DETAILED ACTION
Claim Status
The claims are newly amended.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 8/29/25 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
Pages 6-7 of the remarks argue the following:
Amended claim 144 is not obvious over Cizeron. First, Cizeron does not teach or suggest a dilute methane oxidation catalyst for converting methane to CO2 as presently claimed. Rather, Cizeron discloses using doped mixed lanthanide oxide catalysts for other catalytic reactions, including the oxidative coupling of methane (OCM) to ethane and ethylene; oxidative dehydrogenation (ODH) of alkanes to the corresponding alkenes, for example oxidative dehydrogenation of ethane or propane to ethylene or propylene, respectively; selective oxidation of alkanes, alkenes, and alkynes; oxidation of CO, dry reforming of methane, selective oxidation of aromatics; Fischer-Tropsch, hydrocarbon cracking (Cizeron, paragraph [0227]). Cizeron provides no teaching or guidance that would motivate one skilled in the art to employ doped mixed lanthanide oxide catalytic materials for dilute hydrocarbon oxidation that converts methane to COz.
The remarks are respectfully not persuasive. The claims are composition claims. Therefore, as recited in the non-final action, the same composition would be effective in the same way.
The remarks on page 7 then argues the following:
Second, Cizeron evaluates catalysts under methane-rich feeds and high temperatures using conventional OCM conditions. It is well known in the art that in air-fed OCM, methane concentrations are typically ~15—30 mol %, while in Oo-fed OCM, the feed is even richer, often 50-95 mol %. Reaction temperatures within the reactor are generally 750-950 °C, and reported single-pass methane conversions are about 6—28%. By contrast, the present claims are limited to <5 mol % methane, temperatures <600 °C, methane conversion >60%, and COz selectivity >60%. These conditions define a non-overlapping operating window distinct from OCM.
Third, COz formation is consistently regarded by those skilled in the art as undesirable in OCM reactions. Cizeron’s figures and discussion associate higher CO2 selectivity with reduced C2 yield and expressly direct the skilled person to suppress CO2 formation (Cizeron, paragraph [269]; FIG. 11). The present claims, in contrast, require high COs» selectivity as the desired outcome—an opposite objective that constitutes clear teaching away.
This is respectfully not persuasive. The evaluation feature of Cizeron is used to analyze the features of the product, but do not limit the product itself.
Next, the remarks argue on page 7, the following:
Fourth, Cizeron describes lanthanide oxides doped with an alkaline earth metal together with at least one other dopant from groups 3-16 for oxidative coupling of methane (Cizeron, paragraph [0022]). However, Cizeron is completely silent with regard to the presently claimed specific dopant combination consisting essentially of one or more group 2 elements in combination with at least one dopant specifically chosen from group 4, 9, 10, and 11 for the purpose of converting methane to COz. As the Examiner will appreciate, the transitional phrase “consisting essentially of excludes the presence of dopants that would materially affect the basic and novel characteristics of the claimed invention. Accordingly, Cizeron teaches dopants that cannot be included in the claimed catalysts, and including the additional dopants taught by Cizeron would materially affect the performance of the claimed catalysts (e.g., at least 60% methane conversion and at least 60% COz selectivity). Accordingly, it would not be obvious to modify the catalysts of Cizeron to arrive at the claimed invention.
The remarks are respectfully not persuasive. Cizeron teaches that the catalyst comprises a mixed oxide (para. 21 or 104) and that this metal oxide is doped with two different compounds, one of which can be in group II of the periodic table (para. 0122) and then combined with another metal, such as Rh, Ni and other group 4, 9, 10 or 11 metals (para. 122). Since the claim state “consisting essentially of one or more dopants”, these portions of Cizeron meet these features of the claims.
As to Applicant’s interpretation that this excludes the presence of dopants that would materially affect the basic and novel characteristics of the claimed invention, this is respectfully disputed for several reasons. First, it is unclear which dopants would “materially affect the basic and novel characteristics” of the claimed invention. Second, the claims are product claims and merely having additives that are inferior to others does not obviate references from reading on those claims. Finally, the language of the claims themselves do not exclude dopants that do this.
Next, the remarks argue on page 8, the following:
Further, Cizeron does not teach or suggest catalysts capable of achieving the presently claimed performance requirements of methane conversion of at least 60% and CO: selectivity of at least 60% when the claimed catalytic material is employed as a heterogeneous catalyst contacting a gas stream comprising oxygen and methane in a fixed bed reactor at a pressure no greater than 5 barg and at a temperature no greater than 600 °C, wherein the gas stream contains less than 5 mol % methane. In contrast, the catalysts disclosed by Cizeron can only achieve CO: selectivity no greater than 50% (Cizeron, paragraph [0269]) with a much higher methane concentration. For example, Cizeron teaches that the OCM feed gas normally contains methane and oxygen with a CH4/O2 ratio of 4 (Cizeron, paragraph [0367]), which is inconsistent with the presently claimed dilute methane oxidation conditions.
The remarks are respectfully not persuasive because these are process features and the claims are composition claims.
Double Patenting
Claims 144, 153 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claim 41 of U.S. Patent Application No.: 13/479767. Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because:
Claim 41 of ‘767 overlaps the features of Claims 144 and 153 of the current application because it discloses mixed lanthanide oxides doped by at least one doping element from groups 2, 4-15. The “at least one doping element” meets the dopant feature of Claim 144 and 153 using a dopant from group 2 and groups 4, 9, 10 and 11. As to the other features of Claims 144 and 153, the other method steps of that claim are intended use features. The other features of the claim are intended use.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 144, 145, 147, 148, 149, 150, 151, 152, 153, 154, 155, 156, 157, 158, 159, 160, 161, 162, 163 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Cizeron (US Pub.: 2013/0023709).
Claims 144 and 159 describes a catalyst composition. The method features are intended use features and therefore not limiting on the chemical composition of the catalyst.
Cizeron describes a catalyst material that can include a mixed oxide that can include at least two lanthanides in the mixed oxide catalyst (para. 104). The composition can include dopants from groups 4, 9, 12 and 13 of the periodic table as well as at least one additional dopant from group 2 (para. 111). Since Cizeron teaches this feature, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention that in some embodiments that in some embodiments, the catalyst of Cizeron can include two lanthanides in a mixed oxide catalyst modified with dopants from group 2 and another one from Groups 4, 9, 12 and 13.
As to the method steps, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention that the same composition used the same way would be similarly effective.
As to Claim 145, Cizeron teaches that the catalyst blend can include nanowires (para. 0185).
As to Claim 147, Cizeron teaches the catalyst composition of Claim 145. Although Cizeron does not specifically describe that the catalyst has a methane conversion at least it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention that the same composition would be effective in the same way.
As to Claims 148, 149, 150, 160, 161 and 162, Cizeron teaches the catalyst composition of Claim 145. Although Cizeron does not specifically describe that the catalyst has a methane described by Claims 148, 149 and 150, It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention that the same composition would be effective in the same way.
As to Claims 151, 152 and 157 and 163, Cizeron teaches the dopants can include magnesium, cobalt (para. 111), nickel (para. 121), calcium and strontium (Claim 61).
As to Claim 153, Cizeron teaches that the catalyst blend can include nanowires (para. 0185). The composition can include dopants from groups 4, 9, 12 and 13 of the periodic table as well as at least one additional dopant from group 2 (para. 111). As to the method steps, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention that the same composition used the same way would be similarly effective.
As to Claims 154, 155, 156 and 158, Cizeron teaches the catalyst composition of Claim 145. Although Cizeron does not specifically describe that the catalyst has a methane described by Claims 148, 149 and 150, It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention that the same composition would be effective in the same way.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/SHENG H DAVIS/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1732 October 21, 2025