DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 11-16, 18-23, and 28-31 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Lim (US 20170139225).
Regarding claim 11, Lim discloses (Figs. 1-15C) an autofocus apparatus comprising: a housing (120); a bobbin (300, 400, 500) movably disposed with respect to the housing; a first magnet (320b, 441, 451; in particular 451) disposed on a first side portion (portion where 451 is located) of the bobbin (Fig. 2); a coil (330a, 330b, 442, 452; in particular 452) disposed on the housing, the coil (452) facing the first magnet (451) and interacting with the first magnet to move the bobbin along an optical axis (sections 0140, 0205); a second magnet (320a) disposed on a second side portion (portion where 320a is located) of the bobbin different from the first side portion of the bobbin, the second magnet (320a) being spaced apart from the first magnet (451); a yoke (340, 350, 380; in particular 350) disposed on a side portion of the housing (section 0101) corresponding to the second side portion of the bobbin; and a ball member (370, 700, 800, 900; in particular 370) disposed between the second side portion of the bobbin and the side portion of the housing (120) (Figs. 2, 5-6, 8), the ball member (370) maintaining a distance between the second side portion of the bobbin and the side portion of the housing in a first direction perpendicular to the optical axis under a preload provided by magnetic attraction between the second magnet and the yoke (sections 0102-0109) (Figs. 2, 5).
Regarding claim 12, Lim discloses (Figs. 1-15C) the second magnet (320a) is disposed between the yoke (350) and the first magnet (451), and the first magnet is disposed between the second magnet and the coil (452).
Regarding claim 13, Lim discloses (Figs. 1-15C) a circuit board (130) disposed on the housing, wherein the coil (300a) is conductively connected to the circuit board (section 0095).
Regarding claim 14, Lim discloses (Figs. 1-15C) a conductive member (circuit element; sections 0114-116) conductively connected to the position sensor.
Regarding claim 15, Lim discloses (Figs. 1-15C) the position sensor (360) does not overlap the first magnet or the second magnet in a direction perpendicular to the optical- axis direction (sections 0115-0117, 0127).
Regarding claim 16, Lim discloses (Figs. 1-15C) the position sensor (360) does not overlap the yoke in a direction perpendicular to the optical-axis direction (sections 0115-0117, 0127).
Regarding claim 18, Lim discloses (Figs. 1-15C) the ball member (370, 700, 800) is disposed between a side portion of the bobbin (300) on which the second magnet is disposed and a side portion of the housing on which the yoke is disposed.
Regarding claim 19, Lim discloses (Figs. 1-15C) the ball member (370, 700, 800, 900) is disposed between a side portion of the bobbin on which the first magnet (320b, 441, 451) is disposed and a side portion of the housing on which the coil is disposed, and a repulsive force acts between the yoke (340, 350, 380) and the second magnet.
Regarding claim 20, Lim discloses (Figs. 1-15C) the yoke (340, 350, 380) is a magnetic body, and a length of the yoke in the optical-axis direction is different from a length of the second magnet in the optical-axis direction (sections 0103-0105, 0112, 0200).
Regarding claim 21, Lim discloses (Figs. 1-15C) a drive signal is supplied to the coil, and the bobbin is movable in an optical-axis direction by virtue of an interaction with the first magnet (section 0116).
Regarding claim 22, Lim discloses (Figs. 1-15C) a circuit board (130) disposed on the housing; the conductive member (circuit element; sections 0114-116) is disposed on the base and comprises at least one terminal conductively connecting the position sensor (360) to the circuit board.
Regarding claim 23, Lim discloses (Figs. 1-15C) the conductive member (circuit element; sections 0114-116) comprises a circuit member disposed on the base, and the circuit member comprises at least one terminal conductively connected to the position sensor (360).
Regarding claim 28, Lim discloses (Figs. 1-15C) a camera device comprising: a housing (120); a bobbin (300, 400, 500) movably disposed with respect to the housing; a first magnet (320b, 441, 451; in particular 451) disposed on a first side portion (portion where 451 is located) of the bobbin (Fig. 2); a coil (330a, 330b, 442, 452; in particular 452) disposed on the housing, the coil (452) facing the first magnet (451) and interacting with the first magnet to move the bobbin along an optical axis (sections 0140, 0205); a second magnet (320a) disposed on a second side portion (portion where 320a is located) of the bobbin different from the first side portion of the bobbin, the second magnet (320a) being spaced apart from the first magnet (451); a yoke (340, 350, 380; in particular 350) disposed on a side portion of the housing; corresponding to the second side portion of the bobbin; and a ball member (370, 700, 800, 900; in particular 370) disposed between the second side portion of the bobbin and the side portion of the housing (120) (Figs. 2, 5-6, 8), the ball member (370) maintaining a distance between the second side portion of the bobbin and the side portion of the housing in a first direction perpendicular to the optical axis under a preload provided by magnetic attraction between the second magnet and the yoke (sections 0102-0109) (Figs. 2, 5); a first circuit board (620) disposed below the housing; an image sensor (610) disposed on the first circuit board; and a position sensor (360) disposed on the first circuit board so as to face the first magnet or the second magnet in an optical-axis direction (section 0115-0116; Driver IC on 620).
Regarding claim 29, Lim discloses (Figs. 1-15C) the second magnet (320a) is disposed between the yoke (350) and the first magnet (451), and the first magnet (451) is disposed between the second magnet (320a) and the coil (452).
Regarding claim 30, Lim discloses (Figs. 1-15C) a camera device comprising: a housing (120); a bobbin (300, 400, 500) movably disposed with respect to the housing; a first magnet (320b, 441, 451; in particular 451) disposed on a first side portion(portion where 451 is located) of the bobbin (Fig. 2) and a second magnet (320a) disposed on a second side portion (portion where 320a is located) of the bobbin different from the first side portion of the bobbin; a coil (330a, 330b, 442, 452; in particular 452) disposed on the housing, the coil (452) facing the first magnet and interacting with the first magnet (451) to move the bobbin along an optical axis (sections 0140, 0205); a yoke (340, 350, 380; in particular 350) disposed on a side portion of the housing (section 0101) corresponding to the second side portion of the bobbin; and a ball member (370, 700, 800, 900; in particular 370) disposed between the second side portion of the bobbin and the side portion of the housing (120) (Figs. 2, 5-6, 8), the ball member (370) maintaining a distance between the second side portion of the bobbin and the side portion of the housing in a first direction perpendicular to the optical axis under a preload provided by magnetic attraction between the second magnet (320a) and the yoke (350) (sections 0102-0109) (Figs. 2, 5), wherein the second magnet (320a) is disposed between the yoke (350) and the first magnet (451).
Regarding claim 31, Lim discloses (Figs. 1-15C) a base (600); and a position sensor (360) disposed on the base so as to face either the first magnet or the second magnet in an optical-axis direction (sections 0115-0116; Driver IC on 620).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 24-27 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Lim.
Regarding claim 24, Lim discloses (Figs. 1-15C) a length of the yoke (350) in the optical-axis direction is greater than a length of the second magnet (320a) in the optical-axis direction (section 0106).
Lim does not necessarily disclose a distance between an upper end of the second magnet and an upper end of the yoke in the optical-axis direction is one or more times and three or less times a total stroke distance of the bobbin in the optical-axis direction when the bobbin is positioned at the lowest point in the optical-axis direction.
However, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have the particular distances, since it has been held that where the general conditions of a claim are disclosed in the prior art, discovering optimum or workable ranges involves only routine skill in the art. In re Aller, 105 USPQ 233. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have the particular distances to decrease attractive force to decrease power consumption.
Regarding claim 25, Lim does not necessarily disclose a distance between a lower end of the second magnet and a lower end of the yoke in the optical-axis direction is 0 or greater and is two or less times the total stroke distance of the bobbin when the bobbin is positioned at the lowest point.
However, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have the particular distances, since it has been held that where the general conditions of a claim are disclosed in the prior art, discovering optimum or workable ranges involves only routine skill in the art. In re Aller, 105 USPQ 233. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have the particular distances to decrease attractive force to decrease power consumption.
Regarding claim 26, Lim discloses (Figs. 1-15C) a length of the second magnet in an optical-axis direction is greater than a length of the yoke in an optical-axis direction (section 0107).
Lim does not necessarily disclose a distance between a lower end of the second magnet and a lower end of the yoke in the optical-axis direction is one or more times and three or less times a total stroke distance of the bobbin in the optical-axis direction when the bobbin is positioned at the lowest point in the optical-axis direction.
However, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have the particular distances, since it has been held that where the general conditions of a claim are disclosed in the prior art, discovering optimum or workable ranges involves only routine skill in the art. In re Aller, 105 USPQ 233.
Regarding claim 27, Lim does not necessarily disclose a distance between an upper end of the second magnet and an upper end of the yoke in the optical-axis direction is 0 or more and is two or less times the total stroke distance of the bobbin in the optical-axis direction when the bobbin is positioned at the lowest point.
However, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have the particular distances, since it has been held that where the general conditions of a claim are disclosed in the prior art, discovering optimum or workable ranges involves only routine skill in the art. In re Aller, 105 USPQ 233.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claims 11-16 and 18-31 have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on the reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument. Applicant argues that the yoke 136 and the second magnet 134 are disposed directly face each other at the second side portion of the housing 140. However, Lim discloses (Figs. 2, 4) the yoke (350) and the second magnet (320a) disposed directly face each other at the second side portion of the housing (120).
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/CHARLES S CHANG/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2871