DETAILED ACTION
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claim(s) 1 and 4 have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
Election/Restrictions
Newly submitted claims 9-17 are directed to an invention that is independent or distinct from the invention originally claimed for the following reasons: Claims 9-17 are different unrelated products electrical appliances, medical products, paint etc.
Since applicant has received an action on the merits for the originally presented invention, this invention has been constructively elected by original presentation for prosecution on the merits. Accordingly, claims 9-17 withdrawn from consideration as being directed to a non-elected invention. See 37 CFR 1.142(b) and MPEP § 821.03.
To preserve a right to petition, the reply to this action must distinctly and specifically point out supposed errors in the restriction requirement. Otherwise, the election shall be treated as a final election without traverse. Traversal must be timely. Failure to timely traverse the requirement will result in the loss of right to petition under 37 CFR 1.144. If claims are subsequently added, applicant must indicate which of the subsequently added claims are readable upon the elected invention.
Should applicant traverse on the ground that the inventions are not patentably distinct, applicant should submit evidence or identify such evidence now of record showing the inventions to be obvious variants or clearly admit on the record that this is the case. In either instance, if the examiner finds one of the inventions unpatentable over the prior art, the evidence or admission may be used in a rejection under 35 U.S.C. 103 or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 103(a) of the other invention.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1 and 4 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Nedelec et al. (Anisotropic nanocellulose gel–membranes for drug delivery: Tailoring structure and interface by sequential periodate–chlorite oxidation; Carbohydrate Polymers Volume 226, 115306, 15 December 2019).
Nedelec et al. teaches 2,3-dicarboxyl cellulose which meets the limitation of a nanocellulose that has a structure in which carboxy groups have been introduced by an oxidation of hydroxyl groups at positions 2 and 3 of a glucopyranose ring (page 2, paragraph 7). Nedelec et al. teaches diameter of 2.47, 2.68, 2.72 nm which meets the limitation of has an average fiber width of from at least 1 nm to not more than 5 nm (page 4, Table 1). Nedelec et al. teaches a length and width that would produce an aspect ratio of from at least 20 to not more than 150 (page 4, Table 1). Nedelec et al. teaches wherein the nanocellulose has a zeta potential of less than or equal to -30 mV (page 4, Figure 4).
Regarding claim 4, Nedelec et al. does not teach wherein a mixture made by mixing the nanocellulose with water to give a solids concentration of 0.1 mass % has a light transmittance of at least 95%. It is clear the cellulose nanofibers taught by Nedelec et al. would produce the claimed light transmittance in water with a solids concentration of 0.1 mass % because the claimed nanocellulose fiber and cellulose nanofibers taught by Nedelec et al. are identical or substantially identical to the claimed structure. Where the claimed and prior art products are identical or substantially identical in structure or composition, or are produced by identical or substantially identical processes, a prima facie case of either anticipation or obviousness has been established. In re Best, 562 F.2d 1252, 1255, 195 USPQ 430, 433 (CCPA 1977). See MPEP 2112.01 (I).
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/GUINEVER S GREGORIO/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1732 06/16/2026