DETAILED ACTION
Election/Restrictions
Applicant's election with traverse of Group I (claims 1-11 and 13) and species CD74, IFNg, CD177, S100A9, CX3CR1 and/or TAP2 in the reply filed on 10/27/2025 is acknowledged. The traversal is on the ground(s) that there is no burden to search and examine all of the claim in the application. This is not found persuasive because search and/or examination burden is not relevant for claims restricted under 35 U.S.C. § 372 (Lack of Unity).
The requirement is still deemed proper and is therefore made FINAL.
Status of the Claims
Claim 12 has been withdraw as being directed to a non-elected invention. Claims 9-10 have been withdrawn as being directed to a non-elected species. Claims 1-8, 11 and 13 are under examination at this time.
Claim Interpretation
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claim 13 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
First, as written, claim 13 is not clear and does not make sense. Second, claim 13 is a method for determining the risk of incidence of complication in a patient, however, there are no active method steps. Accordingly, one of ordinary skill in the art will not know the metes and bounds of the claim.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-8 and 11 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Lee et al. (WO 2020/096984; May 14, 2020).
The instant claims are directed to an in vitro or ex vivo method for determining the risk of complication in a patient comprising a step of measuring the expression of C3AR1 in a biological sample from said patient.
Lee et al. teaches a method of diagnosing sepsis in a subject including detecting or measuring expression of the set of at least six genes in a sample from a subject, wherein the subject is diagnosed with sepsis when expression of a panel of genes including CCR1, C3AR1, C9orf95, BATF, C9orf103, GNA15, CD177, CD63, EMR1, FCERIG, FES, PLAC8, and/or SEPHS2 is increased compared to a control (see, for example, page 2, lines 26- 29).
For claims 2-5, Lee et al. teaches measuring “the expression of at least one gene selected from the following genes” GNLY, S100A9, ADGRE3, CD177, CX3CR1, IFIH1, OAS2, and OAS3. CD177 is gene that encodes a molecule involved in the innate immune system (as defined in the instant specification).
For claim 6, Lee et al. teaches that the sample can be a blood sample (see page 10, lines 33-37).
For claims 7 and 8, Lee et al. teaches that determining the level expression in either a qualitative, semi-quantitative, or quantitative manner is done by detection of nucleic acid molecules (e.g., DNA, RNA, and/or mRNA) or proteins. Exemplary methods include microarray analysis, PCR (such as RT-PCR, real-time PCR, or qRT-PCR), Northern blot, Western blot, ELISA, and mass spectrometry (see page 10, lines 29-32 and page 21, line 3 to page 22, line 14).
For claim 11, Lee et al. teaches comparing the expression level of the panel of genes to control genes, such as one or more housekeeping or internal control genes (see page 2, lines 26-29 and page 13, line 36 to page 14, line 4 and page 16, lines 7-12).
Double Patenting
Claims 1-8 and 11 are provisionally rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1 and 8-12 of copending Application No. 18/880056 (reference application).
The instant claims are directed to an in vitro or ex vivo method for determining the risk of complication in a patient comprising a step of measuring the expression of C3AR1 and additional genes such as CD74, IFNg, CD177, S100A9, CX3CR1 and/or TAP2 in a biological sample from said patient.
The copending claims are directed to an in vitro or ex vivo method for determining the risk of death of a subject infected with a respiratory virus, comprising a step of measuring the expression level of the CD74 gene in a biological sample from said subject, where the method further comprises measuring the expression of one or more other additional genes in the biological sample from the subject, said genes being involved in host response and being selected from ADGRE3, ARL14EP, BPGM, C3AR1, CCNB1IP1, CD274, CD3D, CIITA, CTLA4, CX3CR1, GNLY, IFNG, IL10, IL1RN, IL7R, IP10/CXCL10, MDC1, OAS2, S100A9 and combinations thereof in the biological sample from the subject.
Copending claim 8 teaches instant claim 6.
Copending claim 9 teaches instant claim 7.
Copending claim 10 teaches instant claim 8.
Copending claim 11 teaches instant claim 11.
Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other.
This is a provisional nonstatutory double patenting rejection because the patentably indistinct claims have not in fact been patented.
Conclusion
No claim is allowed.
/NICOLE KINSEY WHITE/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1672