DETAILED ACTION
Priority
3. This application is a 371 of PCT/KR2021/008638 07/07/2021.
Acknowledgment is made of applicant’s claim for foreign priority under 35 U.S.C. 119 (a)-(d). The certified copy has been filed in parent Application KOREA, REPUBLIC OF 10-2020-0083991 07/08/2020 filed on 01/06/23.
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement (IDS), filed on 01/06/23 has been considered. Please refer to Applicant's copy of the 1449 submitted herewith.
Election/Restrictions
Applicant’s election with traverse of claims 1-9 and species: features of new claim 16 in the reply filed on 04/24/26 is acknowledged. Traversal on grounds of no unity of invention objection raised during international phase have been respectfully considered but are not persuasive because USPTO is independent agency and apply its own rules of restriction practices.
New claim 16 has been added, claims 1-16 are pending, and claims 10-15 are directed to non-elected invention. Accordingly, claims 10-15 are withdrawn from further consideration by Examiner, 37 CFR 1.142(b), as being drawn to non-elected invention. Claims 1-9, 16 are examined in this Office action.
Double Patenting
Claims 1-9, 16 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-7, 9-10 of U.S. Patent No. 12,503,547. Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because instant claimed invention and the patented claimed invention are directed to a polyol composition comprising same anhydrosugar alcohol composition and alkene oxide. Regarding instant independent claim 1, although patented claims does not teach the polyol composition prepared by addition reaction of 100 parts by weight of anhydrosugar alcohol composition and more than 50 parts by weight to less than 4,000 parts by weight of an alkylene oxide, this is considered product-by-process. Even though product-by-process claims are limited by and defined by the process, determination of patentability is based on the product itself. The patentability of a product does not depend on its method of production. If the product in the product-by-process claim is the same as or obvious from a product of the prior art, the claim is unpatentable even though the prior product was made by a different process. In re Thorpe, 777 F.2d 695, 698, 227 USPQ 964, 966 (Fed. Cir. 1985).
Regarding instant claim 2, the patented claim 1 discloses the composition has a number average molecular weight (Mn) of 193 to 1,589 g/mol; (ii) the composition has a polydispersity index (PDI) of 1.13 to 3.41; and (iii) the average number of —OH groups per molecule in the composition is 2.54 to 21.36.
Instant dependent claims 3-9, 16 are same as patented dependent claims 2-7, 9-10.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-9, 16 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by Im (US 2023/0250213).
The applied reference has a common assignee and/or inventor with the instant application. Based upon the earlier effectively filed date of the reference, it constitutes prior art under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2). This rejection under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) might be overcome by: (1) a showing under 37 CFR 1.130(a) that the subject matter disclosed in the reference was obtained directly or indirectly from the inventor or a joint inventor of this application and is thus not prior art in accordance with 35 U.S.C. 102(b)(2)(A); (2) a showing under 37 CFR 1.130(b) of a prior public disclosure under 35 U.S.C. 102(b)(2)(B) if the same invention is not being claimed; or (3) a statement pursuant to 35 U.S.C. 102(b)(2)(C) establishing that, not later than the effective filing date of the claimed invention, the subject matter disclosed in the reference and the claimed invention were either owned by the same person or subject to an obligation of assignment to the same person or subject to a joint research agreement.
Regarding claim 1, Im discloses a polyol composition comprising addition product of 80 to 200 parts by weight of alkylene oxide per 100 parts by weight of polyol (para [0063]), fall into claimed 50 to less than 4,000 parts by weight of alkylene oxide
per 100 parts by weight of polyol, wherein in para [0020]-[0021] the polyol
(claim 1), meeting the requirement of claim 1.
Regarding claim 2, Im discloses the composition has a number average molecular weight (Mn) of 193 to 1,589 g/mol; (ii) the composition has a polydispersity index (PDI) of 1.13 to 3.41; and (iii) the average number of —OH groups per molecule in the composition is 2.54 to 21.36 (claim 1).
Regarding claim 3, Im discloses:
(claim 2).
Regarding claim 4, Im discloses the monoanhydrosugar alcohol is monoanhydrosugar hexitol (claim 3).
Regarding claim 5, Im discloses the dianhydrosugar alcohol is dianhydrosugar hexitol (claim 4).
Regarding claim 6, Im discloses wherein e) the polymer of one or more of a) to d) comprises at least one selected from the group consisting of condensation polymers prepared from the following condensation reaction: condensation reaction of monoanhydrosugar alcohol, condensation reaction of dianhydrosugar alcohol, condensation reaction of the polysaccharide alcohol represented by Formula 1, condensation reaction of anhydrosugar alcohol derived from polysaccharide alcohol represented by Formula 1, condensation reaction of monoanhydrosugar alcohol and dianhydrosugar alcohol, condensation reaction of monoanhydrosugar alcohol and polysaccharide alcohol represented by Formula 1, condensation reaction of monoanhydrosugar alcohol and anhydrosugar alcohol derived from polysaccharide alcohol represented by Formula 1, condensation reaction of dianhydrosugar alcohol and polysaccharide alcohol represented by Formula 1, condensation reaction of dianhydrosugar alcohol and anhydrosugar alcohol derived from polysaccharide alcohol represented by Formula 1, condensation reaction of polysaccharide alcohol represented by Formula 1 and anhydrosugar alcohol derived from polysaccharide alcohol represented by Formula 1, condensation reaction of monoanhydrosugar alcohol, dianhydrosugar alcohol and polysaccharide alcohol represented by Formula 1, condensation reaction of monoanhydrosugar alcohol, dianhydrosugar alcohol and anhydrosugar alcohol derived from polysaccharide alcohol represented by Formula 1, condensation reaction of monoanhydrosugar alcohol, polysaccharide alcohol represented by Formula 1 and anhydrosugar alcohol derived from polysaccharide alcohol represented by Formula 1, condensation reaction of dianhydrosugar alcohol, polysaccharide alcohol represented by Formula 1 and anhydrosugar alcohol derived from polysaccharide alcohol represented by Formula 1, or condensation reaction of monoanhydrosugar alcohol, dianhydrosugar alcohol, polysaccharide alcohol represented by Formula 1 and anhydrosugar alcohol derived from polysaccharide alcohol represented by Formula 1 (claim 5).
Regarding claim 7, Im discloses hydrogenating a glucose-containing saccharide composition to prepare a hydrogenated sugar composition, heating the obtained hydrogenated sugar composition under an acid catalyst to a dehydration reaction by heating and conducting thin-film-distillation of the obtained dehydration reaction product (claim 6).
Regarding claim 8, Im discloses the glucose-containing saccharide composition comprises 41 to 99.5 wt % of glucose based on the total weight of the glucose-containing saccharide composition (claim 7).
Regarding claim 9, Im discloses the hydrogenation is carried out under a hydrogen pressure condition of 30 to 80 atm and a heating condition of 110° C. to 135° C., the dehydration reaction is carried out under a reduced pressure condition of 1 mmHg to 100 mmHg and a heating condition of 105° C. to 200° C. and the thin-film-distillation is conducted under reduced pressure condition of 2 mbar or less and a heating condition of 150° C. to 175° C (claim 9).
Regarding claim 16, Im discloses polysaccharide comprises mixture of
and condensation reaction of monoanhydrosugar alcohol, dianhydrosugar alcohol, polysaccharide alcohol represented by Formula 1 and anhydrosugar alcohol derived from polysaccharide alcohol represented by Formula 1 (claims 2, 5).
Conclusion
/KUMAR R BHUSHAN/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1766