DETAILED ACTION
Response to Amendment/Remarks
This communication is considered fully responsive to the amendment filed on 10/23/2025.
Claims 1 -20 are pending and are examined in this office action.
Claims 1-20 have been amended.
No new claim has been added and no claim has been canceled.
In view of the applicant’s argument, objection to the claims has been withdrawn.
In view of the applicant’s amendment to the specification, objection to the specification has been withdrawn.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments, filed on 10/23/2025, with respect to claims have been considered but are moot because the arguments do not apply to any of the references being used in the current rejection. The Examiner found features modified to claims, i.e claim 1 as
“1. (Currently Amended) A first communication device configured to communicate with a second communication device via at least two links including a first link having a first radio _frequency_(RF) chain including first hardware components in series for performing RF communications and a second link having a second RF chain that is different from the first RF chain and that includes second hardware components in series for performing RE communications, the first communication device comprising:
circuitry configured to–
- switch between a full operation mode and a partial operation mode, wherein in the full operation mode the first link is disabled and the second link commonly uses bandwidths and/or spatial streams of the at least two links including the first link and the second link for the communication with the second communication device and wherein in the partial operation mode each link uses a respective subset of the bandwidths and/or spatial streams of the at least two links including the first link and the second link for the communication with the second communication device; and
- control (i) the moment of switching between the full operation mode and the partial operation mode and/or [ii) the moment of accessing the second link in the full operation mode under consideration of a switching delay indicating a delay between an initiation of switching between the full operation mode and the partial operation mode and completion of the initiated switching.”
that have changed the scope of the invention, Therefore, Applicant’s remarks regarding rejection under 35 U.S.C 103 for the claims are moot. Applicant's remarks are considered as forward looking statement for the newly reconstructed claims.
In view of the applicant’s amendment to the claims, the examiner has clarified and remapped the rejection to the argued claim limitations in details, using the prior art of record in the current prosecution of the claims as well a new prior art. See CHU et al. (US 20220029736 A1; hereinafter as “CHU”, which has priority date July 22, 2020).
Examiner’s NOTE: there are multiple “AND/OR” limitations in the claims. The examiner will always take “OR” option unless specifically mention.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-5, 7-14, 16-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over HUANG et al. (US 20230046270 A1; hereinafter as “HUANG”) in view of CHU et al. (US 20220029736 A1; hereinafter as “CHU”, which has priority date July 22, 2020).
Examiner’s note: in what follows, references are drawn to HUANG unless otherwise mentioned.
With respect to independence claim:
Regarding claim 1, HUANG teaches, A First communication device (see fig. 1A: non-AP MLD ) configured to communicate with a second communication device (Fig. 1A: AP MLD ) via at least two links (aforesaid Non-AP MLD is connected with AP MLD with 2 or more links as shown in Fig. 1A: “A communications system 100 shown in FIG. 1A and FIG. 1B includes at least two multi-link devices (multi-link device, MLD). For example, one is an access point (access point, AP) multi-link device, and the other is a non-access point (non-access point, non-AP) multi-link device. ”: [0110]),
including a first link having (==Link 1 in fig. 1A) a first radio _frequency_(RF) chain including first hardware components (==radio frequency modules) in series for performing RF communications (aforesaid NOP-AP MLD is a multiple-radio-multi-link device; aforesaid multiple-radio-multi-link device has a plurality of radio frequency modules, and the radio frequency modules separately works on different frequency bands or channels.:[0003]; “ a multi-link device (for example, the AP MLD and the non-AP MLD in FIG. 1A and FIG. 1B) is an apparatus having a wireless communications function. The apparatus is a device of an entire system, or is a chip, a processing system, or the like installed in a device of an entire system. The device on which the chip or the processing system is installed implements a method and a function in at least one embodiment, under control of the chip or the processing system. For example, the multi-link device is a multi-link device with a single antenna (or a single radio frequency module), or is a multi-link device with a plurality of antennas (or a plurality of radio frequency modules). A quantity of antennas included in the multi-link device is not limited in at least one embodiment.”: [0115])) and
a second link (==LINK 2 in Fig. 2 ) having a second RF chain that is different from the first RF chain and that includes second hardware components in series for performing RF communications (aforesaid NOP-AP MLD is a multiple-radio-multi-link device; aforesaid multiple-radio-multi-link device has a plurality of radio frequency modules (==hardware component in claim), and the radio frequency modules separately works on different frequency bands or channels.:[0003] ; “ a multi-link device (for example, the AP MLD and the non-AP MLD in FIG. 1A and FIG. 1B) is an apparatus having a wireless communications function. The apparatus is a device of an entire system, or is a chip, a processing system, or the like installed in a device of an entire system. The device on which the chip or the processing system is installed implements a method and a function in at least one embodiment, under control of the chip or the processing system. For example, the multi-link device is a multi-link device with a single antenna (or a single radio frequency module), or is a multi-link device with a plurality of antennas (or a plurality of radio frequency modules). A quantity of antennas included in the multi-link device is not limited in at least one embodiment.”: [0115])
the first communication device (see fig. 1A: non-AP MLD) comprising:
circuitry configured to:
switch between a full operation mode (==commucnation using 1 RF Link ONLY ) and a partial operation mode (==Commucnation with multiple RF links) (“ Embodiments described- herein provide a link processing method, a multi-link device, and a computer-readable storage medium, to implement fast transition between link statuses or fast switching between links ”; [0006]; “For a multi-radio multi-link device (==non-ap MLD), in response to a data volume being relatively small or there is no delay-sensitive service, to reduce energy consumption, a part of links is in a doze (doze) or disable (disable) state. In response to the data volume being relatively large or there is a real-time service, the link in the doze (doze) or disable (disable) state is enabled again, so that the link is in an awake (awake) or enable (enable) state. For example, as shown in FIG. 4, an assumption is made that the non-AP MLD 102 is a multi-radio multi-link device, the link 1 is in an enable state, and the link 2 and the link 3 are in a doze state. In response to a data frame needs to be transmitted on the link 2, the non-AP MLD needs to transit the link 2 from the doze state to the awake state. ”:[0124]; NOTE: full operation mode when all LINK1, LINK2, LINK3 are used, Partial Operation Mode, when one of the LINK or part of those three links are in used),
wherein in the full operation mode the first link is disabled and the second link commonly uses bandwidths and/or spatial streams of the at least two links including the first link and the second link for the communication with the second communication device (“A first link is a link in an enable (enable) state in a plurality of links between the non-AP MLD and the AP MLD. A second link is a link in a disable (disable) state or a doze (doze) state in the plurality of links, and the second link is a link to which the non-AP MLD switches from the first link or a link whose link status needs to be transited. ”: {0130]) and
wherein in the partial operation mode (==Communication with multiple RF links) each link uses a respective subset of the bandwidths and/or spatial streams of the at least two links including the first link and the second link for the communication with the second communication device (“…. the second link is in an awake (awake) or enable (enable) state, so that the second MLD sends a downlink data frame on the second link in time. In addition, the uplink data frame and the quality of service null (QoS NULL) frame also notifies the second MLD that the second link is in the awake or enable state. ”:[0010]; both first link and second link are enable to transmit/receive data between Non-MLD and AP MLD : [0046]; see fig. 5C where Both LINK 1 and LINK2 are ENABLED to carry traffic: [0154]-[0157]; LINK 1 and LINK2 are both ENABLED : [0124], [0131]; “ FIG. 4, an assumption is made that the non-AP MLD 102 is a multi-radio multi-link device, the link 1 is in an enable state, and the link 2 and the link 3 are in a doze state. In response to a data frame needs to be transmitted on the link 2, the non-AP MLD needs to transit the link 2 from the doze state to the awake state. Because each radio frequency module in the multi-radio multi-link device does not need to reconfigure a related working parameter or the like, in response to the link 2 being transited from the doze state to the awake state”: [0124]; NOTE: Both LINK1 and LINK2 are awake for streaming).
While HUANG teaches switch delay in paragraphs ([0123]-[-124]), HUANG does not expressively disclose:
- control (i) the moment of switching between the full operation mode and the partial operation mode and/or [ii) the moment of accessing the second link in the full operation mode under consideration of a switching delay indicating a delay between an initiation of switching between the full operation mode and the partial operation mode and completion of the initiated switching.
CHU, in the same field of endeavor, discloses:
- control (i) the moment of switching between the full operation mode and the partial operation mode
and/or [ii) the moment of accessing the second link in the full operation mode under consideration of a switching delay indicating a delay between an initiation of switching between the full operation mode and the partial operation mode and completion of the initiated switching (“A multi-link non-AP MLD has one or multiple links where each link has one STA associated with one AP affiliated with the AP MLD:”; “ multi-link non-AP MLD is using two or more radios, where each radio is associated with a specific link”: “enhanced multi-link single-radio (EMLSR)non-AP MLD uses multiple full functional radios to monitor the medium in multiple links.”: switch between full functional radio and partial functional radio links: [0053] switch between using full links capability and partial links capability : [0053] ; [0056]) (NOTE: second part of this limitation is “OR” function and does not need to be addressed).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the teaching of HUANG to include the above recited limitations as taught by CHU. The suggestion/motivation would be to improve enhanced multi-link radio mode to the multi-link radio mode..: (CHU; [0032]).
Regarding claim 2, HUANG in view of CHU teaches the invention of claim 1 as set forth above. Further, CHU teaches, The first communication device as claimed in claim 1, wherein the circuitry is configured to control (i) the moment of switching between the full operation mode and the partial operation mode and/or (ii) the moment of accessing the second link in the full operation mode based on the length of the switching delay ( (“A multi-link non-AP MLD has one or multiple links where each link has one STA associated with one AP affiliated with the AP MLD:”; “ multi-link non-AP MLD is using two or more radios, where each radio is associated with a specific link”: “enhanced multi-link single-radio (EMLSR)non-AP MLD uses multiple full functional radios to monitor the medium in multiple links.”: switch between full functional radio and partial functional radio links: [0053] switch between using full links capability and partial links capability : [0053] ; [0056]) (NOTE: second part of this limitation is “OR” function and does not need to be address).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the teaching of HUANG to include the above recited limitations as taught by CHU. The suggestion/motivation would be to improve enhanced multi-link radio mode to the multi-link radio mode..: (CHU; [0032]).
Regarding claim 3, HUANG in view of CHU teaches the invention of claim 1 as set forth above. Further, HUANG teaches, The first communication device as claimed in claim 1,wherein the circuitry is configured to delay switching into the full operation mode on the second link until transmission of a frame that is currently ongoing at the end of the switching delay has been completed (“ a switch delay (switch delay) in response to the link 2 being transited from disable to enable.”: [0123]).
Regarding claim 4, HUANG in view of CHU teaches the invention of claim 1 as set forth above. Further, HUANG teaches, , the first communication device as claimed in claim 1, wherein the circuitry is configured to
transmit and/or receive a first part of a frame exchange, preferably of a data unit, in partial operation mode before a switching time or the completion of switching from the partial operation mode into the full operation mode and to transmit and/or receive a second part of said frame exchange, preferably of the data unit, in full operation mode after the completion of switching from the partial operation mode into the full operation mode, and/or transmit, before and/or after transmission or receipt of the first part of the frame exchange, allocation information indicating an allocation period for which the second link is allocated to the first and second communication devices for data communication ( “a waiting time used for transmitting a data frame on a switched-to link or a link whose status is transited is further reduced. ”:[0041]-[0042], [0069]).
Regarding claim 5, HUANG in view of CHU teaches the invention of claim 4 as set forth above. Further, HUANG teaches, the first communication device as claimed in claim 4, further comprising two antennas, each antenna comprising one or more antenna elements, wherein a first antenna is configured to transmit and/or receive with a first linear combination of a first and a second polarization and a second antenna is configured to transmit and/or receive with a second linear combination of a first and second polarization different from the first linear combination (“a multi-link device with a plurality of antennas (or a plurality of radio frequency modules). A quantity of antennas included in the multi-link device is not limited in at least one embodiment. ”:[0115]; Fig. 10: Antenna: [0259]).
Regarding claim 7, HUANG in view of CHU teaches the invention of claim 1 as set forth above. Further, HUANG teaches, The first communication device as claimed in the first communication device as claimed in wherein the circuitry is configured to - receive a switching request frame in the partial operation mode, the switching request frame indicating that the first communication device shall switch into the full operation mode, - initiate switching g into the full operation mode, - receive padding data in the partial operation mode before frame in the full operation mode after the switching into the full operation mode has been completed, and/or wherein the circuitry is configured to switch the second link to the full operation mode after receipt of allocation period information on the first link, the allocation period information indicating that the first link is allocated to a third communication device for data communication, and switch the first link to g to the switching delay or a longer time period (“In at least one embodiment, the first information of the second link is carried in a link switching response message, a cross-link information report message, a medium access control frame, a response frame for negotiating a mapping relationship between a traffic identifier and a link, a beacon frame, a control field of the data frame, or a request frame for negotiating a mapping relationship between a traffic identifier and a link that is received on the first link. In at least one embodiment, the first MLD receives first information of the second link on the first link includes: The first MLD receives, on the first link, the link switching response message, the cross-link information report message, the medium access control frame, or the response frame for negotiating the mapping relationship between the traffic identifier and the link. The first information of the second link is carried in the link switching response message, the cross-link information report message, the medium access control frame, or the response frame for negotiating the mapping relationship between the traffic identifier and the link. ”:[0018]; “ the first MLD receives a link switching response message, a cross-link information report message, a medium access control frame, or a response frame for negotiating a mapping relationship between a traffic identifier and a link on the first link, to obtain the third information of the second link. In at least one embodiment, that the first multi-link device (MLD) receives third information on the first link includes: The first MLD receives, on the first link, the link switching response message, the cross-link information report message, the medium access control frame, or the response frame for negotiating the mapping relationship between the traffic identifier and the link. The third information of the second link is carried in the link switching response message, the cross-link information report message, the medium access control frame, or the response frame for negotiating the mapping relationship between the traffic identifier and the link.
[0053] The request frame for negotiating the mapping relationship between the traffic identifier and the link from the first MLD is sent in response to the first MLD changing the mapping relationship between the link and the traffic identifier, so that link statuses of some links need to be transited from a disable/doze state to an enable/awake state. Correspondingly, the response frame for negotiating the mapping relationship between the traffic identifier and the link returned by the second MLD indicates whether the second MLD accepts a mapping configuration request between the traffic identifier and the link. Optionally, in response to the second MLD accepting the mapping configuration request, the response frame for negotiating the mapping relationship between the traffic identifier and the link includes the third information of the second link. In response to the second MLD not accepting the mapping configuration request, the response frame for negotiating the mapping relationship between the traffic identifier and the link does not include the third information of the second link. ”:[0052]-[0053]).
Regarding claim 8, HUANG in view of CHU teaches the invention of claim 1 as set forth above. Further, HUANG teaches, , the first communication device as claimed in claim 1,
wherein the circuitry is configured to switch, after data reception on the second link is completed, into the partial operation mode on the second link and transmit acknowledgement information acknowledging receipt of the data on the second link in the partial operation mode, and wherein the acknowledgement information is transmitted with a lower code rate and/or a more robust modulation than a data rate and a modulation used for reception of the data ([0052]-[0053]).
Regarding claim 9, HUANG in view of CHU teaches the invention of claim 1 as set forth above. Further, HUANG teaches, , The first communication device as claimed in claim 1,
wherein the circuitry is configured to
listen, after switching from the full operation mode into the partial operation mode, for allocation information transmitted by a third communication device, a link that has been disabled while the first communication device has been in a previous full operation mode, before accessing the link for data transmission, the allocation information indicating an allocation period for which the link is allocated the third communication device for data communication, and/or listen on the second link to allocation information indicating an allocation period for which the first link is allocated the third communication device for data communication, and wherein the allocation period is longer than the switching delay or a predetermined time period (“ A single-radio multi-link device has a single radio frequency module. Although the single-radio multi-link device works on different frequency bands or channels, the single-radio multi-link device works only on one frequency band or channel at any moment. Therefore, in response to an RSSI (receive signal strength indicator, received signal strength indicator) of a link becoming poor due to movement of the link, the single-radio multi-link device switches from one link to another, for example, from a link deployed on the 5 GHz frequency band to a link deployed on the 2.4 GHz frequency band. As shown in FIG. 3, an assumption is made that the non-AP MLD is a single-radio multi-link device, and the link 1 is in an enable state. In response to a data frame being transmitted on the link 2, the non-AP MLD needs to switch from the link 1 to the link 2. Correspondingly, the link 1 is transited from enable to disable, the link 2 is transited from disable to enable, and the link 3 is always in disable. Because the single-radio multi-link device performs switch between different frequency bands or channels, a related working parameter of the radio frequency module needs to be configured. Therefore, there is a switch delay (switch delay) in response to the link 2 being transited from disable to enable. In addition, in response to the link 2 transmitting the data frame, the STA 2 further needs to obtain a related parameter currently configured by the AP 2 for a BSS corresponding to the link 2. For example, a parameter that is configured by the AP 2 for the BSS corresponding to the link 2 and that is obtained by the STA 2 through the multi-link association response frame shown in FIG. 2 is updated with a current parameter of the BSS configuration of the AP 2, and one or more of parameters shown in Table 1 are updated. Therefore, after the link 2 is transited from disable to enable, the non-AP MLD further needs to correctly receive a beacon (beacon) frame on the link 2. The beacon frame carries the BSS parameter currently configured by the AP 2 for the link 2, so that the data frame is transmitted.”: [0123]; “ on-AP MLD being a multi-link device on a single link, there is a switch delay before the data frame is transmitted by using the link 2; in response to the non-AP MLD being a multi-link device on a plurality of links, there is no switch delay. In addition, in step 104, in response to the non-AP MLD transmitting the data frame by using the link 2, a BSS configuration that is used is the BSS configuration of the link 2 in the non-AP MLD.”{0146])
Regarding claim 10, HUANG in view of CHU teaches the invention of claim 1 as set forth above. Further, HUANG teaches, , the first communication device as claimed in claim 1, wherein the circuitry is configured to explicitly signal the switching delay to the second communication device and/or
receive confirmation from the second communication device to apply the full operation mode or wherein the circuity is configured to implicitly signal its mode of operation to the second communication device after reception of a switching request frame by transmitting a frame in the partial operation mode if the operation mode is the partial operation mode or a frame in the full operation mode, wherein the information contained in the frame is duplicated or non-duplicated over the RF chains of the first and second links if the operation mode is the full operation mode (see fig. 5A: “[0148] As shown in FIG. 5A, because the BSS configuration of the link 2 is not updated, the non-AP MLD directly transmits the data frame on the switched-to link 2, and does not need to transmit the data frame until a beacon frame on the link 2 is received after switching or status transition. According to a processing method shown in FIG. 3 or FIG. 4, a waiting time used before the data frame is transmitted on the link 2 is reduced.
Optionally, after step 103, the non-AP MLD switches to the link 2 or transit the status of the link 2 to the awake/enable state based on the first information of the link 2.
(2) Link Processing Method that the BSS Configuration of the link 2 is Updated
In at least one embodiment, in step 104, in response to the BSS configuration of the link 2 being updated, as shown in FIG. 5B, a difference between the link processing method and the link processing method shown in FIG. 5A lies in that the BSS configuration of the link 2 is updated, and the following steps is performed.
105: The non-AP MLD sends second information to the AP MLD on the link 2. The second information is a sequence number of the BSS configuration, an access point configuration sequence number (AP-CSN), or a check beacon (check beacon) value that identifies the link 2 in the non-AP MLD.
106: The AP MLD receives the second information, and sends, on the link 2 based on the second information, an updated parameter of the BSS configuration of the link 2.
As shown in FIG. 5C, the second information in FIG. 5B is carried in a unicast probe request (probe request) frame on the link 2. Third information is carried in a probe response (probe response) frame on the link 2. At least one embodiment is as follows: The non-AP MLD sends the unicast probe request frame to the AP MLD on the link 2. The unicast probe request frame includes the second information. The non-AP MLD receives the probe response frame from the AP MLD on the link 2. The probe response frame is a simplified probe response frame and includes the updated parameter of the BSS configuration of the link 2. The updated parameter of the BSS configuration of the link 2 is determined by the AP MLD based on the second information.
For example, the AP MLD determines which parameters are updated in the current BSS configuration of the link 2 (that is, the BSS configuration of the link 2 corresponding to the first information) compared with the BSS configuration of the link 2 corresponding to the second information, and returns all updated parameters or updated key parameters in the probe response frame to the non-AP MLD.
107: The non-AP MLD receives the updated parameter of the BSS configuration of the link 2.
Further, the link processing method further includes: The non-AP MLD updates the BSS configuration of the link 2 in the non-AP MLD by using the updated parameter of the BSS configuration of the link 2, and transmits the data frame on the link 2 based on an updated BSS configuration of the link 2. The non-AP MLD further correspondingly updates the sequence number of the BSS configuration/AP-CSN/check beacon value that identifies the link 2.
Correspondingly, in response to the BSS configuration of the link 2 not being updated, step 104 is: The non-AP MLD transmits the data frame on the link 2 by using the BSS configuration of the link 2 in the non-AP MLD. ”:[0148]-[0159]).
Regarding claim 11, HUANG in view of CHU teaches the invention of claim 1 as set forth above. Further, HUANG teaches, , the first communication device as claimed in claim 1, wherein in the full operation mode the first link is disabled and the second link commonly uses the bandwidths and/or spatial streams of the first and second links for the communication with the second communication device and wherein in the partial operation mode each link uses a respective subset of the spatial streams and/or the bandwidths of the first and second links for the communication with the second communication device (“ With regard to Sub-elements fields 700, 710, and 720 of FIG. 7, each include a sub-element ID field 750 having a length of 4 bits that indicates the type/function of the sub-element. For example, data format sub-element field 700 enables/disables a target link, sub-element field 710 enables/disables a target link and updates operating parameters of the target link, and sub-element field 720 switches a target link to a target channel and updates operating parameters of the target link.
[0055] The link ID field 755 has a length of 4 and indicates the target link for enabling, disabling, and/or configuring the operating parameters of the target link. The target channel field 760 has a length of 8 bits and indicates the target channel for performing a channel switch for the target link. Required delay field 765 has a length of 16 bits and indicates the delay required before enabling the target link. Operational BW field 770 has a length of 4 bits and indicates the operating bandwidths of the target link. Primary band field 775 has a length of 4 bits and indicates the primary operating band of the target link. Supported NSS field 780 has a length of 4 bits and indicates the number of spatial streams supported by the target link. ”: [0054]-[0055]).
Regarding claim 12, HUANG in view of CHU teaches the invention of claim 1 as set forth above. Further, HUANG teaches, the first communication device as claimed in claim 1,wherein the first communication device is configured to communicate with the second communication device via three or more links, wherein in the full operation mode all of the three or more links except for the second link of the three or more links are disabled and the second link of the three or more links commonly uses RF chains of two or more links for the communication with the second communication device. (see fig. 1A; Fig. 5A; “In FIG. 1A, a single-radio non-AP MLD and a multi-radio AP MLD are used as examples. At any moment, the single-radio non-AP MLD has one link to communicate with the AP MLD, and other links are in a disable state. In FIG. 1B, a multi-radio non-AP MLD and a multi-radio AP MLD are used as an example. At any moment, the multi-radio non-AP MLD has one or more links to communicate with the AP MLD. In FIG. 1A and FIG. 1B, for example, the non-AP MLD includes three STAs (for example, a STA 1, a STA 2, and a STA 3) , and the AP MLD includes three Aps (for example, an AP 1, an AP 2, and an AP 3). The STA 1 is associated with the AP 1, and communicates with the AP 1 through a link (link) 1; the STA 2 is associated with the AP 2, and communicates with the AP 2 through a link 2; and the STA 3 is associated with the AP 3, and communicates with the AP 3 through a link 3. In addition, related operations of the non-AP MLD and the AP MLD on the link 1 is correspondingly performed by the STA 1 and the AP 1. For example, “the AP MLD sends first information on the link 1, and the non-AP MLD receives the first information on the link 1” is “the AP 1 sends first information on the link 1, and the STA 1 receives the first information on the link 1. Correspondingly, related operations of the non-AP MLD and the AP MLD on the link 2 is correspondingly performed by the STA 2 and the AP 2. Related operations of the non-AP MLD and the AP MLD on the link 3 is correspondingly performed by the STA 3 and the AP 3. For ease of description, in at least one embodiment, an example in which a non-AP MLD and an AP MLD are separately used as execution bodies is used for description. ”:[0111]).
Regarding claim 13, the claim is interpreted and rejected for the same reason as set forth in claim 1.
Regarding claim 14, the claim is interpreted and rejected for the same reason as set forth in claim 5.
Regarding claim 16 the claim is interpreted and rejected for the same reason as set forth in claim 7.
Regarding claim 17, HUANG in view of CHU teaches the invention of claim 16 as set forth above. Further, HUANG teaches, the second communication device as claimed in claim 16, wherein the circuitry is configured to transmit the padding data as part of the switching request frame and/or set the length of the padding data such that it covers at least the switching delay plus a short inter frame space (“In at least one embodiment, the first information of the second link is carried in a link switching response message, a cross-link information report message, a medium access control frame, a response frame for negotiating a mapping relationship between a traffic identifier and a link, a beacon frame, a control field of the data frame, or a request frame for negotiating a mapping relationship between a traffic identifier and a link that is received on the first link. In at least one embodiment, the first MLD receives first information of the second link on the first link includes: The first MLD receives, on the first link, the link switching response message, the cross-link information report message, the medium access control frame, or the response frame for negotiating the mapping relationship between the traffic identifier and the link. The first information of the second link is carried in the link switching response message, the cross-link information report message, the medium access control frame, or the response frame for negotiating the mapping relationship between the traffic identifier and the link. ”:[0018]; “ the first MLD receives a link switching response message, a cross-link information report message, a medium access control frame, or a response frame for negotiating a mapping relationship between a traffic identifier and a link on the first link, to obtain the third information of the second link. In at least one embodiment, that the first multi-link device (MLD) receives third information on the first link includes: The first MLD receives, on the first link, the link switching response message, the cross-link information report message, the medium access control frame, or the response frame for negotiating the mapping relationship between the traffic identifier and the link. The third information of the second link is carried in the link switching response message, the cross-link information report message, the medium access control frame, or the response frame for negotiating the mapping relationship between the traffic identifier and the link.
The request frame for negotiating the mapping relationship between the traffic identifier and the link from the first MLD is sent in response to the first MLD changing the mapping relationship between the link and the traffic identifier, so that link statuses of some links need to be transited from a disable/doze state to an enable/awake state. Correspondingly, the response frame for negotiating the mapping relationship between the traffic identifier and the link returned by the second MLD indicates whether the second MLD accepts a mapping configuration request between the traffic identifier and the link. Optionally, in response to the second MLD accepting the mapping configuration request, the response frame for negotiating the mapping relationship between the traffic identifier and the link includes the third information of the second link. In response to the second MLD not accepting the mapping configuration request, the response frame for negotiating the mapping relationship between the traffic identifier and the link does not include the third information of the second link. ”:[0052]-[0053]).
Regarding claim 18, the claim is interpreted and rejected for the same reason as set forth in claim 1.
Regarding claim 19, the claim is interpreted and rejected for the same reason as set forth in claim 13.
Regarding claim 20, the claim is interpreted and rejected for the same reason as set forth in claim 1 or 13.
Claims 6, 15 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over HUANG in view of CHU and further in view of KIM et al. (US 20230309151 A1; hereinafter as “KIM ”)
Regarding claim 6, HUANG in view of CHU teaches the invention of claim 4 as set forth above. HUANG in view of CHU does not expressively teaches,
The first communication device as claimed in claim 4, wherein the circuitry is configured to receive in the full operation mode, after completion of the first part of the frame exchange, a bandwidth change request frame or a ready-to-send, RTS, frame and transmit in the full operation mode, after receipt of the bandwidth change request frame or the RTS frame, a bandwidth change acknowledge frame or a clear-to-send, CTS, frame.
CHU, in the same field of endeavor, discloses:
The first communication device as claimed in claim 4, wherein the circuitry is configured to receive in the full operation mode, after completion of the first part of the frame exchange, a bandwidth change request frame or a ready-to-send, RTS, frame and transmit in the full operation mode, after receipt of the bandwidth change request frame or the RTS frame, a bandwidth change acknowledge frame or a clear-to-send, CTS, frame (“FIG. 15 illustrates an operation in which the station performs transmission after the release of channel access prohibition according to an embodiment of the disclosure.
[0184] As described above, transmission is performed in the first link among the plurality of links in which the non-STR multi-link device operates, and thus transmission may be prohibited in the second link. When the corresponding transmission is completed in the first link, transmission in the second link may start by RTS/CTS frame exchange. Accordingly, when transmission is performed in the first link among the plurality of link in which the non-STR multi-link device operates, the non-STR multi-link device may start the RTS/CTS frame exchange in the second link. After the release of channel access prohibition of the station of which transmission is delayed due to channel access prohibition, the station may start request to send (RTS)/clear to send (CTS) frame exchange before starting delayed transmission. At this time, when the station does not receive the CTS frame, the delayed transmission may not start. In the embodiment of FIG. 15(a), the station of which transmission is delayed due to channel access prohibition transmits the RTS frame before starting delayed transmission. The station starts delayed transmission after receiving the CTS frame in response to the RTS frame. ”: [0183]-[0185]; [0341]-[0342]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the teaching of HUANG, CHU to include the above recited limitations as taught by KIM. The suggestion/motivation would be to increase data reliability. (KIM; [0004]).
Regarding claim 15 the claim is interpreted and rejected for the same reason as set forth in claim 6.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/M Mostazir Rahman/Examiner, Art Unit 2411
/DERRICK W FERRIS/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2411