DETAILED ACTION
Response to Amendment
Claims 21-38, 40 are pending. Claims 21, 25, 28, 31, 40 are currently amended.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 21-23, 28, 29, 31-34, 37, 40 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Lee (KR 20180008251 A) in view of Leinhos (US 20170371341 A1), Kikumoto (US 20220107649 A1) and Kim (KR 101346510 B1).
With respect to claim 21, Lee discloses: A robot cleaner, the robot cleaner comprising: a body having a space therein to accommodate a battery, a water container, and one or more motors (body is outside shell of 100, fig. 3; includes within a battery as described in [0058-0059] between case 11, and base 13, fig. 4; tank (water container) as in [0055-0056, 0059], and a motor that drives a mop as in [0053] as part of driving module 30, fig. 4; the examiner notes that this limitation does not require the battery, water container, and motor, simply that the space can accommodate such);
and a pair of rotation plates rotatably disposed on a bottom surface of the body, the pair of rotation plates including a first rotation plate and a second rotation plate (rotation plates 122 as described in [0052,0053] for each mop 30a, 30b shown in fig. 4), wherein a lower side of the first rotation plate includes a first mopping cloth configured to face a floor surface wherein a lower side of the second rotation plate includes a second mopping cloth configured to face the floor surface (mop part 121, [0052-0053] can contact floor, for both rotation plates as part of 30a, 30b), an axis of rotation of the first rotation plate to an axis of rotation of the second rotation plate is connected by a virtual connection line; and wherein a virtual traveling direction line is perpendicular to the virtual connection line, wherein the virtual traveling direction line intersects the connection line at a midpoint of the connection line and is parallel to the floor surface (a line can be drawn between the two rotation mops, and, a perpendicular line across the middle of the cleaner can be drawn across the middle of the cleaner, between the two spin mops in Lee)
However, does not explicitly disclose a displacement sensor; wherein the displacement sensor is disposed on the virtual traveling direction line on the bottom surface of the body and is configured to measure a distance traveled along the floor surface; the robot cleaner is configured to travel along a virtual traveling line connecting a start point to a predetermined target point in a straight line, the robot cleaner configured such that in response to a shortest distance between the body and the virtual traveling line being greater than or equal to a predetermined reference distance, as measured by the displacement sensor, the first rotation plate and the second rotation plate are configured to have different rotational speeds to approach the virtual traveling line
Lee, however further discloses that the mops each rotate at different speeds depending on how the robotic cleaner needs to be turned ([0051]), with the adjustment depending on the direction rotated and rpm ([0047, 0049]).
Leinhos, in the same field of endeavor, related to robotic cleaning, teaches of a robotic cleaner that is configured to travel along a virtual traveling line connecting a start point to a predetermined target point in a straight line (fig. 1; [0020-0021] the robotic cleaner travels along a line to a target, the line is straight/made of straight sections, the robot moves along that line towards a target before turning). Leinhos teaches that this traveling arrangement makes as few turns as possible for cleaning, saving power while passing through the entire environment ([0020]).
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to have modified Lee such that the robotic cleaner travels along a virtual traveling line connecting a start point to a predetermined target point in a straight line, as taught by Leinhos, in order to clean an environment while making a s few turns as possible, saving battery power.
Kikumoto, reasonably pertinent to the problem being solved as related to ensuring that a vehicle travels along a line while minimizing deviation from said line, teaches of steering a vehicle in response to a shortest distance between the body and the virtual traveling line being greater than or equal to a predetermined reference distance (fig. 3, [0071], rotation depending on deviation of body to reference line L2). Kikumoto also teaches that the angle of approach (azimuth) depends on both the positional and angle deviation ([0072]), and that the sensitivity can be set ([0090]). Kikumoto teaches that this provides an advantage of making it easy to steer vehicle ([0005]) while ensuring that the vehicle follows [moves towards to follow] the traveling line ([0071] with a zero positional deviation).
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to have further modified Lee with the steering arrangement of Kikumoto in order to easily ensure that the vehicle follows a traveling line. This arrangement would have resulted in wherein the first rotation plate and the second rotation plate are configured to have different rotational speeds, in response to a shortest distance between the body and the virtual traveling line being greater than or equal to a predetermined reference distance, when implemented using the steering technique of Lee, where differential rotating speeds of the two mops are used to steer the robotic cleaner (Lee, [0047, 0049, 0051]).
Regarding the limitation of a displacement sensor, wherein the displacement sensor is disposed on the virtual traveling direction line on the bottom surface of the body and is configured to measure a distance traveled along the floor surface; the robot cleaner configured such that in response to a shortest distance between the body and the virtual traveling line being greater than or equal to a predetermined reference distance, as measured by the displacement sensor, Kim, reasonably pertinent to the problem being solved, relating to robotic navigation using sensors, teaches of providing a displacement sensor disposed on the bottom surface of the body and configured to measure a distance the robot cleaner moves along the floor surface (unnumbered para. after [0007], before [0013], provides for a bottom facing camera 120, fig. 1 as in [0018] to recognize the robot’s position). Kim teaches that this camera is positioned along a center of gravity for movement or at a center of the robot ([0019]) Kim further teaches that this arrangement with a bottom sensor avoids the expense of kinematic calculations or expensive dual cameras, and is simple in nature ([0059-0060]).
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to have further modified Lee with displacement sensor of Kim, for a simple structure that avoids the expense of kinematic calculations or expensive dual camera The modification would have resulted in use of the displacement sensor to measure a shortest distance between the body and the virtual traveling line being greater than or equal to a predetermined reference distance, as the displacement sensor of Kim is arranged to measure deviation from a planned path and facilitate driving of the cleaner, for the advantage of increasing cleaning efficiency. The teachings of Kim, applied to Lee, as modified would provide for a camera disposed on the virtual traveling direction line on the bottom surface of the body, as Kim teaches of placing the camera in the center, or along a center of gravity of movement, and the virtual traveling direction line is representative of a center bisection of the robot.
With respect to claim 22, Lee, as modified, teaches the limitations of claim 21 above, and further teaches wherein the robotic cleaner is configured such that the rotational speed of one of the first rotation plate and the second rotation plate furthest from the virtual traveling line is faster than the rotational speed of an other of the first rotation plate and the second rotation plate (applying the disclosure of Lee, [0047, 0049, 0051], where for example [0051] where the left mop is faster than the right mop to steer the robot in the right direction, the rotational speed of the rotation plate furthest from the traveling line would be faster in order to steer the vehicle towards the traveling line and minimize deviation from that line, consistent with the teachings of Kikumoto, [0071]).
With respect to claim 23, Lee, as modified, teaches the limitations of claim 22 above, and further teaches wherein the robotic cleaner is configured such that, wherein the rotational speed of the other of the first rotation plate and the second rotation plate is increased (applying the teachings of Lee, [0047, 0049, 0051], where the relative rotation speeds between the two mops determines steering, and the teachings of Kikumoto, [0072], where the angle of approach depends on the angle and distance from the line and the vehicle, the rotational speed would increase as a smaller distance/angle requires more steering to neutralize and straighten the vehicle).
With respect to claim 28, Lee, as modified, teaches the limitations of claim 21 above, and further teaches wherein a virtual movement point is located on the virtual traveling line and disposed at a shortest distance to the midpoint of the virtual connection line (a line can be drawn as such, geometrically as in Lee, when applied with the teachings of Leinhos); and a virtual target intersection point is located on the virtual traveling line and disposed at a predetermined distance from the virtual movement point toward the predetermined target point (a line can be drawn as such, geometrically as in Lee, when applied with the teachings of Leinhos, towards a direction of a target on that line), the robot cleaner configured such that the rotational speed of the first rotation plate is faster than the rotational speed of the second rotation plate, in response to the first rotation plate being located further from the virtual target intersection point than the second rotation plate (applying the disclosure of Lee, [0047, 0049, 0051], where for example [0051] where the left mop is faster than the right mop to steer the robot in the right direction, and the teachings of Kikumoto, [0072], where the angle of approach depends on the angle and distance from the line and the vehicle, the rotational speed would increase as a smaller distance/angle requires more steering to neutralize and straighten the vehicle, together with the teachings of Leinhos towards a target, as the vehicle is straightened, the difference between the rotational speeds decreases; this operation consistent with the instant disclosure at fig. 11).
With respect to claim 29, Lee, as modified, teaches the limitations of claim 21 above, and further teaches wherein the robot cleaner is configured such that a relative movement speed of one of the first mopping cloth and the second mopping cloth located furthest from the virtual traveling line is faster than an other of the first mopping cloth and the second mopping cloth (applying the disclosure of Lee, [0047, 0049, 0051], where for example [0051] where the left mop is faster than the right mop to steer the robot in the right direction, the rotational speed of the rotation plate furthest from the traveling line would be faster in order to steer the vehicle towards the traveling line and minimize deviation from that line, consistent with the teachings of Kikumoto, [0071]).
Claim(s) 24 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Lee (KR 20180008251 A) in view of Leinhos (US 20170371341 A1), Kikumoto (US 20220107649 A1) and Kim (KR 101346510 B1) and further in view of Alexander (US 8855914 B1).
With respect to claim 24, Lee, as modified, teaches the limitations of claim 21 above, however does not explicitly teach the robot cleaner configured such that in response to a midpoint between an axis of rotation of the first rotation plate and an axis of rotation of the second rotation plate being placed on the virtual traveling line after the first mopping cloth passes through the virtual traveling line, the rotational speed of the first rotation plate is faster than the rotational speed of the second rotation plate. Leinhos, however demonstrates that for complete room coverage it is necessary to maneuver the cleaner to steer left/right along the line path (Leinhos, fig. 1; [0020-0021]).
Alexander, in the same field of endeavor, teaches of the need to avoid obstacles along a traveling line, such as corners of walls, while also cleaning the corner, by backing up (along a traveling line) if necessary (col 4 lines 22-44; fig. 7; col 4 line 54- col 6 line 6, see the line 650). Alexander recognizes the constraints of floor cleaners in traversing corners, as it is often not possible, because of the geometry of the cleaner, and its ability to maneuver using sensors (col 4, lines 44-53).
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to have further modified Lee with the maneuvering arrangement of Alexander, in order to more completely clean around a corner, given the issues described by Alexander of making a turn around a corner.
The modification would have resulted in the robot cleaner configured such that in response to a midpoint between an axis of rotation of the first rotation plate and an axis of rotation of the second rotation plate being placed on the virtual traveling line after the first mopping cloth passes through the virtual traveling line, the rotational speed of the first rotation plate is faster than the rotational speed of the second rotation plate, by applying the disclosure of Lee, [0047, 0049, 0051], where for example [0051] where the left mop is faster than the right mop to steer the robot in the right direction, with the robotic cleaner passing through the traveling line as it makes a turn at a right angle (midpoint between an axis of rotation of the first rotation plate and an axis of rotation of the second rotation plate being placed on the virtual traveling line), after the first mopping cloth passes through the virtual traveling line (when making a the right angle around a corner), in order to maneuver around a corner and clean the area around the corner.
Claim(s) 25-27, 30 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Lee (KR 20180008251 A) in view of Leinhos (US 20170371341 A1), Kikumoto (US 20220107649 A1) and Kim (KR 101346510 B1) and further in view of Jang (US 20190038106 A1).
With respect to claim 25, Lee as modified, teaches the limitations of claim 21 above, and further however does not explicitly teach wherein the virtual traveling direction line includes: a forward traveling direction line configured to extend parallel to the floor surface toward a direction in which the battery is to be disposed with respect to the virtual connection line; and a backward traveling direction line configured to extend parallel to the floor surface toward a direction in which the water container is to be disposed with respect to the virtual connection line, and wherein the robot cleaner is configured such that forward traveling direction line and the virtual traveling line intersect each other when an angle formed by intersection between the backward traveling direction line and the virtual traveling line is greater than or equal to a predetermined reference angle. Lee, however, teaches that the outside shell (100, fig. 3); includes within the battery (as described in [0058-0059] between case 11, and base 13, fig. 4) and a tank (the water container) as in [0055-0056, 0059]).
Jang, in the same field of endeavor, as related to robotic cleaners, teaches that the placement of the water tank and battery has an effect on the center of mass, and the friction in which the mop engages with the floor surface ([0221], specifically the center of mass of battery Mb shown in fig. 17, and the center of mass of the water tank Mw, in fig. 17; which are positioned along a direction perpendicular to the mops, see also the symmetrical mops as described in [0223-0224] and mops 41a and 41b, as demonstrated in fig. 2, the ), with this arrangement providing for stability of travel of a robotic cleaner supported by two mops ([0227]).
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to have further modified Lee with the placement of the water tank and battery, for the purpose of improving stability, as taught by Jang.
This would result in a virtual traveling direction line including: a forward traveling direction line configured to extend parallel to the floor surface toward a direction in which the battery is to be disposed with respect to the virtual connection line (a line towards the position of the battery, relative to the two mops, using the teachings of Jang); and a backward traveling direction line configured to extend parallel to the floor surface toward a direction in which the water container is to be disposed with respect to the virtual connection line (a line towards the water container, relative to the two mops, using the teachings of Jang), and wherein the robot cleaner is configured such that the forward traveling direction line and the virtual traveling line intersect each other when an angle formed by intersection between the backward traveling direction line and the virtual traveling line is greater than or equal to a predetermined reference angle (the forward traveling direction line and the virtual traveling line can intersect when the robot is off the track of the traveling line at an angle, when an angle formed by intersection between the backward traveling direction line and the virtual traveling line is greater than or equal to a predetermined reference angle as the robot is offset).
With respect to claim 26, Lee as modified, teaches the limitations of claim 25 above, and further teaches wherein the robot cleaner is configured such that the rotational speed of one of the first rotation plate and the second rotation plate furthest from the virtual traveling line is faster than the rotational speed of an other of the first rotation plate and the second rotation plate, when an angle formed by the intersection between the backward traveling direction line and the virtual traveling line is greater than or equal to the predetermined reference angle (applying the disclosure of Lee, [0047, 0049, 0051], where for example [0051] where the left mop is faster than the right mop to steer the robot in the right direction, and the teachings of Kikumoto, [0072], where the angle of approach depends on the angle and distance from the line and the vehicle, the rotational speed would increase as a smaller distance/angle requires more steering to neutralize and straighten the vehicle).
With respect to claim 27, Lee as modified, teaches the limitations of claim 25 above, and further teaches wherein a virtual movement point located on the virtual traveling line and disposed at a shortest distance to the midpoint of the connection line (a virtual movement point can be drawn on the virtual traveling line such that it is disposed at a shortest distance to the midpoint of the connection line), and wherein a virtual target intersection point located on the virtual traveling line and disposed at a predetermined distance from the virtual movement point toward the predetermined target point (a virtual target intersection point can be drawn and located on the virtual traveling line disposed at a predetermined distance from the virtual movement point toward the predetermined target point), and wherein wherein the virtual target intersection point is a point at which the virtual traveling line and the forward traveling direction line intersect each other (such an arrangement can be drawn so that the virtual target intersection point is a point at which the virtual traveling line and the forward traveling direction line intersect each other). The examiner notes that there are no functional limitations associated with this claim, only virtual points drawn on virtual lines (that are not physically part of the apparatus, with the limitations met as the virtual points can be drawn on virtual lines), these limitations may limit the physical structure of the apparatus if coupled with functional language describing what the apparatus does under specified conditions involving the virtual lines/points.
With respect to claim 30, Lee as modified, teaches the limitations of claim 21 above, however does not explicitly teach a first motor connected to the first rotation plate; and a second motor connected to the second rotation plate, wherein the robot cleaner is configured such that an output of one of the first motor and the second motor located furthest from the virtual traveling line is greater than an output of an other of the first motor and the second motor. Lee, however discloses that the mops each rotate at different speeds depending on how the robotic cleaner needs to be turned (Lee, [0051]), with the adjustment depending on the direction rotated and rpm (Lee, [0047, 0049]), and that there is a motor that drives a mop (Lee, as in [0053] as part of driving module 30, fig. 4).
Jang, in the same field of endeavor, as related to robotic cleaners, teaches of using separate motors to drive each of the two mops (two motors 61, fig. 10, [0122-0124]). MPEP 2143 provides that simple substitution of one known element for another to obtain predictable results is obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art.
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to have further modified Lee and have substituted the (single) motor of Lee, with the two motors of Jang, for the same purpose of driving a mop/rotation plate. This modification would have been predictable, with a reasonable expectation of success.
The modification would have resulted in teach a first motor connected to the first rotation plate; and a second motor connected to the second rotation plate, wherein the robot cleaner is configured such that an output of one of the first motor and the second motor located furthest from the virtual traveling line is greater than an output of an other of the first motor and the second motor, consistent with how a turn in Lee would have been done by variation of the rpm/speed of each of the rotation plates, when one of the rotation plates (and thus motors) is further from virtual traveling line than the other, applying the teachings of Kikumoto, as in the rejection of claim 21 above.
Claim(s) 31-34, 37, 40 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Lee (KR 20180008251 A) in view of Leinhos (US 20170371341 A1), Kikumoto (US 20220107649 A1) and Song (US 20040088080 A1).
With respect to claim 31, Lee discloses: A method of controlling a robot cleaner, the robot cleaner including a body (body is outside shell of 100, fig. 3; includes within a battery as described in [0058-0059] between case 11, and base 13, fig. 4; tank (water container) as in [0055-0056, 0059], and a motor that drives a mop as in [0053] as part of driving module 30, fig. 4), a pair of rotation plates having lower sides coupled to mopping cloths, the mopping clothes configured to face a floor surface (rotation plates 122 as described in [0052,0053] for each mop 30a, 30b shown in fig. 4; mop part 121, [0052-0053] can contact floor, for both rotation plates as part of 30a, 30b), the robot cleaner traveling by rotation of the pair of rotation plates ([0051]), with the adjustment depending on the direction rotated and rpm ([0047, 0049]),
However, does not explicitly disclose a displacement sensor, the displacement sensor configured to face a floor surface, a straight traveling operation of causing the robot cleaner to travel along a virtual traveling line connecting a start point to a predetermined target point; a deviation determination operation of determining whether the robot cleaner has deviated from the virtual traveling line by calculating a distance between the virtual traveling line and the displacement sensor via the displacement sensor, and a straight traveling correction operation of rotating the body of the robot cleaner to approach the virtual traveling line by changing a rotation speed of the pair of rotation plates after determining via the displacement sensor, the robot cleaner has deviated from the virtual traveling line.
Leinhos, in the same field of endeavor, related to robotic cleaning, teaches of a robotic cleaner with a straight traveling operation of causing the robotic cleaner to travel along a virtual traveling line connecting a start point to a predetermined target point in a straight line (fig. 1; [0020-0021] the robotic cleaner travels along a line to a target, the line is straight/made of straight sections, the robot moves along that line towards a target before turning). Leinhos teaches that this traveling arrangement makes as few turns as possible for cleaning, saving power while passing through the entire environment ([0020]).
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to have modified Lee with a straight traveling operation such that the robotic cleaner travels along a virtual traveling line connecting a start point to a predetermined target point in a straight line, as taught by Leinhos, in order to clean an environment while making as few turns as possible, saving battery power.
Kikumoto, reasonably pertinent to the problem being solved as related to ensuring that a vehicle travels along a line while minimizing deviation from said line, of a straight traveling correction operation that involves of steering (rotating) a vehicle in response to a shortest distance between the body and the virtual traveling line being greater than or equal to a predetermined reference distance (fig. 3, [0071], rotation depending on deviation of body to reference line L2), which occurs when the vehicle deviates from the virtual traveling line, and a deviation determination operation of determining whether the robot cleaner deviates from the virtual traveling line (fig. 3, [0071], rotation depending on deviation of body to reference line L2, so the deviation needs to be determined to determine whether correction is necessary). Kikumoto also teaches that the angle of approach (azimuth) depends on both the positional and angle deviation ([0072]), and that the sensitivity can be set ([0090]). Kikumoto teaches that this provides an advantage of making it easy to steer vehicle ([0005]) while ensuring that the vehicle follows the traveling line ([0071] with a zero positional deviation).
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to have further modified Lee with the steering arrangement of Kikumoto in order to easily ensure that the vehicle follows a traveling line. This arrangement would have resulted in the first rotation plate and the second rotation plate having different rotational speeds, applying the rotational operation of Lee ([0047, 0049, 0051]), in response to a shortest distance between the body and the virtual traveling line being greater than or equal to a predetermined reference distance, thus causing rotating the body of the robot cleaner to approach the virtual traveling line when the robot cleaner deviates from the virtual traveling line.
Regarding the limitation of a displacement sensor, the displacement sensor configured to face a floor surface, determining via the displacement sensor, the robot cleaner has deviated from the virtual traveling line, and the deviation determination operation of determining whether the robot cleaner has deviated from the virtual traveling line by calculating a distance between the virtual traveling line and the displacement sensor via the displacement sensor. Song, in the same field of endeavor, related to robotic cleaners, teaches of providing a displacement sensor disposed on the bottom surface of the body and configured to measure a distance the robot cleaner moves along the floor surface (a bottom facing camera 50, fig. 2a, [0039], the camera can measure distance and direction as in [0046], to facilitate driving of the cleaner and minimize deviation from a planned path; examiner notes for purposes of interpretation, a floor facing sensor can, as in this claim, for example, be located on top of the robot and angled downwards). Song teaches that this arrangement with a bottom sensor aid in cleaning efficiency by reducing position errors ([0004]).
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to have further modified Lee with displacement sensor of Song, to aid in cleaning efficiency by reducing position errors. The modification would have resulted in use of the displacement sensor, to determine that the robot cleaner has deviated from the virtual traveling line as the displacement sensor of Song is arranged to measure deviation from a planned path and facilitate driving of the cleaner, and in the deviation operation to determine whether the robot cleaner has deviated from the virtual traveling line by calculating a distance between the virtual traveling line and the displacement sensor via the displacement sensor, as the sensor of Song is configured to measure displacement and distance [calculate the distance or amount of deviaiton].
With respect to claim 32, Lee, as modified, teaches the limitations of claim 31 above, and further teaches wherein in the straight traveling operation, the pair of rotation plates are rotated at a same speed (Lee, [0051] forward operation).
With respect to claim 33, Lee, as modified, teaches the limitations of claim 31 above, and further teaches wherein in the straight traveling operation, a first rotation plate among the pair of rotation plates rotates in a direction opposite to a second rotation plate among the pair of rotation plates (Lee, [0051] forward operation, Lee [0050] define positive direction as being oppositely rotated mops with one clockwise and another counterclockwise).
With respect to claim 34, Lee, as modified, teaches the limitations of claim 31 above, and further teaches wherein the straight traveling correction operation comprises a first correction operation of rotating a first rotation plate among the pair of rotation plates located furthest from the virtual traveling line faster than a second rotation plate among the pair of rotation plates (applying the disclosure of Lee, [0047, 0049, 0051], where for example [0051] where the left mop is faster than the right mop to steer the robot in the right direction, the rotational speed of the rotation plate furthest from the traveling line would be faster in order to steer the vehicle towards the traveling line and minimize deviation from that line, consistent with the teachings of Kikumoto, [0071]).
With respect to claim 37, Lee, as modified, teaches the limitations of claim 34 above, and further teaches wherein in the first correction operation, a rotation angle of the body of the robot cleaner increases as a shortest distance between the virtual traveling line and the body of the robot cleaner increases (applying the teachings of Kikumoto, [0072], where the angle of approach depends on the angle and distance from the line and the vehicle, the rotational speed would increase as a smaller distance/angle requires more steering to neutralize and straighten the vehicle).
With respect to claim 40, Lee, as modified, teaches the limitations of claim 31 above, and further teaches wherein the deviation determination operation comprises determining that the robot cleaner deviates from the virtual traveling line, when a shortest distance between the virtual traveling line and a front end of the robot cleaner is greater than or equal to a predetermined reference distance (Kikumoto fig. 3, [0071], the deviation is between the vehicle and line, and as applied, to Lee, includes the distance between the front end of the robotic cleaner, and the line, given the robotic cleaner doesn’t change in size during operation).
Claim(s) 35-36, 38 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Lee (KR 20180008251 A) in view of Leinhos (US 20170371341 A1) Kikumoto (US 20220107649 A1) and Song (US 20040088080 A1) and further in view of Liu (WO 2021003983 A1, PCT filing date of 12/04/2019).
With respect to claim 35, Lee as modified, teaches the limitations of claim 34 above, however does not explicitly teach wherein the straight traveling correction operation further comprises a second correction operation of increasing the rotation speed of the second rotation plate located closest to the virtual traveling line, after the first correction operation. Kikumoto, however teaches that the angle of approach (azimuth) depends on both the positional and angle deviation ([0072]), and that the sensitivity can be set ([0090]).
Liu, in the same field of endeavor, as related to mobile robots, and reasonably pertinent to the problem being solved of navigating using a line that includes a first correction operation towards a target line (see bottommost dashed line in fig. 4, where the robot crosses the vertical line, the track depends on how the route is adjusted as in [0093]) of robotic navigation towards a target teaches of a straight traveling correction operation further comprises a second correction operation, after the first correction operation (bottommost dashed line in fig. 4, where the robot crosses the vertical line, and then returns). Liu teaches that this operation can be adjusted depending on both efficiency and accuracy ([0094]), and that this process improves the efficiency of navigation ([0068]).
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to have further modified Lee with the operation of Liu, such that there is a first correction operation of moving towards and past a virtual traveling line (overshooting the line), and a second correction operation of correcting the robot to move towards the vertical traveling line, as part of an adjustable travel operation, to improve the efficiency of navigation. This modification would have resulted in a second correction operation of increasing the rotation speed of the second rotation plate located closest to the virtual traveling line, after the first correction operation, applying the disclosure of Lee (Lee, [0047, 0049, 0051], where for example [0051] where the left mop is faster than the right mop to steer the robot in the right direction, and the teachings of Kikumoto (fig. 3, [0071], rotation depending on deviation of body to reference line L2), to navigate back towards the line after overshooting it.
With respect to claim 36, Lee as modified, teaches the limitations of claim 35 above, and further teaches wherein in the second correction operation, a rotation speed of the second rotation plate located closest to the virtual traveling line is increased as a shortest distance between the virtual traveling line and the body of the robot cleaner decreases (applying the teachings of Kikumoto, [0072], where the angle of approach depends on the angle and distance from the line and the vehicle, the rotational speed would increase as a smaller distance/angle requires more steering to neutralize and straighten the vehicle).
With respect to claim 38, Lee as modified, teaches the limitations of claim 31 above, however does not explicitly teach wherein the straight traveling correction operation comprises: generating, on the virtual traveling line, a virtual movement point disposed at a shortest distance from the robot cleaner; generating a target intersection point at a predetermined distance from the virtual movement point to the predetermined target point; and causing the robot cleaner to travel toward the target intersection point.
Liu, in the same field of endeavor, as related to mobile robots, and reasonably pertinent to the problem being solved of navigating using a line, teaches of a straight traveling correction operation that comprises: generating, on the virtual traveling line, a virtual movement point disposed at a shortest distance from the robot cleaner (the point where the bottommost solid horizontal line at where it intersects the solid vertical line in fig. 4; [0093]); generating a target intersection point at a predetermined distance from the virtual movement point to the predetermined target point (the ultimate target towards the top of fig. 4); and causing the robot cleaner to travel toward the target intersection point (fig. 4). Liu teaches that this operation provides adjustment depending on both efficiency and accuracy ([0094]), and that this process improves the efficiency of navigation ([0068]).
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to have further modified Lee with the operation of Liu, such that the straight traveling correction operation comprises: generating, on the virtual traveling line, a virtual movement point disposed at a shortest distance from the robot cleaner; generating a target intersection point at a predetermined distance from the virtual movement point to the predetermined target point; and causing the robot to travel toward the target intersection point, as part of an adjustable travel operation, to improve the efficiency of navigation.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 02/17/2026 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
The applicant argues that the various references do not disclose the claimed features. In particular, the applicant argues that Lee does not have the displacement sensor, and therefore does not have the claimed arrangement between the virtual traveling direction line and the virtual connecting line as well as the displacement sensor (response page 12). Here the examiner respectfully disagrees, and respectfully submits that a virtual connection line can be drawn between the two spin mops of Lee, and a bisecting perpendicular traveling line can be drawn perpendicular to that virtual connection line. The examiner respectfully submits that the virtual lines are not tangible physical features of the claimed cleaner in and of itself, but rather imaginary lines relating to physical placement of various features of the invention. As for the position of the displacement sensor, Kim, relating to robotic navigation teaches of placing a bottom facing camera in the robot, at a center or center of gravity of travel, to avoid the expense of kinematic calculations or dual cameras by proving a simple arrangement, which would provide for a camera (on a centrally located virtual traveling direction line). This renders the claimed invention obvious. As for the other references argued (response pages 12-13), Leihos, and Kikumoto the examiner did not rely on the references for the argued limitations (displacement sensors, virtual traveling direction line, rotation plates). Song, while teaching a displacement sensor, as noted in the last action, is not now applied to the rejection of claim 21.
On page 15 of the response, the applicant argued the rejection with respect to [stated as independent] claim 30. It appears here that the applicant intended to direct the arguments to the rejection as applied to instead to claim 31. The applicant argued that Song’s downward facing camera is silent with respect to calculating a distance between the virtual traveling line and displacement camera. The examiner has previously addressed claim 39 using Kikumoto, which is not specifically argued here, however Kikumoto teaches of correcting deviation from a line of intended travel. As for Song, as the displacement sensor is configured to measure deviation by calculating distance, see Song [0039,0046], the arrangement would be applied such that deviation is corrected by using the measurements as provided in Song to determine if deviation has occurred, for the advantageous reasons provided by Song of aiding in cleaning efficiency by reducing position errors. Therefore, the application of Song to the modified method of Lee teaches the argued limitation.
No specific arguments were directed to the dependent claims.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/Steven Huang/Examiner, Art Unit 3723
/TOM RODGERS/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3723