Detailed Action
Summary
This is the Final Office Action based on application 18/014582 response filed 05/26/2026.
Claims 1-12 & 14-16 are pending.
Claims 1-5 have been elected and have been fully considered.
Claim Interpretation
It is noted that the claimed term “monomeric fatty acid,” is often used in the art to have the same of very similar meaning to that of “free fatty acid,” and “non esterified fatty acid (NEFA).” All of these terms are often used interchangeably in the prior art and it is noted that non-esterified fatty acids are fatty acids that are not chemically bound to a glycerol backbone or other ester groups (as in triglycerides).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 1-5 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
With respect to Claim 1, in the second step, it is claimed that the fluorescence intensity is derived from, “the fluorescent substance in the leucocytes.” This fails to have proper antecedent basis, and is confusing since no “fluorescent substance in the leucocytes,” is clearly claimed in the claim before this. However, in the first step, it is claimed that “a monomeric fatty acid compound labeled with a fluorescent substance,” is mixed “with leucocytes.” However--- this does not mean that the “fluorescent substance,” is “in,” the leucocytes, nor does it mean that it is bound to the leucocytes. Correction is required to clear this up.
Claims 2-5 are rejected by virtue of their dependency on Claim 1.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over ANCSIN in US 20180179574 in view of GIMENO in US 20050054022 and further in view of RICHIERI in Unbound free fatty acid levels in human serum.
With respect to Claim 1, ANCSIN teaches of a method for characterization of hypertriglyceridemia (HTG) in a subject. In particular, systems and methods, are provided for identifying the specific deficiency(ies) leading to HTG (abstract).
More specifically with respect to what is claimed, ANCSIN teaches of determining/assessing the TG (triglyceride) capacity/clearance pathway of the subject (paragraph 0043) and that if impaired triglyceride capacity is detected, it is a risk factor for metabolic syndrome (paragraph 0003)--- so the triglyceride capacity can be considered triglyceride metabolic capacity, as claimed, through broadest reasonable interpretation.
With respect to Claim 1, it is noted that the “acquiring a value,” “relating to,” “a triglyceride metabolic capacity,” is interpreted as just “ a measured fluorescence intensity that is derived from the fluorescent label and the leucocytes,” as claimed in Claim 1, second step.
ANCSIN teaches that the determination of triglyceride capacity is accomplished by using routine blood samples from patients and including assessing the endogenous lipoprotein lipase activity of blood leukocytes (white blood cells) to determine the specific deficiency causing the HTG (paragraph 0005).
This is done by (a) exposing a blood sample (which includes leukocytes) from the subject to a triglyceride substrate, wherein the triglyceride substrate undergoes a detectable change in fluorescence upon hydrolysis by LpL. The triglyceride substrate in this context just means triglyceride modified with a fluorophore to form a fluorogenic triglyceride substrate (e.g., a triglyceride analog having a terminal fluorophore on one or more fatty acid chains of the triglyceride) (paragraphs 0006-0007).
This blood sample containing the leukocytes with mixed with the fluorogenic substrate reads on the claimed, “first step of mixing,” and “thus bringing the fatty acid labeled with the fluorescent substance,” (triglyceride substate which has one or more fatty acids, labeled with fluorophore) “into contact with the leucocytes,” by mixing into a mixture (paragraph 0022-0023).
ANCSIN further teaches of acquiring a detectable increase in fluorescence/fluorescence intensity signal (value) upon hydrolysis from LpL (paragraph 0007, 0045, 0056), and thereby acquiring, “a value relating to the triglyceride metabolic capacity,” through broadest reasonable interpretation.
ANCSIN even further teaches that the fatty acids in the fluorogenic-TG (triglyceride) substrate can be one or more fatty acids (paragraphs 0044-0045).
ANCSIN also recognizes “free,” fatty acids, which are the same thing as the claimed monomeric fatty acids, but they do not teach binding them to the fluorescent molecules specifically.
Instant Claim 1 also requires that the fatty acid compound contains a fatty acid residue, the fatty acid residue has 8 to 26 carbons, and a part of hydrogen atoms constituting the fatty acid residue, excluding a terminal methyl group of the fatty acid residue may be substituted by and alkyl group having 1 to 3 carbon atoms. ANCSIN do not teach of the fatty acid of the triglyceride bound to the fluorophore specifically having this structure.
GIMENO is used to remedy this. GIMENO further teaches of a method of using labeled fatty acids to detect compounds. This is analogous art to what the ANCSIN reference is doing by labeling the fatty acid component of triglycerides, to detect compounds in leucocytes.
GIMENO teaches of detecting “free,” fatty acid levels (paragraph 0011, 0023-0024, 0064, 0078, 0103), which again is the same thing as applicant’s claimed monomeric fatty acids, as all free fatty acids are monomeric.
Specifically, GIMENO teaches that a fatty acid labeled with BODIPY is used, and even more specifically that the compound which is used is BODIPY-fatty acid (4,4-difluoro -5-methyl -4-bora -3a,4a-diaza-s-indacene-dodecanoic acid) (paragraph 0083, 0149). Of the fluorescent labeled fatty acid, 4,4-difluoro -5-methyl -4-bora -3a,4a-diaza-s-indacene-dodecanoic acid, the dodecanoic acid is the fatty acid. The formula for dodecanoic acid is C11H23COOH and it has 12 total carbons, 10 of which are in the fatty acid residue chain, so this reads on the instantly claimed 8 to 26 carbons and “a part of hydrogen atoms”. Dedecanoic acid also has a terminal methyl group, as another way to write it’s formula is CH3-(CH2)10-COOH. CH3 is the terminal methyl group. The claim limitation- “may,” “be substituted by an alkyl group having 1 to 3 carbon atoms,” is optional due to the, “may,” so this is not required by the claim.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the instant invention to use the fluorescent label/fatty acid pair as done in GIMENO having the claimed structure in the method of ANCSIN due to the advantage this fatty-acid/fluorescent label has in giving measurable fluorescence and due to the advantage it offers for being able to flag uptake in cells (such as the leukocytes of ANSCIN)(GIMENO, paragraph 0073, 0149, 0082-0083).
In case it is unclear to one of ordinary skill in the art that the free fatty acids as taught by ANSCIN and GIMENO include monomeric fatty acids/monomeric fatty acid binding, RICHIERI is used to remedy this.
RICHIERI teaches of a method for determining free fatty acids in serum through labeling and binding with a fluorescent molecules (ADIFAB) (abstract). RICHIERI further teaches that the unbound free fatty acids in solutions appear as monomers(Page 229, column 1, last paragraph).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the instant invention that the free fatty acids in ANSCIN and GIMENO include monomeric fatty acids as in RICHIERI since it is known that a small part of all free fatty acids in solution are found as monomers (RICHIERI, column 1, last paragraph).
Claim(s) 2-5 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over ANCSIN in US 20180179574 in view of GIMENO in US 20050054022 and further in view of RICHIERI in Unbound free fatty acid levels in human serum and further in view of GOODMAN in New Myocardial Imaging Agents: Synthesis of 15-(p-Iodophenyl)-3(.R,iS)-methylpentadecanoic Acid by Decomposition of a 3,3-(l,5-Pentanediyl)triazene Precursor (as cited on IDS dated 03/10/2023).
With respect to Claim 2, ANCSIN and GIMENO and RICHIERI teach of the claimed invention as shown above for Claim 1. They do not teach of the fatty acid of the triglyceride bound to the fluorophore specifically having the structure of claim 2 with a substituted or unsubstituted phenyl group on the terminal methyl group of the fatty acid
GOODMAN is used to remedy this. GOODMAN teach using methyl-branched long-chain fatty acids such as 15-(p-iodophenyl)-3(R,S)-methylpentadecanoic acid (has a phenyl of terminal methyl group of the pentadecanoic acid, fatty acid) are of interest as imaging/labeling agents (abstract).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the instant invention to use the fatty acid of GOODMAN as the fatty acid part of the fluorophore-fatty acid label in ANCSIN and GIMENO and RICHIERI due to the advantage that this fatty acid has shown in having a pronounced uptake, which therefore gives better detection signal (GOODMAN, abstract).
With respect to Claim 3, ANCSIN and GIMENO and RICHIERI teach of the claimed invention as shown above for Claim 1. They do not teach of the fatty acid of the triglyceride bound to the fluorophore specifically having the structure of claim 2 with a substituted or unsubstituted phenyl group on the terminal methyl group of the fatty acid
GOODMAN is used to remedy this. GOODMAN teach using methyl-branched long-chain fatty acids such as 15-(p-iodophenyl)-3(R,S)-methylpentadecanoic acid (has a phenyl of terminal group of the pentadecanoic acid, fatty acid) are of interest as imaging/labeling agents (abstract). 15-(p-iodophenyl)-3(R,S)-methylpentadecanoic acid has the “general,” formula as claimed in instant Claim 3.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the instant invention to use the fatty acid of GOODMAN as the fatty acid part of the fluorophore-fatty acid label in ANCSIN and GIMENO due to the advantage that this fatty acid has shown in having a pronounced uptake, which therefore gives better detection signal (GOODMAN, abstract).
With respect to Claim 4, ANCSIN teaches of determining/assessing the TG (triglyceride) capacity/clearance pathway of the subject (paragraph 0043) and that if impaired triglyceride capacity is detected, it is a risk factor for metabolic syndrome (paragraph 0003)--- so the triglyceride capacity can be considered triglyceride metabolic capacity, as claimed, through broadest reasonable interpretation.
ANCSIN teaches that this determination of triglyceride capacity is accomplished by using routine blood samples from patients and including assessing the endogenous lipoprotein lipase activity of blood leukocytes (white blood cells) to determine the specific deficiency causing the HTG (paragraph 0005).
This is done by (a) exposing a blood sample (which includes leukocytes) from the subject to a triglyceride substrate, wherein the triglyceride substrate undergoes a detectable change in fluorescence upon hydrolysis by LpL. The triglyceride substrate in this context just means triglyceride modified with a fluorophore to form a fluorogenic triglyceride substrate (e.g., a triglyceride analog having a terminal fluorophore on one or more fatty acid chains of the triglyceride) (paragraphs 0006-0007). ANSCIN teaches that the triglyceride/fatty acid is linked to the fluorophore using a linker (paragraph 0045).
This blood sample containing the leukocytes with mixed with the fluorogenic substrate reads on the claimed, “first step of mixing,” and “thus bringing the fatty acid labeled with the fluorescent substance,” (triglyceride substate which has one or more fatty acids, labeled with fluorophore) “into contact with the leucocytes,” by mixing into a mixture (paragraph 0022-0023).
ANCSIN further teaches of acquiring a detectable increase in fluorescence/fluorescence intensity signal (value) upon hydrolysis from LpL (paragraph 0007, 0045, 0056), and thereby acquiring, “a value relating to the triglyceride metabolic capacity,” through broadest reasonable interpretation.
ANCSIN even further teaches that the fatty acids in the fluorogenic-TG (triglyceride) substrate can be one or more fatty acids (paragraphs 0044-0045).
Instant Claim 1 also requires that the fatty acid compound contains a fatty acid residue, the fatty acid residue has 8 to 26 carbons, and a part of hydrogen atoms constituting the fatty acid residue, excluding a terminal methyl group of the fatty acid residue may be substituted by and alkyl group having 1 to 3 carbon atoms. ANCSIN do not teach of the fatty acid of the triglyceride bound to the fluorophore specifically having this structure.
GIMENO is used to remedy this. GIMENO further teaches of a method of using labeled fatty acids to detect compounds. This is analogous art to what the ANCSIN reference is doing by labeling the fatty acid component of triglycerides, to detect compounds in leucocytes.
Specifically, GIMENO teaches that a fatty acid labeled with BODIPY is used, and even more specifically that the compound which is used is BODIPY-fatty acid (4,4-difluoro -5-methyl -4-bora -3a,4a-diaza-s-indacene-dodecanoic acid) (paragraph 0083, 0149). Of the fluorescent labeled fatty acid, 4,4-difluoro -5-methyl -4-bora -3a,4a-diaza-s-indacene-dodecanoic acid, the dodecanoic acid is the fatty acid. The formula for dodecanoic acid is C11H23COOH and it has 12 total carbons, 10 of which are in the fatty acid residue chain, so this reads on the instantly claimed 8 to 26 carbons and “a part of hydrogen atoms”. Dedecanoic acid also has a terminal methyl group, as another way to write it’s formula is CH3-(CH2)10-COOH. CH3 is the terminal methyl group. The claim limitation- “may,” “be substituted by an alkyl group having 1 to 3 carbon atoms,” is optional due to the, “may,” so this is not required by the claim.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the instant invention to use the fluorescent label/fatty acid pair as done in GIMENO having the claimed structure in the method of ANCSIN and RICHIERI due to the advantage this fatty-acid/fluorescent label has in giving measurable fluorescence (GIMENO, paragraph 0083, 0149, 0082-0083).
ANCSIN and GIMENO and RICHIERI teach of the claimed invention as shown above for Claim 1. They do not teach of the fatty acid of the triglyceride bound to the fluorophore specifically having the structure of claim 2 with a substituted or unsubstituted phenyl group on the terminal methyl group of the fatty acid
GOODMAN is used to remedy this. GOODMAN teach using methyl-branched long-chain fatty acids such as 15-(p-iodophenyl)-3(R,S)-methylpentadecanoic acid (has a phenyl of terminal group of the pentadecanoic acid, fatty acid) are of interest as imaging/labeling agents (abstract). 15-(p-iodophenyl)-3(R,S)-methylpentadecanoic acid has the “general,” formula as claimed in instant Claim 2.
Combining the fatty acid of GOODMAN with the labeling of ANCSIN and GIMENO, would give a fatty acid compound labeled with fluorescent substance having the “general,” formula as instantly claimed.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the instant invention to use the fatty acid of GOODMAN as the fatty acid part of the fluorophore-fatty acid label in ANCSIN and GIMENO and RICHIERI due to the advantage that this fatty acid has shown in having a pronounced uptake, which therefore gives better detection signal (GOODMAN, abstract).
With respect to Claim 5, ANCSIN teaches that this determination of triglyceride capacity is accomplished by using routine blood samples from patients and including assessing the endogenous lipoprotein lipase activity of blood leukocytes (white blood cells) to determine the specific deficiency causing the HTG (paragraph 0005).
This is done by (a) exposing a blood sample (which includes leukocytes) from the subject to a triglyceride substrate, wherein the triglyceride substrate undergoes a detectable change in fluorescence upon hydrolysis by LpL. The triglyceride substrate in this context just means triglyceride modified with a fluorophore to form a fluorogenic triglyceride substrate (e.g., a triglyceride analog having a terminal fluorophore on one or more fatty acid chains of the triglyceride) (paragraphs 0006-0007).
This blood sample containing the leukocytes with mixed with the fluorogenic substrate reads on the claimed, “first step of mixing,” and “thus bringing the fatty acid labeled with the fluorescent substance,” (triglyceride substate which has one or more fatty acids, labeled with fluorophore) “into contact with the leucocytes,” by mixing into a mixture (paragraph 0022-0023).
ANCSIN further teaches of acquiring a detectable increase in fluorescence/fluorescence intensity signal (value) upon hydrolysis from LpL (paragraph 0007, 0045, 0056), and thereby acquiring, “a value relating to the triglyceride metabolic capacity,” through broadest reasonable interpretation.
ANSCIN further teaches of acquiring either a single or multiple fluorescence measurements over multiple timepoints (paragraph 0056). ANSCIN shows that the difference of these measurements can be compared over time at that T0 is before binding and the other ones are after to see how they change (Figure 1 A & b, Figure 2, Figure 8, paragraph 0007-0008).
ANCSIN does not teach of the fatty acid of the triglyceride bound to the fluorophore specifically having the claimed structure, nor of removal of the fatty acid label compound from the sample after a period of time by washing.
GIMENO is used to remedy this. GIMENO further teaches of a method of using labeled fatty acids to detect compounds. This is analogous art to what the ANCSIN reference is doing by labeling the fatty acid component of triglycerides, to detect compounds in leucocytes.
Specifically, GIMENO teaches that a fatty acid labeled with BODIPY is used, and even more specifically that the compound which is used is BODIPY-fatty acid (4,4-difluoro -5-methyl -4-bora -3a,4a-diaza-s-indacene-dodecanoic acid) (paragraph 0083, 0149). Of the fluorescent labeled fatty acid, 4,4-difluoro -5-methyl -4-bora -3a,4a-diaza-s-indacene-dodecanoic acid, the dodecanoic acid is the fatty acid. The formula for dodecanoic acid is C11H23COOH and it has 12 total carbons, 10 of which are in the fatty acid residue chain, so this reads on the instantly claimed 8 to 26 carbons and “a part of hydrogen atoms”. Dedecanoic acid also has a terminal methyl group, as another way to write it’s formula is CH3-(CH2)10-COOH. CH3 is the terminal methyl group. The claim limitation- “may,” “be substituted by an alkyl group having 1 to 3 carbon atoms,” is optional due to the, “may,” so this is not required by the claim.
GIMENO teaches of the structures for the labels as shown above and further teaches of removing the unincorporated fatty acid compound by washing and specifically that it is washing/removed after about 15-60 minutes, which falls in the claimed range (paragraph 0083, 0149).
The combination of ANSCIN and GIMENO and RICHIERI make the claimed third through fifth steps obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to perform.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the instant invention to use the fluorescent label/fatty acid pair as done in GIMENO having the claimed structure in the method of ANCSIN due to the advantage this fatty-acid/fluorescent label has in giving measurable fluorescence (GIMENO, paragraph 0083, 0149, 0082-0083). It would have further been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the instant invention to remove or wash the extra unbound fatty acid fluorescent label after as certain amount of time as is done in GIMENO in the method of ANSCIN due to the advantage this has for stopping the uptake so that measurement can be performed (GIMENO, paragraph 0149).
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 05/26/2026 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
After further search/consideration post interview date 05/07/2026, the examiner has learned that free fatty acids in the very least include a portion of “monomeric,” fatty acids. The examiner used a new reference RICHIERI to emphasize this point, however the priorly used prior art references teach of using free fatty acids, so they are also still used in the rejection. As “monomeric,” was not specified in the claims prior to amendments dated 05/26/2026 this is a proper grounds of rejection. The instant claims do not do anything to preclude other forms of fatty acids, but only require that monomeric fatty acids are in the mix, so the instant rejection still reads on the claims.
Applicant further argues that ANCSIN detects hydrolysis of triglycerides by LpL on the cell surface or in the plasma but not the fluorescent substance labeling the triglyceride in the cell, which applicant argues is instantly claimed. The examiner notes that no binding to the cell or labeling of a leucocyte cell itself is actually claimed. The claims are unclear to the affect as shown in the 112 rejection above. All that is claimed is that the claimed components are mixed, which they in fact are.
With respect to the secondary reference, GIMENO, applicant argues that the label used in GIMENO is specific to hepatocytes and not to leucocytes. Again, with respect to this the examiner maintains that the claims do not claim binding of any label to anything within the cells/leucocytes. Further, ANSCIN has already taught of this as shown above, and GIMENO was used to teach of the claimed fatty acid structure bound to a fluorophore.
In response to applicant's arguments against the references individually, one cannot show nonobviousness by attacking references individually where the rejections are based on combinations of references. See In re Keller, 642 F.2d 413, 208 USPQ 871 (CCPA 1981); In re Merck & Co., 800 F.2d 1091, 231 USPQ 375 (Fed. Cir. 1986).
Applicant makes not further substantive arguments. It is noted that if applicant can clear up the claims and specify if any specific binding occurs in the claims that does not occur in the prior art, then it will be easier to overcome the prior art. This is in addition to any amendments they may need to make with respect to the term monomeric, given the additional prior art reference used.
All claims remain rejected.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
MOLINA in US 20180202993 teaches of systems and methods of bioenergetic profiling, uses thereof, and systems and devices relating thereto. In particular, methods of the invention are useful in assessing wellness, particularly in elderly subjects. Described are systems and methods of assessing likelihood of subject morbidity, life expectancy, positive clinical outcome, responsiveness to treatment, and certain disease states as well as of selecting treatment strategy, improving outcome to treatment strategy, and treating subjects with low bioenergetic profiles. Also described are devices and systems for measuring respiratory capacity (abstract).
HUSSAIN in EP 1639125 teaches methods for assaying microsomal triglyceride transfer protein (MTP) which are amenable to automation and high-throughput screening. The assays may be used to measure MTP activity in cell and tissue homogenates as well as purified MTP. The methods provided by the present invention have the advantages of ease, rapidity, sensitivity, avoidance of the use of negatively charged lipids, versatility in studying different lipid transfer activities by purified and cellular MTP and the ability to measure inhibitory activity. In addition, methods of identifying compounds that modulate the lipid transfer activity of MTP are provided. Kits for measuring the lipid transfer activity of MTP are provided by the present invention (abstract). HUSSAIN further teaches of labeling lipids which can include triglycerides (which contain fatty acids) with BODIPY and other compounds (paragraph 00017-0021).
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/REBECCA M FRITCHMAN/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1758