DETAILED ACTION
Election/Restrictions
Applicant’s election without traverse of claims 1-7 and 12-14 in the reply filed on 9/15/2025 is acknowledged.
Claims 8-11 withdrawn from further consideration pursuant to 37 CFR 1.142(b) as being drawn to a nonelected Group II, the method for manufacturing a positive electrode, there being no allowable generic or linking claim. Election was made without traverse in the reply filed on 9/15/2025.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claim 14 rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 14 recites that the loading amount of sulfur is 3.0 to 5.0 mAh/cm2. However the units of mAh/cm2 are units of areal capacity. Furthermore, pg. 19 of the instant specification defines the loading amount as “the mass of sulfur per unit area of the positive electrode active material layer”.
One of ordinary skill cannot reasonably ascertain the scope of the claim.
Clarification regarding the proper units of the loading amount is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-5 and 12-13 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Li (US 20200161659 A1) and further in view of Sun (US 20170358800 A1).
Regarding claim 1, Li teaches a positive electrode (para. 0012, [Fig. 1 shows … a positive electrode plate]) for a lithium secondary battery (abstract, [secondary battery] and para. 0101 [lithium battery]), the positive electrode (para. 0011) comprising: a positive electrode current collector (Fig. 1, item 10); a binder layer (Fig. 1, item 12); and a positive electrode active material layer(Fig. 1, item 14)) (para. 0011, [positive electrode comprising a current collector, a positive active material layer, and a binding layer)), wherein the binder layer (Fig. 1, item 12) is sequentially formed on at least one surface of the positive electrode current collector (Fig. 1, item 10) (para. 0011, [the binding layer disposed between the current collector and the positive active material layer]).
Lee does not teach wherein the positive electrode active material layer comprises a free-standing film positive electrode material.
Sun, in the same field of endeavor, batteries, teaches wherein the positive electrode active material layer comprises a free-standing film positive electrode material (Sun, para. 0039, [the prepared cathode active material slurry is applied on a substrate or a current collector, thereby being formed in a film form]).
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to have replaced Li’s positive electrode with Sun’s positive electrode active material which is in a single film form, in order to utilize a material having a property of adsorbing sulfur in a single film form, as taught in the background information of Sun (Sun, para. 0009).
Furthermore, one skilled in the art would have also replaced Li’s positive electrode active material with Sun’s positive electrode material, in order to incorporate sulfur into the positive electrode, which is an element that has a high energy density compared to the mass thereof, is cheap, and is harmless to the human body, as taught by Sun (Sun, para. 0007); and therefore makes it an attractive cathode material for secondary batteries (Sun, para. 0007).
Regarding claim 2, modified Li teaches the positive electrode according to claim 1, wherein the binder layer comprises at least one selected from the group consisting of acrylonitrile copolymer, polyacrylic acid, polyacrylonitrile, and polyacrylate (Li, para. 0027, [the binding layer matrix is selected from at least one of polyacrylonitrile, polyacrylic acid, polyacrylate, polyacrylonitrile-acrylic acid, and polyacrylonitrile-acrylate]).
Regarding claim 3, modified Li teaches the positive electrode according to claim 1.
Modified Li is silent on the specific application amount per unit area of the binder layer.
However, Li teaches that the thickness of the binding layer can be reasonably determined according to actual needs (Li, para. 0066).
Li further teaches that if the binder layer thickness is too small, it is not enough to ensure that the binding layer has the effect of improving safety performance of the battery; and if it is too large, the internal resistance of the battery will increase seriously, which will affect electrochemical performance of the battery during normal operation (Li, para. 0066). Therefore, absent a showing of persuasive secondary considerations, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the instant invention was filed to have optimized the application amount per unit area of the binder layer according to the electrode’s needs. It is the Examiner’s position that this routine optimization would have led one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the instant invention was filed to have arrived at an application amount per unit area of the binder layer of 0.1 to 20 µg/cm2 without undue experimentation.
Regarding claim 4, modified Li teaches the positive electrode for the lithium secondary battery according to claim 1, and further teaches wherein the binder layer has a thickness of 0.1 to 20 µm (Li, para. 0066, [the thickness of the binding layer can be reasonably determined according to actual needs. The thickness of the binding layer is … preferably not more than 20 µm]).
In the case where the claimed ranges "overlap or lie inside ranges disclosed by the prior art" a prima facie case of obviousness exists. In re Wertheim, 541 F.2d 257, 191 USPQ 90 (CCPA 1976); In re Woodruff, 919 F.2d 1575, 16 USPQ2d 1934 (Fed. Cir. 1990), [MPEP 2144.05, I].
Regarding claim 5, modified Li discloses the positive electrode for the lithium secondary battery according to claim 1, wherein the free-standing film type positive electrode material is composed of 50 wt% to 80 wt% of sulfur (Sun, para. 0064, [sulfur powder 60%]) and 20 wt% to 50 wt% of a porous carbon material (Sun, para. 0064, [nitrogen-doped carbon material – 30%]) (Sun, para. 0041, [the nitrogen-doped carbon materials … may be porous materials having micropores]).
Regarding claim 12, modified Li teaches a lithium secondary battery (Li, para. 0172, [electrode plate of the present invention are only exemplified to be used for a lithium battery) comprising: the positive electrode according to claim 1, and further teaches a negative electrode comprising lithium metal or lithium alloy (Li, para. 0083, [the negative electrode plate for use in conjunction with the positive electrode plate … the negative electrode active material is … a lithium-containing oxide, a lithium metal, or a lithium aluminum alloy); a separator between the positive electrode and the negative electrode (Li, para. 0107, [the separator was sandwiched in between the positive electrode plate and the negative electrode plate]); and an electrolyte in which the positive electrode, the negative electrode and the separator are immersed (Li, para. 0107, [the electrolyte … was injected therein followed by vacuum package]).
Regarding claim 13, modified Li teaches the lithium secondary battery according to claim 12, and further teaches wherein the lithium secondary battery is a lithium-sulfur secondary battery (Li, para. 0172, [it will be understood by those skilled in the art that the above application examples of the electrode plate of the present invention are only exemplified to be used for a lithium battery, but the electrode plate of the present invention can also be applied to other types of batteries or electrochemical devices , and still may produce good technical effect of the present invention]). Examiner notes that one skilled in the art would understand that the electrode Li’s electrode plate can be applied to other types of batteries.
Claim 6 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Li (US 20200161659 A1) and further in view of Sun (US 20170358800 A1) and Dillard (US 20210210766 A1).
Regarding claim 6, modified Li teaches the positive electrode for the lithium secondary battery according to claim 1.
Modified Li does not disclose the internal adhesive strength of the material.
However, it has been held that “products of identical chemical composition cannot have mutually exclusive properties.” A chemical composition and its properties are inseparable. Therefore, if the prior art teaches the identical chemical structure, the properties applicant discloses and/or claims are necessarily present. In re Spada, 911 F .2d 705, 15 USPQ2d 1655, 1658 (Fed. Cir. 1990).
In this case, modified Li teaches a positive electrode material in the form of a free-standing film with the same composition (Sun, para. 0038, [the active material may include 500 to 800 parts by weight of the sulfur containing material based on 100 parts by weight of the binder]) as the claimed invention (pg. 13, instant specification, [sulfur may be contained in an amount of 80 wt.% or less] … [when sulfur is contained in an amount of 50 wt% to 80 wt% in the sulfur-carbon composite …]).
Modified Li does not teach that the free standing film was fabricated by melting the sulfur under pressure as stated in pg. 3 of the instant specification.
Dillard, in the same field of endeavor, batteries, teaches that free-standing sulfur-carbon cathodes can be fabricated by diffusing melted sulfur into a carbon nanofiber [CNF] [material] produced by electrospinning [Dillard, para. 0126]. The fabrication process involves “melting and diffusing in to the CNF material … by applying a slight pressure of about 200 psi and heat in a hydraulic press” (Dillard, para. 0127).
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to have incorporated Dillard’s free-standing sulfur carbon manufacturing process to make modified Li’s positive electrode material, in order to provide a practical means for manufacturing Li-S cathodes by simplifying the sulfur melting procedure and providing exceptional cycling stability of the free standing sulfur-based composite (Dillard, para. 0114), as taught by Dillard.
Therefore, one of ordinary skill in the art would understand that the positive electrode material of modified Li would have the same adhesive strength as the claimed invention (10 gf/cm or more) as the material of modified Li has the same composition and has been made in a substantially similar way.
Applicant is invited to provide evidence showing any differences between modified Li and the present invention that would result in the positive electrode material of modified Li having an internal adhesive strength below the claimed amount.
Claim 7 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Li (US 20200161659 A1) and further in view of Sun (US 20170358800 A1) and Park (US 20140170475 A1).
Regarding claim 7, modified Li teaches the positive electrode for the lithium secondary battery according to claim 1.
Modified Li is silent regarding the porosity of the free-standing film type positive electrode material.
Park, in the same field of endeavor, batteries, teaches wherein the positive electrode material has a porosity of 68% or less (Park, para. 0100, [the film may include porosity of about 1% to about 70%]).
In the case where the claimed ranges "overlap or lie inside ranges disclosed by the prior art" a prima facie case of obviousness exists. In re Wertheim, 541 F.2d 257, 191 USPQ 90 (CCPA 1976); In re Woodruff, 919 F.2d 1575, 16 USPQ2d 1934 (Fed. Cir. 1990), [MPEP 2144.05, I].
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to have made modified Li’s porous free-standing film to have a porosity between 1% and 70%, as taught by Park, in order to increases the mechanical durability of the film, as taught by Park (para. 0100, [the electrode attachment substance [in modified Li’s case – the binder layer] within the porosity of the film can increase the mechanical durability of the film]).
Claim 14 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Li (US 20200161659 A1) and further in view of Sun (US 20170358800 A1) and Manthiram (US 20170092954 A1).
For purposes of claim 14 examination, the units of mAh/cm2 have been interpreted as mg/cm2. Refer to the 112b section above.
Regarding claim 14, modified Li teaches the lithium secondary battery according to claim 12. Modified Li does not teach wherein the positive electrode has a loading amount of sulfur of 3.0 to 5.0 mg/cm2 .
Manthiram, in the same field of endeavor batteries teaches the cathode has a sulfur loading of at least 3-5 mg/cm2. (para. 0109 and claim 15).
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to have utilized a sulfur loading amount of 3.0-5.0 mg/cm2 of Li’s cathode, as taught by Manthiram, in order to optimize the cycle stability of the cell, as taught by Manthiram (para. 0157, [the improved cycle stability was found even after increasing the sulfur loading by almost six times due to the unique electrode structure that stabilizes the S-based cathode active material]).
Other Pertinent Art
US 20210242463 A1
Conclusion
/V.G./ Examiner, Art Unit 1721
/MAYLA GONZALEZ RAMOS/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1721