DETAILED ACTION
Claims and Previous Objections/Rejections Status
Claims 17,22,27-29,61,62 and 64-70 are pending in the application. Claim 63 is cancelled in the amendment filed 8/25/25.
Any objections and/or rejections from previous office actions that have not been reiterated in this office action are obviated.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 8/25/25 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 17,22,27-29,61,62 and 64-70 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Sadek et al. (US 6,482,516B1) in view of Kessel et al. (US 2004/0161527A1) as stated in the office action mailed 2/25/25.
Applicant asserts that the Examiner appears to raise Kessel as teaching the elements of claim 29 which appears to contradict the Examiner’s assertions that Sadek teaches the reinforcing coating layer of claim 29.
The reference of Kessel was used to teach of a reinforcing coating layer coupled to the edges of the coating layer.
The reference of Sadek et al. teaches of a thickening of the coating along the seam line.
Sadek et al. was used to teach of a medicine tablet that comprises a solid core and a polymer (e.g. gelatin, PVA, etc.) coating. The solid core encompasses the substrate of the instant claims and the gelatin coating encompasses the coating layer of the instant claims.
The polymer films (first and second films) are applied to opposite sides of the core and are sealed together in an essentially edge-to-edge manner along a seal line.
The first film and/or second film encompass a primary portion covering a substantial surface area of the substrate of the instant claims.
The sealed portion of the film encompasses the sealing area covering a remainder of the surface area of the substrate of the instant claims.
The reference of Sadek et al. does not explicitly disclose the sealing area comprises excess film of a single piece of polymer laminated to the substrate or polymer film forming the coating layer.
The reference of Sadek et al. further teaches that there is a thickening of the coating along the seam line and therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art that the thickening of the coating along the seam line indicates an excess film from one and/or both of the two polymer film layers overlapping during the sealing process to provide the variation in thickness at the
seal line of the tablet.
The excess from one of the polymer film layers encompasses the excess film of a single piece of polymer of the instant claims.
The reference of Kessel was used to teach that an adhesive material or glue may be used between the overlapping film coating surface to ensure formation of an effective seal and to make the enrobed tablet tamper-evident.
The extra adhesive added to the seal line that is used for providing a tamper-evident medicinal tablet encompasses a reinforcing coating layer coupled to the edges of the coating layer of the instant claim 29.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to utilize an adhesive material or glue as a reinforcing coating layer for the seal line of the polymer coated tablets of Sadek et al. for the advantages of forming an effective seal and/or to make the enrobed tablet tamper-evident.
Applicant asserts that the Examiner has not mentioned any teaching in Kessel when addressing claim 63.
The reference of Kessel was not explicitly used to teach of a sealing area comprising excess film of a single piece of polymer laminated to the substrate or polymer film forming the coating layer but teaches of an ingestible medicament tablet that is enrobed in a polymer film, such as PVA.
Although, the reference of Kessel further teaches that polymer coating involves forming two separate, overlapping part (generally half) coatings on the tablet. The two coatings are sealed together to provide a sealed complete enclosure for the tablet.
The reference of Kessel was explicitly used to teach that an adhesive material or glue may be used to cover the overlapping film coating surface to ensure formation of an effective seal and to make the enrobed tablet tamper-evident.
Therefore, the overlapping film indicates that at least one of the polymer film ends has excess of
polymer available for overlapping the other polymer film end at the location of where the seal is formed.
Applicant asserts that the sealing area and the primary portion are made from a same unitary piece of polymer film. This is in contrast to Sadek as Sadek teaches that layers 13 and 14 of soft elastic gelatin film are applied to opposite sides of the core and which are sealed together, in an essentially edge-to-edge manner.
The instant claims do not state that the entire film coating must comprise a single unitary piece of polymer that is sealed at a sealing area but does state that the polymer piece having an excess of film is a single unitary piece. Therefore, the instant claims do no exclude two single unitary polymer film pieces that are sealed at a sealing area where one or both of the polymer films has/have an excess of film.
The instant claims states that the primary portion (of the coating layer) covers a substantial surface area of a substrate.
The reference of Sadek teaches that a first and a second film cover opposite sides of the solid core and therefore, the each of the first and second film cover a substantial surface area of the solid core individually.
The instant claims states that the primary portion comprising the single unitary piece of polymer has edges sealed at the sealing area.
The reference of Sadek teaches that both a first and/or second film have edges that are sealed at the sealing area.
The instant claims states that the sealing area comprises excess film from a single unitary piece of polymer film.
The thickening of the coating along the seam line of Sadek indicates excess film from one and/or
both of the two polymer film layers overlapping during sealing to provide a variation in thickness at the
seal line of the tablet. Therefore, the first and/or second polymer film having an excess of film for
sealing are each single unitary piece of polymer film.
Applicant asserts that Kessel does not teach or suggest “a sealing area covering a remainder of the surface area of the substrate, the sealing area comprising excess film of a single unitary piece of polymer film laminated to at least one of the substrate or the polymer film forming the coating layer, the primary portion comprising the single unitary piece of polymer film and having edges sealed at the sealing area.”
The reference of Kessel teaches of an ingestible medicament tablet that is enrobed in a polymer
film, such as PVA as well as that stated above.
Although Kessel was not explicitly used to teach of a sealing area comprising excess film of a single piece of polymer laminated to the substrate or polymer film forming the coating layer, Kessel does teach that polymer coating involves forming two separate, overlapping part (generally half) coatings on the tablet wherein the overlapping film indicates that at least one of the polymer film ends has excess of polymer available for overlapping the other polymer film end at the location of where the seal is formed.
The two separate polymer films with overlapping parts, each individually, encompass a single unitary piece of polymer film having excess film at the sealing area.
Double Patenting
Claims 17,22,27-29,61,62,64,66 and 70 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-6,8-10 and 13-16 of U.S. Patent No. 11,591,276 as stated in the office action mailed 2/25/25.
Applicant requests that the filing of a terminal disclaimer be held in abeyance until such time as all other outstanding rejections in this matter have been resolved.
The rejection is maintained and not held in abeyance.
Conclusion
No claims are allowed at this time.
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
examiner can normally be reached M9-3, T9-3, W9-3, Th9-2, F9-2.
/MELISSA J PERREIRA/Examiner, Art Unit 1618
/Michael G. Hartley/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 1618