, paragraph 2). Indocyanine green and trypan blue are vital dyes according to instant claim 4.
Regarding claim 6, COUCH teaches the dyes commonly used are not bound to any other chemicals or particles (Page 892, paragraph 1), which reads on a free dye.
Regarding claim 7, COUCH teaches the dye is administered intravitreally (Page 892, paragraph 1).
Regarding claims 21-23, 27, COUCH teaches dyes commonly used for ophthalmic procedures include triamcinolone acetonide, indocyanine green and trypan blue (Page 892, paragraph 2). Indocyanine green and trypan blue are vital dyes according to instant claim 4.
It would have been obvious to the person of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was made to incorporate administering a dye to the vitreous body. The person of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to make those modifications, because visualization of the vitreous boundaries makes procedures, like the one in SAUVAGE more efficient and effective, and reasonably would have expected success because both references are in the same field of endeavor, such as ophthalmic procedures regarding the vitreous body.
Regarding claims 8-10, the prior art’s dye would have the same chemical/physical properties of “wherein the dye is capable of diffusing in the vitreous body after administration”, “wherein the dye is capable of binding to the vitreous opacity after administration” and “wherein the dye is capable of forming vapor nanobubbles at the vitreous opacity when irradiated” as claimed by Applicant, because the prior art has the same dye as claimed by Applicant, unless proven otherwise.
Claims 1, 3-14, 16, 21-24, and 26-27 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over SAUVAGE (Photoablation of Human Vitreous Opacities by Light-Induced Vapor Nanobubbles. ACS Nano. 07/09/2019.) and COUCH (Use of triamcinolone during vitrectomy surgery to visualize membranes and vitreous. Clinical Ophthalmology. 2008) in view of MAIA (Vital Dyes for Staining Intraocular Membranes and Tissues During Vitrectomy. Retina Surgery. 2010).
SAUVAGE and COUCH teach Applicant invention as discussed above.
SAUVAGE and COUCH do not teach using a specific concentration of indocyanine green dye.
Regarding claim 5, MAIA teaches that vital dyes are commonly used during ophthalmic procedures (abstract). Indocyanine green, a vital dye, when used at a concentration between 0.025 mg/mL and 0.5 mg/mL is considered safe and leads to less damage to the eye (Page 29, paragraph 3-4). MPEP 2114.05 states, In the case where the claimed ranges "overlap or lie inside ranges disclosed by the prior art" a prima facie case of obviousness exists.”.
It would have been obvious to the person of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was made to incorporate using indocyanine green at a concentration between 0.025 mg/mL and 0.5 mg/mL. The person of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to make those modifications, because this concentration is considered safe and leads to less damage to the eye, and reasonably would have expected success because both references are in the same field of endeavor, such as ophthalmic procedures.
Claims 1, 3-14, 16 and 21-27 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over SAUVAGE (Photoablation of Human Vitreous Opacities by Light-Induced Vapor Nanobubbles. ACS Nano. 07/09/2019.), COUCH (Use of triamcinolone during vitrectomy surgery to visualize membranes and vitreous. Clinical Ophthalmology. 2008) and MAIA (Vital Dyes for Staining Intraocular Membranes and Tissues During Vitrectomy. Retina Surgery. 2010) in view of KOMPELLA (Nanomedicines for Back of the Eye Drug Delivery, Gene Delivery, and Imaging. Prog Retin Eye Res. 2013.).
SAUVAGE, COUCH and MAIA teach Applicant’s invention discussed above.
SAUVAGE, COUCH and MAIA do not teach using a protein nanoparticle.
KOMPELLA teaches that albumin, a protein, can be added to nanoparticles for ophthalmic use (figure 4). In the eye, serum albumin filtrates through the blood-aqueous barrier and is the major component (50% of total proteins) of aqueous humor and provides important metabolites for the growth of rapidly dividing lens epithelial cells (page 7, paragraph 4). Nanoparticles prepared with human serum album (HSA) may be less prone to degradation in the vitreous humor/body (page 11, paragraph 3), which is where virtuous opacities are located.
It would have been obvious to the person of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was made to incorporate using a protein nanoparticle, such as a HSA nanoparticle. The person of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to make those modifications, because nanoparticles made from HSA are less prone to degradation in the vitreous humor/body, which is where virtuous opacities are located, and reasonably would have expected success because all references are in the same field of endeavor, such as ophthalmic procedures regarding the vitreous body.
Response to Arguments
Applicant argues, the combination of patent -844 and COUCH would be inoperable since the nanoparticles of SAUVAGE are the active component and the dye of COUCH is a passive component, that is not an active component of destruction. Thus a substitution would be inoperable. Furthermore, there would be no motivation to combine.
The Examiner finds Applicant’s argument unpersuasive, because in response to applicant's arguments against the references individually, one cannot show nonobviousness by attacking references individually where the rejections are based on combinations of references. See In re Keller, 642 F.2d 413, 208 USPQ 871 (CCPA 1981); In re Merck & Co., 800 F.2d 1091, 231 USPQ 375 (Fed. Cir. 1986). In this instance, as discussed in the rejection, the patent teaches a ophthalmic procedure using pulsed-laser illumination/photoablation, which reads on irradiation and photodestruction, on virtuous opacities, located in the vitreous body, to induce destruction of the virtuous opacities (abstract).
The patent does not teach administering a dye to a vitreous body of an affected eye of the subject.
However, COUCH teaches that dyes are used to aid in visualization for ophthalmic procedures involving the posterior cortical vitreous, which is located in the vitreous body (abstract). Localization of vitreous is difficult because of the invisible nature of vitreous (Page 892, paragraph 3). Removal of minute amounts of vitreous requires patience and careful observation, but when the vitreous boundaries are highlighted, the process is more efficient and effective (Page 892, paragraph 4).
It would have been obvious to the person of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was made to incorporate administering a dye to the vitreous body. The person of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to make those modifications, because visualization of the vitreous boundaries makes procedures, like the one in recited in the patent more efficient and effective, and reasonably would have expected success because both references are in the same field of endeavor, such as ophthalmic procedures regarding the vitreous body.
Furthermore, the MPEP 2111.03(III) states “applicant has the burden of showing that the introduction of additional steps or specific components which would materially change the characteristics of the claimed invention.” In summary, Applicants have failed to properly demonstrate how and which additional components materially affect the basic and novel characteristics of the claimed composition, especially since SAUVAGE and COUCH teach all claim components and active steps.
The above rejection is not a substitution, but rather an addition. Furthermore, instant claim 24, teaches having a particle and a dye, which is what is taught by the prior art as discussed above.
Applicant argues, the combination of SAUVAGE and COUCH would be inoperable since the nanoparticles of SAUVAGE are the active component and the dye of COUCH is a passive component, that is not an active component of destruction. Thus a substitution would be inoperable. Furthermore, there would be no motivation to combine.
The Examiner finds Applicant’s argument unpersuasive, because in response to applicant's arguments against the references individually, one cannot show nonobviousness by attacking references individually where the rejections are based on combinations of references. See In re Keller, 642 F.2d 413, 208 USPQ 871 (CCPA 1981); In re Merck & Co., 800 F.2d 1091, 231 USPQ 375 (Fed. Cir. 1986). In this instance, as discussed in the rejection, SAUVAGE teaches a ophthalmic procedure using pulsed-laser illumination/photoablation, which reads on irradiation and photodestruction, on virtuous opacities, located in the vitreous body, to induce destruction of the virtuous opacities (abstract).
SAUVAGE does not teach administering a dye to a vitreous body of an affected eye of the subject.
However, COUCH teaches that dyes are used to aid in visualization for ophthalmic procedures involving the posterior cortical vitreous, which is located in the vitreous body (abstract). Localization of vitreous is difficult because of the invisible nature of vitreous (Page 892, paragraph 3). Removal of minute amounts of vitreous requires patience and careful observation, but when the vitreous boundaries are highlighted, the process is more efficient and effective (Page 892, paragraph 4).
It would have been obvious to the person of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was made to incorporate administering a dye to the vitreous body. The person of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to make those modifications, because visualization of the vitreous boundaries makes procedures, like the one in SAUVAGE more efficient and effective, and reasonably would have expected success because both references are in the same field of endeavor, such as ophthalmic procedures regarding the vitreous body.
Furthermore, the MPEP 2111.03(III) states “applicant has the burden of showing that the introduction of additional steps or specific components which would materially change the characteristics of the claimed invention.” In summary, Applicants have failed to properly demonstrate how and which additional components materially affect the basic and novel characteristics of the claimed composition, especially since SAUVAGE and COUCH teach all claim components and active steps.
The above rejection is not a substitution, but rather an addition. Furthermore, instant claim 24, teaches having a particle and a dye, which is what is taught by the prior art as discussed above.
Applicant argues the dye in COUCH is not taught to have any special energy-absorbing properties for generating and thus locally exerting a mechanical force.
The Examiner does not find the argument percussive because, in response to applicant's argument that the references fail to show certain features of the invention, it is noted that the features upon which applicant relies (i.e., the dye possessing special energy-absorbing properties for generating and thus locally exerting a mechanical force) are not recited in the rejected claim(s). Although the claims are interpreted in light of the specification, limitations from the specification are not read into the claims. See In re Van Geuns, 988 F.2d 1181, 26 USPQ2d 1057 (Fed. Cir. 1993).
Furthermore, COUCH teaches the same dye used by Applicant, so it would inherently have this same property, unless proven otherwise.
Conclusion
No claims are allowable.
/S.L.M./ Examiner, Art Unit 1618 /JAKE M VU/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1618