DETAILED ACTION
FLOOR CLOTH FOR VACUUM CLEANER
Response to Amendment
The amendment filed 10-31-2025 has been entered. Claims 1-3,5-9,11-25,27-28 are currently pending and have been examined. The previous rejection has been updated due to applicant’s amendments.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 10-31-2025 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
Regarding applicant's argument prior art Hong fails to teach a side cleaning part, because it cannot press and wipe the surface.
Examiner respectfully disagrees, prior art Hong teaches a cleaner pad that includes side cleaning part (180), where the sole purpose of being added is to increase the cleaning performance, and cleaning range (see Hong “Since the twisted fiber part 180 has increased flexibility, as shown in detail in FIG. 13, when the obstacle such as the wall B is cleaned, the twisted fiber part 180 may be flexibly introduced into the obstacle structure to perform cleaning. In addition, there is an effect of increasing the cleaning performance, there is an effect of increasing the cleaning efficiency of the range of the cleaning area that can be cleaned. In addition, the twisted fiber unit 180 according to the present embodiment is provided as a loop type twisted fiber unit 180 has an advantage that the cleaning efficiency is increased because less interference between the plurality of fiber units.”), for element 180 to perform this function it would need to able to wipe the surface to remove dirty particles from the floor.
Additionally, Applicant's arguments filed 10-31-2025 with respect to the rejection(s) of claim(s) 1 and 23, 24 their dependent claims under 35 U.S.C.102 and 35 U.S.C.103 have been fully considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection (as necessitated by amendment) relies on a different combination of prior art references, not applied in the prior rejection of record.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-2,5,7-8,11-22,23-25,27 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Choi (KR20170043227A) in view of Hong (KR102010829B1).
Regarding claim 1, Choi teaches a surface cleaning part (30, figure 4) configured to contact a surface; a liquid absorbing part (23, figure 3) stacked on the surface cleaning part, wherein the liquid absorbing part is configured to absorb liquid and provide the liquid to the surface cleaning part: and a coupling part (271, figure 3) having a ring shape (figure 2) to surround the periphery of the surface cleaning part and a periphery of the liquid absorbing part (23, figure 3).
Choi fails to teach a side cleaning part that protrudes outward from a periphery of the surface cleaning part, wherein the side cleaning part is inclined toward the surface; wherein the side cleaning part comprises: a base member stacked on a first side of the coupling part; and a plurality of cleaning members each fastened in a loop shape along a periphery of the base member.
Hong teaches a mop that includes a side cleaning part (180, figure 12) that protrudes outward from a periphery of a surface cleaning part (130, figure 12), wherein the side cleaning part is inclined toward the surface; a base member (160, figure 12) stacked on a first side of the coupling part; and a plurality of cleaning members (181 and 182, figures 11- 13) each fastened in a loop shape along a periphery of the base member.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before effective filing date to have modified Hong to have a side cleaning part comprises: a base member stacked on a first side of the coupling part; and a plurality of cleaning members each fastened in a loop shape along a periphery of the base member, based on the teachings of Hong. This modification would help increase the cleaning performance (see Hong “In addition, there is an effect of increasing the cleaning performance, there is an effect of increasing the cleaning efficiency of the range of the cleaning area that can be cleaned”).
Regarding claim 2, modified Choi teaches wherein the side cleaning part (see Hong 180, figure 12) is fastened to the cleaning part by a stitching (see Hong annotated figure below).
Regarding claim 5, modified Choi teaches wherein the base member (see Hong 160, figures 10-12) is fastened to the coupling part by the stitching, and wherein each of the plurality of cleaning members (see Hong 181 and 182) is fastened to the periphery of the base member and radially inclined toward the surface (see figures 10-12 of Hong).
Regarding claim 7, modified Choi teaches wherein the side cleaning part (see Hong 180, figures 10- 12) is configured such that the plurality of cleaning members are stacked on each other at different stages along the periphery of the base member (see Hong 160, figures 10- 12), and wherein each of the stacked cleaning members is fastened to the base member.
Regarding claim 8, modified Choi teaches wherein the side cleaning part (see Hong 180, figures 10- 12) is configured such that the plurality of cleaning members is stacked on each other at different stages along the periphery of the base member, wherein each of the stacked cleaning members is fastened to the base member, and wherein a gap (see hong figures 10-12)between the stacked cleaning members is greater in a radial direction away from the base member.
Regarding claim 11, modified Choi teaches the liquid absorbing part (see Choi 23, figure 3) is fastened to the coupling part by a stitching.
Regarding claim 12, modified Choi teaches a liquid supply part (see Choi 22, figure 3) stacked on the liquid absorbing part (see Choi 23, figure 3), wherein the liquid supply part is configured to absorb liquid and to provide the liquid to the liquid absorbing part.
Regarding claim 13, modified Choi teaches wherein the coupling part (see Choi 271, figures 2-4) surrounds part of the liquid supply part (see Choi 22, figure 3) and the liquid absorbing part (see Choi 23, figure 3) , and wherein the liquid supply part is fastened to the coupling part by the stitching. (see Choi figures 2-4 and “a sponge layer, a protective monolayer, and an end portion of the velcro monolayer, respectively, by a sewing operation so as to be stitched on the surface of the fabric monolayer and the back of the velcro monolayer, A sponge layer, a protective monolayer, and a rod portion for fixing the velcro monolayer; And a buffer space formed between the edge of the fabric monolayer, the sponge layer, the protection monolayer, the velcro monolayer, and the installation portion.”)
Regarding claim 14, modified Choi teaches wherein the liquid absorbing part (see Choi 23, figure 3) has a shape that includes a stitching area (see annotated figure below) at an outer periphery of the liquid absorbing part and a cleaning area (see annotated figure below) that is radially inside of the stitching area, wherein the coupling part ((see Choi 271, figure 3) surrounds part of the stitching area, wherein the cleaning area has a larger thickness than the stitching area, and wherein the cleaning area is configured to move the surface cleaning part to be in closer to the surface (see annotated figure below).
Regarding claim 15, modified Choi teaches an attachment part (see Choi 31, figure 3) stacked on the liquid supply part, wherein the attachment part is configured to attach to a rotary plate of the cleaner.
Regarding claim 16, modified Choi teaches wherein the coupling part (see Choi 271, figure 3) surrounds part of the attachment part (see Choi 31, figure 3) and the liquid supply part (see Choi 22, figure 3) and wherein the attachment part is fastened to the coupling part by the stitching.
Regarding claim 17, modified Choi teaches a liquid supply part (see Choi 22, figure 3) stacked on the liquid absorbing part, wherein the liquid supply part is configured to absorb liquid from the cleaner and to provide the liquid to the liquid absorbing part; and
an attachment part (see Choi 22, figure 4) stacked on the liquid supply part, wherein the attachment part is configured to attach to a rotary plate of the cleaner.
Regarding claim 18, modified Choi teaches wherein a first auxiliary stitching is fastened to a central area of each of the liquid supply part, the liquid absorbing part, and the surface cleaning part. (see Choi figures 2-4 and “a sponge layer, a protective monolayer, and an end portion of the velcro monolayer, respectively, by a sewing operation so as to be stitched on the surface of the fabric monolayer and the back of the velcro monolayer, A sponge layer, a protective monolayer, and a rod portion for fixing the velcro monolayer; And a buffer space formed between the edge of the fabric monolayer, the sponge layer, the protection monolayer, the velcro monolayer, and the installation portion.”)
Regarding claim 19, modified Choi teaches wherein the first auxiliary stitching is disposed around central openings of each of the liquid supply part, the liquid absorbing part, and the surface cleaning part. (See Choi , figures 2-4“a sponge layer, a protective monolayer, and an end portion of the velcro monolayer, respectively, by a sewing operation so as to be stitched on the surface of the fabric monolayer and the back of the velcro monolayer, A sponge layer, a protective monolayer, and a rod portion for fixing the velcro monolayer; And a buffer space formed between the edge of the fabric monolayer, the sponge layer, the protection monolayer, the velcro monolayer, and the installation portion.”)
Regarding claim 20, modified Choi teaches a second auxiliary stitching is to fasten to a central area of the attachment part. (See Choi , figures 2-4“a sponge layer, a protective monolayer, and an end portion of the velcro monolayer, respectively, by a sewing operation so as to be stitched on the surface of the fabric monolayer and the back of the velcro monolayer, A sponge layer, a protective monolayer, and a rod portion for fixing the velcro monolayer; And a buffer space formed between the edge of the fabric monolayer, the sponge layer, the protection monolayer, the velcro monolayer, and the installation portion.”)
Regarding claim 21, modified Choi teaches wherein the second auxiliary
stitching is disposed around a central opening of the attachment part, and
penetrates the liquid supply part, the liquid absorbing part, and the surface cleaning part. (See Choi , figures 2-4“a sponge layer, a protective monolayer, and an end portion of the velcro monolayer, respectively, by a sewing operation so as to be stitched on the surface of the fabric monolayer and the back of the velcro monolayer, A sponge layer, a protective monolayer, and a rod portion for fixing the velcro monolayer; And a buffer space formed between the edge of the fabric monolayer, the sponge layer, the protection monolayer, the velcro monolayer, and the installation portion.”)
Regarding claim 22, modified Choi teaches a plurality of pairs of the cleaning members (see Hong 180, figures 11-13) are disposed along the periphery of the surface cleaning part, wherein each pair includes two stacked cleaning members, wherein the
two stacked cleaning members (see Hong 181 and 182, figures 11-13) are spaced apart from each other at an outer side thereof, and wherein one of the two cleaning members is inclined downward such that a lower end of each of the cleaning member is lower than the surface cleaning part.
Regarding claim 23, Choi teaches a surface cleaning part (30, figure 4) configured to contact a surface; a liquid absorbing part (23, figure 3) stacked on the surface cleaning part, wherein the liquid absorbing part is configured to absorb liquid and provide the liquid to the surface cleaning part: and a coupling part (271, figure 3) having a ring shape (figure 2) to surround the periphery of the surface cleaning part and a periphery of the liquid absorbing part (23, figure 3).
Choi fails to teach a side cleaning part that protrudes outward from the surface cleaning part, wherein the side cleaning part is inclined downward such that an end of the side cleaning part is lower than the surface cleaning part; , wherein the side cleaning part comprises: a base member stacked on a first side of the coupling part: and a plurality of cleaning members each fastened to a circumference of the base member, radially extending from the circumference of the base member, and inclined in a direction toward the surface.
Hong teaches a mop that includes a side cleaning part (180, figure 12) that protrudes outward from a periphery of a surface cleaning part (130, figure 12), wherein the side cleaning part is inclined downward such that an end of the side cleaning part is lower than the surface cleaning part (figures 10-12); a base member (160, figure 12) stacked on a first side of the coupling part; and a plurality of cleaning members (181 and 182, figures 11- 13) each fastened in a loop shape along a periphery of the base member radially extending from the circumference of the base member, and inclined in a direction toward the surface. (see Hong figures 11-13)
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before effective filing date to have modified Hong to have a a side cleaning part that protrudes outward from the surface cleaning part, wherein the side cleaning part is inclined downward such that an end of the side cleaning part is lower than the surface cleaning part; , wherein the side cleaning part comprises: a base member stacked on a first side of the coupling part: and a plurality of cleaning members each fastened to a circumference of the base member, radially extending from the circumference of the base member, and inclined in a direction toward the surface, based on the teachings of Hong. This modification would help increase the cleaning performance. (see Hong “In addition, there is an effect of increasing the cleaning performance, there is an effect of increasing the cleaning efficiency of the range of the cleaning area that can be cleaned”).
Regarding claim 24, modified Choi teaches a surface cleaner (30, figure 4) having a ring shape with a central opening, the surface cleaner being configured to contact a surface to be cleaned; a liquid absorbing part (23, figure 3) stacked on the surface cleaner, the liquid absorbing part being configured to absorb liquid and provide the liquid to the surface cleaning part; a coupler (271, figures 2-4) having a ring shape (figures 2-4), wherein the coupler provided at an outer circumference of the surface cleaner and the liquid absorbing part.
Choi fails to teach a side cleaner stacked with the coupler and the surface cleaner, the side cleaner extending radially outward from the surface cleaner and inclined
downward to be below the surface cleaner, wherein the side cleaner comprises: a base member stacked on a first side of the coupler; and a plurality of cleaning members each fastened to a circumference of the base member, radially extending from the circumference of the base member, and inclined in a direction toward the surface.
Hong teaches a mop that includes a mop that includes a side cleaner (180, figure 12) stacked with the coupler and the surface cleaner, the side cleaner extending radially outward from the surface cleaner and inclined downward to be below the surface cleaner, wherein the side cleaner comprises: a base member (160, figure 12) stacked on a first side of the coupler; and a plurality of cleaning members (181 and 182, figures 11-13) each fastened to a circumference of the base member, radially extending from the circumference of the base member, and inclined in a direction toward the surface (see figures 11-13).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before effective filing date to have modified Choi to have teach a side cleaner stacked with the coupler and the surface cleaner, the side cleaner extending radially outward from the surface cleaner and inclined downward to be below the surface cleaner, wherein the side cleaner comprises: a base member stacked on a first side of the coupler; and a plurality of cleaning members each fastened to a circumference of the base member, radially extending from the circumference of the base member, and inclined in a direction toward the surface, , based on the teachings of Hong. This modification would help increase the cleaning performance (see Hong “In addition, there is an effect of increasing the cleaning performance, there is an effect of increasing the cleaning efficiency of the range of the cleaning area that can be cleaned”).
Regarding claim 25, modified Choi teaches wherein a stitching (see Hong annotated figure below ) is used to couple the side cleaner to a first part of the coupler, the surface cleaner, and a second part of the coupler.
Regarding claim 27, modified Choi teaches wherein two of the plurality of cleaning members (see Hong 181 and 182, figures 10-12) are stacked on each other in multiple stages along the circumference of the base member.
Claim(s) 3,9,28 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Choi (KR20170043227A) in view of Hong (KR102010829B1) further in view of Cannan (US3728075A) ids cited art.
Regarding claim 3, modified Choi teaches all limitations stated above, and teaches wherein the stitching comprises: a first stitching (see annotated figure above)configured to couple the side cleaning part, a first side of the coupling part, the surface cleaning part, and a second side of the coupling part; and a second stitching (see annotated figure above), but fails to teach configured to couple the side cleaning part and the surface cleaning part without stitching to the coupling part.
Cannan discloses a mop where the fabric layers are stitched together, and different stitching patterns (col 6 lines 14-40).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before effective filing date to use the teachings of Cannan to try and modify the structure of the cleaning member of Hong to have any desired shape or design, including having a second stitching configured to couple the side cleaning part and the surface cleaning part without stitching to the coupling part, to optimize the functionality and cleaning performance of the rotary squeegee, as a person with ordinary skill has good reason to pursue the known options within his or her technical grasp cleaning part .
Regarding claim 6, modified Hong teaches wherein the base member has a ring shape (see Hong 160, figures 10-12) that includes a first base portion at an outer periphery of the base member, and a second base portion radially inside of the first base portion, wherein the first base portion is to fasten to the coupling part by the first stitching, wherein the second base portion has a smaller thickness than the first base portion, and wherein the second base portion is fastened to the coupling part by the second stitching (see annotated figure below)
Regarding claim 9, modified Choi teaches all limitations stated above, and teaches wherein the stitching comprises: a first stitching (see annotated figure above)configured to couple the side cleaning part, a first side of the coupling part, the surface cleaning part, and a second side of the coupling part; and a second stitching (see annotated figure above), but fails to teach configured to couple the side cleaning part and the surface cleaning part without stitching to the coupling part.
Cannan discloses a mop where the fabric layers are stitched together, and different stitching patterns (col 6 lines 14-40).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before effective filing date to use the teachings of Cannan to try and modify the structure of the cleaning member of Hong to have any desired shape or design, including having a second stitching configured to couple the side cleaning part and the surface cleaning part without stitching to the coupling part, to optimize the functionality and cleaning performance of the rotary squeegee, as a person with ordinary skill has good reason to pursue the known options within his or her technical grasp cleaning part .
Regarding claim 28, modified Choi teaches all limitations stated above, and teaches wherein the stitching comprises: a first stitching (see annotated figure above)configured to couple the side cleaning part, a first side of the coupling part, the surface cleaning part, and a second side of the coupling part; and a second stitching (see annotated figure above), but fails to teach configured to couple the side cleaning part and the surface cleaning part without stitching to the coupling part.
Cannan discloses a mop where the fabric layers are stitched together, and different stitching patterns (col 6 lines 14-40).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before effective filing date to use the teachings of Cannan to try and modify the structure of the cleaning member of Hong to have any desired shape or design, including having a second stitching configured to couple the side cleaning part and the surface cleaning part without stitching to the coupling part, to optimize the functionality and cleaning performance of the rotary squeegee, as a person with ordinary skill has good reason to pursue the known options within his or her technical grasp cleaning part .
Conclusion
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/SARAH AKYAA FORDJOUR/Examiner, Art Unit 3723
/MONICA S CARTER/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 3723