DETAILED ACTION
Election/Restrictions
Claims 12-20 are withdrawn from further consideration pursuant to 37 CFR 1.142(b), as being drawn to a nonelected invention, there being no allowable generic or linking claim. Applicant timely traversed the restriction (election) requirement in the reply filed on 2/17/2026.
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement dated 7/6/2026 has been considered and made of record.
Allowable Subject Matter
The indicated allowability of claims 7 and 8 is withdrawn in view of the amendments to claim 1 and newly applied reference to Mahajan et al. (US 2016/0304824) (Attached PTO-892). Rejections based on the newly cited reference follow.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-5 and 7-10 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Mahajan et al. (US 2016/0304824) (Attached PTO-892).
With respect to claim 1, the reference of Mahajan et al. discloses:
A component management apparatus for a bioprocessing system (Figs. 1B, 1C and Fig. 7A annotated and reproduced below), comprising:
an annular frame (102, 800) having a plurality of arcuate segments, including at least a first segment (side wall) (104) and a second segment (door) (112b) pivotably connected to the first segment such that at least the second segment is movable between a closed position in which the first segment and second segment are connected and an open position in which the first segment and second segment are disconnected; and
at least one mounting bracket (804) connected to the frame for connection of a bioprocess component (¶[0030]).
With respect to claims 2 and 3, the system of Mahajan et al. discloses a connection mechanism configured to maintain the second segment in the closed position using a mechanical lock (latches)(Figs. 1B and 1C).
With respect to claims 4 and 5, in the absence of further positively recited structure, mounting bracket ((708)(Fig. 6) or (804)(Fig. 7A)) is structurally capable of being used with a filter heater or pinch valve.
With respect to claims 7-9, the system of Mahajan et al. discloses the plurality of segments further include at least a third segment; wherein the first segment is arcuate in shape and has a first end and a second end; wherein the second segment is pivotably connected to the first end of the first segment; and wherein the third segment is pivotably connected to the second end of the first segment (See annotated Fig. 7A above). With respect to the shape and/or dimensions of the segments required of claims 8 and 9, in the absence of further positively recited claim language, the system of the reference of Mahajan et al. is considered to be structurally capable of accommodating a bioreactor vessel and an internal baffle of the bioreactor.
With respect to claim 10, at least one of the segments (second segment) is movable so as to extend from an opening in a bioreactor vessel to which the frame is connected ((Figs. 1B, 1C and Fig. 7A).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 6 and 11 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Mahajan et al. (US 2016/0304824) (Attached PTO-892).
The reference of Mahajan et al. has been discussed above with respect to claims 1 and 4.
With respect to claim 6, while the reference of Mahajan et al. discloses the use of a plurality of mounting backets which include mounting brackets for a plurality of filters and filter heaters (Fig. 6), the reference is silent with respect to the use of brackets for pinch valves.
The reference of Mahajan et al. discloses the use of manual pinch valves (Fig. 4D) associated with the filters.
In view of these disclosures and in the absence of a showing of unexpected results, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to automate the actuation of the pinch valves and provide additional structures for supporting the actuated pinch valves for the known and expected result of automating a manual operation which is not considered a patentable distinction.
With respect to the filter heater structure required of claim 11, in the absence of a showing of unexpected results, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to construct of the filter heater of separate parts to facilitate the removal of the filter since it is not inventive to making a unitary structure of separate parts (MPEP 2144.04, V, C.).
Response to Arguments
Claim Rejections-35 USC 112(b)
The rejection of Claim 9 under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention has been withdrawn in view of the amendments to claims 9 and related comments on page 6 of the response dated 7/7/2026.
Claim Rejections-35 USC 102(a)(1)
The rejection of Claims 1-5 and 10 under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Staheli et al. (US 2011/0207218) has been withdrawn in view of the amendments to claim 1 and related comments on pages 6-8 of the response dated 7/7/2026.
Claim Rejections-35 USC 103 (Claims 6 and 11)
The rejection of Claims 6 and 11 under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Staheli et al. (US 2011/0207218) has been withdrawn in view of the amendments to claim 1 and related comments on pages 8-9 of the response dated 7/7/2026.
Claim Rejections-35 USC 103 (Claim 9)
The rejection of Claim 9 under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Staheli et al. (US 2011/0207218) (PTO-892 attached) in view of Goodwin et al. (US 2012/0175012) has been withdrawn in view of the amendments to claim 1 and related comments on page 9 of the response dated 7/7/2026.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/William H. Beisner/
Primary Examiner
Art Unit 1799
WHB