DETAILED ACTION
Response to Amendment
The amendment and the Request for continuing examination filed on 01/12/2026 have been entered. Claims 1-21 are now pending in the Application. Claims 1, 19 and 20 have been amended, and new claim 21 has been added by the Applicant.
Examiner Notes
Examiner cites particular columns and line numbers in the references as applied to the claims below for the convenience of the applicant. Although the specified citations are representative of the teachings in the art and are applied to the specific limitations within the individual claim, other passages and figures may apply as well. It is respectfully requested that, in preparing responses, the applicant fully consider the references in entirety as potentially teaching all or part of the claimed invention, as well as the context of the passage as taught by the prior art or disclosed by the examiner.
Priority
As required by e M.P.E.P. 210, 214.03, acknowledgement is made of applicant’s claim for priority based on application of National Stage entry of PCT/KR2021/010647 , International Filing Date: 08/11/2021 that claims foreign priority to 10-2020-0102776, filed 08/14/2020, claims foreign priority to 10-2020-0117698, filed 09/14/2020, and claims foreign priority to 10-2020-0117699, filed 09/14/2020 (Korea).
Receipt is acknowledged of papers submitted under 35 U.S.C. 119(a)-(d), which papers have been placed of record in the file.
However, to overcome a prior art rejection, applicant(s) must submit a translation of the foreign priority papers in order to perfect the claimed foreign priority because said papers has not been made of record in accordance with 37 CFR 1.55. See MPEP § 213.04
Drawings
The applicant’s drawings submitted are acceptable for examination purposes.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-21 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Lee (of record) US 20150212291 A1 in view of Yeo (of record) US 20160018624 A1.
In regard to independent claim 1, Lee teaches (see e.g. Figs. 1-17) lens moving apparatus (lens moving unit and camera module, see title, abstract, paragraphs [03-56, 80-90, 98-108, 119-124, 137-162]) comprising: a base (base 210, e.g. paragraphs [83-90, 118, 128-139]), Figs. 2-3, 9-17);
a circuit board comprising a body disposed on an upper surface of the base (i.e. circuit board with body as 250,256 connecting parts, terminal 224, and disposed on upper surface of base 210, as central parts of 250, 256 and 224 are on upper surface of base 210, e.g. paragraphs [83-90, 118, 128-139,147-148, ]), Figs. 2-3, 9-17);
a housing disposed on the base (140 disposed, suspended on 210,e.g paragraphs [83, 89,92,106-118], Figs. 2-7, 9-10, 15-17);
a bobbin disposed in the housing (110, suspended in 120, e.g. paragraphs [83-104, 119-125], Figs. 2-5, 15-17);
a magnet disposed on the housing (130 in 140, e.g. paragraphs [83-84, 102-111,129,149, Figs. 2,7,15-17);
a first coil disposed on the bobbin so as to be opposite to the magnet (first coil 120 on 110 opposing 130, e.g. paragraphs [83-84,90-91,98-108 as depicted in Figs. 2,4,15-17); and
a second coil disposed between the circuit board and the base (2nd coil 230 on and between base 210 and circuit board 250,256 connecting parts, terminal 224, e.g. paragraphs [111, 128-139,147-157], as depicted in Figs. 2-3,9-13,15-16]) so as to overlap the magnet in an optical-axis direction (230 overlaps magnet 130 in optical axis direction as floor surface of the magnet 130 faces the second coil 230, paragraphs [111, 118, 128-139,147-157], as depicted in Figs. 2-3,9-13,15-16),
wherein the second coil is configured to move the housing in a direction perpendicular to the optical-axis direction by an interaction with the magnet (200 handshake actuator with coil 230 interacting with magnet 130 is for handshake correction moving perpendicular to optical z-axis, paragraphs [81-83, 119,128,142-157,162], Figs. 1-17) for performing handshake compensation (as coil 230 is part of 200 handshake actuator as coil 230 interacting with magnet 130 is for handshake correction moving perpendicular to optical z-axis, paragraphs [81-83, 119,128,142-157,162], Figs. 1-17), but Lee doesn’t show that an upper/top surface of the second coil (upper top surface of 230, positioned on guide protrusions 212 of base accommodating 210 parts around 212b, Figs. 2, 9-12) is positioned lower than a lower surface of the body of the circuit board which faces the upper surface of the base in the optical-axis direction (as 230 is on central part of 250 which faces upper surface of 210, as depicted in e.g. Figs. 2, 9-12, paragraphs [132-133,149-151, 156]).
However, Yeo teaches in the same field of invention of a lens actuator (see Figs. 1-6, title, abstract, paragraphs [02, 08-31,45-55,75-84,91-95]), and further teaches that that an upper surface of the second coil (e.g. second coil 500, positioned in accommodation groove 620 of base 600, Figs. 1-3, 45-55,75-85,91-95]) is positioned lower than a lower surface of the body of the circuit board (800) which faces the upper surface of the base (600) in the optical-axis direction (i.e. because the second coil 500 in groove 620 of base 610 and facing magnets 210,200 in carrier 100 at predetermined distance, and as 500 is along an edge of the bottom surface of the carrier 100 whose travel/support is limited by protrusions 640 on base 600 with groove 620, and given that groove 620 extends to escape grove 630 corresponding to shim coil(s) 400 and the shim coil(s) 400 is on upper surface of circuit substrate 800, the circuit substrate 800 is positioned on top upper surface of the base unit 600, thus as 500 is in the groove 620 below the upper surface of coil 500 is positioned lower than a lover surface of the e.g. central body of circuit board substrate 800 on upper surface of the base 600 in optical axis z-axis direction, as depicted in Figs. 1-3, paragraphs [45-55,75-84,91-95], allowing that the second coil, circuit board substrate and housing are all fixed by base with the second coil in accommodation groove of the base achieving that thickness of a lens actuator (950) can be reduced as much as the thickness of the gap adjusting coil (500), paragraphs [81-84]).
Therefore it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to adapt and modify the arrangement of the second coil, base accommodation part fir coils and circuit board of Lee to have the second coil positioned in accommodation groove of base with upper/top surface lower than the lower surface of the body of the circuit board substrate that faces the upper surface of the base in the optical-axis direction according to teachings of Yeo, in order to allow that the second coil, circuit board substrate and housing are all fixed by base with the second coil accommodated in groove of the base, thus achieving that thickness of a lens actuator can be reduced as much as the thickness of the gap adjusting coil (see Yeo, paragraphs [81-84]).
In the alternative that the combination does not clearly disclose that the an upper/top surface of the second coil (e.g. second coil 500, positioned in accommodation groove 620 of base 600, Figs. 1-3, 45-55,75-85,91-95]) is positioned lower than a lower surface of the body of the circuit board, the limitation is still obvious as follows: Specifically it would have been an obvious matter of choice to adjust the size/depth of base accommodation part/groove and/or thickness of second coil of Lee and Yeo combination such that the second coil is fully inside the accommodation groove, below the top surface of the base in order to achieve reduction of thickness of the lens actuator and by reducing the thickness of the gap adjusting coil (see Yeo, paragraphs [81-84]), since such a modification would have involved a mere change in the size of the component. A change of size is generally recognized as being within the level of ordinary skill in the art. In re Rose, 105 USPQ 237 (CCPA 1955), and In re Rinehart, 531 F.2d 1048, 189 USPQ 143 (CCPA (1976)(See MPEP 2144.04).
Regarding claim 2, Lee teaches (see e.g. Figs. 1-17) that the second coil is coupled to the lower surface of the circuit board and is conductively connected to the circuit board (as 230 is coupled to a lower surface due to cutouts and protrusions 212a,b, and 252 with terminals, start line 231 of 250, connecting 230 to 250 see e.g. paragraphs [132-133,149-150], e.g. Figs. 2, 13,15-16], as modified with Yeo).
Regarding claim 3, Lee teaches (see e.g. Figs. 1-17) that the circuit board comprises a pad connected to the second coil (e.g. 252 terminals, start line 231 of 250, connecting 230 to 250 see e.g. paragraphs [132-133,149-150], e.g. Figs. 2, 13,15-16]).
Regarding claim 4, Lee teaches (see e.g. Figs. 1-17) that the base comprises a recess formed in the upper surface thereof, and the second coil is disposed in the recess of the base (i.e. as 210 has recesses between sidewalls, corner walls and inner lip of central opening, accommodating 2nd coil 230, e.g. paragraphs [218,128,151-153], as depicted in Figs. 11-13, and as modified with Yeo).
Regarding claim 5, Lee teaches (see e.g. Figs. 1-17) that the base comprises a protrusion formed on the upper surface thereof, the second coil has a hollow formed in a center thereof, and the protrusion of the base is disposed in the hollow of the second coil (i.e. protrusions 212ab in upper surface of 210 through central opening of coil 230, paragraphs [132-133,151], as depicted in Figs. 11-13, 15-17).
Regarding claim 6, Lee teaches (see e.g. Figs. 1-17) that a height of the protrusion is equal to or less than a height of an upper end of the second coil (i.e. as 212ab has a height that is less than 230, as depicted in Figs. 15-17,11-13, paragraphs [132-133,151]).
Regarding claim 7, Lee teaches (see e.g. Figs. 1-17) that the second coil is wound turns (i.e. as second coils 230 as coils have winding turns formed by winding a doughnut-shaped wire, to generate magnetic field and magnetically interact with magnet(s)130, paragraphs [132-133,150-157]). Hence Lee-Yeo combination teaches the invention except the second coil is wound 40 turns or more. However, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, specify and optimize the wound turns of the second coil (230), since it has been held that where the general conditions of a claim are disclosed in the prior art, discovering the optimum or workable ranges involves only routine skill in the art, In re Aller, 105 USPQ 233 (C.C.P.A. 1955). In the current instance, number of turns of coil in a voice-coil motor i.e. coil-magnet actuator is an art-recognized results effective variable in that the number of coil turns provides appropriate strength of magnetic field and determines strength of magnet-coil interaction for second lens moving unit for handshake correction as well as enhanced accuracy and operational reliability of handshake correction (e.g. paragraphs [08,42,53,55,104,128-133, 142,150-157[0049-51]). Thus, one would have been motivated to optimize the number of coil turns to above range to provides appropriate strength of magnetic field and strength of magnet-coil interaction for second lens moving unit for handshake correction achieving enhanced accuracy and operational reliability of handshake correction, and because it is an art-recognized result-effective variable and it has been held that discovering an optimum value of a result effective variable involves only routine skill in the art, In re Antonie, 559 F.2d 618, 195 USPQ 6 (CCPA 1977). See MPEP §2144.05(II)(B) “after KSR, the presence of a known result-effective variable would be one, but not the only, motivation for a personal of ordinary skill in the art to experiment to reach another workable product or process.” Furthermore, one of ordinary skill in the art would have a reasonable expectation of success when making this modification because designing coil with appropriate number of winding turns is a routine activity in magnet-coil actuators for lens moving module.
Regarding claim 8, Lee teaches (see e.g. Figs. 1-17) that a depth of the recess of the base is in a length of the second coil in the optical-axis direction (i.e. as coil 230 is accommodated in base 210 in accommodation groove e.g. e.g. Figs. 2, 9-12, paragraphs [132-133,149-151, 156], e.g. according to Yeo i.e. 620 per modification, Figs. 1-3, paragraphs [45-55,75-84,91-95], i.e. in coil 230 thickness direction, or optical axis z-direction), but the combination does not specify that depth of the recess of the base (as 610 in 210 per modification) is equal to or greater than a length of the second coil in the optical-axis direction (230 in optical axis direction).
However, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to optimize the accommodation groove depth in the base accommodating the coil, in order to achieve that thickness of a lens actuator is reduced as much as the thickness of the gap adjusting coil (see Yeo paragraphs [81-84]), and since it has been held that where the general conditions of a claim are disclosed in the prior art, discovering the optimum or workable ranges involves only routine skill in the art, In re Aller, 105 USPQ 233 (C.C.P.A. 1955). Furthermore, one of ordinary skill in the art would have a reasonable expectation of success when making this modification because designing coil accommodation groove with appropriate depth is a routine activity in designing magnet-coil actuators for lens moving module.
Regarding claim 9, Lee teaches (see e.g. Figs. 1-17) that a height of the protrusion is greater than a height of an upper end of the second coil (i.e. as 212ab has a height absolute height from bottom surface of 210 that is more than height/thickness of 230, as depicted in Figs. 15-17,11-13, paragraphs [132-133,151]).
Regarding claim 10, Lee teaches (see e.g. Figs. 1-17) comprising: an upper elastic member coupled to an upper portion of the bobbin and an upper portion of the housing (upper elastic 150 coupled to upper 110 and upper 140 portions, e.g. paragraphs [84,93,97-101;113-127,147-148 Figs. 2-5, 8-9, 15-17); and
a supporting member comprising one end coupled to the upper elastic member and the other end conductively connected to the circuit board (supporting member(s) 220 coupled to circuit 250,256 at 226 end and to 150 at connection unit 221, e.g. paragraphs [139-140,144-148,156], Figs. 2-5,8-10,15-17).
Regarding claim 11, Lee teaches (see e.g. Figs. 1-17) that the supporting member comprises a first supporting member and a second supporting member disposed on at least one corner of the housing (i.e. as supporting members, parts 220, 222,223,224 in corners of 140, e.g. paragraphs [139-140,144-148,156], Figs. 2-5,8-10,15-17).
Regarding claim 12, Lee teaches (see e.g. Figs. 1-17) that the first supporting member and the second supporting member are identical to each other (e.g. as left two supporting members, parts 220, 222,223,224 in left corners of 140, e.g. paragraphs [139-140,144-148,156], Figs. 2, 8).
Regarding claim 13, Lee teaches (see e.g. Figs. 1-17) comprising a terminal member coupled to the base and positioned lower than a lower surface of the circuit board (i.e. as terminal 251 with pads 256, coupled to base 210,210a, and 251 is lower than the lower surface of 250 e.g. of planar part, e.g. paragraphs [130, 148, 153,156-159], Figs. 9-12), wherein the terminal member comprises a body coupled to the other end of the supporting member and an extension portion extending from the body of the terminal member and coupled to the circuit board (i.e. as body part around 256 part is coupled to 226,224 of 220, and e.g. extending part planar part of 250 to 250a, with 253 coupled to 250, e.g. paragraphs [130, 148,surrounding 153,156-159], Figs. 9-12).
Regarding claim 14, Lee teaches (see e.g. Figs. 1-17) that the body of the terminal member comprises (e.g. body part around 256 part): a coupling region (i.e. as region around the 256 part, paragraphs [130, 148, 153,156-159], Figs. 10-13); a first hole formed in the coupling region and configured to allow the other end of the supporting member to pass therethrough (i.e. as cutout hole in 256 region allowing for 224 of 220 to pass though, paragraphs [130, 139,143,148, 153,156-159], Figs. 10-13); ; and at least one second hole formed around the coupling region (i.e. as two second holes e.g. 254 and through hole on 250a side, around the 256 region, as depicted in Figs. 11-12, paragraphs [130, 139,143,148, 154-156]).
Regarding claim 15, Lee teaches (see e.g. Figs. 1-17) that the circuit board comprises a pad conductively connected to the extension portion of the terminal member (e.g. as 250a, with hole 253 coupled to extension of 256, 250, e.g. paragraphs [130, 148,153,156-159], Figs. 9-12). .
Regarding claim 16, Lee teaches (see e.g. Figs. 1-17) that each of the first and second supporting members is a wire made of a conductive material (i.e. as supporting members, parts include conductive wires 220, 222,223,224, e.g. supplying electric power to 150, e.g. paragraphs [84, 139-140,144-148,156], Figs. 2-5,8-10,15-17).
Regarding claim 17, Lee teaches (see e.g. Figs. 1-17) that the first supporting member is a wire made of a conductive material (i.e. as wire conductive parts e.g. 223,222, of 200 conducting current to bisected 150, e.g. paragraphs [90-91, 98-99, 139, 144-148]), and the second supporting member is made of a nonconductive material (i.e. as support includes diaphragm 227 formed on side and part of 140 housing coupled with 220 with 225 at S, and non-conductive as only 226,223,222, 221 parts of 220 supply current to bisected 150, paragraphs [90-91, 98-99, 139, 144-148]), and wherein stiffness of the second supporting member is greater than stiffness of the first supporting member (i.e. as 227 is part of holder 140 it is stiffer than elastic, wires of 222-223 of 220 are deformably units, paragraphs [90-91, 98-99, 134,139, 142-145]).
Regarding claim 18, Lee teaches (see e.g. Figs. 1-17)comprising: a sensing magnet disposed on the bobbin (e.g. sensing magnet on lens moving unit, also as magnet 130 on 140 and thus on 110 coupled to 140, sensed by sensor 240, paragraphs [20, 40-41,47-48,128,135-137,152,157]); a first position sensor disposed between the base and the circuit board so as to be opposite to the sensing magnet in the optical-axis direction (i.e. as first position sensor 240 between 210 and 250, sensing magnetic field(s) and opposite 130 in z-direction, e.g. paragraphs [20, 128,157, 128,135-137,152], as depicted in Figs. 2, 11-13); and a second position sensor disposed between the base and the circuit board so as to be opposite to the magnet in the optical-axis direction (i.e. as second position sensor 240 between 210 and 250, sensing magnetic field(s) and opposite 130 in z-direction, e.g. paragraphs [20, 128,157, 128,135-137,152], as depicted in Figs. 2, 11-13).
In regard to independent claim 19, Lee teaches (see e.g. Figs. 1-17) lens moving apparatus (lens moving unit and camera module, see title, abstract, paragraphs [03-56, 80-90, 98-108, 119-124, 137-162]) comprising: a base (base 210, e.g. paragraphs [83-90, 118, 128-139]), Figs. 2-3, 9-17);
a circuit board comprising a body disposed on an upper surface of the base (i.e. circuit board with body as 250,256 connecting parts, terminal 224, and disposed on upper surface of base 210, as central parts of 250, 256 and 224 are on upper surface of base 210, e.g. paragraphs [83-90, 118, 128-139,147-148, ]), Figs. 2-3, 9-17) ;
a housing disposed on the base (140 disposed, suspended on 210,e.g paragraphs [83, 89,92,106-118], Figs. 2-7, 9-10, 15-17);
a bobbin disposed in the housing (110, suspended in 120, e.g. paragraphs [83-104, 119-125], Figs. 2-5, 15-17);
a first coil and a magnet configured to move the bobbin (magnet 130 in 140, first coil 120 on 110 opposing 130, to move 110, e.g. paragraphs [83-84, 90-91, 102-111,129,149, Figs. 2,7,15-17);
a second coil corresponding to the magnet in an optical-axis direction (2nd coil 230 on corresponding to 130 in optical axis z-direction, e.g. paragraphs [111, 128-139,147-157], as depicted in Figs. 2-3,9-13,15-16]) and configured to move the housing in a direction perpendicular to the optical axis direction by an interaction with the magnet (200 handshake actuator with 230 interacting with magnet 130 is for handshake correction moving perpendicular to optical z-axis, paragraphs [81-83, 119,128,142-157,162], Figs. 1-17) for performing handshake compensation (as coil 230 is part of 200 handshake actuator as coil 230 interacting with magnet 130 is for handshake correction moving perpendicular to optical z-axis, paragraphs [81-83, 119,128,142-157,162], Figs. 1-17),
wherein the base (210) comprises a first region on which the second coil is disposed (i.e. region on which 230 is disposed, incl. recesses between sidewalls, corner walls and inner lip of central opening, accommodating 2nd coil 230, e.g. paragraphs [218,128,151-153], as depicted in Figs. 11-13), wherein a bottom surface of the first region is lower than the uppermost surface of the base (i.e. as bottom surface where 230 are, e.g. around protrusions 212ab is lower than top surface of the base e.g. of sidewalls, corner walls as depicted in Figs. 11-13, 15-16, e.g. paragraphs [218,128, 132-133,151-153), and at least a part of the second coil is disposed in the first region (i.e. region on which 230 is disposed, incl. recesses between sidewalls, corner walls accommodating 2nd coil 230, e.g. paragraphs [218,128,151-153], as depicted in Figs. 11-13), but Lee doesn’t show that an upper surface of the second coil (230, positioned on guide protrusions 212 of base 210, Figs. 2, 9-12) is positioned lower than a lower surface of the body of the circuit board which faces the upper surface of the base in the optical-axis direction (as 230 is on central part of 250 which faces upper surface of 210, as depicted in e.g. Figs. 2, 9-12, paragraphs [132-133,149-151, 156]).
However, Yeo teaches in the same field of invention of a lens actuator (see Figs. 1-6, title, abstract, paragraphs [02, 08-31,45-55,75-84,91-95]), and further teaches that that an upper surface of the second coil (e.g. second coil 500, positioned in accommodation groove 620 of base 600, Figs. 1-3, 45-55,75-85,91-95]) is positioned lower than a lower surface of the body of the circuit board (800) which faces the upper surface of the base (600) in the optical-axis direction (i.e. because the second coil 500 in groove 620 of base 610 and facing magnets 210,200 in carrier 100 at predetermined distance, and as 500 is along an edge of the bottom surface of the carrier 100 whose travel/support is limited by protrusions 640 on base 600 with groove 620, and given that groove 620 extends to escape grove 630 corresponding to shim coil(s) 400 and the shim coil(s) 400 is on upper surface of circuit substrate 800, the circuit substrate 800 is positioned on top upper surface of the base unit 600, thus as 500 is in the groove 620 below the upper surface of coil 500 is positioned lower than a lover surface of the e.g. central body of circuit board substrate 800 on upper surface of the base 600 in optical axis z-axis direction, as depicted in Figs. 1-3, paragraphs [45-55,75-84,91-95], allowing that the second coil, circuit board substrate and housing are all fixed by base with the second coil in accommodation groove of the base achieving that thickness of a lens actuator (950) can be reduced as much as the thickness of the gap adjusting coil (500), paragraphs [81-84]).
Therefore it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to adapt and modify the arrangement of the second coil, base accommodation part fir coils and circuit board of Lee to have the second coil positioned in accommodation groove of base with upper/top surface lower than the lower surface of the body of the circuit board substrate that faces the upper surface of the base in the optical-axis direction according to teachings of Yeo, in order to allow that the second coil, circuit board substrate and housing are all fixed by base with the second coil accommodated in groove of the base, thus achieving that thickness of a lens actuator can be reduced as much as the thickness of the gap adjusting coil (see Yeo, paragraphs [81-84]).
In the alternative that the combination does not clearly disclose that the an upper surface of the second coil (e.g. second coil 500, positioned in accommodation groove 620 of base 600, Figs. 1-3, 45-55,75-85,91-95]) is positioned lower than a lower surface of the body of the circuit board, the limitation is still obvious as follows: Specifically it would have been an obvious matter of choice to adjust the size/depth of base accommodation part/groove and/or thickness of second coil of Lee and Yeo combination such that the second coil is fully inside the accommodation groove, below the top surface of the base in order to achieve reduction of thickness of the lens actuator and by reducing the thickness of the gap adjusting coil (see Yeo, paragraphs [81-84]), since such a modification would have involved a mere change in the size of the component. A change of size is generally recognized as being within the level of ordinary skill in the art. In re Rose, 105 USPQ 237 (CCPA 1955), and In re Rinehart, 531 F.2d 1048, 189 USPQ 143 (CCPA (1976)(See MPEP 2144.04).
In regard to independent claim 20, Lee teaches (see e.g. Figs. 1-17) lens moving apparatus (lens moving unit and camera module, see title, abstract, paragraphs [03-56, 80-90, 98-108, 119-124, 137-162]) comprising: a base (base 210, e.g. paragraphs [83-90, 118, 128-139]), Figs. 2-3, 9-17);
a circuit board comprising a body disposed on an upper surface of the base (i.e. circuit board with body as 250,256 connecting parts, terminal 224, and disposed on upper surface of base 210, as central parts of 250, 256 and 224 are on upper surface of base 210, e.g. paragraphs [83-90, 118, 128-139,147-148, ]), Figs. 2-3, 9-17);
a housing disposed on the base (140 disposed, suspended on 210,e.g paragraphs [83, 89,92,106-118], Figs. 2-7, 9-10, 15-17);
a bobbin disposed in the housing (110, suspended in 120, e.g. paragraphs [83-104, 119-125], Figs. 2-5, 15-17);
a first coil and a magnet configured to move the bobbin (magnet 130 in 140, first coil 120 on 110 opposing 130, to move 110, e.g. paragraphs [83-84, 90-91, 102-111,129,149, Figs. 2,7,15-17);
a second coil corresponding to the magnet in an optical-axis direction and comprising a hollow formed therein (2nd coil 230 with a hollow e.g. for 212ab, corresponding to 130 in optical axis z-direction, e.g. paragraphs [111, 128-139,147-157], as depicted in Figs. 2-3,9-13,15-16]) and configured to move the housing in a direction perpendicular to the optical axis direction by an interaction with the magnet (200 handshake actuator with 230 interacting with magnet 130 is for handshake correction moving perpendicular to optical z-axis, paragraphs [81-83, 119,128,142-157,162], Figs. 1-17) for performing handshake compensation (as coil 230 is part of 200 handshake actuator as coil 230 interacting with magnet 130 is for handshake correction moving perpendicular to optical z-axis, paragraphs [81-83, 119,128,142-157,162], Figs. 1-17),
and wherein the base (210) comprises a first region on which the second coil is disposed (i.e. region on which 230 is disposed, incl. recesses between sidewalls, corner walls and inner lip of central opening, accommodating 2nd coil 230, e.g. paragraphs [218,128,151-153], as depicted in Figs. 11-13), and the first region comprises a protrusion disposed in the hollow of the second coil (i.e. protrusions 212ab in upper surface of 210 through central opening of coil 230, paragraphs [132-133,151], as depicted in Figs. 11-13, 15-17), but Lee doesn’t show that an upper surface of the second coil (230, positioned on guide protrusions 212 of base 210, Figs. 2, 9-12) is positioned lower than a lower surface of the body of the circuit board which faces the upper surface of the base in the optical-axis direction (as 230 is on central part of 250 which faces upper surface of 210, as depicted in e.g. Figs. 2, 9-12, paragraphs [132-133,149-151, 156]).
However, Yeo teaches in the same field of invention of a lens actuator (see Figs. 1-6, title, abstract, paragraphs [02, 08-31,45-55,75-84,91-95]), and further teaches that that an upper surface of the second coil (e.g. second coil 500, positioned in accommodation groove 620 of base 600, Figs. 1-3, 45-55,75-85,91-95]) is positioned lower than a lower surface of the body of the circuit board (800) which faces the upper surface of the base (600) in the optical-axis direction (i.e. because the second coil 500 in groove 620 of base 610 and facing magnets 210,200 in carrier 100 at predetermined distance, and as 500 is along an edge of the bottom surface of the carrier 100 whose travel/support is limited by protrusions 640 on base 600 with groove 620, and given that groove 620 extends to escape grove 630 corresponding to shim coil(s) 400 and the shim coil(s) 400 is on upper surface of circuit substrate 800, the circuit substrate 800 is positioned on top upper surface of the base unit 600, thus as 500 is in the groove 620 below the upper surface of coil 500 is positioned lower than a lover surface of the e.g. central body of circuit board substrate 800 on upper surface of the base 600 in optical axis z-axis direction, as depicted in Figs. 1-3, paragraphs [45-55,75-84,91-95], allowing that the second coil, circuit board substrate and housing are all fixed by base with the second coil in accommodation groove of the base achieving that thickness of a lens actuator (950) can be reduced as much as the thickness of the gap adjusting coil (500), paragraphs [81-84]).
Therefore it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to adapt and modify the arrangement of the second coil, base accommodation part fir coils and circuit board of Lee to have the second coil positioned in accommodation groove of base with upper/top surface lower than the lower surface of the body of the circuit board substrate that faces the upper surface of the base in the optical-axis direction according to teachings of Yeo, in order to allow that the second coil, circuit board substrate and housing are all fixed by base with the second coil accommodated in groove of the base, thus achieving that thickness of a lens actuator can be reduced as much as the thickness of the gap adjusting coil (see Yeo, paragraphs [81-84]).
In the alternative that the combination does not clearly disclose that the an upper surface of the second coil (e.g. second coil 500, positioned in accommodation groove 620 of base 600, Figs. 1-3, 45-55,75-85,91-95]) is positioned lower than a lower surface of the body of the circuit board, the limitation is still obvious as follows: Specifically it would have been an obvious matter of choice to adjust the size/depth of base accommodation part/groove and/or thickness of second coil of Lee and Yeo combination such that the second coil is fully inside the accommodation groove, below the top surface of the base in order to achieve reduction of thickness of the lens actuator and by reducing the thickness of the gap adjusting coil (see Yeo, paragraphs [81-84]), since such a modification would have involved a mere change in the size of the component. A change of size is generally recognized as being within the level of ordinary skill in the art. In re Rose, 105 USPQ 237 (CCPA 1955), and In re Rinehart, 531 F.2d 1048, 189 USPQ 143 (CCPA (1976)(See MPEP 2144.04).
Regarding claim 21, Lee teaches (see e.g. Figs. 1-17) that the uppermost surface of the second coil is positioned lower than the lower surface of the body of the circuit board (as upper top surface is uppermost surface of of 230, positioned on guide protrusions 212 of base accommodating 210 parts around 212b, Figs. 2, 9-12, with modification per Yeo, see claim 1 above)
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments filed in the Remarks dated 01/12/2026 with respect to claims 1 and 19-20 have been fully considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on combination of references applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
Specifically, Applicant argues on pages 12-13 of the Remarks that the cited prior art of Lee and Yeo in combination do not disclose that the second coil, which overlaps the magnet and performs handshake compensation has (1) “an upper surface of the second coil is positioned lower than a lower surface of the body of the circuit board which faces the upper surface of the base in the optical-axis direction”, because coil 230 of Lee is allegedly over the base 210, and because Yeo doe not cure such deficiencies since coil 500 is disposed in an interior or inner side of the opening of the circuit board 800, and since allegedly the coil 500 is inserted into the opening of the circuit board 800, an upper surface of the inserted coil 500 is disposed above a lower surface of the substrate 800. The Examiner respectfully disagrees. With respect to the above issue (1), as noted in the rejections above, the cited prior art of Lee teaches most of the limitations of claim 1 (as similarly as applied to claims 19 and 20), and in combination with Yeo teaches and renders obvious all limitations of claim 1, namely Lee teaches (see e.g. Figs. 1-17) lens moving apparatus (lens moving unit and camera module, see title, abstract, paragraphs [03-56, 80-90, 98-108, 119-124, 137-162]) comprising: a base (base 210, e.g. paragraphs [83-90, 118, 128-139]), Figs. 2-3, 9-17);
a circuit board comprising a body disposed on an upper surface of the base (i.e. circuit board with body as 250,256 connecting parts, terminal 224, and disposed on upper surface of base 210, as central parts of 250, 256 and 224 are on upper surface of base 210, e.g. paragraphs [83-90, 118, 128-139,147-148, ]), Figs. 2-3, 9-17);
a housing disposed on the base (140 disposed, suspended on 210,e.g paragraphs [83, 89,92,106-118], Figs. 2-7, 9-10, 15-17);
a bobbin disposed in the housing (110, suspended in 120, e.g. paragraphs [83-104, 119-125], Figs. 2-5, 15-17);
a magnet disposed on the housing (130 in 140, e.g. paragraphs [83-84, 102-111,129,149, Figs. 2,7,15-17);
a first coil disposed on the bobbin so as to be opposite to the magnet (first coil 120 on 110 opposing 130, e.g. paragraphs [83-84,90-91,98-108 as depicted in Figs. 2,4,15-17); and
a second coil disposed between the circuit board and the base (2nd coil 230 on and between base 210 and circuit board 250,256 connecting parts, terminal 224, e.g. paragraphs [111, 128-139,147-157], as depicted in Figs. 2-3,9-13,15-16]) so as to overlap the magnet in an optical-axis direction (230 overlaps magnet 130 in optical axis direction as floor surface of the magnet 130 faces the second coil 230, paragraphs [111, 118, 128-139,147-157], as depicted in Figs. 2-3,9-13,15-16),
wherein the second coil is configured to move the housing in a direction perpendicular to the optical-axis direction by an interaction with the magnet (200 handshake actuator with coil 230 interacting with magnet 130 is for handshake correction moving perpendicular to optical z-axis, paragraphs [81-83, 119,128,142-157,162], Figs. 1-17) for performing handshake compensation (as coil 230 is part of 200 handshake actuator as coil 230 interacting with magnet 130 is for handshake correction moving perpendicular to optical z-axis, paragraphs [81-83, 119,128,142-157,162], Figs. 1-17), but Lee doesn’t show that an upper/top surface of the second coil (upper top surface of 230, positioned on guide protrusions 212 of base accommodating 210 parts around 212b, Figs. 2, 9-12) is positioned lower than a lower surface of the body of the circuit board which faces the upper surface of the base in the optical-axis direction (as 230 is on central part of 250 which faces upper surface of 210, as depicted in e.g. Figs. 2, 9-12, paragraphs [132-133,149-151, 156]).
However, Yeo teaches in the same field of invention of a lens actuator (see Figs. 1-6, title, abstract, paragraphs [02, 08-31,45-55,75-84,91-95]), and further teaches that that an upper surface of the second coil (e.g. second coil 500, positioned in accommodation groove 620 of base 600, Figs. 1-3, 45-55,75-85,91-95]) is positioned lower than a lower surface of the body of the circuit board (800) which faces the upper surface of the base (600) in the optical-axis direction (i.e. because the second coil 500 in groove 620 of base 610 and facing magnets 210,200 in carrier 100 at predetermined distance, and as 500 is along an edge of the bottom surface of the carrier 100 whose travel/support is limited by protrusions 640 on base 600 with groove 620, and given that groove 620 extends to escape grove 630 corresponding to shim coil(s) 400 and the shim coil(s) 400 is on upper surface of circuit substrate 800, the circuit substrate 800 is positioned on top upper surface of the base unit 600, thus as 500 is in the groove 620 below the upper surface of coil 500 is positioned lower than a lover surface of the e.g. central body of circuit board substrate 800 on upper surface of the base 600 in optical axis z-axis direction, as depicted in Figs. 1-3, paragraphs [45-55,75-84,91-95], allowing that the second coil, circuit board substrate and housing are all fixed by base with the second coil in accommodation groove of the base achieving that thickness of a lens actuator (950) can be reduced as much as the thickness of the gap adjusting coil (500), paragraphs [81-84]).
Therefore it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to adapt and modify the arrangement of the second coil, base accommodation part fir coils and circuit board of Lee to have the second coil positioned in accommodation groove of base with upper/top surface lower than the lower surface of the body of the circuit board substrate that faces the upper surface of the base in the optical-axis direction according to teachings of Yeo, in order to allow that the second coil, circuit board substrate and housing are all fixed by base with the second coil accommodated in groove of the base, thus achieving that thickness of a lens actuator can be reduced as much as the thickness of the gap adjusting coil (see Yeo, paragraphs [81-84]).
In the alternative that the combination does not clearly disclose that the an upper/top surface of the second coil (e.g. second coil 500, positioned in accommodation groove 620 of base 600, Figs. 1-3, 45-55,75-85,91-95]) is positioned lower than a lower surface of the body of the circuit board, the limitation is still obvious as follows: Specifically it would have been an obvious matter of choice to adjust the size/depth of base accommodation part/groove and/or thickness of second coil of Lee and Yeo combination such that the second coil is fully inside the accommodation groove, below the top surface of the base in order to achieve reduction of thickness of the lens actuator and by reducing the thickness of the gap adjusting coil (see Yeo, paragraphs [81-84]), since such a modification would have involved a mere change in the size of the component. A change of size is generally recognized as being within the level of ordinary skill in the art. In re Rose, 105 USPQ 237 (CCPA 1955), and In re Rinehart, 531 F.2d 1048, 189 USPQ 143 (CCPA (1976)(See MPEP 2144.04).
Specifically, Lee teaches the second coil is configured to move the housing in a direction perpendicular to the optical-axis direction by an interaction with the magnet (200 handshake actuator with coil 230 interacting with magnet 130 is for handshake correction moving perpendicular to optical z-axis, paragraphs [81-83, 119,128,142-157,162], Figs. 1-17) for performing handshake compensation (as coil 230 is part of 200 handshake actuator as coil 230 interacting with magnet 130 is for handshake correction moving perpendicular to optical z-axis, paragraphs [81-83, 119,128,142-157,162], Figs. 1-17), but Lee doesn’t show that an upper/top surface of the second coil (upper top surface of 230, positioned on guide protrusions 212 of base accommodating 210 parts around 212b, Figs. 2, 9-12) is positioned lower than a lower surface of the body of the circuit board which faces the upper surface of the base in the optical-axis direction (as 230 is on central part of 250 which faces upper surface of 210, as depicted in e.g. Figs. 2, 9-12, paragraphs [132-133,149-151, 156]).
However, as noted above, Lee doesn’t show that an upper/top surface of the second coil (upper top surface of 230, positioned on guide protrusions 212 of base accommodating 210 parts around 212b, Figs. 2, 9-12) is positioned lower than a lower surface of the body of the circuit board which faces the upper surface of the base in the optical-axis direction (as 230 is on central part of 250 which faces upper surface of 210, as depicted in e.g. Figs. 2, 9-12, paragraphs [132-133,149-151, 156]).
However, Yeo teaches in the same field of invention of a lens actuator (see Figs. 1-6, title, abstract, paragraphs [02, 08-31,45-55,75-84,91-95]), and further teaches that that an upper surface of the second coil (e.g. second coil 500, positioned in accommodation groove 620 of base 600, Figs. 1-3, 45-55,75-85,91-95]) is positioned lower than a lower surface of the body of the circuit board (800) which faces the upper surface of the base (600) in the optical-axis direction (i.e. because the second coil 500 in groove 620 of base 610 and facing magnets 210,200 in carrier 100 at predetermined distance, and as 500 is along an edge of the bottom surface of the carrier 100 whose travel/support is limited by protrusions 640 on base 600 with groove 620, and given that groove 620 extends to escape grove 630 corresponding to shim coil(s) 400 and the shim coil(s) 400 is on upper surface of circuit substrate 800, the circuit substrate 800 is positioned on top upper surface of the base unit 600, thus as 500 is in the groove 620 below the upper surface of coil 500 is positioned lower than a lover surface of the e.g. central body of circuit board substrate 800 on upper surface of the base 600 in optical axis z-axis direction, as depicted in Figs. 1-3, paragraphs [45-55,75-84,91-95], allowing that the second coil, circuit board substrate and housing are all fixed by base with the second coil in accommodation groove of the base achieving that thickness of a lens actuator (950) can be reduced as much as the thickness of the gap adjusting coil (500), paragraphs [81-84]).
Hence, as noted, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to adapt and modify the arrangement of the second coil, base accommodation part fir coils and circuit board of Lee to have the second coil positioned in accommodation groove of base with upper/top surface lower than the lower surface of the body of the circuit board substrate that faces the upper surface of the base in the optical-axis direction according to teachings of Yeo, in order to allow that the second coil, circuit board substrate and housing are all fixed by base with the second coil accommodated in groove of the base, thus achieving that thickness of a lens actuator can be reduced as much as the thickness of the gap adjusting coil (see Yeo, paragraphs [81-84]).
Lastly t is noted that paragraphs of Yeo cited by the Applicant do not disclose that the gap adjusting coil 500 is inserted into the opening of the circuit board 800. This is also not as shown in Fig. 1, which slows that the coil 500 is lower than the circuit substrate 800. The cited paragraphs [0092]-[0095], disclose that the gap adjusting coil (500) may be arranged inside (or at inner side) of the opening of the circuit substrate (800), meaning that at least in optical axis direction the coil 500 is nested on inner side of circuit substrate 800, which does not disclose vertical height arrangement of coil 500 and substrate, as the coil 500 is not inserted into the substrate 800, and hence there is no disclosure that an upper surface of the inserted coil 500 is disposed above a lower surface of the substrate 800. However, to resolve this apparent ambiguity, the claim limitation under (1) is further rejected in the alternative, as presented below.
Namely, in the alternative that the combination does not clearly disclose that the an upper/top surface of the second coil (e.g. second coil 500, positioned in accommodation groove 620 of base 600, Figs. 1-3, 45-55,75-85,91-95]) is positioned lower than a lower surface of the body of the circuit board, the limitation is still obvious as follows: Specifically it would have been an obvious matter of choice to adjust the size/depth of base accommodation part/groove and/or thickness of second coil of Lee and Yeo combination such that the second coil is fully inside the accommodation groove, below the top surface of the base in order to achieve reduction of thickness of the lens actuator and by reducing the thickness of the gap adjusting coil (see Yeo, paragraphs [81-84]), since such a modification would have involved a mere change in the size of the component. A change of size is generally recognized as being within the level of ordinary skill in the art. In re Rose, 105 USPQ 237 (CCPA 1955), and In re Rinehart, 531 F.2d 1048, 189 USPQ 143 (CCPA (1976)(See MPEP 2144.04).
In response to Applicant's arguments against the references individually, one cannot show nonobviousness by attacking references individually where the rejections are based on combinations of references. See In re Keller, 642 F.2d 413, 208 USPQ 871 (CCPA 1981); In re Merck & Co., 800 F.2d 1091, 231 USPQ 375 (Fed. Cir. 1986). As presented above, Lee teaches most of the limitations of the claim 1 (and as equally applied to claims 19, 20), and Yeo teaches the arrangement of the coil with respect to the base and circuit board.
Therefore, the cited prior art of Lee and Yeo in combination disclose all limitation is claim 1, including the limitations raised under issue (1) above. The same responses equally apply to same limitations in claims 19 and 20.
No additional substantial arguments were presented in the Remarks dated 01/12/2026 after page 13.
Conclusion
/MARIN PICHLER/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2872