DETAILED ACTION
Notice of AIA Status
The present application is being examined under the AIA the first inventor to file provisions.
Priority
Receipt is acknowledged of certified copies of papers submitted under 35 U.S.C. 119(a)-(d), which papers have been placed of record in the file.
Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114
1.17(e), was filed in this application after final rejection. Since this application is eligible for continued
examination under 37 CFR 1.114, and the fee set forth in 37 CFR 1.17(e) has been timely paid, the
finality of the previous Office action has been withdrawn pursuant to 37 CFR 1.114. Applicant's
submission filed on 06/25/2026 has been entered.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments see remarks, filed 05/26/2026, with respect to claims 1-21, 27-29, and 33-39, have been fully considered but are moot because the arguments do not apply to the current combinations of references being used in the current rejection.
Claim Interpretation
Claims 1, 6, and 12 recite limitations that use words like “means” (or “step”) or similar terms with functional language and do invoke 35 U.S.C. 112(f):
Claim 1; recites the limitation, “imaging system to acquire…,” [Line 5].
Claim 1; recites the limitation, “imaging system to acquire…,” [Line 12].
Claim 6; recites the limitation, “imaging system to acquire…,” [Lines 15].
Claim 12; recites the limitation, “imaging system to acquire…,” [Lines 16].
After a careful analysis, as disclosed above, and a careful review of the specification the following limitations in claim 1, 6, and 12:
“imaging system” (Fig. 1, #30. Page 28 Lines [0030-34] and Page 29 Lines [0001-2]- “The imaging system 30 includes a microscope and a camera arranged so that the camera can acquire images of one or more objects located on the upper surface 23 of the table 22 of the motion control stage 20 through the microscope.” Thus, has sufficient structure wherein is a camera that takes images through a microscope).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1, 3, 9, 18-21, 27-29, 35, and 38-39 are rejected under 35 U.S.C 103 as being unpatentable over Harada et al. (US 20110001974 A1) hereafter referenced as Harada in view of Park et al. (US 20080090312 A1) hereafter referenced as Park and Michael et al. (US 5960125 A) hereafter referenced as Michael.
Regarding claim 1, Harada discloses a method for use in the spatial registration of first and second objects (Fig. 3, Paragraph [0056]- Harada discloses FIG. 3 is a flowchart illustrating a first example of an alignment method. In step S10, the image capturing unit 11 captures the image of the alignment mark M arranged on the planar member 2 in FIG. 1, and the orientation detection unit 14 detects the orientation of the planar member 2 by detecting the orientation of the image of the alignment mark M1.),
using an imaging system (Fig. 19, #97 and #98 called cameras. Paragraph [0132]) to acquire an image of the first object or to acquire an image of a first marker provided with the first object (Fig. 12B, Paragraph [0132]- Harada discloses the photomask 130 and the semiconductor wafer 131 are provided with alignment marks such as described with reference to FIG. 2, FIG. 4A, FIG. 10A, FIG. 10B, FIG. 12A, FIG. 12B, etc., and the camera 97 and/or the camera 98 capture images of the alignment marks formed on the photomask 130 and the semiconductor wafer 131. (wherein the photomask 130 is the first object)),
wherein the first marker and the first object have a known spatial relationship (Fig. 5 Paragraph [0067]- Harada discloses the position detection unit 12 determines the absolute position of the alignment mark M2 from a known absolute position in the field of view of the image capturing unit 11.);
determining a position and orientation of the first object in a frame of reference of the motion control stage based at least in part on the acquired image of the first object (Fig. 1, Paragraph [0134]- Harada discloses the alignment unit 96 takes as inputs the images that the camera 97 and/or the camera 98 captured of the alignment marks formed on the photomask 130 and the semiconductor wafer 131, aligns the photomask 130 and the semiconductor wafer 131 relative to each other by moving the XYZ stage 91 and/or the mask stage 92, and detects the orientations of the photomask 130 and the semiconductor wafer 131.).
or based at least in part on the acquired image of the first marker and the known spatial relationship between the first marker and the first object (Fig. 1, Paragraph [0049]- Harada discloses a position adjusting unit 13 which adjusts the position of the planar member 2 relative to the reference position, based on the position of the alignment mark M detected by the position detection unit 12, and an orientation detection unit 14 which detects the orientation of the planar member 2 based the image captured of the alignment mark.);
using the imaging system to acquire an image of the second object (Fig. 2, Paragraph [0091]- Harada discloses when the porous chuck 52 is placed over the porous chuck 51, the camera 61 and/or the camera 62 capture images of the alignment marks formed on the second transparent sheet 101 held on the porous chuck 52.)
or to acquire an image of a second marker provided with the second object (fig. 12B Paragraph [0132]- Harada discloses the photomask 130 and the semiconductor wafer 131 are provided with alignment marks such as described with reference to FIG. 2, FIG. 4A, FIG. 10A, FIG. 10B, FIG. 12A, FIG. 12B, etc., and the camera 97 and/or the camera 98 capture images of the alignment marks formed on the photomask 130 and the semiconductor wafer 131. (wherein the semiconductor wafer 131 is the second object)),
wherein the second marker and the second object have a known spatial relationship (Fig. 5 Paragraph [0067]- Harada discloses the position detection unit 12 determines the absolute position of the alignment mark M2 from a known absolute position in the field of view of the image capturing unit 11.);
and determining a position and orientation of the second object in the frame of reference of the motion control stage based at least in part on the acquired image of the second object (Fig. 1, Paragraph [0134]- Harada discloses the alignment unit 96 takes as inputs the images that the camera 97 and/or the camera 98 captured of the alignment marks formed on the photomask 130 and the semiconductor wafer 131, aligns the photomask 130 and the semiconductor wafer 131 relative to each other by moving the XYZ stage 91 and/or the mask stage 92, and detects the orientations of the photomask 130 and the semiconductor wafer 131.)
or based at least in part on the acquired image of the second marker and the known spatial relationship between the second marker and the second object (Fig. 1, Paragraph [0049]- Harada discloses a position adjusting unit 13 which adjusts the position of the planar member 2 relative to the reference position, based on the position of the alignment mark M detected by the position detection unit 12, and an orientation detection unit 14 which detects the orientation of the planar member 2 based the image captured of the alignment mark.).
Although Harada explicitly teaches a imaging system Harada fails to explicitly teach a imaging system that captures images through a microscope.
However, Park explicitly teaches a imaging system that captures images through a microscope (Fig. 2, Paragraph [0039]- Park discloses a microscope mounted camera may be employed to acquire 210 the image).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention was made to combine the teachings of Harada of having a method for use in the spatial registration of first and second objects, using an imaging system to acquire an image of the first object or to acquire an image of a first marker provided with the first object with the teachings of Park a imaging system that captures images through a microscope.
Wherein having Harada’s system for aligning and bonding multiple objects wherein an imaging system that captures images through a microscope.
The motivation behind the modification would have been to allow for easier processing of small objects, since both Harada and Park are both systems that align multiple objects. Wherein Harada’s system wherein improved systems efficiency, while Park’s system provides another way to improve efficiency while looking at a small-scale object. Please see Harada et al. (US 20110001974 A1), Paragraph [0096] and Park et al. (US 20080090312 A1) Paragraph [0023].
Harada in view of Park fails to explicitly teach the method comprising: fixing the first and second objects to the same motion control stage in an unknown spatial relationship.
However, Micheal explicitly teaches the method comprising: fixing the first and second objects to the same motion control stage such that the first and second objects have an unknown spatial relationship relative to one another when both the first and second objects are fixed to the same motion control stage (Fig. 5, Column 8 Lines [0056-61]- Micheal FIG. 5 depicts a machine vision system 50 according to the invention for determining calibration relationship between the reference frame of motion of a moveable object 52, e.g., an object on a motion stage (not shown), and the reference frames of cameras (or other image acquisition devices) 54a, 54b, 54c. Further in Fig. 5, Column 9 Lines [0027-31]- Micheal discloses the targets can be individually placed to the object 52 with known relative positioning and orientation, or their relative positions and orientations can be measured after placement.).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention was made to combine the teachings of Harada in view of Park of having a method for use in the spatial registration of first and second objects, using an imaging system to acquire an image of the first object or to acquire an image of a first marker provided with the first object with the teachings of Micheal the method comprising: fixing the first and second objects to the same motion control stage such that the first and second objects have an unknown spatial relationship relative to one another when both the first and second objects are fixed to the same motion control stage.
Wherein having Harada’s system for aligning and bonding multiple objects wherein the method comprising: fixing the first and second objects to the same motion control stage such that the first and second objects have an unknown spatial relationship relative to one another when both the first and second objects are fixed to the same motion control stage.
The motivation behind the modification would have been to allow for speed and efficiency of analysis objects, since both Harada and Micheal are both systems that are used to determine position of objects on a motion stage. Wherein Harada’s system wherein improved systems efficiency, while Micheal’s system provides a way to improve speed and accuracy of object analysis. Please see Harada et al. (US 20110001974 A1), Paragraph [0096] and Micheal et al. (US 5960125 A) Column 4 Lines [0061-67].
Regarding claim 3, Harada in view of Park and Michael discloses the method of claim 1, Harada further teaches comprising: determining the position and orientation of the first marker in the frame of reference of the motion control stage based at least in part on the acquired image of the first marker (Fig. 1, Paragraph [0055]- Harada discloses the orientation detection unit 14 performs pattern matching between the image captured by the image capturing unit 11 and the prestored image identical in shape to the alignment mark M1 by rotating the prestored image in increments of a predetermined angle, and detects the orientation of the alignment mark M1 in the image captured by the image capturing unit 11.);
and using the determined position and orientation of the first marker in the frame of reference of the motion control stage and the known spatial relationship between the first marker and the first object to determine the position and orientation of the first object in the frame of reference of the motion control stage (Fig. 1, Paragraph [0055]- Harada discloses information indicating the orientation detected by the orientation detection unit 14 is supplied to a determining unit 15. The determining unit 15 determines whether the planar member 2 is oriented in the correct direction by referring to the orientation detected by the orientation detection unit 14.).
Regarding claim 9, Harada in view of Park and Michael discloses the method of claim 1, Harada further teaches comprising: determining the position and orientation of the second marker in the frame of reference of the motion control stage based at least in part on the acquired image of the second marker (Fig. 15, Paragraph [0112]- Harada discloses the alignment unit 75 takes as inputs the images that the camera 76 and/or the camera 77 captured of the alignment marks formed on the substrate 110, aligns the substrate 110 with respect to the laser light source 72 by moving the XY stage 71, and detects the orientation of the substrate 110. The position of the substrate 110 relative to the laser light source 72 may be adjusted by moving the laser light source 72 instead of or in addition to moving the substrate 110 by the XY stage 71.);
and using the determined position and orientation of the second marker in the frame of reference of the motion control stage and the known spatial relationship between the second marker and the second object to determine the position and orientation of the second object in the frame of reference of the motion control stage (Fig. 15, Paragraph [0113]- Harada discloses Based on the orientation of the substrate 110 detected by the alignment unit 75, the determining unit 78 determines whether the substrate 110 mounted on the XY stage 71 is oriented in the correct direction; if the substrate 110 is not oriented correctly, the determining unit 78 sends an alarm signal to the output unit 74.).
Regarding claim 18, Harada in view of Park and Michael discloses the method of claim 1, Harada further teaches wherein the first object is detachably attached to the motion control stage (Fig. 19, Paragraph [0131]- Harada discloses the fabrication apparatus 90 includes: an XYZ stage 91 for mounting thereon the semiconductor wafer 131 and for moving the semiconductor wafer 131 in three-dimensional space; a mask stage 92 for mounting thereon the photomask 130 and for moving the photomask 130 in two-dimensional space;)
or wherein the first object is detachably attached to a first substrate or wafer and the first substrate or wafer is fixed to the motion control stage (Fig 2, Paragraph [0110]- Harada discloses the substrate 110 is provided with alignment marks such as described with reference to FIG. 2, FIG. 4A, FIG. 10A, FIG. 10B, FIG. 12A, FIG. 12B, etc., and the camera 76 and/or the camera 77 capture images of the alignment marks formed on the substrate 110 mounted on the XY stage 71. Further in Fig. 17, Paragraph [0119]- Harada discloses the fabrication apparatus 80 is a fabrication apparatus for fabricating a circuit substrate by mounting an electronic component 121 on the substrate 120.).
Regarding claim 19, Harada in view of Park and Michael discloses the method of claim 1, Harada further teaches wherein the second object is detachably attached to the motion control stage (Fig. 15, Paragraph [0109]- Harada discloses the fabrication apparatus 70 includes: an XY stage 71 for mounting thereon a substrate 110 and for moving the substrate 110 in two-dimensional space)
or wherein the second object comprises a feature, a structure, a target area, a target region defined on a second substrate or wafer (Fig. 2, Paragraph [0121]- Harada discloses the substrate 120 is provided with alignment marks such as described with reference to FIG. 2, FIG. 4A, FIG. 10A, FIG. 10B, FIG. 12A, FIG. 12B, etc., and the camera 86 and/or the camera 87 capture images of the alignment marks formed on the substrate 120 mounted on the XY stage 81.),
and the second substrate or wafer is fixed to the motion control stage (Fig. 15, Paragraph [0109]- Harada discloses the fabrication apparatus 70 includes: an XY stage 71 for mounting thereon a substrate 110 and for moving the substrate 110 in two-dimensional space).
Regarding claim 20, Harada in view of Park and Michael discloses the method of claim 1, Harada further teaches comprising determining a spatial relationship between the first and second objects in the frame of reference of the motion control stage based on the determined position and orientation of the first object in the frame of reference of the motion control stage and the determined position and orientation of the second object in the frame of reference of the motion control stage (Fig. 19 Paragraph [0135]- Harada discloses based on the orientations of the photomask 130 and the semiconductor wafer 131 detected by the alignment unit 96, the determining unit 99 determines whether the photomask 130 and the semiconductor wafer 131 mounted on the mask stage 92 and the XYZ stage 91, respectively, are oriented in the correct direction; if the photomask 130 and the semiconductor wafer 131 are not oriented correctly, the determining unit 99 sends an alarm signal to the output unit 95.).
Regarding claim 21, Harada in view of Park and Michael teaches the method of claim 20, Harada further teaches comprising spatially registering the first and second objects based on the determined spatial relationship between the first and second objects in the frame of reference of the motion control stage (Fig. 19 Paragraph [0135]- Harada discloses based on the orientations of the photomask 130 and the semiconductor wafer 131 detected by the alignment unit 96, the determining unit 99 determines whether the photomask 130 and the semiconductor wafer 131 mounted on the mask stage 92 and the XYZ stage 91, respectively, are oriented in the correct direction; if the photomask 130 and the semiconductor wafer 131 are not oriented correctly, the determining unit 99 sends an alarm signal to the output unit 95.),
Regarding claim 27, Harada in view of Park and Michael discloses the method of claim 21, Harada further teaches comprising attaching the first and second objects while the first and second objects are aligned (Harada discloses the UV radiation device 57 projects ultraviolet radiation onto the first and second transparent sheets 100 and 101, thereby curing the coating adhesive on the respective sheets 100 and 101 and preventing them from slipping out of position.),
Regarding claim 28, Harada in view of Park and Michael discloses the method of claim 1, Harada further teaches wherein at least one of the first and second objects comprises a component or wherein at least one of the first and second objects comprises a portion, piece or chip of material (Fig. 19, Paragraph [0131]- Harada discloses the fabrication apparatus 90 includes: an XYZ stage 91 for mounting thereon the semiconductor wafer 131 and for moving the semiconductor wafer 131 in three-dimensional space; a mask stage 92 for mounting thereon the photomask 130 and for moving the photomask 130 in two-dimensional space).
Regarding claim 29, Harada in view of Park and Michael discloses the method of claim 1, Harada further teaches wherein one of the first and second objects comprises a lithographic mask (Fig. 19, Paragraph [0131]- Harada discloses the fabrication apparatus 90 includes: an XYZ stage 91 for mounting thereon the semiconductor wafer 131 and for moving the semiconductor wafer 131 in three-dimensional space; a mask stage 92 for mounting thereon the photomask 130 and for moving the photomask 130 in two-dimensional space (wherein photomask is another name for a lithographic mask))
and the other of the first and second objects comprises a work-piece (Fig. 19, Paragraph [0131]- Harada discloses the fabrication apparatus 90 includes: an XYZ stage 91 for mounting thereon the semiconductor wafer 131 and for moving the semiconductor wafer 131 in three-dimensional space; a mask stage 92 for mounting thereon the photomask 130 and for moving the photomask 130 in two-dimensional space).
Regarding claim 35, Harada in view of Park and Michael teaches the method of claim 21, Harada further teaches wherein spatially registering the first and second objects based on the determined spatial relationship between the first and second objects in the frame of reference of the motion control stage comprises holding the first object (Fig. 13, Paragraph [0089]- Harada discloses the fabrication apparatus 50 includes: porous chucks 51 and 52 for holding thereon first and second transparent sheets 100 and 101 as workpieces),
moving the first object and the motion control stage apart, using the motion control stage to move the second object relative to the first object based on the determined spatial relationship between the first and second objects in the frame of reference of the motion control stage until the first and second objects are in alignment (Fig. 14, Paragraph [0104]- Harada discloses from the amounts of positional displacement of the first and second transparent sheets 100 and 101, the alignment unit 60 determines the amount of positional displacement between the first and second transparent sheets 100 and 101. Then, the alignment unit 60 aligns the first and second transparent sheets 100 and 101 to each other by moving the XY stage 54 so as to reduce the thus determined amount of positional displacement to zero.),
and then bringing the first and second objects together until the first and second objects are aligned and in engagement (Fig. 14, Paragraph [0105]- Harada discloses In step S38, the Z stage 55 is moved upward, and the first and second transparent sheets 100 and 101 are laminated together under pressure.).
Regarding claim 38, Harada in view of Park and Michael teaches the method of claim 28, Harada further teaches wherein the component comprises an (Fig. 19, Paragraph [0131]- Harada discloses the fabrication apparatus 90 includes: an XYZ stage 91 for mounting thereon the semiconductor wafer 131 and for moving the semiconductor wafer 131 in three-dimensional space; a mask stage 92 for mounting thereon the photomask 130 and for moving the photomask 130 in two-dimensional space)
or an electronic component (Fig. 19, Paragraph [0131]- Harada discloses the fabrication apparatus 90 includes: an XYZ stage 91 for mounting thereon the semiconductor wafer 131 and for moving the semiconductor wafer 131 in three-dimensional space; a mask stage 92 for mounting thereon the photomask 130 and for moving the photomask 130 in two-dimensional space)
Regarding claim 39, Harada in view of Park and Michael teaches the method of claim 29, Harada further teaches wherein the work-piece comprises a substrate or a wafer (Fig. 19, Paragraph [0131]- Harada discloses the fabrication apparatus 90 includes: an XYZ stage 91 for mounting thereon the semiconductor wafer 131 and for moving the semiconductor wafer 131 in three-dimensional space; a mask stage 92 for mounting thereon the photomask 130 and for moving the photomask 130 in two-dimensional space).
Claims 2, 8, and 33-34 are rejected under 35 U.S.C 103 as being unpatentable over Harada et al. (US 20110001974 A1) hereafter referenced as Harada in view of Park et al. (US 20080090312 A1) hereafter referenced as Park, Michael et al. (US 5960125 A) hereafter referenced as Michael, and Borodovsky et al. (US 20180033593 A1) hereafter referenced as Borodovsky.
Regarding claim 2, Harada in view of Park and Michael explicitly teaches the method of claim 1, Harada further teaches wherein the first marker is rotationally asymmetric in one or two dimensions (Fig. 4A, Paragraph [0060]- Harada discloses the geometric figures F2 to F4 are identical in shape, each rotated 90 degrees relative to one another, but the geometric figure F1 differs in shape from the geometric figures F2 to F4; as a result, the alignment mark M2 as a whole has a rotationally asymmetrical shape.).
Harada in view of Park and Michael fails to explicitly teach wherein the first marker is aperiodic.
However, Borodovsky explicitly teaches wherein the first marker is aperiodic (Fig. 11, Paragraph [0062]- Borodovsky discloses an aperiodic alignment mark structure (in the X-direction) may be used. As an example, FIG. 11 illustrates an aperiodic alignment structure and corresponding backscatter electron (BSE) detector response, in accordance with an embodiment of the present invention.)
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention was made to combine the teachings of Harada in view of Park and Michael of having a method for use in the spatial registration of first and second objects, using an imaging system to acquire an image of the first object or to acquire an image of a first marker provided with the first object with the teachings of Borodovsky wherein the first marker is aperiodic.
Wherein having Harada’s system for aligning and bonding multiple objects wherein the first marker is aperiodic.
The motivation behind the modification would have been to allow for greater system accuracy, since both Harada and Borodovsky are both systems that align multiple objects. Wherein Harada’s system wherein improved systems efficiency, while Borodovsky’s system improves accuracy. Please see Harada et al. (US 20110001974 A1), Paragraph [0096] and Borodovsky et al. (US 20180033593 A1) Paragraph [0050].
Regarding claim 8, Harada in view of Park and Michael discloses the method of claim 1, Harada further teaches wherein the second marker is rotationally asymmetric and/or aperiodic in one or two dimensions (Fig. 2, Paragraph [0052]- Harada discloses further, since the alignment mark M1 has a rotationally asymmetrical shape as illustrated, the orientation of the planar member 2 can be detected by detecting the direction in which the portion indicated at reference character A is oriented in the image of the alignment mark M1 captured by the image capturing unit 11.).
Harada in view of Park and Michael fails to explicitly teach wherein the second marker is aperiodic.
However, Borodovsky explicitly teaches wherein the second marker is aperiodic (Fig. 11, Paragraph [0062]- Borodovsky discloses an aperiodic alignment mark structure (in the X-direction) may be used. As an example, FIG. 11 illustrates an aperiodic alignment structure and corresponding backscatter electron (BSE) detector response, in accordance with an embodiment of the present invention.)
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention was made to combine the teachings of Harada in view of Park and Michael of having a method for use in the spatial registration of first and second objects, using an imaging system to acquire an image of the first object or to acquire an image of a first marker provided with the first object with the teachings of Borodovsky wherein the second marker is aperiodic.
Wherein having Harada’s system for aligning and bonding multiple objects wherein the second marker is aperiodic.
The motivation behind the modification would have been to allow for greater system accuracy, since both Harada and Borodovsky are both systems that align multiple objects. Wherein Harada’s system wherein improved systems efficiency, while Borodovsky’s system improves accuracy. Please see Harada et al. (US 20110001974 A1), Paragraph [0096] and Borodovsky et al. (US 20180033593 A1) Paragraph [0050].
Regarding claim 33, Harada in view of Park, Michael, and Borodovsky teaches the method of claim 2, Harada further teaches wherein the first marker comprises, or takes the form of, a grid which is rotationally asymmetric in one or two dimensions (Fig. 4A, Paragraph [0060]- Harada discloses the geometric figures F2 to F4 are identical in shape, each rotated 90 degrees relative to one another, but the geometric figure F1 differs in shape from the geometric figures F2 to F4; as a result, the alignment mark M2 as a whole has a rotationally asymmetrical shape.).
Harada in view of Park and Michael fails to explicitly teach wherein the second marker is aperiodic.
However, Borodovsky explicitly teaches wherein the second marker is aperiodic (Fig. 11, Paragraph [0062]- Borodovsky discloses an aperiodic alignment mark structure (in the X-direction) may be used. As an example, FIG. 11 illustrates an aperiodic alignment structure and corresponding backscatter electron (BSE) detector response, in accordance with an embodiment of the present invention.)
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention was made to combine the teachings of Harada in view of Park and Michael of having a method for use in the spatial registration of first and second objects, using an imaging system to acquire an image of the first object or to acquire an image of a first marker provided with the first object with the teachings of Borodovsky wherein the second marker is aperiodic.
Wherein having Harada’s system for aligning and bonding multiple objects wherein the second marker is aperiodic.
The motivation behind the modification would have been to allow for greater system accuracy, since both Harada and Borodovsky are both systems that align multiple objects. Wherein Harada’s system wherein improved systems efficiency, while Borodovsky’s system improves accuracy. Please see Harada et al. (US 20110001974 A1), Paragraph [0096] and Borodovsky et al. (US 20180033593 A1) Paragraph [0050].
Harada in view of Park and Michael fails to explicitly teach wherein the second marker is aperiodic.
However, Borodovsky explicitly teaches wherein the second marker is aperiodic (Fig. 11, Paragraph [0062]- Borodovsky discloses an aperiodic alignment mark structure (in the X-direction) may be used. As an example, FIG. 11 illustrates an aperiodic alignment structure and corresponding backscatter electron (BSE) detector response, in accordance with an embodiment of the present invention.)
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention was made to combine the teachings of Harada in view of Park and Michael of having a method for use in the spatial registration of first and second objects, using an imaging system to acquire an image of the first object or to acquire an image of a first marker provided with the first object with the teachings of Borodovsky wherein the second marker is aperiodic.
Wherein having Harada’s system for aligning and bonding multiple objects wherein the second marker is aperiodic.
The motivation behind the modification would have been to allow for greater system accuracy, since both Harada and Borodovsky are both systems that align multiple objects. Wherein Harada’s system wherein improved systems efficiency, while Borodovsky’s system improves accuracy. Please see Harada et al. (US 20110001974 A1), Paragraph [0096] and Borodovsky et al. (US 20180033593 A1) Paragraph [0050].
Regarding claim 34, Harada in view of Park, Michael, and Borodovsky teaches the method of claim 8, Harada further teaches wherein the second marker comprises, or takes the form of, a grid which is rotationally asymmetric in one or two dimensions (Fig. 4A, Paragraph [0060]- Harada discloses the geometric figures F2 to F4 are identical in shape, each rotated 90 degrees relative to one another, but the geometric figure F1 differs in shape from the geometric figures F2 to F4; as a result, the alignment mark M2 as a whole has a rotationally asymmetrical shape.).
Claims 4 and 10 are rejected under 35 U.S.C 103 as being unpatentable over Harada et al. (US 20110001974 A1) hereafter referenced as Harada in view of Park et al. (US 20080090312 A1) hereafter referenced as Park, Michael et al. (US 5960125 A) hereafter referenced as Michael, and Liu et al. (US 20110038527 A1) hereafter referenced as Liu.
Regarding claim 4, Harada in view of Park and Michael teaches the method of claim 3, Harada further teaches comprising: measuring a relative position and orientation of the motion control stage corresponding to the acquired image of the first marker (Fig. 2, Paragraph [0061]- Harada discloses the position detection unit 12 detects the position of the alignment mark M2 by detecting, through image processing, the position of the portion of the alignment mark M2 indicated at reference character P. Further, the orientation of the planar member 2 can be detected by detecting the direction in which the portion indicated at reference character A is oriented in the image of the alignment mark M2 captured by the image capturing unit 11.);
determining a degree of similarity between the acquired image of the first marker and a virtual image of the first marker (Fig. 2, Paragraph [0051]- Harada discloses the position detection unit 12 detects, in the image captured by the image capturing unit 11, the position P of the alignment mark M1 by performing pattern matching between the image captured by the image capturing unit 11 and the prestored image identical in shape to the alignment mark M1.),
which virtual image of the first marker has the same size and shape as the first marker (Fig. 2, Paragraph [0051]- Harada discloses the position detection unit 12 detects, in the image captured by the image capturing unit 11, the position P of the alignment mark M1 by performing pattern matching between the image captured by the image capturing unit 11 and the prestored image identical in shape to the alignment mark M1.),
and determining the position and orientation of the first marker in the frame of reference of the motion control stage based on the measured relative position and orientation of the motion control stage corresponding to the acquired image of the first marker and the relative position and orientation of the virtual image of the first marker with respect to the FOV of the imaging system when the degree of similarity between the virtual image of the first marker (Fig. 2, Paragraph [0055]- Harada discloses information indicating the orientation detected by the orientation detection unit 14 is supplied to a determining unit 15. The determining unit 15 determines whether the planar member 2 is oriented in the correct direction by referring to the orientation detected by the orientation detection unit 14.)
Harada in view of Park and Michael is fail to explicitly teach and responsive to determining that the degree of similarity between the acquired image of the first marker and the virtual image of the first marker does not comply with a predetermined criterion translating and/or rotating the virtual image of the first marker with respect to a FOV of the imaging system until the degree of similarity between the acquired image of the first marker and the virtual image of the first marker complies with the predetermined criterion and the acquired image of the first marker complies with the predetermined criterion.
However, Liu explicitly teaches and responsive to determining that the degree of similarity between the acquired image of the first marker and the virtual image of the first marker does not comply with a predetermined criterion (Fig. 3, Paragraph [0049]- Liu discloses the model pattern may be rotated at various angles around a nominal angle, perform pattern matching at each rotation angle to obtain the best matching results at the angle, and the final best matching for that kernel in target image may be obtained by fitting matching results in a curve and identifying the curve peak. This will provide not only a match and its similarity value, but also an angle offset d.theta. Similarly, the model pattern may be scaled around a nominal size, perform pattern matching at each scale to obtain the best matching results at the scale, and the final best matching for that kernel in target image may be obtained by fitting matching results in a curve and identifying the curve peak. A matching scale ds can then be obtained.),
translating and/or rotating the virtual image of the first marker with respect to a FOV of the imaging system until the degree of similarity between the acquired image of the first marker and the virtual image of the first marker complies with the predetermined criterion (Fig. 3, Paragraph [0049]- Liu discloses the model pattern may be rotated at various angles around a nominal angle, perform pattern matching at each rotation angle to obtain the best matching results at the angle, and the final best matching for that kernel in target image may be obtained by fitting matching results in a curve and identifying the curve peak. This will provide not only a match and its similarity value, but also an angle offset d.theta. Similarly, the model pattern may be scaled around a nominal size, perform pattern matching at each scale to obtain the best matching results at the scale, and the final best matching for that kernel in target image may be obtained by fitting matching results in a curve and identifying the curve peak. A matching scale ds can then be obtained.)
and the acquired image of the first marker complies with the predetermined criterion (Fig. 3, Paragraph [0049]- Liu discloses the model pattern may be rotated at various angles around a nominal angle, perform pattern matching at each rotation angle to obtain the best matching results at the angle, and the final best matching for that kernel in target image may be obtained by fitting matching results in a curve and identifying the curve peak. This will provide not only a match and its similarity value, but also an angle offset d.theta. Similarly, the model pattern may be scaled around a nominal size, perform pattern matching at each scale to obtain the best matching results at the scale, and the final best matching for that kernel in target image may be obtained by fitting matching results in a curve and identifying the curve peak. A matching scale ds can then be obtained.).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention was made to combine the teachings of Harada in view of Park and Michael of having a method for use in the spatial registration of first and second objects, using an imaging system to acquire an image of the first object or to acquire an image of a first marker provided with the first object with the teachings of Liu and responsive to determining that the degree of similarity between the acquired image of the first marker and the virtual image of the first marker does not comply with a predetermined criterion translating and/or rotating the virtual image of the first marker with respect to a FOV of the imaging system until the degree of similarity between the acquired image of the first marker and the virtual image of the first marker complies with the predetermined criterion and the acquired image of the first marker complies with the predetermined criterion.
Wherein having Harada’s system for aligning and bonding multiple objects wherein and responsive to determining that the degree of similarity between the acquired image of the first marker and the virtual image of the first marker does not comply with a predetermined criterion translating and/or rotating the virtual image of the first marker with respect to a FOV of the imaging system until the degree of similarity between the acquired image of the first marker and the virtual image of the first marker complies with the predetermined criterion and the acquired image of the first marker complies with the predetermined criterion.
The motivation behind the modification would have been to allow for greater system accuracy, since both Harada and Liu are both systems that align multiple objects. Wherein Harada’s system wherein improved systems efficiency, while Liu’s system improves accuracy of the system. Please see Harada et al. (US 20110001974 A1), Paragraph [0096] and Liu et al. (US 20110038527 A1) Paragraph [0069].
Regarding claim 10, Harada in view of Park and Michael teaches the method of claim 9, Harada further teaches comprising: measuring a relative position and orientation of the motion control stage corresponding to the acquired image of the second marker (Fig. 2, Paragraph [0061]- Harada discloses the position detection unit 12 detects the position of the alignment mark M2 by detecting, through image processing, the position of the portion of the alignment mark M2 indicated at reference character P. Further, the orientation of the planar member 2 can be detected by detecting the direction in which the portion indicated at reference character A is oriented in the image of the alignment mark M2 captured by the image capturing unit 11.);
determining a degree of similarity between the acquired image of the second marker and a virtual image of the second marker, which virtual image of the second marker has the same size and shape as the second marker (Fig. 2, Paragraph [0051]- Harada discloses the position detection unit 12 detects, in the image captured by the image capturing unit 11, the position P of the alignment mark M1 by performing pattern matching between the image captured by the image capturing unit 11 and the prestored image identical in shape to the alignment mark M1.),
and determining the position and orientation of the second marker in the frame of reference of the motion control stage based on the measured relative position and orientation of the motion control stage corresponding to the acquired image of the second marker and the relative position and orientation of the virtual image of the second marker with respect to the FOV of the imaging system when the degree of similarity between the virtual image of the second marker (Fig. 2, Paragraph [0055]- Harada discloses information indicating the orientation detected by the orientation detection unit 14 is supplied to a determining unit 15. The determining unit 15 determines whether the planar member 2 is oriented in the correct direction by referring to the orientation detected by the orientation detection unit 14.).
Harada in view of Park and Michael is fail to explicitly teach and responsive to determining that the degree of similarity between the acquired image of the second marker and the virtual image of the second marker does not comply with a predetermined criterion, translating and/or rotating the virtual image of the second marker with respect to the FOV of the imaging system until the degree of similarity between the acquired image of the second marker and the virtual image of the second marker complies with the predetermined criterion and the acquired image of the second marker complies with the predetermined criterion.
However, Liu explicitly teaches and responsive to determining that the degree of similarity between the acquired image of the second marker and the virtual image of the second marker does not comply with a predetermined criterion (Fig. 3, Paragraph [0049]- Liu discloses the model pattern may be rotated at various angles around a nominal angle, perform pattern matching at each rotation angle to obtain the best matching results at the angle, and the final best matching for that kernel in target image may be obtained by fitting matching results in a curve and identifying the curve peak. This will provide not only a match and its similarity value, but also an angle offset d.theta. Similarly, the model pattern may be scaled around a nominal size, perform pattern matching at each scale to obtain the best matching results at the scale, and the final best matching for that kernel in target image may be obtained by fitting matching results in a curve and identifying the curve peak. A matching scale ds can then be obtained.),
translating and/or rotating the virtual image of the second marker with respect to the FOV of the imaging system until the degree of similarity between the acquired image of the second marker and the virtual image of the second marker complies with the predetermined criterion (Fig. 3, Paragraph [0049]- Liu discloses the model pattern may be rotated at various angles around a nominal angle, perform pattern matching at each rotation angle to obtain the best matching results at the angle, and the final best matching for that kernel in target image may be obtained by fitting matching results in a curve and identifying the curve peak. This will provide not only a match and its similarity value, but also an angle offset d.theta. Similarly, the model pattern may be scaled around a nominal size, perform pattern matching at each scale to obtain the best matching results at the scale, and the final best matching for that kernel in target image may be obtained by fitting matching results in a curve and identifying the curve peak. A matching scale ds can then be obtained.)
and the acquired image of the second marker complies with the predetermined criterion (Fig. 3, Paragraph [0049]- Liu discloses the model pattern may be rotated at various angles around a nominal angle, perform pattern matching at each rotation angle to obtain the best matching results at the angle, and the final best matching for that kernel in target image may be obtained by fitting matching results in a curve and identifying the curve peak. This will provide not only a match and its similarity value, but also an angle offset d.theta. Similarly, the model pattern may be scaled around a nominal size, perform pattern matching at each scale to obtain the best matching results at the scale, and the final best matching for that kernel in target image may be obtained by fitting matching results in a curve and identifying the curve peak. A matching scale ds can then be obtained.).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention was made to combine the teachings of Harada in view of Park and Michael of having a method for use in the spatial registration of first and second objects, using an imaging system to acquire an image of the first object or to acquire an image of a first marker provided with the first object with the teachings of Liu and responsive to determining that the degree of similarity between the acquired image of the second marker and the virtual image of the second marker does not comply with a predetermined criterion, translating and/or rotating the virtual image of the second marker with respect to the FOV of the imaging system until the degree of similarity between the acquired image of the second marker and the virtual image of the second marker complies with the predetermined criterion and the acquired image of the second marker complies with the predetermined criterion.
Wherein having Harada’s system for aligning and bonding multiple objects wherein and responsive to determining that the degree of similarity between the acquired image of the second marker and the virtual image of the second marker does not comply with a predetermined criterion, translating and/or rotating the virtual image of the second marker with respect to the FOV of the imaging system until the degree of similarity between the acquired image of the second marker and the virtual image of the second marker complies with the predetermined criterion and the acquired image of the second marker complies with the predetermined criterion.
The motivation behind the modification would have been to allow for greater system accuracy, since both Harada and Liu are both systems that align multiple objects. Wherein Harada’s system wherein improved systems efficiency, while Liu’s system improves accuracy of the system. Please see Harada et al. (US 20110001974 A1), Paragraph [0096] and Liu et al. (US 20110038527 A1) Paragraph [0069].
Claims 5 and 11 are rejected under 35 U.S.C 103 as being unpatentable over Harada et al. (US 20110001974 A1) hereafter referenced as Harada in view of Park et al. (US 20080090312 A1) hereafter referenced as Park, Michael et al. (US 5960125 A) hereafter referenced as Michael, Liu et al. (US 20110038527 A1) hereafter referenced as Liu, and Yamada et al. (US 20110286657 A1) hereafter referenced as Yamada.
Regarding claim 5, Harada in view of Park and Michael and Liu teaches the method of claim 4, Harada further teaches wherein determining the degree of similarity between the acquired image of the first marker and the virtual image of the first marker comprises evaluating a cross-correlation value between the acquired image of the first marker and the virtual image of the first marker (Fig. 2, Paragraph [0051]- Harada discloses the position detection unit 12 detects, in the image captured by the image capturing unit 11, the position P of the alignment mark M1 by performing pattern matching between the image captured by the image capturing unit 11 and the prestored image identical in shape to the alignment mark M1 (wherein cross correlation is a common form of pattern matching).)
Harada in view of Park and Michael fails to explicitly teach or has a maximum value.
However, Liu explicitly teaches or has a maximum value (Fig. 3, Paragraph [0049]- Liu discloses the model pattern may be rotated at various angles around a nominal angle, perform pattern matching at each rotation angle to obtain the best matching results at the angle, and the final best matching for that kernel in target image may be obtained by fitting matching results in a curve and identifying the curve peak. This will provide not only a match and its similarity value, but also an angle offset d.theta. Similarly, the model pattern may be scaled around a nominal size, perform pattern matching at each scale to obtain the best matching results at the scale, and the final best matching for that kernel in target image may be obtained by fitting matching results in a curve and identifying the curve peak. A matching scale ds can then be obtained.)
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention was made to combine the teachings of Harada in view of Park and Michael of having a method for use in the spatial registration of first and second objects, using an imaging system to acquire an image of the first object or to acquire an image of a first marker provided with the first object with the teachings of Liu or has a maximum value.
Wherein having Harada’s system for aligning and bonding multiple objects wherein or has a maximum value.
The motivation behind the modification would have been to allow for greater system accuracy, since both Harada and Liu are both systems that align multiple objects. Wherein Harada’s system wherein improved systems efficiency, while Liu’s system improves accuracy of the system. Please see Harada et al. (US 20110001974 A1), Paragraph [0096] and Liu et al. (US 20110038527 A1) Paragraph [0069].
Harada in view of Park, Michael, and Liu fails to explicitly teach and wherein the degree of similarity between the acquired image of the first marker and the virtual image of the first marker complies with the predetermined criterion when the cross-correlation value is greater than a predetermined threshold value.
However, Yamada explicitly teaches and wherein the degree of similarity between the acquired image of the first marker and the virtual image of the first marker complies with the predetermined criterion when the cross-correlation value is greater than a predetermined threshold value (Fig. 7, Paragraph [0049]- Yamada discloses a cross-correlation coefficient, a ratio of a minimum line width, a ratio of a minimum space width, a ratio of a line width average value, a ratio of a space width average value, a ratio of a coverage, and a ratio of the number of apexes between the extraction patterns is considered to be employed. For example, a method is considered in which the extraction patterns of which degree of matching of graphical feature is equal to or more than a predetermined threshold are classified into the same classification pattern.).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention was made to combine the teachings of Harada in view of Park and Michael and Liu of having a method for use in the spatial registration of first and second objects, using an imaging system to acquire an image of the first object or to acquire an image of a first marker provided with the first object with the teachings of Yamada and wherein the degree of similarity between the acquired image of the first marker and the virtual image of the first marker complies with the predetermined criterion when the cross-correlation value is greater than a predetermined threshold value.
Wherein having Harada’s system for aligning and bonding multiple objects wherein the degree of similarity between the acquired image of the first marker and the virtual image of the first marker complies with the predetermined criterion when the cross-correlation value is greater than a predetermined threshold value.
The motivation behind the modification would have been to allow for a more accurate system, since both Harada and Yamada are both systems that perform alignment. Wherein Harada’s system wherein improved systems efficiency, while Liu’s system improves accuracy of data obtained. Please see Harada et al. (US 20110001974 A1), Paragraph [0096] and Yamada et al. (US 20110286657 A1) Paragraph [0037].
Regarding claim 11, Harada in view of Michael, Park, and Liu discloses the method of claim 10, Harada further teaches wherein determining the degree of similarity between the acquired image of the second marker and the virtual image of the second marker comprises evaluating a cross-correlation value between the acquired image of the second marker and the virtual image of the second marker (Fig. 2, Paragraph [0051]- Harada discloses the position detection unit 12 detects, in the image captured by the image capturing unit 11, the position P of the alignment mark M1 by performing pattern matching between the image captured by the image capturing unit 11 and the prestored image identical in shape to the alignment mark M1 (wherein cross correlation is a common form of pattern matching).)
Harada in view of Park and Michael fails to explicitly teach or has a maximum value.
However, Liu explicitly teaches or has a maximum value (Fig. 3, Paragraph [0049]- Liu discloses the model pattern may be rotated at various angles around a nominal angle, perform pattern matching at each rotation angle to obtain the best matching results at the angle, and the final best matching for that kernel in target image may be obtained by fitting matching results in a curve and identifying the curve peak. This will provide not only a match and its similarity value, but also an angle offset d.theta. Similarly, the model pattern may be scaled around a nominal size, perform pattern matching at each scale to obtain the best matching results at the scale, and the final best matching for that kernel in target image may be obtained by fitting matching results in a curve and identifying the curve peak. A matching scale ds can then be obtained.)
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention was made to combine the teachings of Harada in view of Park and Michael of having a method for use in the spatial registration of first and second objects, using an imaging system to acquire an image of the first object or to acquire an image of a first marker provided with the first object with the teachings of Liu or has a maximum value.
Wherein having Harada’s system for aligning and bonding multiple objects wherein or has a maximum value.
The motivation behind the modification would have been to allow for greater system accuracy, since both Harada and Liu are both systems that align multiple objects. Wherein Harada’s system wherein improved systems efficiency, while Liu’s system improves accuracy of the system. Please see Harada et al. (US 20110001974 A1), Paragraph [0096] and Liu et al. (US 20110038527 A1) Paragraph [0069].
Harada in view of Park and Michael and Liu fails to explicitly teach and wherein the degree of similarity between the acquired image of the second marker and the virtual image of the second marker complies with the predetermined criterion when the cross-correlation value is greater than a predetermined threshold value.
However, Yamada explicitly teaches and wherein the degree of similarity between the acquired image of the second marker and the virtual image of the second marker complies with the predetermined criterion when the cross-correlation value is greater than a predetermined threshold value (Fig. 7, Paragraph [0049]- Yamada discloses a cross-correlation coefficient, a ratio of a minimum line width, a ratio of a minimum space width, a ratio of a line width average value, a ratio of a space width average value, a ratio of a coverage, and a ratio of the number of apexes between the extraction patterns is considered to be employed. For example, a method is considered in which the extraction patterns of which degree of matching of graphical feature is equal to or more than a predetermined threshold are classified into the same classification pattern.).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention was made to combine the teachings of Harada in view of Park and Michael and Liu of having a method for use in the spatial registration of first and second objects, using an imaging system to acquire an image of the first object or to acquire an image of a first marker provided with the first object with the teachings of Yamada and wherein the degree of similarity between the acquired image of the second marker and the virtual image of the second marker complies with the predetermined criterion when the cross-correlation value is greater than a predetermined threshold value.
Wherein having Harada’s system for aligning and bonding multiple objects wherein the degree of similarity between the acquired image of the second marker and the virtual image of the second marker complies with the predetermined criterion when the cross-correlation value is greater than a predetermined threshold value.
The motivation behind the modification would have been to allow for a more accurate system, since both Harada and Yamada are both systems that perform alignment. Wherein Harada’s system wherein improved systems efficiency, while Liu’s system improves accuracy of data obtained. Please see Harada et al. (US 20110001974 A1), Paragraph [0096] and Yamada et al. (US 20110286657 A1) Paragraph [0037].
Claims 14 and 16 are rejected under 35 U.S.C 103 as being unpatentable over Harada et al. (US 20110001974 A1) hereafter referenced as Harada in view of Park et al. (US 20080090312 A1) hereafter referenced as Park, Michael et al. (US 5960125 A) hereafter referenced as Michael, Liu et al. (US 20110038527 A1) hereafter referenced as Liu, and Lin et al. (US 20130148878 A1) hereafter referenced as Lin.
Regarding claim 14, Harada in view of Park and Michael discloses the method of claim 1, Harada in view of Park and Michael fails to explicitly teach comprising: measuring a relative position and orientation of the motion control stage corresponding to an acquired image of the first object; determining a degree of similarity between the acquired image of the first object and a virtual image of the first object, which virtual image of the first object has the same size and shape as the first object, and responsive to determining that the degree of similarity between the acquired image of the first object and the virtual image of the first object does not comply with a predetermined criterion, translating and/or rotating the virtual image of the first object with respect to a FOV of the imaging system until the degree of similarity between the acquired image of the first object and the virtual image of the first object complies with the predetermined criterion; and determining the position and orientation of the first object in the frame of reference of the motion control stage based on the measured relative position and orientation of the motion control stage corresponding to the acquired image of the first object and the relative position and orientation of the virtual image of the first object with respect to the FOV of the imaging system when the degree of similarity between the virtual image of the first object and the acquired image of the first object complies with the predetermined criterion.
However, Lin explicitly teaches measuring a relative position and orientation of the motion control stage corresponding to an acquired image of the first object (Fig. 2, Paragraph [0045]- Lin discloses comparing the actual coordinate system with a coordinate system of a second substrate to obtain three types of offset values .DELTA.X, .DELTA.Y, .DELTA..theta.; (S06): moving the first substrate to a correct waiting position based on the offset values .DELTA.X, .DELTA.Y, .DELTA..theta.; (S07): ensuring if the first substrate is disposed at the correct waiting position);
determining a degree of similarity between the acquired image of the first object and a virtual image of the first object, which virtual image of the first object has the same size and shape as the first object, and responsive to determining that the degree of similarity between the acquired image of the first object and the virtual image of the first object does not comply with a predetermined criterion (Fig. 1, Paragraph [0022]- Lin discloses a step (S06) of using the offset values .DELTA.X, .DELTA.Y, .DELTA..theta. as movement compensation values of the first substrate to move the first substrate to the correct waiting position in the alignment-and-assembling space if the offset values .DELTA.X, .DELTA.Y, .DELTA..theta. are larger than a preset value; and determining that the first substrate is at the correct waiting position in the alignment-and-assembling space if the offset values .DELTA.X, .DELTA.Y, .DELTA..theta. are smaller than the preset value.),
and determining the position and orientation of the first object in the frame of reference of the motion control stage based on the measured relative position and orientation of the motion control stage corresponding to the acquired image of the first object and the relative position and orientation of the virtual image of the first object with respect to the FOV of the imaging system when the degree of similarity between the virtual image of the first object (Fig. 1, Paragraph [0022]- Lin discloses a step (S06) of using the offset values .DELTA.X, .DELTA.Y, .DELTA..theta. as movement compensation values of the first substrate to move the first substrate to the correct waiting position in the alignment-and-assembling space if the offset values .DELTA.X, .DELTA.Y, .DELTA..theta. are larger than a preset value; and determining that the first substrate is at the correct waiting position in the alignment-and-assembling space if the offset values .DELTA.X, .DELTA.Y, .DELTA..theta. are smaller than the preset value.)
and the acquired image of the first object complies with the predetermined criterion (Fig. 1, Paragraph [0022]- Lin discloses a step (S06) of using the offset values .DELTA.X, .DELTA.Y, .DELTA..theta. as movement compensation values of the first substrate to move the first substrate to the correct waiting position in the alignment-and-assembling space if the offset values .DELTA.X, .DELTA.Y, .DELTA..theta. are larger than a preset value; and determining that the first substrate is at the correct waiting position in the alignment-and-assembling space if the offset values .DELTA.X, .DELTA.Y, .DELTA..theta. are smaller than the preset value.).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention was made to combine the teachings of Harada in view of Park and Michael of having a method for use in the spatial registration of first and second objects, using an imaging system to acquire an image of the first object or to acquire an image of a first marker provided with the first object with the teachings of Lin measuring a relative position and orientation of the motion control stage corresponding to an acquired image of the first object; determining a degree of similarity between the acquired image of the first object and a virtual image of the first object, which virtual image of the first object has the same size and shape as the first object, and responsive to determining that the degree of similarity between the acquired image of the first object and the virtual image of the first object does not comply with a predetermined criterion, translating and/or rotating the virtual image of the first object with respect to a FOV of the imaging system until the degree of similarity between the acquired image of the first object and the virtual image of the first object complies with the predetermined criterion; and determining the position and orientation of the first object in the frame of reference of the motion control stage based on the measured relative position and orientation of the motion control stage corresponding to the acquired image of the first object and the relative position and orientation of the virtual image of the first object with respect to the FOV of the imaging system when the degree of similarity between the virtual image of the first object and the acquired image of the first object complies with the predetermined criterion.
Wherein having Harada’s system for aligning and bonding multiple objects wherein measuring a relative position and orientation of the motion control stage corresponding to an acquired image of the first object; determining a degree of similarity between the acquired image of the first object and a virtual image of the first object, which virtual image of the first object has the same size and shape as the first object, and responsive to determining that the degree of similarity between the acquired image of the first object and the virtual image of the first object does not comply with a predetermined criterion, translating and/or rotating the virtual image of the first object with respect to a FOV of the imaging system until the degree of similarity between the acquired image of the first object and the virtual image of the first object complies with the predetermined criterion; and determining the position and orientation of the first object in the frame of reference of the motion control stage based on the measured relative position and orientation of the motion control stage corresponding to the acquired image of the first object and the relative position and orientation of the virtual image of the first object with respect to the FOV of the imaging system when the degree of similarity between the virtual image of the first object and the acquired image of the first object complies with the predetermined criterion.
The motivation behind the modification would have been to allow for a precise and affordable system, since both Harada and Lin are both systems that perform alignment. Wherein Harada’s system wherein improved systems efficiency, while Lin’s system reduces cost and improves precision. Please see Harada et al. (US 20110001974 A1), Paragraph [0096] and Lin et al. (US 20130148878 A1) Paragraph [0057].
Harada in view of Park, Michael, and Lin is fail to explicitly teach translating and/or rotating the virtual image of the first object with respect to a FOV of the imaging system until the degree of similarity between the acquired image of the first object and the virtual image of the first object complies with the predetermined criterion.
However, Liu explicitly teaches translating and/or rotating the virtual image of the first object with respect to a FOV of the imaging system until the degree of similarity between the acquired image of the first object and the virtual image of the first object complies with the predetermined criterion (Fig. 3, Paragraph [0049]- Liu discloses the model pattern may be rotated at various angles around a nominal angle, perform pattern matching at each rotation angle to obtain the best matching results at the angle, and the final best matching for that kernel in target image may be obtained by fitting matching results in a curve and identifying the curve peak. This will provide not only a match and its similarity value, but also an angle offset d.theta. Similarly, the model pattern may be scaled around a nominal size, perform pattern matching at each scale to obtain the best matching results at the scale, and the final best matching for that kernel in target image may be obtained by fitting matching results in a curve and identifying the curve peak. A matching scale ds can then be obtained.);
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention was made to combine the teachings of Harada in view of Park, Michael, and Lin of having a method for use in the spatial registration of first and second objects, using an imaging system to acquire an image of the first object or to acquire an image of a first marker provided with the first object with the teachings of Liu translating and/or rotating the virtual image of the first object with respect to a FOV of the imaging system until the degree of similarity between the acquired image of the first object and the virtual image of the first object complies with the predetermined criterion.
Wherein having Harada’s system for aligning and bonding multiple objects wherein translating and/or rotating the virtual image of the first object with respect to a FOV of the imaging system until the degree of similarity between the acquired image of the first object and the virtual image of the first object complies with the predetermined criterion.
The motivation behind the modification would have been to allow for greater system accuracy, since both Harada and Liu are both systems that align multiple objects. Wherein Harada’s system wherein improved systems efficiency, while Liu’s system improves accuracy of the system. Please see Harada et al. (US 20110001974 A1), Paragraph [0096] and Liu et al. (US 20110038527 A1) Paragraph [0069].
Regarding claim 16, Harada in view of Park and Michael discloses the method of claim 1, Harada in view of Park and Michael fails to explicitly teach comprising: measuring a relative position and orientation of the motion control stage corresponding to an acquired image of the second object; determining a degree of similarity between the acquired image of the second object and a virtual image of the second object, which virtual image of the second object has the same size and shape as the second object and responsive to determining that the degree of similarity between the acquired image of the second object and the virtual image of the second object does not comply with a predetermined criterion, and determining the position and orientation of the second object in the frame of reference of the motion control stage based on the measured relative position and orientation of the motion control stage corresponding to the acquired image of the second object and the relative position and orientation of the virtual image of the second object with respect to the FOV of the imaging system when the degree of similarity between the virtual image of the second object and the acquired image of the second object complies with the predetermined criterion.
However, Lin explicitly teaches comprising: measuring a relative position and orientation of the motion control stage corresponding to an acquired image of the second object (Fig. 2, Paragraph [0045]- Lin discloses comparing the actual coordinate system with a coordinate system of a second substrate to obtain three types of offset values .DELTA.X, .DELTA.Y, .DELTA..theta.; (S06): moving the first substrate to a correct waiting position based on the offset values .DELTA.X, .DELTA.Y, .DELTA..theta.; (S07): ensuring if the first substrate is disposed at the correct waiting position);
determining a degree of similarity between the acquired image of the second object and a virtual image of the second object, which virtual image of the second object has the same size and shape as the second object and responsive to determining that the degree of similarity between the acquired image of the second object and the virtual image of the second object does not comply with a predetermined criterion (Fig. 1, Paragraph [0022]- Lin discloses a step (S06) of using the offset values .DELTA.X, .DELTA.Y, .DELTA..theta. as movement compensation values of the first substrate to move the first substrate to the correct waiting position in the alignment-and-assembling space if the offset values .DELTA.X, .DELTA.Y, .DELTA..theta. are larger than a preset value; and determining that the first substrate is at the correct waiting position in the alignment-and-assembling space if the offset values .DELTA.X, .DELTA.Y, .DELTA..theta. are smaller than the preset value.),
and determining the position and orientation of the second object in the frame of reference of the motion control stage based on the measured relative position and orientation of the motion control stage corresponding to the acquired image of the second object and the relative position and orientation of the virtual image of the second object with respect to the FOV of the imaging system when the degree of similarity between the virtual image of the second object (Fig. 1, Paragraph [0022]- Lin discloses a step (S06) of using the offset values .DELTA.X, .DELTA.Y, .DELTA..theta. as movement compensation values of the first substrate to move the first substrate to the correct waiting position in the alignment-and-assembling space if the offset values .DELTA.X, .DELTA.Y, .DELTA..theta. are larger than a preset value; and determining that the first substrate is at the correct waiting position in the alignment-and-assembling space if the offset values .DELTA.X, .DELTA.Y, .DELTA..theta. are smaller than the preset value.)
and the acquired image of the second object complies with the predetermined criterion (Fig. 1, Paragraph [0022]- Lin discloses a step (S06) of using the offset values .DELTA.X, .DELTA.Y, .DELTA..theta. as movement compensation values of the first substrate to move the first substrate to the correct waiting position in the alignment-and-assembling space if the offset values .DELTA.X, .DELTA.Y, .DELTA..theta. are larger than a preset value; and determining that the first substrate is at the correct waiting position in the alignment-and-assembling space if the offset values .DELTA.X, .DELTA.Y, .DELTA..theta. are smaller than the preset value.).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention was made to combine the teachings of Harada in view of Park and Michael of having a method for use in the spatial registration of first and second objects, using an imaging system to acquire an image of the first object or to acquire an image of a first marker provided with the first object with the teachings of Lin comprising: measuring a relative position and orientation of the motion control stage corresponding to an acquired image of the second object; determining a degree of similarity between the acquired image of the second object and a virtual image of the second object, which virtual image of the second object has the same size and shape as the second object and responsive to determining that the degree of similarity between the acquired image of the second object and the virtual image of the second object does not comply with a predetermined criterion, and determining the position and orientation of the second object in the frame of reference of the motion control stage based on the measured relative position and orientation of the motion control stage corresponding to the acquired image of the second object and the relative position and orientation of the virtual image of the second object with respect to the FOV of the imaging system when the degree of similarity between the virtual image of the second object and the acquired image of the second object complies with the predetermined criterion.
Wherein having Harada’s system for aligning and bonding multiple objects wherein comprising: measuring a relative position and orientation of the motion control stage corresponding to an acquired image of the second object; determining a degree of similarity between the acquired image of the second object and a virtual image of the second object, which virtual image of the second object has the same size and shape as the second object and responsive to determining that the degree of similarity between the acquired image of the second object and the virtual image of the second object does not comply with a predetermined criterion, and determining the position and orientation of the second object in the frame of reference of the motion control stage based on the measured relative position and orientation of the motion control stage corresponding to the acquired image of the second object and the relative position and orientation of the virtual image of the second object with respect to the FOV of the imaging system when the degree of similarity between the virtual image of the second object and the acquired image of the second object complies with the predetermined criterion.
The motivation behind the modification would have been to allow for a precise and affordable system, since both Harada and Lin are both systems that perform alignment. Wherein Harada’s system wherein improved systems efficiency, while Lin’s system reduces cost and improves precision. Please see Harada et al. (US 20110001974 A1), Paragraph [0096] and Lin et al. (US 20130148878 A1) Paragraph [0057].
Harada in view of Park, Michael, and Lin is fail to explicitly teach translating and/or rotating the virtual image of the second object with respect to the FOV of the imaging system until the degree of similarity between the acquired image of the second object and the virtual image of the second object complies with the predetermined criterion.
However, Liu explicitly teaches translating and/or rotating the virtual image of the second object with respect to the FOV of the imaging system until the degree of similarity between the acquired image of the second object and the virtual image of the second object complies with the predetermined criterion (Fig. 3, Paragraph [0049]- Liu discloses the model pattern may be rotated at various angles around a nominal angle, perform pattern matching at each rotation angle to obtain the best matching results at the angle, and the final best matching for that kernel in target image may be obtained by fitting matching results in a curve and identifying the curve peak. This will provide not only a match and its similarity value, but also an angle offset d.theta. Similarly, the model pattern may be scaled around a nominal size, perform pattern matching at each scale to obtain the best matching results at the scale, and the final best matching for that kernel in target image may be obtained by fitting matching results in a curve and identifying the curve peak. A matching scale ds can then be obtained.);
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention was made to combine the teachings of Harada in view of Park, Michael, and Lin of having a method for use in the spatial registration of first and second objects, using an imaging system to acquire an image of the first object or to acquire an image of a first marker provided with the first object with the teachings of Liu translating and/or rotating the virtual image of the second object with respect to the FOV of the imaging system until the degree of similarity between the acquired image of the second object and the virtual image of the second object complies with the predetermined criterion.
Wherein having Harada’s system for aligning and bonding multiple objects wherein translating and/or rotating the virtual image of the second object with respect to the FOV of the imaging system until the degree of similarity between the acquired image of the second object and the virtual image of the second object complies with the predetermined criterion.
The motivation behind the modification would have been to allow for greater system accuracy, since both Harada and Liu are both systems that align multiple objects. Wherein Harada’s system wherein improved systems efficiency, while Liu’s system improves accuracy of the system. Please see Harada et al. (US 20110001974 A1), Paragraph [0096] and Liu et al. (US 20110038527 A1) Paragraph [0069].
Claims 15 and 17 are rejected under 35 U.S.C 103 as being unpatentable over Harada et al. (US 20110001974 A1) hereafter referenced as Harada in view of Park et al. (US 20080090312 A1) hereafter referenced as Park, Michael et al. (US 5960125 A) hereafter referenced as Michael, Liu et al. (US 20110038527 A1) hereafter referenced as Liu, Lin et al. (US 20130148878 A1) hereafter referenced as Lin, and Yamada et al. (US 20110286657 A1) hereafter referenced as Yamada.
Regarding claim 15, Harada in view of Michael, Park, Liu, and Lin discloses the method of claim 14, Harada further teaches wherein determining the degree of similarity between the acquired image of the first object and the virtual image of the first object comprises evaluating a cross-correlation value between the acquired image of the first object and the virtual image of the first object (Fig. 2, Paragraph [0051]- Harada discloses the position detection unit 12 detects, in the image captured by the image capturing unit 11, the position P of the alignment mark M1 by performing pattern matching between the image captured by the image capturing unit 11 and the prestored image identical in shape to the alignment mark M1 (wherein cross correlation is a common form of pattern matching).)
Harada in view of Michael, Park, and Lin fails to explicitly teach and wherein the degree of similarity between the acquired image of the first object and the virtual image of the first object complies with the predetermined criterion when the cross-correlation value is greater than a predetermined threshold value or has a maximum values.
However, Liu explicitly teaches or has a maximum value (Fig. 3, Paragraph [0049]- Liu discloses the model pattern may be rotated at various angles around a nominal angle, perform pattern matching at each rotation angle to obtain the best matching results at the angle, and the final best matching for that kernel in target image may be obtained by fitting matching results in a curve and identifying the curve peak. This will provide not only a match and its similarity value, but also an angle offset d.theta. Similarly, the model pattern may be scaled around a nominal size, perform pattern matching at each scale to obtain the best matching results at the scale, and the final best matching for that kernel in target image may be obtained by fitting matching results in a curve and identifying the curve peak. A matching scale ds can then be obtained.)
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention was made to combine the teachings of Harada in view of Park, Michael, and Lin of having a method for use in the spatial registration of first and second objects, using an imaging system to acquire an image of the first object or to acquire an image of a first marker provided with the first object with the teachings of Liu or has a maximum value.
Wherein having Harada’s system for aligning and bonding multiple objects wherein or has a maximum value.
The motivation behind the modification would have been to allow for greater system accuracy, since both Harada and Liu are both systems that align multiple objects. Wherein Harada’s system wherein improved systems efficiency, while Liu’s system improves accuracy of the system. Please see Harada et al. (US 20110001974 A1), Paragraph [0096] and Liu et al. (US 20110038527 A1) Paragraph [0069].
Harada in view of Michael, Park, Liu, and Lin fails to explicitly teach and wherein the degree of similarity between the acquired image of the first object and the virtual image of the first object complies with the predetermined criterion when the cross-correlation value is greater than a predetermined threshold value.
However, Yamada explicitly teaches and wherein the degree of similarity between the acquired image of the first object and the virtual image of the first object complies with the predetermined criterion when the cross-correlation value is greater than a predetermined threshold value (Fig. 7, Paragraph [0049]- Yamada discloses a cross-correlation coefficient, a ratio of a minimum line width, a ratio of a minimum space width, a ratio of a line width average value, a ratio of a space width average value, a ratio of a coverage, and a ratio of the number of apexes between the extraction patterns is considered to be employed. For example, a method is considered in which the extraction patterns of which degree of matching of graphical feature is equal to or more than a predetermined threshold are classified into the same classification pattern.).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention was made to combine the teachings of Harada in view of Park, Michael, and Liu of having a method for use in the spatial registration of first and second objects, using an imaging system to acquire an image of the first object or to acquire an image of a first marker provided with the first object with the teachings of Yamada and wherein the degree of similarity between the acquired image of the first object and the virtual image of the first object complies with the predetermined criterion when the cross-correlation value is greater than a predetermined threshold value.
Wherein having Harada’s system for aligning and bonding multiple objects wherein the degree of similarity between the acquired image of the first object and the virtual image of the first object complies with the predetermined criterion when the cross-correlation value is greater than a predetermined threshold value.
The motivation behind the modification would have been to allow for a more accurate system, since both Harada and Yamada are both systems that perform alignment. Wherein Harada’s system wherein improved systems efficiency, while Liu’s system improves accuracy of data obtained. Please see Harada et al. (US 20110001974 A1), Paragraph [0096] and Yamada et al. (US 20110286657 A1) Paragraph [0037].
Regarding claim 17, Harada in view of Park and Michael discloses the method of claim 16, Harada further teaches wherein determining the degree of similarity between the acquired image of the second object and the virtual image of the second object comprises evaluating a cross-correlation value between the acquired image of the second object and the virtual image of the second object (Fig. 2, Paragraph [0051]- Harada discloses the position detection unit 12 detects, in the image captured by the image capturing unit 11, the position P of the alignment mark M1 by performing pattern matching between the image captured by the image capturing unit 11 and the prestored image identical in shape to the alignment mark M1 (wherein cross correlation is a common form of pattern matching).)
Harada in view of Michael, Park, and Lin fails to explicitly teach or has a maximum value.
However, Liu explicitly teaches or has a maximum value (Fig. 3, Paragraph [0049]- Liu discloses the model pattern may be rotated at various angles around a nominal angle, perform pattern matching at each rotation angle to obtain the best matching results at the angle, and the final best matching for that kernel in target image may be obtained by fitting matching results in a curve and identifying the curve peak. This will provide not only a match and its similarity value, but also an angle offset d.theta. Similarly, the model pattern may be scaled around a nominal size, perform pattern matching at each scale to obtain the best matching results at the scale, and the final best matching for that kernel in target image may be obtained by fitting matching results in a curve and identifying the curve peak. A matching scale ds can then be obtained.)
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention was made to combine the teachings of Harada in view of Park, Michael, and Lin of having a method for use in the spatial registration of first and second objects, using an imaging system to acquire an image of the first object or to acquire an image of a first marker provided with the first object with the teachings of Liu or has a maximum value.
Wherein having Harada’s system for aligning and bonding multiple objects wherein or has a maximum value.
The motivation behind the modification would have been to allow for greater system accuracy, since both Harada and Liu are both systems that align multiple objects. Wherein Harada’s system wherein improved systems efficiency, while Liu’s system improves accuracy of the system. Please see Harada et al. (US 20110001974 A1), Paragraph [0096] and Liu et al. (US 20110038527 A1) Paragraph [0069].
Harada in view of Michael, Park, Liu, and Lin fails to explicitly teach and wherein the degree of similarity between the acquired image of the second object and the virtual image of the second object complies with the predetermined criterion when the cross-correlation value is greater than a predetermined threshold value.
However, Yamada explicitly teaches and wherein the degree of similarity between the acquired image of the second object and the virtual image of the second object complies with the predetermined criterion when the cross-correlation value is greater than a predetermined threshold value (Fig. 7, Paragraph [0049]- Yamada discloses a cross-correlation coefficient, a ratio of a minimum line width, a ratio of a minimum space width, a ratio of a line width average value, a ratio of a space width average value, a ratio of a coverage, and a ratio of the number of apexes between the extraction patterns is considered to be employed. For example, a method is considered in which the extraction patterns of which degree of matching of graphical feature is equal to or more than a predetermined threshold are classified into the same classification pattern.).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention was made to combine the teachings of Harada in view of Park, Michael, Liu, and Lin of having a method for use in the spatial registration of first and second objects, using an imaging system to acquire an image of the first object or to acquire an image of a first marker provided with the first object with the teachings of Yamada and wherein the degree of similarity between the acquired image of the second object and the virtual image of the second object complies with the predetermined criterion when the cross-correlation value is greater than a predetermined threshold value.
Wherein having Harada’s system for aligning and bonding multiple objects wherein the degree of similarity between the acquired image of the second object and the virtual image of the second object complies with the predetermined criterion when the cross-correlation value is greater than a predetermined threshold value.
The motivation behind the modification would have been to allow for a more accurate system, since both Harada and Yamada are both systems that perform alignment. Wherein Harada’s system wherein improved systems efficiency, while Liu’s system improves accuracy of data obtained. Please see Harada et al. (US 20110001974 A1), Paragraph [0096] and Yamada et al. (US 20110286657 A1) Paragraph [0037].
Claims 36 and 37 are rejected under 35 U.S.C 103 as being unpatentable over Harada et al. (US 20110001974 A1) hereafter referenced as Harada in view of Park et al. (US 20080090312 A1) hereafter referenced as Park, Michael et al. (US 5960125 A) hereafter referenced as Michael, and Nishimura et al. (US 20090057891 A1) hereafter referenced as Nishimura.
Regarding claim 36, Harada in view of Park and Michael teaches the method of claim 27, Harada further teaches wherein attaching the first and second objects while the first and second objects are aligned comprises using at least one of a differential adhesion method (Fig. 14, Paragraph [0104]- Harada discloses from the amounts of positional displacement of the first and second transparent sheets 100 and 101, the alignment unit 60 determines the amount of positional displacement between the first and second transparent sheets 100 and 101. Then, the alignment unit 60 aligns the first and second transparent sheets 100 and 101 to each other by moving the XY stage 54 so as to reduce the thus determined amount of positional displacement to zero. Fig. 14, Paragraph [0106]- Harada discloses the UV radiation device 57 projects ultraviolet radiation onto the first and second transparent sheets 100 and 101, thereby curing the coating adhesive on the respective sheets 100 and 101 and preventing them from slipping out of position.),
or bonding the first and second objects together using an intermediate adhesive material or agent to attach the first and second objects while the first and second objects are aligned (Fig. 14, Paragraph [0104]- Harada discloses from the amounts of positional displacement of the first and second transparent sheets 100 and 101, the alignment unit 60 determines the amount of positional displacement between the first and second transparent sheets 100 and 101. Then, the alignment unit 60 aligns the first and second transparent sheets 100 and 101 to each other by moving the XY stage 54 so as to reduce the thus determined amount of positional displacement to zero. Fig. 14, Paragraph [0106]- Harada discloses the UV radiation device 57 projects ultraviolet radiation onto the first and second transparent sheets 100 and 101, thereby curing the coating adhesive on the respective sheets 100 and 101 and preventing them from slipping out of position.).
Harada in view of Park and Michael fails to explicitly teach a capillary bonding method or a soldering method.
a capillary bonding method (Fig. 16C, Paragraph [0330]- Nishimura discloses after this, the so-called ball bonding method which uses a bonding capillary 361 is employed, whereby a second bump 314b is formed on the trailing end portion of the bonding wire 311 which is connected to the bump 314a (see FIGS. 16C and 16D).),
or a soldering method (Fig. 3D Paragraph [0152]- Nishimura discloses an external connection terminal 114 made up of a solder ball electrode is placed as to the electrode terminal 113 on the other main face of the wiring board 101, using a reflow soldering method or the like, thereby forming the semiconductor device 100 (see FIG. 3D).),
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention was made to combine the teachings of Harada in view of Park and Michael of having a method for use in the spatial registration of first and second objects, using an imaging system to acquire an image of the first object or to acquire an image of a first marker provided with the first object with the teachings of Nishimura a capillary bonding method or a soldering method.
Wherein having Harada’s system for aligning and bonding multiple objects wherein a capillary bonding method or a soldering method.
The motivation behind the modification would have been to allow for greater reliability of the system, since both Harada and Liu are both systems that bond multiple objects together. Wherein Harada’s system wherein improved systems efficiency, while Liu’s system improves reliability of the products produced. Please see Harada et al. (US 20110001974 A1), Paragraph [0096] and Nishimura et al. (US 20090057891 A1) Paragraph [0317].
Regarding claim 37, Harada in view of Park, Michael, and Nishimura teaches the method of claim 36, Harada further teaches wherein the intermediate adhesive material or agent comprises an intermediate adhesion layer (Fig. 14, Paragraph [0104]- Harada discloses from the amounts of positional displacement of the first and second transparent sheets 100 and 101, the alignment unit 60 determines the amount of positional displacement between the first and second transparent sheets 100 and 101. Then, the alignment unit 60 aligns the first and second transparent sheets 100 and 101 to each other by moving the XY stage 54 so as to reduce the thus determined amount of positional displacement to zero. Fig. 14, Paragraph [0106]- Harada discloses the UV radiation device 57 projects ultraviolet radiation onto the first and second transparent sheets 100 and 101, thereby curing the coating adhesive on the respective sheets 100 and 101 and preventing them from slipping out of position.).
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 6 and 12 along with their dependent claims 7 and 13 respectively, are therefrom objected to as being dependent upon rejected base claim, claims 1, respectively but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claims and any intervening claims once the claim objections and 112(b) rejections are overcome.
The following is a statement of reasons for the indication of allowable subject matter:
Regarding claim 6, the prior arts fail to explicitly teach, wherein and determining the position and orientation of the first marker in the frame of reference of the motion control stage based on: the measured relative position of the motion control stage corresponding to the acquired image of the first marker; the relative position of the virtual image of the first marker with respect to the FOV of the imaging system when the degree of similarity between the virtual image of the first marker and the acquired image of the first marker complies with the predetermined criterion; the measured relative position of the motion control stage corresponding to the acquired image of the further first marker; and the relative position of the virtual image of the further first marker with respect to the FOV of the imaging system when the degree of similarity between the virtual image of the further first marker and the acquired image of the further first marker complies with the predetermined criterion, as claimed in claim 6.
Regarding claim 12, and determining the position and orientation of the second marker in the frame of reference of the motion control stage based on: the measured relative position of the motion control stage corresponding to the acquired image of the second marker; the relative position of the virtual image of the second marker with respect to the FOV of the imaging system when the degree of similarity between the virtual image of the second marker and the acquired image of the second marker complies with the predetermined criterion; the measured relative position of the motion control stage corresponding to the acquired image of the further second marker; and the relative position of the virtual image of the further second marker with respect to the FOV of the imaging system when the degree of similarity between the virtual image of the further second marker and the acquired image of the further second marker complies with the predetermined criterion, as claimed in claim 12.
Conclusion
Listed below are the prior arts made of record and not relied upon but are considered
pertinent to applicant`s disclosure.
Gray et al. (US 20150027328 A1)- A screen printer 100 for paste material printing is disclosed herein. In a described embodiment, the screen printer 100 comprises a printing chamber 104; and a plurality of support members in the form of lifting tables 114, 116 arranged adjacent to one another along a single conveying path for individually supporting a respective PCB 202, 240 in the printing chamber 104. The screen printer 100 further includes a stencil 120 having a plurality of print patterns 124, 126 with each print pattern 124, 126 arranged adjacent to another print pattern to correspond to the positions of the lifting tables 114, 116 with each print pattern 124, 126 corresponding to a desired paste pattern to be printed onto the PCBs. The screen printer 100 also includes a paste printer arranged to print paste material on the at least one substrate using at least one of the print patterns. A screen printing method is also disclosed......................Please see Fig. 1. Abstract.
Asano et al. (US 20160320697 A1)- An imprint apparatus includes: a substrate stage; a mold stage; a detector configured to detect a relative position of a substrate to a mold in a direction parallel to a surface of the substrate; a vibration unit configured to transmit a vibration to the imprint material; and a controller configured to control the imprint process to align the substrate and the mold based on a detection result by the detector while the vibration unit transmits the vibration to the imprint material after bringing the imprint material and the mold into contact with each other.......................Please see Fig. 1. Abstract.
Cadee et al. (US 8947636 B2)- A lithographic apparatus includes an illumination system configured to condition a radiation beam; a support constructed to support a patterning device, the patterning device being capable of imparting the radiation beam with a pattern in its cross-section to form a patterned radiation beam; at least three substrate tables that are each constructed to hold a substrate; and a projection system configured to project the patterned radiation beam onto a target portion of the substrate, wherein the substrate tables are moveable in a common moving area extending substantially in a plane perpendicular to the patterned radiation beam, the moving area comprising at least three working locations of which at least one working location is arranged for exposure of the substrate to the patterned radiation beam and at least one working location is arranged for non-exposure purposes.......................Please see Fig. 1. Abstract.
/LUCIUS CAMERON GREEN ALLEN/Examiner, Art Unit 2673
/CHINEYERE WILLS-BURNS/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2673