DETAILED ACTION
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted on 07/09/26 has been considered by the examiner.
Response to Amendment
The applicant has amended the following:
Claims: 21-23 have been amended.
Claims: 24-25 have not been amended.
Claims: 1-20 have been cancelled.
EXAMINER’S NOTE:
The examiner notes that the applicant’s current amendments has changed the scope of the claims and necessitated the new grounds of rejections presented herein.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claim(s) 21-25 have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 21-23 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over LEE et al. (US Patent Publication 2021/0136675 herein after referenced as Lee) in view of SHIH et al. (US Patent Publication 2018/0352491 herein after referenced as Shih).
Regarding claim 21 and claim 22, Lee discloses:
A wireless terminal communicating with an access node of a radio access network (RAN) and A method performed by a wireless terminal communicating with an access node of a radio access network (RAN), (Lee, Fig. 1 & [0057] discloses The BS (i.e. reads on access node) may include a Next Generation-Radio Access Network NG-RAN (i.e. reads on of a RAN) hereinafter interchangeably used with the 5G-RAN or the RAN, Evolved Universal Terrestrial Radio Access Network E-UTRAN, and the like. The UE 100 (i.e. reads on wireless terminal) also referred to as the terminal 100 may access the 5G core network 120 through (i.e. reads on communicating with) the RAN 1 110; Lee, [0069] discloses the UE 100 may access the AMF 121 through the RAN 1 110 and may transmit or receive signaling messages to or from a control plane of the 5G core network 120; Lee, [0193]-[0194] discloses The UE according to an embodiment of the disclosure may include a processor 820 controlling all operations of the UE, a transceiver 800 including a transmitter and a receiver, and a memory 810 and discloses the transceiver 800 may transmit or receive a signal to or from a network entity or another UE).
the RAN supporting one or more network slices, (Lee, [0090] discloses For example, the RAN may support (i.e. reads on the RAN supporting) an eMBB slice eMBB S-NSSAI (i.e. reads on one or more network slices) in a frequency spectrum of 2.6 GHz NR and a frequency spectrum of 4.9 GHz NR, and may support a URLLC slice URLLC S-NSSAI in a frequency spectrum of 4.9 GHz NR. The RAN may store and manage operating bands of n7, n41, and n90 in a 2.4 GHz spectrum, and an operating band of n79 in a 4.9 GHz spectrum, as radio frequency information used to access the eMBB S-NSSAI. Also, the RAN may store and manage an operating band of n79 in a 4.9 GHz spectrum, as radio frequency information used to access the URLLC S-NSSAI).
each of the one or more network slices providing a designated service, (Lee, [0070]-[0071] discloses For example, a network slice (i.e. reads on each of the one or more network slices) providing a voice call service (i.e. reads on providing a designated service) may have high occurrences of control plane signaling, and may consist of NFs specialized therefor. A network slice (i.e. reads on each of the one or more network slices) providing an internet data service (i.e. reads on providing a designated service) may have high occurrences of large-volume data traffic and may consist of NFs specialized therefor and discloses a single network slice may be referred to as Single-Network Slice Selection Assistance Information S-NSSAI. The S-NSSAI may consist of a value of a Slice/Service Type SST value and a value of a Slice Differentiator SD. The SST may indicate a characteristic of a service e.g., enhanced Mobile BroadBand eMBB, Internet of things IoT, Ultra-Reliable and Low-Latency Communications URLLC, vehicle-to-everything V2X, etc. supported by a slice. The value of the SD may refer to a value to be used as an additional identifier with respect to a particular service indicated by the SST).
the wireless terminal comprising: receiver circuitry configured to receive in accordance with a Radio Resource Control (RRC) protocol, system information broadcasted from the access node, the system information including (Lee, Fig. 3 & [0096] discloses referring to FIG. 3, the RAN according to an embodiment of the disclosure may transmit (i.e. reads on receive), to the UE 100, S-NSSAI information and radio frequency information to use S-NSSAI supported by the RAN. A message (i.e. reads on system information broadcasted) of the RAN (i.e. reads on from the access node) in operation 314 may be an RRC message (i.e. reads on in accordance with a RRC protocol). In this case, information of the message transmitted in operation 314 may be information related to the UE 100; Lee, [0092] discloses For example, the RAN 1 110 may add, to a SIB message, S-NSSAI A that is a slice supported by the RAN 1 110 and information about a radio frequency for using the S-NSSAI A, and may broadcast the SIB message; Lee, Fig. 1 & [0057] discloses The BS may include a Next Generation-Radio Access Network NG-RAN hereinafter interchangeably used with the 5G-RAN or the RAN, Evolved Universal Terrestrial Radio Access Network E-UTRAN, and the like; Lee, [0193]-[0194] discloses The UE according to an embodiment of the disclosure may include a processor 820 controlling all operations of the UE, a transceiver 800 including a transmitter and a receiver, and a memory 810 and discloses the transceiver 800 may transmit or receive a signal to or from a network entity or another UE).
network slice band association information that indicates an association between a plurality of network slice identifiers and a plurality of bands, (Lee, [0122] discloses The AMF 121 may transmit, to the UE 100, the generated S-NSSAI list, the information (i.e. reads on network slice band association information that indicates) about radio frequencies and/or frequencies operating bands and frequency bands (i.e. reads on a plurality of bands) available for (i.e. reads on an association between) respective S-NSSAIs (i.e. reads on a plurality of network slice identifiers), and the information about slices e.g., Configured NSSAI, Allowed NSSAI, etc. available for usage with the corresponding frequencies, which are received from the NSSF 126; Lee, [0069] discloses the UE 100 may access the AMF 121 through the RAN 1 110 and may transmit or receive signaling messages to or from a control plane of the 5G core network 120; Lee, [0071] discloses a single network slice may be referred to as Single-Network Slice Selection Assistance Information S-NSSAI. The S-NSSAI may consist of a value of a Slice/Service Type SST value and a value of a Slice Differentiator SD. The SST may indicate a characteristic of a service e.g., enhanced Mobile BroadBand eMBB, Internet of things IoT, Ultra-Reliable and Low-Latency Communications URLLC, vehicle-to-everything V2X, etc. supported by a slice. The value of the SD may refer to a value to be used as an additional identifier with respect to a particular service indicated by the SST; Lee, [0110] discloses For example, the S-NSSAI(s) and the information about radio frequencies for respectively using S-NSSAIs transmitted in operation 412 from the 5G core network 120 or at least one NF of the 5G core network 120 according to an embodiment of the disclosure to the UE 100 may include a list of S-NSSAIs and per S-NSSAI: a list of operating bands or frequency bands. The S-NSSAI(s) and the information about radio frequencies for respectively using S-NSSAIs may be included in configured NSSAI, or may be included in steering of roaming SoR).
the network slice band association information comprising a list of the plurality of network slice identifiers, each of the plurality of network slice identifiers identifying a network slice and being associated, as defined in the network slice band association information, with one or more corresponding bands; (Lee, [0122] discloses The AMF 121 may transmit, to the UE 100, the generated S-NSSAI list, the information (i.e. reads on the network slice band association information comprising and reads on and being associated, as defined in the network slice band association information) about radio frequencies and/or frequencies operating bands and frequency bands (i.e. reads on with one or more corresponding bands) available for respective S-NSSAIs (i.e. reads on a list of the plurality of network slice identifiers), and the information about slices e.g., Configured NSSAI, Allowed NSSAI, etc. available for usage with the corresponding frequencies, which are received from the NSSF 126; Lee, [0071] discloses a single network slice may be referred to as Single-Network Slice Selection Assistance Information S-NSSAI (i.e. reads on each of the plurality of network slice identifiers identifying a network slice). The S-NSSAI may consist of a value of a Slice/Service Type SST value and a value of a Slice Differentiator SD. The SST may indicate a characteristic of a service e.g., enhanced Mobile BroadBand eMBB, Internet of things IoT, Ultra-Reliable and Low-Latency Communications URLLC, vehicle-to-everything V2X, etc. supported by a slice. The value of the SD may refer to a value to be used as an additional identifier with respect to a particular service indicated by the SST; Lee, [0110] discloses For example, the S-NSSAI(s) and the information about radio frequencies for respectively using S-NSSAIs transmitted in operation 412 from the 5G core network 120 or at least one NF of the 5G core network 120 according to an embodiment of the disclosure to the UE 100 may include a list of S-NSSAIs and per S-NSSAI: a list of operating bands or frequency bands. The S-NSSAI(s) and the information about radio frequencies for respectively using S-NSSAIs may be included in configured NSSAI, or may be included in steering of roaming SoR).
and processor circuitry configured to: choose one or more network slices associated with one or more of the plurality of network slice identifiers; and perform a cell reselection procedure based on the one or more network slices and the network slice band association information, (Lee, [0111] discloses According to an embodiment of the disclosure, when the UE 100 receives information from the 5G core network 120 or at least one NF of the 5G core network 120 in operation 412, the UE 100 may select a RAN or a cell (i.e. reads on and perform a cell reselection procedure) to access, based on the received information (i.e. reads on based on the one or more network slices and the network slice band association information). For example, when a radio frequency allowed for S-NSSAI A is n1, a radio frequency allowed S-NSSAI B is n257, and radio frequencies allowed S-NSSAI C are n1 and n257, the UE 100 attempting to use S-NSSAI A (i.e. reads on choose one or more network slices associated with one or more of the plurality of network slice identifiers) and/or S-NSSAI C may access a RAN or a cell (i.e. reads on and perform a cell reselection procedure) which support a radio frequency of n1 see Table 1: UL operating band: 1920 MHz-1980 MHz, DL operating band: 2110 MHz-2170 MHz and then may request S-NSSAI A and/or S-NSSAI C Requested NSSAI; Lee, [0095] discloses The UE 100 according to an embodiment of the disclosure may store the information received from the RAN and may use the information so as to reselect the RAN and a cell at a later time; Lee, [0090] discloses The 5G system according to an embodiment of the disclosure may provide a UE with information for the UE to (re)select a cell).
wherein: each of the plurality of bands is a band symbolized by a letter "n" and a corresponding number, the cell reselection procedure is performed on one or more of the plurality of bands, (Lee, [0111] discloses According to an embodiment of the disclosure, when the UE 100 receives information from the 5G core network 120 or at least one NF of the 5G core network 120 in operation 412, the UE 100 may select a RAN or a cell to access, based on the received information. For example, when a radio frequency allowed for S-NSSAI A is n1 (i.e. reads on each of the plurality of bands is a band symbolized by a letter "n" and a corresponding number), a radio frequency allowed S-NSSAI B is n257, and radio frequencies allowed S-NSSAI C are n1 and n257, the UE 100 attempting to use S-NSSAI A and/or S-NSSAI C may access a RAN or a cell which support a radio frequency of n1 (i.e. reads on the cell reselection procedure is performed on one or more of the plurality of bands) see Table 1: UL operating band: 1920 MHz-1980 MHz, DL operating band: 2110 MHz-2170 MHz and then may request S-NSSAI A and/or S-NSSAI C Requested NSSAI; Lee, [0110] discloses Information about radio frequencies for respectively using S-NSSAIs transmitted in operation 412 from the 5G core network 120 or at least one NF of the 5G core network 120 according to an embodiment of the disclosure to the UE 100 may include at least some of frequencies exemplified in Table 1, Table 2, or Table 3; Lee, [0078] discloses Table 1 illustrates examples of operating bands, indicated in mega-Hertz MHZ for low and high uplink frequencies F.sub.UL_low, F.sub.UL_high and low and high downlink frequencies F.sub.DL_low, F.sub.DL_high, of Frequency Range 1 FR1 from among NR frequencies. NR operating bands may be respectively referenced by numbers, starting n, such as n1 through n90).
the network slice band association information indicating that the one or more of the plurality of the bands are associated with the one or more of the plurality of network slice identifiers, (Lee, [0122] discloses The AMF 121 may transmit, to the UE 100, the generated S-NSSAI list, the information (i.e. reads on the network slice band association information indicating that) about radio frequencies and/or frequencies operating bands and frequency bands (i.e. reads on the one or more of the plurality of the bands) available for (i.e. reads on are associated with) respective S-NSSAIs (i.e. reads on the one or more of the plurality of network slice identifiers), and the information about slices e.g., Configured NSSAI, Allowed NSSAI, etc. available for usage with the corresponding frequencies, which are received from the NSSF 126; Lee, [0071] discloses a single network slice may be referred to as Single-Network Slice Selection Assistance Information S-NSSAI. The S-NSSAI may consist of a value of a Slice/Service Type SST value and a value of a Slice Differentiator SD. The SST may indicate a characteristic of a service e.g., enhanced Mobile BroadBand eMBB, Internet of things IoT, Ultra-Reliable and Low-Latency Communications URLLC, vehicle-to-everything V2X, etc. supported by a slice. The value of the SD may refer to a value to be used as an additional identifier with respect to a particular service indicated by the SST).
in the cell reselection procedure, the processor circuitry is configured to find, based on the network slice band association information, a cell on a band associated with the one or more network slices, (Lee, [0111] discloses According to an embodiment of the disclosure, when the UE 100 receives information from the 5G core network 120 or at least one NF of the 5G core network 120 in operation 412, the UE 100 may select a RAN or a cell (i.e. reads on in the cell reselection procedure) to access, based on the received information (i.e. reads on based on the network slice band association information). For example, when a radio frequency allowed for S-NSSAI A is n1, a radio frequency allowed S-NSSAI B is n257, and radio frequencies allowed S-NSSAI C are n1 and n257, the UE 100 attempting to use S-NSSAI A and/or S-NSSAI C (i.e. reads on associated with the one or more network slices) may access a RAN or a cell (i.e. reads on find a cell) which support a radio frequency of n1 (i.e. reads on a band) see Table 1: UL operating band: 1920 MHz-1980 MHz, DL operating band: 2110 MHz-2170 MHz and then may request S-NSSAI A and/or S-NSSAI C Requested NSSAI).
Lee discloses that a mobile device attempts to access a cell that supports a frequency band for a specific slice but fails to explicitly recite that a determination of whether the cell is barred is made after locating the cell and therefore fails to disclose “and after the cell is found, the processor circuitry is further configured to determine whether the cell is barred for the one or more network slices.”
In a related field of endeavor, Shih discloses:
and after the cell is found, the processor circuitry is further configured to determine whether the cell is barred for the one or more network slices (Shih, [0156] discloses the UE is preconfigured with a list of barred cells (i.e. reads on cell is barred) for each specific network slice (i.e. reads on for the one or more network slices) and the list may be preconfigured when the UE receives the broadcast information from NR gNBs/cells and eLTE eNBs/cells about their network slice supports and with the list, after the UE may determine the PLMNs and performs measurement (i.e. reads on after the cell is found), the suitable cells to camp on can be selected (i.e. reads on determine) based on the list of barred cells (i.e. reads on whether the cell is barred for the one or more network slices); Shih, [0154]-[0155] discloses cell (re)selection based on network slice, and the UE's NAS is preconfigured to have the information of which RAT/frequency band supports the network slice or even specific network slice/service and the UE's NAS or AS may identify the required/requested network slice/service and/or the network slice support via slice IDs and/or NS Indication and/or Slice Bitmap and the UE may search the RATs / frequency bands on which the required/requested network slice/service and/or network slice capability are supported and after collecting the slicing information, the AS forwards the information to the NAS, which may decide which RATs/frequency bands are appropriate and the NAS may notify its decision to the AS, and perform RRC connection establishment with the corresponding RAT/frequency and the AS may filter out the RATs/frequency bands with signal quality below a predetermined threshold and discloses UE Performs Cell (Re)Selection and Camps to a RAT that Supports Required Network Slice Based on a List of Barred Cells; Shih, [0152] discloses the UE may camp or select / reselect a cell of a suitable RAT that supports the required/requested network slice / service).
Therefore, at the time before the effective filing date of the invention, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to modify the invention of Lee to incorporate the teachings of Shih for the purpose of providing the system with a means to ensure that suitable cells to camp on can be selected (Shih, [0156]) and for the purpose of providing the system with a means to making the system more dynamic and adaptable by providing the system with various different alternatives in design and functionality, thereby allowing the system to handle a number of various different combination of specific design structure and scenarios and preventing the system from being limited to a single specific design structure and scenario (Lee, [0211]-[0212]) and furthermore, one of ordinary skill in the art would recognize based on the guidelines to rationales supporting a conclusion of obviousness seen on MPEP 2143, that the modification would involve use of a simple substitution of one known element and base device (i.e. performing a process of a UE performing cell (re)selection based on information indicating frequency bands that supports a specific slice as taught by Lee) with another known element and comparable device utilizing a known technique (i.e. performing a process of a UE performing cell (re)selection based on information indicating frequency bands that supports a specific slice, wherein a determination of whether a cell is barred is made after locating the cell as taught by Shih) to improve the similar devices in the same way and to obtain the predictable result of the system performing a process of a UE performing cell (re)selection based on information indicating frequency bands that supports a specific slice (i.e. as taught by both Lee & Shih) and is dependent upon the specific intended use, design incentives, needs and requirements (i.e. such as due to teachings of a known standard, current technology, conservation of resources, personal preferences, economic considerations, etc.) of the user and the system as has been established in MPEP 2144.04.
Regarding claim 23, Lee discloses:
An access node of a radio access network (RAN) communicating with a wireless terminal, (Lee, Fig. 1 & [0057] discloses The BS (i.e. reads on access node) may include a Next Generation-Radio Access Network NG-RAN (i.e. reads on of a RAN) hereinafter interchangeably used with the 5G-RAN or the RAN, Evolved Universal Terrestrial Radio Access Network E-UTRAN, and the like. The UE 100 (i.e. reads on wireless terminal) also referred to as the terminal 100 may access the 5G core network 120 through (i.e. reads on communicating with) the RAN 1 110; Lee, [0069] discloses the UE 100 may access the AMF 121 through the RAN 1 110 and may transmit or receive signaling messages to or from a control plane of the 5G core network 120; Lee, [0198]-[0199] discloses The network entity according to an embodiment of the disclosure may include a processor 920 controlling all operations of the network entity, a transceiver 900 including a transmitter and a receiver, and a memory 910 and discloses According to an embodiment of the disclosure, the transceiver 900 may transmit or receive a signal to or from at least one of other network entities or a UE).
the RAN supporting one or more network slices, (Lee, [0090] discloses For example, the RAN may support (i.e. reads on the RAN supporting) an eMBB slice eMBB S-NSSAI (i.e. reads on one or more network slices) in a frequency spectrum of 2.6 GHz NR and a frequency spectrum of 4.9 GHz NR, and may support a URLLC slice URLLC S-NSSAI in a frequency spectrum of 4.9 GHz NR. The RAN may store and manage operating bands of n7, n41, and n90 in a 2.4 GHz spectrum, and an operating band of n79 in a 4.9 GHz spectrum, as radio frequency information used to access the eMBB S-NSSAI. Also, the RAN may store and manage an operating band of n79 in a 4.9 GHz spectrum, as radio frequency information used to access the URLLC S-NSSAI).
each of the one or more network slices providing a designated service, (Lee, [0070]-[0071] discloses For example, a network slice (i.e. reads on each of the one or more network slices) providing a voice call service (i.e. reads on providing a designated service) may have high occurrences of control plane signaling, and may consist of NFs specialized therefor. A network slice (i.e. reads on each of the one or more network slices) providing an internet data service (i.e. reads on providing a designated service) may have high occurrences of large-volume data traffic and may consist of NFs specialized therefor and discloses a single network slice may be referred to as Single-Network Slice Selection Assistance Information S-NSSAI. The S-NSSAI may consist of a value of a Slice/Service Type SST value and a value of a Slice Differentiator SD. The SST may indicate a characteristic of a service e.g., enhanced Mobile BroadBand eMBB, Internet of things IoT, Ultra-Reliable and Low-Latency Communications URLLC, vehicle-to-everything V2X, etc. supported by a slice. The value of the SD may refer to a value to be used as an additional identifier with respect to a particular service indicated by the SST).
the access node comprising: processor circuitry configured to generate system information that includes (Lee, [0092] discloses For example, the RAN 1 110 (i.e. reads on the access node) may add, to a SIB message (i.e. reads on generate system information), S-NSSAI A that is a slice supported by the RAN 1 110 and information about a radio frequency for using the S-NSSAI A, and may broadcast the SIB message; Lee, Fig. 1 & [0057] discloses The BS may include a Next Generation-Radio Access Network NG-RAN hereinafter interchangeably used with the 5G-RAN or the RAN, Evolved Universal Terrestrial Radio Access Network E-UTRAN, and the like; Lee, [0198]-[0199] discloses The network entity according to an embodiment of the disclosure may include a processor 920 controlling all operations of the network entity, a transceiver 900 including a transmitter and a receiver, and a memory 910 and discloses According to an embodiment of the disclosure, the transceiver 900 may transmit or receive a signal to or from at least one of other network entities or a UE).
network slice band association information indicating an association between a plurality of network slice identifiers and a plurality of bands, (Lee, [0122] discloses The AMF 121 may transmit, to the UE 100, the generated S-NSSAI list, the information (i.e. reads on the system information that includes network slice band association information that indicating) about radio frequencies and/or frequencies operating bands and frequency bands (i.e. reads on a plurality of bands) available for (i.e. reads on association between) respective S-NSSAIs (i.e. reads on a plurality of network slice identifiers), and the information about slices e.g., Configured NSSAI, Allowed NSSAI, etc. available for usage with the corresponding frequencies, which are received from the NSSF 126; Lee, [0069] discloses the UE 100 may access the AMF 121 through the RAN 1 110 and may transmit or receive signaling messages to or from a control plane of the 5G core network 120; Lee, [0071] discloses a single network slice may be referred to as Single-Network Slice Selection Assistance Information S-NSSAI. The S-NSSAI may consist of a value of a Slice/Service Type SST value and a value of a Slice Differentiator SD. The SST may indicate a characteristic of a service e.g., enhanced Mobile BroadBand eMBB, Internet of things IoT, Ultra-Reliable and Low-Latency Communications URLLC, vehicle-to-everything V2X, etc. supported by a slice. The value of the SD may refer to a value to be used as an additional identifier with respect to a particular service indicated by the SST; Lee, [0110] discloses For example, the S-NSSAI(s) and the information about radio frequencies for respectively using S-NSSAIs transmitted in operation 412 from the 5G core network 120 or at least one NF of the 5G core network 120 according to an embodiment of the disclosure to the UE 100 may include a list of S-NSSAIs and per S-NSSAI: a list of operating bands or frequency bands. The S-NSSAI(s) and the information about radio frequencies for respectively using S-NSSAIs may be included in configured NSSAI, or may be included in steering of roaming SoR).
the network slice band association information comprising a list of the plurality of network slice identifiers, each of the plurality of network slice identifiers identifying a network slice and being associated, as defined in the network slice band association information, with one or more corresponding bands; (Lee, [0122] discloses The AMF 121 may transmit, to the UE 100, the generated S-NSSAI list, the information (i.e. reads on the network slice band association information comprising and reads on and being associated, as defined in the network slice band association information) about radio frequencies and/or frequencies operating bands and frequency bands (i.e. reads on with one or more corresponding bands) available for respective S-NSSAIs (i.e. reads on a list of the plurality of network slice identifiers), and the information about slices e.g., Configured NSSAI, Allowed NSSAI, etc. available for usage with the corresponding frequencies, which are received from the NSSF 126; Lee, [0071] discloses a single network slice may be referred to as Single-Network Slice Selection Assistance Information S-NSSAI (i.e. reads on each of the plurality of network slice identifiers identifying a network slice). The S-NSSAI may consist of a value of a Slice/Service Type SST value and a value of a Slice Differentiator SD. The SST may indicate a characteristic of a service e.g., enhanced Mobile BroadBand eMBB, Internet of things IoT, Ultra-Reliable and Low-Latency Communications URLLC, vehicle-to-everything V2X, etc. supported by a slice. The value of the SD may refer to a value to be used as an additional identifier with respect to a particular service indicated by the SST; Lee, [0110] discloses For example, the S-NSSAI(s) and the information about radio frequencies for respectively using S-NSSAIs transmitted in operation 412 from the 5G core network 120 or at least one NF of the 5G core network 120 according to an embodiment of the disclosure to the UE 100 may include a list of S-NSSAIs and per S-NSSAI: a list of operating bands or frequency bands. The S-NSSAI(s) and the information about radio frequencies for respectively using S-NSSAIs may be included in configured NSSAI, or may be included in steering of roaming SoR).
and transmitter circuitry configured to broadcast the system information in accordance with a Radio Resource Control (RRC) protocol, (Lee, Fig. 3 & [0096] discloses referring to FIG. 3, the RAN according to an embodiment of the disclosure may transmit (i.e. reads on broadcast), to the UE 100, S-NSSAI information and radio frequency information to use S-NSSAI supported by the RAN. A message (i.e. reads on system information) of the RAN in operation 314 may be an RRC message (i.e. reads on in accordance with a RRC protocol). In this case, information of the message transmitted in operation 314 may be information related to the UE 100; Lee, [0092] discloses For example, the RAN 1 110 may add, to a SIB message, S-NSSAI A that is a slice supported by the RAN 1 110 and information about a radio frequency for using the S-NSSAI A, and may broadcast the SIB message; Lee, Fig. 1 & [0057] discloses The BS may include a Next Generation-Radio Access Network NG-RAN hereinafter interchangeably used with the 5G-RAN or the RAN, Evolved Universal Terrestrial Radio Access Network E-UTRAN, and the like; Lee, [0198]-[0199] discloses The network entity according to an embodiment of the disclosure may include a processor 920 controlling all operations of the network entity, a transceiver 900 including a transmitter and a receiver, and a memory 910 and discloses According to an embodiment of the disclosure, the transceiver 900 may transmit or receive a signal to or from at least one of other network entities or a UE).
wherein each of the plurality of bands is a band symbolized by a letter "n" and a corresponding number, (Lee, [0111] discloses According to an embodiment of the disclosure, when the UE 100 receives information from the 5G core network 120 or at least one NF of the 5G core network 120 in operation 412, the UE 100 may select a RAN or a cell to access, based on the received information. For example, when a radio frequency allowed for S-NSSAI A is n1 (i.e. reads on each of the plurality of bands is a band symbolized by a letter "n" and a corresponding number), a radio frequency allowed S-NSSAI B is n257, and radio frequencies allowed S-NSSAI C are n1 and n257, the UE 100 attempting to use S-NSSAI A and/or S-NSSAI C may access a RAN or a cell which support a radio frequency of n1 see Table 1: UL operating band: 1920 MHz-1980 MHz, DL operating band: 2110 MHz-2170 MHz and then may request S-NSSAI A and/or S-NSSAI C Requested NSSAI; Lee, [0110] discloses Information about radio frequencies for respectively using S-NSSAIs transmitted in operation 412 from the 5G core network 120 or at least one NF of the 5G core network 120 according to an embodiment of the disclosure to the UE 100 may include at least some of frequencies exemplified in Table 1, Table 2, or Table 3; Lee, [0078] discloses Table 1 illustrates examples of operating bands, indicated in mega-Hertz MHZ for low and high uplink frequencies F.sub.UL_low, F.sub.UL_high and low and high downlink frequencies F.sub.DL_low, F.sub.DL_high, of Frequency Range 1 FR1 from among NR frequencies. NR operating bands may be respectively referenced by numbers, starting n, such as n1 through n90).
and the network slice band association information is information which causes the wireless terminal to: after the wireless terminal chooses one or more network slices associated with one or more of the plurality of network slice identifiers, perform a cell reselection procedure based on the one or more network slices and the network slice band association information, (Lee, [0111] discloses According to an embodiment of the disclosure, when the UE 100 receives information from the 5G core network 120 or at least one NF of the 5G core network 120 in operation 412, the UE 100 may select a RAN or a cell (i.e. reads on and perform a cell reselection procedure) to access, based on the received information (i.e. reads on the network slice band association information is information which causes and reads on based on the one or more network slices and the network slice band association information). For example, when a radio frequency allowed for S-NSSAI A is n1, a radio frequency allowed S-NSSAI B is n257, and radio frequencies allowed S-NSSAI C are n1 and n257, the UE 100 (i.e. reads on after the wireless terminal) attempting to use S-NSSAI A (i.e. reads on chooses one or more network slices associated with one or more of the plurality of network slice identifiers) and/or S-NSSAI C may access a RAN or a cell (i.e. reads on and perform a cell reselection procedure) which support a radio frequency of n1 see Table 1: UL operating band: 1920 MHz-1980 MHz, DL operating band: 2110 MHz-2170 MHz and then may request S-NSSAI A and/or S-NSSAI C Requested NSSAI; Lee, [0095] discloses The UE 100 according to an embodiment of the disclosure may store the information received from the RAN and may use the information so as to reselect the RAN and a cell at a later time; Lee, [0090] discloses The 5G system according to an embodiment of the disclosure may provide a UE with information for the UE to (re)select a cell).
in the cell reselection procedure, find, based on the network slice band association information, a cell on a band associated with the one or more network slices, more of the plurality of bands (Lee, [0111] discloses According to an embodiment of the disclosure, when the UE 100 receives information from the 5G core network 120 or at least one NF of the 5G core network 120 in operation 412, the UE 100 may select a RAN or a cell (i.e. reads on in the cell reselection procedure) to access, based on the received information (i.e. reads on based on the network slice band association information). For example, when a radio frequency allowed for S-NSSAI A is n1, a radio frequency allowed S-NSSAI B is n257, and radio frequencies allowed S-NSSAI C are n1 and n257, the UE 100 attempting to use S-NSSAI A and/or S-NSSAI C (i.e. reads on associated with the one or more network slices) may access a RAN or a cell (i.e. reads on find a cell and reads on wherein the cell reselection procedure is performed) which support a radio frequency of n1 (i.e. reads on a band and reads on on one or more of the plurality of bands) see Table 1: UL operating band: 1920 MHz-1980 MHz, DL operating band: 2110 MHz-2170 MHz and then may request S-NSSAI A and/or S-NSSAI C Requested NSSAI).
the network slice band association information indicating that the one or more of the plurality of bands are associated with the one or more of the plurality of network slice identifiers (Lee, [0122] discloses The AMF 121 may transmit, to the UE 100, the generated S-NSSAI list, the information (i.e. reads on the network slice band association information indicating that) about radio frequencies and/or frequencies operating bands and frequency bands (i.e. reads on the one or more of the plurality of the bands) available for (i.e. reads on are associated with) respective S-NSSAIs (i.e. reads on the one or more of the plurality of network slice identifiers), and the information about slices e.g., Configured NSSAI, Allowed NSSAI, etc. available for usage with the corresponding frequencies, which are received from the NSSF 126; Lee, [0071] discloses a single network slice may be referred to as Single-Network Slice Selection Assistance Information S-NSSAI. The S-NSSAI may consist of a value of a Slice/Service Type SST value and a value of a Slice Differentiator SD. The SST may indicate a characteristic of a service e.g., enhanced Mobile BroadBand eMBB, Internet of things IoT, Ultra-Reliable and Low-Latency Communications URLLC, vehicle-to-everything V2X, etc. supported by a slice. The value of the SD may refer to a value to be used as an additional identifier with respect to a particular service indicated by the SST).
Lee discloses that a mobile device attempts to access a cell that supports a frequency band for a specific slice but fails to explicitly recite that a determination of whether the cell is barred is made after locating the cell and therefore fails to disclose “and after the cell is found, determine whether the cell is barred for the one or more network slices”.
In a related field of endeavor, Shih discloses:
and after the cell is found, determine whether the cell is barred for the one or more network slices, (Shih, [0156] discloses the UE is preconfigured with a list of barred cells (i.e. reads on cell is barred) for each specific network slice (i.e. reads on for the one or more network slices) and the list may be preconfigured when the UE receives the broadcast information from NR gNBs/cells and eLTE eNBs/cells about their network slice supports and with the list, after the UE may determine the PLMNs and performs measurement (i.e. reads on after the cell is found), the suitable cells to camp on can be selected (i.e. reads on determine) based on the list of barred cells (i.e. reads on whether the cell is barred for the one or more network slices); Shih, [0154]-[0155] discloses cell (re)selection based on network slice, and the UE's NAS is preconfigured to have the information of which RAT/frequency band supports the network slice or even specific network slice/service and the UE's NAS or AS may identify the required/requested network slice/service and/or the network slice support via slice IDs and/or NS Indication and/or Slice Bitmap and the UE may search the RATs / frequency bands on which the required/requested network slice/service and/or network slice capability are supported and after collecting the slicing information, the AS forwards the information to the NAS, which may decide which RATs/frequency bands are appropriate and the NAS may notify its decision to the AS, and perform RRC connection establishment with the corresponding RAT/frequency and the AS may filter out the RATs/frequency bands with signal quality below a predetermined threshold and discloses UE Performs Cell (Re)Selection and Camps to a RAT that Supports Required Network Slice Based on a List of Barred Cells; Shih, [0152] discloses the UE may camp or select / reselect a cell of a suitable RAT that supports the required/requested network slice / service).
Therefore, at the time before the effective filing date of the invention, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to modify the invention of Lee to incorporate the teachings of Shih for the purpose of providing the system with a means to ensure that suitable cells to camp on can be selected (Shih, [0156]) and for the purpose of providing the system with a means to making the system more dynamic and adaptable by providing the system with various different alternatives in design and functionality, thereby allowing the system to handle a number of various different combination of specific design structure and scenarios and preventing the system from being limited to a single specific design structure and scenario (Lee, [0211]-[0212]) and furthermore, one of ordinary skill in the art would recognize based on the guidelines to rationales supporting a conclusion of obviousness seen on MPEP 2143, that the modification would involve use of a simple substitution of one known element and base device (i.e. performing a process of a UE performing cell (re)selection based on information indicating frequency bands that supports a specific slice as taught by Lee) with another known element and comparable device utilizing a known technique (i.e. performing a process of a UE performing cell (re)selection based on information indicating frequency bands that supports a specific slice, wherein a determination of whether a cell is barred is made after locating the cell as taught by Shih) to improve the similar devices in the same way and to obtain the predictable result of the system performing a process of a UE performing cell (re)selection based on information indicating frequency bands that supports a specific slice (i.e. as taught by both Lee & Shih) and is dependent upon the specific intended use, design incentives, needs and requirements (i.e. such as due to teachings of a known standard, current technology, conservation of resources, personal preferences, economic considerations, etc.) of the user and the system as has been established in MPEP 2144.04.
Claim(s) 24-25 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over LEE et al. (US Patent Publication 2021/0136675 herein after referenced as Lee) in view of SHIH et al. (US Patent Publication 2018/0352491 herein after referenced as Shih) and further in view of Bansal et al. (US Patent Publication 2015/0163726 herein after referenced as Bansal).
Regarding claim 24 and claim 25, Lee in view of Shih discloses:
The wireless terminal according to claim 21, wherein the processor circuitry is further configured to, (see claim 21) and The access node according to claim 23, wherein the network slice band association information is information which further causes the wireless terminal to, (see claim 23).
Lee in view of Shih discloses selecting suitable cells to camp on based on a frequency band and barred cells but fails to explicitly disclose that the UE continues to search for other cell in a band after a determination that a cell is barred and therefore fails to disclose “based on a determination that the cell is barred for the one or more network slices, look for other cells in a plurality of bands including the band of the cell”.
In a related field of endeavor, Bansal discloses:
based on a determination that the cell is barred for the one or more network slices, look for other cells in a plurality of bands including the band of the cell (Bansal, [0027] discloses cell selection component 1006 of UE 1002 may include RAT/frequency band scanning component 1010 that, while a manual PLMN search is ongoing at UE 1002, scans one or more frequency bands that are supported by UE 1002 in order to determine an available cell and when a cell is determined to be available e.g., there is a good signal/energy available on the cell, cell selection component 1006 may determine if the available cell is suitable e.g., the UE is not barred from the available cell, or the available cell is reserved for the UE and upon determining a suitable cell and before continuing the manual PLMN search on the remaining bands or RATS; Bansal, [0039]-[0040] discloses cell selection component 1006 of UE 1002 may determine whether the available cell is suitable based on the SIB or the SI, e.g., whether the available cell is reserved for UE 1002 or whether UE 1002 is barred from the available cell and discloses when the available cell is not suitable, resuming the manual PLMN search; Bansal, [0020] discloses while the manual PLMN search is ongoing, the UE may consider any suitable cell for camping and hence, the UE may come back in service quickly if there is a suitable cell available during the manual PLMN search, and may then perform activities such as calls or short message services SMSs and accordingly, the present aspects may improve user experience, as a user may prefer to avoid staying OOS or missing mobile terminated calls or SMSs).
Therefore, at the time before the effective filing date of the invention, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to modify the invention of Lee in view of Shih to incorporate the teachings of Bansal for the purpose of providing the system with a means to enable the UE to come back in service quickly which improve user experience, as a user may prefer to avoid staying OOS or missing mobile terminated calls or SMSs (Bansal, [0020]) and for the purpose of providing the system with a means to making the system more dynamic and adaptable by providing the system with various different alternatives in design and functionality, thereby allowing the system to handle a number of various different combination of specific design structure and scenarios and preventing the system from being limited to a single specific design structure and scenario (Lee, [0211]-[0212]) and furthermore, one of ordinary skill in the art would recognize based on the guidelines to rationales supporting a conclusion of obviousness seen on MPEP 2143, that the modification would involve use of a simple substitution of one known element and base device (i.e. performing a process of selecting suitable cells to camp on based on a frequency band and barred cells as taught by Shih) with another known element and comparable device utilizing a known technique (i.e. performing a process of selecting suitable cells to camp on based on a frequency band and barred cells, wherein the process includes continuing to search for other cells using the frequency band when a cell is determined to be barred and unsuitable as taught by Bansal) to improve the similar devices in the same way and to obtain the predictable result of the system performing a process of selecting suitable cells to camp on based on a frequency band and barred cells (i.e. as taught by both Shih & Bansal) and is dependent upon the specific intended use, design incentives, needs and requirements (i.e. such as due to teachings of a known standard, current technology, conservation of resources, personal preferences, economic considerations, etc.) of the user and the system as has been established in MPEP 2144.04.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/MICHAEL Y MAPA/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2645