DETAILED ACTION
Claim Status
Claims 1-6, 8-13, and 15-18 are pending. Claims 7 and 14 are canceled. Claims 1, 8, and 15 are amended. Claims 3, 5-6, 10, and 12-13 are previously presented. Claims 2, 4, 9, and 11 are original. Claims 16-18 are new.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 3/10/2026 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
In response to arguments regarding the rejection under 35 USC 101, it is submitted that new claims 16-18 do not recite a practical application of the abstract idea, and are not significantly more than the abstract idea. New claims 16-18 are rejected under 35 USC 101 as described below.
In response to arguments that primary reference SHIBATA does not take into consideration the demand of the load, it is respectfully submitted that the operation of the groups of batteries to discharge or charge is for the purpose of “suppressing frequency fluctuations in AC electrical power systems” (¶ 0002), and the system calculates an electrical power required for the groups of batteries in order to suppress frequency fluctuations as disclosed in paragraph 0043, said electrical power required is divided/allocated between the large capacity battery and the higher power battery as explained in ¶ 0060-0063. While SHIBATA does not use the language “fast discharge component” and “slow discharge component”, one of ordinary skill would recognize Figures 3A and 3B, and the corresponding disclosure, implies fast and slow discharge components. In particular, paragraphs 0006-0008 discloses the storage battery system “is capable of providing coverage over a wide range from a short time high power operation to a long time large capacity operation…by combining a large capacity storage battery system which is capable of storing a large amount of electrical power, and a high power storage battery system which is capable of outputting high power in a short time”. The electrical power required is segmented according to power threshold Pdm1 as shown in Figures 3A and 3B, wherein if a required power is greater than Pdm1, the large capacity battery provides a power of Pdm1, and the high power battery provides the remaining power (see ¶ 0060-0063, 0085). It is therefore maintained that SHIBATA discloses segmenting the power demand as described in the rejection, within the broadest reasonable interpretation of the claim language. In addition, the cited portions of secondary reference MONDEN discloses the power output by the groups of power storage units is dependent upon and responsive to an amount of demanded power. Applicant’s arguments are therefore not found to be persuasive.
Drawings
The drawings were received on 3/10/2026. These drawings are unacceptable, as the second page of the replacement drawings does not include a label identifying the figure number. Otherwise, the drawings would be acceptable to overcome at least part of the objections to the drawings.
The drawings are objected to under 37 CFR 1.83(a). The drawings must show every feature of the invention specified in the claims. Therefore, the “the first group of power storage units are designated for handling the fast discharge component and the second group of power storage units are designated for handling the slow discharge component” as recited in claim 1; “the given member is reassigned based on a demand characteristic change requiring fewer members to meet the power demand on the first group of power storage units” as recited in claim 5; and “the given member is reassigned based on a demand characteristic change requiring more members to meet the power demand on the second group of power storage units” as recited in claim 6 must be shown or the feature(s) canceled from the claim(s). No new matter should be entered.
The drawings are objected to for containing “unlabeled generic box elements” (see 110, 160, Figure 1; 210a, 210b, Figures 2A-2C; 510, 520, 530, 540, 550, Figure 5; and 800, 810, 820, 830, 840, 850, Figure 8). Correction is required in accordance with 37 CFR 1.83 as stated below.
Further, 37 CFR 1.83 – Content of Drawing:
(a) The drawing in a nonprovisional application must show every feature of the invention specified in the claims. However, conventional features disclosed in the description and claims, where their detailed illustration is not essential for a proper understanding of the invention, should be illustrated in the drawing in the form of a graphical drawing symbol or a labeled representation (e.g., a labeled rectangular box). In addition, tables that are included in the specification and sequences that are included in sequence listings should not be duplicated in the drawings.
(b) When the invention consists of an improvement on an old machine the drawing must when possible exhibit, in one or more views, the improved portion itself, disconnected from the old structure, and also in another view, so much only of the old structure as will suffice to show the connection of the invention therewith.
(c) Where the drawings in a nonprovisional application do not comply with the requirements of paragraphs (a) and (b) of this section, the examiner shall require such additional illustration within a time period of not less than two months from the date of the sending of a notice thereof. Such corrections are subject to the requirements of § 1.81(d).
[31 FR 12923, Oct. 4, 1966; 43 FR 4015, Jan. 31, 1978; paras. (a) and (c) revised, 60 FR 20195, Apr. 25, 1995, effective June 8, 1995; para. (a) revised, 69 FR 56481, Sept. 21, 2004, effective Oct. 21, 2004; para. (a) revised, 78 FR 62368, Oct. 21, 2013]
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 101
Claims 1-6, 8-13, and 15-18 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 101 because the claimed invention is directed to a judicial exception (abstract idea) without reciting additional elements that integrate the judicial exception into a practical application. Moreover, the claims do not appear to recite additional elements that amount to significantly more than the judicial exception.
Claim 1 recites a method for managing power storage and discharge from a storage array including monitoring operational characteristics, monitoring demand characteristics, segmenting the power demand, and reassigning a given member. The recited steps are directed to data manipulation and/or calculations that may be performed through a mental process and is thus considered a Judicial Exception. The claim as a whole does not integrate the recited judicial exception into a practical application.
Finally, the claim does not include additional elements that are sufficient to amount to significantly more than the judicial exception.
Claims 2-6 and 16 do not appear to make the claims eligible for reasons similar to those noted above and are therefore also rejected under 35 USC 101. It is noted that while claim 16 discloses the additional element of discharging power from the storage array, said additional element is not positively recited as being an application of the abstract idea of reassignment of the power storage units, and is not considered “significantly more” than the abstract idea because the additional element is considered a ‘field of use’ recitation (see MPEP 2106.05(h)) and/or insignificant extra-solution activity (see MPEP 2106.05(g)).
Claim 8 recites a system for managing power storage and discharge from a storage array including monitoring operational characteristics, monitoring demand characteristics, segmenting the power demand, and reassigning a given member. The recited steps are directed to data manipulation and/or calculations that may be performed through a mental process and is thus considered a Judicial Exception. The additional elements of “a processor” and “a memory” appear to be an attempt to generally link the use of the judicial exception to the use of circuitry, and are not considered a practical application of the abstract idea. The recited circuitry does no more than automate the mental processes that a user can perform to determine and communicate control instructions. Thus, the claim as a whole does not integrate the recited judicial exception into a practical application.
Finally, the claim does not include additional elements that are sufficient to amount to significantly more than the judicial exception because the additional limitations are recited in a generic manner (e.g., at a high level of generality).
Claims 9-13 and 17 do not appear to make the claims eligible for reasons similar to those noted above and are therefore also rejected under 35 USC 101. It is noted that while claim 17 discloses the additional element of discharging power from the storage array, said additional element is not positively recited as being an application of the abstract idea of reassignment of the power storage units, and is not considered “significantly more” than the abstract idea because the additional element is considered a ‘field of use’ recitation (see MPEP 2106.05(h)) and/or insignificant extra-solution activity (see MPEP 2106.05(g)).
Claim 15 recites a method for reassigning a given battery including steps of defining a plurality of groups, classifying each battery, segmenting the power demand, and reassigning a plurality of batteries. The recited steps are directed to data manipulation and/or calculations that may be performed through a mental process and is thus considered a Judicial Exception. The claim as a whole does not integrate the recited judicial exception into a practical application.
Finally, the claim does not include additional elements that are sufficient to amount to significantly more than the judicial exception.
Claim 18 does not appear to make the claims eligible for reasons similar to those noted above and are therefore also rejected under 35 USC 101. It is noted that while claim 18 discloses the additional element of discharging power from the storage array, said additional element is not positively recited as being an application of the abstract idea of reassignment of the power storage units, and is not considered “significantly more” than the abstract idea because the additional element is considered a ‘field of use’ recitation (see MPEP 2106.05(h)) and/or insignificant extra-solution activity (see MPEP 2106.05(g)).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-6, 8-13, and 15-18 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over SHIBATA (US Pub. No. 2018/0183239; cited in previous office action) in view of MONDEN (US Pub. No. 2021/0356527; cited in previous office action).
Regarding claim 1, SHIBATA discloses a method for managing power storage and discharge from a storage array (¶ 0008: A storage battery system control method according to the present invention is characterized by including operation utilized in implementing a frequency control service for the purpose of suppressing frequency fluctuations in an AC electrical power system, by combining a large capacity storage battery system which is capable of storing a large amount of electrical power, and a high power storage battery system which is capable of outputting high power in a short time; ¶ 0011: a storage battery driving step of charging or discharging the respectively allocated electrical power by driving the large capacity storage battery system, or alternatively, the high power storage battery system, or alternatively, the large capacity storage battery system and the high power storage battery system) including a first group of power storage units (12b, Figs. 1 & 6) and a second group of power storage units (12a, Figs. 1 & 6), the method comprising:
monitoring operational characteristics of members of the first group of power storage units and members of the second group of power storage units (¶ 0041: a first depth calculating device 32a, which detects a charge depth (state of charge or SOC value) of the large capacity storage battery 16a, is installed on the large capacity storage battery 16a. A second depth calculating device 32b, which detects a charge depth (state of charge or SOC value) of the high power storage battery 16b, is installed on the high power storage battery 16b. Output values from the first depth calculating device 32a and the second depth calculating device 32b are supplied to the control device 14);
monitoring demand characteristics of power demand on the storage array (¶ 0043: the electrical power calculating unit 34 calculates the electrical power required by the frequency control in order to suppress frequency fluctuations), wherein the first group of power storage units is activated to supply power for a first component of the power demand and the second group of power storage units is activated to supply power for a second component of the power demand (¶ 0060: in the case that the electrical power required for the frequency control is an electrical power Pd in the discharging direction, for example, if the discharge power allocated to the large capacity storage battery system 12a is represented by Pda, the discharge power allocated to the high power storage battery system 12b is represented by Pdb, and the maximum electrical power capable of being discharged from the large capacity storage battery system 12a is represented by Pdm1, then if Pda>Pdm1, Pda is made equal to Pdm1 (Pda=Pdm1). Stated otherwise, the maximum electrical power capable of being discharged Pdm1 is allocated to the large capacity storage battery system 12a; ¶ 0085: As shown in FIG. 3B, in the case that the discharge command is output respectively to the first PCS 18a and the second PCS 18b, the large capacity storage battery 16a and the high power storage battery 16b are both driven to discharge, and a discharge power obtained by adding the discharge power Pda from the large capacity storage battery system 12a and the discharge power Pdb from the high power storage battery system 12b is output to the bus line 26 as electrical power in the discharging direction required for the frequency control); and
segmenting the power demand into a fast discharge component and a slow discharge component; wherein the first group of power storage units are designated for handling the fast discharge component and the second group of power storage units are designated for handling the slow discharge component (¶ 0037: As shown in FIG. 1, the first hybrid storage battery system 10A includes a large capacity storage battery system 12a which is capable of storing a large amount of electrical power, a high power storage battery system 12b capable of outputting high electrical power in a short time, and a control device 14 adapted to control the large capacity storage battery system 12a and the high power storage battery system 12b; ¶ 0060, 0085: see above).
SHIBATA fails to disclose while the members of the first group of power storage units and the members of the second group of power storage units remain installed and available to respond to the power demand on the storage array: reassigning a given member of the first group of power storage units to be a new member of the second group of power storage units in response to at least one of a change in the operational characteristics or a change in the demand characteristics.
MONDEN discloses while the members of the first group of power storage units and the members of the second group of power storage units remain installed and available to respond to the power demand on the storage array: reassigning a given member of the first group of power storage units to be a new member of the second group of power storage units in response to at least one of a change in the operational characteristics or a change in the demand characteristics (¶ 0063: When an amount PD of demanded power at a certain point in time is as illustrated in (a) of FIG. 3, the proportions of the discharging capacities that the power storage device 11A in the large-capacity storage battery system 11 and the power storage device 12A in the high-output storage battery system 12 are assumed to have at the initial state of the power storage system 10 are assumed to be as illustrated in (b) of FIG. 3; ¶ 0064: when the power storage device 11A in the large-capacity storage battery system 11 is comparatively deteriorated and the power storage device 11A is to be protected, the power storage device 12A in the high-output storage battery system 12 is caused to output power that is increased, by an amount of power that corresponds to ΔPD1, from the power output thereby in (a) of FIG. 3, so that the amount of power that corresponds to the amount PD of demanded power is supplied in total, for example, as illustrated in (c) of FIG. 3; it is noted that the increase in the power output by the high-output storage battery 12 such that it assumes some of the discharge capacity of the large-capacity storage battery 11 is interpreted as the high-output storage battery being “reassigned”; modifying primary reference SHIBATA to include this feature, such that a given member of the plurality of storage units is “reassigned”, teaches the claimed recitations).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to include reassigning a given member as recited in order to extend of the lifetime of the power storage system as a whole (MONDEN, ¶ 0005).
Regarding claim 2, SHIBATA as modified by MONDEN teaches the method as applied to claim 1, but fails to teach the given member has operational characteristics matching an operational definition for the first group of power storage units despite being assigned as the new member of the second group of power storage units.
MONDEN further discloses the given member has operational characteristics matching an operational definition for the first group of power storage units despite being assigned as the new member of the second group of power storage units (¶ 0015).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to include the given member has operational characteristics matching an operational definition for the first group of power storage units in order to leverage the complementary strengths of each group of power storage units, optimizing performance, efficiency, and lifespan.
Regarding claim 3, SHIBATA as modified by MONDEN teaches the method as applied to claim 1, but fails to teach the given member is reassigned based on an operational characteristic change in an existing member of the second group of power storage units that causes the existing member to be reassigned to a different group of power storage units.
MONDEN further discloses the given member is reassigned based on an operational characteristic change in an existing member of the second group of power storage units that causes the existing member to be reassigned to a different group of power storage units (¶ 0063-0064: e.g., a deteriorated group).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to include reassigning a given member to a different group of power storage units in order to extend of the lifetime of the power storage system as a whole (MONDEN, ¶ 0005).
Regarding claim 4, SHIBATA as modified by MONDEN teaches the existing member is reassigned to be a member of one of: the first group of power storage units; or a third group of power storage units (MONDEN, ¶ 0063-0064: e.g., a deteriorated group).
Regarding claim 5, SHIBATA as modified by MONDEN teaches the given member is reassigned based on a demand characteristic change requiring fewer members to meet the power demand on the first group of power storage units (SHIBATA, ¶ 0082-0085, 0114-0117: SHIBATA discloses demand characteristic changes may require fewer members, and therefore the reassignment of the given member of SHIBATA as modified by MONDEN is “based on” the demand characteristic change within the broadest reasonable interpretation).
Regarding claim 6, SHIBATA as modified by MONDEN teaches the given member is reassigned based on a demand characteristic change requiring more members to meet the power demand on the second group of power storage units (SHIBATA, ¶ 0082-0085, 0114-0117: SHIBATA discloses demand characteristic changes may require more members, and therefore the reassignment of the given member of SHIBATA as modified by MONDEN is “based on” the demand characteristic change within the broadest reasonable interpretation).
Regarding claim 8, SHIBATA discloses a system for managing power storage and discharge from a storage array (¶ 0008: A storage battery system control method according to the present invention is characterized by including operation utilized in implementing a frequency control service for the purpose of suppressing frequency fluctuations in an AC electrical power system, by combining a large capacity storage battery system which is capable of storing a large amount of electrical power, and a high power storage battery system which is capable of outputting high power in a short time; ¶ 0011: a storage battery driving step of charging or discharging the respectively allocated electrical power by driving the large capacity storage battery system, or alternatively, the high power storage battery system, or alternatively, the large capacity storage battery system and the high power storage battery system) including a first group of power storage units (12b, Figs. 1 & 6) and a second group of power storage units (12a, Figs. 1 & 6), the system comprising:
a processor (¶ 0114: master control device 52 includes an electrical power calculation unit 34, an SOC acquisition unit 36, a distribution control unit 58 that distributes and allocates the power required for the frequency control to two or more of the units 50, and a depth adjusting unit 60; ¶ 0124: the electrical power calculating unit 34 acquires the system frequency f that was measured by the frequency measuring device 30; ¶ 0125: on the basis of a difference between the system frequency f and the preset reference frequency fb, the electrical power calculating unit 34 calculates the electrical power required by the frequency control in order to suppress frequency fluctuations; a processor is implied in order to carry out the disclosed steps); and
a memory device including instructions embodied therewith (¶ 0114, 0124-0126: a memory device is implied in order to store the instructions to carry out the disclosed steps) that when executed by the processor perform an operation comprising:
monitoring operational characteristics of members of the first group of power storage units and members of the second group of power storage units (¶ 0041: a first depth calculating device 32a, which detects a charge depth (state of charge or SOC value) of the large capacity storage battery 16a, is installed on the large capacity storage battery 16a. A second depth calculating device 32b, which detects a charge depth (state of charge or SOC value) of the high power storage battery 16b, is installed on the high power storage battery 16b. Output values from the first depth calculating device 32a and the second depth calculating device 32b are supplied to the control device 14);
monitoring demand characteristics of power demand on the storage array (¶ 0043: the electrical power calculating unit 34 calculates the electrical power required by the frequency control in order to suppress frequency fluctuations), wherein the first group of power storage units is activated to supply power for a first component of the power demand and the second group of power storage units is activated to supply power for a second component of the power demand (¶ 0060: in the case that the electrical power required for the frequency control is an electrical power Pd in the discharging direction, for example, if the discharge power allocated to the large capacity storage battery system 12a is represented by Pda, the discharge power allocated to the high power storage battery system 12b is represented by Pdb, and the maximum electrical power capable of being discharged from the large capacity storage battery system 12a is represented by Pdm1, then if Pda>Pdm1, Pda is made equal to Pdm1 (Pda=Pdm1). Stated otherwise, the maximum electrical power capable of being discharged Pdm1 is allocated to the large capacity storage battery system 12a; ¶ 0085: As shown in FIG. 3B, in the case that the discharge command is output respectively to the first PCS 18a and the second PCS 18b, the large capacity storage battery 16a and the high power storage battery 16b are both driven to discharge, and a discharge power obtained by adding the discharge power Pda from the large capacity storage battery system 12a and the discharge power Pdb from the high power storage battery system 12b is output to the bus line 26 as electrical power in the discharging direction required for the frequency control); and
segmenting the power demand into a fast discharge component and a slow discharge component; wherein the first group of power storage units are designated for handling the fast discharge component and the second group of power storage units are designated for handling the slow discharge component (¶ 0037: As shown in FIG. 1, the first hybrid storage battery system 10A includes a large capacity storage battery system 12a which is capable of storing a large amount of electrical power, a high power storage battery system 12b capable of outputting high electrical power in a short time, and a control device 14 adapted to control the large capacity storage battery system 12a and the high power storage battery system 12b; ¶ 0060, 0085: see above).
SHIBATA fails to disclose while the members of the first group of power storage units and the members of the second group of power storage units remain installed and available to respond to the power demand on the storage array: reassigning a given member of the first group of power storage units to be a new member of the second group of power storage units in response to at least one of a change in the operational characteristics or a change in the demand characteristics.
MONDEN discloses while the members of the first group of power storage units and the members of the second group of power storage units remain installed and available to respond to the power demand on the storage array: reassigning a given member of the first group of power storage units to be a new member of the second group of power storage units in response to at least one of a change in the operational characteristics or a change in the demand characteristics (¶ 0063: When an amount PD of demanded power at a certain point in time is as illustrated in (a) of FIG. 3, the proportions of the discharging capacities that the power storage device 11A in the large-capacity storage battery system 11 and the power storage device 12A in the high-output storage battery system 12 are assumed to have at the initial state of the power storage system 10 are assumed to be as illustrated in (b) of FIG. 3; ¶ 0064: when the power storage device 11A in the large-capacity storage battery system 11 is comparatively deteriorated and the power storage device 11A is to be protected, the power storage device 12A in the high-output storage battery system 12 is caused to output power that is increased, by an amount of power that corresponds to ΔPD1, from the power output thereby in (a) of FIG. 3, so that the amount of power that corresponds to the amount PD of demanded power is supplied in total, for example, as illustrated in (c) of FIG. 3; it is noted that the increase in the power output by the high-output storage battery 12 such that it assumes some of the discharge capacity of the large-capacity storage battery 11 is interpreted as the high-output storage battery being “reassigned”; modifying primary reference SHIBATA to include this feature, such that a given member of the plurality of storage units is “reassigned”, teaches the claimed recitations).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to include reassigning a given member as recited in order to extend of the lifetime of the power storage system as a whole (MONDEN, ¶ 0005).
Regarding claim 9, SHIBATA as modified by MONDEN teaches the system as applied to claim 8, but fails to teach the given member has operational characteristics matching an operational definition for the first group of power storage units despite being assigned as the new member of the second group of power storage units.
MONDEN further discloses the given member has operational characteristics matching an operational definition for the first group of power storage units despite being assigned as the new member of the second group of power storage units (¶ 0015).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to include the given member has operational characteristics matching an operational definition for the first group of power storage units in order to leverage the complementary strengths of each group of power storage units, optimizing performance, efficiency, and lifespan.
Regarding claim 10, SHIBATA as modified by MONDEN teaches the system as applied to claim 8, but fails to teach the given member is reassigned based on an operational characteristic change in an existing member of the second group of power storage units that causes the existing member to be reassigned to a different group of power storage units.
MONDEN further discloses the given member is reassigned based on an operational characteristic change in an existing member of the second group of power storage units that causes the existing member to be reassigned to a different group of power storage units (¶ 0063-0064: e.g., a deteriorated group).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to include reassigning a given member to a different group of power storage units in order to extend of the lifetime of the power storage system as a whole (MONDEN, ¶ 0005).
Regarding claim 11, SHIBATA as modified by MONDEN teaches the existing member is reassigned to be a member of one of: the first group of power storage units; or a third group of power storage units (MONDEN, ¶ 0063-0064: e.g., a deteriorated group).
Regarding claim 12, SHIBATA as modified by MONDEN teaches the given member is reassigned based on a demand characteristic change requiring fewer members to meet the power demand on the first group of power storage units (SHIBATA, ¶ 0082-0085, 0114-0117: SHIBATA discloses demand characteristic changes may require fewer members, and therefore the reassignment of the given member of SHIBATA as modified by MONDEN is “based on” the demand characteristic change within the broadest reasonable interpretation).
Regarding claim 13, SHIBATA as modified by MONDEN teaches the given member is reassigned based on a demand characteristic change requiring more members to meet the power demand on the second group of power storage units (SHIBATA, ¶ 0082-0085, 0114-0117: SHIBATA discloses demand characteristic changes may require more members, and therefore the reassignment of the given member of SHIBATA as modified by MONDEN is “based on” the demand characteristic change within the broadest reasonable interpretation).
Regarding claim 15, SHIBATA discloses a method, comprising:
defining a plurality of battery groups, wherein each battery group is associated with one category of a plurality of categories of operational characteristics for batteries (¶ 0008: storage battery system control method according to the present invention is characterized by including operation utilized in implementing a frequency control service for the purpose of suppressing frequency fluctuations in an AC electrical power system, by combining a large capacity storage battery system which is capable of storing a large amount of electrical power, and a high power storage battery system which is capable of outputting high power in a short time);
classifying each battery belonging to a battery array (¶ 0113: the second hybrid storage battery system 10B includes a plurality of units 50) into the plurality of categories based on the operational characteristics of each battery (¶ 0037: the first hybrid storage battery system 10A includes a large capacity storage battery system 12a which is capable of storing a large amount of electrical power, a high power storage battery system 12b capable of outputting high electrical power in a short time, and a control device 14 adapted to control the large capacity storage battery system 12a and the high power storage battery system 12b; ¶ 0039: A sodium-sulfur battery (hereinafter referred to as a NaS battery) may be cited as an example of the large capacity storage battery 16a; ¶ 0040: A lithium ion battery may be cited as an example of the high power storage battery 16b);
assigning a first plurality of batteries classified into a first category to a first battery group associated with the first category (¶ 0037, 0040: see above);
assigning a second plurality of batteries classified into a second category to a second battery group associated with the second category (¶ 0037, 0039: see above);
segmenting a power demand into a fast discharge component and a slow discharge component; wherein the first group of power storage units are designated for handling the fast discharge component and the second group of power storage units are designated for handling the slow discharge component (¶ 0037: As shown in FIG. 1, the first hybrid storage battery system 10A includes a large capacity storage battery system 12a which is capable of storing a large amount of electrical power, a high power storage battery system 12b capable of outputting high electrical power in a short time, and a control device 14 adapted to control the large capacity storage battery system 12a and the high power storage battery system 12b; ¶ 0060: in the case that the electrical power required for the frequency control is an electrical power Pd in the discharging direction, for example, if the discharge power allocated to the large capacity storage battery system 12a is represented by Pda, the discharge power allocated to the high power storage battery system 12b is represented by Pdb, and the maximum electrical power capable of being discharged from the large capacity storage battery system 12a is represented by Pdm1, then if Pda>Pdm1, Pda is made equal to Pdm1 (Pda=Pdm1). Stated otherwise, the maximum electrical power capable of being discharged Pdm1 is allocated to the large capacity storage battery system 12a; ¶ 0085: As shown in FIG. 3B, in the case that the discharge command is output respectively to the first PCS 18a and the second PCS 18b, the large capacity storage battery 16a and the high power storage battery 16b are both driven to discharge, and a discharge power obtained by adding the discharge power Pda from the large capacity storage battery system 12a and the discharge power Pdb from the high power storage battery system 12b is output to the bus line 26 as electrical power in the discharging direction required for the frequency control).
SHIBATA fails to disclose in response to the first battery group satisfying a first demand threshold, and the second battery group not satisfying a second demand threshold, reassigning a given battery of the first plurality of batteries to the second battery group, wherein the given battery remains classified in the first category.
MONDEN discloses in response to the first battery group satisfying a first demand threshold, and the second battery group not satisfying a second demand threshold, reassigning a given battery of the first plurality of batteries to the second battery group, wherein the given battery remains classified in the first category (¶ 0063: When an amount PD of demanded power at a certain point in time is as illustrated in (a) of FIG. 3, the proportions of the discharging capacities that the power storage device 11A in the large-capacity storage battery system 11 and the power storage device 12A in the high-output storage battery system 12 are assumed to have at the initial state of the power storage system 10 are assumed to be as illustrated in (b) of FIG. 3; ¶ 0064: when the power storage device 11A in the large-capacity storage battery system 11 is comparatively deteriorated and the power storage device 11A is to be protected, the power storage device 12A in the high-output storage battery system 12 is caused to output power that is increased, by an amount of power that corresponds to ΔPD1, from the power output thereby in (a) of FIG. 3, so that the amount of power that corresponds to the amount PD of demanded power is supplied in total, for example, as illustrated in (c) of FIG. 3; it is noted that the increase in the power output by the high-output storage battery 12 such that it assumes some of the discharge capacity of the large-capacity storage battery 11 is interpreted as the high-output storage battery being “reassigned”; it is also noted that the large-capacity storage battery 11 being comparatively deteriorated is interpreted as “not satisfying a second demand threshold”; modifying primary reference SHIBATA to include this feature, such that a given battery of the plurality of batteries is “reassigned”, teaches the claimed recitations).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to include reassigning a given member as recited in order to extend of the lifetime of the power storage system as a whole (MONDEN, ¶ 0005).
Regarding claim 16, SHIBATA discloses power is discharged from the storage array to respond to the power demand (¶ 0043, 0051-0052).
Regarding claim 17, SHIBATA discloses power is discharged from the storage array to respond to the power demand (¶ 0043, 0051-0052).
Regarding claim 18, SHIBATA discloses power is discharged from a storage array to respond to the power demand (¶ 0043, 0051-0052).
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/Manuel Hernandez/Examiner, Art Unit 2859 6/1/2026
/DREW A DUNN/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2859