DETAILED ACTION
Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114
Response to Amendment
The applicant has amended the following:
Claims: 21-25 have been amended.
Claims: 1-20 have been cancelled.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claim(s) 21-25 have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 21-23 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over SHIH et al. (US Patent Publication 2018/0352491 herein after referenced as Shih) in view of NINGLEKHU et al. (US Patent Publication 2023/0052699 herein after referenced as Ning).
Regarding claim 21 and claim 22, Shih discloses:
A wireless terminal and A method performed by a wireless terminal communicating with an access node of a radio access network (RAN), the RAN supporting one or more network slices, (Shi, [0034] discloses the network node (i.e. reads on with an access node) provides (i.e. reads on communicating) the UE (i.e. reads on wireless terminal) a radio access network RAN (i.e. reads on of a radio access network RAN) notification area update and the RAN notification area update includes at least one of a list of NR gNB/cell IDs or a list of RAN area IDs, wherein the list of NR gNB/cell IDs corresponds to a list of NR gNBs/cells that support the required network slice/service (i.e. reads on the RAN supporting one or more network slices) of the UE, and the list of RAN area IDs corresponds to a list of the RAN areas that support the required network slice/service of the UE; Shih, [0154] discloses the UE’s AS with network slice requirement may monitor and measure signal (i.e. reads on wireless) from/on the RATs/frequency bands; Shih, [0167] discloses a node for wireless communication).
each of the one or more network slices providing a designated service, (Shih, [0078] discloses the RRC message may include slice IDs and/or network slice type ID NS-ID to directly identify the type of network slice (i.e. reads on each of the one or more network slices) and/or required/requested service (i.e. reads on providing a designated service)the UE needs and a slice bitmap may be used to directly identify the type of network slice and/or required/requested service in the RRC message; Shih, [0069] discloses the capabilities of network slice/service supported by each RAT/cell may be different and the network slices/services supported by RATs may be a subset of the network slices/services supported by the CN).
the wireless terminal comprising: receiver circuitry configured to receive, from the access node, system information (Shih, Fig. 22 & [0128] discloses an NR gNB/cell (i.e. reads on from the access node) may broadcast its network slice capability either via minimum System Information SI or via other SI and if the information is provided by other SI, it can be broadcast or unicast by the NR gNB/cell and upon receiving the SI (i.e. reads on receive, system information), a UE (i.e. reads on the wireless terminal) can identify whether it is able to perform the required/requested network slice/service to the secondary node and Fig. 22 shows the UE receiving from a NR gNB/cell, Other SI that includes the slice IDs and/or slice Bitmap and/or NS indication of neighboring NR gNBs/cells/beams; Shih, [0134] discloses UE may send an RRC message to NR gNB/cell, where the RRC message may include NS Indication and/or Slice Bitmap and/or Slice IDs for asking network slice support, or NS Indication and/or Slice Bitmap and/or Slice IDs of neighboring NR gNB s/cells/beams and/or eLTE eNB s/cells for the network slice support from neighboring nodes/cells/beams and the NR gNB/cell may reveal the neighboring gNB s/cells/beams' and/or eLTE eNB s/cells' supported network slices/services with the combination of Slice IDs and/or Slice Bitmap and neighboring NR gNB/cell/beam and/or eLTE eNB/cell IDs and/or the network slice capabilities in the other SI; Shih, [0172] discloses the processor may process the data and instructions received from memory and information through the transceiver).
network slice band association information indicating an association between a plurality of network slice identifiers and a plurality of bands, the network slice band association information comprising a list of the plurality of network slice identifiers, (Shih, [0154] discloses the UE's NAS is preconfigured to have the information (i.e. reads on network slice band association information indicating an association between and reads on the network slice band association information comprising) of which RAT/frequency band (i.e. reads on and a plurality of bands) supports the network slice or even specific network slice/service (i.e. reads on plurality of network slice identifiers) and the UE's NAS may forward the information to the Access Stratum AS and the UE′ AS with network slice requirement may monitor and measure signal from/on the RATs/frequency bands (i.e. a plurality of bands) and in FIG. 24, in action 2494, the UE's NAS or AS may identify the required/requested network slice/service and/or the network slice support e.g., via slice IDs (i.e. reads on plurality of network slice identifiers and reads on a list of the plurality of network slice identifiers) and/or NS Indication and/or Slice Bitmap; Shih, [0079] discloses slice IDs can be replaced with slice bitmaps to identify the indicated network slices/services).
each of the plurality of network slice identifiers identifying a network slice and being associated, as defined in the network slice band association information, with one or more corresponding bands; (Shih, [0154] discloses the UE's NAS is preconfigured to have the information (i.e. reads on being associated, as defined in the network slice band association information) of which RAT/frequency band (i.e. reads on with one or more corresponding bands) supports the network slice or even specific network slice/service and the UE's NAS may forward the information to the Access Stratum AS and the UE′ AS with network slice requirement may monitor and measure signal from/on the RATs/frequency bands and in FIG. 24, in action 2494, the UE's NAS or AS may identify the required/requested network slice/service (i.e. reads on identifying a network slice) and/or the network slice support e.g., via slice IDs (i.e. reads on each of the plurality of network slice identifiers) and/or NS Indication and/or Slice Bitmap; Shih, [0079] discloses slice IDs can be replaced with slice bitmaps to identify the indicated network slices/services).
and processor circuitry configured to: choose one or more network slices associated with one or more of the plurality of network slice identifiers; and perform a cell reselection procedure based on the one or more network slices and the network slice band association information, (Shih, [0154]-[0155] discloses cell (re)selection (i.e. reads on and perform a cell reselection procedure) based on network slice (i.e. reads on based on the one or more network slices), and the UE's NAS is preconfigured to have the information (i.e. reads on and the network slice band association information) of which RAT/frequency band supports the network slice or even specific network slice/service and the UE's NAS or AS may identify the required/requested network slice/service (i.e. reads on choose one or more network slices) and/or the network slice support via slice IDs (i.e. reads on associated with one or more of the plurality of network slice identifiers) and/or NS Indication and/or Slice Bitmap and the UE may search the RATs / frequency bands on which the required/requested network slice/service and/or network slice capability are supported and after collecting the slicing information, the AS forwards the information to the NAS, which may decide which RATs/frequency bands are appropriate and the NAS may notify its decision to the AS, and perform RRC connection establishment with the corresponding RAT/frequency and the AS may filter out the RATs/frequency bands with signal quality below a predetermined threshold and discloses UE Performs Cell (Re)Selection and Camps to a RAT that Supports Required Network Slice Based on a List of Barred Cells; Shih, [0152] discloses the UE may camp or select / reselect a cell of a suitable RAT that supports the required/requested network slice / service).
the cell reselection procedure is performed on one or more of the plurality of bands, the network slice band association information indicating that the one or more of the plurality of the bands are associated with the one or more of the plurality of network slice identifiers, (Shih, [0154]-[0155] discloses cell (re)selection (i.e. reads on the cell reselection procedure is performed) based on network slice, and the UE's NAS is preconfigured to have the information (i.e. reads on the network slice band association information indicating that) of which RAT/frequency band (i.e. reads on the one or more of the plurality of the bands) supports the network slice (i.e. reads on are associated with the one or more of the plurality of network slice identifiers) or even specific network slice/service and the UE's NAS or AS may identify the required/requested network slice/service and/or the network slice support via slice IDs and/or NS Indication and/or Slice Bitmap and the UE may search the RATs / frequency bands (i.e. reads on on one or more of the plurality of bands) on which the required/requested network slice/service and/or network slice capability are supported and after collecting the slicing information, the AS forwards the information to the NAS, which may decide which RATs/frequency bands are appropriate and the NAS may notify its decision to the AS, and perform RRC connection establishment with the corresponding RAT/frequency and the AS may filter out the RATs/frequency bands with signal quality below a predetermined threshold and discloses UE Performs Cell (Re)Selection and Camps to a RAT that Supports Required Network Slice Based on a List of Barred Cells; Shih, [0152] discloses the UE may camp or select / reselect a cell of a suitable RAT that supports the required/requested network slice / service).
in the cell reselection procedure, the processor circuitry is configured to find, based on the network slice band association information, a cell on a band associated with the one or more network slices, (Shih, [0154]-[0155] discloses cell (re)selection (i.e. reads on in the cell reselection procedure) based on network slice, and the UE's NAS is preconfigured to have the information (i.e. reads on based on the network slice band association information) of which RAT/frequency band supports the network slice or even specific network slice/service and the UE's NAS or AS may identify the required/requested network slice/service and/or the network slice support via slice IDs and/or NS Indication and/or Slice Bitmap and the UE may search (i.e. reads on find) the RATs / frequency bands (i.e. reads on a cell on a band) on which the required/requested network slice/service (i.e. reads on associated with the one or more network slices) and/or network slice capability are supported and after collecting the slicing information, the AS forwards the information to the NAS, which may decide which RATs/frequency bands are appropriate and the NAS may notify its decision to the AS, and perform RRC connection establishment with the corresponding RAT/frequency and the AS may filter out the RATs/frequency bands with signal quality below a predetermined threshold and discloses UE Performs Cell (Re)Selection and Camps to a RAT that Supports Required Network Slice Based on a List of Barred Cells; Shih, [0152] discloses the UE may camp or select / reselect a cell of a suitable RAT that supports the required/requested network slice / service).
and after the cell is found, the processor circuitry is further configured to determine whether the cell is barred for the one or more network slices (Shih, [0156] discloses the UE is preconfigured with a list of barred cells (i.e. reads on cell is barred) for each specific network slice (i.e. reads on for the one or more network slices) and the list may be preconfigured when the UE receives the broadcast information from NR gNBs/cells and eLTE eNBs/cells about their network slice supports and with the list, after the UE may determine the PLMNs and performs measurement (i.e. reads on after the cell is found), the suitable cells to camp on can be selected (i.e. reads on determine) based on the list of barred cells (i.e. reads on whether the cell is barred for the one or more network slices)).
Shih discloses that a base station sends system information to a UE and also discloses that the UE is preconfigured with information of which frequency bands supports network slices and in addition, Shih, [0156] discloses the UE is preconfigured with a list of barred cells for each specific network slice and the list may be preconfigured when the UE receives the broadcast information from NR gNBs/cells and eLTE eNBs/cells about their network slice supports and with the list but fails to explicitly disclose that said system information sent to the UE includes the information of which frequency bands supports network slices and that the frequency band corresponds to a letter “n” and a corresponding number and therefore fails to disclose “receive, from the access node, system information that includes network slice band association information indicating an association between a plurality of network slice identifiers and a plurality of bands” and “wherein: each of the plurality of bands is a band symbolized by a letter "n" and a corresponding number,”.
In a related field of endeavor, Ning discloses:
receive, from the access node, system information that includes network slice band association information indicating an association between a plurality of network slice identifiers and a plurality of bands, (Ning, [0167] discloses the RAN node may forward (i.e. reads on receive, from the access node) Registration Accept to the UE and the Registration Accept may include (i.e. reads on system information that includes network slice band association information indicating) the Allowed NSSAI with each S-NSSAI (i.e. reads on an association between a plurality of network slice identifiers) and its corresponding operating band (i.e. reads on and a plurality of bands) information; Ning, [0088] discloses a network slice is identified by an S-NSSAI; Ning, [0169]-[0170] discloses the AMF sends to the UE, an Allowed NSSAI with operating frequency band information attached for each S-NSSAI and an S-NSSAI Information Element is described in section 9.11.2.8 of TS 24.501 and FIG. 10 shows the S-NSSAI Information Element enhanced with two octets for Operating Frequency Band OFB information and it defines operating frequency band that the S-NSSAI shall be available on to the UE and discloses the UE may use the OFB information elements to determine, based on what services it wants to access, what operating frequency bands to use and for example, if the UE is not using Dual Connectivity, it may use this information to determine what cell to connect to; Ning, [0019]-[0020] discloses a UE may inform the network e.g., Radio Access Network RAN and/or the core network about the Operating Frequency Bands OFBs that the UE can support and this information may be utilized by the network to identify and facilitate the UE's requested slices and discloses based on the UE's supported OFBs, the requested network slices, and the OFBs at which the requested slices are available, the network may guide a UE to switch to a different OFB where, e.g., all or most of the requested slices are available; Ning, [0139] discloses a UE must have policies to use the information received from the core network to correctly steer itself to targeted network slice via the correct operating frequency band and such policies may be pre-configured in the UE or may be delivered by the core network).
wherein: each of the plurality of bands is a band symbolized by a letter "n" and a corresponding number, (Ning, [0173] discloses the MNO may allocate operating bands (i.e. reads on each of the plurality of bands is a band) e.g. n1, n7, n12 (i.e. reads on symbolized by a letter "n" and a corresponding number) etc. as defined in TS 38.101-1 and 38.101-2 and assign them to S-NSSAI(s) as part of UE Access and Mobility Subscription at the UDM/UDR).
Therefore, at the time before the effective filing date of the invention, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to modify the invention of Shih to incorporate the teachings of Ning for the purpose of providing the system with a means to allow the network to identify and guide a UE to switch to a different OFB where, e.g., all or most of the requested slices are available (Ning, [0019]-[0020]) to correctly steer the UE to targeted network slice via the correct operating frequency band (Ning, [0139]) and to conform to the guidelines set forth by a known standard (Ning, [0169] & [0173]) and for the purpose of providing the system with a means to making the system more dynamic and adaptable by providing the system with various different alternatives in design and functionality, thereby allowing the system to handle a number of various different combination of specific design structure and scenarios and preventing the system from being limited to a single specific design structure and scenario and furthermore, one of ordinary skill in the art would recognize based on the guidelines to rationales supporting a conclusion of obviousness seen on MPEP 2143, that the modification would involve use of a simple substitution of one known element and base device (i.e. performing a process of a base station sending system information to a UE and configuring the UE with information of which frequency bands supports network slices as taught by Shih) with another known element and comparable device utilizing a known technique (i.e. performing a process of a base station sending system information to a UE and configuring the UE with information of which frequency bands supports network slices, wherein the information of which frequency bands supports network slices are sent by a base station to the UE and wherein the frequency bands corresponds to n1, n7, 12, etc. as taught by Ning) to improve the similar devices in the same way and to obtain the predictable result of the system performing a process of a base station sending system information to a UE and configuring the UE with information of which frequency bands supports network slices (i.e. as taught by both Shih & Ning) and is dependent upon the specific intended use, design incentives, needs and requirements (i.e. such as due to teachings of a known standard, current technology, conservation of resources, personal preferences, economic considerations, etc.) of the user and the system as has been established in MPEP 2144.04.
Regarding claim 23, Shih discloses:
An access node of a radio access network (RAN) communicating with a wireless terminal, the RAN supporting one or more network slices, (Shi, [0034] discloses the network node (i.e. reads on with an access node) provides (i.e. reads on communicating) the UE (i.e. reads on wireless terminal) a radio access network RAN (i.e. reads on of a radio access network RAN) notification area update and the RAN notification area update includes at least one of a list of NR gNB/cell IDs or a list of RAN area IDs, wherein the list of NR gNB/cell IDs corresponds to a list of NR gNBs/cells that support the required network slice/service (i.e. reads on the RAN supporting one or more network slices) of the UE, and the list of RAN area IDs corresponds to a list of the RAN areas that support the required network slice/service of the UE; Shih, [0154] discloses the UE’s AS with network slice requirement may monitor and measure signal (i.e. reads on wireless) from/on the RATs/frequency bands; Shih, [0167] discloses a node for wireless communication).
each of the one or more network slices providing a designated service, (Shih, [0078] discloses the RRC message may include slice IDs and/or network slice type ID NS-ID to directly identify the type of network slice (i.e. reads on each of the one or more network slices) and/or required/requested service (i.e. reads on providing a designated service)the UE needs and a slice bitmap may be used to directly identify the type of network slice and/or required/requested service in the RRC message; Shih, [0069] discloses the capabilities of network slice/service supported by each RAT/cell may be different and the network slices/services supported by RATs may be a subset of the network slices/services supported by the CN).
the access node comprising: processor circuitry configured to generate system information (Shih, [0070] discloses the NR gNBs (i.e. reads on the access node) and eLTE eNBs may generate (i.e. reads on generate) / read / transmit / receive / forward network slice / service related RRC messages (i.e. reads on system information); Shih, Fig. 22 & [0128] discloses an NR gNB/cell may broadcast its network slice capability either via minimum System Information SI or via other SI and if the information is provided by other SI, it can be broadcast or unicast by the NR gNB/cell and upon receiving the SI, a UE can identify whether it is able to perform the required/requested network slice/service to the secondary node and Fig. 22 shows the UE receiving from a NR gNB/cell, Other SI that includes the slice IDs and/or slice Bitmap and/or NS indication of neighboring NR gNBs/cells/beams; Shih, [0134] discloses UE may send an RRC message to NR gNB/cell, where the RRC message may include NS Indication and/or Slice Bitmap and/or Slice IDs for asking network slice support, or NS Indication and/or Slice Bitmap and/or Slice IDs of neighboring NR gNB s/cells/beams and/or eLTE eNB s/cells for the network slice support from neighboring nodes/cells/beams and the NR gNB/cell may reveal the neighboring gNB s/cells/beams' and/or eLTE eNB s/cells' supported network slices/services with the combination of Slice IDs and/or Slice Bitmap and neighboring NR gNB/cell/beam and/or eLTE eNB/cell IDs and/or the network slice capabilities in the other SI; Shih, [0172] discloses the processor may process the data and instructions received from memory and information through the transceiver).
network slice band association information indicating an association between a plurality of network slice identifiers and a plurality of bands, the network slice band association information comprising a list of the plurality of network slice identifiers, (Shih, [0154] discloses the UE's NAS is preconfigured to have the information (i.e. reads on network slice band association information indicating an association between and reads on the network slice band association information comprising) of which RAT/frequency band (i.e. reads on and a plurality of bands) supports the network slice or even specific network slice/service (i.e. reads on plurality of network slice identifiers) and the UE's NAS may forward the information to the Access Stratum AS and the UE′ AS with network slice requirement may monitor and measure signal from/on the RATs/frequency bands (i.e. a plurality of bands) and in FIG. 24, in action 2494, the UE's NAS or AS may identify the required/requested network slice/service and/or the network slice support e.g., via slice IDs (i.e. reads on plurality of network slice identifiers and reads on a list of the plurality of network slice identifiers) and/or NS Indication and/or Slice Bitmap; Shih, [0079] discloses slice IDs can be replaced with slice bitmaps to identify the indicated network slices/services).
each of the plurality of network slice identifiers identifying a network slice and being associated, as defined in the network slice band association information, with one or more corresponding bands; (Shih, [0154] discloses the UE's NAS is preconfigured to have the information (i.e. reads on being associated, as defined in the network slice band association information) of which RAT/frequency band (i.e. reads on with one or more corresponding bands) supports the network slice or even specific network slice/service and the UE's NAS may forward the information to the Access Stratum AS and the UE′ AS with network slice requirement may monitor and measure signal from/on the RATs/frequency bands and in FIG. 24, in action 2494, the UE's NAS or AS may identify the required/requested network slice/service (i.e. reads on identifying a network slice) and/or the network slice support e.g., via slice IDs (i.e. reads on each of the plurality of network slice identifiers) and/or NS Indication and/or Slice Bitmap; Shih, [0079] discloses slice IDs can be replaced with slice bitmaps to identify the indicated network slices/services).
and transmitter circuitry configured to transmit the system information, (Shih, [0070] discloses the NR gNBs (i.e. reads on the access node) and eLTE eNBs may generate / read / transmit (i.e. reads on transmit) / receive / forward network slice / service related RRC messages (i.e. reads on system information); Shih, Fig. 22 & [0128] discloses an NR gNB/cell may broadcast its network slice capability either via minimum System Information SI or via other SI and if the information is provided by other SI, it can be broadcast or unicast by the NR gNB/cell and upon receiving the SI, a UE can identify whether it is able to perform the required/requested network slice/service to the secondary node and Fig. 22 shows the UE receiving from a NR gNB/cell, Other SI that includes the slice IDs and/or slice Bitmap and/or NS indication of neighboring NR gNBs/cells/beams; Shih, [0134] discloses UE may send an RRC message to NR gNB/cell, where the RRC message may include NS Indication and/or Slice Bitmap and/or Slice IDs for asking network slice support, or NS Indication and/or Slice Bitmap and/or Slice IDs of neighboring NR gNB s/cells/beams and/or eLTE eNB s/cells for the network slice support from neighboring nodes/cells/beams and the NR gNB/cell may reveal the neighboring gNB s/cells/beams' and/or eLTE eNB s/cells' supported network slices/services with the combination of Slice IDs and/or Slice Bitmap and neighboring NR gNB/cell/beam and/or eLTE eNB/cell IDs and/or the network slice capabilities in the other SI).
and the network slice band association information is information which causes the wireless terminal to: after the wireless terminal chooses one or more network slices associated with one or more of the plurality of network slice identifiers, perform a cell reselection procedure based on the one or more network slices and the network slice band association information, (Shih, [0154]-[0155] discloses cell (re)selection (i.e. reads on and perform a cell reselection procedure) based on network slice (i.e. reads on based on the one or more network slices), and the UE's NAS is preconfigured to have the information (i.e. reads on and the network slice band association information) of which RAT/frequency band supports the network slice or even specific network slice/service and the UE's (i.e. reads on causes the wireless terminal to: after the wireless terminal) NAS or AS may identify the required/requested network slice/service (i.e. reads on choose one or more network slices) and/or the network slice support via slice IDs (i.e. reads on associated with one or more of the plurality of network slice identifiers) and/or NS Indication and/or Slice Bitmap and the UE may search the RATs / frequency bands on which the required/requested network slice/service and/or network slice capability are supported and after collecting the slicing information, the AS forwards the information to the NAS, which may decide which RATs/frequency bands are appropriate and the NAS may notify its decision to the AS, and perform RRC connection establishment with the corresponding RAT/frequency and the AS may filter out the RATs/frequency bands with signal quality below a predetermined threshold and discloses UE Performs Cell (Re)Selection and Camps to a RAT that Supports Required Network Slice Based on a List of Barred Cells; Shih, [0152] discloses the UE may camp or select / reselect a cell of a suitable RAT that supports the required/requested network slice / service).
in the cell reselection procedure, find, based on the network slice band association information, a cell on a band associated with the one or more network slices, (Shih, [0154]-[0155] discloses cell (re)selection (i.e. reads on in the cell reselection procedure) based on network slice, and the UE's NAS is preconfigured to have the information (i.e. reads on based on the network slice band association information) of which RAT/frequency band supports the network slice or even specific network slice/service and the UE's NAS or AS may identify the required/requested network slice/service and/or the network slice support via slice IDs and/or NS Indication and/or Slice Bitmap and the UE may search (i.e. reads on find) the RATs / frequency bands (i.e. reads on a cell on a band) on which the required/requested network slice/service (i.e. reads on associated with the one or more network slices) and/or network slice capability are supported and after collecting the slicing information, the AS forwards the information to the NAS, which may decide which RATs/frequency bands are appropriate and the NAS may notify its decision to the AS, and perform RRC connection establishment with the corresponding RAT/frequency and the AS may filter out the RATs/frequency bands with signal quality below a predetermined threshold and discloses UE Performs Cell (Re)Selection and Camps to a RAT that Supports Required Network Slice Based on a List of Barred Cells; Shih, [0152] discloses the UE may camp or select / reselect a cell of a suitable RAT that supports the required/requested network slice / service).
and after the cell is found, determine whether the cell is barred for the one or more network slices, (Shih, [0156] discloses the UE is preconfigured with a list of barred cells (i.e. reads on cell is barred) for each specific network slice (i.e. reads on for the one or more network slices) and the list may be preconfigured when the UE receives the broadcast information from NR gNBs/cells and eLTE eNBs/cells about their network slice supports and with the list, after the UE may determine the PLMNs and performs measurement (i.e. reads on after the cell is found), the suitable cells to camp on can be selected (i.e. reads on determine) based on the list of barred cells (i.e. reads on whether the cell is barred for the one or more network slices)).
wherein the cell reselection procedure is performed on one or more of the plurality of bands, the network slice band association information indicating that the one or more of the plurality of bands are associated with the one or more of the plurality of network slice identifiers (Shih, [0154]-[0155] discloses cell (re)selection (i.e. reads on the cell reselection procedure is performed) based on network slice, and the UE's NAS is preconfigured to have the information (i.e. reads on the network slice band association information indicating that) of which RAT/frequency band (i.e. reads on the one or more of the plurality of the bands) supports the network slice (i.e. reads on are associated with the one or more of the plurality of network slice identifiers) or even specific network slice/service and the UE's NAS or AS may identify the required/requested network slice/service and/or the network slice support via slice IDs and/or NS Indication and/or Slice Bitmap and the UE may search the RATs / frequency bands (i.e. reads on on one or more of the plurality of bands) on which the required/requested network slice/service and/or network slice capability are supported and after collecting the slicing information, the AS forwards the information to the NAS, which may decide which RATs/frequency bands are appropriate and the NAS may notify its decision to the AS, and perform RRC connection establishment with the corresponding RAT/frequency and the AS may filter out the RATs/frequency bands with signal quality below a predetermined threshold and discloses UE Performs Cell (Re)Selection and Camps to a RAT that Supports Required Network Slice Based on a List of Barred Cells; Shih, [0152] discloses the UE may camp or select / reselect a cell of a suitable RAT that supports the required/requested network slice / service).
Shih discloses that a base station sends system information to a UE and also discloses that the UE is preconfigured with information of which frequency bands supports network slices and in addition, Shih, [0156] discloses the UE is preconfigured with a list of barred cells for each specific network slice and the list may be preconfigured when the UE receives the broadcast information from NR gNBs/cells and eLTE eNBs/cells about their network slice supports and with the list but fails to explicitly disclose that said system information sent to the UE includes the information of which frequency bands supports network slices and that the frequency band corresponds to a letter “n” and a corresponding number and therefore fails to disclose “the access node comprising: processor circuitry configured to generate system information that includes network slice band association information indicating an association between a plurality of network slice identifiers and a plurality of bands,” and “wherein each of the plurality of bands is a band symbolized by a letter "n" and a corresponding number,”.
In a related field of endeavor, Ning discloses:
the access node comprising: processor circuitry configured to generate system information that includes network slice band association information indicating an association between a plurality of network slice identifiers and a plurality of bands, (Ning, [0167] discloses the RAN node may forward (i.e. reads on access node) Registration Accept to the UE and the Registration Accept may include (i.e. reads on generate system information that includes network slice band association information indicating) the Allowed NSSAI with each S-NSSAI (i.e. reads on an association between a plurality of network slice identifiers) and its corresponding operating band (i.e. reads on and a plurality of bands) information; Ning, [0088] discloses a network slice is identified by an S-NSSAI; Ning, [0428] discloses processor 91 and/or coprocessor 81 may receive, generate, and process data related to the methods and apparatuses disclosed herein; Ning, [0169]-[0170] discloses the AMF sends to the UE, an Allowed NSSAI with operating frequency band information attached for each S-NSSAI and an S-NSSAI Information Element is described in section 9.11.2.8 of TS 24.501 and FIG. 10 shows the S-NSSAI Information Element enhanced with two octets for Operating Frequency Band OFB information and it defines operating frequency band that the S-NSSAI shall be available on to the UE and discloses the UE may use the OFB information elements to determine, based on what services it wants to access, what operating frequency bands to use and for example, if the UE is not using Dual Connectivity, it may use this information to determine what cell to connect to; Ning, [0019]-[0020] discloses a UE may inform the network e.g., Radio Access Network RAN and/or the core network about the Operating Frequency Bands OFBs that the UE can support and this information may be utilized by the network to identify and facilitate the UE's requested slices and discloses based on the UE's supported OFBs, the requested network slices, and the OFBs at which the requested slices are available, the network may guide a UE to switch to a different OFB where, e.g., all or most of the requested slices are available; Ning, [0139] discloses a UE must have policies to use the information received from the core network to correctly steer itself to targeted network slice via the correct operating frequency band and such policies may be pre-configured in the UE or may be delivered by the core network).
wherein each of the plurality of bands is a band symbolized by a letter "n" and a corresponding number, (Ning, [0173] discloses the MNO may allocate operating bands (i.e. reads on each of the plurality of bands is a band) e.g. n1, n7, n12 (i.e. reads on symbolized by a letter "n" and a corresponding number) etc. as defined in TS 38.101-1 and 38.101-2 and assign them to S-NSSAI(s) as part of UE Access and Mobility Subscription at the UDM/UDR).
Therefore, at the time before the effective filing date of the invention, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to modify the invention of Shih to incorporate the teachings of Ning for the purpose of providing the system with a means to allow the network to identify and guide a UE to switch to a different OFB where, e.g., all or most of the requested slices are available (Ning, [0019]-[0020]) to correctly steer the UE to targeted network slice via the correct operating frequency band (Ning, [0139]) and to conform to the guidelines set forth by a known standard (Ning, [0169] & [0173]) and for the purpose of providing the system with a means to making the system more dynamic and adaptable by providing the system with various different alternatives in design and functionality, thereby allowing the system to handle a number of various different combination of specific design structure and scenarios and preventing the system from being limited to a single specific design structure and scenario and furthermore, one of ordinary skill in the art would recognize based on the guidelines to rationales supporting a conclusion of obviousness seen on MPEP 2143, that the modification would involve use of a simple substitution of one known element and base device (i.e. performing a process of a base station sending system information to a UE and configuring the UE with information of which frequency bands supports network slices as taught by Shih) with another known element and comparable device utilizing a known technique (i.e. performing a process of a base station sending system information to a UE and configuring the UE with information of which frequency bands supports network slices, wherein the information of which frequency bands supports network slices are sent by a base station to the UE and wherein the frequency bands corresponds to n1, n7, 12, etc. as taught by Ning) to improve the similar devices in the same way and to obtain the predictable result of the system performing a process of a base station sending system information to a UE and configuring the UE with information of which frequency bands supports network slices (i.e. as taught by both Shih & Ning) and is dependent upon the specific intended use, design incentives, needs and requirements (i.e. such as due to teachings of a known standard, current technology, conservation of resources, personal preferences, economic considerations, etc.) of the user and the system as has been established in MPEP 2144.04.
Claim(s) 24-25 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over SHIH et al. (US Patent Publication 2018/0352491 herein after referenced as Shih) in view of NINGLEKHU et al. (US Patent Publication 2023/0052699 herein after referenced as Ning) and further in view of Bansal et al. (US Patent Publication 2015/0163726 herein after referenced as Bansal).
Regarding claim 24 and claim 25, Shih in view of Ning discloses:
The wireless terminal according to claim 21, wherein the processor circuitry is further configured to, (see claim 21) and The access node according to claim 23, wherein the network slice band association information is information which further causes the wireless terminal to, (see claim 23).
Shih in view of Ning discloses selecting suitable cells to camp on based on a frequency band and barred cells but fails to explicitly disclose that the UE continues to search for other cell in a band after a determination that a cell is barred and therefore fails to disclose “based on a determination that the cell is barred for the one or more network slices, look for other cells in a plurality of bands including the band of the cell”.
In a related field of endeavor, Bansal discloses:
based on a determination that the cell is barred for the one or more network slices, look for other cells in a plurality of bands including the band of the cell (Bansal, [0027] discloses cell selection component 1006 of UE 1002 may include RAT/frequency band scanning component 1010 that, while a manual PLMN search is ongoing at UE 1002, scans one or more frequency bands that are supported by UE 1002 in order to determine an available cell and when a cell is determined to be available e.g., there is a good signal/energy available on the cell, cell selection component 1006 may determine if the available cell is suitable e.g., the UE is not barred from the available cell, or the available cell is reserved for the UE and upon determining a suitable cell and before continuing the manual PLMN search on the remaining bands or RATS; Bansal, [0039]-[0040] discloses cell selection component 1006 of UE 1002 may determine whether the available cell is suitable based on the SIB or the SI, e.g., whether the available cell is reserved for UE 1002 or whether UE 1002 is barred from the available cell and discloses when the available cell is not suitable, resuming the manual PLMN search; Bansal, [0020] discloses while the manual PLMN search is ongoing, the UE may consider any suitable cell for camping and hence, the UE may come back in service quickly if there is a suitable cell available during the manual PLMN search, and may then perform activities such as calls or short message services SMSs and accordingly, the present aspects may improve user experience, as a user may prefer to avoid staying OOS or missing mobile terminated calls or SMSs).
Therefore, at the time before the effective filing date of the invention, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to modify the invention of Shih in view of Ning to incorporate the teachings of Bansal for the purpose of providing the system with a means to enable the UE to come back in service quickly which improve user experience, as a user may prefer to avoid staying OOS or missing mobile terminated calls or SMSs (Bansal, [0020]) and for the purpose of providing the system with a means to making the system more dynamic and adaptable by providing the system with various different alternatives in design and functionality, thereby allowing the system to handle a number of various different combination of specific design structure and scenarios and preventing the system from being limited to a single specific design structure and scenario and furthermore, one of ordinary skill in the art would recognize based on the guidelines to rationales supporting a conclusion of obviousness seen on MPEP 2143, that the modification would involve use of a simple substitution of one known element and base device (i.e. performing a process of selecting suitable cells to camp on based on a frequency band and barred cells as taught by Shih) with another known element and comparable device utilizing a known technique (i.e. performing a process of selecting suitable cells to camp on based on a frequency band and barred cells, wherein the process includes continuing to search for other cells using the frequency band when a cell is determined to be barred and unsuitable as taught by Ning) to improve the similar devices in the same way and to obtain the predictable result of the system performing a process of selecting suitable cells to camp on based on a frequency band and barred cells (i.e. as taught by both Shih & Ning) and is dependent upon the specific intended use, design incentives, needs and requirements (i.e. such as due to teachings of a known standard, current technology, conservation of resources, personal preferences, economic considerations, etc.) of the user and the system as has been established in MPEP 2144.04.
Conclusion
/MICHAEL Y MAPA/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2645