DETAILED ACTION
Response to Amendment
Claims 12-14,16-26 and 29-31 are pending. Claims 12, 18, 25 are currently amended.
Claim Objections
In claims 1, 18 and 25, consider --wherein the speaker is controlled to cancel the a washing notification of the [first] mop, when receiving a release control signal from a user, wherein the washing notification comprises a voice message notifying the user to wash the [first] mop of the robot cleaner, and wherein, when the robot cleaner enters the charging station, the speaker is controlled to output [[a]] the voice message notifying the user to wash the [first] mop of the robot cleaner--, as the disclosure provides that the voice message is part of the washing notification (the washing notification can include other messages/notifications, and this language would not exclude that, given that comprising is open ended). This would further clarify the claim language.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 12-14, 18 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Yoshimura (JP 2015181778 A) in view of Duenne (WO 2015007315 A1), Gawlik (DE 10357637 A1), Choe (US 20130060379 A1), Im (US 20060287801 A1), Kuroki (JP 2007275108 A), Wu (CN 110236456 A) and Cheuvront (US 20170361468 A1)
With respect to claim 12, Yoshimura discloses A robot cleaner that cleans a surface while automatically driving ([0002,0005]), the robot cleaner comprising: a body (2, fig. 2; [0012]); a cleaning element coupled to the body (brush 9, fig. 3; [0022], which can mop/wipe away material from surface); and a display provided on the body (including notification unit 77, fig. 1 with speaker as in [0028], provided on body in manner consistent with instant fig. 3 and display 55, fig. 1, as part of operation unit 51 on body [surface of housing], as in [0024, 0025]), the display including: a display screen coupled to an upper surface of the body (since the display is part of the operation panel as in [0024], which is on the housing/body, it is coupled to an upper surface, directly or indirectly, thereof), the display screen being configured to display a status of the robot cleaner (displays status as in [0025]); and a speaker coupled to the body (notification unit 77, fig. 1 with speaker as in [0028], since it is part of the robot, it is coupled directly/indirectly to body) the speaker being configured to output a sound (speakers output sound), however does not explicitly disclose wherein the display is controlled based on a control signal transmitted through an external control device, and wherein the control signal is a command to return the robot cleaner to a charging station, wherein the speaker is controlled to cancel a washing notification of the mop, when receiving a release control signal from a user, wherein, when the robot cleaner enters the charging station, the speaker is controlled to output a voice message notifying the user to wash the mop of the robot cleaner. Yoshimura, however, teaches that when the robot enters a night mode, the display brightness and message volume is controlled depending on operation mode ([0027]), which depends on the time and ambient brightness ([0029-0030]; one embodiment [that is a configuration of the robot as in [0045]] includes setting the display brightness and message volume depending on whether it is night as in [0047], to avoid disturbing the user when asleep; and that the user may set their preferences as in [0065]), and that the user may also remotely control the robot cleaner ([0024]), and that the robotic cleaner includes a rechargeable battery and can interface with a charging station ([0010-0011])
Duenne, in the same field of endeavor, relating to robotic cleaners, teaches of providing remote control of the robotic cleaner (using a remote terminal as in [0011], transmitted wirelessly [a control signal] as in [0008]), to include an operating mode ([0019-0020], to include a night or quiet mode, with setting of clock, with visual/acoustic feedback). Duenne teaches this arrangement is reliable and user friendly ([0006]).
It would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to have modified Yoshimura, such that the operating mode settings are changed based on a transmitted signal as in Duenne, to provide for a reliable and user friendly way to set the mode of the vacuum cleaner. This would have resulted in wherein the display is controlled based on a control signal transmitted through an external control device, as the mode of Yoshimura is set based on the time of day, based on the user preferences, and the mode includes a setting of display brightness and speaker volume.
As for the limitation regarding a “mop coupled to the body”, Gawlik, in the same field of endeavor, related to cleaning, teaches of providing a mop coupled to the body (roller 15, fig. 5 with a cloth 16 [0020-0022]), provided in addition to a brush (6, fig. 5; [0031]. Gawlik teaches that this arrangement makes for more hygienic and complete cleaning (providing a brush and sequential roller as in [0028,0032]).
It would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to have modified Yoshimura, with a mop coupled to the body in addition to the brush, as taught by Gawlik, for the purpose of providing more complete cleaning.
Choe, in the same field of endeavor, relating to robotic cleaners, teaches of providing for a charging command from a remote terminal, to return the robotic cleaner to the charging station (terminal 200, described in [0058-0060], shown in fig. 6; the charging command [a command would be a signal] is described in [0137]). Choe teaches that providing these types of remote commands increases the user’s convenience, and the operation efficiency and stability of the robotic cleaner ([0020,0025]).
It would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to have modified Yoshimura, to include a control signal that is a command to return the robot cleaner to a charging station, as taught by Choe, because this arrangement increases the user’s convenience, and the operation efficiency and stability of the robotic cleaner.
Wu, in the same field of endeavor, related to robotic cleaners, provides an arrangement where when the mop returns to the base station, the dirty mop is replaced automatically, and the user can subsequently clean the dirty mop ([0239], in addition the paragraph provides for teachings of prompting the user to do any necessary action, for example replacing the mop in the case that the mop is needed to be replaced by the user). Wu teaches that cleaning the mop can involve aspects such as washing it ([0238] involve jetting liquid if the cleaning is done by the base station). Wu teaches that this arrangement is intelligent and flexible, as it reduces the user’s need to make decisions related to cleaning the mop ([0005-0006]).
It would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to have modified Yoshimura, to include aspects related to replacing the dirty mop and subsequent manual cleaning by the user, as taught by Wu, for the purpose of providing an intelligent and flexible cleaning arrangement.
Cheuvront, in the same field of endeavor, related to robotic cleaners, provides for instructions related to mopping pads (for example that the mounting pad needs to be replaced or mounted as in [0225-0226]), and instructions on how to clean a cleaning implement on the robotic cleaner ([0222] teaches of instructions related to cleaning debris from a cleaning roller). Cheuvront teaches that this arrangement improves inefficiencies with user interaction with a mobile robot and prevents operational errors ([0065]).
It would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to have modified Yoshimura, to include instructional prompts, as taught by Cheuvront to improve inefficiencies with user interaction with a mobile robot and prevent operational errors.
Im, in the same field of endeavor, relating to robotic cleaners, teaches of providing the current status of the robot cleaner (to include the cleaner being charged, moving, as in [0035], [0038-0041] describe how the robot outputs the current status, continues to check the status by repeating the process). Im teaches that this arrangement allows “quickly and clearly notified of the state of the cleaning robot and thus can quickly take any necessary measures for the state, thereby ensuring that the cleaning robot operates reliably” ([0040]).
It would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to have modified Yoshimura, to include a voice output of the current cleaner, as taught by Im, to ensure reliable operation of the robot by allowing the user to be quickly and clearly notified of the robot state. The application of Im, together with the teachings of Gawlik (providing for both charging and washing the mop), would result in a washing notification of the mop, to indicate to the user the current state of the cleaning robot, the same way Im teaches of outputting a charging notification or of the current status. Furthermore, this arrangement would have provided for wherein, when the robot cleaner enters the charging station, the speaker is controlled to output a voice message notifying the user to wash the mop of the robot cleaner, as when the robot enters the docking station, the mop is replaced, requiring subsequent cleaning/washing by the user, as in Wu, and together with the teachings of Im, it would result in a notification so that the user can quickly take any necessary measures for the state, thereby ensuring that the cleaning robot operates reliably, and the user would be instructed to wash the mop as provided by Cheuvront to increase efficiency in user interaction, and reduce errors.
Regarding the limitation wherein the speaker is controlled to cancel a washing notification of the mop, when receiving a release control signal from a user, Kuroki in the same field of endeavor, related to cleaning, teaches of wherein when receiving a release control signal from a user, the speaker [audio] is controlled to be canceled with respect to an audio notification ([0014, 0023], user sends the release signal via a button to mute, the audio notification being a timing/method of maintenance [analogous to the washing notification of the mop, as washing is a maintenance of the cleaner] as in [0007]). Kuroki teaches that notifications can be annoying to the user ([0014]), that this arrangement eliminates the user’s anxiety and can be applied to self-propelled [robotic] cleaners ([0024]).
It would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to have modified Yoshimura, such that wherein the speaker is controlled to cancel the washing notification of the mop, when receiving a release control signal from a user, using the teachings of Kuroki, so that the user is not annoyed and reduce user anxiety.
With respect to claim 13, Yoshimura, as modified, teaches the limitations of claim 12 above, and further teaches wherein the speaker is set to a set volume level of the speaker, in response to the control signal corresponding to the set volume level of the speaker (the mode of Yoshimura includes a speaker volume as [0027], and Duenne teaches of transmitting a mode setting to the cleaner as in [0019-0020], the result would be that the mode corresponds to a volume level of the speaker).
With respect to claim 14, Yoshimura, as modified, teaches the limitations of claim 12 above, and further teaches wherein a brightness of the display screen is set to a set value of brightness of the display screen, in response to the control signal corresponding to the set value of brightness of the display screen (the mode of Yoshimura includes a display screen brightness as in [0027], and Duenne teaches of transmitting a mode setting to the cleaner as in [0019-0020], the result would be that the mode corresponds to a brightness).
With respect to claim 18, Yoshimura discloses A robot cleaning system comprising: a robot cleaner configured to clean a surface while automatically driving ([0002,0005]), the robot cleaner including: a body (2, fig. 2; [0012]); a display provided on the body (including notification unit 77, fig. 1 with speaker as in [0028], provided on body in manner consistent with instant fig. 3 and display 55, fig. 1, as part of operation unit 51 on body [surface of housing], as in [0024, 0025]), the display being configured to display information about the robot cleaner (displays status as in [0025]), , the display including a speaker (notification unit 77, fig. 1 with speaker as in [0028]); and an external control device ([0024]) however does not explicitly disclose, a mop coupled to the body, that the external control device is configured to: display a control screen, generate a control signal based on a user input inputted through the control screen, and transmit the control signal to the robot cleaner to control the display of the robot cleaner, or that the control signal is a command to return the robot cleaner to a charging station, wherein the speaker is controlled to cancel s washing notification of the mop, when receiving a release control signal from a user, wherein, when the robot cleaner enters the charging station, the speaker is controlled to output a voice message notifying the user to wash the mop of the robot cleaner. Yoshimura, however, teaches that when the robot enters a night mode, the display brightness and message volume is controlled depending on operation mode ([0027]), which depends on the time and ambient brightness ([0029-0030]; one embodiment [that is a configuration of the robot as in [0045]] includes setting the display brightness and message volume depending on whether it is night as in [0047], to avoid disturbing the user when asleep; and that the user may set their preferences as in [0065]), and that the robotic cleaner includes a rechargeable battery and can interface with a charging station ([0010-0011]). Yoshimura also discloses a cleaning element coupled to the body (brush 9, fig. 3; [0022], which can mop/wipe away material from surface).
Duenne, in the same field of endeavor, relating to robotic cleaners, teaches of providing remote control of the robotic cleaner (using a remote terminal as in [0011], with a control screen that displays and accepts user input to as in [0054] and transmits control signals to the robotic cleaner [0053, 0058]), the settings include an operating mode ([0019-0020], to include a night or quiet mode, with setting of clock, with visual/acoustic feedback). Duenne teaches this arrangement is reliable and user friendly ([0006]).
It would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to have modified Yoshimura, to have provided external control device is configured to: display a control screen, generate a control signal based on a user input inputted through the control screen, and transmit the control signal to the robot cleaner. The transmitted signals would have controlled the display of the robot cleaner as the mode of Yoshimura is set based on the time of day, based on the user preferences, and the mode includes a setting of display brightness and speaker volume.
As for the limitation regarding a “mop coupled to the body”, Gawlik, in the same field of endeavor, related to cleaning, teaches of providing a mop coupled to the body (roller 15, fig. 5 with a cloth 16 [0020-0022]), provided in addition to a brush (6, fig. 5; [0031]. Gawlik teaches that this arrangement makes for more hygienic and complete cleaning (providing a brush and sequential roller as in [0028,0032]).
It would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to have modified Yoshimura, with a mop coupled to the body in addition to the brush, as taught by Gawlik, for the purpose of providing more complete cleaning.
Choe, in the same field of endeavor, relating to robotic cleaners, teaches of providing for a charging command from a remote terminal, to return the robotic cleaner to the charging station (terminal 200, described in [0058-0060], shown in fig. 6; the charging command [a command would be a signal] is described in [0137]). Choe teaches that providing these types of remote commands increases the user’s convenience, and the operation efficiency and stability of the robotic cleaner ([0020,0025]).
It would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to have modified Yoshimura, to include a control signal that is a command to return the robot cleaner to a charging station, as taught by Choe, because this arrangement increases the user’s convenience, and the operation efficiency and stability of the robotic cleaner.
Wu, in the same field of endeavor, related to robotic cleaners, provides an arrangement where when the mop returns to the base station, the dirty mop is replaced automatically, and the user can subsequently clean the dirty mop ([0239], in addition the paragraph provides for teachings of prompting the user to do any necessary action, for example replacing the mop in the case that the mop is needed to be replaced by the user). Wu teaches that cleaning the mop can involve aspects such as washing it ([0238] involve jetting liquid if the cleaning is done by the base station). Wu teaches that this arrangement is intelligent and flexible, as it reduces the user’s need to make decisions related to cleaning the mop ([0005-0006]).
It would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to have modified Yoshimura, to include aspects related to replacing the dirty mop and subsequent manual cleaning by the user, as taught by Wu, for the purpose of providing an intelligent and flexible cleaning arrangement.
Cheuvront, in the same field of endeavor, related to robotic cleaners, provides for instructions related to mopping pads (for example that the mounting pad needs to be replaced or mounted as in [0225-0226]), and instructions on how to clean a cleaning implement on the robotic cleaner ([0222] teaches of instructions related to cleaning debris from a cleaning roller). Cheuvront teaches that this arrangement improves inefficiencies with user interaction with a mobile robot and prevents operational errors ([0065]).
It would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to have modified Yoshimura, to include instructional prompts, as taught by Cheuvront to improve inefficiencies with user interaction with a mobile robot and prevent operational errors.
Im, in the same field of endeavor, relating to robotic cleaners, teaches of providing the current status of the robot cleaner (to include the cleaner being charged, moving, as in [0035], [0038-0041] describe how the robot outputs the current status, continues to check the status by repeating the process). Im teaches that this arrangement allows “quickly and clearly notified of the state of the cleaning robot and thus can quickly take any necessary measures for the state, thereby ensuring that the cleaning robot operates reliably” ([0040]).
It would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to have modified Yoshimura, to include a voice output of the current cleaner, as taught by Im, to ensure reliable operation of the robot by allowing the user to be quickly and clearly notified of the robot state. The application of Im, together with the teachings of Gawlik (providing for both charging and washing the mop), would result in a washing notification of the mop, to indicate to the user the current state of the cleaning robot, the same way Im teaches of outputting a charging notification or of the current status. Furthermore, this arrangement would have provided for wherein, when the robot cleaner enters the charging station, the speaker is controlled to output a voice message notifying the user to wash the mop of the robot cleaner, as when the robot enters the docking station, the mop is replaced, requiring subsequent cleaning/washing by the user, as in Wu, and together with the teachings of Im, it would result in a notification so that the user can quickly take any necessary measures for the state, thereby ensuring that the cleaning robot operates reliably, and the user would be instructed to wash the mop as provided by Cheuvront to increase efficiency in user interaction, and reduce errors.
Regarding the limitation wherein the speaker is controlled to cancel the washing notification of the mop, when receiving a release control signal from a user, Kuroki in the same field of endeavor, related to cleaning, teaches of wherein when receiving a release control signal from a user, the speaker [audio] is controlled to be canceled with respect to an audio notification ([0014, 0023], user sends the release signal via a button to mute, the audio notification being a timing/method of maintenance [analogous to the washing notification of the mop, as washing is a maintenance of the cleaner] as in [0007]). Kuroki teaches that notifications can be annoying to the user ([0014]), that this arrangement eliminates the user’s anxiety and can be applied to self-propelled [robotic] cleaners ([0024]).
It would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to have modified Yoshimura, such that wherein the speaker is controlled to cancel the washing notification of the mop, when receiving a release control signal from a user, using the teachings of Kuroki, so that the user is not annoyed and reduce user anxiety.
Claim(s) 16 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Yoshimura (JP 2015181778 A) in view of Duenne (WO 2015007315 A1), Choe (US 20130060379 A1), Gawlik (DE 10357637 A1) Im (US 20060287801 A1), Kuroki (JP 2007275108 A), Wu (CN 110236456 A) and Cheuvront (US 20170361468 A1) and further in view of Huang (CN 109528092 A).
With respect to claim 16, Yoshimura, as modified, teaches the limitations of claim 12 above, however does not explicitly teach wherein the speaker is controlled to re- output the washing notification every time a preset predetermined time elapses after the washing notification is first transmitted. Im, however teaches that it is important to quickly and clearly notify the user of the robot’s state (Im, [0040]).
Huang, in the same field of endeavor, relating to robotic cleaners, teaches of repeating a notification after a preset predetermined time elapses after the notification is first transmitted (repeating the announcement a preset of 2 or 3 times, for a preset time [0024-0025], therefore providing for a preset predetermined time between the announcements, including after the first announcement, at least between the first and last announcement). Huang teaches that repeating the announcement improves the effectiveness of the announcement, thus clearly ensuring the user hears it.
It would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to have modified Yoshimura, to include wherein the speaker is controlled to re- output the washing notification every time a preset predetermined time elapses after the washing notification is first transmitted, by applying the teachings of repeating announcements of Huang, in order to more clearly notify the user of the current state.
Claim(s) 17 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Yoshimura (JP 2015181778 A) in view of Duenne (WO 2015007315 A1), Choe (US 20130060379 A1), Gawlik (DE 10357637 A1), Im (US 20060287801 A1) and Kuroki (JP 2007275108 A), Wu (CN 110236456 A) and Cheuvront (US 20170361468 A1) and further in view of Martins (US 20120260944 A1).
With respect to claim 17, Yoshimura, as modified, teaches the limitations of claim 12 above, however does not explicitly teach wherein the speaker is controlled to transmit a warning sound when the control signal is received, in response to the control signal being a command to search for a current location of the robot cleaner.
Martins, in the same field of endeavor, relating to robotic cleaners, teaches of wherein the speaker is controlled to transmit a warning sound when the control signal is received, in response to the control signal being a command to search for a current location of the robot cleaner (a command [search signal] is sent from a remote station to have the robot emit a sound as in [0078]). Martins teaches that this makes it easier to locate a robotic cleaner in the case it becomes stuck or broken down ([0078, 0116]).
It would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to have modified Yoshimura, to include wherein the speaker is controlled to transmit a warning sound when the control signal is received, in response to the control signal being a command to search for a current location of the robot cleaner, applying the teachings of Martins, so that the user can easily find the robot in case of a break down.
Claim(s) 19-20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Yoshimura (JP 2015181778 A) in view of Duenne (WO 2015007315 A1), Choe (US 20130060379 A1), Gawlik (DE 10357637 A1), Im (US 20060287801 A1) and Kuroki (JP 2007275108 A), Wu (CN 110236456 A) and Cheuvront (US 20170361468 A1) and further in view of Miura (WO 2012115122 A1).
With respect to claim 19, Yoshimura, as modified, teaches the limitations of claim 18 above, however does not explicitly teach wherein the external control device is configured to: display a plurality of set values of volume on the control screen, and transmit the control signal to the robot cleaner for controlling the robot cleaner to output sound at a selected set value of volume among the plurality of set values of volume, in response to the user input being the selected set value of volume; however Yoshimura discloses that switching the brightness and sound levels (message volume) saves energy and makes it more considerate to users (Yoshimura, [0034,0051]), and that the user may set their preferences for the different modes (Yoshimura, [0065]).
Fig. 4 (Miura, translated). If difficulties occur with viewing the above image, the .docx file can be downloaded from Patent Center.
Miura, reasonably pertinent to the problem being solved of providing volume/brightness control of a display of a home appliance teaches of providing brightness and volume controls as part of a GUI of a control device (page 5 lines 167-179; control device provides remote control [thus transmitting a control signal in page 2 lines 59-64] as in page 5 lines 191-200; see fig. 4, above, showing a plurality of volume settings and brightness settings). Miura teaches that this arrangement makes it easier to understand the operation change in the appliance (page 2 lines 39-43; also noting that this can display details of the energy consumption), and that this can be part of an energy management system (page 1 lines 12-14).
It would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to have modified Yoshimura, to include wherein the external control device is configured to: display a plurality of set values of volume on the control screen, and transmit the control signal to the robot cleaner for controlling the robot cleaner to output sound at a selected set value of volume among the plurality of set values of volume, in response to the user input being the selected set value of volume, using the teachings of Miura, as applied to remote control of volume, for the purpose of making it easier to understand the change in operation the change in settings would have made. One of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, would have applied the teachings of Miura to the control of the volume of the robotic cleaner of Yoshimura for the advantageous reasons of making it easier to understand the change in operation and energy consumption, which would have resulted in the claimed limitations.
With respect to claim 20, Yoshimura, as modified, teaches the limitations of claim 18 above, however does not explicitly teach wherein the external control device is configured to: display a plurality of set values of brightness on the control screen, and transmit the control signal to the robot cleaner for controlling a screen brightness of the display to a selected set value of brightness among the plurality of set values of brightness, in response to the user input being the selected set value of brightness; however Yoshimura discloses that switching the brightness and sound levels saves energy (Yoshimura, [0051]), and that the user may set their preferences for the different modes (Yoshimura, [0065]).
Miura, reasonably pertinent to the problem being solved of providing volume/brightness control of a display of a home appliance teaches of providing brightness and volume controls as part of a GUI of a control device (page 5 lines 167-179; control device provides remote control [thus transmitting a control signal in page 2 lines 59-64] as in page 5 lines 191-200; see fig. 4, above, showing a plurality of volume settings and brightness settings). Miura teaches that this arrangement makes it easier to understand the operation change in the appliance (page 2 lines 39-43; also noting that this can display details of the energy consumption), and that this can be part of an energy management system (page 1 lines 12-14).
It would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to have modified Yoshimura, such that the external control device is configured to: display a plurality of set values of brightness on the control screen, and transmit the control signal to the robot cleaner for controlling a screen brightness of the display to a selected set value of brightness among the plurality of set values of brightness, in response to the user input being the selected set value of brightness, using the teachings of Miura, as applied to remote control of brightness, for the purpose of making it easier to understand the change in operation the change in settings would have made. One of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, would have applied the teachings of Miura to the control of the brightness of the robotic cleaner of Yoshimura for the advantageous reasons of making it easier to understand the change in operation and energy consumption, which would have resulted in the claimed limitations.
Claim(s) 21 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Yoshimura (JP 2015181778 A) in view of Duenne (WO 2015007315 A1), Choe (US 20130060379 A1), Gawlik (DE 10357637 A1), Im (US 20060287801 A1) Kuroki (JP 2007275108 A), Wu (CN 110236456 A) and Cheuvront (US 20170361468 A1) and further in view of Byongkon (WO 2019004773 A1).
Fig . 26 (Byongkon, translated). If difficulties occur with viewing the above image, the .docx file can be downloaded from Patent Center.
Fig. 10 (Byongkon, translated). If difficulties occur with viewing the above image, the .docx file can be downloaded from Patent Center.
With respect to claim 21, Yoshimura, as modified, teaches the limitations of claim 18 above, however does not explicitly teach wherein the external control device is configured to: display a cleaner search item for searching a current location of the robot cleaner on the control screen, and receive, from the robot cleaner, a location where the robot cleaner stops driving and display the location where the robot cleaner stops driving as the current location of the robot cleaner, in response to the user input being a selection of the cleaner search item, and wherein the location where the robot cleaner stops driving is displayed as an image on the control screen.
Byongkon, in the same field of endeavor, relating to robotic cleaners, teaches of wherein an external control device (mobile terminal, [0015]) is configured to: display a cleaner search item for searching a current location of the robot cleaner on the control screen (fig. 26, shows a map of current location of robotic cleaner as in [0458-0460]), and receive, from the robot cleaner, a location where the robot cleaner stops driving and display the location where the robot cleaner stops driving as the current location of the robot cleaner (as the display shows a current location of the robotic cleaner, received from the robotic cleaner, as in [0110] it would also display a location where it is stopped), in response to the user input being a selection of the cleaner search item, and wherein the location where the robot cleaner stops driving is displayed as an image on the control screen (there is a stop button for manual control, [0313-0314] describes manual control, [0260] describes it with respect to fig. 26, which is shown translated above to include a stop button and navigation buttons, the map would display the current location [including when stopped, as a stopped position is still a location where the robot is; as evidence see fig. 10, translated above, described in [0303-0305], including a cleaning start button described in [0305] as evidence that the robot is stopped, but still displayed on the map]). Byongkon teaches that this arrangement allows one to easily find a robot ([0013]).
It would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to have modified Yoshimura, such that wherein the external control device is configured to: display a cleaner search item for searching a current location of the robot cleaner on the control screen, and receive, from the robot cleaner, a location where the robot cleaner stops driving and display the location where the robot cleaner stops driving as the current location of the robot cleaner, in response to the user input being a selection of the cleaner search item, and wherein the location where the robot cleaner stops driving is displayed as an image on the control screen, using the teachings of Byongkon, to make it easier to find the robot.
Claim(s) 22-24 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Yoshimura (JP 2015181778 A) in view of Duenne (WO 2015007315 A1), Choe (US 20130060379 A1), Gawlik (DE 10357637 A1), Im (US 20060287801 A1) Kuroki (JP 2007275108 A), Wu (CN 110236456 A) and Cheuvront (US 20170361468 A1) and further in view of Hackert (US 20180361569 A1).
With respect to claim 22, Yoshimura, as modified, teaches the limitations of claim 18 above, however does not explicitly teach wherein the robot cleaner is a first robot cleaner, wherein the robot cleaning system further includes a second robot cleaner configured to perform a cleaning operation in cooperation with the first robot cleaner, and wherein the first robot cleaner receives a cleaning completion signal transmitted after the second robot cleaner completes a cleaning and the first robot cleaner starts a cleaning operation, in response to the external control device receiving the user input selecting the second robot cleaner on the control screen.
Hackert, in the same field of endeavor, relating to robotic cleaners, teaches of a system of robotic cleaners, including a first robot cleaner, a second robot cleaner configured to perform a cleaning operation in cooperation with the first robot cleaner (multiple floor processing devices, [0004,0006]), and wherein the first robot cleaner receives a cleaning completion signal transmitted after the second robot cleaner completes a cleaning and the first robot cleaner starts a cleaning operation (the first floor cleaning device, 4, fig. 1, completes its activity “During the movement or at the latest after the cleaning activity is complete, a sensor array of the floor processing device 4 detects the surface to be cleaned and compares its composition with reference data for clean and dirty states of the floor surface stored in a local memory of the floor processing device 4 or the shared memory 7.” [0031], and if it is still not clean “it relays this information to the memory 7. [cleaning completion signal, as it is sent after completion of cleaning] Based on the information, a central computing device allocated to the memory 7 retrieves a subsequent activity from the memory 7, which serves to replace the failed cleaning activity of the floor processing device 4, i.e., eliminating the dirt caked onto the floor. The computing device determines which floor processing devices 3, 4 are available within the system, and the floor processing fixtures 1, 2 available to them […] Since the floor processing device 3 has a floor processing fixture 1 suitable for wet cleaning, here specifically a wiping roller, the computing device thereupon plans an event-based operational activity for the floor processing device 3, here specifically a wet cleaning after the failure of the previous dry cleaning activity of the floor processing device 4” and the cleaning device 4 receives the signal about the necessary activities in [0033]), in response to the external control device receiving the user input selecting the second robot cleaner on the control screen (user can confirm activity on a screen/tablet 8 [tablet is external control device with screen] , fig. 1 in [0033], that displays database 6, and set/change activity using the display/tablet 8 for the second robot 4 in [0034]; see also [0014] describing input terminals). Hackert teaches that this arrangement leads to optimal success of floor cleaning ([0020]).
It would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to have modified Yoshimura, with the teachings of two coordinated robot cleaners of Hackert, for optimal cleaning success.
With respect to claim 23, Yoshimura, as modified, teaches the limitations of claim 18 above, however does not explicitly teach wherein the robot cleaner is a first robot cleaner among a plurality of registered cleaners, and wherein the external control device is configured to display a status bar including the plurality of registered cleaners.
Hackert, in the same field of endeavor, relating to robotic cleaners, teaches of a system of robotic cleaners, including a first robot cleaner, a second robot cleaner configured to perform a cleaning operation in cooperation with the first robot cleaner (multiple floor processing devices, [0004,0006], linked in operation as in [0031-0033]), and wherein the external control device is configured to display a status bar including the plurality of registered cleaners (screen/tablet 8 [tablet is external control device with screen; displays status bar/column with plurality of registered cleaners], fig. 1, described in [0033], that displays database 6, and user can set/change activity using the display/tablet 8 for the first robot 3 and second robot 4 in [0034]; see also [0014] describing input terminals [external control devices]). Hackert teaches that this arrangement leads to optimal success of floor cleaning ([0020]).
It would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to have modified Yoshimura, with the teachings of two coordinated robot cleaners of Hackert, and the external control screen displaying a status bar with the cleaners, with a linked operation of the two different types of cleaners, for optimal cleaning success.
With respect to claim 24, Yoshimura, as modified, teaches the limitations of claim 23 above, and further teaches wherein the first robot cleaner and a second robot cleaner among the plurality of registered cleaners are interlocked, in response to the user input being a selection of the second robot cleaner on the external control device, and wherein the first robot cleaner and the second robot cleaner are configured to cooperatively clean, in response to the first robot cleaner and the second robot cleaner being interlocked (Hackert, interlocked cleaner, as interdependent in [0034], the interdependent operation set by the user [user input], the user selects/sets both the first and second bot to cooperatively clean using the external control device/tablet 8).
Claim(s) 25, 26, and 31 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Halloran (US 20140249671 A1) in view of Gawlik (DE 10357637 A1), Choe (US 20130060379 A1), Im (US 20060287801 A1), Kuroki (JP 2007275108 A), Wu (CN 110236456 A) and Cheuvront (US 20170361468 A1)
With respect to claim 25, Halloran discloses: A robot cleaner that cleans a surface while automatically driving, the robot cleaner comprising: a body (mobile robot 104 moves and cleans floor, [0044]); and a display provided on the body (display panel 105, fig. 1b, [0046], including audio output device 1054, fig. 1b and indicia 1052, fig. 1b, as shown in fig. 1b, located on a body), the display including speaker and a display screen coupled to an upper surface of the body (indicia 1052, fig. 1b, [0046], location is on/coupled directly or indirectly to upper surface of body as in fig. 1b; speaker as audio output device 1054, fig. 1b; location of speaker is on/coupled directly or indirectly to upper surface of body as in fig. 1b), the display screen being configured to display content regarding a control signal transmitted from a user through an external control device (indicia 1052 includes themed displays; “a wireless update function may be provided by the network data bridge 202 in order to update the robot's firmware or other on-board software, personality, sounds, and/or displayed pictures. Also, a user may design themes or other content and have this content transmitted to the mobile robot 104 via the wireless communication channel provided by the network data bridge 202.”; [0057]), however does not explicitly disclose a container detachably connected to the body; a first mop coupled to the body, the first mop being configured to: receive fluid from the container, and rotate, and wherein the control signal is a command to return the robot cleaner to a charging station, wherein the speaker is controlled to cancel a washing notification of the first mop, when receiving a release control signal from a user, wherein, when the robot cleaner enters the charging station, the speaker is controlled to output a voice message notifying the user to wash the first mop of the robot cleaner. Halloran however, discloses that the robot can be a mopping, vacuum or brushing robot ([0043]) and that the robot can dock at a base station to recharge ( [0018])
Gawlik, in the same field of endeavor, relating to robotic cleaners, teaches of providing robotic cleaners with a container detachably connected to the body (tank 11, fig. 3, can be detached irreversibly from rest of cleaner/body [0028]; tank makes the robot compact as in [0028]); a first mop coupled to the body (first mop as roller 15, [0020], that rotates; there is also a second mop 18, described in [0025-0026]) , the mop being configured to: receive fluid from the container, and rotate (first mop rotates as shown in fig. 4 with the rotation arrow, and receives fluid from a nozzle 13, fig. 4, as described in [0018,0020]). Gawlik teaches that this arrangement provides for an improved cleaning result with minimal set up time (page 3 lines 54-64), removing stubborn dirt with good results (page 3 lines 64-73).
It would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to have modified Halloran, with the mop and tank arrangement of Gawlik, for improved cleaning results.
Choe, in the same field of endeavor, relating to robotic cleaners, teaches of providing for a charging command from a remote terminal, to return the robotic cleaner to the charging station (terminal 200, described in [0058-0060], shown in fig. 6; the charging command [a command would be a signal] is described in [0137]). Choe teaches that providing these types of remote commands increases the user’s convenience, and the operation efficiency and stability of the robotic cleaner ([0020,0025]).
It would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to have modified Halloran, to include a control signal that is a command to return the robot cleaner to a charging station, as taught by Choe, because this arrangement increases the user’s convenience, and the operation efficiency and stability of the robotic cleaner.
Wu, in the same field of endeavor, related to robotic cleaners, provides an arrangement where when the mop returns to the base station, the dirty mop is replaced automatically, and the user can subsequently clean the dirty mop ([0239], in addition the paragraph provides for teachings of prompting the user to do any necessary action, for example replacing the mop in the case that the mop is needed to be replaced by the user). Wu teaches that cleaning the mop can involve aspects such as washing it ([0238] involve jetting liquid if the cleaning is done by the base station). Wu teaches that this arrangement is intelligent and flexible, as it reduces the user’s need to make decisions related to cleaning the mop ([0005-0006]).
It would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to have modified Halloran, to include aspects related to replacing the dirty mop and subsequent manual cleaning by the user, as taught by Wu, for the purpose of providing an intelligent and flexible cleaning arrangement.
Cheuvront, in the same field of endeavor, related to robotic cleaners, provides for instructions related to mopping pads (for example that the mounting pad needs to be replaced or mounted as in [0225-0226]), and instructions on how to clean a cleaning implement on the robotic cleaner ([0222] teaches of instructions related to cleaning debris from a cleaning roller). Cheuvront teaches that this arrangement improves inefficiencies with user interaction with a mobile robot and prevents operational errors ([0065]).
It would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to have modified Halloran, to include instructional prompts, as taught by Cheuvront to improve inefficiencies with user interaction with a mobile robot and prevent operational errors.
Im, in the same field of endeavor, relating to robotic cleaners, teaches of providing the current status of the robot cleaner (to include the cleaner being charged, moving, as in [0035], [0038-0041] describe how the robot outputs the current status, continues to check the status by repeating the process). Im teaches that this arrangement allows “quickly and clearly notified of the state of the cleaning robot and thus can quickly take any necessary measures for the state, thereby ensuring that the cleaning robot operates reliably” ([0040]).
It would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to have modified Halloran, to include a voice output of the current cleaner, as taught by Im, to ensure reliable operation of the robot by allowing the user to be quickly and clearly notified of the robot state. The application of Im, together with the teachings of Gawlik (providing for both charging and washing the mop), would result in a washing notification of the first mop, to indicate to the user the current state of the cleaning robot, the same way Im teaches of outputting a charging notification or of the current status. Furthermore, this arrangement would have provided for wherein, when the robot cleaner enters the charging station, the speaker is controlled to output a voice message notifying the user to wash the first mop of the robot cleaner, as when the robot enters the docking station, the mop is replaced, requiring subsequent cleaning/washing by the user, as in Wu, and together with the teachings of Im, it would result in a notification so that the user can quickly take any necessary measures for the state, thereby ensuring that the cleaning robot operates reliably, and the user would be instructed to wash the mop as provided by Cheuvront to increase efficiency in user interaction, and reduce errors.
Regarding the limitation wherein the speaker is controlled to cancel the washing notification of the first mop, when receiving a release control signal from a user, Kuroki in the same field of endeavor, related to cleaning, teaches of wherein when receiving a release control signal from a user, the speaker [audio] is controlled to be canceled with respect to an audio notification ([0014, 0023], user sends the release signal via a button to mute, the audio notification being a timing/method of maintenance [analogous to the washing notification of the mop, as washing is a maintenance of the cleaner] as in [0007]). Kuroki teaches that notifications can be annoying to the user ([0014]), that this arrangement eliminates the user’s anxiety and can be applied to self-propelled [robotic] cleaners ([0024]).
It would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to have modified Halloran, such that wherein the speaker is controlled to cancel the washing notification of the mop, when receiving a release control signal from a user, using the teachings of Kuroki, so that the user is not annoyed and reduce user anxiety.
With respect to claim 26, Halloran, as modified, teaches the limitations of claim 25 above, and further teaches wherein the speaker coupled is to the body, the speaker being configured to output a sound (Halloran, display panel 105, fig. 1b, [0046], including audio output device 1054, fig. 1b; as in the rejection of claim 25 since the speaker is on the body, as part of the display device, it is coupled to it).
With respect to claim 31, Halloran, as modified, teaches the limitations of claim 25 above, and further teaches a second mop connected to the body, the second mop being configured to: receive the fluid from the container, and rotate (Gawlik a second mop 18, described in [0025-0026], and as described in [0025] is a rotating wiping cloth, and thus absorb liquid, including from container).
Claim(s) 29 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Halloran (US 20140249671 A1) in view of Gawlik (DE 10357637 A1), Choe (US 20130060379 A1), Im (US 20060287801 A1), Kuroki (JP 2007275108 A), Wu (CN 110236456 A) and Cheuvront (US 20170361468 A1), further in view of Huang (CN 109528092 A) and Byongkon (WO 2019004773 A1).
With respect to claim 29, Halloran, as modified, teaches the limitations of claim 25 above, however does not explicitly teach wherein at a predetermined time after the washing notification is first transmitted, the speaker is controlled to re-output the washing notification, and the robot cleaner is configured to transmit the washing notification to the external control device. Im, however teaches that it is important to quickly and clearly notify the user of the robot’s state (Im, [0040]).
Huang, in the same field of endeavor, relating to robotic cleaners, teaches of repeating a notification after a preset predetermined time elapses after the notification is first transmitted (repeating the announcement a preset of 2 or 3 times, for a preset time [0024-0025], therefore providing for a preset predetermined time between the announcements, including after the first announcement, at least between the first and last announcement). Huang teaches that repeating the announcement improves the effectiveness of the announcement, thus clearly ensuring the user hears it.
It would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to have modified Halloran, to include wherein the speaker is controlled to re- output the washing notification every time a preset predetermined time elapses after the washing notification is first transmitted, by applying the teachings of repeating announcements of Huang, in order to more clearly notify the user of the current state.
As for the limitation of the robot cleaner is configured to transmit the washing notification to the external control device, Byongkon, in the same filed of endeavor, as relating to robotic cleaners, teaches of transmitting the current status of the robot to a mobile terminal ([0154], including cleaning status; mobile terminal analogous to external control device). Byongkon teaches this arrangement makes convenient to check and control the robot ([0018]).
It would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to have modified Halloran, to transmit the robot status to an external control device, to make it convenient to check and control the robot. This would have resulted in the transmission of the washing notification to the external control device, as a status of the robot cleaner.
Claim(s) 30 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Halloran (US 20140249671 A1) in view of Gawlik (DE 10357637 A1), Choe (US 20130060379 A1), Im (US 20060287801 A1), Kuroki (JP 2007275108 A), Wu (CN 110236456 A) Cheuvront (US 20170361468 A1), Huang (CN 109528092 A) and Byongkon (WO 2019004773 A1), and further in view of Hashimoto (CN 110881901 A).
With respect to claim 30, Halloran, as modified, teaches the limitations of claim 29 above, however does not explicitly teach wherein the robot cleaner includes a power button, and wherein the transmission of the washing notification, by the robot cleaner, is canceled in response to the user pressing the power button.
Hashimoto, in the same field of endeavor, relating to robotic cleaners, teaches of wherein a robot cleaner includes a power button (operation button 16, fig. 1, [0032], can start and stop robot so it is a power button, and can also switch mode), and wherein the transmission of the washing notification, by the robot cleaner, is canceled in response to the user pressing the power button (the modes include automatic operation mode and silent operation mode, [0041], and the speaker is silenced in the silent operation mode as in [0033]; in addition to a start/stop function of the power button). Hashimoto teaches providing this arrangement allows the cleaner to adapt to various lifestyles and personalities of the user, depending on the user’s preference ([0010]).
It would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to have modified Halloran, to include a power button, and wherein the transmission of the washing notification, by the robot cleaner, is canceled in response to the user pressing the power button, as taught by Hashimoto, so that multiple modes can be set according to the various lifestyles and personalities of the user, depending on the user’s preference. The arrangement would have caused the transmission of the washing notification, by the robot cleaner, is canceled in response to the user pressing the power button, as Hashimoto teaches that the power button can stop the robot, which is understood to stop operation as in (Hashimoto, [0032]).
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 03/13/2026 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
Applicant argues (response pages 10-13) that the new limitation “wherein, when the robot cleaner enters the charging station, the speaker is controlled to output a voice message notifying the user to wash the mop of the robot cleaner” is not found in the previous references. The applicant points out or summarizes various parts of the prior art cited by the examiner, and notes how the prior art is deficient with respect to various aspects/limitations. First, the applicant notes that Yoshimura does not provide for a mop coupled to the body, and in response the examiner notes that this aspect is provided by Gawlik, for more complete cleaning. The applicant then notes that Duenne does not provide for a rotatable mop either, but the examiner relied upon Duenne for reliable and user-friendly remote control of a robotic cleaner. Additionally, the applicant notes that Gawlik lacks aspects related to control of the mop (which is not required by the claim, the “control” aspects related to the mop in the independent claim relates to a output of audio, the mop itself is not controlled), and the washing notification. To address the washing notification, the examiner points to Wu, for how a robotic cleaner can have a mop exchanged at a docking station and subsequently manually cleaned by the user, for a more intelligent cleaning arrangement, and Cheuvront for how a user can be instructed to do various actions related to the robotic cleaner, to improve upon user interaction and reduce errors. Im is used to teach aspects related to notifying the user of the current status of the robotic cleaner, which ties the aspects of Wu and Cheuvront together, to result in an arrangement where the user is notified to clean the mop when entering the docking station, and so the user can quickly take any necessary measures for the state, thereby ensuring that the cleaning robot operates reliably. Regarding Choe, the examiner submits that the speaker aspect is addressed by the other references. The applicant also argues that Im does not provide for any teaching related to any condition regarding a mop, but the examiner submits that it is analogous as it outputs the current status, and Wu and Cheuvront relate to the current status/action needed to be taken by the user. As for Kuroki, the examiner notes that it relates to silencing voice notification, and thus relates to the voice notifications of Im, and Cheuvront, and pertains to silencing voice notifications, related to mop washing even though it does not specifically teach silencing notifications related to mop washing, as it relates to silencing notifications to reduce user anxiety. The applicant then concludes that the combination is based on improper hindsight. The examiner disagrees, and respectfully submits that the combination is based on the teachings of the references, without reference to improper hindsight, and that the combination applied in the rejection results in the claimed limitations. The applicant further notes that Halloran, is also silent as to the claimed limitations, however the examiner takes the position that the Wu, Im, and Cheuvront meet the newly claimed limitations, in the same manner as addressed with Yoshimura above. The applicant then concludes that the combination is improper and arbitrary, because being in the same technical field was the sole basis for the combination. The examiner respectfully disagrees, and submits that an appropriate rationale was presented for each teaching from the references cited in the combination, and also respectfully submits that the applicant’s essentially selected different unrelated teachings from each reference and used that as a basis for traversing the rejection without addressing the portions of those references cited by the examiner in formulating the rejection. In addition, as provided in MPEP 2145, “Reliance on a large number of references in a rejection does not, without more, weigh against the obviousness of the claimed invention”.
No specific arguments were presented for the dependent claims. The examiner notes that independent claim 25 was separately rejected by the examiner on a basis of a different combination than that of independent claims 12 and 18 and was not specifically addressed by the applicant, other than the applicant noting that Halloran does not have the claimed limitations.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/Steven Huang/Examiner, Art Unit 3723
/DAVID S POSIGIAN/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 3723