DETAILED ACTION
Response to Amendment
2. The amendment filed 11 September 2026 has been received and considered for examination. Claims 1-13 are presently pending, with claims 9-13 withdrawn from consideration and claims 1-8 being examined herein.
3. All objections and rejections under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2), 35 U.S.C. 112(a), and 35 U.S.C. 103 are withdrawn in view of the amendment.
4. Rejections of claims 4 and 8 under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) are maintained. All other rejections under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) are withdrawn in view of the amendment.
5. New grounds of rejection under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) and 35 U.S.C. 103 are necessitated by the amendments, as detailed below.
Specification
6. The disclosure is objected to because of the following informalities: in the amendment to page 7, line 4: “i-vention” should read –invention--.
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Objections
7. Claim 5 is objected to because of the following informalities: in the fourth line, “an air duct” should read --the air duct--, for clarity, as it is understood from claim 1 that the second ozone-generating UV light device is located within the same air duct. Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
9. Claims 3-8 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
10. Claim 3 recites the limitation "the at least one UV light device" in the second line. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim, as it is unclear whether this is in reference to the at least one first UV light device, the at least one second UV light device, or both as presented in claim 1.
11. Claim 4 recites the limitation "the UV light device" in the second line. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim, as it is unclear whether this is in reference to the at least one first UV light device, the at least one second UV light device, or both as presented in claim 1.
12. Regarding claim 5, the limitation “low-temperature plasma, dielectric barrier discharge, UV-C light with a wavelength of less than 230 nm” lacks a conjunction, so the scope of the structure required for the formation of ozone is unclear. For examination purposes, these are treated as a listing of options separated by “or” as intended by the previous version of the claim and consistent with current claim 7.
13. Regarding claim 6, the limitation “instead of a UV radiation source with a wavelength greater than 230 nm” is indefinite, as it is unclear which of the first or second radiation source would be permitted to be omitted in favor of catalysts to satisfy this limitation, since this “UV radiation source with a wavelength greater than 230 nm” has not been positively recited. Or, is the limitation intended to forbid UV radiation sources with that wavelength range entirely? Due to this uncertainty, examination against the prior art will focus on the alternative wherein catalysts are provided “in addition to” the UV radiation source of that wavelength, which could read upon either UV radiation source of a prior art device as presented in claim 1.
14. Regarding claim 7, the limitation “wherein air exiting an air duct…can be enriched as required” is found indefinite as it is unclear whether this must be the same air duct as recited in claim 1 (in which case, “an air duct” should be revised to, e.g., –the outlet--). Further, it is unclear what limitation, if any, is intended by the phrase “as required”, since no required concentration or other property of the ozone is recited.
15. Regarding claim 8, the limitation “all units used” is indefinite because no definite grouping of units has been established, especially given that the units are claimed to be interchangeably installed. What constitutes a unit, just each of the UV light devices? Would the definition of a unit include the electrostatic precipitator, ionizer, fan, and housing as well? The scope of the claimed interchangeable installation is unclear.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
17. Claims 1-2 and 6-8 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Metteer (US 20130183214 A1) in view of Garner (US 20100047116 A1).
18. Regarding claim 1, Metteer discloses an air filter device (modular ductwork assembly for decontaminating an air stream, Abstract, par 0002, FIGS. 1-5). If the body of a claim fully and intrinsically sets forth all of the limitations of the claimed invention, and the preamble merely states, for example, the purpose or intended use of the invention, rather than any distinct definition of any of the claimed invention’s limitations, then the preamble is not considered a limitation and is of no significance to claim construction. See MPEP 2111.02(II). As “antibacterial and/or antiviral” and “for removing ultrafine aerosols and particles <2.5 microns and for inactivating bacterial or viral contaminants contained therein” describe an intended use without adding device structure, the preamble is not given patentable weight.
The device of Metteer comprises:
a housing having an air duct defining an airflow path (FIGS. 1-2, modular ductwork decontamination assembly, par 0046) between an inlet and an outlet (FIG. 1, installed in various configurations within an HVAC system outlet, par 0067);
a fan (FIG. 2, fan module 50, par 0046) configured to drive an airflow along the airflow path from the inlet to the outlet (fan module for directing the air stream through the HVAC ductwork, par 0031);
at least one first UV light device arranged within the air duct (ultraviolet lamps 21 arranged between barriers to sterilize airborne microorganisms and/or pathogens, par 0048) first along the airflow path downstream of the inlet (FIG. 1, ultraviolet lamps 21), wherein the at least one first UV light device is configured to emit at least one ultraviolet wavelength (all forms of UV sterilization, for example, ultraviolet-C radiation, par 0046);
an electrostatic precipitator (ionizing module to electrostatically aggregate various forms of particulate matter, par 0049) arranged within the air duct downstream of the at least one first UV light device along the airflow path (FIG. 1, first ionizer 33), wherein the electrostatic precipitator is configured to charge and separate aerosols, particles, or organic contaminants within the airflow (to electrostatically aggregate various forms of particulate matter, par 0049);
at least one second, ozone-generating device (ozone treatment module 40 includes a representative type of ozone generator 42, par 0050) arranged within the air duct downstream of the electrostatic precipitator along the airflow path (FIGS. 1-2, 40), wherein the at least one second, ozone-generating device is configured to emit a constant amount of ozone into the airflow to produce cleaned, ozone-enriched air (Ozone generators 42 generate sufficient ozone as regulated by remote control electrical switching or equivalent software, par 0050); and
an ionizer arranged within the air duct downstream of the electrostatic precipitator (FIG. 1, ionizers 33 arranged in various locations in ionizing module 30, par 0049).
Metteer does not specifically teach that the ultraviolet wavelength of the first ultraviolet light source would be chosen to be ozone-destroying to establish an ozone-depleted airflow within the air duct. Metteer also does not specifically teach that the representative ozone generator would be a UV light device.
Garner teaches an analogous air sterilization system having ultraviolet radiation and subsequent ozone dosing (Abstract, par 0012, FIG. 3), the UV generators intended to sterilize the airflow by UV exposure (par 0039). Garner further teaches that some wavelengths greater than about 254 nanometers may be sufficient for the de-ozonator (pars 0036 and 0045). Regarding the subsequent ozone generation, Garner teaches that a conventional ozone generator can be substituted in favor of a second ultraviolet lamp (par 0046), as it is well known in the art that certain UV wavelengths generate ozone.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to choose for the wavelength of the at least one first UV light device of Metteer an ozone-destroying wavelength as taught by Garner, because such a wavelength choice would predictably establish an ozone-depleted airflow in the same manner with a reasonable expectation of success. See MPEP 2143(I)(G). Further, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to substitute the generic ozone generators of Matteer in favor of a second UV light device with ozone generating capability as taught by Garner, as such an ultraviolet lamp would predictably generate a controllable ozone concentration in the same way (Garner par 0047) and involves simple substitution of one known element for another to yield predictable results. See MPEP 2143(I)(B).
19. Regarding claim 2, Metteer as modified by Garner teaches the antibacterial and/or antiviral air filter device according to claim 1, wherein a catalyst for the degradation of chemical substances is provided (ozone may be converted by ozone-destruct technology such as catalytic oxidation reactor, Metteer par 0063).
20. Regarding claim 6, Metteer as modified by Garner teaches the antibacterial and/or antiviral air filter device according to claim 1, wherein for ozone depletion, catalysts are provided (ozone may be converted by ozone-destruct technology such as catalytic oxidation reactor, Metteer par 0063) in addition to a UV radiation source with a wavelength greater than 230 nm (Metteer FIG. 2, ultraviolet source ; Garner ). Though Metteer teaches that catalytic oxidation reaction may destroy ozone downstream (par 0019), the combination does not specifically teach that the ozone depletion catalysts are provided in the air duct.
In another embodiment, Metteer teaches an ozone destruct device that may be positioned in the air duct (Metteer pars 0056-0057). A skilled artisan would recognize from the teachings of Garner that ozone destruction within the duct would be beneficial (Garner FIG. 3, ozone removal zone 4, Garner pars 0034-0035) and could be accomplished using catalysts (Garner par 0035).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to configure the catalysts taught by Metteer in the air duct as most clearly suggested by Garner, because placing these catalysts in the air duct would predictably work with the UV radiation source to reduce ozone upstream of the electrostatic precipitator/ionizer in the same manner with a reasonable expectation of success. See MPEP 2143(I)(G).
21. Regarding claim 7, Metteer as modified by Garner teaches the antibacterial and/or antiviral air filter device according to claim 1, wherein air exiting an air duct and fed into a room (ductwork decontamination assembly can be arranged in various sequences to customize air treatment to reach various spaces, Metteer par 0056) can be enriched as required by ozone (ozone generators 42 generate sufficient ozone, Metteer par 0050).
22. Regarding claim 8, Metteer as modified by Garner teaches the antibacterial and/or antiviral air filter device according to claim 1, wherein all units used are interchangeably installed in the housing (modular ductwork contamination system is that it is extendable and repeatable which the user to customize a ductwork system to his or her particular needs, Metteer pars 0043 and 0067), and the ionizer is arranged downstream of the electrostatic precipitator (Metteer FIG. 2, upstream and downstream ionizers 33) and is configured to generate a proportion of ions from the cleaned air (electrically charging particulates, Metteer par 0010).
23. Claim 3 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Metteer (US 20130183214 A1) and Garner (US 20100047116 A1) as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Satyapal et al (US 6149717 A).
Regarding claim 3, Metteer as modified by Garner teaches the antibacterial and/or antiviral air filter device according to claim 1, but the combination does not specifically teach wherein the at least one UV light device and a collector of the electrostatic precipitator face each other so that the collector can be irradiated by the at least one UV light device.
Satyapal teaches an analogous air cleaner using UV radiation and electrostatic precipitation (Abstract) wherein the germicidal lamp advantageously emits ultraviolet light toward the collector plates to kill any microbial growth that might occur on the particulate material deposited on the plates (col 2 lines 18-32).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to configure the at least one UV light device and the collection surface of modified Metteer to face each other so that the collector can be irradiated by UV light as taught by Satyapal, because this would predictably prevent microbial growth on the deposited material in the same advantageous manner with a reasonable expectation of success. See MPEP 2143(I)(G).
24. Claims 4 and 5 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Metteer (US 20130183214 A1) and Garner (US 20100047116 A1) as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Benedek et al (US 20190240371 A1).
25. Regarding claim 4, Metteer as modified by Garner teaches the antibacterial and/or antiviral air filter device according to claim 1, wherein the UV light device emits UV-C radiation with a wavelength greater than 230 nm (Garner pars 0036 and 0045, see above). Metteer and Garner both teach the UV light device as a “lamp” (Metteer par 0011, Garner par 0036) but the combination does not specifically teach that the radiation is formed from discharge tubes or diodes.
Benedek teaches an analogous apparatus for treating air using UV light and ozone (Abstract, pars 0016-0018) wherein UV light is generated by a bulb or by light-emitting diodes (par 0017), the UV light being either an ozone generating wavelength less than 200 nm or a germicidal wavelength between 200-300 nm (par 0017). In an exemplary embodiment, the UV bulb and ozone generator are depicted as discharge tubes (FIG. 1, 122 and 124).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to use as the UV light device of modified Metteer a UV light-emitting diode or a UV discharge tube as taught by Benedek, as these light sources would predictably provide suitable ozone generating and/or germicidal UV radiation in a similar manner, the modification involving simple substitution of one known element for another to yield predictable results. See MPEP 2143(I)(B).
26. Regarding claim 5, Metteer as modified by Garner teaches the antibacterial and/or antiviral air filter device according to claim 1, wherein a UV light is provided for the formation of ozone in an air duct (Garner par 0046, see above). The combination does not teach this light as a UV-C light with a wavelength of less than 230 nm.
Benedek teaches an analogous apparatus for treating air using UV light and ozone (Abstract, pars 0016-0018) wherein UV light is generated by a bulb or by light-emitting diodes (par 0017), the UV light being an ozone generating wavelength less than 200 nm (par 0017).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to choose as the wavelength for formation of ozone in the device of modified Metteer a wavelength of less than 230 nm as taught by Benedek, because this wavelength would predictably enable formation of ozone in the air duct as required by the combination of Metteer/Garner with a reasonable expectation of success. See MPEP 2143(I)(B) and MPEP 2143(I)(G).
Response to Arguments
27. Applicant’s arguments with respect to prior art rejections of claim(s) 1-8 have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument. Examiner notes Applicant’s point regarding the counterintuitive nature of removing ozone before electrostatic ionization then reinserting ozone before release, responding that the references of Metteer and Garner are now relied upon to teach this important treatment sequence as the claims have been amended to reflect.
28. Applicant’s arguments with respect to the rejections of claim 1 under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) have been considered and are persuasive, but Examiner notes that these arguments were silent regarding the rejections of dependent claims 4 and 8. Further, the amendment introduces new issues under this statute to claims 3 and 5-7, so claims 3-8 stand rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b).
Conclusion
29. Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/ERIC TALBERT/Examiner, Art Unit 1758
/SEAN E CONLEY/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1799