DETAILED ACTION
Election/Restrictions
Applicant’s election without traverse of claims 1-4 in the reply filed on 01/06/2026 is acknowledged.
Claims 5-8 withdrawn from further consideration pursuant to 37 CFR 1.142(b) as being drawn to a nonelected inventions, there being no allowable generic or linking claim. Election was made without traverse in the reply filed on 01/06/2026.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-4 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kamiya et al. (WO2018230354; Google Patents 01/24/2026).
Regarding claim 1, Kamiya et al. teaches a method for producing cellulose nanofibers comprising oxidizing a cellulose raw material with hypochlorous acid or a salt thereof which meets the limitation of a nanocellulose that is an oxide of a cellulose raw material (page 2, paragraphs 6-18). Kamiya et al. teaches method for producing cellulose nanofibers without N-oxyl compounds which meets the limitation wherein the nanocellulose substantially does not comprise a N-oxyl compound (page 2, paragraphs 5-10). Kamiya et al. teaches widths from 2 nm to 100nm which overlaps with an average fiber width of from at least 1 nm to not more than 200 nm (page 3; paragraphs 10-14). As set forth in MPEP 2144.05, in the case where the claimed range “overlap or lie inside ranges disclosed by the prior art”, a prima facie case of obviousness exists, In re Wertheim, 541 F.2d 257, 191 USPQ 90 (CCPA 1976); In re Woodruff, 919 F.2d 1575, 16 USPQ2d 1934 (Fed. Cir. 1990). Kamiya et al. teaches production method of the present invention will be described below using sodium hypochlorite as an example of the hypochlorous acid or the salt thereof which meets the limitation of a hypochlorous acid or a salt thereof (page 2, paragraphs 10-20).
Kamiya et al. does not teach the property of zeta potential, however, paragraph 46 of Applicant’s specification states “fiber width and zeta potential of the nanocellulose can be adjusted to desired values by adjusting, e.g., the reaction time, reaction temperature, and stirring conditions for the oxidation reaction”. Paragraph 45 of Applicant’s specification states “reaction temperature in the oxidation reaction is preferably 15° C. to 100° C.” and Kamiya et al. teaches reaction temperature of 15° C to 40° C (page 3, paragraph 3). Paragraph 45 of Applicant’s specification states “reaction time for the oxidation reaction can be established in accordance with the degree of development of the oxidation, but about 15 minutes to 50 hours is preferred” and Kamiya et al. teaches reaction time of about 15 minutes to about 6 hours (page 3, paragraphs 3-5). Paragraph 37 of Applicant’s specification states “available chlorine concentration in the reaction solution of the hypochlorous acid or salt thereof is preferably 6 to 43 mass %” and Kamiya et al. teaches having an available chlorine concentration of from 14% by mass to 43% by mass (page 2, paragraphs 10-20). It is clear the cellulose nanofibers taught by Kamiya et al. would possess the claimed zeta potential because the claimed nanocellulose fiber and cellulose nanofibers taught by Kamiya et al. are produced by identical or substantially identical processes. Where the claimed and prior art products are identical or substantially identical in structure or composition, or are produced by identical or substantially identical processes, a prima facie case of either anticipation or obviousness has been established. In re Best, 562 F.2d 1252, 1255, 195 USPQ 430, 433 (CCPA 1977). See MPEP 2112.01 (I).
Regarding claim 2, Kamiya et al. teaches widths of cellulose nanofibers are from 2 nm to 100 nm which overlaps with wherein the average fiber width is from at least 1 nm to not more than 5 nm (page 3; paragraphs 10-14). As set forth in MPEP 2144.05, in the case where the claimed range “overlap or lie inside ranges disclosed by the prior art”, a prima facie case of obviousness exists, In re Wertheim, 541 F.2d 257, 191 USPQ 90 (CCPA 1976); In re Woodruff, 919 F.2d 1575, 16 USPQ2d 1934 (Fed. Cir. 1990).
Regarding claim 3, Kamiya et al. teaches widths of cellulose nanofibers are from 2 nm to 100 nm and length of fiber length of the cellulose nanocrystals is from about 100 nm to about 1,000 nm and produces and aspect ratio of 1 to 500 which overlaps with , wherein the nanocellulose has an aspect ratio of from at least 20 to not more than 150 (page 3; paragraphs 10-14). As set forth in MPEP 2144.05, in the case where the claimed range “overlap or lie inside ranges disclosed by the prior art”, a prima facie case of obviousness exists, In re Wertheim, 541 F.2d 257, 191 USPQ 90 (CCPA 1976); In re Woodruff, 919 F.2d 1575, 16 USPQ2d 1934 (Fed. Cir. 1990).
Regarding claim 4, Kamiya et al. does not teach wherein a mixture made by mixing the nanocellulose with water to give a solids concentration of 0.1 mass % has a light transmittance of at least 95%. It is clear the cellulose nanofibers taught by Kamiya et al. would produce the claimed light transmittance in water with a solids concentration of 0.1 mass % because the claimed nanocellulose fiber and cellulose nanofibers taught by Kamiya et al. are produced by identical or substantially identical processes. Where the claimed and prior art products are identical or substantially identical in structure or composition, or are produced by identical or substantially identical processes, a prima facie case of either anticipation or obviousness has been established. In re Best, 562 F.2d 1252, 1255, 195 USPQ 430, 433 (CCPA 1977). See MPEP 2112.01 (I).
Double Patenting
Claim1-4 provisionally rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-23 of copending Application No. 18/269,320 (reference application). Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because the claimed product is made by a process that is identical or substantially identical to the process claimed by copending Application No. 18/269,320.
This is a provisional nonstatutory double patenting rejection because the patentably indistinct claims have not in fact been patented.
Claims 1-4 are provisionally rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-19 of copending Application No. 18/036,467 (reference application). Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because the claimed product is made by a process that is identical or substantially identical to the process claimed by copending Application No. 18/036,467.
.This is a provisional nonstatutory double patenting rejection because the patentably indistinct claims have not in fact been patented.
Claims 1-4 are provisionally rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-20 of copending Application No. 18/026,469 (reference application). Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because both the pending application and copending Application No. 18/026,469 claim “nanocellulose comprises an oxide of a cellulose raw material by a hypochlorous acid or a salt thereof, is substantially free of a N-oxyl compound, and satisfies following (I) and/or (II): (I) zeta potential is −30 mV or less; and (II) light transmittance in a mixed solution in which the nanocellulose and water are mixed and which has a solid content concentration of 0.1 mass % is 95% or more.”
This is a provisional nonstatutory double patenting rejection because the patentably indistinct claims have not in fact been patented.
Claims 1-4 are provisionally rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-9 of copending Application No. 18/014,550 (reference application). Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because the claimed product is made by a process that is identical or substantially identical to the process claimed by copending Application No. 18/014,550.
This is a provisional nonstatutory double patenting rejection because the patentably indistinct claims have not in fact been patented.
Claims 1-4 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-3 of U.S. Patent No. 11,713,360. Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because the claimed product is made by a process that is identical or substantially identical to the process claimed by U.S. Patent No. 11,713,360.
Conclusion
Coris Fung can be reached at 571-270-5713. The fax phone number for the organization where this application or proceeding is assigned is 571-273-8300.
/GUINEVER S GREGORIO/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1732 01/24/2026