DETAILED ACTION
Drawings
The drawings are objected to as failing to comply with 37 CFR 1.84(p)(5) because they include the following reference character(s) not mentioned in the description: "90" in Figure 2. Corrected drawing sheets in compliance with 37 CFR 1.121(d), or amendment to the specification to add the reference character(s) in the description in compliance with 37 CFR 1.121(b) are required in reply to the Office action to avoid abandonment of the application. Any amended replacement drawing sheet should include all of the figures appearing on the immediate prior version of the sheet, even if only one figure is being amended. Each drawing sheet submitted after the filing date of an application must be labeled in the top margin as either “Replacement Sheet” or “New Sheet” pursuant to 37 CFR 1.121(d). If the changes are not accepted by the examiner, the applicant will be notified and informed of any required corrective action in the next Office action. The objection to the drawings will not be held in abeyance.
Claim Interpretation
This application includes one or more claim limitations that do not use the word “means,” but are nonetheless being interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, because the claim limitation(s) uses a generic placeholder that is coupled with functional language without reciting sufficient structure to perform the recited function and the generic placeholder is not preceded by a structural modifier. Such claim limitation(s) is/are:
“seating element” in claim 16, equivalent structure found on page 7, lines 1-7. Therefore, the interpretation of “seating element” is best understood as a stool, chair, bench, armchair, and equivalents thereof.
“electrical storage element” in claim 17, equivalent structure found on page 15, lines 14-20. Therefore, the interpretation of an “electrical storage element” is best understood as a battery, identified as an accumulator, a fuel cell system, and equivalents thereof.
“ventilation element” in claim 20, equivalent structure found on page 17, lines 31-34 and page 18, lines 1-2; page 18, lines 15-27. Therefore, the interpretation of a “ventilation element” is best understood as an air reservoir, capable of filtering air via a HEPA filter and processing said air using UV-C radiation, and equivalents thereof.
“emergency element” in claim 23, equivalent structure found on page 26, lines 1-15. Therefore, the interpretation of an “emergency element” is best understood as an emergency handle, switch, and equivalents thereof.
“pass-through element” in claim 25, equivalent structure found on page 24, lines 16-34. Therefore, the interpretation of a “pass-through element” is best understood as invertible gloves, single use gloves, and equivalents thereof. Claim 26 is noted as reciting structure for performing the claimed function, and is therefore not subject to this interpretation
“control element” in claims 27-28, equivalent structure found on page 20, lines 13-15; page 23, lines 8-15. Therefore, the interpretation of a “control element” is best understood as software, computers, touch displays, joysticks, and equivalents thereof. Claim 29 is noted as reciting structure for performing the claimed function, and is therefore not subject to this interpretation
“disinfection element” in claim 30, equivalent structure found on page 21, lines 18-28. Therefore, the interpretation of a “disinfection element” is best understood as one or more jets that are connected to a disinfection reservoir, whereby the disinfectant is sprayed, and equivalents thereof.
“protective device” in claim 35, equivalent structure found on page 1, lines 20-35. Therefore, the interpretation of a “protective device” is best understood as device, comprising a protective housing that defines an interior space, a closable access opening to enter the interior space, a seating element, a chassis for moving the device, wherein the device seals the interior space in an airtight manner against an environment, and equivalents thereof.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claim 28 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 28 recites the limitation “the outer side” in line 2. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim. Therefore, the claim is indefinite. For the purposes of examination, the limitation is read as “an outer side”.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 16, 20-21, 25, 31, and 35 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Yoshimoto et al. (JP 2005/021433).
Regarding claim 16, Yoshimoto et al. teaches a protection device (wheelchair type isolator 1 to protect against pathogens (page 7, para. 0039, “separated from the outside so that pathogens existing in the outside are not scattered inside the isolator”), comprising:
a protective housing that defines an interior space (Figure 1, isolation portion 9; page 4, para. 0020, “the wheelchair type isolator 1 is detachably attached between the seat part 5 and the backrest part 7 of the wheelchair 3, and the inside is isolated for the outside world”),
a closable access opening to enter the interior space (Figures 1 and 3, opening/closing member 16; page 4, para. 0023, “The front part 9b of the isolation part 9 is provided with an entrance for a patient to enter and exit the isolation part 9”),
a seating element that allows at least one passenger to sit in the interior space (Figure 8, seat part 5), and
a chassis for moving the protective device (Figure 8, where the wheelchair 3 includes a frame that supports the wheels)
wherein the protective device, in a closed state, seals the interior space in an airtight manner against an environment (page 8, para. 0043, “The isolation portion 9 is in a sealed space including a back surface portion 9a, a front surface portion 9b, both side surface portions 9c, a bottom surface portion 9d, and a top surface portion 9e”).
Regarding claim 20, Yoshimoto et al. teaches a ventilation element (ventilation unit 11), configured for providing an air stream to the interior space (Figure 1; page 6, para. 0031, “The ventilation unit 11 connects the air supply / exhaust unit 33 detachably disposed on the base 31 of the wheelchair 3, the air supply / exhaust unit 33 and the isolation part 9 so as to communicate with each other, and the duct 35 for supplying and exhausting the inside of the isolation part 9”).
Regarding claim 21, Yoshimoto et al. teaches wherein the ventilation element is configured to create an overpressure and/or a negative pressure in the interior space (page 6, para. 0031, “The inside of the isolation part 9 can be switched between a negative pressure state and a positive pressure state by changing the rotation direction of a fan provided in the air supply / exhaust unit 33”).
Regarding claim 25, Yoshimoto et al. teaches at least one pass-through element (Figures 4, treatment port 27 and second lid body 27a; page 5, para. 0026, “A treatment port 27 is provided slightly forward near the center of both side surfaces 9c, 9c of the isolation part 9 so that a therapist or the like can insert an arm into the isolation part 9”).
Regarding claim 31, Yoshimoto et al. teaches wherein the access opening is located on the front side of the protective housing (Figure 6, front surface portion 9b; page 4, para. 0023, “The front part 9b of the isolation part 9 is provided with an entrance for a patient to enter and exit the isolation part 9, and the entrance can be opened and closed by an opening and closing member 16 made of a fastener or the like provided in the isolation part 9”).
Regarding claim 35, Yoshimoto et al. teaches a method to protect against pathogens (Abstract, “The wheelchair type isolator 1 is used for carrying a patient seated on a wheelchair 3 in the isolated state”), comprising
providing a protective device to a passenger (page 8, para. 0042, “in the wheelchair type isolator 1… the isolation/separating portion 9 accommodates the patient attached to the wheelchair 3”),
closing the protective device in an airtight manner (page 8, para. 0042, “the patient can be isolated”), and
moving the protective device (page 8, para. 0042, “transported while being seated on the wheelchair 3”).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 17-18 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Yoshimoto et al. as applied to claim 16 above, and further in view of Burela (US 2020/0022853).
Regarding claim 17, Yoshimoto et al. teaches the protective device according to claim 16 as stated above. Yoshimoto et al. fails to teach wherein the chassis comprises an electric drive, and the protective device further comprising: an electrical storage element, configured to supply the electric drive with energy.
Burela teaches an analogous seating device wherein the chassis comprises an electric drive (Figures 1, and 13-14, traction motors 3; paragraphs 0002, and 0044-0047), and the protective device further comprising: an electrical storage element, configured to supply the electric drive with energy (Figure 1, two batteries 4; paragraphs 0018, and 0044-0047).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the
effective filing date of the claimed invention, to have modified the protective device of Yoshimoto et al. with the chassis comprising an electric drive, and the protective device further comprising: an electrical storage element, configured to supply the electric drive with energy of Burela. Implementing an electric drive and storage element, specifically a motor and batteries, provides users with greater locomotion freedom. Because of the batteries, the need for a third party is eliminated, as such, the device is completely self-driving. Overall, the electrical components provide the user with a device that can be used autonomously (Burela, paragraphs 0002, 0004-0005, and 0010).
Regarding claim 18, Yoshimoto et al. teaches the protective device according to claim 16 as stated above. Yoshimoto et al. fails to teach wherein the protective device is configured to move autonomously.
Burela teaches an analogous seating device wherein the protective device is configured to move autonomously (para. 0004).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to someone of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to have modified the protective device of Yoshimoto et al. with the autonomously moving feature of Burela. Implementing an electric drive and storage element, specifically a motor and batteries, provides users with greater locomotion freedom. Because of the batteries, the need for a third party is eliminated, as such, the device is completely self-driving. Overall, the electrical components provide the user with a that can be used autonomously (Burela, paragraphs 0002, 0004-0005, and 0010).
Claim(s) 19, 22-23, and 32-33 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Yoshimoto et al. as applied to claim 16 above, further in view of Gershon et al. (US 10,888,479).
Regarding claim 19, Yoshimoto et al. teaches the protective device according to claim 16 as stated above. Yoshimoto et al. fails to teach wherein the protective housing comprises an anti-bacterial and/or anti-viral coating.
Gershon et al. teaches an analogous protective device wherein the protective housing comprises an anti-bacterial and/or anti-viral coating (Col. 9, line 65- Col. 10, lines 5).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to someone of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to have combined the protective device of Yoshimoto et al. with the anti-bacterial and/or anti-viral coating of Gershon et al. Intrinsically, anti-bacterial coatings fight against pathogenic bacteria growth; subsequently, with the reasonable expectation of success, combing an anti-bacterial/viral coating may stop the spread of pathogenic bacteria on the external portion of the protective enclosure (Gershon et al., Col. 9, line 65 Col. 10, line5).
Regarding claim 22, Yoshimoto et al. teaches the protective device according to claim 16 as stated above. Yoshimoto et al. fails to teach wherein the protective device is configured to be remote-controlled.
Gershon et al. teaches an analogous protective device wherein the protective device is configured to be remote-controlled (Col. 14, line 56-Col. 15, line4 where the computer system 20 operates in a network environment, connected to remote computers 49 that communicate with the biosafety enclosure 100).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to someone of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to have modified the protective device of Yoshimoto et al. with the remote-controlled feature of Gershon et al. Implementing a remote-controlled element allows the computing system to execute instructions to the biosafety enclosure from a remote distance, thereby granting the occupant or an third party the ability to communicate with certain features of the enclosure, such as the locking mechanisms, sensors, and vents (Gershon et al., Col. 14, lines 38-47 and 56-61).
Regarding claim 23, Yoshimoto et al. teaches the protective device according to claim 16 as stated above. Yoshimoto et al. fails to teach an emergency element.
Gershon et al. teaches an analogous protective device comprising an emergency element (Figure 1; Col. 6, lines 44-50).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to someone of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to have modified the protective device of Yoshimoto et al. with the emergency element of Gershon et al. Doing so provides multiple points of entry, thereby allowing the user to easily enter/exit the enclosure in case of an emergency (Gershon et al., Col. 6, lines 35-50).
Regarding claim 32, Yoshimoto et al. teaches the protective device according to claim 16 as stated above. Yoshimoto et al. fails to teach at least one sensor being configured to measure vital data of at least one passenger of the protective device.
Gershon et al. teaches an analogous protective device comprising at least one sensor being configured to measure vital data of at least one passenger of the protective device (Figure 7, sensors 704; Col. 10, lines 6-24).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to someone of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to have modified the protective device of Yoshimoto et al. with at least one sensor being configured to measure vital data of at least one passenger of the protective device of Gershon et al. With the use of sensors, valuable biometric data derived from the user’s heart rate, breathing rate, blood pressure, etc., can be collected and transmitted to a risk module to determine the likelihood of pathogenic exposure inside the biosafety enclosure. (Gershon et al., Col. 12, lines 1-26).
Regarding claim 33, Yoshimoto et al. teaches the protective device according to claim 16 as stated above. Yoshimoto et al. fails to teach at least one sensor being configured to measure the air on the interior and/or the exterior of the protective device.
Gershon et al. teaches an analogous protective device comprising at least one sensor being configured to measure the air on the interior and/or the exterior of the protective device (Figure 7, sensors 704; Col. 10, lines 6-24).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to someone of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to have modified the protective device of Yoshimoto et al. with at least one sensor being configured to measure the air on the interior and/or the exterior of the protective device of Gershon et al. With the use of air quality sensors, the protective device can be monitored in real time. This information may provide insights into the state of the enclosure and may prompt related combative measures to decrease the risk of air pollutants escaping (Gershon et al., Col. 10, lines 6-13).
Claim(s) 24 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Yoshimoto et al. as applied to claim 16 above, further in view of Sutton (US 5,706,846).
Regarding claim 24, Yoshimoto et al. teaches the protective device according to claim 16 as stated above. Yoshimoto et al. fails to teach an intercom system.
Sutton teaches an analogous protective device comprising an intercom system (Col. 9, lines 5-17).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to someone of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to have modified the protective device of Yoshimoto et al. with the intercom system of Sutton. Doing so facilitates communication between the isolated user and a third party in question (Sutton, Col. 9, lines 10-17).
Claim(s) 26 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Yoshimoto et al. as applied to claim 25 above, further in view of Gauger et al. (US 6,321,764).
Regarding claim 26, Yoshimoto et al. teaches the protective device according to claim 25 as stated above. Yoshimoto et al. fails to teach wherein the at least one pass-through element comprises an invertible glove.
Gauger et al. teaches an analogous protective device wherein the at least one pass-through element comprises an invertible glove (Figure 3, glove ports 200; Col. 1, lines 45-48).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to someone of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to have modified the protective device of Yoshimoto et al. with at least one pass-through element comprising an invertible glove of Gauger et al. The gloves boxes enable the user to be manipulated without breaking the barrier and emitting harmful contaminants from the environment into the device (Gauger et al., Col. 7, lines 31-35).
Claim(s) 27-29 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Yoshimoto et al. as applied to claim 16 above, further in view of Alghazi (WO 2021/178425).
Regarding claim 27, Yoshimoto et al. teaches the protective device according to claim 16 as stated above. Yoshimoto et al. fails to teach a control element, configured for controlling the protective device.
Alghazi teaches an analogous seating device comprising a control element, configured for controlling the protective device (paragraphs 0062 and 0088, electronic controller 138).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to someone of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to have modified the protective device of Yoshimoto et al. with the control element, configured for controlling the protective device of Alghazi. Implementing a control element, may facilitate the manipulation of the seating device; accordingly, via an electric controller with touch interfaces, the user may control the motion of the device without exerting manual effort (Alghazi, paragraphs 0099-0101).
Regarding claim 28, as best understood in light of the rejections under 35 U.S.C 112(b) above, Yoshimoto et al. in view of Alghazi teaches the protective device according to claim 27 as stated above wherein the control element is arranged at the outer side of the protective device (Alghazi, para. 0025; Figure 7, where the electronic controller is integrated into the armrest 108).
Regarding claim 29, Yoshimoto et al. in view of Alghazi teaches the protective device according to claim 27 as stated above wherein the control element is configured as a joystick (Alghazi, paragraphs 0025 and 0099).
Claim(s) 30 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Yoshimoto et al. as applied to claim 16 above, further in view of Lee et al. (US 2022/0265498).
Regarding claim 30, Yoshimoto et al. teaches the protective device according to claim 16 as stated above. Yoshimoto et al. fails to teach a disinfection element, configured for disinfecting the protective device.
Lee et al. teaches an analogous protective device comprising a disinfection element, configured for disinfecting the protective device (Figure 2, disinfection device 105; paragraph 0054).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to someone of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to have modified the protective device of Yoshimoto et al. with a disinfection element, configured for disinfecting the protective device of Lee et al. By implementing a disinfection element, the likelihood of the patient or healthcare provider contracting an infectious disease is reduced. The process of sterilizing effectively kills harmful pathogens (Lee et al., Abstract; para. 0002).
Claim(s) 34 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Yoshimoto et al. as applied to claim 16 above, further in view of Wilde (US 2014/0167388).
Regarding claim 34, Yoshimoto et al. teaches the protective device according to claim 16 as stated above. Yoshimoto et al. fails to teach wherein the seating element has a seating surface that is adjustable in height.
Wilde teaches an analogous seating device wherein the seating element has a seating surface that is adjustable in height (paragraphs 0017 and 0039).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to someone of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to have modified the protective device of Yoshimoto et al. with a seating element that has a height adjustable seating surface of Wilde. Doing so would offer the user a comfortable seat, that is customizable, encourages proper posture, and reduces the likelihood of failing out of the chair (Wilde, para. 0017).
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Chamorro-Perez et al. (US 2002/0087045) teaches a patient drape system and patient transport similar to a bed apparatus; however, Chamorro-Perez et al. does not specifically disclose a seating element. Townsend (US 2008/0012258) teaches a climate-control system for a wheelchair that isolates the environment contained in the enclosure from the ambient. Murdock (US 2007/0080519) teaches an adult stroller and a canopy coupled to a flexible shield. Williams (US 4,754,987) teaches a removable enclosure for a wheelchair that protects an occupant from an ambient environment.
/B.R.L./Examiner, Art Unit 3791
/JENNIFER ROBERTSON/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 3791