DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 24-25 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being incomplete for omitting essential elements, such omission amounting to a gap between the elements. See MPEP § 2172.01. The omitted elements are:
Regarding claim 24, the claim recites, “wherein the determination unit comprises a measurement module designed to measure the internal resistance of the or each cell module”, there is an element missing before the word or.
For examination purposes the examiner interpretate the claim as “the determination unit comprises a measurement module designed to measure the internal resistance of the each cell module”.
Claims 25 depend on claim 24 and inherited the same deficiency. Thus, rejected on the same ground.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 16-20, 22-28, 35-36 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Schade et al. (US 2018/0248233), herein after Schade and Tomar et al. (US 2020/0280108), herein after Tomar.
Regarding claim 16, Schade discloses a device for determining mechanical stresses in an electrical traction energy store of a motor vehicle (paragraph [006], [0009]), comprising:
a traction energy store for storing electrical energy having at least one cell module (FIG. 1 shows a block diagram of a battery 1 according to the invention. The battery 1 contains at least one battery cell 11, paragraph [0032]), each cell module comprising a housing (a battery housing 10 of the battery 1, fig. 1) and a plurality of secondary cells which are arranged in the housing (Some embodiments of the invention can contain a plurality of battery cells 11 which are interconnected to one another in parallel or serially in order to increase the output voltage and/or the output current of the battery cell 1, paragraph [0032]) and are electrically conductively connected to a power interface of the cell module (FIG. 1 illustrates by way of example two battery cells 11, which are interconnected serially, as a result of which it is possible to tap an electric voltage and an electric current at the terminal contacts 12 and 13 of the battery 1, paragraph [0032]); Schade further discloses it is also possible to use generally known strain gages and/or resistance thermometers in order to detect the size changes and the temperature (paragraph [0039]).
However, Schade is silent about a determination unit which is designed to determine, on the basis of an internal resistance of the secondary cells in the at least one cell module, a mechanical stress in the secondary cells at different times, wherein a first value of the internal resistance corresponds to a first state of the mechanical stress and a second value of the internal resistance, which is greater than the first value of the internal resistance, corresponds to a second state of the mechanical stress which is greater than the mechanical stress in the first state.
Tomar discloses at least one determination unit (a 2-D strain gauge mounted on the side or top of a given cell 104-1 to 104-n, paragraph [0036]) which is designed to determine, on the basis of an internal resistance of the secondary cells in the at least one cell module, a mechanical stress in the secondary cells (Cell pressure can be measured by a 2-D strain gauge mounted on the side or top of a given cell 104-1 to 104-n. Pressure measurements can detect sudden evolution of bubble formation or vaporized electrolyte within a given cell (known as the internal resistance of the cell), paragraph [0036]) at different times (the first to nth sensor data 112-1 to 112-n may indicate measurements performed every second, every minute, every hour, every day, or according to some other periodic schedule, paragraph [0039]), wherein a first value of the internal resistance corresponds to a first state of the mechanical stress and a second value of the internal resistance, which is greater than the first value of the internal resistance, corresponds to a second state of the mechanical stress which is greater than the mechanical stress in the first state (Cells 104-1 to 104-n with high SoH maintain most of the labeled capacity, have high cycling efficiency and low internal resistance. Generally, SoH will keep decreasing over the whole life span of the battery system 102. The management system 114 may determine SoH is based on the cell 104-1 to 104-n capacity, as well as cycling efficiency, internal resistance, and the like, paragraph [0054]Note: the internal resistance cause the cell pressure which can measured by the strain gauge as explained above. As the time passed, the soh of the battery decreases and the internal resistance increases so that the pressure (mechanical stress). Thus, the second value of the mechanical stress at the second time will be greater than the first value).
It would have been obvious to one of the ordinary skills in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Schade’s system to determine the mechanical stress of the battery cells based on the internal resistance of the battery cells as taught by Tomar, in order to detect the battery cells degradation in early stage and implement effective safety measures, such as timely replacement or system shutdowns. Real-time monitoring of internal resistance enables predictive maintenance by identifying failing cells, which is crucial in applications like electric vehicles.
Regarding claim 17, Schade in view of Tomar discloses the device of claimed 16. Tomar further discloses wherein the mechanical stress in the secondary cells comprises a pressure (pressure determination using a gauge (e.g., a high-temperature (−200° C.) strain gauge). As pressure increases, a cell can expand. The expansion of the cell may be measured in order to derive the pressure within the cell, paragraph [0027]; when a strain gauge measures pressure, it's actually detecting the mechanical strain (deformation) within a component, which is a direct result of the applied stress caused by that pressure).
It would have been obvious to one of the ordinary skills in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Schade’s system to determine the mechanical stress or pressure of the battery cells based on the internal resistance of the battery cells as taught by Tomar, in order to detect the battery cells degradation in early stage and implement effective safety measures, such as timely replacement or system shutdowns. Real-time monitoring of internal resistance enables predictive maintenance by identifying failing cells, which is crucial in applications like electric vehicles.
Regarding claim 18, Schade in view of Tomar discloses the device of claimed 17. Tomar further discloses wherein the pressure deforms the secondary cells in the second state (pressure determination using a gauge (e.g., a high-temperature (−200° C.) strain gauge). As pressure increases, a cell can expand. The expansion of the cell may be measured in order to derive the pressure within the cell, paragraph [0027]: the expansion of the cell is actually deformation of the cell).
It would have been obvious to one of the ordinary skills in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Schade’s system to determine the mechanical stress or pressure of the battery cells based on the internal resistance of the battery cells as taught by Tomar, in order to detect the battery cells degradation in early stage and implement effective safety measures, such as timely replacement or system shutdowns. Real-time monitoring of internal resistance enables predictive maintenance by identifying failing cells, which is crucial in applications like electric vehicles.
Regarding claim 19, Schade in view of Tomar discloses the device of claimed 16. However, Schade is silent about the cell separator.
Tomar discloses wherein each of the secondary cells comprises a separator (separator 212, fig. 2), and wherein a permeability of the separator is dependent on the mechanical stress in the particular secondary cell (Internal resistive, transport losses indicate separator and properties of the cells 104-1 to 104-n that may be relevant to failure prediction, paragraph [0038] A battery separator's permeability (how easily ions pass through its pores) directly impacts internal resistance and determination of internal resistance shows the permeability of the separator).
It would have been obvious to one of the ordinary skills in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Schade’s system to have the battery cell with the specific permeability as taught by Tomar, in order to allows the selective and efficient transport of ions (ionic charge carriers) while simultaneously preventing the flow of electrons (physical contact of electrodes), which is crucial for the battery's function and safety.
Regarding claim 20, Schade in view of Tomar discloses the device of claimed 19. However, Schade is silent about the cell separator.
Tomar discloses a separator with specific permeability wherein: the permeability comprises an ion permeability, or the mechanical stress comprises a pressure (pressure determination using a gauge (e.g., a high-temperature (−200° C.) strain gauge). As pressure increases, a cell can expand. The expansion of the cell may be measured in order to derive the pressure within the cell, paragraph [0027]; when a strain gauge measures pressure, it's actually detecting the mechanical strain (deformation) within a component, which is a direct result of the applied stress caused by that pressure).
It would have been obvious to one of the ordinary skills in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Schade’s system to have the battery cell with the specific permeability as taught by Tomar, in order to allows the selective and efficient transport of ions (ionic charge carriers) while simultaneously preventing the flow of electrons (physical contact of electrodes), which is crucial for the battery's function and safety.
Regarding claim 22, Schade in view of Tomar discloses the device of claimed 16. Tomar further discloses wherein the determination unit comprises a measurement module designed to measure the internal resistance of each secondary cell of the cell module or one of the cell modules (A low amplitude voltage AC signal may be injected into the circuit to measure present impedance (resistance and reactance) for each cell 104-1 to 104-n and/or the battery system 102, paragraph [0048]).
It would have been obvious to one of the ordinary skills in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Schade’s system to determine the mechanical stress or pressure of the battery cells based on the internal resistance of the battery cells as taught by Tomar, in order to detect the battery cells degradation in early stage and implement effective safety measures, such as timely replacement or system shutdowns. Real-time monitoring of internal resistance enables predictive maintenance by identifying failing cells, which is crucial in applications like electric vehicles.
Regarding claim 23, Schade in view of Tomar discloses the device of claimed 22. Tomar further discloses wherein the measurement module is designed to measure the internal resistance of each secondary cell of the cell module or one of the cell modules on the basis of a measured stress (Pressure measurements (also considered as the mechanical stress measurements) can detect sudden evolution of bubble formation or vaporized electrolyte within a given cell (equating as the internal resistance of the battery cells), paragraph [0036]) and a measured current of the particular secondary cell (A low-amplitude (˜10 mV) AC signal at 1 kHz can be used to determine the resistance of the cell 202. The initial or rated capacity (Ah) of the cell 202, age of the cell 202, and internal resistance of the cell 202, can be used to derive baseline characteristics of the cell 202. As capacity decreases, the internal resistance of the cell 202 increases proportionally, paragraph [0094]).
It would have been obvious to one of the ordinary skills in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Schade’s system to determine the mechanical stress or pressure of the battery cells based on the internal resistance of the battery cells as taught by Tomar, in order to detect the battery cells degradation in early stage and implement effective safety measures, such as timely replacement or system shutdowns. Real-time monitoring of internal resistance enables predictive maintenance by identifying failing cells, which is crucial in applications like electric vehicles.
Regarding claim 24, Schade in view of Tomar discloses the device of claimed 16. Tomar further discloses wherein the determination unit comprises a measurement module designed to measure the internal resistance of the each cell module (A low amplitude voltage AC signal may be injected into the circuit to measure present impedance (resistance and reactance) for each cell 104-1 to 104-n and/or the battery system 102, paragraph [0048]).
It would have been obvious to one of the ordinary skills in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Schade’s system to determine the mechanical stress or pressure of the battery cells based on the internal resistance of the battery cells as taught by Tomar, in order to detect the battery cells degradation in early stage and implement effective safety measures, such as timely replacement or system shutdowns. Real-time monitoring of internal resistance enables predictive maintenance by identifying failing cells, which is crucial in applications like electric vehicles.
Regarding claim 25, Schade in view of Tomar discloses the device of claimed 24. Tomar further discloses wherein the measurement module is designed to measure the internal resistance of each cell module on the basis of a measured electrical voltage and a measured electrical current of the particular cell module (paragraph [0092]; the impedance sensor can measure the internal resistance with the help of applied voltage and current).
It would have been obvious to one of the ordinary skills in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Schade’s system to determine the mechanical stress or pressure of the battery cells based on the internal resistance of the battery cells as taught by Tomar, in order to detect the battery cells degradation in early stage and implement effective safety measures, such as timely replacement or system shutdowns. Real-time monitoring of internal resistance enables predictive maintenance by identifying failing cells, which is crucial in applications like electric vehicles.
Regarding claim 26, Schade in view of Tomar discloses the device of claimed 24. Tomar further discloses wherein the determination unit comprises a control module in which a relationship between the internal resistance and the mechanical stress is stored, and which is designed to determine the mechanical stress by means of the stored relationship on the basis of the internal resistance (2-3 full charge/discharge (100% depth of discharge) cycles may be performed on the cell (cell or arrangement of cells) to determine present capacity (Ampere-hours), coulomb quantities delivered and put back in, temperature correlations to voltage and current, cell pressure sensor value, current and voltage profiles to arrive at SoH and SoC scale and range. A low amplitude voltage AC signal may be injected into the circuit to measure present impedance (resistance and reactance) for each cell 104-1 to 104-n and/or the battery system 102. As the battery system 102 is used to provide power to an external system, freshly acquired data can be compared by the management system 114 with previous data to identify anomalous behavior in a correlated value comprising each cell temperature, pressure, voltage, and current's max/min levels, rate, response to frequency pulses to relate cell impedance, and the like, paragraph [0048]).
It would have been obvious to one of the ordinary skills in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Schade’s system to determine the mechanical stress or pressure of the battery cells based on the internal resistance of the battery cells as taught by Tomar, in order to detect the battery cells degradation in early stage and implement effective safety measures, such as timely replacement or system shutdowns. Real-time monitoring of internal resistance enables predictive maintenance by identifying failing cells, which is crucial in applications like electric vehicles.
Regarding claim 27, Schade in view of Tomar discloses the device of claimed 26. Tomar further discloses wherein the relationship is dependent on: a temperature in the particular cell module or in the secondary cells, or a state of charge or an open-circuit voltage of the particular cell module or the secondary cells (paragraph [0048]).
It would have been obvious to one of the ordinary skills in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Schade’s system to determine the mechanical stress or pressure of the battery cells based on the internal resistance of the battery cells as taught by Tomar, in order to detect the battery cells degradation in early stage and implement effective safety measures, such as timely replacement or system shutdowns. Real-time monitoring of internal resistance enables predictive maintenance by identifying failing cells, which is crucial in applications like electric vehicles.
Regarding claim 28, Schade in view of Tomar discloses the device of claimed 27. Tomar further discloses wherein: in the first state or in the second state of the mechanical stress the internal resistance is a monotonically decreasing function of the temperature; or in the first or in the second state of mechanical stress the internal resistance is a monotonically increasing function of the state of charge or the open-circuit voltage (Colder charge temperatures can accelerate dendritic formation. For instance, if the resistance of the cell 202 increases by a threshold amount of ohms within a predetermined (e.g., time) period, the management system may identify and/or predict, paragraph [0094] shows that the lower the temperature the higher the internal resistance).
It would have been obvious to one of the ordinary skills in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Schade’s system to determine the mechanical stress or pressure of the battery cells based on the internal resistance of the battery cells as taught by Tomar, in order to detect the battery cells degradation in early stage and implement effective safety measures, such as timely replacement or system shutdowns. Real-time monitoring of internal resistance enables predictive maintenance by identifying failing cells, which is crucial in applications like electric vehicles.
Regarding claim 35, Schade in view of Tomar discloses a motor vehicle comprising a device for determining mechanical stresses in an electrical traction energy store of the motor vehicle as claimed in claim 16(paragraph [006], [0009]).
Regarding claim 36, Schade in view of Tomar discloses a motor vehicle of claim 35, Schade further discloses wherein the motor vehicle is a commercial vehicle (paragraph [0006] the vehicle can be any vehicle).
Claim(s) 31-34 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Schade (US 2018/0248233), and Tomar (US 2020/0280108) as applied to claim 31 above, and further in view of Seki et al. (US 2019/0089011), herein after Seki.
Regarding claim 31, Schade in view of Tomar discloses a motor vehicle of claim 16. Tomar further discloses wherein the at least one cell module comprises at least one relay in each case, which is designed to interrupt the electrically conductive connection between the secondary cells and the power interface of the particular cell module, and wherein the determination unit is designed to control the at least one relay depending on the determined mechanical stress (paragraph [0064]-[0065] where the one of the failure can be detected through strain gauge measurements (mechanical stress of the battery), paragraph [0030]).
It would have been obvious to one of the ordinary skills in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Schade’s system to have a safety switch connected to each cell module as taught by Tomar, in order to protect the battery from the over charger/discharge and the temperature damage.
However, Schade and Tomar do not disclose a switch is a contactor.
Seki discloses an electromagnetic contactor (for example, a switch unit 415 shown in FIG. 9) for switching connection between the positive electrode terminal 413 and the negative electrode terminal 414 (paragraph [0210]).
It would have been obvious to one of the ordinary skills in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Schade’s system in view of Tomar to include a contactor instead to relay as taught by Seki, in order to handle the heavy electrical loads (high amps/voltage), due to its robust build, stronger contacts, and built-in arc suppression for safety.
Regarding claim 32, Schade in view of Tomar and Seki discloses a motor vehicle of claim 31. Tomar further discloses the determination unit is designed to disconnect the electrically conductive connection if the determined mechanical stress exceeds a first limit value or if an increase of the determined mechanical stress exceeds a second limit value (The SBMS, can use analysis and control algorithms running on a microprocessor or other control unit to control (e.g., turn off or disconnect) damaged or problematic cells based on current and historical measurements from individual cell voltage, current, temperature, and strain gauge measurements, paragraph [0030]).
It would have been obvious to one of the ordinary skills in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Schade’s system to have a safety switch connected to each cell module as taught by Tomar, in order to protect the battery from the over charger/discharge and the temperature damage.
Regarding claim 33, Schade in view of Tomar and Seki discloses a motor vehicle of claim 32. Schade further discloses wherein: the determination unit is a control module (control module 5, fig. 1, paragraph [0042]-[0043]); or the electrically conductive connection is the contactor.
Regarding claim 34, Schade in view of Tomar and Seki discloses a motor vehicle of claim 32. Tomar further discloses the determination unit is designed to determine the mechanical stress or to compare the determined mechanical stress with the first or second limit value at least once in each charging cycle of the traction energy store; or the determination unit is designed to determine the mechanical stress in different charging cycles of the traction energy store at the same state of charge, or the same temperature of the particular cell module or the secondary cells, or to compare the determined mechanical stress with the first or second limit value (paragraph [0030]).
It would have been obvious to one of the ordinary skills in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Schade’s system to determine the mechanical stress or pressure of the battery cells based on the internal resistance of the battery cells as taught by Tomar, in order to detect the battery cells degradation in early stage and implement effective safety measures, such as timely replacement or system shutdowns. Real-time monitoring of internal resistance enables predictive maintenance by identifying failing cells, which is crucial in applications like electric vehicles.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 21, 29-30 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Conclusion
SADIA . KOUSAR
Examiner
Art Unit 2859
/JULIAN D HUFFMAN/ Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2859