DETAILED ACTION
Response to Amendment
Applicant files amendments and arguments dated 07/09/2026 to claims 16, 21, 26 and 31 have been considered but they are mooted in view of the new ground(s) of rejection as necessitated by Applicant’s amendments to the claims.
Claims 16, 17, 19 – 22, 24 – 27, 29 – 32, 34 and 35 are pending.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 16, 19, 21, 24, 26, 29, 31 and 34 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Chang et al. (Pub. No.: US 2023/0262542; hereinafter Chang) in view of Parichehrehteroujeni et al. (Pub. No.: US 2022/0386204; hereinafter Parichehrehteroujeni).
Regarding claim 16, Chang discloses a method performed by a terminal in a wireless communication system, the method comprising: receiving, from a first base station, handover configuration information; performing a handover to a second base station based on the handover configuration information (see para. 0035, The source base station issues the handover command to the UE, and starts to forward data of the UE to the target base station. The UE receiving the handover command immediately uses a configuration in the handover command to execute a handover, accesses the target base station…); and wherein the successful handover report further includes at least one of a cell identity of the source cell, a cell identity of the target cell (see para. 0054, the handover report information after the successful handover further includes cell identifiers…corresponding to the source base station and the target base station of the handover), location information, or random access information.
Chang does not disclose the claimed features of: regarding claim 16, based on the handover which is performed successfully, storing a successful handover report including a measurement result for a source cell including at least one value associated with a signal strength or a signal quality and a measurement result for a target cell including at least one value associated with a signal strength or a signal quality.
Regarding claim 16, Parichehrehteroujeni discloses based on the handover which is performed successfully, storing a successful handover report including a measurement result for a source cell including at least one value associated with a signal strength or a signal quality and a measurement result for a target cell including at least one value associated with a signal strength or a signal quality (see Fig. 9, para. 0205 – 0206, if there was no failure of the source radio link, the method in this invention determine the type of handover report is a successful handover report, para. 0207 – 0208, At step 912, the UE 102 compiles and optionally also stores the handover report…If there was no failure of the source radio link, then the contents of the handover report can include amongst other things the RSRP/RSRQ/SINR of the source and the target cells…para. 02111, At step 914, the UE transmits the handover report to the target access node 104, also see para. 0120 – 0122, 0136, 0138, 0153).
It would have been obvious to one ordinary skilled in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the invention of Chang, and have the features, as taught by Parichehrehteroujeni, in order to provide successful handovers to ensure that the UE moves around in the coverage area of different cells without causing too much interruptions in the data transmission, as discussed by Parichehrehteroujeni (para. 0072).
Regarding claim 19, Chang discloses further comprises: receiving a user equipment (UE) information request message including information for requesting the successful handover report; and transmitting a UE information response message including the successful handover report (see para. 0052,… after receiving an RRC message from a base station including an instruction for requesting reporting of handover report information after a successful handover, the UE transmits the handover report information to the base station).
Regarding claim 21, Chang discloses a method performed by a base station in a wireless communication system, the method comprising: transmitting handover configuration information (see para. 0035, The source base station issues the handover command to the UE, and starts to forward data of the UE to the target base station. The UE receiving the handover command immediately uses a configuration in the handover command to execute a handover, accesses the target base station…); and wherein the successful handover report further includes at least one of a cell identity of the source cell, a cell identity of the target cell (see para. 0054, the handover report information after the successful handover further includes cell identifiers…corresponding to the source base station and the target base station of the handover), location information, or random access information.
Chang does not disclose the claimed features of: regarding claim 21, receiving, from the terminal, a successful handover report including a measurement result for a source cell including at least one value associated with a signal strength or a signal quality and a measurement result for a target cell including at least one value associated with a signal strength or a signal quality, based on the handover which is performed successfully.
Regarding claim 21, Parichehrehteroujeni discloses receiving, from the terminal, a successful handover report including a measurement result for a source cell including at least one value associated with a signal strength or a signal quality and a measurement result for a target cell including at least one value associated with a signal strength or a signal quality, based on the handover which is performed successfully (see Fig. 9, para. 0205 – 0206, if there was no failure of the source radio link, the method in this invention determine the type of handover report is a successful handover report, para. 0207 – 0208, At step 912, the UE 102 compiles and optionally also stores the handover report…If there was no failure of the source radio link, then the contents of the handover report can include amongst other things the RSRP/RSRQ/SINR of the source and the target cells…para. 02111, At step 914, the UE transmits the handover report to the target access node 104, also see para. 0120 – 0122, 0136, 0138, 0153).
It would have been obvious to one ordinary skilled in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the invention of Chang, and have the features, as taught by Parichehrehteroujeni, in order to provide successful handovers to ensure that the UE moves around in the coverage area of different cells without causing too much interruptions in the data transmission, as discussed by Parichehrehteroujeni (para. 0072).
Regarding claim 24, Chang discloses wherein receiving the successful handover report further comprises: transmitting a user equipment (UE) information request message including information for requesting the successful handover report; and receiving a UE information response message including the successful handover report (see para. 0052,… after receiving an RRC message from a base station including an instruction for requesting reporting of handover report information after a successful handover, the UE transmits the handover report information to the base station).
Regarding claim 26, Chang discloses a terminal in a wireless communication system, the terminal comprising: a transceiver; and at least one processor (see Fig. 4, para. 0077, a UE has a processor 401 and is well known to have a transceiver for communication) configured to: receive, from a first base station via the transceiver, handover configuration information, perform a handover to a second base station based on the handover configuration information (see para. 0035, The source base station issues the handover command to the UE, and starts to forward data of the UE to the target base station. The UE receiving the handover command immediately uses a configuration in the handover command to execute a handover, accesses the target base station…), and wherein the successful handover report further includes at least one of a cell identity of the source cell, a cell identity of the target cell (see para. 0054, the handover report information after the successful handover further includes cell identifiers…corresponding to the source base station and the target base station of the handover), location information, or random access information.
Chang does not disclose the claimed features of: regarding claim 26, based on the handover which is performed successfully, store a successful handover report including a measurement result for a source cell including at least one value associated with a signal strength or a signal quality and a measurement result for a target cell including at least one value associated with a signal strength or a signal quality.
Regarding claim 26, Parichehrehteroujeni discloses based on the handover which is performed successfully, store a successful handover report including a measurement result for a source cell including at least one value associated with a signal strength or a signal quality and a measurement result for a target cell including at least one value associated with a signal strength or a signal quality (see Fig. 9, para. 0205 – 0206, if there was no failure of the source radio link, the method in this invention determine the type of handover report is a successful handover report, para. 0207 – 0208, At step 912, the UE 102 compiles and optionally also stores the handover report…If there was no failure of the source radio link, then the contents of the handover report can include amongst other things the RSRP/RSRQ/SINR of the source and the target cells…para. 02111, At step 914, the UE transmits the handover report to the target access node 104, also see para. 0120 – 0122, 0136, 0138, 0153).
It would have been obvious to one ordinary skilled in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the invention of Chang, and have the features, as taught by Parichehrehteroujeni, in order to provide successful handovers to ensure that the UE moves around in the coverage area of different cells without causing too much interruptions in the data transmission, as discussed by Parichehrehteroujeni (para. 0072).
Regarding claim 29, Chang discloses wherein the at least one processor is further configured to: receive, via the transceiver, a user equipment (UE) information request message including information for requesting the successful handover report, and transmit, via the transceiver, a UE information response message including the successful handover report (see para. 0052,… after receiving an RRC message from a base station including an instruction for requesting reporting of handover report information after a successful handover, the UE transmits the handover report information to the base station).
Regarding claim 31, Chang discloses a base station in a wireless communication system, the base station comprising: a transceiver; and at least one processor (see claim 14, a base station has a processor and is well known to have a transceiver for communication) configured to: transmit, via the transceiver, handover configuration information (see para. 0035, The source base station issues the handover command to the UE, and starts to forward data of the UE to the target base station. The UE receiving the handover command immediately uses a configuration in the handover command to execute a handover, accesses the target base station…), and wherein the successful handover report further includes at least one of a cell identity of the source cell, a cell identity of the target cell (see para. 0054, the handover report information after the successful handover further includes cell identifiers…corresponding to the source base station and the target base station of the handover), location information, or random access information.
Chang does not disclose the claimed features of: regarding claim 31, receiving, from the terminal via the transceiver, a successful handover report including a measurement result for a source cell including at least one value associated with a signal strength or a signal quality and a measurement result for a target cell including at least one value associated with a signal strength or a signal quality, based on the handover which is performed successfully.
Regarding claim 31, Parichehrehteroujeni discloses receiving, from the terminal via the transceiver, a successful handover report including a measurement result for a source cell including at least one value associated with a signal strength or a signal quality and a measurement result for a target cell including at least one value associated with a signal strength or a signal quality, based on the handover which is performed successfully (see Fig. 9, para. 0205 – 0206, if there was no failure of the source radio link, the method in this invention determine the type of handover report is a successful handover report, para. 0207 – 0208, At step 912, the UE 102 compiles and optionally also stores the handover report…If there was no failure of the source radio link, then the contents of the handover report can include amongst other things the RSRP/RSRQ/SINR of the source and the target cells…para. 02111, At step 914, the UE transmits the handover report to the target access node 104, also see para. 0120 – 0122, 0136, 0138, 0153).
It would have been obvious to one ordinary skilled in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the invention of Chang, and have the features, as taught by Parichehrehteroujeni, in order to provide successful handovers to ensure that the UE moves around in the coverage area of different cells without causing too much interruptions in the data transmission, as discussed by Parichehrehteroujeni (para. 0072).
Regarding claim 34, Chang discloses wherein the at least one processor is further configured to: transmit, via the transceiver, a user equipment (UE) information request message including information for requesting the successful handover report, and receive, via the transceiver, a UE information response message including the successful handover report (see para. 0052,… after receiving an RRC message from a base station including an instruction for requesting reporting of handover report information after a successful handover, the UE transmits the handover report information to the base station).
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 17, 20, 22, 25, 27, 30, 32 and 35 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/ANH NGOC M NGUYEN/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2473