Election/Restrictions
Applicant’s election without traverse of Group III and lactose as a specie (Claims 28, 29, 33-35, 37-47, 55 and 56) in the reply filed on 09/25/2025 is acknowledged.
Claims 1, 3, 5, 6, 8-11, 15, 21, 23-27, 51 and 52 are withdrawn from further consideration pursuant to 37 CFR 1.142(b) as being drawn to a nonelected invention, there being no allowable generic or linking claim. Election was made without traverse in the reply filed on 09/25/2025.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 28, 29, 33-35, 37, 38, 40, 41, 47, 55 and 56 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Moon et al. US 20080305168 A1.
Moon teaches a tablet-type oral care composition which is prepared by compressing porous plastic granules consisting essentially of a material for porous plastic granules, a binder, a gelling agent, a water penetration enhancer, an anti-adhesive agent to teeth and a humectant and undergoes in-situ gelling by water or saliva in oral cavity. See paragraph 0015. The prepared tablet-type oral care formulation according to the present invention undergoes in-situ gelling within 30 seconds by saliva in the oral cavity. See paragraphs 0045 and 0075. Tables 6-8 show gelling time and friability that fall within the claimed ranges. The use of gellan gum, lactose, microcrystalline cellulose and other tablet aids are found in pages 3-6.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 39 and 42-46 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Moon et al. US 20080305168 A1, in view of Bertelsen et al. CN 101365426 B.
Moon is relied upon for the reasons stated above. Moon does not expressly teach calcium citrate and the claimed lactose, namely, alpha-lactose.
Bertelsen teaches a calcium-containing compound pre-compacted composition obtained by roller compaction and is suitable for use in the further processing of the pre-compacted material into composition like e.g. tablets and chewable tablets. See abstract and description. Calcium including calcium citrate is found in paragraphs 0020 and 0030. The composition further comprising calcium-containing compound is in the form of a direct compression. The precompacted composition comprising Sturcal L and xylitol, SturcalL, mannitol, Sturcal L and maltitol, Tricafos Tricafos P and P and xylitol, mannitol, Tricafos, maltitol, Tricafos A and xylitol, Tricafos A and mannitol, Tricafos A and maltitol. The composition further comprising organic acid, and lacose including alpha-lactose. See paragraphs 0174-0184.
Thus, it would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was made to optimize the teaching in Moon to include other tablet excipients and calcium supplement in view of the teaching in Bertelsen with the expectation of at least similar result. This is because Bertelsen teaches the use of calcium and lactose and organic acid in a chewable tablet in known in the art. This is because Bertelsen teaches the use of alpha-lactose and calcium citrate in a chewable tablet to improve taste and porous structure. Similarly, Moon teaches a chewable tablet that comprises lactose and calcium and organic acid. Therefore, a skill artisan would have been motivated to obtain a gellable tablet of the claimed invention given the teachings in Moon and Bertelsen.
Correspondence
/SUSAN T TRAN/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1615